Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Indonesia hotel reviews
  3. Jakarta Province hotel reviews
  4. Jakarta hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Sultan Hotel Jakarta

Reviews of The Sultan Hotel Jakarta This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jalan Gatot Subroto, Central Jakarta, 10270 Jakarta, Indonesia

#106 of 521 hotels in Jakarta

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 787 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    9.2
    A great stay in the lively district of Senayan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room's air conditioner was set too cold. Although we have risen the temperature to 30° - the AC was still on and the room remained cold. Unfortunately the thin blanket couldn't keep us warm enough in the night.

    The breakfast buffet was astonishing and the staff outstandingly friendly and helpful. The hotel is very big and many entertainments given, but we didn't have the time to explore all of it.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    7.9
    OTHER THAN THE SHOWER MATTER, EVERYTHING ELSE WAS FINE TO ME.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    HOT WATER DIDN'T COME OUT. I CHECKED OUT THE HOTEL WITHOUT TAKING SHOWER. I DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH TIME TO CALL HOUSE-KEEPING.

    I HAD NO TIME TO ENJOY BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    10
    I love just everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The surrounding area looks a little abandoned. We walked through the jogging pathway and saw few rotting aula/buildings, the kids playground was also dirty. But inside hotel everything was super clean. Maybe it's because of the area is just too big while the number of staffs are limited.

    Delicious food (the price was high but understandable), hospitality, good wifi quality, spacious room, especially bathroom. No other hotel can beat the bathroom!!! (Except maybe some honeymoon villas in bali). The super clean pool. It wasn't very wide nor deep; however it was satisfying enough for me. They also gave the whole minibar as complimentary (4 cans) and let us checked out till 13.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2019

    7.9
    located in a very strategic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the property is undergoing a renovation. it has two towers, one of them is renovated so all guests must go to one breakfast area

    located in a very strategic Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    5.8
    A basic hotel...which needs to be more consistent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) the shower head cannot be adjusted! 2) the shower door does not keep the water in (as the shower head cannot be adjusted...) so u hv a very wet, cold marble floor! And u can’t dry it...as u don’t hv enough towels! 3) they only give u 2 bath towels, 1 floor mat and 1 hand towel...the other hotels in Jakarta give u more! 4) the staff are not as friendly as other staff in nearby Jakarta hotel...from the security, to the check in and even the f&B staff. They don’t bother going the extra mile to help you. 5) the rates for going to the Airport varies when you ask the check out staff and the transport staff at the car porch! It’s the same hotel car...but different rates! 6) the hotel directory and information in the room is very dismal! 7) the lifts work on the key card system...but only at one side of the panel...so it’s really difficult when there are many ppl in the lift! 8) it’s a 250-300m walk out on an uneven path...so be careful at night or in the rain. The staff needs to be revitalized!

    1) It’s along the jogging track around the stadium, 2) MRT station entrance is outside the main Gate. 3) good variety at breakfast...dinner is a basic ala-carte 4) Easy to get to the Sudirman Central Business District (via overhead bridge or the MRT underpass) 5) there are shops at the Sultan Residential apartments for water and sundries

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    8.8
    Perfect Location for attending event in GBK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Waiting for the lift takes longer time (probably the old version lift) - Swimming pool too small - Water faucet is user-friendly..

    - Location !! - Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    9.6
    The staffs are helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast didn’t meet my expectations as many people told me that the breakfast are great.

    The staffs are helpful and friendly. The location are great. Stay at The Sultan for Ed Sheeran concert and I just need to walk for 5 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    7.5
    Super delicious Breakfast, fast check in-out (although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old furniture, dusty window, dusty carpet. I'm allergic to that

    Super delicious Breakfast, fast check in-out (although there's long que), hospitality

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    10
    nice place to spend a weekend
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing.

    the room is spacious, and clean. bathroom is big, hot water is superb. wifi is very good. wide selection for breakfast. there is an underground tunnel on the basement leading through JCC, make it very convenient for me to visit the fair at JCC.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    7.9
    Decent Hotel next to JCC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old and dusty furniture, old bathroom fixture

    Direct access to Jakarta Convention Centre, delicious breakfast, fragrant lobby, beautiful gardens and pond

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to walk the residential block next door to use the gym (or swimming pool).

    This was our second stay at the hotel. The hotel was overbooked, so instead of 2 rooms, we were given a suite containing 2 rooms (each containing a bathroom), a large lounge, and a kitchen. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    7.9
    Big rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit old decoration and furniture. It needs a finishing touch and some renovation

    Big rooms. Nice bathrooms. Ginger smell of lobby is outstanding. Performance each night at the hotel restaurant Ironman. Fish preparation at the Chinese restaurant is so good. Swimming pool very relaxing. Breakfast rich. Internet very efficient. The hotel is well maintained. It is highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    9.2
    Central location, sumptous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an old hotel, the outside walls could do with some repainting

    The hotel complex vastness and central location, with a lot to do. The fact that nature has been maintained through the lush surrounding is quite relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    7.9
    In the midst of greenery and quite reasonable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    since the hotel is old some refurbishment maybe required.

    The location was great, it was in the midst of a sport city so one can go for a walk or sports anytime. The room size was good and the view was great. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2019

    6.3
    Old hotel in the center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the first room, they put is in, there were bedbugs. The room was not clean, there were stains in the carpet and the room smelled old. Then they changed our room to another one without any questions. The new room was in another tower and it was a clean and nice room. We still don't think that the hotel is worth its price.

    The view from the window was great. It's in a very good location. We enjoyed breakfast, it might be the best part of our whole stay. Staff was extremely attentive and nice, we felt welcome and heard.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    3.3
    Terrible. They do not care about the safety of their guests. Place is like a madhouse.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was there the night of the presidential debate. There were police and the army at every possible way in and they refused to let the cab in. I called the hotel so they could direct the driver but they provided little help and eventually I was dropped a long way from the entrance with all my luggage and had to literally beg the police at one of the entrances to let me in. It took me a good hour on foot to get into the hotel. I would have expected the hotel to be prepared and at least have staff directing taxi drivers where to drop guests off. When I finally got to the front desk at 8pm I was told the room was not ready. After haggling with the front desk they told me, well we are going to upgrade you to the Executive Floor (because they had no other rooms available really). The room smelt of smoke, and was incredibly humid so everything felt damp to the touch and had a bad smell. The whole interior looks like it hasn't been improved since the 1990s. It's old, antiquated and smells terrible. On top of that, I discovered the room was actually part of an adjoining room. There was a door that separated my room from the next one which could be unlocked. For a single female traveller I felt terribly uneasy about this but the hotel was clearly out of other options.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    8.3
    The lower-end of high-end hotels in Jakarta. Aging facilities, but good location and service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The facilities are a bit old (but I did stay in the older wing, so I can't speak for the newer wing). Most of the food served at the main hotel restaurant (including room service) is highly overpriced. It takes a long walk to get out of the hotel premises, and even if you were to walk outside, there is no convenience store, cafe, or supermarket within walking distance of the hotel. This is a disadvantage compared to several other luxury hotels in Jakarta that are connected to major shopping malls.

    Good location and helpful staff. Nippon-kan, a well-known Japanese restaurant connected to the hotel, serves decent food in a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    5.8
    The hotel needs a renovation , it’s quite old already
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom needs to renovate , water gethere in the shower room , tiles are coming out , anytime bugs may grow, In the lobby they didn’t allow us to listen the piano because we didn’t buy any drink or food , such rude consideration 👎🏻👎🏻

    Front desk service

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    9.2
    The room was big enough but little dark.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was big enough but little dark. I asked room service additional light stand and then they brought it soon. Thanks to it, I could have proceeded my work in the room comfortably for 4 days.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    10
    Almost everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar near the lobby and receptionist did not served the good quality of the hot chocolate.. it burned my throat.. it wasnt worth it with the prices. Im so dissapointed

    Almost everything

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    6.7
    Staffs were very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facility was under construction so guest rooms were not plenty when I visited. I stay at Sultan almost every year for business trip but wish it had its own facilities in house, not at the Residence building. It’s bit of a hassle when rains.

    Staffs were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    9.6
    Comfortable and ethnic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell of the air freshener (on lobby/corridor). Smell like lemongrass or traditional spices. Not that bad, but i just personally don't like it. But it's a little bit calming anyways.

    The pool, the ambience, the bathroom, very good and convenience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mostly lovely breakfast, cleaning , Restaurants are also very nice . Convenient to get TAXI . Also we find a very good life songs are available at evening. All are as a whole very good . It's as a whole reliable and best sevoices too .

    Excellent services and staffs are friendly. We like them very much. In future we will also recommend the same Hotel to our friends for Jakarta . We got full support in all aspects. It's really passed a very good time .

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    7.9
    An unexpected great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite big, so one has to walk a bit to reach the restaurant... But it's not really a big deal...

    I once stayed at the Sultan hotel in the past, and I didn't have a good opinion of it at that time. But my recent stay at Sultan hotel surprised me as the staff was smiling, the bedroom was large and clean, and the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    10
    Great location great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, stuff very friendly and nice, going benind in hpelping you. Breakfast was good, just enough of selections. Room very big and comfortable and bathroom as well. Deff would recomend it

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in luxurious hotel of the 80's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not meeting our expectations for a hotel like this. Food was cold, not cleaned very often, lots of dishes etc. Room was fine but old

    Staff is amazing, helpful with everything and always with a smile. Room was big and comfortable, nice bed and shower. Everything well arranged.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    3.3
    GOOD RECEPTION AND ENTRANCE HALL BUT DIRTY ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I STAY ONE NIGHT AND I CHECK OUT AS HOTEL NOT CLEAN BUT THEY CHARGE ME FOR TWO NIGHTS

    GOOD RECEPTION AND ENTRANCE HALL BUT DIRTY ROOM. CAN NOT USE BATHROOM. I BOOK FOR 3NIGHTS BUT I STAY ONE NIGHT AND I CHECK OUT TO OTHER HOTEL I BOOK BY BOOKING.COM.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    4.2
    Not so value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast did not have much options to choose from There was no one to accompany me to my hotel room There was no one to explain me about the facilities to be used I could not find any gym , pool facilities in the hotel OR I was not told about that

    Hotel is very big

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.3
    Rooms are huge, beds very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym need more equip. It’s in the residence building so not accessible if raining. The hotel is huge so could have a good gym set up there so no need to walk to residence building. Smoking in the lobby area, smoking in the bar at the hotel so didn’t go in.

    Rooms are huge, beds very comfortable. Large grounds, feels like being in the country although your in the heart of the city. Staff are very helpful. Variety of food at breakfast. GBK stadium area is next to the hotel so convenient for jogging walking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    The room was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room interior still looked old fashioned, better get renovation to get the modern look. It was hard to turn on the shower and the hot water was not so hot although I already set it maximum.

    The room was very spacious. It has direct tunnel access to JCC to keep you stay dry if it was raining. The pool was okay if you only want a relaxation not for exercising.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.3
    For 5 stars hotel, i feel this hotel is standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t like the service on the breakfast. Many empty food but no refill on there. So, me and my friend only drink a coffee for breakfast. But, may be it is because many guests on that day. And please pay attention to the cleanliness of public toilets. the sink was broken and there was something disgusting inside the toilet.

    The view is awesome, the staff is so friendly and we can request check out late without any charges.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    8.3
    I always stay here when in Jakarta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would prefer if they had a gym in the hotel, have to walk to the residence building which if raining is impossible.

    Been in the hotel since Oct 29 and love the place. Everything is wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms big and beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    8.8
    Stayed here many times and will continue to book here on my trips to Jakarta.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could do with a separate gym in the hotel. The gym is situated in the Sultan residence next door. If raining then there is no way to get to the gym without getting wet.

    Staff are wonderful and extremely helpful. Rooms large and beds are comfortable. New swimming pool has been added so no need to walk to the residence block to swim. Easy access to jogging area and plenty of tennis courts available.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    once arrival which is a bit late i was told that my room was upgraded which i was so happy to hear it. high value for money. Excellent friendly staffs,clean room.Overall superb

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    4.6
    Never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room's was old and no ventilation in smoking room no ventilation in bathroom the bellows was not comfy the AC cant be controlled it wasn't good no 5 stars. The stuff in the restaurant ware very rude not helpful at all.

    Not much I like about it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    Very close to the stadium for the concert we went to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very dated and really cold from excessive A/C

    Very close to the stadium for the concert we went to. Breakfast was pretty good and staff were very helpful polite and friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.5
    great place to unwind in hectic jakarta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a lot of facilities seem dilapidated and neglected.. such a shame seeing the beautiful garden area decaying like that signage is terrible.. it took me a while to find the gym and the steam room i never found but considering the price i paid i was more than happy with my stay

    it's extraordinary to have such a large garden attached to the hotel in Jakarta. loved it! the room was spacious, clean and comfortable reception was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.4
    Nothing is good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s an old building. old facilities. just old. Shower not warm and we have to complaint to have it fix. hairdryer blows like a cat on athsma. bed sags. carpet smells weird, and the list goes on

    Nothing is good. Only clean bed and towels. food is average

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    Staff here are excellent, so friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym is in another area so if raining you get wet walking to it. Gym doesn’t have a lot of equipment could do with more.

    Staff here are excellent, so friendly and helpful. There is a park and huge sports complex next to the hotel, great for walking, jogging. Rooms are big, beds are very comfortable. Breakfast has a great choice. Two big swimming pools and plenty of tennis courts. The hotel grounds are huge so it feels like you in the countryside. Easy access to shopping malls and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    Will return one day for sure!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    my critics.....hope one fay this great hotel get total renovation....and maybe add fee more storeys and club with rooftop pool)))....if it happen....I think no other hotel in Jakarta can match this one)

    All perfect....the biggest suite room ever....and to have balconies is such a rare treat nowadays with most hotels even the best one simply just providing a box without any place to stand outside our room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    Very good option for Jakarta
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was rather average, and at 8h30 some bowls were almost empty.

    The room was bigger than expected, and very reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water pressure in the shower was a bit low, and the bathtub was slightly dirty, but a little rinse did it well.

    Excellent value for money. Comfortable beds and very friendly staff. Very convenient access to the city center. Buffet breakfast was okay, and although the taste is average, the variety is pretty good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    GRAND hotel with a WONDERFUL staff - quite econonomical
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa area should include cosmetic treatments, like facials, as well. TRY it soon :)

    The staff was so nice, too many fine staff to name them all. My favourite staff were KORI, ULFAH, GINOTTO. By the way, the room service serves this wonderful pasta arabiate, you have to try the Indonesian version of it, but you have to be lucky, because the cooks and styles vary :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location , Excellent value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be improved.

    Room is very big , with working table, mini-bar was provide free of charge. Bed was comfortable. Excellent location and convenience. city center.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    The room and the bathroom were very huge and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and the bathroom were very huge and clean. The breakfast was very delicious. The location of hotel is very nice, in the middle of the city. And the hotel has shuttle bus to go to Senayan City Mall.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for short or long trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to change the room due to light in the corridor can't be switched off. Staff helped promptly. Breakfast queue on Sunday.

    The breakfast is reach and fresh. The swimming pool is big & clean and has nice recliners. The room is clean and spacious. A taxi stand is convenient (approx 5 min wait any time of day). It's quiet in the room, even the avenue is not far. special thanks to the staff for exceptional service and hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    Had a pleasant stay which was worth for the money I paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast can be improved, they have a variety of local dishes at breakfast but lack International dishes, also the room service ordered was served cold.

    The staff approach, Croissants at the breakfast was fresh and taste good, even its an old property the hotel and rooms are well maintained. The cleanliness is outstanding, after a long flight I had received a warm welcome and a good clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.9
    Okay hotel but its taxi service unreliable!
    • Couple
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a taxi from the hotel to pick me up from the airport. My flight was supposed to arrive at 1.50AM and the car was supposed to be ready then. However, when I walked out to the arrival area, the taxi was not there. I had to wait for more than 40 Mins! This was unacceptable and I had to call the Hotel's concierge many times to make sure that the taxi was really arriving. I paid 440,000 IDR for the service and they did not deliver. VERY DISAPPOINTED. When we arrived, the hotel concierge just apologized and did not even offer to at least reimburse the amount paid.

    I could see how the Sultan Hotel was a really great hotel before, it has that grandiose allure which tries to ooze luxury. However, you can also feel that it is an old hotel and will probably need a facelift soon. Bed was comfortable and our bath was a welcomed relaxation. Breakfast was just a-okay. Would have liked to have more fresh items cooked in front of us instead of just the soto and eggs. Staff was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    Anyhow, it is still very convenience for me as we work at JCC.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air-cond is too cold. I didnt even turn on my room air cond but there are still cold air in my rooms for 5 days. I wonder where the cold air coming from?> I catch flu after my trip. Hoping the restaurant breakfast will change into more options as usually we stay for bis trip at min. 4 nights. The egg counter can be too busy sometimes.

    I like the size of the room and toilet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.2
    I made a poor choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet smelly not clean.no towels.no paper.cracks in ceiling.door doesn't close..had to bring a can of hairspray to assist the room smell

    Substandard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to walk for 5mins to another building for gym room

    Staff are so helpful and friendly. The breakfast is good. And it is a prefect place if u are going to the Stadion

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    We stayed there because of Asian games.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most of the staff don’t speak English.

    We stayed there because of Asian games. I liked the access from the hotel to the venue. It’s connected through the tunnel. So convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    5.8
    I think the hotel should really look on the maintenance of the room. Looks old and shabby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel... Really really need to be renovated. Since some of the room furnitures are really really old, and doesn't look nice.

    Bed really wide and comfy... View is nice, and location is really strategic, close to anywhere...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    8.3
    Very Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The variety of food is less for 5 star hotel. I need the food for more variety and more delicious. I select the hotel for safety reason, comfort and DELICIOUS FOOD.

    Good Hotel with complete facility, safety, comfort and value for money. I will stay in this hotel in the future to explore all facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were big cos it's was made for Hilton specification the bar was good cos avoided jakata traffic in the whole next time will stay there cos maintenance is good for that old property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.6
    The bed is large and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swimming pool and gym is not inside the hotel, they are at the resident side. it is a pity

    The bed is large and comfortable. free laundry is very kind for business man.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    This is an excellent hotel for your stay in Jakarta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Far from the mosque.

    This is an excellent hotel for your stay in Jakarta. Facilities were excellent, staff really professional and friendly. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    9.6
    Sultan Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything feels and looks dated; the hotel could use a touch up to make it more modern. The shower could be more comfortable.

    Great location. The bed is very large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offers good variety. View from the room is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.4
    It was OK for a short trip but next time I am in Jakarta, I will stay at a different Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is very old and run down. There is no central lighting in the rooms only lamps with yellow light bulbs which creates dark gloomy atmosphere in the room. Light fixtures and switches came off from the wall exposing cables inside which is not safe. Breakfast is terrible, food was cold and not tasty.

    Location is very central which is great. Check In and Check Out staff are friendly and efficient. Beddings are clean and comfortable. The room is quite spacious with big window which is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Excellent business experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like the traffic jam .

    Service there was good, once we arrive they give us a good hospitality and find us to be suit in the room event we have a bit hickup of bed selection , the manage to assist us and give the best comfort .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant and for money paid good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought some of th FB concepts were strange ... ie enroute to Chinese restaurant a weird room with a band (!the room lacked character and I didn’t really know where I was)

    Front desk team were edficient in dealing with my error in booking the wrong night. The two gentleman on the night shift were pleasant and had a good personality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    I like the huge room and the view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Despite my room being on the 15th floor, the building acoustic is such that I get the full noise impact of night concerts that happen nearby. Also the room had some strong cigarette smell.

    I like the huge room and the view. The staff is friendly. The buffet selection is pretty extensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.9
    Location is very good, easy to connect everywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Travel amenities was not fully supplied. I called them but they did not deliver. And shower room is not flat floor and water remained until morning.

    Location is very good, easy to connect everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.8
    Old fashion hotel, close to fairground JCC
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room is quite old fashion, need renovation. The hot water in bathroom not work properly, only get warm water and too cold. The room is cold even we turn off the AC.

    Location close to fair ground JCC.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    A hotel that cares for its guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at all levels of responsibility focussed on guest satisfaction, with a smile. There were complementary soft drinks in the room minibar, and lunchtime traditional gamelan music and singing in the hotel lobby. Nice touches. Premature clearing of my breakfast table resulted in removal of unfinished food, drinks and cutlery while I was away at the buffet. After I complained the restaurant manager personally delivered a large plate of fruit to my room with profuse apologies. I was also given VIP treatment at subsequent breakfasts. Guest care was the priority. The Sultan Hotel is centrally located in large landscaped grounds but vehicle access and exit are complicated, and it's not pedestrian friendly. But this is Jakarta.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    5.8
    The location maybe good enough if you are attending the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facility of the hotel, especially the bathroom. The shower is not good. The hairdryer and amenities are not proper for the five stars hotel.

    The location maybe good enough if you are attending the event at the convention centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool and gym are still at the residences about 400 yds away. The old pool Ang gym were better!!

    Location for JCC exhibitions is perfect. Staff are friendly and efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charged me 20 USD for 30 pages (A4) black and white printing. And also they wanted to charge me 60 USD for scanning of 30 A4 pages! That's a really expensive rate.

    Breakfast was amazing! Rooms are nice, and service as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic location in a spacious brightly lit hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Hotel quite aged 2. Many things not available eg saloon 3. Slippers, toothbrush in room for only 1 person 4. Bath towels worn out

    1. Rooms big 2. Hotel brightly lit 3. Efficient reception 4. Ala carte menu very good and tasty 5. Good lounge music

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Good choice if you want to visit Jakarta Convention Center
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a little inconvenient if you want to go to the nearby shopping malls or visit other restaurant, you have to take taxi or Uber.

    Good location if you want to visit Jakarta Convention Center for any exhibition, there is a tunnel between the hotel and Convention Center. Good front desk service. Good room equipment. The Wifi speed is very fast. And Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.8
    I’m enjoying stay here and hope back here again ..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimpool to far ..

    Like the staff there very friendly, helpful, and the room I stay was really clean . I stay at grand deluxe so the room not really old ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    7.9
    spacious room with well maintained old furnitures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the marble in the bathrooms was sticky and there’re black spots neqr the tub and toilet bowl. no swimming pool in the hotel. the playground looks abandoned and old.

    spacious room with well maintained old furnitures. friendly and helpfull staffs. comfy and big bed with extra soft linens. easy check in, free late check out and mini bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    6.7
    Only if you'd like to have an easy access to JCC
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Health and Wellness Offer at Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is already quite old, many varieties for breakfast but not of a quality you'd expect out of a 5 star hotel, I had to be moved to another room because the initial one has black water in both its toilet bowl and shower, there is only 1 towel which is body towel for 1 person (don't expect numerous towel that you can find in most 5 star hotels), I booked the room for 2 people and staff looked annoyed when I asked for additional kimono and sandals for my colleague as there was only 1 pair available.

    Was here for to attend a business appointment at JCC, therefore it is very convenient since there is an underground tunnel that connect the hotel with JCC.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    5.4
    Staff where very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property is run down. No way you could consider it 5 star now, maybe in a past life. In my view it’s misleading to claim, shame as staff great.

    Staff where very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.5
    Old but comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel itself looks a bit old, my hairdryer was from 1980s, fitness centre is a bit far from the hotel main building, this hotel is nice however need some modernization.

    Staff was kind, room and bathroom were large enough, wifi was very fast, free laundry everyday

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Sultan Hotel Jakarta Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: