Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aherne's Townhouse Hotel and Seafood Restaurant 4 stars

163 North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland

#5 of 10 hotels in Youghal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 87 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A place full of character and the best breakfast I've ever eaten. If you are staying for B and B try to eat there in the evening too - delicious fish restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great Location,Great Food,Great Staff, Thank You
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything about this Hotel is really special, The staff, The Comfort, The Food, Superb Location as well, Many Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Our week in Ireland was wonderful, from beginning to end and Ahernes was the icing on a very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave after one night's stay...

    The accommodation, i.e. the suite we stayed in, we rated as the most comfortable we had experienced on our visit to Ireland. It was of course situated in the town of Youghal and therefore did not have the views of the other hotels we stayed in, but it was a haven of excellence; Ahernes was indeed a gourmet's delight, specialising in its wonderful local seafood. My husband and I sat down to beautifully presented Lobster Thermidor which we thoroughly enjoyed .If we had the time to enjoy another night at their place, we would not have hesitated , however, the Rosslare ferry awaited us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Getaway weekend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just gorgeous with plenty of everything.I love hot fresh food and I wasn't disappointed.The bed was Hugh and comfortable best nights sleep.Even though it was end of summer the weather was miserable but a heater was just the job.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problems with parking, chairs placed across the entrance to the car park which one had to move each time one entered and exited. Rooms in need of updating, a little tired and dated, cracks in bathroom tiles.

    The lovely smell of good seafood cooking as you walk in the door, a rare and unique thing. The open fire burning away quietly in the breakfast room, peaceful and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed upstairs and I had to go through two doors to get to the stairs. I was in the bar at one stage..easy to get lost.

    The bed was huge and the room was really victorian.. Beautiful..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Superb, warm & comfortable with friendly & helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of a thing.

    The room was spacious. Beds comfy & shower hot & strong. Breakfast was delicious & served in the breakfast room. There was a great sitting room & the bar was another area to relax in. We dined in 2 nights & the meals were superb! The managers gave us great advice regarding tourist points around the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Dated accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tired and dated, poor lighting in our room natural light from Windows obscured by very large overgrown wisteria. Room smelled slightly musty. Slept awfully due to constant noise from what sounded like the water tank refilling throughout the night. I don't bring my own hair dryer as most hotels would have one, our room did, however it was a very dated appliance attached to the bathroom wall which became very hot to hold and I had to use a face cloth to stop my hand from burning. Staff were lovely and couldn't do more for us, we weren't asked how we slept or how our rooms were when we checked out and I didn't complain, I wish I had.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money; delicious food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge. Furnishings were a bit dated but clean and comfortable.

    The hosts were very friendly. Nice breakfast and their restaurant has delicious food. Service was a bit slow but worth the wait.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place for a short stopover traveling near the County Cork and Waterford borders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very tight parking in courtyard. Less secure parking was available.

    Large comfortable rooms. Nice salon area where we could visit with our friends. Excellent breakfast and restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Not quite what I was expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of real coffee and lack of wifi! Also the fishy smell!

    The food was excellent, the owners were nice and tried to accommodate! But no wifi except for the bar, the smell of fish was very strong everywhere downstairs, the rooms were large. It quite old!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Great place, food and hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What an enjoyable stay. The Fitzgibbons are wonderful hosts, so warm and gracious. And, we had no idea that the meals in the restaurant would be really exceptional. (Great breakfasts too.) Would highly recommend staying at Aherne's, you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent early breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This venue has a great reputation as a fish restaurant , however the day I stayed the Restaurant was unexpectedly not open and food was served only in the bar. The food is excellent but expensive Some evidence of paring back at margins eg no bread offered. No lemon on fish dish. Had I come to celebrate my wedding anniversary I think I would have been disappointed not to have had a special experience.

    Open fire and comfy in guests' sitting room. Other guests v friendly and made no noise during sleeping hours.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    You can't go to Youghal without staying in Aherne's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly warm and inviting just like the fire in the sitting room. Food is first class and one of the reasons why we stayed in Ahernes. Huge bed in very comfortable bedroom. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Friendly. Good size room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Had a lovely time in Ahernes and plan on going back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find any faults.

    Lovel place. Everywhere really clean. Staff lovely and breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Very Satisfied, the lady playing piano in the restaurant was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Very satisfied with my stay at Aherne’s

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    This is our nth visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This is our nth visit! We'll be back again. Ambience, food and most importantly staff are superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place Perfect food Nice Irish people

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Too short!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super Seafood menu and dinner. Eat here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Would stay again, no problem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent all round.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great drawing room with a real log fire for after dinner drinks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Have stayed before - long time ago. It was as good this time as it was all those years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very friendly people . Superb restaurant, excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.5
    Suited in every way...a discreet hotel and not so intimate as a B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Johns sence of humour also our dinner waitress.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Pertection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everyone and everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Good food,comfortable,staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Town is little run down

    Comfortable bed,quiet,food good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    The best kept secret if you are in Youghal. Hands down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    Staff, decorating , everything was great. Best accommodations I have ever had in my 6 trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Tired rooms and at a 130 euro for the night ,WOULD NOT STAU AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be abruptly told when asking for beans with my breakfast ,YOU WONT FIND ANY BEANS HERE, didn't bother to ask for mushrooms,

    great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Otherwise fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed

    The bed was not up to standard of the hotel and I mentioned it to the person in charge,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Room large and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room large and very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A la Carte Dinner was expensive

    Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The food here was amazing. Ahernes was very clean and the staff were very helpful & courteous. A good location for bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    fish was substandard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fish was substandard

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Night away in youghal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron or iron board..?

    The room was so clean and tidy. Everything was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice welcome break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Had Dinner in the bar. Lovely food & surroundings. Breakfast was tasty & well presented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing place to stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very welcoming staff and owner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful welcome, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful welcome, great staff. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    vrt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rug

    Bed was good but fell over the rug a few times

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    The management was very professional and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Everything about the place was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the place was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel for all who enjoy Good Customer Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    The staff were so friendly and caring

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great food Great staff Great place Staff that served you with a smile

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Lovely Room, superb food excellent friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Room, superb food excellent friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Perfect getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't working.

    Food and service in the property was flawless. Everything you would expect from a property when you go away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Youghal was a lovely location- lots to see and do in area. Hotel lovely .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in bathroom

    The 'tasting menu food' was delicious . Breakfast was lovely- especially the scrambled egg :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    The room was huge with a lovely bed & shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much parking but enough on the day I was there.

    The room was huge with a lovely bed & shower. We ate in the restaurant downstairs and it was fantastic. Breakfast in the morning was very good with good cereal offerings and the full Irish was very good. Toast and brown bread looked home-made. I had to make this trip due to a family Issue I will be bringing my wife back to this hotel in the near future when we would like to stay in the area.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.2
    First class food and great to chat with the staff and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First class food and great to chat with the staff and other guests after the meal. I know its a fish restaurant but even so I had perhaps the best piece of fish (black sole) that I have ever had.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    On holiday with our 2 sons and our dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    On holiday with our 2 sons and our dog. Stayed in a family room, which was perfect for us all. The room had an en suite bathroom with a great shower and 2 double beds (the boys didn't mind sharing). Had everything we needed.Great place to stay with a dog - as a path by the sea (harbour- ish) just round the corner.The staff were very helpful and friendly but above all the breakfast was outstanding! We even ate there for our evening meal twice it was so good!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    Hosts John and Kate were marvelous - lovely accommodation, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N/A

    Hosts John and Kate were marvelous - lovely accommodation, atmosphere was great, and John made us laugh - personalised service. We went back and stayed another night as it was so good.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff made an extra difference to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy pub close by on a Saturday night - not necessarily a problem depending on when you want to go to sleep

    Very friendly and helpful staff made an extra difference to the hospitality

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly family run hotel, great food would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Live shell fish kept in fish tanks in the foyer .

    Friendly family run hotel, great food would stay again. Could not find fault it was exactly as advertised .Only one small criticism fish tanks with live shell fish i.e. lobsters as an animal lover that practice belongs to the past.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    The sea food and the presentation of meals in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The town itself didn't meet my expectations. I was a little bit disappointed with the shops and the harbour.

    The sea food and the presentation of meals in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    The bedrooms were big and airy , the hotel was spotless with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bad experiences everything was of a high standard .

    The bedrooms were big and airy , the hotel was spotless with friendly , helpful staff . I had breakfast with two evening meals which were tasty and well presented . In our group of 4 we had an elderly lady who was feeling the cold and the proprietor lit a fire for her in the drawing room which was lovely and cozy and beyond expectation for early August

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    A great place for our first time away with a 6 month old pup.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great place for our first time away with a 6 month old pup. The room with access to the street & yard spot on great for dog. Nearby was a good area to walk the dog without traffic. A good big room & bathroom, staff very friendly & helpful. We enjoyed an excellent evening meal and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and a very clean convenient hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff and a very clean convenient hotel.Breakfast we had was scrambled eggs and salmon which was delicious.I had dinner in the hotel which was great bu

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Complimentary upgrade to junior suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While very appreciative of the upgrade the bed was only a double that needs at least updating of firmness but, for a suite, really should be at least a queen size

    Complimentary upgrade to junior suite. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Great seafood restaurant established for many years and frequented by many a local. Excellent breakfasts in a quiet private dining room.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    8.8
    Warm,welcoming atmosphere the minute you arrive in the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing except fish on a la carte menu very pricey.

    Warm,welcoming atmosphere the minute you arrive in the door. Beautiful blazing fire, soft sofas,seasonal decorations & reading material make the lounge the perfect place to relax before or after your meal.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.6
    Excellent food !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food !!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.5
    I loved the spacious rooms and extremely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I loved the spacious rooms and extremely friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have had soft pillows available

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    The facilities and restaurant were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities and restaurant were excellent. Food is gourmet absolutely!

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff food excellent all in all would really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing at all

    Very friendly staff food excellent all in all would really highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    Excellent food and welcoming staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food and welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.2
    The owner welcomed us into the sitting room with open fire...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner welcomed us into the sitting room with open fire and then showed us straight to our room. No forms to fill in!

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    the welcome and old fashioned hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we enjoyed it all

    the welcome and old fashioned hospitality We also enjoyed the food

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Staff and facilities were perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Staff and facilities were perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Not much
    • Couple

    Very expensive. Wine list was ordinary yet were very pricey

    Not much

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Cycle friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Cycle friendly. Excellent value for money. Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    Central location in the town so once we arrived the car was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Central location in the town so once we arrived the car was parked until we left

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    all excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    all excellent

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly, comfortable atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly, comfortable atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    All good, food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    All good, food excellent

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was beautiful, a must is the rhubarb and ginger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was beautiful, a must is the rhubarb and ginger compote with yougurt, granola and fresh berries.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: