Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pillo Hotel Ashbourne Leisure Club & Spa 4 stars

The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland

#2 of 6 hotels in Ashbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1405 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Hotel very comfortable just disappointed about taxi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Hotel was excellent but we were disappointed regarding a taxi booking that after waiting almost 40 minutes we were told it was not even on its way! It would appear that there was a message delivered that it was going to be 20 minutes late which we did not receive - they rang our room when we must have been on the way to reception - we advised reception that we were waiting on a taxi and still were not told that it was going to be late other than this we could not fault the hotel and would stay again - the hotel was recommended by ballymagarvey village where we were attending a wedding reception so a transfer to the village would I'm sure would work out for both parties

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Family hotel. Perfect short break for us and our little girl
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a good "spring clean" . Also water marks on ceiling and walls. Needs freshly painted. Apart from this was good.

    Breakfast each morning was delicious and had dinner in restaurant which was beautiful too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Close to Dublin Zoo and Tayto Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I would have expected Shower gel, shower cap in the bathroom and reception staff upon check out to be a little more assertive.

    Close to Dublin Zoo and Tayto Park. They have a kids club from 6.30 (not sure if this is weekends or seasonal only). We did not use but were informed of what was included if we didn’t wish to use the facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bar and restaurant very slow and inefficient. Waiting time excessive, members of the group waited 1.5 hours on a plate of chips despite having reminded staff including management several times. Bills were mixed up and clubbed together with other customers causing much confusion! Only one choice of vodka and no Malibu! Ran out of ice very quickly!

    Rooms spacious and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Over run by children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't advised of the event being held over the weekend with 600 children running amuck. It was so crowded with kids we couldn't even use the pool or spa. The staff were great. Very friendly & helpful. We were given a discount for our inconvenience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Won't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of bar/resturant staff didn't have a clue, 40mins waiting to order, easier get drinks yourself at bar, than ask waiting staff. Food was awful 2 out of 3 evenings,

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay, air conditioning was great as the temperature was quite high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were all very friendly, it was very family orrientated. The pool was great and the playroom . Breakfast and dinner in the hotel was lovely. Great for us going to Tayto Park as it was only 5 mins away . Good seating out the front to sit and enjoy the sun setting . Great stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    We had a lovel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leisure centre was filthy dirty, the showers looked like they have never been cleaned and also the pool deck was disgusting, algae everywhere not what I would expect in a 4 star hotel.

    The room was excellent, lovely and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.5
    Very comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The girl at check in told us about the times for breakfast and where to find it. She did not outline any of the other facilities available to us so we had to find our own way. The plug socket for the kettle is not mounted high enough on the wall so the plug which has a hard piece of plastic running down to the lead can't fit in the socket as there is a tiled area in the way. There is no socket near a mirror to plug the hairdryer into. The nearest one is the socket for the kettle but again the plug wouldn't fit.

    Nice spacious hotel, friendly staff especially in the bar and restaurant. The room was lovely and very comfortable. Plenty of room to move about. Hairdryer in room which was handy. Tea/Coffee making facilities. Vending machine on 3rd floor. We didn't use the leisure club or spa so I'm not sure what these are like. Buffet breakfast was well stocked with plenty to choose from. Small gluten free counter kept completely separate from the other food items to prevent cross-contamination which was brilliant. Gluten free section had it's own toaster which is very important. So well done for that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Lovely greeting at hotel from manager on way in through door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable we could feel the springs in the bed. Pillows were awful very flat. I explained to the receptionist on leaving she didn’t apologise or anything just said she would note it for maintenance?? I also explained to her that my little girl wanted to use the pool before leaving & she said she couldn’t as it was for residents only as I was going to check out she could not enter pool. I was totally shocked after spending 209 Euro for an uncomfortable nights sleep & I she wasn’t allowed for half an hour??Very annoyed I asked could I pay her in she said no.!!So I had one very upset girl on way home. I have been to this hotel for the last 5 summers & this is how to be treated??

    Lovely greeting at hotel from manager on way in through door. Receptionist was lovely in check in. Nice bar area. Hotel was very busy but not noisy at night time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t very happy with service I’m the bar at night for food. I was travelling with two kids and the service wasn’t great the first night decided after a long day in tayto we’d try it again the second night and it was very bad service, ignored us for a long time till I requested at the bar I wanted to make an order and then drinks were spilt by waiter which was just an accident but then he didn’t bring over replacement drinks. Never asked did we want dessert. Disappointed. Also the leisure centre I understand the restriction on children not allowed into pool until 10am however when I arrived at 3 minutes to ten we were told to wait until we were called when we were allowed in. Shortly after a lady with 4 kids told the same. Hardly call it a family friendly hotel. It was the manner in which we were told to wait I found most offensive.

    The hotel itself was very comfy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall it is a nice hotel..the bar staff very slow like having the chats
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact I was there since 12 o clock at a dancing feis and had two kids under 3 with me aswel fair enough I no check in is not till 4pm but people came in at 2 and got the same room as me family room..and i had to wait till 4

    The pool was good for my ten year old

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel for family's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great modern hotel great facilities and really child friendly. The staff were excellent and very professional the kids really enjoyed the the kids club and family entertainment afterwards. Good value for money and tayto park only 10 minutes away I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Will come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could do with a memory foam topper to give good comfort. Food is a little predicable, nothing special

    Facilities and staff are excellent. Hotel is quiet and well situated for visiting Dublin and North Dublin areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely time in your hotel,the staff were lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not find that the breakfast was value for money as we were only after some toast eggs and tea.We were not offered a cheaper breakfast and we had to pay 12.50 each

    We had a lovely time in your hotel,the staff were lovely and the hotel was very clean overall.We also uses the swimming pool which we found great as were the facilities and the staff were also lovely. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Best getaway ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing i could fault the staff were amazing as was the room we went swimming nicest pool weve ever been in we had dinner in the bar there was a lot of food anx wasnt expensive we will 100% be back soon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Big
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that i didn't get to stay for night as my child was jumping on bed fell and ended up in hospital with broken foot

    large spacious room for family of 4..great big windows for views staff in restaurant very quick

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning broken, moved to a new room, card would not open the door, member of staff let us into room&said someone would be on their way to fix it but no one came, next morning after breakfast which was excessively salty especially the rashers, we asked the clerk on reception to help us as we could not get into our room because the key card did not work & she was quite dismissive of us

    Nice location near to TAYTO Park

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    A very clean , modern hotel with great staff, lovely food and great location but too expensive room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive at 159 for room for one adult and two kids plus 12.50 each for breakfast also for a four star rating I feel complimentary water should be in the bedroom s and also body lotion

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Good clean hotel, good food, good staff, easy to get in and out of and to, ample parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strict enough policy on children in the bar after 9pm, which I do acknowledge is the law, but when the bar was quiet, and the child was sitting down watching utube on a table and not running around, whilst the parents had a chat was a bit uncomfortable, seeing as one child was actually approached directly by a member of staff, and not the parents ?

    Pool was warm to get into which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    A big inpersonal hotel but the staff are great and make your stay a good one
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Visitors need to be aware that this is a big family hotel and frequented by a lot of coach tours so can be quite busy & noisy at times However we found the area near the Business Centre to be a quiet oasis

    Friendly staff; good facilities; excellent service. We stayed several days and found it comfortable and convenient to Dublin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the room had been basking in the sun all day and the A\C was not working properly made it really uncomfortable. Room temp registered 30 degrees...

    clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Delightful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served at the hotel was not very nice. Was not cooked how I asked and certain foods tasted sour

    The staff were very friendly and good a their jobs the hotel was very clean, comfortable and relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Location is very convenient going to tayto park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing we didn't like much is the ambiance of the swimming pool looks like need to renovate and probably make it looks more lively and inviting looking.

    Location is very convenient going to tayto park.The family room that we got was great and have plenty of space.food menu is fantastic.we definitely coming back here again.thanks very much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Expensive
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    RE: Dining. We had to order takeout as restuarant closed abruptly while we stayed. We were at a dance comp and finished and no offer to accomodate us was offered.

    Food service finishes abrubtly. Miss it and there are no exceptions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Was a bit expensive for 1night for 1adult and 1 17 year old for room only
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it was €12.50 per adult for breakfast be it a continental or full breakfast is a bit steep considering it was self service and not table service. For lunch I sat for 20min and asked 2 members of staff could I order both said they would be back I only wanted a bowl of soup

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.5
    The kids enjoyed the pool
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't as nice as last year, the bed where very uncomfortable, the hole stay was over priced, double from last year, service was very slow

    The kids enjoyed the pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Simply superb
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything in this hotel. Nothing i didnt like

    I love this hotel. Was there 5 years ago and still to this day its my favourite hotel in ireland.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Nice room, bad customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Completed the breakfast room service form, handed on the door - nobody collected it, no breakfast. Night Staff seem more interested in avoiding customer, rather than help or serve with drinks or food, after the restaurant was closed. Night Staff over charged me for drinks, when I questioned it, the did correct it, but we were not the only guest with this problem, just that I challenged it. This raised a big concern. In short, it felt like we were bothering the staff..I wouldn't go back, no matter how good the room was.

    The room was big and clean and was really comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel rooms were very comfy and very clean, we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel rooms were very comfy and very clean, we had food in time bar and restaurant it was to die for, and the breakfast was well put out and it was delicious! The leisure centre is small but clean, Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water to wash in. You couldn’t brush your teeth in what then became available. It was brown.

    The location. Convenient to an event I was attending.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Room was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I paid for one night and not to have breakfast included is a rip off. I paid € 139 for a room and then €21 for a breakfast. My girlfriend and I will not be staying again and I've stayed before but I'll let people know of this. It's a disgrace.

    Room was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Great place but just needs to be a little more consistent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest there were a few times that we thought that it was close to being brilliant but then the hotel let itself down on simple stuff. For example the the lamb I got was cooked to perfection and presented brilliantly as was my partner's steak but the veg and chips really let it down. The breakfast and the lay out of the restaurant give it a holiday camp vibe that is really not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

    Nice friendly staff. Easy check in, nice spacious room, great air conditioning. Very easy to get to. very handy for Dublin and for historical Meath and Tayto Park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the windows were nailed closed so impossible to open them. Very hot in the room (given that one whole wall is all glass) and poorly ventilated. Beds very uncomfortable. This shd be a two star hotel.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient and efficient hotel where rooms are good and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dining area was very noisy with parties dominating the facilities making it difficult to have a quiet and peaceful meal. although the food and service were good.

    Very convenient and efficient hotel where rooms are good and everything works well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Ok for an overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find our booking at reception when we arrived after a long journey. Not the warmest of welcomes. No personal touches, it’s very much a business hotel. Several functions on the night we stayed and lots of young people around the bars and in the corridors at 2.30 am so it was noisy. Ok for an overnight stop but wouldn’t want to stay any longer. Breakfast expensive but lots of nice places to eat within five minute drive.

    Large room, comfy bed. Close proximity to the bus stop for a trip into Dublin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Great family hotel, close to Dublin airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor in the bar restaurant was disgusting. Food such as pasta, chips and sauce were scattered around throughout and it seemed as if this was normal. I understand it was a busy period but I feel that is no excuse. The glasses looked to be unwashed with stains easily visible. The bar restaurant let the hotel down. It is a simple fix and Im sure the great staff will address this.

    I enjoy staying at the Pilo, the staff are great and always accommodating. Great hotel for family visits and close to Dublin airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff were friendly and room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wind was whistling through the door for most of my stay, even though I didnt have any windows open. It was loud and rather annoying.

    Staff were friendly and room was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff who made us very welcome and helped out at every turn. Superb for Tayto Park visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soap in the showers for pool. Just an idea to offer soap.

    Really enjoy this hotel. It is well thought out and superb for families and business travellers as well. Good job and thank you for a great stay. Well done to all staff you were a saviour in many departments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts broken 5 flights of stairs with small child. Receptionist very unfriendly seemed depressed Pool staff refused me and child entry 5mins before residents time seemed very petit.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    A generally comfortable overnight stay away from the hubbub of the city.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy, inconsiderate, neighbouring guests arriving back in the night

    Good location. Seemingly good facilities (I was literally only there for a bed for the night)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Plenty of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs too be freshend up. Carpets ripped coming down the stairs. ( trip hazzard). Touch of paint here and there. No senior bar tender too keep an eye on the very young bar staff, who couldn't make an Irish coffee.

    Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't rush back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and the heat wouldn't work. Eventually I got a small electric heater put in my room. The food in the bar was just ok and I found the waiting staff not very friendly at all.

    The situ of the hotel although a bit out of Dublin it was easy to get out of the city and back in the next morning. Breakfast was much better and the waiting staff were very friendly. They all took time to make you feel welcome and chat to you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff extremely nice/helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had room only, felt Breakfast was very dear for Adult €12.50 and Child @ €9.00. We went to the apple green station just down the road for same, we spent €11.00 In Total for 2 adults and 1 child on a reasonable breakfast which we brought back to room with a carton of Milk to make Tea. Air Con didn't work in our room, as they have Full Floor to Ceiling Glass windows the room was very warm. But these are small things, again the friendliness there was excellent.

    Staff extremely nice/helpful and pleasant. The hotel was extremely clean, we were in room 307 and was very quiet even though there was a wedding etc.. on there. Ideally located for tayto Park and also for Newgrange. Really enjoyed our stay there. Helpful tip. If you are a family and want to stay in. Bring a HDM1 cable and you can connect your Laptop to telly to play DVD's. Also Internet very good also there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but overpriced rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable. Room was roasting and we couldn’t cool it down. Price of room was expensive but not surprising given there was a wedding on in the hotel and communions

    Room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient to get to .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel used by families using it as a base to go to activities in area its policy on limiting hours of pool use by children hinders the family activities late getting on road for activity as cant use pool before 10am and when you return in evening its closed to kids after 7 therefore advertising pool facility for families is pointless. Staff member did not take kindly to this being pointed out and just ststed it was policy end of story.

    Convenient to get to .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Exciting,excellent,fun so warm and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t think of anything

    Iv stayed there before so was happy to go back food was excellent staff really helpful and friendly and yes I’m definitely going back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice Hotel, Nice Location and Good Food
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wait at the Bar is too long during busy times of the year. Need more staff rostered on. Waiting 15mins to order a drink

    There was really nothing not to like

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel. Stayed over night for a family trip to Tayto Park. Lovely family room and very clean, gorgeous leisure centre. The food was fantastic and brilliant value for money. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall, a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was fine - though the roof could use a lick of paint! Would have preferred to book including breakfast, as with a family of 4 it costs nearly €50 which adds up over several days. Couple of staff members were new and seemed a little lost.

    Overall, a nice stay. Very handy for Tayto Park and places such as the Donkey Shed (farm + restaurant in Ashbourne). Some of the staff were very helpful. Impressive building. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    Large Room and Breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had springs sticking up and the second bed had no headboard, the air conditioning didn't work. I asked for an airy room due to asthma but it was so hot it was like a sauna in the room. We requested a fan and luckily they had one which helped the situation. but at €149 without breakfast not good enough.

    Large Room and Breakfast good. reception area nice, but only for families very noisy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Luxury feel, great staff, great atmosphere, will definitely be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 307, and at some point after 1am of the 30th (my birthday), there were two or more women screaming in the hall and knocking on my door, they were trying their card cursing all sorts, it is the only thing that actually affected my stay, but I understand the hotel aren't responsible for that behaviour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    It was a clean hotel with a nice room an lovely leisure centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What i didn't like was when we checked in we were waiting a while for to be checked in . And when we were going for food not enough floor staff as it was very busy but very hard to place order not enough staff bit of a let down.

    I like the pilo thought it was a lovely hotel great design an decor food is lovely an reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Good and nearly a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor in bathroom was not working but the main this is the mattress, very poor quality. Bedroom and bed size was great, shame about the mattress

    Mattress was very thin, you could feel the coil springs so we ended up sleeping on top of the duvet and the extra duvet they gave us and we just used a sheet as the duvet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    I'd love to win a night to stay with my kids in your hotel..it woulooks be fantastic
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 1 thing lovedette it all

    I loved every minute of my stay and cant wait to I get the chance to get back up to stay in was so mad I had to go home the next day and it's great for kids so hopefully get to take them up to

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    The staff give you a great welcome. Very helpful in dining room
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to and from car park when raining!!?

    Staff friendly. Very helpful getting to your room with luggage etc. We have a disability room which is very accessible, facilities good in room.We have stayed in the Pillo many times

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was like a sauna. Window would only open a couple inches. No air con that worked

    Air con was not working . Couldn't sleep with room heat. Staff were nice though and as helpful as they could be .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Great family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the receptionist to the cleaner, such friendly staff. A young waiter by the name of Kevin, is a credit to your business.. Couldn't do enough for you, so helpful, and full of energy. Bar food was fabulous. Breakfast was good. Beds were comfy, considering the mattress was the thinnest I have ever seen. Tayto park only a few mins drive from hotel, so very convenient..Kids loved the swimming pool here also. The kids playroom was a big hit with my 6 year old daughter...Definitely would return again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location when travelling to Tayto Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service/ staff were quite poor. Had to ask for simple things such as Vegetables with dinner, glasses for water, dessert menu which was extremely disappointing as it is not cheap, I did expect more.

    Great location when travelling to Tayto Park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great way to end our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spot, great view, interesting and different architecture. The feeling was definitely relaxing. Also had fitness center and spa which is a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed my stay. It exceeded my expectations,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a coffee machine for customers not requiring breakfast, It was not pertinent for me on this occasion,

    The staff were very friendly and polite, Excellent instant WiFi connectivity, Great feeling of space when you enter the hotel,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast we're cleaning up our table while we were still eating and tried to take our plates from us when there was still pleanty of food. Unfinished drinks were taken from our table twice. Given dirty glasses for our room. The fridge didn't work and neither did the air conditioning,although when we asked someone came up and fixed it and gave us a fan. But It was a nice stay overall we did enjoy it.

    It was very clean and comfortable. The food was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room only had a shower as it was a disable access room (which was not requested) power of shower was low and seemed to spray everywhere else but on you.... tv was way to far away from where the beds were the remote would not work from the bed.

    Lovely clean hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Grand for an event but wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very uncomfortable. So much so we still have back pain 2 days later. The air con in the room was so noisy we couldn't use it which didn't help the fact that the room was like an oven all night. The wind howling through the vents kept us awake for most of the night, and it wasn't a windy night.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    A nice hotel with clean room but shocking grumpy bar staff with extremely slow service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the bar was appalling and shockingly slow all evening and their was at least 5 people working behind the bar that were grumpy and seemed to be unhappy and asleep most of the time especially the manager whose attitude was horrific and lets this hotel down very badly as a number of customers were all complaining about the poor slow service all evening the bar staff certainly wouldn't encourage anyone to want to drink in the bar with their big grumpy heads on them that's for sure!

    Room was spacious warm clean and comfortable so no probs with it...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Really good, thoroughly enjoyable and will definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in should have and could have moved a lot faster; the girls seemed to have trouble with the system. Also, there was no cash machine near the premises, unless you had a car and cash-back was not permitted anywhere in the hotel, which I thought most unusual and restrictive for a first class hotel.

    We had the breakfast delivered to the room. Although a little cold, the staff member had explained that he was late as he had been waiting to get into the lift for 15 minutes as there was so much activity between cleaners and guests etc! He was a lovely lad and the food was delicious, if a bit cold, but nevertheless we enjoyed it and ate it all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    We had a great stay and would definitely recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paid for 3 rooms on arrival, my brother was charged again by mistake when he checked out. This was corrected immediately when we rang back but we were very surprised that this mistake could happen. Elderly mother had some trouble with turning the shower on, in the end after getting help from staff she decided to not have a shower until the rest of the family returned.

    Room size was very generous, beautiful views through the class windows in the lift area. Really liked the idea of a childrens play area on the first floor with place for parents to sit and have a drink/relax. Very responsive staff team to any issues raised and came immediately to sort it out. My elderly mother had breakfast in bed and was very pleased with the service and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Location easy to find, plenty of parking and nice bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took 15 mins because there was only 1 receptionist who was having issues with a booking.

    Location easy to find, plenty of parking and nice bar. Spacious clean room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed at 12:30midnight on a Saturday..Residents bar unavailable after that...You have to order drinks in your hotel room with extra 5euro service charge.

    Very comfortable bed...Very clean...Staff are nice..We've discussed a few issues to the hotel manager and he listened willingly...Overall a great stay..It would have been an excellent stay if residents bar was open till 2am on a weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Booked online and thought the price included breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked online and thought the price included breakfast, realised at check in breakfast wasn't included (my fault didn't pick up on this) if I had of realised I wouldnt of booked. To expensive, food was expensive as well, menu in restaurant was just ok and food just ok as well. Went down in the morning to pay for breakfast it was 52 Euro for family 2 adults 3 children, didnt bother so went into Ashbourne itself and got a breakfast for us all for 22Euro. Nice enough hotel and clean but due to the prices I wont be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    I didn’t find the front of house friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think there could be more for kids

    I didn’t find the front of house friendly... but the hotel and food was perfect I do think they should do more for kids at night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went there with two kids, the food was very poor ordered chicken stir fry there was a foul taste off the chicken it was in edible I complained about it to two of the waiting staff with zero satisfaction, I then spoke to the manager of the restaurant and got no satisfaction, to be honest he couldn't care less the meal cost over €100 and was no where near the expectations of a 4 star hotel it was complete muck! Very disappointed

    Kids disco was great very child friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    No problem with the hotel itself, but it was a bit isolated for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered room service, the food was good, but barely warm. Steak with mushrooms and onion...one small mushroom with 3 tiny threads of onion !!!! Disappointed.... It's a pity the hotel don't offer a shuttle bus to the races,especially on the day of the Grand National ....(not free but at a reasonable rate). The additional €42 for taxis to races really added to the cost of our stay. ( Fairy House isn't too far from the Pillo, and that was what originally drew us to your hotel.)

    We had a beautiful room (201). Cannot say enough about the room. Spacious,clean and quiet (considering all the children that were there for the bank holiday weekend)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are probably the worst ive ever slept in, springs almost protruding, the bed has to be the most important thing in a hotel deffo not her, absolutely terrible!!!

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    The room was very cosy and so clean, we had a beautiful meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cud have being a little better, for a four star hotel I wud expect a little more on the menu and no buffet.

    The room was very cosy and so clean, we had a beautiful meal. Breakfast cud do with a little more attention, otherwise everything was superb, really enjoyed our stay, wud go back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: