Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tjampuhan Spa 4 stars

Jalan Tjampuhan PO Box 198, Ubud, 80571 Ubud, Indonesia

#134 of 235 hotels in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location, let down by the cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated, tiles were chipped, the toilet was not clean and had marks in it. The overall cleanliness of the bathroom was poor. We had to ask for towels on more than one occasion. For a 4 star hotel this wasn't the level of standards we would expect.

    The setting was amazing and so was the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in Ubud in unique location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a misunderstanding about my friend's spa booking which caused her to be upset about the situation. Fortunately she was able to enjoy the spa service after all so the reception and chief of staff were efficient and helpful to this end

    Amazing location, great breakfast, sleeping next to the forest and hearing the river when you wake up... Priceless! The spa is a must-have experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a few more shuttle times.

    Really liked the room, the gardens and the pool area. The breakfasts were. Smorgasbord and a wide variety of choices. I especially liked being close to the walk trail but very busy even at 6 in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    beautiful hotel with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom could have been nicer, the pool bar was basic, and not much happening at the hotel. Also, I didn't like you had to pay to access the spa.

    the hotel was beautiful, great views, both pools very lovely, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food taste so so ,and the sanitary conditions are not satisfactory,especially the spa place.

    Cross the central eare of Ubud,we got to the hotel. The front desk of the hotel adjoins the valley,which makes people relax. The room is big enough,but a little dim. The swimming pool is very beautiful,but not big enough. The hot spring and spa are good,but the spa need an appointment,you’d better to make an appointment before you reach. It’s location is ok,you can take the hotel bus to the Museum Puri Lukisan,then work to the famous places in Ubud. The best of the hotel is the classical Bali art environment,there are statues everywhere,you feel like you’re in a historic place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    We liked it very much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located on a very steep river bank. That creates its unique athmosphere. But do not go there if you are not a good walker.

    Athmosphere and location, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it’s gorgeous

    The location is stunning. So peaceful and incredibly tranquil but still close to town. I enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the river

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice relaxing time in a very beautiful and articulate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Package - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much!

    Spending time on the balcony having a beer and listening to the sounds of the jungle. Massages were top notch by skilled staff. The food was very good at competitive prices. The landscape was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic. Very kind and helpful. Room cleaners were very quick. We could go out for breakfast and return with the room all cleaned. Great job. Will be booking with the spa on our next stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location with a Balinese style hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the Spa treatments and offers from the hotel were pricey

    Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. There is also a shuttle to and from Ubud town if you do not want to walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay in unique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Promotion - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in pool area needs renovating.

    Beautiful traditional accomodation in a lovely setting of gardens built on the hillside in Ubud. This was our first visit back to Bali in 27 years when we spent our honeymoon in this hotel! It was so amazing then & it still is!!! Was so nice to see this hotel & this end of Ubud was the only part of Ubud that we recognised from all those years ago! Wonderful, attentive staff! Restaurant amazing & spa area unique & magical with beautiful natural cool spring water pools!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Experience the delights of nature in this rainforst retreat - an interesting place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little dark and we had to be mindful of the louvered windows with mosquitos at night. The bathroom was very dated & not super clean but we didn’t spend a lot of time in there so not the end of the world.

    You really are in the rainforest, with a raging river running by you - the grounds are spectacular - made up of lots of levels, terraces, 2 pools, a central pond, interesting sculptures + carved statues and artwork. A temple is accessible over a bridge from the hotel grounds and we really enjoyed the setting for our spa treatments. Daily breakfast made things so much easier and the staff were attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything at all, there are a lot of steps so for some this could be a problem.

    Good location, very peaceful, nice sounds of frogs at night. Good breakfast and food. Good big rooms and clean. The photos actually don't do it justice. It is much better in person. Nice pool area. Great restaurant over the road called bridges. Fine dining. Another very good restaurant a bit further on called the Murni's which is the first restaurant in Ubud. Friendly staff. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    A great hotel in need of an overhaul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the moldy smell of the rooms. There should be something they are able to do to reduce the smell. Also, their prices for the spa are high considering you get the same or better service in the area. The break fast was hard to eat considering it is free. And the celebration dance is not worth the price paid, they could do alot more. Like offer two rounds of free drinks and possibly table service with less selection but better food. Fire the chef. Also, the one bellhop is creepy and needs to be retasked.

    I thought most of the staff was incredible but it was a little creepy the way a few wanted to offer trips to you in your room rather than at the desk. Overall, incredibly polite staff and very accomodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Simply beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tjumphan was amazing. We stayed here for my birthday and I couldn’t imagine a greater place to spend it. The view and surroundings are spectacular and the spa is right down near the river surrounded by the jungle and soothing sounds of the water. The staff also surprised us with a birthday cake at breakfast that we hadn’t even arranged (although I think my partner was wishing he could take the credit) and I thought that was a lovely personal thought. Highly recommend and we will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    The gardens of the hotel are beautiful with water features...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Beds were extremely firm and not comfortable in a twin room. The staff at the hotel were not helpful . When we checked in we had been assured by concierge we could order transport to our next destination on departure-When we did this later, we were told a car could not be found and sent us out on the street to go 250m to get a car from the taxi rank and instruct it to come to 5he hotel. No apology was offered and it’s unusual for balinese hospitality for one of the hotel staff to have made a little effort to do this for us.

    The gardens of the hotel are beautiful with water features and Lilly ponds and the sound of the river.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Great expereince if one likes historic places. The hotel is in walking distance to Ubud centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms are in need of a renovation!

    The location is wonderful. The hotel has a long history and it shows. The lounges and restaurant are beautifully decorated in Balinese style. This starts already at the reception. It feels like stepping back in time - great! The food was good and having a cocktail at the Walter Spiess lounge was a very relaxing experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel is amazing, the mood is indescribable. The cleanest hotel where i have been. The staff is really kind. Breakfast is tasty, and unlimited. The restaurant is beautiful, and the foods are really delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Ubud favourite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First stayed at the Tjampuhan Hotel 20 years ago, and keep coming back. The place has been going since 1925, so there’s some very quirky and old fashioned aspects, although it’s gradually modernising without losing its wonderful character. Breakfast is amazing - the dining area and kitchen have been dramatically upgraded in the past 18 months, and it’s even better than before. As it’s built on the beautiful hillside of the ravine, walking around is very steep. Something to consider if you are older or unsteady.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    This place is over rated for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and the stairs. Rooms smelt moldy

    This place is over rated for the value. It is at the end of the town centre. LOTS of stairs and the rooms are nothing like the pictures. It would of been lovely once, needs updating. Beautiful spot if you don't mind lots of stairs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Full of Balinese character and art
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flexible Promotion - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Grouting around baths needs redoing

    To say this place is full of Balinese character is an understatement. Absolutely beautiful gardens. Beautiful artistic detailing in villas, dining areas, around pools and the spa is unique with superb carved decoration throughout. It is also an easy walk into the town. Food and drink is reasonably priced and the breakfast is very good. This was my third visit and I have decided to try to return every year as Ubud is very special. Like Ankhor Watt with shops. Wonderful blend of history and the work of marvellous craftsmen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.8
    Unfortunately it was overall very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Money was stollen from our room. The room was shockingly run down. We had very little natural light all day and had really terrible artificial lighting at night - very difficult reading even the room service menu with that poor level of light. Plates left outside from room services sometimes took 2 days to be cleared - covered in ants. The bathroom was subpar. The whole hotel was really run down. The towels were really old, thin and raggedy - torn and stained in places. The plug sockets were almost impossible to use as they had so little "hold" because they were so old and worn out that our chargers would just fall out and not charge our devices - we had to macgyver ways to make it work. It was also really disappointing that the pool was only open until 7pm (way too early in our opinion). The room service food was really really bland, no flavor and totally over priced (although we expected the high prices due to the nature of the hotel - however for what was delivered, it was beyond disappointing - like really poor home cooking from someone who doesn't normally cook or know how to use seasoning) The breakfast buffet was average and often items were not replaced once they'd run out - so if you arrived to have breakfast at 10am (breakfast was open until 10:30am) you'd miss out on most of the good stuff - we expected better from a hotel of this nature.

    The location was great. The room was large. The spa was REALLY awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Feel like royalty in a beautiful Balinese tropical setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Promotion - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tired, need a makeover and the mattresses on beds are hard. Like sleeping on a rock.

    The setting of the hotel was stunning. The gardens were beautiful and the jungle was at rear of hotel. Very peaceful oasis.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely property that could use a little upgrading to make it outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs and more stairs... room was dark, had some ant issues. A bit worn out. Pool boy would only give one towel per person... I always ask for two.

    Great views.... beautiful, historic property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing feeling stay close to the nature.
    • Couple
    • Flexible Promotion - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't enjoy very much the massage, the feeling with the person that massage me not was very good and relaxing also the bath is too small to fit two people, a little bit uncomfortable and the guys came to clean the bath immediately, so no privacy to change your bikini.

    The breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere unreal, like to be on another planet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    A very special place to enjoy a relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shuttle service is disappointing. They should be more frequent. In February there were only 3 shuttle times to travel into Ubud. And the hotel's wifi isn't secure which is not good.

    The location is perfect ... the hotel is just far enough away to enjoy the peace and serenity of Ubud, but still close enough to walk to Ubud restaurants and shops. The staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.3
    Avoid at all cost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not ready when we arrived, we had to wait for even if I asked an early check in. The room that was given to us was Bukkit 2, just next to a busy road, very noisy. The room itself looks like some kind of 80's bast taste luxury. Personal is rude, and smile hypocritically. To finish the painting, breakfast is small and disgusting For the same price, you can rent a nice villa, so don't make the same mistake !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.2
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    B'fast poor with so little choice... room tv channels so limited. We in Bali and no indonesia channel available??? OMG. Alot of bugs n flies in room. No shelter to the room when rain. Its high time to upgrade the hotel.

    Bus shuttle to ubud town..very timely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    Gardens, pool, arhitecture, restaurant, front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Promotion - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very oudated rooms. Def not 4*. In my opinion 2* maximum western rating. Poor lights in the room. Bathroom very outdated. I felt like in the 70's for the price of a modern hotel.

    Gardens, pool, arhitecture, restaurant, front desk supervisor very heplfull

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place and beautiful people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled with my Muslim family and friends and requested Halaa meal, however they do not seperrate Halaal foods from Un halaal meals neither do the add the English names at the buffet table, which was not very welcoming.

    The tranquility of the place is breathtaking, loved my stay and will definitely return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Luxurious stay in a gorgeous jungle setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were put in was close to the main road, and was extremely noisy. Staff changed our room to accommodate!

    Gorgeous hotel and grounds, amazing staff, delicious breakfast, great location. Free shuttle service to center of Ubud, and the pools on the property were spectacular.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    The hotel provided a perfect base for such a beautiful surround being the location of Ubud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spa Package - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was actually nothing I didn't like about the hotel/spa, however if you were elderly or had a problem with mobility you would definitely need to ensure you were located in a room close to the main floor as there are no elevators, just lots of stairs.

    The room was perfect in size, storage, bathroom cleanliness, air conditioning level. The breakfast option which I included in our package was perfect, as was the spa package - the massage was magnificent and sooo very relaxing. I also loved the cold and hot pools along with the saunas. The location of the rooms by the river surrounded by lovely trees was also perfect. And the staff were so obliging and friendly we were overwhelmed. I would definitely stay at this hotel spa again. The hotel was located so that you really didn't need to catch taxis very often and you could walk to and from the major shopping areas and some of the tourist attractions, like the monkey forest, the royal palace and some temples where you could watch Balinese traditional dancing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    Location was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mosquito nets around bed so we got severely bitten and it was hard to sleep. They messed up the airport shuttle that was arranged and it didn't show up.

    Location was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Very tranquil and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One recommendation would be for the shuttle to do a loop of the town and you can be dropped further if you want

    We liked the service, the big bed, both swimming pools, the spa and the tranquillity of the evenings with the frogs and peaceful setting

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were too hard so I had a poor sleep. There was poor service at the pool in terms of pool bar, often completely unstaffed no one to ask if want a drink. I tried to book a spa treatment and it was booked but they were not helpful trying to find another stop for me so I went else where. Cocktails were not great, and when we ordered at happy hour which was buy two get one free, they literally just spilt one into two glasses it was a joke. Overall we paid too much for this hotel and were left disappointed by a few things.

    Grounds on this property are amazing. Beautiful tropical jungle setting that’s impressive. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location ,friendly staff plenty of lovely eating places and the town very near hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet could have been better.....also no good for anyone with difficulty walking as so many steps

    The surroundings and gardens where spectacular staff where lovely too

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Loved it all apart from their IT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to check in and print our boarding pass on their computer and printer. Both where really old and the printer would not work. Ended up having to email docs to the front desk. Thought this was poor for a rated hotel.

    Staff helpful and alway curtious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, relaxing, impressive spa, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really badly designed shower in tub style, without adequate water containment means flooded floors every time. We loved the rooms and would not change them at all. Thats the attraction of the place - but even a simple $25 all round curtain would virtually solve the water issue (in our room at least).

    Location, staff, magnificent gardens, spa grotto, rain forest sounds, running river, views from rooms, quiet, lovely Balinese architecture, food etc etc. Just got back home today and wishing so much still there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel near Ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints ... a top choice in the Ubud area

    A short walk from central Ubud, this hotel is stunning. Entering the lobby, you leave the buzz of traffic behind and are greeted with a fantastic view, beautiful public areas, amd exceptional staff. The grounds are lushly landscaped, the rooms are grouped into small buildings scattered along a steep river valley and are very nicely appointed. The terrace restaurant is a fantastic way to start your day. Stayed here 9 years ago and will stay again on my next visit. Highly recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Loved this hotel, breath taking views and so relaxing I didn't want to leave the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from this hotel are absolutely amazing. The grotto spa is gorgeous. Yes there is a lot of steps, but if you don't have mobility issues its fine and Staff are amazing and will carry all your luggage to and from the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Hotel in the jungle (inclusive of bugs)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was not how it looked on the pictures and the rooms were not completely clean. Also if you are someone that is not comfortable with nature like myself and my partner do not stay here there are bugs, frogs everywhere.

    The property had some amazing views and a beautiful river flowing through.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Romantic getaway from Ubud tourist crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pesticide spraying due to river next to hotel was quite disturbing and potentially harmful to health, and no prior notification was provided. Food and spa quality could have been better.

    Great location in nature. Open buffet breakfast with a lot of options. Very kind staff , nicely designed spa (a bit over priced though). Walk to Sayan village is recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some staff struggled in communication. We had a few wild visitors to the room although being in Ubud this was to be expected. When a bath was drawn the bath filled with ants so not so lovely. A few stairs getting around the property so not really accessible to anyone with disabilities,

    The property was lovely, breakfast every morning was great. The room was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Loved the gardens steps and river ravine environment, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I hope these comments are constructive as I love the Tjamphuan and want you to do well. However, if I noticed these things - other people may have as well - and just wont tell you. Considering I booked so early and asked for a room with a balcony I was a little disappointed we were given Puri 4. I thought we would have been given priority over others who booked later. The last time we had Airie Smith 3 - so my expectations were high. I had also asked for transfers back to the airport and only found out they had not been booked and they had to be arranged during the afternoon of our last day. The food was limited and over priced for lunch and dinner. I would like the Tjamphuan to do well as a business, but I feel you are failing in this area compared to other nearby restaurants. You have such a fantastic location and dining area setting overlooking the river - you should be packed - but most of the time were empty. Ditch the "a la carte" idea - it is obviously not working - and focus on a special buffet theme each night and publicise it in town to draw people in. Stop using so much coconut oil for cooking everything - a few drops not a stream of oil is sufficient to cook food in a pan or stir fry. Steam the vegetables. And why aren't you using your delicious spinach? Please get rid of those horrible napkins - they are so plastic, don't absorb water and feel awful. Napkins made from your beautiful traditional cotton batiks would fit in better with your traditional dining room construction style and look and feel much more authentic.

    Loved the gardens steps and river ravine environment, and the thatched bungalows. Air conditioning was great for a few hours late afternoon. Pools beautiful fresh and cool, and computer room a bonus. The staff were very helpful and lovely and the service fantastic. The frogs singing in the evening were a delight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Peace & tranquility for "ME" time👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Darkness of room-- would have benefitted from more lighting. Also no hairdryer & didnt discover this until breakfast time so no time to request one from reception, Bathroom lookingva bit tired-- mosquitos?

    The gardens & siting of the bungslows were superb ; private with wonderful views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Exterior is exellant but very smelly bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the hotel bedding had a terrible smell and the toilet had an smell too.It was the worstest smell we ever smelled.It was a real stress in the vacation. So,we don't want to sleep there ever again.

    the location and enviorment of the hotel,and the staffs were very kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Great service in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service level in breakfast restaurant poor. We are a family of 6 and it took a lot of conving each morning to get them to put two 4 people tables together so we could enjoy the nice breakfast together. They wanted us to sit a two separate tables, amazing poor service attitude.

    Great service in general

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Excelent location, incredible beautiful garden, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent location, incredible beautiful garden, very good breakfast, good wi-fi, free shutle service to Ubud center, nice and polite staff, big and clean room, quiet and relaxing place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Book a spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is incredible. The setting setting and spa facilities are one of a kind, we finished our evening with a river side spa by the river that runs through the tropical gorge below the hotel - this was easily one of the most beautifull hotels ive ever been too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.7
    Amazing place with very average rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelly Bathroom was really old Staff wasn't too pleasant Staff charged me 20$ more for a 2pm check out

    Breakfast is very good View from room is amazing Public areas of the hotels are stunning Beautiful temples around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An improvement could be to offer two different options on the menu for guests doing the full board. Sometime the menu had too much fish and I don't eat fish. So would have liked another option.

    View is incredible! Like being in the middle of a jungle. The pools are beautiful and spacious. The Spa is intimate and situated inside a cave which we loved. The food is really good. So tasty! We took a full board option and got almost 5 meals per serving. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    An oasis 10min walk from the centre of Ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower was broken when we arrived but was fixed immediately. Lots of stairs up and down to rooms which is great for thighs but can be tiring. Pillows were a bit hard. Dinner and Balinese dance show on the first night was good in some ways but food just buffet style and hard to view dancers from the tables.

    Breakfasts were generous and in a great location looking over the property towards the river. The green pandan-leaf coconut pancakes are particularly good. Beautiful gardens. Spa overlooks the ravine. Very friendly staff and lots of them. Good air-conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful tranquil setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on our Honeymoon and would have preferred one of the units with a bigger/more private outside area. We stayed in the middle of a 3 unit building and either side of us the units have much nicer, bigger and more private outside spaces. Perhaps a little more care could have been put into which room we were allocated as we were the first couple to check into this unit.

    The grounds are impressive and the breakfast was superb! We also had dinner one evening in the restaurant and it was lovely the setting is gorgeous We went to the natural spring pool (the less used one) and we had it all to ourselves. Do yourself a favor and walk the little bit extra to lounge there. We enjoyed a spa massage and I don't think I will ever again have a view as amazing as that for a massage. It was truly breathtaking. The staff were friendly and professional. I liked the layout even though there are many stairs, this added to the labyrinth like secret forest feel of the place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Forest paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tjampuhan is such a paradise to stay in Ubud, the heart of the city is not so far and by car all the yoga centres are reachable in 10mins. I really enjoyed my stay there and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel . but stuck in the middle of a lot of squalor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room we were in had seen better days they really must put a stop to the towels on sun loungers at the pool as there arent a lot of chairs when you check out you are forgot about straight away in the reception

    Communal areas fantastic. staff very helpful. food very good. facilities good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location in the forest area-spacious rooms with the balcony looking into the forest and onto the river-clean and well serviced-friendly, helpful staff and good meals

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.0
    Damp smelling rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the staff were, in the end helpful, we were so disappointed with this hotel. After trekking round Bali for 2 weeks, we wanted our last few days, before returning to the UK, to be luxury. So, with that in mind, we spent a bit more to stay at this incredible looking resort. Whilst it was a stunning hotel/resort with very helpful staff, who willingly took our heavy backpacks from us, we were shown to our room which smelt so strongly of damp. The bedding smelt like it hadn't even been washed and our hopes of finally hanging clothes up were dashed when we opened the wardrobe to be hit with the same unpleasant smell. We complained and said that we wanted to see other rooms. They showed us a further six, all of which smelt just as bad if not worse. We said that we wanted our money back and we would go somewhere else, as this was eating into our day. They then very kindly offered to put us in their sister resort up the road. Despite this hotel being far more expensive, they put us up for the same price as Tjampuhan. We were very grateful for all they did, but this shouldn't have had to happen in the first place for a hotel of this standard and cost. We were also disappointed with the buffet breakfast, considering far cheaper accommodation provided a much more refined service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    A gracious old lady in the jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is looking a bit old and a bit tired in places but it's setting and the carvings are spectacular enough to forgive that.

    The hot and cold pools of the spa set in a carved grotto overlooking a bend in the river is beautiful and a really unique experience. The stunning Oos Terrace is lovely for drinks and food. I really liked the guava margarita and the pork ribs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Blissful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the peaceful serenity of this hotel...Set on the side of the hill..with steps and gardens down to the pool and river. Breakfast was great and staff where most helpful...rooms were good and clean...a 10 minute walk from the centre of Ubud,so it was most peaceful, as Ubud is very busy now with lots of tourists in the main hub, would diffently recommend this place as peaceful haven...just a short walk to the Campuhan Ridge Walk great for photos and a quaint little village selling paintings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Tropical wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant was on pricey side for Bali

    The property itself was so exotic. I really didn't feel like going anywhere else . Rooms and balconies, gardens- amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stunk!!!! The food was terrible and overpriced. The room was below average and the bathroom was old fashioned and not in a good way. The resort is very very dim at night.

    The staff are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful restful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom! Needs a major upgrade.

    Great staff, yummy breakfast, amazing gardens, stunning Balinese style room, beautiful pools especially the spring pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Jungle magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't use the sunbeds but heard others complain there were not enough which looked true! We originally started in the cheapest room which was a bit disappointing because of the lack of view but we asked and they upgraded us to the most magnificent room for free!

    The jungle setting is amazing! Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    3.3
    Worst Experience Ever....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed Bugs In the Bed... Bad Covers in the Bed Bad Blanket you get to Cover gets unwrapped by the morning and not a pleasant thing to see in the Morning. Bad Smell all over the Resort which comes from muddy water. Since my friends found bed bugs in the bed couldnt sleep whole night and they gave a new room to them on second night only.. first night they had to spent on same room. Which is River 2. Wifi gets always disconnect and you have to retype username password again an again for so many times... and yet it get changed all the time.. you need to go to front desk every time you need to connect. River 3 room Telephone is not working and practically you have to go to either to your friends room orr all the way to front desk for everything which i did almost everytime.. and for two days they didnt do single thing to make the phone connection working since I complain it on First Day. For wifi passward i had to go three times for the passward since the phone is not working. Bathroom makes you sick.. Very OLD HOTEL. So dont expect much. Breakfast was Not soo Fine, But can say OK.. Not much for select.

    You Cant find Anything Nice in this Hotel... I have stayed more than 20 resorts all over the world and this was the Worst.....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Magical Tjampuhan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was on the same level as the reception and next to the road which is very noisy and busy. Even though the bathroom was clean, the shower/bath could be refreshed and modernised.

    Beautiful location and surrounds. The facilities are amazing and restaurant and bars are great. Loved the breakfasts with really friendly and attentive staff. Had dinner the first night and could have easily have come back again but we wanted to try what else Ubud had to offer - nearby restaurants and bars were fantastic. The pools and spa are so memorable with their statues and carvings - a whole lot of wow!! Art galleries really close to explore and even though you can catch the shuttle in and out of town it's only a 10mins walk. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    My New Favourite Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Agung Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was incredible!!

    Huge double bed was extremely comfortable. My room was so clean i didn't require daily cleaning service. Aircon in my bedroom was amazing & reliable. TV was also good & free Staff were all incredibly friendly, polite and couldn't do enough to please. All spoke really good English too! But really appreciated if you spoke a little basic Indonesian to them. The welcome in reception on arrival is perfected to a T! The Spa was incredible. I have been to a lot of Spa hotels but this is by far the best. Would 100% stay here again!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    It was like staying in the jungle. We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the early hours at 7am the staff are missing from the front desk.

    Everything was superb. Nothing to fault. Our room was amazin and we had a great view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    A delightful place to stay ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are a little too big for my liking .. yet everyone had different likes. I used a folded rug for a pillow. I would prefer a queen or double bed that doesn't have the gap in the middle from joining 2 single beds together. The room above was noisy when people were talking or moving chairs. This wasn't a problem, yet made us aware to be very quiet also. Otherwise, it's extremely quiet and peaceful here. There were no mosquitoes, we even slept with the windows open as I prefer not to use the air con. A day bed on the balcony would be the only thing I could suggest for added comfort.

    The staff are all happy, friendly, helpful. The hotel and spa are magnificent. The location is brilliant. The breakfast is wonderful. The sound of the river and the outlook is tranquil and relaxing, and relief from busy ubud. I would be happy and relaxed to stay here without leaving the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    The staff are so lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not very nice, it was only a hand held shower in a bath tub. The drains were probably blocked as the water took a very long time to filter out but we did not complain about it & I am sure they would have got it sorted if we kicked up a fuss.

    The staff are so lovely! They couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The hotel is in a brilliant location just 5 minute walk from the high street or if you hire motorbikes, it is easy to go all over the island from ubud. The food in the restaurant is delicious especially the banana pancakes for breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Tranquility in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    perhaps shuttle bus service could be more frequent

    Hotel & gardens unique Loved the spa facilities especially the chilly plunge pool! The staff so friendly & polite

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    5.4
    Not impressed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager greeted us with hostility, the staff were morose and unfriendly. We prepaid our meals and were told we had no choice in the food and served a fixed menu. While laying by the pool, 4 male staff parked themselves next to our chairs and openly eyed us for an hour. It was so uncomfortable we covered up then left. The hotel may have been wonderful in its heyday but its outdated and poor customer service ate not worth $260aud a night.

    The food was good, bed comfortable and free shuttle into town good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.1
    Lovely tropical settings but bed bugs unfortunately .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large villa rooms were great with a balcony/terrace but very damp smelling inside which I understand is correlated with such a humid tropical environ. We had a twin room which was nice and big but unfortunately we were both bitten by bed bugs. We informed the staff and they moved us to a smaller room for our last night which was a bit disalpointing for the same price. My entire right side and right side of stomach was covered as were some of my arms and legs. We were compensated by a spa entrance worth $8 dollars.

    The tropical views and surroundings were great. The food in the restaurant was also extremely good. The day spa is worth a look too. Interesting and enchanting.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many things that made our stay difficult. We arrived in wet season but unfortunately the hotel didn't have enough umbrellas to go around even though we were in the furthest rooms from reception. The bed was uncomfortable and not incredibly clean (stains & dirt on sheets). The bathrooms considerably outdated. The air conditioner did not work properly. No DVD player. Breakfast was average. WIFI worked only 70% of the time and doesn't work in the spa area or pool area. Even hotel guests have to pay to use the spa facilities and no where to change when using the spa facilities. No condiments in room e.g. Shower cap or shaver. These may be insignificant things but when it happens all at once it really took the shine off our experience.

    The hotel grounds are georgeous. The spa stunning. That's possibly the only positive. This hotel would have been wonderful in its heyday, but not anymore.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    Loved it ,it feels like old bali before the tourist rush.really great and ill go again with the fami
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more air in the bathroom and the door doesnt close in a sealed fashion so mosquitos can get in

    Stunning pool and spa beautiful grounds lovely staff who help orga ize guides taxis etc very smoothly lots of atmosphere;close to temples, rice padi walk 10 minutes from main centre on foot

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    8.3
    Perfect Location! Great Ambiance! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Raja Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing that I didn't like is the bathroom in the room. It's badly in need of an upgrade to make it modern. (very basic bath with old fixtures and it's too dark - something you'd expect in just a 2 star hotel). For the price you pay at this hotel, i'd say the dated bathroom is the only reason the facilities don't deserve a perfect rating.

    Loved the people! The staff were always smiling and very sincere in their want to be of service. The daily buffet breakfast was very tasty with a nice mix of food choices. The overall vibe of the hotel is amazing!!! Very lush and green. From the room we had a view of the forest and there is even a river below, very nice to just sit on the balcony and relax. The hotel also has an award winning spa, so it is nice to have that so close.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Tjampuhan Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: