Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anno Santo Hotel 2 stars

Threadneedle Road, Salthill, Galway, Ireland

#37 of 42 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1029 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked better reading lighting.

    Very attentive and friendly staff. Excellent hospitality. Lovely, homey feel. Generous breakfast in a lovely cafe with table linens and all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -their machine didn't accept my creditcard, first time this happened and i tested it immediately afterwards in a restaurant and it worked fine, and so it did everywhere else . luckily i had enough cash on me otherwise it would have been a real pain since there was no atm close. -older bathroom -gardenwork at 8 in the morning infront of the window -saw some ants in the room -public bus didn't always go on time

    big room comfy bed good continental breakfast a bus station is very close good value imo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    It suited the occasion as all we wanted was a bed & a shower, for the price it was perfect just pity about the breakfast variety was poor & had to pay €5 for full Irish

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Great friendly staff. Excellent beds. Good basic comfy room with great WiFi and TV. Lots of channels. Can be busy. Walls bit thin but very nice stopover. Parking too. So handy for sea and parks..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls are quite thin and unfortunately not all guests are respectful.

    The hotel is located in the Salthill neighbourhood, near the beach. While the property isn't right in the city, there's a bus stop almost directly out front which goes straight into town (it's also possible to walk). Personally, I liked the fact that it was a little out of the way as the area is generally quieter. The owner/manager, Eamonn, was absolutely lovely. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. It suited my needs perfectly and I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit dated, TV very small no kettle in the room

    Beds vey comfortable and linen very clean. Nice big bath and room very clean. Continental breakfast included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle etc in room. This was justified to us because we could access free tea and coffee from the bar. This was available from 8 am until 11 pm, but not great for those of us who are awake early.

    Welcome and free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really accommodating and helpful. The continental breakfast was adequate and fresh. The tea and coffee was plentiful - at any time - and really good quality. Walking down to the bay was easy and in the evening, a really lovely place to be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get to walk into Galway city as too far but as the weather was warm and sunny, not a real problem.

    The room was very quiet and overlooked rear garden area which was awaiting landscaping but there was a lovely fruit tree which attracted the birds. Well located in the Salthill area as fairly close to the beach but a bit of a hike to the shops and restaurants which didn't bother us as the weather was fine. It would have been a long walk into Galway centre we figured so didn't bother and were happy to spend time near the beach. The staff were really friendly and helpful and were instrumental in organising our day trip to Aran Island when we arrived. The continental breakfast was adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was everything we needed for our stay in Galway . Although dated the hotel was clean & comfortable . They served an excellent continental breakfast included in the price . The staff where incredible , seriously brilliant hospitality . Nothing was too much for them . From check in to maid service to breakfast to check out it was fab . In a great spot & the beds where super comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing i can think of :)

    bed was very comfy. had a homely feel the staff were so accommodating on a what would have been a very stressful weekend for them (Concert)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is standard basic, great for a stop over.

    Breakfast was great, continental is plenty for anyone. Very nice staff. Very clean, warm, ventilated. Good wifi, good tv. Location handy to Salthill and Galway and Spiddal. Good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not have any choice and was below average. Croissants basket was mostly empty. Restaurant menu boasted many items but the chef would not agree to make most of it. The curry chicken I had one night for dinner was the worst I have ever had.

    Old school bathroom with a weak shower. Bedroom was spacious and clean Staff were every efficient helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here several times over the past year as I was studying part time. It was clean, warm and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was lovely and for the price you can't beat it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent continental breakfast and great staff, especially Eaumon who had lots of local tips. Bus stop into Salthills and Galway city only 100 m away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one plug in the bedroom.awkward enough trying to charge phones etc,but only a small issue.

    Nice little hotel,5 mins by bus or taxi into Galway city,bus stop just 500 metres away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a bit of long walk to town, about 30-40 minutes, and while there is a frequent bus service in daytime, it is rather less frequent at night. Some noise could be heard from adjoining rooms, maybe the walls are not as thick as they could be, maybe the guests were just too loud.

    The room was of a good standard, the nightly rate was very reasonable and the staff were helpful. The included continental breakfast was more than adequate. The bus stop for the bus to (and from) Galway city centre is only about 1 minute walk from the hotel. A few minutes walk away is the very pleasant Salthill Promenade where one can have a pleasant stroll by the seaside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got to the hotel at 11:30 and there was nobody for the check-in (the person from the kitchen was not friendly and rather helpless). The water was rather cold in the shower at 7 am in 2 out of 3 days.

    Breakfast was excellent. One day I had to leave before the breakfast time, the staff prepared breakfast for me to take away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything that I could fault about it.

    Staff were very friendly. Made us feel very welcome. Free tea coffee ect from morning till night. Lovely warm fire in dining area. Rooms very nice. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps they could have done something about the pouring rain!

    Excellent value for the type of accommodation: friendly helpful staff, large room, conveniently located, no luxuries, snacks and coffee available in the lounge at any time, parking right outside the door, I found it very satisfactory, and will certainly stay again if I'm working in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and floor a bit squeekey. Shower in bath, no issue for us but might be problematic for others.

    great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Nice continental breakfast included and all day tea/coffee available in lounge, made by a member of staff. Great value for money and would stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff super friendly. Parking DIRECTLY outside the door. Blackout blinds in the room. Very clean. GREAT VALUE at 40e breakfast included gluten free options for me as I'm a coeliac.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV was at ceiling height, rather illogical and meaning one had to lie flat to watch it, which isn't good if you wanted to work on your laptop at the same time. Should have been placed lower or on the table. Would prefer to pick my own table location for breakfast.

    The manager was amiable and attentive. The coffee he made me at the bar upon entrance ( in lieu of a kettle in the room) was A+ quality. The heat in the room was adjustable. There was no noise from the street. The location was easy to find and great if you were attending stadium events. The continental breakfast was more than adequate.The croissants were homemade and delicious! The checkout was fantastic....got to sleep late after hectic holiday events and was sent off with a smile and well wishes!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eamon who booked me in on Friday night was an absolute pleasure. He was so helpful and nice. Also I was leaving early the next morning before breakfast but was given a take away coffee and muffin which was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See the above. I would not have stayed a second night but my wife boooked this for me on line based on the published reviews. She was visiting family in the U.K at this particular time.

    I stayed at this property because the electricityin my home was problematic and as a result it was not possible to remain in my home because it was bitterly cold during this recent heavy snowfall. Impressed by the excellent reviews and keen pricing I I had no hesitation in choosing this property during this time but was very very disappointed. A few examples for my negative feedback: room was heated for certain short periods only even though the weather was the coldest for 50 Years, tea and coffees were of poor quality and cooked breakfast for an additional fee was mediocre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices are not luxury prices so I did not have unrealistic expectations and therefore was pleasantly surprised with my stay. If you are a very light sleeper you may want to bring your earplugs.

    The weather was very inclement but the hotel was well heated and every effort was made to make my stay comfortable. The continental breakfast was perfect though not elaborate -I enjoyed it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Got what I paid for basic accommodation, staff were friendly. No cooked breakfast unless you class toast as cooked?? Television was old school

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a kettle and tea/coffee sachets in the room. Only a small gripe...free tea and coffee was available in the dining room!

    WiFi really fast, continental breakfast was good. Check out not til 12 so no pressure in the morning.Good hot shower in clean bathroom. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls sounded thin and noise travelled from the corridor and adjoining rooms.

    Th continental breakfast was varied and substantial. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building slight smell of damp in the hallway. Tv in the rooms are old. But all just sight things. I liked the place . If your on a budget. The place is amazing . The staff are super friendly.

    Hotel is old school.For what we needed it was very good. Staff where lovely and couldn't do enough for you. 3star hotel with 5 Star staff. Would be more then happy to stay again. No bar on the property but that's not a problem. Not coffee or tea facilities in the room. But there is a coffee dock in reception. Where they make you fresh coffee and tea.not your run if the mill clone hotel. Value for money it can't be beaten.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, too far away from City Centre.

    Room was very comfortable and with private bathroom. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and with lots of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very noisy, the floors creek with every step you take and you can here everything through the walls but if it's a weekend break your after where you will be spending most of the time in city then it's perfect. If it's a rest and a good nights sleep then no.

    The ladies working here were very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had an excellent stay at the Anno Santo Hotel on Friday the 8 December. I was met by a very friendly owner who did not mind in the least my late check in and was very appreciative of my earlier phone call to say i would be arriving much later than i had already anticipated. The Room was warm ,comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. It had a small TV which was fine for me and it did have plenty storage area.The room was spacious but cozy. The bed was so comfortable and the bedclothes were crisp and clean with good pillows and the crowing glory an overhead reading light that you could actually read with. I had a great nights sleep and as I was leaving early availed of the continental breakfast which I enjoyed in a spacious dinning room by a log fired stove. It was excellent value for money at Euro40 and I will definitely be back and I will be bringing the family . The location is lovely for an early morning run or walk on the prommanade. I would recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were fantastic, they were so friendly, we were going to a concert and they googled the number of hits the artists had for us. We ate our evening meal in the hotel, there were only the two of us but it was good value and quick as we were under a time constraint. Breakfast was great, no rush and they could not be more cheerful offering us extras of everything. We will be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were outdated but ok for a one night stay.

    The hotel was outdated but clean, staff were very helpful- it was great value for money and good for a one night stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls thin and floor boards a bit creaky . But apart from that got a great night sleep .

    Staff were very accommodating when we arrived early for a wedding and gave us an early check in. Breakfast was lovely. Lounge fire very cozy. The place is old but very clean and in a lovely location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing,everything was very good

    Breakfast was at a very cheap price.The room was very comfortable and a good size,The location was very good close to the centre of Salthill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some floor boards and the bed were squeaky, while I wouldnt say it bothered me it might have bothered other residents staying at the hotel :P

    Room felt very cosy and warm, everything worked as it should have

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly and helpful and were accommodating when we changed plans due to stormy weather. Near Salthill restaurants and bars with walkways beside the sea. On bus route to the city centre. Good location for exploring Galway and surrounding areas. Family friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean & handy for a cheap overnight

    Handy cheap place to stay for a family party nearby. Old fashioned but clean. You get what you pay for. Hear every conversation & noise from other rooms & corridor. Breakfast ok. Fruit bowl full of old musty fruit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old hotel but nothing to not like

    Yes croissants freshly baked on site bed very comfy fresh coffee/tea available all day in bar at no charge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bus runs on Sunday only starting with 10 AM, so if you booked a tour which starts earlier you can either walk or take a taxi. Breakfast was basic, could have been better. The closest pub/restaurant is 1 kilometre away.

    Big room, comfy bed, good heating system (which is a big plus taking into account Irish weather). Bus 401, which runs between Salthill and Galway city centre, stops just in front of the hotel. Good base to explore Aran Islands and Cliffs of Moher.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise in the morning

    This is a good 2 star hotel. Value is good as it is not too expensive. Location is not city centre but is still good, in/near salthill and only 9 euro in a taxi to Galway city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cracked sink, quite run down pub and no frills, not even a kettle and tea bags in rooms, although you could go down to the bar tea and coffee free but latte had to pay for. OK for one night but not for a long stay. Worried car might not be there in the morning.

    The breakfast was good for a continental, full Irish is extra. Fairly quiet at back considering it is on a main road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I generally don't like a shower that is in a bath tub because of the danger of slipping.

    Breakfast was far better than expected. The hotel was not busy and this added to a peaceful and enjoyable overnight stay. The hotel is a 5-minute walk away from the sea. A stroll along the promenade in Salthill is a must.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real effort made to make stay memorable

    Basic but fine. Mainly pre-occupied with a whole load of school children who go there for fish and chips. Clearly they were putting attention where the profit was. Breakfast fairly bland, but OK. Nothing exceptional, but everything adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated really need a fresh lift. Shower had hardly no power although the taps had but the taps were not washing off my shampoo. Charge way to much for what it is. Musty smell in hallway, rooms and wardrobe. Almost 10 euro for taxi into city centre.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did have a little trouble sleeping as I found the bed a bit uncomfortable.

    Our roon was good value for the money and the staff were very friendly and helpful in explaining the area and good places to have dinner. It was a short walk down to the Salthill promenade and the bus stopped 3 houses down if you wanted to go into Galway city centre. A continental breakfast was included and a variety of things were offered. And for €5 you could have the hot breakfast which I thought was reasonable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no tea making facilities in room, walls very thin. could hear loud snoring all night in next room. telly very small

    wifi good. convenient to salthill and galway.staff very helpful.breakfast very good and included in price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower/bath. Hot water was slow and not very hot. Toilet was like a childs toilet.

    The room was comfortable, the bathroom was disappointing. Easy access to a bus into the city of Galway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a king bed instead of a double bed

    Very friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent. Coffee and Tea 24/7. Good location. Seaside just down the road

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the hotel is a little dated, it was very clean, comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and it was excellent value. We have already recommended it to friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights. Upon checkin we noticed our 'standard double' was barely big enough to fit both of us. We have stayed in standard doubles before and never had an issue....until now. We informed them of this after check in amd we were fobbed off saying they were full and nothing could be done.The bed was also very uncomfortable as you could feel plastic underneath you which made u sweat .Our first night we both tried to sleep in the bed but despite lying on our side we were both at the edge of the bed and the smallest movement we would have ended up on the floor and also had no personal space so when one of us moved the other certainly felt it. Our second night my boyfriend ended up sleeping on the floor with blankets and a pillow which when he asked for them at reception and told the man he had to sleep on the floor the man wasnt phased that my boyfriend had to sleep on the floor and was reluctant to even give him the blankets. On our third and thankfully last night they put a spare bed in the room. We wonder where we put in a room that is only suitable for one person like is adveritised as there is no way 2 people fit in that bed regularly unless theyre munchkins. Had we not experienced 2 nights out of 3 from hell we would have had no complaints. On checkout we did recieve an apology but unfortunatly it was too little too late as we were quite sleep deprived it put a dampner on our holiday.

    Staff were friendly. Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Design of hotel is dated - No tea/coffee facilities in room, only at the main bar until 11.45pm - Parking might be too small for number of cars - More options at breakfast

    - Bed linen and towels included - Friendly reception staff - Car parking provided - Continental breakfast included - WIFI connection strong and reliable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were friendly and obliging at all times and being able to get a fresh cup of tea or coffee free during the day much appreciated. The breakfast was good and the cooked breakfast excellent.It

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault would be that the bed was not that comfortable.

    Liked the option of full lrish breakfast if wanted.found the staff very friendly and a lot of information about the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find any faults

    Wonderful value for money, staff and management were super friendly and helpful, continental breakfast included in the price and had a large variety of food to choose from, cereal, scones, crossiants, toast, cold meat a variety of cheese and any fruit that you wanted served with tea and coffee or orange juice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little noisy due to people coming and going and there is little filter for the noise. Didn't bother me so much but could be difficult for people who don't sleep deep.

    Staff were excellent. Room was small but suitable for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They say it's a hotel yet it's more like a hostel. It smelled of damp all the way threw. Breakfast wasn't cooked sausages wore pink inside bacon had black spots on them😷😷 also we had to oay for breakfat whicj we wore tild it was free with room,u could hear the noise from the neighbours in corridors . For the price we paid we would of got a nice b&b out of it better than this so called hotel. It's out dated lie a run down pub. I wouldn't recommend this place at all.👎👎

    Close to beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only complaint was the creaking wooden floors and noisy doors. We could hear anyone passing in the corridor and entering their rooms. However the Irish are very considerate and most people passed as quietly as possible.

    Anno Santo Hotel met our expectations and more. We had a pleasant bright room overlooking the rather abandoned garden but lovely apple tree. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom facilities more than adequate. There were very nice wooden cupboards and sufficient mirrors, an important consideration for two ladies who need to prepare themselves for the day! The daily upkeep of the rooms and the cleanliness was excellent. As the hotel incorporates the Irish International Hotel and Catering School, the staff included a number of cheerful, very helpful students who did their very best to be of assistance and make our stay as pleasant as possible. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the lovely promenade of Salthill and we enjoyed our walks along gorgeous Galway Bay. There is also a bus stop very close to the hotel which takes you into the city. We were greatly impressed by the efficiency, kindness and patience of the management. My friend’s wallet was stolen while we were out on a tour of the Aran Island. The assistant manager Eamon went out of his way to help us. He made numerous phone calls to the company we had travelled with, the police and the credit card company. His calm, reassuring manner helped us enormously. He didn’t give up until we had found a solution to our problem and closed the cards to any further purchase. For this he, the management and staff of the hotel have our eternal gratitude.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like, the walls were thin so you could hear next door but it's understandable, most hotels are like that anyway

    The staff were extremely nice, lovely spacious room with everything you need, overall it was an excellent stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prior to booking I understood that there was a bar at this hotel. There were actually pictures of a bar and a mention of the friendly atmosphere. I thought that I was getting a bargain at £40 per night but the accommodation was extremely basic and I would have gone for a nicer b&b if I realised that Anna Santo is more like a large basic b&b establishment rather than a hotel. The floorboards in the bedrooms are very creaky and the walls obviously very thin as you could hear the goings-on in the neighbouring bedrooms / bathrooms at night which was not ideal. I stayed 3 nights and didn't get much sleep the 1st night as my neighbours left the bathroom fan on before heading out for the night. The noise of the fan and then their rowdy return at 5.30am resulted in a sleepless night. There is no-one on reception after 11.45pm so I was unable to request someone to turn the fan off. Parking is not guaranteed in front of the hotel though it is easy enough to park along the main road

    Bedroom and bathroom clean. Bed and pillows very comfy. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast provided promptly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    to be honest nothing however there wasnt a bar but this wasnt a problem for us

    really friendly staff and very clean located 15 mins from town centre lovely food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was old and needed upgraded. The room had no bedside lamps,the bed was too small .the TV was old and badly placed and the mirror was no were near the dressing table .

    The staff were helpful the food was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixtures of our room were set out for a twin room however we had a double room and the tv was behind the bed meaning you could not see it if lying on the bed. Instead I had to lie at the foot of the bed to see it

    Location was very convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were initially told food was served till 9, then that the chef went home at 7:30 and when we arrived at 7:15 the kitchen was already shut. Not a big deal as we had a car so went elsewhere for dinner.

    Nice basic hotel. The building has seen better days but the room was warm, spacious and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfast served in the morning. Wifi worked well and parking available immediately in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DRAB AND OLDFASHIONED

    WE WERE ATTENDING A WEDDING IN THE AREA, SO WE DID NOT SPEND MUCH TIME AT THIS HOTEL BUT WE FOUND THE STAFF TO BE VERY EFFICIENT AND NICE, ROOM WAS LOVELY, BREAKFAST WAS SUPERB, ONLY DOWNSIDE IS IS VERY DRAB AND BADLY NEEDS MONEY SPENT ON IT, BUT OVERALL WE ENJOYED OUR STAY

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very welcoming, smiling and helpful. The hotel was 10-15 min away from Salthill were you could walk and eat in some nice restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom facilities were poor but clean.

    Friendly staff who made us a hot drink to take to our room as there was no tea making facilities in our room. The place itself is a bit tired and dated. Breakfast was limited but the choice of fresh fruit was good. The soda bread was stale and there was only white bread and my friend had the last croissant!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that could have been better was we didn't realise at first that the hotel served dinner, if you book. We may have stayed for dinner the first night if we had known sooner but went out to eat instead. There are plenty of places to eat so that was not a problem

    The staff were very good and very friendly. The manager gave us plenty of advise on the local area. We only had breakfast in the hotel as we didn't realise at first that you could have dinner if you booked. My husband had full breakfast both days which was great. I had continental the first day and full the next. It was worth paying the extra for the full as the continental didn't suit my taste. The location was good as you could easily walk into Salthill where there were plenty of places to eat and drink. We walked into Galway during the day where it was buzzing, you could get a taxi if you liked but we enjoyed the walk as you see more on the way, it took around 30 to 40 mins we stopped a couple of time to look at things.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelly, toilet was not clean, bath was tiny, when I showered there was no hot water. The bathroom sink and mirrors were too low. There was no fridge or tea/coffee/jug in room. It was hot, no aircon or fan and little access to outside air.

    Friendly staff. Although parking is limited and restricted, the proximity to Galway is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No getting full Irish breakfast included as when I booked it with booking.com it said breakfast included but did not highlight it was continental and it was embarrassing as I cooked it as a surprise for my sister's. I will not be using your site again.matter of fact I am currently in Majorca and booked via other site.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couple next door were extremely noisy when they came in late at night.

    Property is very centrally located and convenient for Salthill, Eamonn was very helpful and the accommodation was very good value for the price. All the parking spaces were gone when I arrived so had to park on the street which I was a bit worried about as that's quite a busy part of Galway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that I watched TV there a lot, but the TV was very old... I would have liked the shower a bit more stronger, too.

    The room was very basic and a bit old I must say, but was cleaned and warm. The internet was very good. The staff members were very kind and hospitable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A staff member was appalling rude. I've stayed here 4 time before (under previous managment). I will never go back here again. I would go as far as saying that Irish Tourist Board should revoke their licence. A total disgrace to Irish tourism. I had 4 girls attending a sports event. They asked for all payment up front for a 4 day stay - despite the fact that there was a 48hr cancellation policy and they had a credit card to secure the booking. The breakfast was disgraceful. luke warm yoghurts, ham that curled up at the sides, fruit that was well past it's sell by date. In addition, when the girls asked for a hot breakfast (ie an egg, they had to pay for it up front) The girls asked for a number of a taxi one evening and were told that there was a bus outside the door. Seriously Fawlty Towers wouldn't get a look in.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: