Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arch Guesthouse 3 stars

Market Street, Clifden, Ireland

#14 of 16 B&Bs and Inns in Clifden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in from 4 is quite late and when we arrived earlier than this it was closed so couldn’t even drop our bags.

    Great location right in the center. Friendly host and clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the lack of blinds which means it was very bright at 6am... Also couldn't open the window because cats outside would have come in.

    Great location, warm welcome, comfy bed, nice decoration especially the little yard and entrance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is above all expectations. A happy, stylish, clean and comfortable room. Bed linen better than in a 5*** hotel. The bed is so comfortable that you think twice before waking up. In one word: this is heaven.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soap is a disaster in a small container that is difficult to use. Larger "hand soap" container very watery & drained off your hand when trying to shower. Facility needs to provide either bar soap or a wall dispenser with a thicker product. Both my wife & I had the soap problem. Shower was small but sufficient if soap was usable. I wound up buying a bar from the local Super Valu, when host advised he had none. Facility is "Cash Only", credit cards ok on booking site, but not for payment to Arch. I needed to go to the bank to checkout. Fortunately I did it the night before we left.

    Great location, room (exceptionally clean), great hostess (Carmel), great food. We loved the place, with overcome-able limitations (see below)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from our window and the fact that there was a public pathway/back route/shortcut right outside our window

    Location good, staff friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little bit noisy: you can hear your room neighbors

    Well located Kindness of the host Big ensuite room Free tea in the room very appreciated Good mattress and bedding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was lovely and was happy to change our room as the first one was a little dark and my partner prefers a brighter room, apart from that the location was perfect, right in the centre of town, great value, nice breakfast and well looked after, would def visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After driving for hours my knees were tired and my room was up 2 flights. My luggage was heavy than usual as was saving the walks up n down. Corridors narrow with your luggage in tow but otherwise everything was okay.

    Location on main street of Clifden and able to park close by after 6pm. (Pay parking meters 11.30am-6pm). Plenty of places to eat with Irish music ... some live music. Good shops ... gifts, cycling info, etc. Nice beach stroll.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is on street but no problems with getting a space. You need to pay for parking after 11am. The breakfast was not good and appeared to have all been cooked in a micro wave.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location ideal for shops comfy room breakfast cost extra and given other places I have stayed it lacked a little bit of the extra finishing touches

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a view but in the centre of town this would b unlikely.

    The owner was really friendly and helpful.It was very central to the town.Breakfast as superb with very cheerful, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be difficult to park nearby

    It's very central, but also very quiet We received a warm welcome, and advice on where to eat since we'd arrived a bit late. The room was clean and the shower was good and hot. A good cooked breakfast cost us only €5 each

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was so friendly and helpful - very lovely! Convenient location within the town, and easy parking just outside the property (with a free lot very close by that I also used).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our television didn't work in the room, which honestly wasn't a big deal to us. We spent most of our time out and about or sleeping.

    Our host was absolutely incredible, she was so kind and went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. She even gave me cold medicine when I got sick in the middle of our holiday! The breakfast was really nice and it was located in a great location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy for parking. Street parking which is at a premium and is paid for up until 6pm. Needs some investment in new beds and pillows, very uncomfortable. The window in our room was broken and could not be closed.

    Great location and very friendly owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle would be better as a double as there is room to change it over.

    Love love loved it! Clean, well decorated & perfectly situated! We have been traveling the wild atlantic way staying at different accommodation each night I have to say this was by far one if tge best!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One can always pick the odd fault and there were one or two small things.

    Very handy for going out in the evenings,i have been to Clifden several times before and i was a bit concerned about parking,but parked outside or close every evening free parking 1800 till 11.30.Great for touring.Room was ok clean beds,towels etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sign out the front could be a bit bigger. Took us 2 laps of the town to find it - this doesn't take away from the fact I'd rate the place 10/10!

    Central location in town. It was exactly as described, comfortable, clean, delicious breakfast. I loved the walk down through the tunnel into the B&B, when you reach the end it's like a hidden getaway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff who allowed us to use their phone when we had a problem with our hire car. Located on the high street but our room at the back of the property was quiet with no disturbances. Plenty of places to eat and wander from the front door. Although on street parking we had no problem finding a parking spot at the end of the afternoon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You do not have a good view, but this is not really negative due to the fact it is so central.

    In the town centre of Clifden, opposite the bus stop. It was quiet and very nice staff, with great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    Carmel was very welcoming and helpful. Beds very comfortable and breakfasts good. I would certainly stay here again as it is good value for the amount charged.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that the breakfast was not included in the price when they call themselves a B & B. It would have been an extra 30 euros if all four of us decided to eat there which would have substantially added to the cost of the room. I had to find less expensive alternatives for the rest of us for breakfast.

    My daughter had the breakfast and she liked it. The proprietors were very friendly and easy going. This B & B is right in town and on the main street which was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shampoo soap shower gel very stingy 2 tiny tiny bottles between 2 of us . Only 1 slice of toast per person came with breakfast - got another slice when we asked - very stingy. Curtains very light so room was flooded with light at 7am on Sunday morning which should be a bit of a lie in don't u think ?! Shower pressure was terrible - more a sprinkle than a shower . Sorry to give bad review but it was too expensive for what we got .

    Little outdoor garden was pretty. Location very good .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Breakfast was lovely,good choice of food. Situated in the very centre of the town. Very helpful we were really well looked after.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From early morning we could hear the footsteps of the proprietor on tiled floor beneath but this was due to our room where it was situated.

    Breakfast nicely cooked Plenty of hot water Comfortable warmth in the bedroom Bed slightly hard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect, just in the heart of the town, close to pubs and restaurants. I loved the little entrance to the BnB, colourful, really beautiful. The room was very cosy and comfortable. The check-in felt a little bit quick, like in a rush, as they didn't show us the common areas or explain too much about the BnB. Breakfast was fine, with a selection of cereals, fruit and yogurt, but the cooked option is just a full Irish. We had a nice time there, anyways :). Cash only.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could not fault this cosy b&b. Great location in the middle of Clifden. Couple minutes walk to great restaurants and pubs with live music. Free street parking. Quiet and very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't included which I thought was unusual for a B&B. We had 2 vegetarians in our group and the vegetarian breakfast was poor enough. Just eggs and beans.

    Excellent location. The owner was lovely and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was a bit weak in the bedrooms, but the host explained it was better in the common area

    Very friendly staff, comfy bed, good location and a very nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had said i was gluten free before iwent only thing that suited was bread frozen least it was toasted..and one slice was.top of pan crust .no cera.or rice crispes any thing for me to have.whyask if u have any request ifuare not going to have them.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things like light over mirror in bathroom not working and bed side light not working -no wifi

    Great location- Hosts very helpful- Great breakfast- Lovely walk through the arch some quirky touches .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two small shower gel containers and no soap in the en-suite in a double room. It was perhaps an oversight and hopefully not a measure to control cost

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, easy inexpensive parking on street near hotel. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owners lovely and great central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location right in the heart of Clifden. Many dining options within a short walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location in town, walk to dinner and music. Good breakfast, cheerful atmosphere. Clean. Knowledgeable owner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent B and B, great value, clean and tidy, lovely atmosphere and very helpful owners. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location on downtown street, easy walk to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice of tv channels. Would be nice at the end of a long day walking to have a chill with some decent tv

    Excellent location very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. In the Center of this wonderful town in easy walking distance to many food and bar options

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coolish room with unpleasant view. No free parking until 6pm.

    Downtown. Fast wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third floor walk up, bare bones room.

    Central location in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wish I could have stayed longer

    Very nice clean and very good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The power on the shower

    Lovely cozy place in an amazing location. They did me an excellent veggie Irish breakfast even though it wasn’t on the menu

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great host, & perfect location right in the town center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed the calm, the very good location, the information given by the owner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff gave us great tips on where to go hiking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More clothing women stores.

    Nice view and friendly people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    right in the centre of Clifden, lovely host and great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door and bed linen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were very friendly and immediately fixed the radiator which was off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Very friendly and helpful host.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather lol

    The food and atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location lovely clean rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfy! and the place was close to all restaurants and bus stop. Also, you can order full Irish or continental breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra bed leaves some rooms crowded, rashers tough

    Lovely staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made to feel very welcome and the location is perfect for access to local restaurants and pubs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the town! Owners were great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and friendliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Convenient, quiet, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Full Irish Breakfast! Great owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very hospitable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owner's k

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in centre of town.friendly staff. Nice stay.would stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet centric place to stay. Breakfast as optional extra booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication on breakfast Times

    Comfortable B&B

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs guests were very loud very late into the night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i was very happy with everything

    Very centrali

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by bicycle in a storm and were welcomed early (2pm) and our wet clothes taken to the drying room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Lovely accommodating person and food was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good rate for perfect location and very friendly staff. Breakfast was good too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly helpful hosts, nice and clean rooms, everything was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly owner and good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a lovely stay in Clifden for the weekend with Arch - very friendly place right in the center of town - the bed was so comfy!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: