Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges 3 stars

Glen of Aherlow, Aherlow, Ireland

#2 of 3 hotels in Aherlow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 218 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money, we stayed in October 2018 and booked two days before travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable but a little firm for our liking, the room was a bit bare it could have benefitted from some more pictures on the walls etc as it lacked a bit of atmosphere. However it was a good size and bathroom toiletries were included.

    The hunting lodge is excellent, very cosy the fire was lit the whole time and the food was good too. We whiled away a whole evening in the armchairs by the fire drinking whiskey and wine. The TV in our room had very good picture quality and lots of channels to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place could do with some fresh paint and redecorating but in general it exceeded our expectations and at a deal of €65 for B&B we will be returning.

    Lovely fresh breakfast. One of those rare hotels nowadays where you order the hot breakfast and it comes freshly cooked and piping hot. Fresh fruit was real fresh fruit. Beautiful welcoming open fire in the bar in the evening. They know how to cook chips here. Neven Maguire would be proud. They have spoiled me for chips anywhere else since. The bed was really comfortable and even though the bathroom is dated it is clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    It was lovely, cozy,peaceful with beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    When leaving from Canada for a first time visit to Ireland, this property really caught my eye & I booked right away.It had the caricature, beautiful grounds & view. The food & service by the fireplace really added to the comfort factor. Unfortunately it was overcast and we missed out on the true sunny beauty surrounding.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    overall we had a great stay. food was excellant, staff were good and of course the views were fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water on both days of our stay was only lukewarm. While i appreciate this is an old building HOT water i would think is a necessity (esp to wash in after enjoying the walks on offer). when i rang reception i was only half heartedly offered a room change, but i didn't see what help this would be so i declined to then be told to wait 20 mins and try again! after an hour of waiting the water actually felt colder. I ended up having a very quick very cold shower.

    Our room was upgraded to a front facing room when staff were informed it was our wedding anniversary, the views were breathtaking and the room was massive"2

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    Fantastic in all ways. John the manager was extremely pleasant and friendly as was the other staff. Beautiful views. Excellent food in restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Very cosy and relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy and relaxing place. We liked the very good restaurant and the friendly staff. Also in the bar was a very nice Atmosphere. Would like to come back one day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the kitchen may have been understaffed regarding the service of food in the bar on the Saturday night. We were told that they had stopped taking food orders for 20 minutes as the kitchen was very busy. This also appeared to be the case with breakfast the following morning, but saying that the bar food was very good and the breakfast was one of the best we have had.

    Location - very scenic. Ideal location if you want to relax.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Lovely room, exquisite view of Glen of Aherlow, friendly staff. Too bad about the noisy neighbours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our night's sleep was interrupted by youths talking loudly in the hallway, slamming bedroom doors at night - and again at 5 am.

    Soft white fluffy duvet. Good hot shower.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    In serious need of repair and staff training.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in major need of updating and repair. In my room the shower curtain was dirty and stained, the TV cabinet had broken hinges and the carpets were thread bare. Breakfast not great quality and coffee stains over restaurant walls. The staff did their best but it strikes me that they get little training and the hotel couldn't care less about its guests given the tired facilities. It has quite a creepy feeling! The worst part of my stay was that I had two computers charging in my room and room service decided to open and leave my bedroom window fully open after cleaning it. I was on the ground floor and anyone could have climbed into the window and stolen my belongings and equipment. I was so furious about this. Furthermore my room was freezing when I arrived back late.

    The views are exceptional and stunning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to rooms made it difficult to carry luggage up. Understaffed so no one around to help. No one on reception for us to check out and it was 9am. One of the other staff members had to write down our payment details to get processed when somebody turned up with a password to get in. Very unprofessional but staff member did the best she could to help us. Payment has been processed but still waiting for receipt conformation via email. Sorry not good enough.

    Beautiful setting. Working fireplace. The staff on duty were excellent but they were understaffed. Dinner excellent. Breakfast fair.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely setting, but under expectaions for accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is very tired and needs updating. Seating in restaurant badly stained. Bathroom sink very crazed and needs replacing (health hazard). Price of drinks quite high. Soda water was charged at 2.5 euros for a half tumbler glass (rip off) In England usually free or up to 50pence. Heating in room not on in evening, requested it be turned on, was told would do, but didn't come on until next morning.

    Location. Friendly staff. Food was good in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Basic hotel but excellent location & Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception at breakfast was very hap-hazard. No-one at the door to meet & greet & direct you to a table. People were walking in & taking any table & some people were left standing in the middle of the room looking for a table. One couple even had to get their own cutlery & crockery.

    The location was fantastic. The hotel looked splendid with all it's flowers. The staff were so friendly & helpful. It is a basic 3 star hotel but was much better than I expected. Our room overlooked the front with a great vies of the mountains. It was a large clean room. With a few tweaks it could possibly up it's rating. Definitely would go back for another stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Location fantastic especially for mountain bikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had problem with payment if booking was charged twice.Once from booking.co. and again from reception.

    Location fantastic especially for mountain bikes.Accomodation brilliant.Hotel and breakfast second to none.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there during the hottest spells in Ireland for almost 100 years. I didn't like the heat but the staff did all they could to keep as comfortable as possible

    Wonderful staff throughout. Beautiful scenery. Cozy environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Tipp in Aherlow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decking needs attention and weeds around the lodge. Staff at hotel unaware of places and how to find them that are in the lodge welcome folder. Also rate at booking.com paid for but Aherlow quoted 59 less.

    The setting is spectacular. The lodge offered great comfort for 6 people. Lots to do in the area- walks, nature park, close to other towns with activities. Friendly staff. Good pub grub in the hotel bar. You will relax here, no doubt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    A lovely off the beaten track venue as aa base for further exploration of south Tipp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt that the bar staff could do with some more customer care training. A bit too casual and one was ignored while waiting to order a drink..

    Excellent location. Great terrace for both eating and refreshments in good weather.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Loved the spectacular location, but the room was just bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too warm so we had to open the windows, but on the side of the hotel they put us in, the windows opened up onto a dark, dank concrete alleyway. Uncomfortable beds, cramped rooms, doors constantly slamming in the hallway, and very few accessible electric outlets to charge devices really ruined the stay for us. Maybe the individual lodges are better.

    Location was positively gorgeous. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Stayed 2 night first night in the hotel and second in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed 2 night first night in the hotel and second in the lodges both were really nice. Staff were excellent so friendly and helpful. Had a really nice vegetarian breakfast and pasta dinner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.2
    Never been in a place like it for filth and rudeness. It's a beautiful location, shame on them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clean, staff were rude and cold at best. Will never be back.

    We were disappointed that on a Sunday evening we could only get full dinners in the hotel. We had had dinner on the way down at lunch time and just wanted a light meal or a sandwich. Nothing of the sort was available so we had to drive 8 kilometres to the nearest town for food. There was nothing good we could say about this place for food , the breakfast was shoddy!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    relaxing friendly location with spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the bar food was lovely I would prefer if there were more light bites and sandwiches on offer if you wanted a sanck during the day or evening

    The view, location staff, bar all excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Not a stay I want to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the kitchen room 10 no privacy... we had the noise of pots banging and chefs chatting n singing away till the band eventually drowned them out and our room was filled with loud music. Yay than the gentleman next door was heard through the paper thin walls coughing, urinating and snoring till the morning. We got minimul sleep, privacy and quiet time yet it was a celebratory stay for us and we were fit to leave at 3am. Shower we obeyed the strange rule of door closed, yet we managed to set the fire alarm off... ?!@ during the night the cold water tap in the sink came on by itself, I presume from water pressure?? Breakfast we got down to resturant exhausted... had to ask waitress for tea after 10mins... no glasses by the juice and no plates for the fry. Service lacked here we got up and left, this topped our stay to be the worst in Ireland.

    Location is amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    I would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very dated, dripping tap.No heat in room first night, noone at reception to help.Thumb tacks all over room.One on pillow one on chair nearly stood on one and several more on floor.

    Food was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Weekend break with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We staywd in the lodges which are lovely. However; the mattresses and pillows were very soft and I felt like they were in the houses for quite a while

    The amazing view!!!! Houses very clean kitchen well stocked with cutlery and delph. Plenty hot water and loads of towels provided. All the staff we encountered from bar staff, wait staff and those at reception were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable that is the only complaint I would have .

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was unreal with the views of the Galtee Mountains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff were friendly and helpful but, with the exception of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms not facing the mountain are dark and cold. Bar food very poor. Cooked breakfasts were good but poor selection otherwise. No comfortable seating in hotel to sit and read. Bar was only available space.

    Staff were friendly and helpful but, with the exception of one receptionist, were not good about local directions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    We did have an enjoyable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lodged were not properly kitted out. Dirty ashtray full of used cigarette butts on veranda. No frying pan, no serving bowels, no mugs.

    Lodged were airy and clean. Staff at hotel were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Aherlow House Hotel is a wonderful spot with great views of the wonderful Galtee mountains
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Irish breakfast wasn't great, tomato wasn't grilled properly and the white and black pudding were not pleasant at all. Maybe we are too used to our lovely Athea black and white pudding - but that's tasting delicious well fried. Also staff in the breakfast room was nice but seem to lack a bit professionalism.

    Very welcome and friendly reception for we did a last minute booking and check in would normally have been over. Had a fantastic meal in the bar, food tasted delicious and ingredients were good quality. We also liked the excellent service from the lovely ladies at the reception, when we asked if they were able to provide a toothbrush and toothpaste kit as we had to stay in the hotel completely unplanned, the friendly lady came over to us in the bar within 4 minutes and gave us discreetly a toothbrush kit each. Thanks a million again for that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and an unbelievably beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little tired and could do with a makeover, but it was very clean

    The staff were superb, incredibly friendly, hard working, efficient and as they were locals they were a mine of information about the best walks etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Location wonderful and the hotel itself was good enough for 1 night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was definitely not up to standard. Queuing for tea and coffee and making toast for oneself is more like a hostel than a hotel standard.

    The staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    I love the location and the rooms, staff are very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very salty...I couldn't eat my hamburger I usually like salt but it was too much for me even the scrambled eggs had too much salt in them

    I love the location and the rooms, staff are very friendly and the roaring fire in the bar is lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed, decent WiFi, great shower pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very outdated particularly the bathroom. Chipped tiles, stained counter top and bath. Cutlery at breakfast was not clean. No phone reception in room.

    Comfy bed, decent WiFi, great shower pressure. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good amenities in room - tv, shampoo, shower gel, iron. Stunning location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    I could not fault a single aspect of Aherlow Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault a single aspect of Aherlow Hotel! The location was stunning, all the staff were very helpful and friendly, the hotel was child friendly which was a real bonus as I had travelled with my five-year-old daughter and the food was absolutely gorgeous. Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying there again in the near future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    The location is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lighting was a bit dark but not a big deal either.

    The location is wonderful. So many great trails around this area. We will be definitely be back. The bar food was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place to come and relax and enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    Top quality food.Excellent meals throughout stay.Staff very pleasant and obliging,especially front of house,reception.Located in a tranquil,scenic location,very relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful place to really get away from hussle and bustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in rooms is showing its age but clean and, well, we didn't pay 5star prices.

    Overall atmosphere was just great. Biggest bonus was how friendly every staff member was. Really felt welcomed and a valued guest, although it was our first visit and we only stayed one night. Great Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in a room over the bar toilets so was a bit noisy in the late hours

    Great location, lovely breakfast, comfy bed, amazing views and a very nice place to relax. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    We loved every min of it and will b back soon .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was only a double bed which was very comfortanle but very small . Also we asked for a SMALL gesture to celebrate our 38th wedding Anniversary and when we did not receive anything i asked for a late checkout which i got no problem .

    Food was amazing and very well presented .We had a fab evening meal and the buffet breakfast was delicious and so freshly cooked Staff were lovely so friendly and helpful at all times .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    friendly service and lovely food.highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for the time of year and bearing in mind that the hotel was under-occupied,the service was excellent.would have been better in the summer !!

    room was clean and well heated. restaurant was empty for November but staff were very friendly and the food was delicious.very professional and easy to deal with.breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would recommend a visit to Dovehill Shopping Outlet, great shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no bedrooms on the ground floor and as I was with an elderly friend the lack of a lift caused some discomfort getting up and down the stairs. However, staff informed me there was a shaft been installed for a future lift.

    The staff were exceptionally efficient, professional and friendly. The breakfast selection and service was excellent, bar food was very nice and good value for money. On the down side there was no lift and no room service. The scenic drive through the Glen of Aherlow was disappointing due to the tall trees and hedges it was impossible to see anything. I would recommend the hotel to walkers as there were many trails to explore and the hotel provided maps for this. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Fine for one night as it is reasonably priced. The staff is the true winner here. They were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar area is not well laid out for eating there. Space is a bit limited. It needs a face lift as it is lacking in nice decor so that you feel you are in a in a comfortable relaxed area.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a nice view from the room and the breakfast was good. The room had a comfortable bed and overall for the price it was good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful boutique hotel in remote Tipp. Food average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was average.

    Great location in a remote tranquil area in Tipperary. A hidden traditional Irish gem. Staff were so nice, the rooms was beautiful. The food and breakfast was ok, nothing special. Lots of seating outside to enjoy the views and serenity.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Self catering so we did not eat at hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above for details.

    Self catering so we did not eat at hotel. Found staff were not accommodating when we arrived at 8.40pm and we were told last order's in restaurant were 8.45pm They wouldn't serve us so not impressed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Amazing place, perfect mountain location, near Rock of Cashle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel in the middle of a forest, with fantastic views of the nearby mountains, and minutes away from the Rock of Cashle, one of the landmarks of Ireland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    comfortable room, stunning views, not great food, kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the restaurant the night of our stay. There was a very limited choice and the food was not good, though plentiful. breakfast finished early (10am). We thought it was later and so missed out on choice for cooked breakfast. Also - it would have been nice to have the option of having it outside on the terrace.

    stunning views from terrace! comfy spacious room. kind, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    Average at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very bad. We arrived to breakfast after a tour bus had left and were given the leftover breakfast. No fresh tea or coffee given Very poor

    Lovely location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a lovely night away in the Aherlow hotel. Great food, friendly staff and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the residents (including children) leaving the bar after 1am.

    Dinner was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very scenic. Bar entertainment was excellent - Dom O' Driscoll well done!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been a little bit more robust. Also, in both the bar and restaurant, the vegetarian options were very poor. I stayed for 3 nights and had to have the same dinner each night- a veggie stirfry.

    The staff were super friendly and very helpful. The views from the hotel were absolutely beautiful and was an ideal location if you enjoy hiking or nature walks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location, beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was below par in rooms & carpeted areas. Couldn't get a table in the restaurant & had to wait an hour before a table became free in the bar to eat very average food.

    Great location & room with a view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Shortcomings of the hotel made up for by the wonderful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feels stagnant and outdated. Poor attention to quality - breakfast very average. Has a B&B feel to it. Could be a wonderful place is attention were to be given to detail and quality. Not so yet though.

    Wonderful wonderful views and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    Please give this place some TLC and it will get 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place has the potential of being tops. Our lodge was unclean, needed painting, doors that did not lock. Staff was friendly. No phone or internet service at the lodge. Lodge was spacious. No way to contact anyone if an emergency. Needed TLC and updating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Spacious accommodation with views to take your breath away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - really! I could not get some washing powder to wash clothes, but that was not unreasonable

    Stunning views of the valley; stayed in the self-catering lodges which were spacious and very well equiped

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location and staff were extremely helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the Saturday morning was self service.It was very basic and very little staff .even the tea and coffee was in flasks for self service..

    Beautiful location and staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location for a walking holiday on route to Cork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - understaffed and food not topped up wven though a good half hour to wnd of breakfast service

    Room with a view. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Live music in lively bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Wish we had more time to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Beautiful location, nice decor-maybe a little dated. Clean lodge, kitchen appliances and dinner/glassware provided and god quality, could use some paint touch ups in bed rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor points - door to bedroom slams no.6 or 8 , spring needs adjustment. Tiles in shower - grout needs to be cleaned. Breakfast - poor choice of cereals/fruit etc room for improvement.

    Great location, excellent food and very good value - Will be back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.8
    Don't. Just don't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are really terrible. The carpets should have been thrown out years ago or at least cleaned. Same goes for the curtains. The showers only go up to warm. We asked if someone could take a look at ours and within five minutes a member of staff called in. She said that was as hot as they get. Reception rang minutes later to confirm this. They were body temperature. There were stains on the lampshade that were grim and the bathroom was a shambles. Very much in need of a refurbishment especially the tiles with the dirty grout and the pretend marble sink unit made out of disintegrating fibreglass. Normally I like to spend some time reading in my room during the afternoon, but on the day it rained heavily I couldn't face the room so we headed into Tipp town. I chose to spent a wet afternoon in Tipp town instead of reading in bed. It was THAT bad. Also if there's a wedding on you may eat between 8pm and 8:40pm, but only after you and a few other residents put up a row. Seriously.

    The scenery of the glen of Aherlow is amazing and the staff were really excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    The food was lovely views are amazing so quite and relaxing
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No leisure facilities massage rooms, sauna ,steam room ,hottub ,pool with these it would be the ultimate escape away

    The food was lovely views are amazing so quite and relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic views and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel suited me personally so no complaints

    The location and views were exactly what I wanted. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast which was included with the room for me was simple but very tasty and again the staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Relaxed,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being under new ownership,renovations are on going. One small ask I suggest should be done is to clean carpet on both stairs to bedrooms.

    Overall the 2 day stay was fantastic. Bed so comfy. Staff wonderful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too firm. Nothing to complain about though.

    Lovely hotel. Room was spacious with excellent views of the mountains. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (full Irish) was excellent. Evening meal (a'lacarte) in refurbished restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Lovely size lodge, but a bit dated in parts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the lodge was a great space, it could do with a lick of paint and some better furniture in the living area. The sofa was old and dirty and uncomfortable. New soft furnishings would bring this up to date.

    The size of our lodge was lovely, views were amazing and it was very peaceful. The food in the bar was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Bad smell in one of the bedrooms, cooker filthy, overall not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House not clean

    Bad smell in one of the bedrooms, cooker filthy, overall not very clean and could do with a lick of paint, all staff lovely, had lunch in hotel, lovely and lovely Guinness!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.5
    Great
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heather in our room does not heat the room at all...

    View of the place thought its quite far from town... but view in the morning is stanishing and beautiful..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that redecorating is planned and that will improve the overall experience of the hotel I'm sure. However 'tired decor' is really little to complain about!

    The decor in the hotel is perhaps a little tired but this was more than made up for by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the lovely bar food and of course, the views from our room. We slept well in the very comfortable bed. Within 40 minutes of our leaving I had a call to tell me I'd left an item behind and to make arrangements for its return! We'll certainly return for another break!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Stunning retreat in Tipperary
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is dreadful and phone reception in that are as its a valley -

    Wonderful hotel - staff are extra helpful - nice big clean rooms - don't hesitate book now

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.2
    Waste of a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in one of the lodges and never again. It was freezing. The only heating was from storage heaters and some of them did not work. The one in the hall did not work at all. The ones in the living area needed to set to blow hot air as the storage function did not seem to work. The lodge itself is in need of maintenance. We were not supplied with any cleaning materials such as dish cloths or dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid. Most of the lamps were missing bulbs so needed to divide out what was there amongst the rooms. The bedrooms were freezing and there was no spare blankets. The sofas were in desperate need of a steam clean. The approach to the lodge was disconcerting as the path was covered in brambles which need to be cut back and sprayed. Overall it was not a good experience. I hope that any tourists that have had to stay here do not think this is an acceptable standard in Ireland. It should not be.

    The scenery is fantastic. Good location with easy access from major cities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing, great location for families or groups. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floorboards in the lodge were extremely creaky. The lodges need updating, paintwork etc. Bulb missing from bedside lamp. Small things but this attention to detail counts.

    The food was excellent. The lodge was lovely & warm Staff were very welcoming & helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    great staff, great food, everything worked easily in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i thought i had booked for €80, it turned out to be €115 Shower head poor

    great staff, great food, everything worked easily in the room (telly, kettle etc)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful views, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flooring and carpets are a bit rough.

    Staff and location were excellent. Unbelievable views, and surprise with snow capped mountains. Inside the flooking was a bit worn and carpet pretty rough. White might not be best color option for high traffic hiking location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Comfort Break with stunning views !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fan in the Bathroom was very noisy. No access to light switches if you need to get up in the middle of the night.

    The view from Room 9 was amazing. Lovely spacious Room also. This place would definitely encourage us to stay again but for a longer period of time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't work lol ... But other then that fantastic I love it there

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab visit and fab staff.x

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Very large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a large variety on evening meal.

    Very large room. Great views. Well furnished.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.0
    A bigger place than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs to climb, and very steep access from car park.

    Lovely location and views. Good bar meals.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing comfortable chilled out stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower in morning

    Everything else

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75