Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alcock & Brown Hotel 3 stars

Market Square, Clifden, Ireland

#8 of 10 hotels in Clifden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 350 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Holiday fun not fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pubs all closed at 11 o'clock plus we seen the owner at night coming into the bar he didn't even chat or say well u here for a few days nothing then my husband was sitting outside one morning waiting on me the lady came over twice to him asking do u want anything tea or coffee then said again u can't sit here unless u order something my husband said I'm a guest here and just waiting on my wife what she should have said was are u a guest in the hotel he would have said yes and that was it I thought her people skills not good I'm sorry but they both need to be more approachable towards their customers then Monday Tuesday Wednesday there was a digger outside the noise was terrible I had a headache until I left they should have moved us to another room the bathroom handle was hanging off I cut my hand but we made do rather than cause a fuss

    The room was comfortable and very clean that was it down at the front of hotel was lovely as well the night porter was very nice he spoke more to us and so did Jack and Sarah but it was only because they had to

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    excellent value for money,would go back again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location right in the center of Clifden has been renovated recently to a very nice standard, the only problem is there is no lift. The bedrooms are a little on the small side by modern standards. But we would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean pleasant hotel in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is quite old and although it has been updated attention to detail needs to be improved. There is no official parking but the supermarket across the road has a multi storey car park which is fine but you only have access to your car between 8 am and 9 pm. Its free at the moment as the barriers are broken so worked out well for us, Can be a bit noisy at night time as you are right in the centre of the town which is to be expected.

    Location and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    2.9
    faulty towers look good to this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldn't sleep until local bar closed at 2am noisy fan from kitchen out back shower didn't worry no soap etc never again really bad attitude from reception!

    nothing I can honestly say I have never stayed in a worse hotel ever absolute dump.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall very good and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast menu could be better . We didnt enjoy the mini breakfast we think a continental option should be available.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful and the location was excellent . I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay but I felt it was somewhat overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street parking the availability of which depended of getting a suitable spot. Fortunately we got parked right beside the hotel.

    Staff were courteous, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    A few days away😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's was nothing in particular to dislike.. Would say bathroom decor was tired looking

    Clean and comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere, great location in town, its within walking distance to shops, bars etc, friendly, welcoming, helpful staff and breakfast was plentiful and tasty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Marie checked me in and was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floods! Shower is great but there is a shower curtain and if it’s left inside the bath whilst showering it sticks to you which is not nice at all. I therefore had to have it outside the bath but consequently the bathroom then flooded. Could do with a shower screen rather than a horrible curtain that sticks to you. I didn’t like the fact that as a single female traveller there was no extra lock on the bedroom door from inside eg. a chain or bolt lock. I felt slightly uncomfortable that anyone who had a key to the room could get in.

    Marie checked me in and was brilliant! So friendly and helpful, went above and beyond her role which was very much appreciated. I ate in the bar in the evening and the food was great. Beds very comfortable. Great location for exploring the National Park!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Perfect town centr location, with staff who genuinely look out for your needs. Lovely warm bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Extremely helpful staff. Laryssa was a perfect host, and when I arrived late for breakfast the staff were kind enough to extend the time for me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Staff lovely,good value in price,but food poor,wr
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the bar was poor,Rice cold had to be sent back,dessert apple crumble cold in the middle,menu very limited.

    The friendly staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful Hotel, fantastic staff......Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was quick and easy, the room was large and bright. Wifi throughout the hotel was an added bonus. The staff are super efficient and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Brekfast is freshly cooked and brought to your table which i like very much. There is also a buffet with a wide selection of juices, breads, cereals and fruit. The foyer of the hotel is welcoming with lots of comfy chairs and tourist information for you to plan your activities. Clifden is a beautiful town ......would heartily recommend the Alcock & Brown Hotel for your stay there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Plesent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cold. Asked for the heating to be turned up at least 5 times. It was turned on from reception which seems a bit strange as the rooms are not that cheap & the least they should allow people to have the room as warm or cold as the like. Other than that it was very plesent.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Not my first time to stay here probably not my last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff for the most part were excellent. It seemed the younger they were the more customer friendly they were. Great Location in the middle of town. Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    The location in the center of town was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a challenge.

    The location in the center of town was great! You can walk anywhere in town. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Hotel seems to be a bit run down and seen better days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    overpriced breakfast at 12 euro PP...no lift/elevator..decor dated and the place was dead as in nobody in the bar which only for us had no entertainment...no car parking facilities you have to keep feeding the parking meters.

    .bed comfy..Staff were friendly ... the hotel is very central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.5
    SAIDH WAS A LOVELY GENTLEMAN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely but very slow. Check out was 11am I have never experienced such an early checkout. Rooms were either too cold when you returned at night and like an oven between 6 and 7am

    Most of the staff were lovely just with one exception. She was far from welcoming and we didnt eat in the restaurant as she put us under pressure although we did call four months ago and were told it would be fine to play music in the lounge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Street parking a no no
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street parking a no no Rooms all different prices The cheek to charge 10 euro extra for so called view to the street, no running hot water in bathroom and rip off price of 15 Euro extra for a breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable - would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking - but its not too bad. Pay and display doesnt start till 11am in Clifden

    Extremely friendly staff. Great bar food. Nice room - clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok but the smells indicated that the proprietors of the hotel do not care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stale/damp smell almost like cigarette smoke throughput. It seemed that they never air the rooms including the foyer. Bad impression of carelessness.

    Friendly staff and its central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and very good location, right in the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking facilities. However free on street parking till late morning. No lifts and the swing doors leading to and from the bedrooms was a real nuisance when entering/leaving with luggage

    Friendly staff and very good location, right in the centre of Clifden, near a host of restaurants to meet all budgets. Large and well equipped room with seating for 2 which not all hotels offer! Comfortable bed made a good nights' sleep followed by a good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    3.8
    No Food available at restaurant on our evening of arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is outdated and needs a bit of tender loving care .very overated .

    No Food available at restaurant on our evening of arrival chief rang in sick ha

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome initially very poor but staff in restaurant friendly. Rooms very basic need a decor lift. Stale smell in room 110 and uncomfortable pillows. Only two sockets available and hairdryer broken. I wouldnt be keen to return here as poor value for money.

    Central location. Cosy lobby especially at night with nice fire lighting. Breakfast good and cooked to order. Adjacent to shops restaurants etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Location was excellent, the two young staff at breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception smelt a bit musty, but the rooms were spotless. The toast was the best part of the breakfast! Looked and tasted like the full Irish had been cooked an hour earlier and kept warm...we weren't late about 9.20am for a 10am finish. The orange juice was at room temperature. Free parking on Saturday evening and Sunday, so if staying mid week, it's all pay parking.

    Location was excellent, the two young staff at breakfast were lovely, very helpful and friendly, check in staff were helpful. The fire in the bar was lovely, but there wasn't anyone around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    great hotel but skip food
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast overcooked bacon eggs mains in bar disappointing

    staff friendly and helpful room comfortable and spotless great shower . chowder great. good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Accommodation was ok but breakfast was a disaster!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told there was parking at hotel only to find out the hotel itself did not have its own private parking!!! So car had to be left either parked on the street or in the underground car park opposite the hotel at an extra fee. The television in the room was tiny which we found quiet funny. Long time since we seen one that small. The breakfast staff weren't very polite or helpful. They were extremely busy and from when we said down it was nearly 15 mins before we got a pot of tea and another 15 mins (30 mins in total) before the fry was put down infront of us!!! Now we weren't too bothered about the slowness but really 30 mins!!!! Doesn't take that long for a fry!!! Also when asked for more tea one tiny pot was put on table for 2 of us. I didn't even have breakfast just tea!

    Accommodation was fine. Asked for quiet room and got. No view but that was ok. Reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    The view was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was average. The ensuite needed updating.

    The view was very good. The hotel was well located. Overall this property was adequate for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in Clifden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator which might be a difficulty for some people. Parking is on street in a busy town, but we were able to find spots within a few minutes walk.

    Comfortable superior room overlooking the square. Good meals (two breakfasts and a dinner) in the coffee shop and main restaurant, both of which are comfortable and pleasant. All the staff we met were very friendly, including Ryan who took care of us at dinner and with whom we had a very nice conversation about local golf.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    The overall stay was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift , Bathroom was in need of an overhaul, tended to be needlessly noisy ,when shower was running or toilet was flushed.

    Location was very good , staff were very helpful , food was good and well presented

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would prefer if there was off street parking.

    the hotel is in the centre of the town beside everything. only few miles from diamond hill ,which was my purpose to go there , to climb it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Good location to start on the west coast Wild Atlantic Way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff should be able to make change for parking meters.

    Hotel in center of Clifton. Easy walk to restaurants. Good location to drive on the Sky Road and visit see Connemara.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor. The pancakes were inedible. Also you can hear everything in the corridors and the tiolet made very strange noises

    The best thing about this hotel is the freindly staff, especially Marie at reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect base for a pub crawl
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location on the town square. The hotel is perfect for getting the feel of being in a small Irish town in a beautiful location. There are a number of traditional music pubs within walking distance. We would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking but don't think there is a lot of options in the area

    The staff were of excellent knowledge of local area and could tell you the best stops. Breakfast was good with plenty of options. Beautiful area and would stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    The welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom - fittings are a bit tired and could benefit from a bit of refurbishment - but at the price I paid - I am not complaining.

    The welcome It is very early season - I think there were just two guests - so no trouble getting a seat in the restaurant - lovely staff, lovely food and I got to have a chat about the old country (Poland) with chef. Great and proper Irish breakfast as well. There is lots of information on and photos of Alcock and Brown and their flight and their reception upon 'landing' in the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    The main reason we picked here was its great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The main reason we picked here was its great value for money...they don't rip people off. It was outrageous what some accommodations in both Westport and Clifden were charging.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful spring break in clifden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was OK hotel. I've paid similar price and got better. But suited our needs

    Centrally located in town near everything...nice to sit out front and watch the town on fine day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    2.9
    Terrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel was cold. No hot water on arrival. Room didn't heat up until we were on our way home. One of my company pulled back the duvet to get into bed and the sheets were stained.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    5.4
    Old and dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was old, dated and cold. This hotel will need a lot of money to bring it up to a good standard. The heating only came on when we arrived late in the afternoon so there was no hot water for showers. The backside rooms are looking onto a horrible flat roof and a dirty old wall. For the first time every I saw a notice stating that a fine would be imposed on anyone who opened their own drink in the room as you needed to pay corkage.

    The location in the town was perfect and the staff are friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    3.8
    cold and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty sheets on the bed!rooms were cold and water was nt hot enough when we checked in and wanted a bath after very long journey.reception just said to leave taps on for a whilex but we gave up after 20 minutes and had to settle for lukewarm shower.

    Location.there was a very nice young man on the night desk and was helpful when we had a hygene problem with dirty bed linen !he dealt with the problem and gave us a room to sleep in until nextor ninth dirty bed linen

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.4
    A trip to forget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not clean,the plumbing needs updating,there was an item of underwear lying behind the luggage table,god knows for how long.we had to ask for clean towels on our second day,the room had not been serviced.Other guests also complained about sheets not been clean.the price of drinks in the Bar were also too pricey,needless to say we wont be booking again. I dont like complaining but this was bad.

    The breakfasts were good,the staff were pleasant.I would say the hotel was understaffed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger television for long dark evenings

    I could have done with a bigger television as l have cataracts not quite ready for surgery yet, otherwise we were very happy with all aspects of your hospitality, love the West of Ireland

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.3
    Dated hotel in excellent location in centre of town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor very dated. Bedroom superficially clean but would benefit from more attention to detail when cleaning. Tiny tv on wall in bedroom. Shower in bath. Hot warm very slow coming through taps.

    Centre of town location nice fire in reception blonde lady receptionist very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Great Location, Friendly Staff, Billing could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay on arrival rather than checkout resulted in a billing discrepancy and the person handling this query was not helpful at all. Disappointed as the rest of the staff I encountered were very helpful and friendly. The checkout system is old-fashioned and paper based, could do with modernisation this may assist in avoiding future errors.

    Location and general friendliness of staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    3.3
    Unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating no hot water, booking superior room with king size bed didn't get this was told what we had was superior which it wasn't! Overall very unsatisfactory won't go back.

    Location & breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Warm friendly staff. Cold room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room, no heat whatsoever. Mould on ceiling. Cleaning staff knocking on door at 10am. 11am checkout.

    Very helpful receptionist, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    Ok but needs updating!! Better hotels in clifden to be honest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs updating! Don't stay out past 11pm or the door is locked and very hard to be let in without a passport and hotel room key to show night porter!!

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    4.6
    Pretty Dreadful September Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a loud group of middle-aged men staying who came back in the early hours making noise in corridors for over an hour. Hotel is very basic, essentially 70s/80s interior. Exceptionally small TV in room, and bathroom unclean, especially gross grime between tiles. Breakfast was a shambles. Two untrained teenagers looking after breakfast. They were out of their depth and couldn't coordinate to take or orders or bring tea/coffee. Breakfast took over an hour. Upon checkout we were not asked how our stay was or similar. Just handed our key back to an awkward silence. No on-site parking, have to pay for parking on the street.

    Clifden is a beautiful little town and lots of nice bars and had supper in a beautiful restaurant down the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were slightly disappointed with a few issues this year to previous visits but they were rectified and enjoyed our stay

    We stay here all the time great location and great service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    4.6
    Wouldn't book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly needs updating. Travelling with older relatives who needed a lift.no apology when I informed staff of substandard towels and musty smell in room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    A laugh for breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a laugh for €12. I cannot take cereals so only ordered the vegetarian part of the Full Irish: tomato,1 egg, mushrooms and beans. I received exactly 1 egg, 1/2 tomato, 1 mushroom, and nearly no beans as we were told the new kitchen staff did not know how to operate the tin opener! Eventually they figured it out and they arrived. I was also informed that any other tea than black tea has an extra charge. Unfortunately the green tea was not even available even though Supervalu is just across the road. They also sell can openers I am sure. I can only say that breakfast in a B&B would be vastly superior to this experience.

    The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The night porter was really friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints really just would say rooms could do with updating.

    Great location! Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Nice bar and lobby to sit in. Decent price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    4.6
    Expensive, over-priced, over-rated and poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of car parking - car park opposite hotel charged hourly, even overnight, with on-street parking impossible to find free space. Lack of porterage and no elevator. Wifi signal in room impossible. View at rear overlooking concrete retaining wall.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Location , staff , cooked breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet set up and offering was poor and actually gave a bad impression . Cooked breakfast and service excellent .

    Location , staff , cooked breakfast .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from late revellers and phone in bedroom not connected so unable to contact porter. Young staff at breakfast need to know how to make a pot of descent coffee, breakfast could do with a general up grade

    Exceptionally nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.9
    Two night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not the most comfortable,we have ever been in, that said we would return next time we are in Clifden.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    You had to pay 30 euro for breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to pay 30 euro for breakfast !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Hotel a little dated, food and service excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location but a bit dated and in need of redecoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location but a bit dated and in need of redecoration

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent host, friendly staff , lovely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked larger cups or even mugs in room for coffee.

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Room comfy. Area exceĺlent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly,On check in we spoke with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly,On check in we spoke with Aideen she was very helpful 😃lovely place to stay in the Centre of the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Central location in the centre of the town . Bars and restaurants on your doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and had 2 beds - king and single. Bathroom was small too.

    Room was clean and Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Great central location. Staff are extremely nice & helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Great for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Great central location. Staff are extremely nice & helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Front desk very helpful
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View, price a little high for the room, bathroom outdated

    In town square. Great location. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Found everything OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe needs a bit of updating

    Found everything OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous staff very clean room really enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff couldn’t do enough xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Sorry we didn't stay longer but will definitely be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the hotel were very friendly and breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Room was too expensive and did not include breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too expensive and did not include breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central to everything

    This is a great location. Staff very efficient and friendly. Really great stay. Food is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location on the square and great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the square and great value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs modernising. Bar expensive

    Good location, clean rooms comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful at check-in and in the restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful at check-in and in the restaurant, lovely surroundings and bang in the middle of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: