Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercantile Hotel 3 stars

28 Dame Street, Temple Bar, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#106 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1144 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were a couple of bars behind the hotel and they were very noisy late at night.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location for walking to shops and sights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Here's a tip: ask your taxi driver to take you to the alley behind the hotel (if you have a lot of bags). Otherwise, you'll be dragging your bags through their huge and lovely bar/restaurant. I liked this place a LOT even though we only spent one night there before going to Galway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After reading all the reviews, I was prepared for the noise. And it's true, the noise is real. But if you're having a night on temple bar and the hotel is just a place to get ready, this hotel is perfect. It's rather run down and needs an upgrade, but it's not in a bad state. In the day, it's quiet. And by the time you need to sleep, as long as you're drunk, it's fine. It's over a pub so be prepared for that. And i think it's overpriced for the actual hotel but the location makes up for the cost as it means, no spending on taxi fare!

    The location is ideal. Walking distance to most things. And very lively. Staff were kind and polite also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room's needed an upgrade no air con or fridge. Wardrobe doors would not close. Furniture old. TV only 1 channel that worked that was a cartoon channel. Bathroom dated and very small. For price per night expected some luxury. Our double bed was two single beds pushed together. We had lovely weather on our stay. Room's like a sauna so had windows open. This meant lots of street noise. Got to sleep at 5am on day we were leaving for airport. Street noise nothing that hotel could do. But if the rooms had air con could have been better.

    Amazing staff, nothing too much trouble. Location was brilliant. Very central. Room's spotlessly clean. Staff very knowedable with directions,best time to visit etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel every single spring in the bed. Not at all like the photos. It was dirty and don’t expect to get ANY sleep. We left Dublin a day early because we couldn’t get any rest here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely loud at night due to location of bars and single pane windows. Main street in the front that never quieted down - garbage trucks every morning. Some rooms were renovated and others were not in our group. Would not recommend it to anyone who was not planning to engage in the evening nightlife.

    Conveniently located to Temple Bar district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very uncomfortable , old and springs protruding. The temperature was very warm , uncomfortably warm. The toilet broke and was unusable for almost 24 hours , they did discount 40euros but it took a lot of convincing and arguing to get a discount

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel due to a cancelled flight so am probably not the target market. If you want a base to go drinking all night it's probably fine. The property is not so much a hotel, more a pub with rooms. Entrance is round the back and not easy to find. A bouncer directed me down a side alley where I had to navigate my luggage past a drunk peeing against the pub wall to find another bouncer amongst the melee to show me the hotel entrance. The noise is incredible as the windows have an open vent in them which cannot be closed. The party outside my window stopped sometime after 1am. The party in the pub was still echoing through the corridors when I checked out at 5.45am. Room was clean. Basic but functional. Plug sockets could do with repair. Location is central so if you're there to party you'll probably love it. I would not recommend for an extended stay or if sleep is important to you. Room was

    Front desk was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Earplugs needed for sleep (provided by the hotel), overpriced (like most hotels in Dublin)

    Central location, nice staff, spacious room, clean bathroom, possibility to order different breakfast options, Airlink bus stop very close

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise..room was to the front if the hotel and had old windows.the noise from the traffic and people was constant all night to morning.only in the morning when making a cup of tea did we find two small packets of ear plugs beside the tea...it might be an idea to put these beside the beds in future to let people find them.

    Great location, food was good, great service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single glazing would be an issue if you wanted an early night. Not a the place to stay if you want relaxation and do not wish to participate in the night scene. Floors were sticky and generally the shoe place is tired and in need of a deep clean.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor could have been fresher in our room. Double glazing would help with noise and heat retention - it was a bit drafty, not sure what it would have been like in January.

    The lobby and bar/restaurant were well decorated, in a dark and old fashioned kind of way. Our room was a bit shabby - poor natural light, plain and somewhat dated décor, also no light fixing in the centre of the room, only directly in front of the door, the rest of the room was lit by bedside lamps (one of which didn't work). We were right at the end of the corridor and passed two other rooms with the doors open being cleaned, both of which were much brighter and had more modern décor including laminate floors rather than carpets - possibly refurbishment hasn't reached that room yet. All in all it was fine for a base, we didn't spend much time there. Bit noisy (the hotel provides ear plugs) as there are old single glazed sash windows, but it is right on Temple Bar and I sleep through anything so wasn't a problem for me. Didn't use the restaurant, even for breakfast - we went to Bobo's across the road once, and Bewley's Oriental Café on Grafton Street for coffee and pastries the next day. The bar was fairly priced and stayed open until 1pm on the Thursday night we used it. Great location, right in the middle of the nightlife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the beds was squeaky and kept waking up the room whenever its occupant turned in his sleep.

    The location is by far the greatest asset this hotel has. But the room was exactly large enough for the three of us to rest and make preparations before exploring pubs in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was terrible sound insulation in the building. The lack of carpeting meant I could hear every movement from the room upstairs. Considering how much noise there was outside the hotel, more should have been done inside.

    Large, airy room. Good central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Value for money should be generally improved. The room is quite noisy.

    I have been staying in this hotel for 4 nights without breakfast. The staff of the hotel is kind and helpful, the cleanliness is good (daily room cleaning and towel change), position is excellent and the general comfort of the room was ok. Wifi very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is right in the heart of the city and we didn't realize that. It is loud in the rooms but after the first night we found some earplugs and it was grand from then on.

    It is right in the middle of everything. Easy to get to everything, hotel staff were super helpful and friendly, and you could lay in bed at night and listen to music from the bar across the street. It was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because you are surrounded by pubs, there is very loud noise and yelling at all hours of the night.

    Location is good if you want to be in Temple Bar area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an absolute garbage hotel. Bad overall experience, smoking from the bar in the hotel wafted into my room while I was sleeping. It was not a non smoking property at all. Leak in the bathroom left signs of mold on the ceiling and drips on the floor. Not recommended for American travels, simply not up to health and safety standards.

    Location was central to restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key didn’t work and front desk lady was so rude and it continued to not work and it just baffled me that she wouldn’t have checked before she issued my key. Other than that the room was dingy and the tv wasn’t even working it was so staticky

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although location is ideal, it also means that it's insanely loud at all times of the day and night. They even provide earplugs. Hotel needs updating- rusty surfaces, cracks, scratches, tears, stains...Just seems worn and dated. No counter at all in bathroom. Rooms are very stuffy, but opening window just isn't an option with noise. Parking is a partnership with a garage about a 7 minute walk away- tough to do with luggage on crowded downtown sidewalks!

    Couldn't ask for a better location in the heart of Temple Bar. Loads of restaurants, pubs and shops all around. Rooms were clean, front desk staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was here on st patricks day and it was amazing. All the bars and clubs Where full in the city and so was mercantiles 3 floor bar but because We lived in the Hotel We got full access to the massive bar and that was great. The staff was supergood and was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we went back out at 12.30 for food late munchies when we got back which was not much later doors locked and no sign of were we get back in. We had to eventually go around the back down the laneway and ring bell to get in. if we knew doors close early and how to get back in instead of trying to find our way back in it would of been helpfull. No wifi password handy thought it would of been on guest card or at least given when we checked in. Breakfast a little well done on sausages /Pudding .Thank you to all your staff.

    Room 106 lovely steps down into it all over character we were quite happy with room , breakfast a little over done but otherwise staff nice. we were in O'Briens connected to the hotel and it was lovely . . Overall it was central and near Olympia which is what we wanted rooms spotless staff friendly pub next door very friendly O' Briens highly recommend it .Thank you to all your staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of lillies in reception and in the bar. They were extremely strong and I had to take more of my inhalers than usual.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Loved that there were ear plugs in the room. A very nice touch ☺

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy in the middle of the night. Not the hotel’s fault. Location is great but is located in the middle of “nightlife.”

    Staff was extraordinary. So friendly, kind, responsive to my needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit lumpy

    Love the location! We could hear people till the early morning hours having fun and partying. Noisy but we loved it! Walk to Temple Bar, Guinness Store House and really... everything. Will stay again next trip. We really loved it. Great value for the dollar. Staff was very helpful. Really is the perfect spot for fun!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park...when i call reception,there told me that i have discount with the car park,but i didn’t get any discount,even i ask reception twice and i think that hotel has it faulty advertising,even reception put on stamp in car park card ,still worker in car park told me ,we don’t do any deals with hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 plug sockets but receptionist got me an extension lead. Arrived at night so couldn't see where entrance to hotel part is.

    Bed was comfortable and location central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable would be our only issue

    The central location, the security, the friendliness, the history of the building the coffee, cleanliness, willing to help

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be a little more comfortable, mattress was a bit too soft but that’s a matter of personal preference. I was missing a hairdryer too. Power adapters can be bought at the reception for 4euro.

    Perfect location, just next to the main street. Our windows were facing a side street so it wasn’t too loud. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Furniture was classical but in a good shape. Bathroom was spacious, with a window. Water was really warm and had a good pressure even though we stayed at the last floor. Set of basic toiletries included slippers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad noise insulation, bad smell in lovely bar, overall the place needs an upgrade, pity as the building especially the bar is very ornate.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like that the closest car park was €33 for the night!!!! Shocking!! The room was €130 for two adults with breakfast included, which was great but the €33 parking ticket took away from the great hotel price. :( apart from that the staff were great, room was lovely, breakfast was nice and location was great. However I would not stay here again for the simple fact of the extortionate parking price. Pity as the hotel will lose business for this reason only.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that in a rush to meet our friends to catch bus to airport I left 2 of my shirts in the wardrobe. I emailed hotel but had no response, a phone call to my wife a day later saying only 1 shirt had been found in our room, but no one had seen the other. A little worrying if you have untrustworthy staff !!!!

    The location was excellent, bar staff and breakfast waitresses were great. Receptionist helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Understand the location of hotel means that it was always likely to be noisy outside but even though was on 3rd floor there was noise from revelers for most of the night

    Breakfast excellent. Clean room. Staff attentive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, right in the Temple bar area, everything is pretty accessible downtown. The hotel and bar workers were very nice and attentive. The bar stays open later for hotel guests! Breakfast was basically anything you wanted off the menu, which was wonderful and a pretty good discount if you bought it with the room. I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it! (I would bring earplugs because it is an older building and it can get loud on the streets, but that's not the hotels fault!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff terrible so rude double charged me and was told that it was a mistake nothing done about it no management etc location is terrible down a lane u need to go celebrities I booked this for im ashamed to have brought them here as the rooms were terrible things broke noisy just terrible experience from statt to the end and still waiting for management to call ..

    Staff terrible so rude double charged me and was told that it was a mistake nothing done about it no management etc location is terrible down a lane u need to go celebrities I booked this for im ashamed to have brought them here as the rooms were terrible things broke noisy just terrible experience from statt to the end and still waiting for management to call ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, wasn’t the cleanest and very dated

    Our room was front facing so the noise from the traffic meant very little sleep. The window was flimsy and was very cold in the room. But for €69 can’t complain too much, got what we paid for!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was really loud with both noise from the street and other rooms (thin windows and doors) but was provided with earplugs just didn't see them until the morning unfortunately

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Great hotel for money spent, in excellent location with a lot of bars and restaurant nearby. The ground floor pub is fantastic! I would have been stayed there for ever.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was not as expected as it was very dated and no heat in room when we arrived we had to turn it on ourselves , squeaky floorboards everywhere , room had no view just a brick wall and hardly slept all night because of street noise. breakfast not great , value for money very poor.

    the only plus point was very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a bit of sprusing up.

    The staff were lovely. Room could do with a bit of refurbishment, but other than that, cannot fault the place. Perfect location :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise! Room 102 never slept a wink, windows are not double glazed, road cleaners, bin men, ppl general walking or talking you can hear everything. Noise is unreal! You will be exhausted.

    Location is very central for temple bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up at 8am by the sound of barrels hitting the ground right outside our window. This continued until after 10am which prevented us from sleeping. I told the receptionist when leaving but she simply said it is not their fault.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with food. Never got a wink of sleep..the noise was so bad! I am not fussy with things like this normally but it felt like our bed was out on the street. There was never a break from the noise! Came home wrecked! Its a pity as I really did like the hotel & location.

    Great location. Pleasantly surprised with the room & was very well equipped. Girls in bar & reception very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts are ancient and slow. Noise from bar downstairs a bit loud but understandable as it was the last working day before Christmas.

    Great location. Old world charm. Nice comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really stuffy at times the room.

    The room was so comfortable ! Loved the little stair case leading down to the room. It had a Christmas feel to it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault was noise but that couldn’t of been helped Christmas week. But Hotel provide ear plug which we only found next morning

    Fantastic sized family rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the crowds in Dublin are ridiculously noisy until very, very late into the night ( or actually the very early morning). The traffic honks very often. All the way up at the fourth floor was so noisy it was hard to get a good night's sleep! I wish Dublin police would control this more.

    Nice room! Nice tavern! Nice staff!, great location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is noisy because of the pubs, but that is the deal of a lively city center location.

    Comfortable bed and clean room. Very good Wifi and Super Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud and room a little cold from thin windows. Dated and worn rooms. But knew all this up front and it was still worth the stay for the location.

    Decent price for a good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are located in the front of the hotel you will not sleep because of the noise. We asked for a room at the backside of the hotel and this was not a problem.

    Location is perfect for bar hopping and seeing the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't bother us, but would imagine a lot of people may complain about it being noisy if you stay at front of hotel like we did.

    Oldie worldy place, Good for the Temple Bar area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a little cleaner and TV signal was affected by people moving around the room.

    Full of charm. Very pleasant staff on arrival who were very helpful too. Excellent location for the City. Nice Christmas decorations and bar staff very good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast was cold.

    The staff were very friendly & the bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The waiter was a pleasure. We’d return just to be served by him, he was so funny.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not soundproof at all - no physical barrier to exclude the external street noise. Window construction very poor. Investment needed in hotel to add extra comfort to supplement the 'old world charm'. Food not available when requested at the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey for the rooms

    Hotel is right on top of a bar which is a fun and lively place to go at night. Breakfast was delicious. Because the hotel is located on top of the bar it can get a little noisy but everywhere in Dublin is noise because it is a party town. The location of the hotel was amaIng, very entrar to everything. Rooms were small but overall a good experience i would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really recommend Mercantile hotel also the restaurant.. My room was amazing and very clean,good location,excellent food and all the staffs are lovely but there was a Brazilian girl working during the day in the restaurant and she is the best always smiling and always kind...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we didn't get any sleep, as the noise from the street was ridiculous. When went to complain the phone in the room wasn't working so had to go down to reception to complain. The staff at reception were friendly but couldn't really help, there was no manager on until 8an the following morning. The night staff did offer to move us but it was in my opinion too late in the night. I went to speak to the manager in the morning she was not great at all, her people skills were very bad, as she talked over me and also made me feel I was making a big deal about nothing and also that I was wrong about the phone not working. In the end we were not charged for the room. I will definitely never stay there again. The only people I would recommend this hotel to are people who are deaf.

    The room was basic but clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was terribly uncomfortable! All of us staying there slept terrible and this was not the loud noise but primarily the rock hard bed and flat pillows. Would pick a different hotel next time in a similar location because that was the only great part to the price paid.

    Location, location, location. The staff was very pleasant and helpful! Enjoyed the atmosphere of the surrounding area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold. Constant drilling in the middle of the night and staff could not answer to what it was. Very noisey as it’s on the Main Street but Windows night have well been open it was that loud.

    Location was good and staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating didn't work. We complained, someone came to look. The heating started up at 3am making the most horrendous noise for a hour. Did the same again the following night. We were at the front of the hotel which was really noisy. The window wouldn't shut properly.

    Central to everything. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rudeness from the staff and manager on the reception and the fact the hotel has robbed me of 159 euro when i clearly have a receipt saying paid in cash on arrival yet they charged my bank account with.

    my stay was ok however the mercantile hotel has robbed me of 159 euro. i paid cash on arrival of 178 euro. Furthermore the day i got home they had also charged my banked account of 159 euro. When i rang to queries this i was told it would be looked into. 4 days later im still having to ring each day to try an resolve the issue but now they are fobbing me off and not refunding my account. There is no customer service from the manager named maura and she is also getting her staff to lie about not being in the hotel when you can clearly hear them talking about the situation in the background saying they are not dealing with this as its not important. I suffer with Chrons Disease and this is causing me great stress. As i booked this hotel through booking.com i dont find booking.com a safe site or reliable site to make future bookings with as now im being left with 159 euro minus out of my account which now has left me with no money for the week to get food or pay bills with.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ear plugs provided should have been worn. Worst sleep ever so much action going on right outside the window.

    Nice to have a restaurant an bar Right in the hotel for convenience and good food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult with sleeping due to external noise. I understand this is to be expected for a city centre location but double glazing would diminish some of the noise. Beds were comfortable but quite old and squeaky - again interrupting sleep.

    The hotel is well located for exploring Dublin, especially with children.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems quite outdated, even had a CRT CV in the room that made me feel like I was living in the 80's. There is no separate entrance to the hotel after-hours and you are forced to go through the bar at night. The worst part of my stay was that the toilet in room 104 wouldn't even flush which made our stay quite unenjoyable. I explained this to the receptionist with the dark hair to which I was never given an apology.

    Good Location with a view of dame street from the front rooms, very central and a stones throw away from temple bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a little more comfortable

    The privacy of the rooms and friendliness of the staff were two things that were excellent about this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced, poor value for money, staff need to be more courteous and welcoming. Rooms dated and need work. Ceiling leaking in bathroom and nearly collapsed, no offer for a room change or a reduced room price.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the lively atmosphere but if you don’t like lots of people and noise you may need to look elsewhere. The car parking is a little distance away through narrow streets with lots of pedestrians so a little patience is required.

    The Mercantile is a beautiful old building smack in the middle of the entertainment heart of Dublin. The main shopping district and many of Dublin’s historic attractions are a short walk from the hotel. We enjoyed a lively stay and wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Dublin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get back into the hotel in the early hours and the shower wasn't great.

    Ear plugs supplied in the room - nice touch for those that need a little help sleeping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great size room. Although elevator was out when we arrived and our room was not ready, staff was great in accommodating us. A. Little tough to find but great location - just blocks from Trinity, Temple Bar area, etc. could be slightly noisy at night because of the bars below, but you can either join in the fun or wear earplugs that are provided in the room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was like a sauna, the cost of the room was the worse I have ever come across (over £200 a weekday night). The noise on both Monday and Tuesday was horrendous, it was constant until 4 am Monday and 3am Tuesday.

    The bed was ok, the food in the bar was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows didn't block out any of the street noise so I barely slept the first night - I'm sure it's okay if you're visiting for the nightlife but not really suitable for business travellers. The rooms are really tired looking and dated, with old fashioned TV's etc.

    Staff were friendly. The bed was comfortable and the shower was really good. We were able to leave our bags with them after checking out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor value for the money ($200 a night). Bathrooms were in disrepair. Toilets wouldn't flush properly, ancient sinks, mold growing in vents. Hotel is very loud at night, due to attached pub.

    Location was right in the middle of the action

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in shower or sink. Just unreal staff did all they could. One girl even arrived to the door with a wrench in her hand. Hard to believe no manager on site until after 3pm on the morning of checkout. Staff did offer another room on different floor for a shower as there was just nothing else they could do. Food was terrible in the restaurant on the previous evening so we passed on the free breakfast the staff offered for inconvenience.

    Staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was not operating properly

    Staff very friendly and food available on the premises.late bar and secure entrance to bedrooms for a woman travelling alone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a problem when we checked in, I booked for 2 adults and 1 child, and the room offered had only one double bed. Then we have to discuss quite alot to have the room for we three. Also breakfast was not included. Shower had small volume of water.

    Good size of the bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: