Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbey Lodge 4 stars

Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland

#22 of 64 B&Bs and Inns in Killarney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 491 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Only a short walk from town, on-site free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have breakfast there but there was some mix-up that would have been too involved for the owner to change. We walked into town instead. Beds were very hard, but someone else might like that. Watch the bathtub, it’s slippery if you’re not right in front of the shower head.

    Only a short walk from town, on-site free parking. Owner was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    The staff was so welcoming and really made us feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was wonderful.

    The staff was so welcoming and really made us feel welcome. The location was maybe a 3 minute walk from the city center, which was wonderful. Convenient free parking, and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    The Killarney Brewery was right across the street and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Killarney Brewery was right across the street and the breakfast was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Perfect everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't stay longer.

    Awesome staff. Beautiful selection for breakfast, within couple blocks of downtown and the Killarney estate. Great room, clean, most friendly staff we encountered. Even provided us with fan. Parking available on site. Park your car and take your tours from this beautiful city, believe us much better than driving to dingle or ring of Carrie in your own car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Really nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Very nice accommodation with really nice and helpful personel. Looks even better than the pictures and is the sort of accommodation you'd expect in Ireland. Very nice and bright breakfast area with lovely breakfast. It is in walking distance of Killarney city centre and a good place to start the Ring of Kerry route. Spacious bed and bathroom en all very fresh and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    We were very happy with our stay overall excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving out of the property onto the road, it was really very busy, very difficult to make a right hand turn. Breakfast room is adequate but a bit tight on space for me personally.

    The bed was super very comfortable, the coffee/tea facility in the lounge was great, had coffee at midnight on our return from a show, it was fantastic to have that facility, the freedom to come and go as we please and free parking so close to Killarney town, it was better than many a hotel that I have stayed in previously.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Abbeylutely Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door keys took a bit of wrangling to undo the lock.

    Close to the town centre with great staff. Rooms were larger than others we had been in during our visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location, lovely polite people clean and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were met but a most pleasant girl when we arrived of all the places we have stayed in Killarney this was the best welcome we ever received most helpful and pilite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Brena is a friendly and helpful host who made us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brena is a friendly and helpful host who made us feel welcome and comfortable. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was very comfy. Walking distance from the town and Killarney national park. Wish we could have stayed longer :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    Staff are nice and the location is handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold as window had been left open

    Car park was full so parked next door which is belonging to same owner The room was cold as the window had been left open but we were offered a heater

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Friendly staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect. Walking distance to the town center. The room was spacious and so clean. The staff were friendly. I've traveled around the world and Kerry still has some of the friendliest people!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very frienly staff, warm and spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very frienly staff, warm and spotless. Brilliant loation being so near to town centre as a five minute walk would bring you into the heart of killarney.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in Co. Kerry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in is until 8pm, so be sure to arrive on time.

    Large room, very comfortable bed, all amenities you could expect in a room. Great choice of breakfast, beyond the traditional full irish. Walking distance to Killarney city center, with great choice of pubs and restaurants. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay with excellent activities in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lines in the car park area would have helped fit more cars in comfortably. Being nit picky because everything was so great!

    Excellent location, much to do within walking distance and within a 30 minute drive. Super friendly staff and large guest rooms which provide great comfort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tight parking

    great location and nice staff. Parking lot was tight to get into and out of. Breakfast was very good. Room was very clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to downtown and restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location. Good sized bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast waitress was abrupt towards another guest and it was uncomfortable. The bathroom was pokey.

    Host very friendly.The porridge with Baileys was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing, tranquil, friendly atmosphere at a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hostess was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful sitting room for relaxing in. Lovely peaceful ambiance in the house. Lovely breakfast - great selection. Lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    I loved the staff willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to have breakfast in the bedroom and the heating working during the night but not in the afternoon nor the morning

    I loved the staff willing to help

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay apart from the poor standard of bathroom.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms need serious upgrading. Position of bath bordered on dangerous with insufficient space to get in and out. No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly owners, good breakfast, large rooms, stable internet, challenging parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After 6 PM its a challenge to find a parking spot. My car barely made it through the narrow passage to the back parking area, and luckily it didn't happen, but in case I should have to drive backwards, I would have had a really great challenge. Rooms are quite hot in the evening, and while I couldn't find a way to lower the temperature, by opening the window was the best way to make the room somewhat cooler. The room lighting is either too much or too little. The large lamp on the ceiling is unpleasant lighting, even too glary. I turned it off most of the times.

    Friendly owners, great location (just 3 minute walk from town centre), large rooms, quiet location, good breakfast, friendly owners (twice mentioned :-)). Clean rooms, cozy chairs. Only good experiences, and definitely my first choice when I would visit Killarney again. There is a front-room with better internet signal, with self-service coffee and tea offered and really, really comfortable chairs, lots of books and tourist information, and just a quiet place to sit. Internet was superfast and stable, also upload speed is fast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Would not return as it is not a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not worth the additional charge of 10 Euros; facility overpriced for the condition of the building...neiter modern nor charming.

    Location good. Beds comfortable, rooms spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good size room with a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is in need of a remodel, the shower head is very low and it's almost impossible to keep the floors dry when taking a shower. You have to climb into a tub, which might be a little difficult if you're a little older.

    Good size room with a comfortable bed. Good breakfast selection and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice location. Stay experience is more like a hotel than a B&B. Plan accordiningly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view. There is no venting in the bathroom, neither fan nor window. It even asks you to keep the door shut while showering to keep the steam in to prevent the fire alarm from sounding.

    This location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was wonderful. We needed to find somewhere to do laundry and they actually took our laundry, dropped it off and picked it up for us (for a fee of course). This saved us time so that we could enjoy our vacation rather than sit in a laundromat all day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in a handy location close to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was poorly ventilated and paint was peeling from walls.

    Very comfortable room and bed, great location in Killarny, walking distance to town and close to the National Park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    good value in heart of Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - when entering the city the location may not be obviously great, as it is set on a busy road across from a gas station, however, this is actually a perfect location on the ring of kerry, about 3 minutes walk from the main street with all pubs and restaurants, and set back from the road enough that it's quiet -breakfast was wonderful, especially the pancakes and yogurt -staff were helpful and communicative throughout -parking was plenty and easy -beds were comfy and room was very large

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Close to town, an ideal base to explore the Ring of Kerry and nearby attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very small. Would have liked tea/coffee making in room, though it was available in sitting room.

    Friendly staff. Excellent position a 5 minute walk into town where there is a good choice of cafes and shops which are open late in the evening. An ideal base for visiting the Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, best of trip, and we stayed in 9 properties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking very tight, spaces need marking.

    Excellent service and very friendly. Parking was a little tight but, there was parking on the other side which we weren't made aware of at the start. We would definatly stay again an use as a base for 4/5 nights, 2 wasn't enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    Overall the place was nice for couples and families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were not elderly friendly and no way to control the temperature in the room. Also no coffe or tea in the rooms.

    The staff was friendly and very helpful. Was close to the train station. Also in walking distance of shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Attentive to your needs and very knowledgable about local area. Good wholesome place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Doors could be noisy to close and if you have inconsiderate traveler's staying at the same time as you - then you are awake when they were. Hardly the fault of the hotel but they could consider fitting soft closing doors.

    Location was excellent, easy to find and although the main road out front is busy there was no noise pollution in the rooms. At busy times it took a few minutes to get out of the path but that was a small price to pay and Killarney is very popular all year round. Greeting was friendly and staff were attentive if a problem was advised. In the morning there was always somebody around but in the evening it was a ring a bell to summons somebody. beds were comfortable and the building and rooms were modern and well decorated. Two floors and we were on the bottom but we had no noise transference from above which was so much better than other places we have stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Can't fault this accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A beautifully maintained property. Large rooms. My daughter and I had a very comfortable double bed each. Pretty relaxation room. Walking distance to Killarney. Overall a great choice of accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not having tea/coffee facilities in the room was very annoying. Don't have room 16, it's right by the car park and, even though there's a notice asking guests not to use it after 10 pm and before 8 am, they do, and it's very noisy.

    The location. Very near to town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, sitting room on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facilities in the bathroom not very convenient - seperate taps for cold and hot water in the sink.

    very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, sitting room on the first floor with free coffee and tea , central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, nice room, comprehensive breakfast choice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had mold, bath had no chain on the plug but more importantly getting into the bath was rather precarious and getting out took a leap of faith. This was because of the layout of the bathroom where only a small area of the bath was accessible from the bathroom floor. No good if you are unsteady on your feet.

    Room was large and rather plush. Breakfast was very good especially the home made yoghurt.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Everything you need!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have used more towels and facecloths.

    Great soaker tub/shower combination with an overhead skylight. Very comfortable beds and a lovely breakfast. Staff as extremely helpful in planning our limited days in Killarney!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Great hospitality and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight bugbear was the shower control knob is positioned poorly and kept turning off

    Very comfortable , lovely house and nice lounge downstairs to relax in with tea and coffee facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included Considered a Lodge not a B&B

    Short walk to centre where shops & restaurants were We had a 2 night stay as Killarney is a special town Antiques throughout the heritage building Room very nice We stayed at the property next door 5 years ago. Found out they are owned by same family

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Charming B&B in a great location close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet facilities can be improved

    Location is outstanding. Very charming place. Very nice breakfast area and breakfast. Extremely helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Lovely place central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near the Killarney National Park and quick 5 minute walk into town. Good breakfast. Stayed 2 nights to visit the area. Quiet room and plenty of space for 3 people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Too hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot! Sun was beating on room and skylights all day. Only one window in room...no cross breeze. It never got cool. Reserved room months in advance and was very disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Home sweet home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Large room for 3 of us with window opening for fresh air. Very comfortable beds. Easy walk to town centre. Convenient car park on site. Serviced room each day. Impeccably clean throughout. Staff all sweet and happy. Breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    The bed was super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My noisy neighbours, but that wasnt the Lodge's fault!

    The bed was super comfy. The staff were excellent and really accommodating. And the fact it was less than a 5 minute walk to the centre of town was a big plus too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra 10 euros pp for breakfast making this one of the most expensive B&B s that as stayed in. Bathroom needs updating - shelf fell off wall. Didn't feel very personal -never ny staff to be found .

    Great breakfast Iron & ironing board in room. Allowed early check in. Convenient location to town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great Location for days out in Kerry and lively nights in Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Warm welcome and lovely staff at breakfast. Breakfast quality very good and quick service. Secure off-road parking for our motorcycles. Price very reasonable considering it's in Killarney and very close to all the amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Glad we stayed here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat dated bathroom with a toilet that made a loud banging noise as you sat or got up from seat.

    Lounge with tea and coffee available at all times. Small Safe in room. Communal frig. Helpful advice and responsiveness of manager.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were very welcoming and made us feel right at home! The B&B is in a great location very close to the city center, yet somehow still quiet at night. There is plenty of free on-site parking available. The rooms are larger than most B&Bs and were quite comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best that we had on the entire trip!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location nice breakfast and quiet atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures make it look like an old classic quaint BnB but it is more like a hotel. I believe it was built in the 80s. Bathrooms could use an update.

    Great location nice breakfast and quiet atmosphere. The rooms were clean and the staff was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    We loved everything about our visit to Killarney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about our visit to Killarney. Our stay at the Abbey Lodge was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and tremendously helpful. We loved being close enough to walk to town for everything. We were very happy with all of the recommendations from the staff with regard to places to visit and ways to travel to our next destination. We would definitely stay here again on if we have the opportunity to return to Ireland.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Lovely time in Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!

    Warm Irish welcome upon arrival and friendly Irish hospitality during our stay. Great location, very comfortable room and quiet house/area. Our friends enjoyed the breakfast onsite advising it was also very good. I also loved waking to the sound of the horses and carts passing by our door each morning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Walking distance to downtown Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of Abbey Lodge B&B lets it seem like a hotel, and a well organized one, too. But the personal touch provided by the staff proved it is certainly a well managed B&B, which we enjoyed very much. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk away from downtown with all its pubs, bars. It was a perfect choice for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Fab kinda luxurious property for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was fine but you have to be lucky to get parking space before it gets full. Happened to me once and was told to park next door which was fine by me.

    The property felt more like a hotel than a standard B&B which has taken us by surprise. The location was within walking distance to town. Shower was fab and breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel and nice girls working in.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel and nice girls working in. They can book a bus trip for Ring of Kerry and Dingle for visitors. Large, clean and lovely room. Really enjoyed to stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a last minute decision to stay here and im glad we did. It was a short 5 minute walk from the train station and it is a very quick walk into town. The room was big and spacious with the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    The place in Killarney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was amazing! I seldom have such a nice stay, and this is true in every dimension. Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast with plenty of options, clean and well-designed interiors, cosy and spacious room with everything you may want, good WiFi, safe and spacious parking, 5 min walk to town centre or park, yet located conveniently near the roads to sites of interest (e.g. peninsulas or mountains). Also I have seen some international comments in log book stating that many guests return, so that is not only my personal experience. No doubts: 10/10.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all perfect. The room was spacious and clean. The service was pleasant and the included breakfast was rich. Can only recommend a stay in the abbey Lodge

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous stay at Abbey Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pipes in the bathroom were making lioud noises which woke me up early. It sounded like someone was having a very long shower!

    Lovely host, terrific accommodation in a great location. My room was lovely. Big comfortable bed and excellent fast Wi Fi. The breakfast room was great and I had a well cooked hot meal. Overall a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely Guesthouse in Killarney - better than a lot of the hotels on offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing from the road and other rooms is not great but it is a Guesthouse.

    Great location very close to town. Parking on site was extremely handy. Lady on check out was extremely friendly. Everything you could want was included in the room, even a safe.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice Guesthouse / Very Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was expensive for a single room / Rooms were very cold later in the night and also in the morning.

    Rooms were very spacious / Very good location / Parking at the rear of the property / Free Wifi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Outstanding value and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light above my sink was broken.

    I really liked the comfort of the Abbey Inn.Only problem was that I only stayed one night. I didn't take the breakfast and was a little disappointed that they didn't offer fresh coffee (only instant)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location, confort and reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waffles on the Breakfast.

    The kindness of the staff, the location (very close to city centre) and the confort of the bed. The continental breakfast is very good and complete, no need for the worm plates.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a big thing but i like the tea,coffee facilities in the room instead of lounge. And breakfast a little small for the €10 price.

    Area is wonderful, great scenery and perfectly situated, pretty much situated halfway between INEC/Gleneagle and Killarney town centre. Something for everyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    We would highly recommend this place to stay in Killarney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would highly recommend this place to stay in Killarney. Conveniently located close to the town centre, supermarket, cafes, etc. Staff very friendly and suggested excellent restaurants and pubs to visit. Not a true B&B - more like a boutique hotel with the charm of a B&B. It was perfect! And an excellent price! Thanks for a fab stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Great stop in Kilarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor issue, but the shower in the bathroom was a little strange- the shower door pulled out across the middle of the bathtub, and didn't do much to contain the water. It ended up a little wet and slick in the bathroom.

    Owner was so friendly and helpful, breakfast was amazing, and the proximity to walk to town was perfect! Great place to stay overall, we are very happy!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Abbey was a very cozy, charming, clean and comfortable place to be. John and Evelyn were so welcoming and helpful. Highly recommend guests to stay here when visiting Killarney.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    A Surprisingly Good Hotel in Killarney
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A five to ten minute walk to restaurants. No staff on duty on Saturday night at 8:30 pm when we wanted ice. Parking lot was limited and very tight to maneuver in. No elevator.

    Breakfast was the best. Don't miss the pancakes, waffles and the first for us Baileys oatmeal!! Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Rooms were spacious and on site parking was a plus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Just excellent in every area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The lodge was beautiful. The cooked breakfast was amazing. The beds were comfy. This place is a hidden gem, we were used to staying in hotels and this was like a hotel with all the comforts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Small Inn with Big Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect. Just a few blocks from the main part of town and on the road out to the national park. The staff is so helpful with local information and they coordinated with the airlines to get our bag delivered. Great breakfast, hot and cold that is plenty to keep you going on all the outdoor adventures nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Great accommodations for a stay in Killarney!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really can't think of anything. If you have a second-floor (U.S. definition) room, you have to walk up stairs and carry your bags, if that's a problem.

    Abbey Lodge is a short walk from the center of Killarney, and has 23 rooms. We had a triple room--beds were comfortable, had a flat-screen tv and good wifi in the rooms, but the lodge as a whole retained its old-fashioned Irish ambience, lots of antiques and art work. There is breakfast available in a solarium and side room, at a very reasonable rates, both continental and full breakfast. There is a parlor where you can always brew yourself some tea or coffee. The owners and staff are lovely, and everything went beautifully. If you arrive by car, there is ample off-street parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    A Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff we met were very friendly but unless you sought someone out, there was never a staff person to be seen. Had the breakfast one morning, it was just ok. We went elsewhere the other mornings.

    Great location, five minute walk to town, but very quiet. Clean and comfortable rooms. Fantastic bathtub with ample hot water for a long soak after hours of walking and driving those windy drives! Comfy beds and soft bedding. Quiet at night. Never a problem finding parking in their lot at the end of the day. A really comfortable stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    The staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have any problems

    The staff was very nice. Best breakfast we had in Ireland (I had porridge with baileys and honey yum). Great shower. Clean room. Great location for the Ring of Kerry. We walked right into Killarney for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Superb B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing I would want changed except a little hard to locate with GPS; perhaps a street address might prove useful?

    An excellent B&B, well appointed in decor and furnishings, superb breakfast, and well located near town and points of interest.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    I will return if I have the opportunity to return to Killarney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no face cloths in the room. We had to call for them each night.

    Breakfast was tasty, Staff very friendly, and location close to restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was extra, which surprised me bring a b&b. We ate one morning and did not feel the 10€ were worth what we got.

    Staff was nice. We had a little snafu when we got there. We requested a room for 4 adults and when we got there the receptionist said it might cost more as the family room was for 2 adults and two children. After a call to the owner they said not extra charge. Rooms were adequate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Very spacious and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking on a night could not get parked

    Very spacious and very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Location, price, very comfortable and lovely polite staff

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: