Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ardmore Country House 4 stars

The Quay, Westport, Ireland

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location from city centre. No atmosphere. No food or bar facilities readily available. No duvet on bed only blanket. Annoying hostess.

    Large room. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    This place was amazing! Beautiful facility...felt like home. The room was comfortable and clean. Great bath. The staff was wonderful...so helpful and kind. Would have stayed forever!!!! The breakfast was to die for...sooooo good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Rest and relaxation in Westport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were warmly received by Noreen and our whole experience at Ardmore was extremely positive. The room was big, comfortable and the bed amazing! The atmosphere was very quiet and relaxed, we could walk to a number of restaurants and pubs nearby. Breakfast was really tasty with a wide choice and served to us, no buffet. We will definitely be back for some rest and relaxation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodation in pleasant surroundings only a short drive into Westport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with the internet; bath towels a bit old and rough

    Lovely décor...old world charm in beautiful gardens. Spacious room and excellent freshly prepared breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    The icing on the cake for our short break in the beautiful West of Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room and bathroom was excellent. The Staff very nice, although no evening meals available, the range and quality for breakfast was very good. Beautiful house, not a place for kids but singles and senior folk ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    The size of the bedroom, the comfort of the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great if breakfast could be pushed out until 10.30-11am.

    The size of the bedroom, the comfort of the beds. The views were fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff gave us good tips and advice to make the most out of our stay in Westport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    A w/e filled with great activities and memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    The peacefulness of the surrounding beautifully manicured grounds, the hospitality of the staff, the closeness and distance of the loveliness of Westport town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Owners and staff allowed us to enjoy a wonderful stay at Ardmore House. Highly recommend a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mention of 'Restaurant/Hotel' on the website and the name plate at the entrance to the house was confusing. We believed prior to arrival that we would have the option to book 3 course evening meal.

    Very spacious rooms to include en suite bathroom Bed and bedding was very comfortable. A very high standard of cleanliness throughout Ardmore House. The friendliness of staff and owners was amazing. So willing to make our stay the best throughout. Breakfast menu very satisfactory. Excellent choice of beverages to enjoy if desired.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very, very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was heavenly. Couldn't say more about this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    We spent two nights here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn't like

    We spent two nights here. Perfect location with wonderful views, room very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast menu had many choices. We would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    The view from the loft room was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way from the centre, but made for a very peaceful nights sleep. Would definitely stay again.

    The view from the loft room was stunning. Lovely clean room, huge bed. Staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely people but not the perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no spare blankets in the room and just a thin cover over the bed. The heating was off so I was cold during the night. The dogs in kennels beside the room barked all night. Unfortunately I did not have a good nights sleep. The lounge is small and there doesn’t seem to be a second lounge. Rooms are finished to a fairly high standard but bathrooms are basic. Breakfast was lovely but the waitress disappeared and we couldn’t get a coffee top up.

    The accommodation is fairly good standard and reflective of the price. The lady who took care of us during our stay was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice, but next time somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At arrival the lady wanted 300 euros, however through booking.com the agreed rate was 200 euros. No apology and we were made to look like cheapskates. In front of others. really, that was embarrassing.

    The room was big, and the beds were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Would not return, shame as it's such a lovely house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is now a Bed and Breakfast establishment and should not be classed under hotel. We didn't know this and we would never book such a place because of having to go out to eat in the evening. Drink drive laws! Coffee sachets well out of date. Personal belongings moved around. A definite NO NO. And don't have French toast for breakfast. First platefuln burnt and replacement fried in black pudding pan, so tasted of that and even had a small piece of black pudding attached.

    Beautiful room with marvellous view but no safe, no fridge, nowhere to put the soap, shampoo etc in the shower cubicle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and relaxing stay in pleasant surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is comfortable in a good position overlooking Clew Bay. The staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful giving advice on interesting places in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Most unpleasant
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly welcome after long hot journey down from dublin were asked 'what were we doing arriving at this hour' it was after 3oclock and check in was at 4oclock we were told to go for a walk having first being ignored for 10 minuits and lwft standing in reception .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signal for phone. WiFi didn’t work.

    Beautiful hotel. Quiet location. Short walk from restaurants and Westport House. Lady who greeted us very pleasant and friendly. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My card was accidentally charged twice wjen paying for the room which was a little inconvenient as it took a week to be reimbursed.

    The friendly welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful short break in Westport in excellent surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved everything but I would be really nit picking if I said the pillows were a bit on the soft side!

    Super large comfortable bed with excellent facilities throughout. We were treated like Royalty from arrival to departure. Delicious breakfast with excellent service. Would strongly recommend this venue-quiet but within walking distance of the Quay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    A comfortable stop over not that far out of Derry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was decorated in lavish style. It was spacious and had all that we needed. The restaurant at Ardmore provided excellent meals and service at all stages was excellent. Ardmore was near the city but out in the countryside which was pleasant.0

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barking dogs behind inn were obnoxious. Could not turn on bathroom light without loud fan on. Could not open both windows in bedroom.

    Good size room. Very comfortable. King bed. Well equipped. Excellent breakfast in lovely setting. Lovely grounds in front of inn. Attentive friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Ardmore Country House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find as no house numbers are used. Put Ardmire Country House into the Tomtom for directions

    It was a little way out of central Westport but the view and peaceful night's sleep was worth it. The room was big, super clean, comfortable and breakfast was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful spot on Wild Atlantic Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. My wife ordered the Eggs Benedict but was served with split Hollandaise sauce. Scrambled eggs following morning didn't appear to be freshly cooked.

    Fabulous room, great location, owners could not be nicer or more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    An elegant, comfortable place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the room did not work. We were able to connect in the lobby.

    This is an elegant property! The room and bathroom were huge. Breakfast was very good, and they serve drinks in the lounge at night. It was fun talking with other travellers!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Quality accommodation with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beakfast is served from 8.30 which was a little late for us. Might be too quiet for some people but we loved that.

    The decor can best be described as 'retro' but of very high quality and beautifully maintained. Lovely sash windows with sea views in our good sized room. Large modern bathroom with bath and seperate shower. Best described as an upmarket large guesthouse than a hotel in my opinion. Staff friendly, efficient and informal which contributed to the nice atmosphere in the hotel. Waiter service at breakfast with good choice and a beautiful sea view. Only sound was birdsong from the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Love the Westport area and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast time was later than we would have liked (830) but I suppose most people on holidays like to,lie in later. We had thought that there was a restaurant for dinner but there wasn't although several good choices nearby. Were not able to open the windows and would have liked the fresh air at night for sleeping. Would have liked to have a room with a view of the garden.

    The room was exceptionally comfortable. The hosts were very flexible when we arrived early, we were able to leave our luggage , change our clothes and head out to explore and hike. The breakfast had lots of choices and they were all cooked fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    An overpriced B&B in a nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was overpriced. The accommodation was basically a bed and breakfast and the cost was too high for what was on offer. Directions to the property were poor. The first room we were offered smelled strongly of paint and we couldn't open windows. The second room was better, at least we could get some fresh air.

    The position of the accommodation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    most relaxing place ive ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the room was beautiful,the furniture so beautiful throughout the entire place,owners just so friendly,felt very comfortable staying there.selection of breakfasts amazing.every corner and corridor was spotless.i was very impressed and defnitely would return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We loved Ardmore Country House and will definitely stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved Ardmore Country House and will definitely stay again. Noreen and Pat were the most accommodating, welcoming and perfect hosts. The room was spacious yet homey and the bed was super comfy! The location was perfect for us, a short walk away from the quay and it’s restaurants and a drive into town. The breakfasts were delicious everyday. We can’t fault the place and had a fabulous stay! Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Very clean and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have being small bit harder but that's might just be me

    The women was more that nice very very friendly would go back again breakfast was beautiful and cooked fresh

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite sending email to say we would arrive late- host took payment before we arrived! I wanted to use a different card for payment. Not so welcoming either. Otherwise place fine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    A marvellous hotel and just what my daughter and I wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to fault.

    Everything was perfect. The breakfasts were particularly good . This is one of the best hotels that |I have stayed at for a very long time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed in room location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a downstairs room that overlooked the parking lot instead of an upstairs room with a view out to the water. The room was very nice, but the location left us feeling like outsiders. We wondered if we got the back room because we booked through Booking.com instead of going directly to the hotel.

    The older house was nice and the bed very comfortable but the location was out of the city. There was a small bar in the sitting room off the lobby where we had an after dinner drink and that was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    Would have been been better value at half the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At that price you do expect Fresh orange juice for breakfast not out of a carton. No soap holder in the shower. Windows did not all open. Bit like staying in a nursing home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Marvelous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lack of TV channels for the evenings when you were back early, having been out all day to see around the stunning sights all around the area, and walking to many of them. Couldn't even see the World Athletic Championships or the Women's Rugby World Cup(which was taking place in Ireland!). Still loved it! !

    Breakfasts were superb. Great choice, beautifully cooked and presented. All the staff were excellent but particularly the lovely family that own and run the business.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.0
    Such a disappointment .7
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast no English tv, blankets instead of duvet, cold, men have difficulty using toilet due to sloping roof, up in the attic & no stairs & I have a mobility problem, PRICE.

    Near the Sheebeen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful country house and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful house, lovely decor and spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfasts with plenty of choice. Comfortable bed . Would love to live there all year round !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    We stayed here as the first part of our Honeymoon before we...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was essentially tea&toast to our room, lil disappointing.

    We stayed here as the first part of our Honeymoon before we went abroad. Staff were very kind and helpful. Beautiful room&surrondings. Would stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Pricey for what you got
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a bit dated. Could not believe that blankets and sheets are still used instead of duvets. No breakfast buffet. A pot of coffee on the table would have been nicer than having it served by the cup.

    Very clean. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Lovely,comfortable, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    We had a very comfortable stay and Susan and Noreen were extremely friendly and helpful to us in making sure we had everything we needed. They booked taxis/ restaurants etc for us and chatted about our day with us. The atmosphere at Ardmore is a very relaxed one and it was lovely to see the 3 generations working together. Lovely,tasty breakfast too! We would definitely go back for another visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.0
    Good value, lovely room if you just want accommodation and intend to eat out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant no longer serves lunch and dinner - clearly has in earlier times. Feels a bit 'odd' to be in what is a country house hotel and not able to have dinner. Other food choices within easy walking distance were absolutely rammed when we visited.

    Fab breakfast - porridge, kippers as possible options - loved the country house feel; lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect for us at that time

    Absolutely lovely experience, beautiful house and very pleasant proprietor. Breakfast was great, table service and a wonderful sea view from the dining room. We'll be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not walking distance from town centre.

    Kind staff. The house in general is very well furnished. Breakfast in a nice room. Quiet and nice position, with view on the bay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor details really, the coffee, though excellent, was served from the one central pot - I would have preferred a separate pot on the table and not have to ask for more when I needed it.

    The shower was separate from the bath, a great bonus. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were especially nice and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay at Ardmore Country House
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Bathroom was dated but very clean - overhead dated shower too although shower caps provided; 2. Towels were old/grey looking but definitely clean; 3. For the price of the Guesthouse, it was a little far from Westport and having now priced other (more modern) hotels closer to town, I likely wouldn't stay here again unless prices were reduced. Ideal for a family stay, though.

    Breakfast was superb. Lovely staff - very pleasant and more than helpful giving us lots of great tips of things to see/do. Rooms were clean and spacious, however view wasn't the full seaside view I expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    A beautiful welcoming place to stay in this outstandingly beautiful part of the West
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave !!!

    Wonderful welcome by the three generations of the Hoban family. Immediately made to feel at home and directed to our splendid room on the second floor with a view of the Bay. Being recommended to dinner at the Shebeen,just five minutes walk along a footpath. The fantastic breakfasts, some of the best Judith and I have ever had. ( and as Tour Operators ourselves,we are highly critical !)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Bay views from room & Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had a boiler HUM!!! ALL DAY & NIGHT with loud & quiet spots around the room Had to sleep head at the foot end to find a quiet zone- but it worked ok

    Beautiful Bay views from room & Restaurant Quiet Country House so different to noisy crowded hotels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    A magical, charming "house" in beautiful Ireland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. This was one of the nicest travel experiences we have ever had. Our friends said it was the best hotel they have ever stayed in, and we agree.

    This is an exemplary family-run place, and all of the family members were fantastic: sweet, competent, kind, funny, and very accommodating. The king-size bed was very comfortable, the room spacious, a sizable tub and smaller shower, and the tasty breakfasts had many options in a dining area with a pretty view. These are very charming people who will do everything they can to take great care of you. The setting was beautiful and perfect--just outside the congestion of Westport in a quiet, serene area. The staff went out of their way to help us, booking restaurants, mapping out scenic drives, having laundry done, and in all ways helping us to have a memorable visit. There is even a private 'pub' room where Pat, the proprietor, charms you with many hilarious stories. We will return for the exceptional quality of service, high level of accommodations, and the family's warmth toward guests. Pat and Noreen's adorable granddaughter, Kate, even helps out, along with their charming daughter, Susan. This really felt like a "house", not a hotel, and we highly recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Just lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A none slip shower mat & a shower grip rail for Nervous folk like me.

    Excellent breakfast menu with a really lovely Philippine lady to serve a great start to the day. 😊 . Thank you a

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel in a beautiful location with exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we had a wonderful stay!

    Staff were amazing, so welcoming and hospitable. The room was beautiful, the hotel had wonderful views over the sea and the breakfast was divine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Lovely place, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely place, lovely staff. Very enjoyable stay. Hope to return again some time. Didn't get the impression they get a lot of African Americans there, but they were completely lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay by the Harbour in Westport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took us 30 minutes to walk into town and 20 minutes to walk back out. My friend and I are experienced walkers, so that is a conservative estimate. We just wanted to see the town, so took a walk early morning before breakfast. Happily, we were content to stay by the Harbour for our evening, but if someone wanted to go into town for dinner/drink, you would have to take a taxi. All in all a great experience

    The Bed was really comfy. We also loved the breakfast options, ruburb with ginger, poached pears, yum yum. Also wonderful locally sourced Smoked Salmon. We loved the option of being able to get a drink at bar, which was served with a wonderful smile and we were even offered nibbles, but we declined, as we had only finished a wonderful dinner in a nearby restaurant, Idle Wall, next to Westport House, which I would highly recommend. It is a family run business, and the staff are extremely welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Peace and tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rain lol can't fault this place

    Spacious rooms, really quiet and really nice staff,would certainly recommend this hotel to others for a nice relaxing time away and amazing breakfast included spoiled for choice and personal service by lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    An excellent location for seeing Westport, within easy walking distance of the Quay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was first class, the furniture is very elegant. The bottle of filtered cucumber flavoured water in our room was a nice touch, which was refilled on request. We were within walking distance of the quay which has a number of pubs and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly owner. Lovely room with a super view. Excellent breakfasts. Traditional furniture and carpets. Excellent shower and a bath. Excellent food in nearby inn for evening meals. Nearby path into Westport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Very welcoming and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and pleasant staff. Lovely room and very good breakfast with plenty choice. Location good, although it's not in the town centre but on the quay, which has a lovely village feel. Several restaurants & bars nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Pretty Westport Country House
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a room without sloped ceilings. Our on-suite was spacious and clean but it needed some updating. We arrived early in the afternoon and were told to come back at the check in time. Surprised us a bit. Other small places had been more welcoming and offered us a seat and a cup of tea. We stayed at several B&Bs on this trip and left on a first name basis. That wasn't the case here. It was all quite impersonal.

    The house and grounds are impressive. There is plenty of free parking. The Deluxe Double Room with a Sea View was on the 3rd floor (along with 3 other rooms). These rooms have sloped ceilings. Not ideal for tall people. I am not tall and I bumped my head several times. There is no lift, so the rooms on the top floor could be an issue for some. The house which was built around 40 years ago is beautifully decorated. The restaurant which had been reviewed well, is no longer serving dinner. It is about a 10 min walk to the harbour and about a 45 min walk to central Westport. We drove both nights because it was raining. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and service both mornings. Pat spent some time chatting with us on our second day and recommended the Museum of Country Life (about 30 km away). It was worth the trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piano music for breakfast was too serious and not suitable for setting the mood for a lovely morning room. A bit of quiet light music of another kind would be better

    Lovely quiet location. Great breakfasts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    Lacks athmosphere and honesty
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner could have been more friendly. I left a very good pair of ear rings in the room and a few hours after checking out I went back to try find them but she was told that someone had already checked onto the room and left and she could not check. I find this hard to believe as it was 3.30 pm and she had a very strict 4pm check in. Would not recommend this place to anyone, lacks atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    This was our biggest disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shelf in shower; no fridge. Noisy extractor in bathroom. Sheets and blankets (not duvets) and grey scratchy towels - really not what you'd expect these days.

    Nicely decorated interior but a bit 'dated'. Good view over the bay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Best breakfast in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are tall, try not to get a loft room. Very difficult for tall men in the bathroom.

    Best breakfast in Ireland! Pat the chef is a genius, we loved his blue cheese omelet. The view was lovely and it was very peaceful. Will visit again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Our room was very large and immaculate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is several kilometers out of the city center although it is walking distance to a new seaside development called The Quay which has a few restaurants and bars. We didn't expect that it would be as far from the city center as it was.

    Our room was very large and immaculate. The view of the sea was lovely. The bathroom was very large and had both a tub and separate shower. There was a restaurant as well as a small bar room, although there was little activity when we were there. The grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable stay but a little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like my attic room. I didn't like the lack of good light in the room. I didn't like that it was not a buffet breakfast. I felt it was a little too far away from town centre. I felt it was very over priced .

    I liked that the property was quiet. I liked the comfortable bed. I liked that my room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    The hotel is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is beautiful. It is more like a home than a hotel. Beautiful grounds. Elegant rooms, large bathroom with plenty of hot water. The breakfast menu offered a wide variety and was served in a cosy dining room with large picture window to the garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Perfect short weekend stay in Ardmore Country House at the Quay, Westport
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was perfect.

    Attention to detail. Been before and got the choice between 2 rooms! Love the location only a few minutes walk from the quay. Perfect on every way. Susan and get mum are wonderful hosts and there are information leaflets on local interests. Also a bar on the premises to relax in at the end of the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Our Westport Weekend at Ardmore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of fresh lilies as I arrived. I hate the smell.

    Breakfast was excellent. I wasn't feeling too well as I had a head cold and was given a special tea to help 'warm me up'. Lovely people....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unable to open the windows so had to make sure the central heating was turned off overnight.

    We had a superior room with a sea view: it was spacious, big comfortable bed, beautiful bed linen, table with 2 comfy chairs, lovely decor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    Old fashioned hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor, crockery etc old fashioned. Quite expensive for what we got.

    Location brilliant. Everywhere v clean. Recommended local restaurant The Towers v good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Customer experience was so good I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no critique on this

    The whole experience of our two night stay was excellent from initial welcome to high standard of accommodation excellent food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    go to WESTPORT!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast as superb but host was amazing-helpful, gracious charming and well perfect. Place to go and hide but be there for Achill and Conemare along with breathtaking Westport

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Loved our evening at The Ardmore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to town so needed a cab. But was nice to get away from town!

    Staff so friendly, house was lovely on top of a hill. Great room, huge bathroom!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Setting outside town with nice view from property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decor.Overpriced for what was provided. Reception staff could have been more positive!!

    Setting outside town with nice view from property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Great place with a view of the bay, easy walk to the Quay, not as close to the central town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    large, comfortable rooms, great mattresses. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    quiet and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quiet and cosy. good place for relaxing in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Room was large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bar that apparently was open but no one told us about it until we came back in. No view from the room.

    Room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: