Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Ireland hotel reviews
  4. Ireland hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Amber Cottage

Reviews of Amber Cottage

Amber Cottage Ballinode,Sligo, Sligo, Ireland

Review score

Based on 136 B&B reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.0

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2020

    7.0
    Did the job for an overnight stay but was rather expensive for what you got. Cannot walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very awkward. Room was rather dusty, cobwebs on central light fitting. Third bed was more like a cot then a proper bed. Hardly anywhere to put your clothes, limited hooks.

    The triple room was reasonably spacious and warm. Help yourself breakfast was a good idea but was not replenish often enough to ensure there was sufficient for everyone.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2020

    8.0
    Fantastic location, great value for money. Very comfortable and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable, very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2020

    9.2
    Very good value for money, central, lovely people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say is to get proper duvets for the winter months, as we were quite cold over night under the thin sheet/blanket provided

    Lovely clean property, friendly owner and very helpful with information, close to amenities

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2019

    9.0
    Ideal warm welcome for a Sligo city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely warm, large room. Powerful, hot shower. Very welcoming and friendly host. Useful information. On hand to answer any questions. Extremely central and useful location, easy to find. Will certainly use them again :) :)

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2019

    8.0
    I would recommend Amber Cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. I got a towel in the hallway.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been warmer, radiators were not on so room was a bit cold.

    Very clean

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2019

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal preference, we’d prefer a duvet and 2 pillows. No tea and coffee facilities in room

    The use of the kitchenette, but we like a late drink before bed, so kettle in room would have been better

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2019

    7.9
    Great Value b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaner. Fruit juice with breakfast would have been nice along with decaf coffee being available

    Great little B&B, good value for money, 20 min walk down into Sligo and 10 minute walk to Knocknarea

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy To get to nice and clean And good for value for money to

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2019

    6.7
    A basic B&B. Adequate to the purpose but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furnishings are shabby and need replacing. Mattresses are tatty. Bed covers and some towels are worn. Vinyl covering of dining room chairs are cracked in places

    The beds were comfortable The shower was good The location is good for access to the town The continental breakfast is do-it- yourself but adequate and as advertised

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower gel container in the shower was empty

    Room was clean and warm, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2019

    7.9
    Clean, simple accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation can be tricky due to the narrow driveway, which basically allows two lanes of parking. In fairness to Vladimir (the owner) he did his upmost to try and coordinate the order in which people were leaving, he did advise they would be removing the front yard to allow for more parking which would be a very good idea.

    Room was spacious and clean and in our room we had two skylight windows. Vladimir was a welcomimg host who lives at the back of the property with his young family. Breakfast was a basic continental. Location is a bit of a walk into town but suited our purposes for an over-night stay as we drove around the north of Ireland.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2019

    8.8
    Confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En general todo.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2019

    9.2
    1 night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You really need to drive to get into town. The place is in the student area, there was meant to be a student bar open over the road but that was shut when we were there.

    For a sleep stopover the place was perfect. Nice, clean room. We ordered a delivery pizza in for dinner but they have a little guest kitchenette area with a microwave, so you could heat up a microwave meal if required. There is also a nearby petrol station with a shop and takeaway food counter, although the hot food there did look dry to me as if it had sat under a heat light for hours. Breakfast is tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cereals. There is also some bread, jams and a toaster. For the money the place was great as a stopover.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2019

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very poor.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2019

    7.9
    Reasonably priced, comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Adequate breakfast. Very nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2019

    8.3
    Great, comfortable and easy for a trip to Sligo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable and nice breakfast. Easy and good pricing for a stay in Sligo

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 shouldn't be a bedroom. I had friends staying in this room and as it us on the ground floor opposite the breakfast room it was extremely noisy. Especially with the hard floor.

    Location and price.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2019

    9.0
    Very good I would say excellent only for the problem with the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress on the bed needs replacing the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in - you could feel the springs as you lay on the bed action required to make this better

    Vladamir and his family were perfect hosts and were very helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2019

    7.5
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t hv a stove/cooker so u can’t cook ur own food. I would love to cook my spicy food

    The place was nice and good location

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work

    The rooms were spacious and the shower was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2019

    9.2
    Nice BNB. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set up for checking in was a little difficult. A lady who came later wanted to get a room. There was room available but no staff on site to organise. Perhaps number wasn't working?

    Good size rooms. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was a great surprise. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee in room Room very basic but comfortable. Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2019

    7.1
    Nice ,convenient and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work

    It was really self catering. Could use the dining room at anytime. Staff were available to help, but only if you wanted. Continental breakfast-but again could help yourself. Clean and bright room

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    8.8
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have been able to park our car on the property, and an extra toilet roll in the bathroom

    Bedroom was spacious, ensuite was lovely, everywhere was very clean, owners very friendly and helpful. Bed very comfy

    Stayed in April 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!