Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amber Lodge Guest House 3 stars

26A College Road, Galway, Ireland

#78 of 87 B&Bs and Inns in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1204 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    great location, but facilities can be improved. staff are very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wardrobe, no drawers, no hangers to hang clothes, no small table to make tea/coffee. Toilet sink is very small, my brother-in-law try to squeeze in to wash his face.

    location of the property

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    I stayed here before In the house and it was lovely but I...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was tiles broken off the shower ... The cupboards were broken .. no remote in the room for the tv ..

    I stayed here before In the house and it was lovely but I stayed at the back of the house in a room .... Which seemed run down and unloved .. I was very disappointed after staying in the main house 2 and it was lovely .. 😥

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the above would not recommend this place at all

    Room sparcely furnished bed and 1 bedside table in a double room no wardrobe or drawers. Bathroom smelly grout in shower filthy. No common room sign outside says b and b yet no facilities for breakfast. False advertising. The only positive was the comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Very plain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny, musty, with dingy, permanently stained fittings and a warped door frame. And the wi-fi only worked outdoors (!) or near the front of the building.

    I had expected plain rooms at that price, and the room was indeed plain, but serviceable – the basics were there, and the bed was good. It was more like a hostel, but without the infrastructure of a hostel (e.g. kitchen, common room, etc.). The staff were very attentive, though, helped us out with any problems, and kept the place very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said it was a bed and breakfast and online still showed it was a b&b but when checked in found there was no breakfast. No remote for tv and was told to turn it over manually however the tv was 6ft high so could not reach. Very compact rooms

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    The stay was fairly good and convenient. We visited the Cliffs of Moher from this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is small the shower is very small.

    The Guest House is within walking distance from the city center. The staff is friendly and helpful. Parking is available on site, although a bit compact.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    A lot more hassle than it was worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as bed and breakfast but not even an option when you arrive Parking dreadful so end up upsetting other guests even though I advised the owner of the issue Advertised as WiFi- none available when you arrive Need someone on site to sort a lot of issues- they are never on site Severely overpriced for what you get Would not return

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location - walking distance to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tricky. Office phone kept ringing through the night. Front door kept being banged shut every time someone entered or exited. Ensuite shower recess leaked and there was a black mould problem where the water ran.

    Location was great and staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    3.8
    Location good but poor standard room with damp and horrible smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had damp very small bed not comfortable not much space. Tidy bathroom smell of damp and evidence of same. Not clean air breathing in at night time

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly no overlay on mattress. It was stained as discovered the next morning. Most disappointing. Unhealthy. Parking at a minimum. Two cars scraped. No breakfast available.

    Centrally located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.8
    Worst lodging we have ever had in the first world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bulldoze the place- should not be able to squeeze in 20 'en suite' closets into one small propertysign says B&B but no breakfast is available

    Worst lodging we have ever had in the first world

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water takes some time to get warm and it is not eazy to control the temperature.

    The staff is very welcoming and friendly and allowed us to check in earlier as room was ready. It has parking spaces. The rooms are very cosy and comfortable and it is located in the city centre (10 mins walk to pubs/centre) and it is very quite during the night. Overall, great experience and definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.0
    O.K one night only too cramped
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nowhere to hang ones clothes No wardrobe My sister used the chair and I put my clothes over the radiator It was ok for 1 night but not for any longer

    The beds were very comfy and lots of hot water

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    Very unhappy. All the boarders left
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off throughout the night and could not be turned off. We requested a refund and have heard nothing yet

    The receptionist was very nice and the location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    2.5
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at 2pm, rooms not ready until 4pm, (you pay for your room BEFORE you can see it). This GUEST house is BED ONLY, "since last year, they no longer serve breakfast". This is my list as why I wouldn't recommend this property; 1. Parking spaces too tight. 2 Mattress worn and saggy, no fitted sheet on bed, the one sheet didn't fit, headboard loose. 3. Small TV mounted on wall (no remote) 4. Tiles missing from shower. 5. Handles for toilet roll etc broken. 6. Only venetian blinds (which don't block out light) 7.Lino on floor, (cold & damp feeling). 8.This property is down alot of steps.

    Nothing. I was travelling around the west and had stayed in 4 lovely B&Bs until I arrived at this one.!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Would never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm going off at 3am. TV didn't work. The window wouldn't stay open - no ventilation. The floors were sticky. Hopeless internet. Poor lighting.

    Friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced average room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location but overpriced for what it is unfortunately! No bedside lamps, small towels, toilet seat loose. No breakfast despite sign outside saying B&B.

    Location is good. Clean. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.5
    A horrible experience in Amber Lodge B and B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything could and should have been better. Bedroom was tiny, barely the width of the bed, no wardrobe facility, extremely slippy floor with tiles, not even a shelf to place our toiletries on, shower was weak. No breakfast. Only part time reception facilities, took full payment on check in which was the first time we encountered this. Of course now we know why! We ended up moving out after the first night, even though we had 2 nights booked.

    We didn't like anything about this property. It was a horrible start to our holiday- very pokey and totally overpriced.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.8
    Only thing good about the guesthouse is its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, shower was broken, heater was broken, blind was broken, tv was broken and bed was creeky. No appliance in the entire room worked except the light. Huge spotlight ouside our room kept the room from ever getting actually dark. Bathroom was also minuscule. ALSO sign outside on the road says B&B but this establishment doesn't offer breakfast atall. Overall very disappointed with this accommodation judging on the expensive prices it charges for such appalling rooms!

    Only thing good about the guesthouse is its location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    staff were friendly, quick check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress thin and lumpy, no breakfast included in price, over priced accommodation . Bathroom was very narrow and small.

    location is perfect, Bed linen and towels clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Proximity to eyre square pubs etc
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage at front said b n b....had no breakfast....signage said tv and DVD....room had one portable tv from Noah's ark- no remote no DVD player....no consideration for smokers- it is not a crime to smoke....yet....no cover whatsoever provided outside for guests to have the odd cigarette.....also parking at front was terribly tight....had to perform heaps of turns to get out...

    Proximity to eyre square pubs etc Staff very friendly Room clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.8
    Not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not describe this as a guest house plus the sign outside the front door says B&B, the room was so basic and small. The window did not close properly and the blinds did not close so we were awake so early next morning and decided not to stay a second night that we had prepaid for, there was no one around when we were leaving to discuss this so we just left the keys. Very disappointed with this property.

    The young girl who greeted us was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    2.5
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful!!!!! Do not stay here. Couldnt get our car out of carpark because there were too many cars parked. Wifi doesnt work and no breakfast. Tv's were from the 1970's.....awful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Location and bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs maintenance as shower base leaking, toilet roll holder not secure, curtain track brackets loose, lamp shade stained

    Location and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Awful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom. Minute shower and tiny sink. Way too small for any adult to use that shower. Horrible water stains in the area above the window. There's been a flood from the room above at some unknown point. TV old, tiny, high on a wall. Lines on screen whilst watching TV. Volume didn't work, either top volume or silent. Remote control broken. Staff hid it in a cupboard. No battery. We changed channel by hand on TV. Grotty travel kettle left for use in room. Because it is clearly dirty we used our clean travel kettle. It was removed from our room when we were out, returned on request. Allegedly they thought it was theirs. False advertising. No breakfast .How long can they advertise breakfast then refuse you breakfast on the grounds"we are just a guesthouse"? Avoid.

    Unlike what the majority of reviews say, the place was clean and tidy. Room was cleaned every day. Staff , the one staff member around was pleasant on contact. Location of the hotel is terrific, a really nice street and very nice looking guest houses on the street. Comfortable and clean bed. Excellent location for trains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice but could be better..for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told there was No breakfast when we booked but there was a light breakfast ! The staff was great, the bathroom door didn't shut and the shower water was hard to adjust. Clean linens...but you had to have windows open and it was very noisy (street side)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed - price was so high for what I was getting I felt totally ripped off.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was €79 for one night with no breakfast. Hugely overpriced. Couldn't close the window. Venetian blinds let the sun in. Broken tiles in the shower room. Dirt around the floor and skirting boards. Worn out! Whole place needs an update. Suitable for students but not tourists. Very disappointed. Would not stay again.

    Short walk to Galway centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The premises was only guest house with no breakfast or food facilities provided. The accommodation was through a side entrance in the backyard. The property was only occupied by the guests and the owners were absent. The shower in the room was effectively unusable as the temperature could not be controlled. Overall it didn't fit my expectation of an Irish B&B providing a ' cead mile failte' although the receptionist in fairness was excellent !!!

    The receptionist was excellent and very helpful !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small with no space to put suitcases. The parking was such that in the morning we were parked in. We had to knock on doors to find the owners of the cars to get them to move so we could leave.

    The location was good . We could walk into Galway centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of major revamp. Despite there being room for more there was only one bedside cabinet and light. Ancient TV with no remote. No mirror in bedroom meaning had to trail hair dryer lead onto bathroom to dry hair. Stayed two nights and no room cleaning/servicing between them - so the tiny bin not emptied, tea and milk not replaced. Two cracks in toilet seat, no plug for wash basin. Shower tray and surround showing signs of age, shower head faulty spraying water out of sides of fitting, on first morning the shower could not be turned off and had to call staff to help. We were aware in advance that there was no breakfast facility but not that the vending machine for snacks and drinks would be out of order. Car parking was poorly laid out making it inadequate - we had to double up behind other cars overnight and leave a note on our car for other residents to knock our door in the morning if they needed to get out.

    Nothing except the admirable attempts by the receptionist to compensate for the deficiencies of the facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    This is a good spot for the night. Wifi weak, bed hard. Smoke from smokers outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble with wifi. Room near smokers area and smoke coming into my room. Bed uncomfortable.

    Friendly reception. Cheap, tea/coffee making in room. Good proximity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Not great value for money, as there was no breakfast and I couldn’t get the shower working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast provided, even though the sign out the front said B & B, the shower had no taps and I couldn’t figure out how to use it without instructions.

    Cabin-style accommodation out the back of main building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Shower very slow.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant close windows properly. Shower head had a little water coming always. B&B means bed & breakfast. There was no breakfast even no instruction.

    Shower very slow. Very low speed of water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Very basic hotel. Nothing special, but it's clean and close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic B&B, with no breakfast.

    Beds were clean and the girl who checked us in was really nice. It was in a quiet area and close enough to walk into town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Is ok for a one-night-stay, if you´re travel around Ireland and looking for a cheaper accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, tiny parking-lot, no breakfast available.

    Close to the city of Galway, easy Check-In and Check-Out (early in the morning). Good and safe key-/locking-system.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Only ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 6 in second floor. Was supposed to be a double room but very small. Bathroom was just a tiny ensuite with a separate shower.

    Location good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive for very little
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They advertise a full Irish and continental breakfast when booking. Once payment was handed over they informed me that breakfast was not included in the price and in fact, even if you were willing to pay extra for breakfast, you wouldn't get it because they don't provide food at all. The vending machine was broken and the Wi-Fi was awful. I had to hot spot from my phone for my entire stay. After 8pm there is nobody to contact if there is any issues. Which meant the party that was going on all night in the room above me was allowed to continue until all hours of the morning. €120 for a bed for a 1 night stay is absolutely ridiculous. For an extra €10 you can stay in a hotel in Eyre Square and they provide breakfast & much better facilities. Very disappointed. Will not stay here again.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money and good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, I could hardly close the shower door. Couldn’t get the room dark at night due to blinds and glass panel above the door.

    Good value for money and good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    Fairly close proximity to town 10 minute walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could barely get into the en suite it was so small! Only staffed between 4 and 8 pm. Advertised as s b&b but no breakfast option and nowhere closer than town to breakfast. Ok for a single night but no good as a base for a longer stay

    Fairly close proximity to town 10 minute walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    very disappointed in room. Had details been clearer I would not have booked. Expensive for facilites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advertised outside as B&B. There was no dining facilities it is room only. Bathroom was only 90cm wide and about 150 cm long. It was more like a small wardrobe. Sink very small. No plug. No glass for rinsing mouth in bathroom. Nowhere to hang anything, no hooks. No wardrobe. Wooden floor in bathroom very slippy also slippy going from wooden floor in bathroom directly onto wooden floor in bedroom. I was under the impression it was a room in a guest house. In fact it was a chalet in rear yard. Old type TV no remote and faulty. Tiles loose and falling off shower wall.

    Location to City centre was perfect. Parking available good. Staff friendly. The staff could only be as good as the facilities they had to offer. They did their best and were acceptable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable accommodation, but not ideal for romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Woken up every night there. Additional 5e for cooked breakfast but they advertise free breakfast.to be fair there is contential breakfast, tho it was mostly cleared away at 9.45. breakfast til 10

    Friendly staff. Very obliging. Good touring base.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointing stay. They do not serve any breakfast even though we had booked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was No breakfast . Tiny room. Over priced. Ensuite was ridiculously small. Next to impossible to use the shower because the toilet is blocking it. The ensuite door wouldn't even lock. The noise from the people upstairs kept us awake most of the night. Absolutely no sound proofing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Galway family
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking facilities were on the street . The room was a bit small and basic . No breakfact available even if you wanted it .

    It was very central, easy to get to the city centre for walking. It was clean and the person at reception was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom was a bit on the small side.

    location was fantastic - 5 minute walk from town. We had car trouble and the staff were more than helpful and sweet. Room was clean, comfy and cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was little or no water pressure in the showers in both the rooms we booked.

    Very clean and tidy. Staff were very pleasant to deal with. Rooms were excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend, and would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    Avoid at all costs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's called a B&B but there is no breakfast offered. There was black mold on the ceiling and throughout the bathroom. There was also water damage to the wall bordering the bed. Wi-Fi was not available either.

    Nothing. This place was horrible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug sockets near bedside light or kettle. Boiling kettle repeatedly tripped trip switch. Unable to contact owners. No wardrobe. Totally overpriced.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    The toilet in our room was not working and the TV didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet in our room was not working and the TV didn't work. The room was a bit small for 4 people. The WiFi was terrible could not connect in our rooms you had to be in the lobby area for it to work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    No curtains on windows! Too exspensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had a bay window with blinds however you could clearly see in to our room there was no curtains and the room was at the front of the building! Also there is quite a few b n bs on this road with similar names very confusing! No breakfast included which seemed bizarre for a bnb we also payed 150€ for one night. This was was over priced. Tiny tiny bathroom also.

    Good location,, man was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi, my friend made a booking with the above guest house and was unable to attend so my husband and I took her place. It cost €199 and I have never been so disappointed in all my life! The room was hardly fit for a single bed let alone a double. The room and en suite were grubby. There were stains on the bed sheets which I hope to god were tea or coffee. €199 and no breakfast. And worst of all, no person available to complain to the next morning! I use booking.com on a regular basis and I have never been let down until now

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Poor stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Room claustrophobic. Price did not reflect the space. B&B but no breakfast? Vending machine out of order and dining room locked. Not sufficient parking either.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, very basic. Only 1 roll of loo paper for 4 adults? Only 1 plug point. No bedside tables/shelves. Only 1 coat hanger. Not a B&B as breakfast an optional extra. Pricey.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    Sheets were dirty from previous guest !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above

    Believe the reviews! I was lied to by the guy at check in. At first I thought the room looked better than I expected due to reviews. I dropped off my bags and went to town, once back at the room, after 11 PM. I found there was no heat, the floor was filthy,( I used one of their towels to mop the floor and it was filthy),.. urine on the toilet, stained mattress. And when I pulled back the wrinkled/dirty top cover I found DIRTY sheets! hair, and dirt at the foot of the bed. I slept in my clothes and waited for "housekeeping" or the check in guy to arrive at 9 AM..... I gave up at 9:45 and left. I left a note on my door to change the bedding, which they did. The check in guy will look you in the face and tell you what you want to hear.. and leave for the day. I would avoid this flea bag hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Great choice for those who are not looking for something fancy, but clean and nice in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no reception so we did not really meet the staff except for the time we checked in. However, we had a phone number to them in case of emergency. Even at check-out we did not have the chance to say goodbye, we just left the key there.

    The guest house is less than 10 minutes walking distance both from the Bus Station and the city centre (Eyre Square). The room was clean and nice, with towels, shower gel, shampoo, TV and kettle. The temperature of the room was just perfect. This is not a hotel, so don't expect all the fancy things, but it's a great choice if you need something simple, but clean and comfy in an excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor and people walking be could see in. We couldn't boil the kettle the next morning.

    The room was comfortable and every where was in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Ok - ish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast? Very noisy in the morning with wheelie bins being pulled up and down the path at the back of the property. Room tiny, bathroom door hit off the bed when opened. Very little space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed with stay, would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising, it's not possible to get breakfast. No card payment facility. No parking on arrival. Smell of damp in the bathroom. Visible damp on the bedroom walls. Excess noise at night time from other guests (2-4 am) leading to little or no sleep. Confirmed with night Porter. Significantly overpriced.

    Location was OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Would avoid this place if possible. I ended up going next door and it was infinitely better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tiny. No breakfast served. Bathroom facilities were so poky I couldn’t access the sink. Room clearly hadn’t been vacuumed and there was marks all on the walls.

    Location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice enough but with chilly showers and spotty wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were chilly, wi-fi was spotty, and the check-in girl failed to mention you need to hit the C button before entering the gate code, which left us locked out until the night porter showed up. Also it’s called a B&B but didn’t offer breakfast. Still, it was a nice enough stay, convenient and a good price.

    Cozy and cute

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Only a quick one night stay, arrived in evening and left early in the morning.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Massive brownish stain on far side off mattress that we did not notice till morning! Unacceptable, would not have guests use this mattress, should be disposed off as we felt horrible after sleeping there.

    Very friendly staff, walking distance into center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable but let down by managements inattention to small things that matter to guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned box type TV, out of date well past its use by date. Shockingly slow wifi internet. Electric kettle old with frayed cord, staff did replace it when brought to their attention. Bedside table and light on one side bed only.

    Within walking distance to city, large room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, bathroom is tiny, bed isn't very comfortable. They didn't use a fitted sheet on the bed so it kept coming up. The debit machine wasn't working so we had to pay cash. Wifi is slow.

    The location to town is great. There is parking but you risk being stuck behind someone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Really unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't serve breakfast but we still had to pay the full price. The room was tiny and not as advertised in the photographs, the blind was broken, so there was no privacy. We also felt a bit uncomfortable coming back to the room at the end of the day to see that all our stuff had been moved around.

    It was close to the centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    There was no milk in room but had facilities to make tea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they had supplied u with the things the say the do on the website.

    There was no milk in room but had facilities to make tea and coffee and when we asked the night clerk for some he said that they don't supply which is fair enough but when we mentioned it to the girl the next morning she said she had some and would bring it down for us! Also there was no hairdryer in room which it said there was one and only one very small mirror in the bathroom. Apart from that the place was good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    Room was okay, but tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dirty cups in the room when we checked in. Shelves and nightstands were very dusty, and in a humid climate? Not sure why the dirty cups were there as there was no functioning coffee maker or coffee/tea. Room, bathroom and shower were tiny. We thought a B and B would have breakfast included. Way overpriced for what we got.

    Room was okay, but tiny. Staff on duty was very pleasant and did his best to mitigate the problems.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not great, room was cold. Handles missing of locker and no remote control for TV, no milk for coffee or tea. Had booked for B&B but no breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    Very poor value, owners don’t care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s clearly advertised on the outside as a Bed & Breakfast, it doesn’t provide breakfast. A notice in the bedroom advised that tea, coffee and cerials would be available but weren’t

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, friendly staff, nice bed but terrible bathroom. Too expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no water pressure on our first morning so we woke up to no water in the taps or shower. It was fixed fairly quickly but still slow to come back and very weak. The water heated up so quickly that it burned me. The bathroom overall was very grubby. There was a lamp in the bedroom but it wasn't working so all we had was the harsh overhead light. The blinds on the windows (ground floor, front room) could be seen through at different angles so we had people looking straight in at us in the morning which was very off putting.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very nice about us checking in at 10.30pm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    The place was ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The place was ideally located. They need to clean their rooms. There was an inch of dust on the doors and blinds. Shower was very dirty inbetween tiles was all yellowish orange in colour from dirt and all around the bottom. Of the shower is black from ground in dirt. No milk for tea. bed was broken. Needs to be painted cleaned and furniture needs updating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible. Got blocked in and couldn't use our car. Staff did nothing to help with car situation. People smoking in rooms, guests being excessively loud in the middle of the night and nothing done about.

    Location but nothing else

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is as basic as it can be, with a tiny bathroom and mould on the ceiling over the bed. Apart from the facilities, owner/staff are not usually there, so on our first night there, we arrive at 1am to find a man sleeping at reception, and another one sleeping lying on the stairs, surrounded by his own puke, that had gone into floors, carpet and walls. Next day at 10am nobody had cleaned it yet. Walls are so thin you hear all the other guests making it very difficult to sleep.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    2.9
    By far the worst place I have stayed in yet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was filthy when we arrived like it hadn't been cleaned in a long while. There was mold in the kettle, rotting wood in the bathroom and bedroom and dust and hair everywhere. The bathroom was ridiculously tiny and it was difficult to move in it. Pillows were super uncomfortable. The next day we tried to find staff to request that they please clean and (if possible) change the pillows but there was no one on the property to help. In the end we left in a hurry and left some clothing behind. We noticed 6 hours later and rang the property. Staff promised to speak to "housekeeping" and get back to me. Nothing happened. I followed up a few times via phone and email. Couldn't reach anyone. Emails were received but left unanswered. Unbelievable how many good reviews this property got. Don't trust the good reviews, trust the bad ones. Don't stay here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.3
    Dreadful , appalling. Worst place we ever stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. Worst place I have ever stayed in. A B&B that doesn't do breakfast. AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID........ I am actually surprised Booking.com and other sites are still advertising this place....... We booked THREE ROOMS for TWO nights from March 17th – 19th March. It was so unacceptable we did not stay for the 2 nights. We left and moved to another B&B on the 18th March. First of all, upon arrival , we were told that check in was not until 4pm! It clearly stated that check in was at 3pm. We had to leave our bags and go away until we received a phone call to say they were ready! We were then told no BREAKFAST was served until APRIL!..... in a BED and BREAKFAST! My father in law is diabetic and was told that some tea and toast could be arranged the Sunday morning. This NEVER happened! There was no-one to contact in reception. Then the TV did not work. The TV cable did not fit into the wall so no reception / aerial. NO DVD player as advertised! No toilet roll in the bathroom. The dining room was locked! On the Sunday , we could not stay any longer and left. There was no one at reception to check out. I returned to the B&B five times between Sunday and Monday to return the keys and no-one was around! On Monday morning at 10.30am , I managed to get through to the emergency number after 3 attempts and was told reception not open until 11am. In the end I had to drop the keys in a box on the reception door!!! I have so many complaints about our stay here. The poor guy (Igor) left on his own , did his best the first day but what could he do about the facilities. I have attached photos of the room , the kitchen , the reception left unattended! There were bags of rubbish or clothes or whatever left in the kitchen. The balcony which was falling apart. The dampness! The window ledge at the main door collapsing as we opened the door. It was an absolute disgrace and easily the worst stay we ever had in any type of accommodation.

    The location , nothing else

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    2.9
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor/shelves were dirty, bed had a massive dip in mattress, people in smoking area chatting at early hours in morning sounding loud in bedroom, shower was tiny, not much water pressure, wifi very slow, asked to pay at start before seeing room

    Heating worked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    The room was extremely tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely tiny. I could barely open my suitcase next to the bed. In the bathroom the same. No space to even wash my hands properly without making the whole floor wet.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: