Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anchor Guesthouse 3 stars

49 Lower Gardiner Street, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#61 of 104 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.5
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows too hard. I usually bring my own but forgot. Minor complaint.

    The staff was excellent. Friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Close to major locations. Airlink stop from airport just down the street. Very convenient. Although website says no wifi-it was included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.8
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The experience the next morning was not as good. We rang the bell for breakfast and an woman appeared who was very stern and not happy to see us. She made us feel very unwelcome and that we were in her way. Also a man who was on the evening shift who i believe was the woman's husband was just as rude and sharp. Lose the couple with no customer service skills!

    When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely Irish guy who was so happy and helpful, and the young girl who we checked out with couldn't have been more helpful and lovely - The Irish Score 100%

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Cosy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in an area with many guesthouses and hostels. The guesthouse is really convenient for the Airlink 747 bus to and from the airport - maybe 1 minute walk to the guesthouse from the stop, which is great. It’s also close to restaurants and sightseeing (walking distance). Our room was on the top floor, so we did have to carry our luggage up several flights of stairs (they offered to help). The room was spacious, and comfortable, with big windows. The water was nice and hot. They had a good kettle with tea and coffee in the room. We didn’t partake of the breakfast so cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    would look for alternative next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room in a corridor next to a loading dock - off the street so seemed that it would be quiet but they began loading early in the morning perhaps the other side of the building would be fine - no way of knowing when booking with booking.com the numbers adverstised never quite add up - somewhat of a shell game

    location one reception person was friendly; the other just took care of the basics

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was perfect for our recent trip to Dublin. The location is fantastic with just a fifteen minute walk to temple bar. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and couldn’t be faulted.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Location was pretty good for exploring both sides of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint would have been that it was very warm in the room. Opening the window wasn’t an option because we were on the side with the alley. It was very noisy when the window was open.

    Location was pretty good for exploring both sides of the river. Staff was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    THE PLACE IS EXCELLENT, VERY CLEAN. COMFORTABLE .THE PLACE OVERALL IS 10 OUT OF 10
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    IT IS A VERY NICE PLACE. IT IS NICE AND QUIET THE PLACE IS VERY CLEAN FROM ENTRANCE TO STAIRS AND ALL OVER . THE ROOMS ARE VERY COMFORTABLE. THE STAFF ARE VERY FRIENDLY THE PLACE OVERALL IS 10 OUT OF 10

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    good location , comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit pricey at 53 euros a night and 8 euro for full breakfast , scrambled eggs the only option , but on a par with the rest of Dublin , prices seem to have gone up quite a bit over the last 2 years , we paid 45 euros last year including breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    room at the front very noisy from the street outside seem to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    room at the front very noisy from the street outside seem to have been a lot of loud drunks on the street outside till all hours did not get a lot of sleep don’t know where the guards was at they would have needed to clear the idiots off the street sooner!! I just think it’s a bad area of Dublin after dark and not safe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    The bed was comfy, the breakfasts good, and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very dated and in need of a facelift, although it was clean and the shower good (although tiny).

    The bed was comfy, the breakfasts good, and the breakfast lady super nice. Nice friendly dog also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    OK to put your head down but would avoid in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After opening the window in the room we could not shut it?!?!? Tv did not work and electricity outlets seemed to be very temperamental. Room was rather run down and in need of some upgrades. Overpriced for what was on offer.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Really friendly staff and we were only a 5 min walk from o...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back and there was work happening from sometime 6.30 in the morning and because it was warm we had the window opened all night.😣☹️

    Really friendly staff and we were only a 5 min walk from o Connell street.👍👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean and fresh room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street traffic noise could be heard all night. Although I got to sleep relatively easy in the very comfortable bed.

    Clean and fresh room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    The guesthouse is lovely, clean & has a quite good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, our neighbor loved watching his TV with the sound turned up until 3AM, despite our multiple knockings over the wall/door (to which he never answered) which kinda ruined our stay as the walls are pretty thin. Not the fault of the staff, but be wary if you're sensitive to noise.

    The guesthouse is lovely, clean & has a quite good geographical position within the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    The rooms are clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sound insulation of the rooms is deplorable: you can hear the neighbours talking. Let's not talk about television! The rooms overlooking the street are extremely noisy.

    The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    The check in staff were very friendly. The room was clean and large, the locatioon was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was quite small, the rooms were quite stuffy and warm. There was no elevators and we had to pull our cases up several flights of stairs.

    The rooms were large and the beds were comfie.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is a little confusing. To get to my room you went up the stairs, through a sitting room, through a hallway, through another hallway, up the lift, and it was tucked away in a corner behind some guys on a ladder fixing something.

    I loved Juno the dog!!! I'm having separation issues already.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Bedroom was ideal size and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noisy from main road - went on all night. No mirror in bedroom. Needed one beside electric plugs for hair dryer etc. Shower very small.

    Bedroom was ideal size and clean. Beds comfortable. Waitress serving breakfast very efficient and pleasant. Reception staff all helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    It wasn't flashy but perfectly adequate, and, most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a trek up stairs with suitcases. However, I think if you asked you would get help.

    It wasn't flashy but perfectly adequate, and, most importantly, clean, with a good shower. Staff were helpful. Very close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Lovely property, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a little trouble with the night porter, wrongly accusing us of not paying for our bill for the stay, then insisting we paid up at 11:50pm after a day out in Dublin. But don’t let this put you off, we told the owners and they are aware of this. They are really lovely welcoming people. I would stay here again.

    Lovely property, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    We would love to stay here again if it were not for the noise problem., which is a real shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower . We slept very badly, due to the traffic and train noise. Windows appeared to be only single glazed.

    Bed was very comfortable. Location was excellent and room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast, good location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there was only a 3 person room left which made my stay quite expensive.

    Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast, good location near the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Stayed for 2 nights at anchor guesthouse.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only complain was that the water heating system does not work well and u run out of hot water. Neighbouring area can get a little shady at night, hence not advisable to travel back late if travelling alone

    Stayed for 2 nights at anchor guesthouse. Staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable and was conveniently located near to the main shopping areas (10 mins walk away), Busaras and train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Modest accommodation at a reasonable price within walking distance to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay extra for breakfast.

    It was a convenient location on the north side of the river with parking available at a modest rate. It was within walking distance to the city center. Pleasant staff. Clean facilities. Loved the high ceilings and large windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent B&B staff were lovely, the dog was an added bonus she was gorgeous! Far enough out of the madness of Dublin but close enough to walk into the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really really noisy in room 2. Didn’t sleep a wink. Overlooking an alley that have deliveries over night so trucks beeping and workmen shouting. Awful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice and convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator and the walls are a bit thin and you can hear the noise outside the window but the location makes up for that!

    The personal at check-in and check-out was exceptionally friendly, they even assisted me with my - quite heavy - luggage. And the dog was super cute

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    GREAT TRIP TO A FABULOUS CITY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    STEPS AND NO LIFT, SHOWER COULD HAVE BEEN HOTTER, COULD DO WITH A SECURITY DEPOSIT BOX IN THE ROOMS

    24 HOUR STAFF, CLEAN, FANTASTIC CENTRAL LOCATION, COMFY BED

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the room being cramped everything else was 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cramped for 3 single beds and the long mirror was in front of the table at side of end bed so was pretty squashed esp with 2 teenage girls in the room lol.

    Location was excellent and there was no outside or inside noise, it was silent so great for sleeping. Breakfast was lovely with good selection. Receptionist was lovely and very helpful. Place was very clean 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Very plesent stay . apart from the night porter on the Saturday night,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night porter on the Saturday night on our return from having a lovely evening at the theatre was extremely rude ! We arrived back just after 11 45 pm and the porter demanded the outstanding balance before we went to our allocated room . as he had to balance the hotel books ?( seemed very odd to be doing this at this hour ?) I refused and closed the bill the following morning .

    Location was very central and majority of staff were very plesent also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Stayed in Rm 10.
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in Rm 10. No hot water for a shower only to be told there were issues with the pipe work. Not impressed as this was endured for entire stay. overall house was clean, friendly staff n good food although eggs not ordered requirements at breakfast. Bathroom a little too tight to move around in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and comfortable to stay into.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just don't want how the staff welcome us that night. How he approached us wasn't very welcoming and accomodating.

    The room was clean and comfortable to stay into.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    The room was big, quiet and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big, quiet and clean. The bathroom too. There was the possibility to make a coffee or tea inside the room. There were towels and hygiene lines. Near the city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff went out of their way for us. Very nice breakfast and the room was warm spacious and comfortable. Will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    This hotel, that I booked for my first encounter with Dublin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cannot think of much: there was carpeting on the floor, which may be of unconvenience if one is subject to allergies for instance (a little bit for me).

    This hotel, that I booked for my first encounter with Dublin, was very convenient: very well located, and the beds were comfy. Though it was pretty quiet, which is amazing. Also, a convenient detail as I booked a room for three persons: there was a bathroom in the room but also extra toilets on the floor. Finally the staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Perfect and good value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very homely. Convenient to rail station. I sat by the fire after breakfast and read with the snow falling outside. It was very relaxing and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable room close to O'Connell street and good wifi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't a safe or blow dryer in the room. Also, they ask that you turn in your key to the front desk every time you depart the premises which I thought was a little strange considering there is no safe in there to begin with.

    The B&B was in a great location close to a great Breakfast place across the street. (Art Cafe). The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and there was hot water and wifi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    It’s a reasonable place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room often feels cold and the shower doesn’t always have sufficient hot water.

    The staff is super friendly and helpful; the room is really clean with clean sheets and towels. The bed is very comfy. The guesthouse is at a superb location, all the key bus stops are nearby. It’s also very near to the city center. The facility also feels safe to me and well managed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location,friendly staff, I recommend this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not too warm, and hot water was neither too hot, at this season of the year a bit unpleasant. wi-fi dis not reach my room

    Great location,friendly staff, I recommend this place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    We will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My friend and I spent three nights at the Anchor and we cannot fault our stay at all! Jerry (or Terry, sorry Irish accents are hard!) was the most helpful host, when I mentioned I was off for a run he was quick to grab a map and point out the best running spots. He also provided us with a hairdryer at no extra cost (or hassle!). The rest of the staff were also all very pleasant. Room was v clean, pillows comfy and tea & coffee facilities in the room are always a welcome bonus! :) Top location too. Definitely recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    good location bad establisment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff are so rude and its ridiculous that you've to hand your key in every time you leave the building the room is small but the bathrooms are tiny I wont be staying again

    its in a good location close to the city and all major bus routes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was at the back of the property in an annex building, the rooms are not sound proof and it was really cold, I thought there was a bird in my room trying to escape but on further inspection nothing was there, I think there must have been something on the outside flapping in the wind but did cause noise. To be fair no where you stay right in the city centre is going to be free of noise and I only paid £50 for an overnight stay, my best advice is enjoy being in the heart of the city but take or buy earplugs to get to sleep, it's the only thing to do to enjoy your stay in Dublin at anytime, I've been visiting for 18 years and that's my best advice. If you pay £150 upwards you may have a more reliable nights sleep but nothing is guaranteed.

    The property is very central and has a lovely guest room to the right as you come in the front door with a big fire place , fire was lit when I was there. It's not the best of areas especially on your own at night , just get a taxi back from pub/night out, but it's not the worst I would make sure your bag is secure, this doesn't reflect on bnb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Dublin is amazing and overall we had a pleasant stay
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have warm water in the bathroom, so we had a cold shower the first morning and they had painted the walls without letting us know and there was no note on the walls or something like that so we didn't know and touched the walls with our jackets and now they have white spots on it and we can't get it out. But the staff was very friendly and helpful and got us warm water in the shower and a free breakfast the next morning so that was really nice and we thought that was a good solution.

    The beds were really comfortable and the room was very spacious. We were on a weekend trip with three girls around the age of 25 and didn't get much sleep because we were in the pubs but when we were in the beds we slept really good in the Anchor Guest House. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. It felt like we were at home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    A very convenient location with very friendly staff, we will be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weather!!

    Very nice breakfast. Very friendly staff and excellent location for getting around with the bus depot in the next street and trams running close by/

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was chilly. The rads must be turned off or down at night. If you stay up late or get up early it’s cold. Water did not get hot late at night or early in the morning. To resolve an issue I had to go to the front desk as there is not a phone in the room.

    The staff was great. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Very clean premises staff excellent food beautiful plenty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were at back of building in the extension room 2 it was very noisy all night for both night we stayed if staying again I would like to stay in main building

    Very clean premises staff excellent food beautiful plenty and hot . room and shower clean grand we were at back of building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.3
    Really poor value for money, shabby location. Totally misrepresented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired, outdated decor - not Boutique at all, you need to change your description options. Small rooms, shabby bathroom. Had to ask for hot water to go on. Windows not double glazed, draughty, noisy. Breakfast really basic, poor quality ingredients and cooking.

    Location was convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value for the location and the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first morning, all the hot water ran out, so I had to take a cold shower; however, this was remedied by me waking up extra early the following morning. Also, you have to leave your key at the front desk before you leave and buzz in and wait for the front desk person to open the door when you come back. That can be a little tiresome, especially when you come in and out multiple times during the day. But that's a small concession. Note that this property does not have an elevator, so if you happen to be on the top floor, like me, you do have to walk.

    It was a nice-sized room for one person. The front desk staff is also friendly and helpful. It's ideally located. There isn't as much foot traffic compared to the areas surrounding Temple Bar, so you won't have to deal with late night noise, yet it is still easily walkable to all the major attractions in the city center. Moreover, both the main bus station, where the airlink bus stops, and the train station, from where you can travel outside the city center, are just a five minute walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast staff, the owner and reception upon arrival were all great - but things deteriorated in the evening.

    Breakfast was great. The night porter was insolent to another guest. I almost intervened.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    I was a lovey stay with just a few issues.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact of having to give up the key each time one leaves the building and then having to ring and have a staff member let you back in upon arrival again. It feels like it is imposing on the staff. It was also fairly chilly throughout the building.

    The property's location is great although the area where it is located is a bit run down. This causes a security concern as far as allowing admittance through the front door. Leading to having to give up the key each time one leaves the building and then having to ring and have a staff member let you back in upon arrival again. If there was any other way of handling this challenge it would be delightful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Slept well but the B&B could benefit from improving their food quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was very tiny never seen a shower cubicle so small! Breakfast was warm but produce low quality, left most of it. Wished I had eaten out.

    Comfy bed, location convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    A very enjoyable 2 days in Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    51 stairs up to our room was a bit of a hike! Breakfast service was slow and I felt for the young woman who had a whole dining room of guests to look after. The shower cubicle was tiny.

    Suited us on location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff were very pleasant, rooms were clean would stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing, could do with more seating in the lounge, when not in use for breakfast,

    Good value for money , near pubs shops just a short walk away .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable room & quiet, located away from main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a key to the front door & having to ring the bell to get in. Limited information provided on arrival, just given a very poor photocopied map that proved useless.

    Comfortable room & quiet, located away from main street. Large shower. Bus stop is right outside to return to the airport. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had onlya dribble as we were on the top floor, but management advise that a pressure pump is going to be installed soon to fix the issue.

    great location, easy walk within the city centre. good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    The whole experience was marred by the grumpy night reception guy - shame really
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hated being asked to settle the bill in order to get the key to the room following a great night out and getting back just wanting to go to bed!!!!

    The location was great for the evening in Temple Bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    We had a very comfortable stay at Anchor and would recommend it particularly for its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The location was great. The owner was very helpful and the room was very adequate (at the back so not noisy). Would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location, but very dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The inn was a little old and dated and getting to your room is quite a hike up stairs and through winding hallways. We also ran out of hot water one day and they didn't seem too concerned, but told us we could use the shower in another room on another floor. Not a good experience.

    The location was great. You could walk or take the train anywhere. You could visit the sites, go to restaurants and pubs easily by walking. Shopping was also convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Friendly Staff, Convenient Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic Room - felt a bit cramped. Little space for luggage and belongings. Poor lighting in room. Old style double handle and double spout sink fixture meant that the water was either too hot or too cold.

    Convenient location - easy walking distance to various sites and activities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Not a bad price for Dublin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was only available from 8am - fine for holidaymakers, I'm sure, but a bit late for business travellers.

    Not a bad price for Dublin. Decent breakfast for 8 euros: cereals, juice, tea or coffee and a choice of eggs or beans on toast or Irish breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    3.8
    Not a happy customer......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower's water temperature is dodgy. The beds uncomfortable, room dark and noisy as it is above a loading dock. The bathroom needs a good clean and the staff aren't very friendly.

    Fantastic location with easy access to public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an odd concept to have to return the room key to the front desk every time we left the hotel. We were not permitted to retain the key, so it was unsettling, as we were not sure who was accessing our room/belongings while we were out. If there was no one at the front desk, we were to leave our key in an unsecured box. The shower didn't get hot every time. For the price, breakfast should have been included. Our tv didn't work and there was no hair dryer in the room. The bathroom taps are high pressure, so they spray all over and get you soaked. When we arrived they welcomed us in, but after paying for our room, there was a shift in demeanour.

    The only good thing was the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    ANCHOR GUESTHOUSE I'LL BE BACK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dublin is an expensive city but a very enjoyable place to be.

    the owner's were very pleasant,the food was good , beds comfortable with a large wardrobe and chest of drawers. close to the train station with links to northern Ireland and the city centre with all the bars and restaurants within walking distance. (oshea's is a must for live music every night and some good food)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location, walking distance from city center, however...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the last floor and the water pressure there was low. Still enough to take a shower, so no big worries.

    Great location, walking distance from city center, however quiet. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Dublin exploration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location--very short walk to get bus to airport or tram to get about the city. We could do some shopping and easily take tram back to stop by room and drop off packages and then get back out to exploring Dublin.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Perfect apart from feeling ripped off by booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of the tourist tax of 9% when I booked the room through booking.com, hence the bill was 50 quid more than expected !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Very good
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, it was a great experience

    Confortable, really good people, well located, clean. Really good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place and staff very kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place and staff very kind and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Good options for breakfast, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good options for breakfast, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.8
    Okay okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Approach into room was complicated No hair dryer No phone

    Room was big

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, near bus and trum station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower. Expensive for what it offers....but Dublin is very expensive.

    Good location, near bus and trum station. Very friendly stuff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Staff were very welcoming and very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very welcoming and very helpful . Great location, close to many Dublin highlights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, friendly Na generally clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower at 5pm, shower cubicle ridiculously small

    Good location, friendly Na generally clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Good central location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overcooked and rather tasteless scrambled egg for breakfast

    Good central location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75