Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ashdown Park Hotel 4 stars

Coach Road, . Gorey, Ireland

#9 of 12 hotels in Gorey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 824 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom hallways were accessible to all? Bedroom carpets a little unloved!

    Food was gorgeous and lots of it. Staff everywhere so available whenever you needed them. Leisure centre very nice. Rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent, and the breakfast in bed was complimentary. Breakfast tag that you hang outside the door was basic, eg. "eggs" but when I wrote in "poached " for one of us and "scrambled" for the other, they arrived perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hotel. Thin walls. Dirty. Pubic hair on the sheet covers, stained carpet. Not worth the price for what you get. Disappointing really. Why can't rooms get cleaned properly?

    The food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    This was my third visit this year lovely friendly staff rooms lovely food great even the weather was great sitting out in the garden so lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ashtrays in the car park area. Butts everywhere. Signs on tyhe entry doors to say push/pull would help. Tables in the dining room could be turned over quicker at breakfast too.

    Twas grand. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was tasty. Seeded brown bread was fab. Our room keys stopped working having been replaced twice. They changed the entire door card unit as it was faulty.Got an early check in which was great as we were attending a wedding at 2.30 and check in was 4.00. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I want to mention about the reception first. We did checkout at 11.30 on Sunday but there was only one receptionist at there and she seemed busy and stressed. The time on Sunday is normally expected to be busy in a week. There could be one more person to deal with people for checkout. It was fine that the location of the room, ground floor, but we were a little bit uncomfortable because we could see tables and chairs outside just right beside the window of the room. The toilet should be better as it took so long to get the water filled up again after using it. And the handle of toilet needs to be fixed.

    The service was very good I think. All of the staff who we met were kind with nice smile. Especially the service was great at the bar! My husband went to the bar to get some sandwich for me. He came back with very happy mood because the staff was so friendly and helpful and got an amazing toast sandwich for him even though it was very very late night. Waiters and waitresses in the restaurant for breakfast were also great. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable pillows, other guests socks left on the floor , hairs in shower, noisy ground floor room right at entrance and car park. Quality of breakfast bad, all over cooked and Luke warm

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our rooms were directly opposite a completey glazed conference room on the third floor. Unislim were setting up from around 8an. For privacy curtains had to remain closed. Even on the top floor the late night sounds of people coming and going, chatting and smoking below kept me awake. And with hoovering before 8.30 on a Saturday, and the corridor acoustics amplifying every morning greeting and weight watchers catch up there was no lazy start option.

    As an inexpensive stop over on a long journey this hotel looked fine. The planting at the entrance is excellent! And the staircase looks lovely for photos

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very old fashioned and furniture out dated, the television would be more at home in a museum than a hotel room. The room was directly beside the beer garden so no chance of peace and quiet. On arrival we went to the bar for a drink, my gin came in a filthy glass which had three shades of lipstick on it, on returning it and requesting a fresh one and a cleaner glass, it was poured into another glass {no fresh gin}, which was in fairness slightly cleaner, it only had two shades of lipstick. We requested a third empty glass which I cleaned and transferred the gin to. The restaurant menu is very limited, the bar menu a little more varied but neither had vegan choices, though vegetarian options were available. Such a shame the experience didn't live up to expectations as it is a beautiful building and staff were lovely.

    Staff were friendly Location was great Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Came back to hotel at approx, 11:40 and could not get a drink and was told bar was closed, no residents bar on sunday night.

    Beds were so comfortable to sleep on, pillows great too, these are importment for good rest, room spotless clean, breakfast great,staff great too, very helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely hotel , the coffee dock in the lobby was great and very reasonably priced , staff welcome was great , rooms big and spacious .Family friendly hotel, great kids club during school breaks, lots to see and do in the area ,the town park has a great playground

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elderly parents having to get taxi to town as unable to walk even though not that far. So if your able it's only an 8 minute walk.

    Great hotel. Staff food and rooms excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints

    Staff very friendly hotel spotless I will most definitely stay again 2 days wasn't enough gorey only ten minutes walk great town for shopping

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no cocktail menu . under staffed in the bar waiting too long at the bar and could feel the preasure of the waiters

    great location and good value for money . gorgeous food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old tv's in room with terrible reception.....Noisy children running in the corridors at midnight Advert says dog friendly....it isn't!!!

    Good hotel in a good location Very friendly and helpful staff Food was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasnt that comfortable Rooms not very modern, a 4* hotel in this day and age should have a decent television there was no hot water in our shower but i informed the lady on reception

    Staff where very friendly in the hotel. The lady on reception was so lovely and a great person to have at the front desk! The hotel was lovely and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just right for the occasion.

    We celebrated our Golden Wedding there with our family and friends . It was such a lovely day. The food was excellent and all the Staff did us proud. We stayed in the Hotel that night, the room was really well presented with a very comfortable bed. We had room service that night which was also good and we had breakfast the next morning in the dinning room. The selection was terrific and again the Staff were pleasant and attentive. So glad we picked The Ashtown Park Hotel, it was a perfect choice as everyone had a great time there. Many thanks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids loved the pancake machine. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were very friendly, especially the manager Peter, I think that was his name? He was working on the 1st of April 2018. He was very helpful and pleasant. He went out of his way to make our stay even better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an upgrade. The carpet in lobby and bar was frayed in places.The wooden partitions in the bar were very dusty....cleanliness was an issue here..It must be one of the last hotels still using the big old ‘ box’ TV sets

    Location was very good..Staff helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath robes and no air conditioning

    Staff lovely and helpful Good range food at breakfast Swimming pool good unfortunately showers were not working that day but not a problem Could do with bath robes in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff, they were helpful in every way. Great breakfast and evening dinner food. Easy walking distance to town, Gorey, shopping and dining.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel were informed by Booking.com that I only requested one room, when in fact I booked two. Hotel apologized and upgraded one of the rooms.

    Comfort and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    A great Hotel with Excellent staff, who could not do enough. The lady on reception was a credit to the hotel. Serving staff both evening and breakfast went above and beyond. An excellent hotel, we will return to this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ample offstreet parking which felt secure. Well presented, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved the room with lots of space. Great big shower. Breakfast couldn't have been better. Loved the place. Will definitely go back. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very happy overall

    Spotless. Have stayed in lots of cheap and cheerful hotels for cheaper rates but this was quality hotel and fabulous. Breakfast and dinner delicious 😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the room wasn’t ready until 3pm we had planned on our baby having her nap in the room beforehand.

    Our room was really nice the bathroom had a bath that was a bonus. The staff were very helpful and very kind. Our breakfast the next morning was lovely the restaurant was lovely and calm and organised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs attitudes in the restaurant, I think something had happened or it was quite busy but I was met with smart remarks when asking for deserts/ waiting 20 mins for a bottle of wine / deserts also and then when asking for spoons for the desert that was also an issue, the next morning it was acknowledged but I wonder bother treating my mam and daughter to the hotel again wasn’t worth the stress.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing really as we were only staying for one night - double bed might benefit from a new mattress and/or mattress topper in the near future. Pillows a bit hard - was glad I brought my own.

    Breakfast fantastic range of freshly prepared foods. Coffee was fab. Hotel in general was surprisingly nice and the staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in the room was an antique our room was outside the front door i left the window opened a little and the smell of cigarette smoke was awful plus the noise of people talking at all hours of the night made for a bad nights sleep

    Location is great staff very accommodating and friendly especially the breakfast waitress she was fantastic i was traveling with my 90 yr old dad and she made our experience wonderful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got first night for €70 through Booking.com Had to pay €120 when we decided to stay extra night.

    Staff were very attentive and always willing to oblige

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard uncomfortable Pillows. Too warm and couldn't open the window for cooler air as the noises of the adjacent road vehicles and the after hours staying up kids outside. The bathroom ceiling is peeling off. Chef decline three proposed meals. and even refused to supply bit of Tabasco sauce.

    Near to the town and other amenities, Good hot hearty Breakfast, is brilliant with lots to chose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat of the restaurant / bar area far too hot. Radiator in bathroom scalding very unsafe for children.

    Lobby / reception area - leisure facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tv was a bit small and the old TV box set. One of the staff members in the breakfast room and lunch room was very rude!

    Bed was very comfy.The pool was a nice size.Enjoyed the steam room,sauna and jacuzzi.Good selection of food for breakfast. Most of the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a better bar food selection

    Beautiful breakfast selection. Staff very friendly and Hotel warm atmosphere. Love the coffee dock in reception area . Leisure facilities are really nice and pool was warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No craft beer . really disappointed...

    Room service, Fabulous. V good value .only had sandwich and tea, but wasn't ripped off. Just coffee shop price. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My credit card was debited by £200 on arrival although on leaving I paid by Irish debit card. Not keen at all in having a large amount debited from my account and then having to check up on it being refunded after I have settled my bill in euro

    Very high standards in all aspects

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked main door and directly into a busy function room. Curtains had to be closed at all times to maintain privacy.( this should have gone into dislikes)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't much buzz in the bar even though a wedding was going on in parallel. It would have been very quiet if wedding wasn't on

    Dinner in the restaurant was really excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar food wasn't very tasty. It was cold, tasteless,and served on a cold plate.

    The staff friendly. The bedroom was very comfortable, spacious and very clean with a sitting area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers in swimming pool area were far too hot, so hot that I couldn't shower the kids in them or they would have been scalded. Room had a lot of plaster falling off from scratches - room 205 For the price we paid I would have expected it to be sorted. We were located close to the entrance of hotel and amongst rooms shared by a wedding party. A row broke out in the middle of the night outside the window. So too noisy. I usually wouldnt complain but on this occasion it is warranted

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the hotel could be improved - carpet is awful and decor dark. The hotel is spacious but outlook to the back garden is very poor. The meal in the bar was dry and virtually inedible. The breakfast was quite good, fruit, breads etc. although the method of keeping food hot means it all becomes rather dry and tasteless. For the price the standard needs to improve.

    Staff were excellent. A very friendly welcome and same at departure. However in the bar when I was asked by the staff if I had enjoyed dinner I said that it had not been good and no further comment was made. What is the point of asking then?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to be honest, all good

    i meet my friend every wednesday and stay over, and the ashdown is the best all rounder so far. it ticks all the boxes,,,thanku

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of meals in bar

    Bed was very comfortable.Chandeliers were beautiful.Breakfast was very good, great selection.Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving

    very nice staircase as you walk into the lobby,,room was big and so comfortable,,breakfast was a lovely surprise in the dinning room and view onto the garden,,,,really had a chill stay, food was beautifull thanku

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    smell of buffet lunch in bar we ate in the evening. Staff. Remove ware and cutlery before guest has finished tables should be cleared only at the end of a meal except for hot food.

    Bedroom very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Duvet covers were worn and thin, the shower only had a rainfall showerhead which is a bit dated. The toilet paper was a poor cheap brand, very surprising for a 4 star hotel. No coffee in the room, I asked for some for the next morning and a very nice member of staff put some in for us. Breakfast was just ok, nothing special as it is kept hot in warming containers and bacon, etc is quite tough and dried out. I think this hotel is tired and is trying hard to look glamorous

    The room was big and comfortable and had a lovely view of the garden/patio areas. It was within walking distance of the town centre and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Beautiful big arrangements of flowers everywhere which we loved and the perfume was devine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection on bar food menu.expensive and lighting bad to see menu.had to go over near till to get proper light to read menu and this was at 7 45 in evening

    Staff very friendly and helful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming back to my room at 9. 30pm to find no housekeeping done no clean towels and bathroom not clean.

    Liked donning areas the bar nice and pleasant, loved the piped music

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The outside heaters in the Ivy Bar not working and haven't been for at least two years

    Everything was as expected t and helpfulhe staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area was freezing cold not very relaxing. Friday night entertainment a bit old fashioned otherwise enjoyed our stay.

    Very welcoming receptionist, nice rooms, nice food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was really good, the member of staff who greeted me was great. Above all, the breakfast was amazing, probably the best we had during our entire holiday. A luxurious feel to the hotel, it maintained a personal touch and the staff from reception to servers at breakfast were so friendly. Great experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, had a medical problem during the night with elderly relative, excellent help from staff! Got call next day from manager to see how patient was in the hospital.Lovely food at wedding reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all friendly and very good humoured! The swimming pool was spotlessly clean and the location couldn't have been better, right on the edge of town!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was very expensive to eat at evening when you ordered a burger you would expect chips but they where an extra 3.50

    I liked that the family room had plenty of space but the kids found the pilows hard the breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the Ivy restaurant was very slow on both nights (sun + mon)

    Staff were friendly and very helpful. Rooms were big and spacious. Food was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a little awkward when weddings were taking place as you have to walk through wedding party to get in and out of hotel

    The beds were extremely comfy. All staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better, it was perfect ,

    Had a lovely stay, couldn't ask for anything better 😃 will be going again next summer, counting the days

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the bathroom in the rooms could have the air-con fan system. There did appear to be a fan but it didn't appear to operate - there was no apparent air flow.

    The whole experience of the Ashdown was great. It is a lovely hotel and so friendly and welcoming. There was not the usual stuffiness of a hotel - it has a relaxed and calm atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4 star hotel . We were told there was a 45 minute wait for bar food . Completely understaffed and a lot of very unhappy people waiting in the bar to get food . We ended up heading into gorey as we weren't prepared to wait. Surely on a sat night in August the hotel should be ready for the numbers . I paid 244 for a double room for a special birthday night away and felt very let down . Definitely not 4 stars. Wouldn't recommend it .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad value for money, compare to all the other hotels we stayed in. View outside the bedroom window was a wall or to the left straight into another person's bedroom. It made the room very dark and not pleasant to stay in. The swimming area was shabby, with broken soap holders and no bags available for wet clothes(something you would expect in a 4 star hotel), the bar area was outdated and the televisions in the rooms were the really, old box ones, with huge backs on them and bad quality on video. The alarm went off in the middle of the day but no one came to explain why eventhough everyone evacuated their bedrooms and children were crying.

    Nothing much really, this was the 3rd hotel on our 4th day of a trip but it did not compare favourably to any of the others or any other 4 star hotel I have stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont take room 101 . Its window is opposite the front door and outside lights stay on all night. Also very noisy as it is close to the bar door and the noise carries. Think they save it for sales reps !

    Friendly staff and good food. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pan de chocolate a little stale, shower didn't work properly, and they had parabens in one of the toiletries which is not safe/

    Nice room, good selection of breakfast, comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it was disgraceful sheet were stained had to sleep on top of the duvet with robes as blankets breakfast was not nice and there was a smell of wee in the rooom we go every year it was very disappointing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in the bedroom was broken, room was dusty, walls were dirty and plaster was missing from the ceiling in the bathroom. Service in restaurant very slow. Communication with management was awful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't like the breakfast we thought it was a limited variety and what was left was quite stale. We ended up walking out and having breakfast elsewhere. Everything else about our stay was perfect, just the breakfast. Check in isn't till four (my room was not ready till just after 4, and check out is early. 220 euro for one night was a bit steep

    Lovely hotel, lovely staff, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff truly gorgeous,really helpful from reception to leisure centre to restaurant. They were so friendly and fab with 10 year old. Breakfast was amazing even the fussiest eaters would find a huge selection. Great to have a list of places to see and visit with map & directions included! Tea/coffee facilities in room loved by granny😁

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told we had to sit and wait outside the breakfast room until a table for 2 became available when there were lots of empty larger tables

    Very friendly staff, good food and the room was spotless.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful & spotlessly clean,I had a fabulous breakfast in bed. I was attending a wedding & it was fantastic from beginning to end. They could possibly do with more bar/restaurant staff but the hotel was top class & the staff were very happy helpful people, especially the receptionist on arrival & check out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at 12 midnight when people where leave woke my kids up I complained to no avail . We finally got to sleep 2hours later as the noise carried on for 35mins. They real did not care for ther customers. The rooms were old and outdated tired looking. No facilities for kids nothing to do for them at all there was an old small kids play ground must be 20 years old 1 slide. Breakfast on the menu says beans and potatoes but none to been seen had to ask twice for beans two staff. Would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family reminds me of cheep b&b 1 night stay kind of place there is much better to be had for less money.. Pitty everywhere else was booked.

    The cleaning staff were good The pool was nice that's it realy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner in the restaurant was one of the worst dinners me and my partners ever had , no taste and was disgusting full stop , staff and facilities were amazing but food let it down

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jacuzzi was a bit small. Towels and toiletries were mean (I can understand the desire to avoid waste, but there wasn't enough for myself and my sister).

    Luxurious breakfast room, staff very efficient and professional. We got a lovely spacious room. spotlessly clean and decor fresh and up to date. Pool was great, with welcoming staff. The lobby is classical and dramatic with the lush carpet and staircase. Reception and staff very warm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was attending a wedding. Nobody told us the location of the ceremony (had to follow the crowd). Nobody told us about the prosecco/tea and coffee reception and we therefore got nothing. Phone in room was broken and when I rang on my own personal phone, the lady told me to get on to house keeping. Next to no communication as far as I could see

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the rooms were advertised with air conditioning there was none available which made it very difficult to sleep. The staff at reception were very inattentive

    The room was lovely with a brilliant shower. The hotel itself and the grounds look great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nowhere did it specify that a 3yr old had to be accompanied by a parent to the kids club. my child is 4 next month and was not allowed to attend with his older sister without me staying.

    breakfasta was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem children not allowed in pool before 9am. On a weekend I found this bit strange especially if children are early risers !!

    Rooms very comfortable. Staff very friendly. Food good value

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: