Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ashley Hotel 3 stars

Coburg Street, Cork Cork, Ireland

#27 of 28 hotels in Cork

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1011 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Very hot
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot and very small. The car parking was very inconvenient as the hotel has very little parking available and the multi story close by is very expensive

    The staff were great and gave us a fan when requested.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It advertised free parking, only to get an email after booking that spaces were limited. Had to find another place to park and pay for it.

    Location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    would only go back if i got a better rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor

    The bed was very comfy, the staff were very pleasant. Hotel was very old fashioned thought it was a bit expensive at €135 without breakfast. €100 would have been quiet sufficient for the very small room we had with a terrible view. Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    grand place to stay if heading out in city or event in the marqee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small, very stuffy even though window was wide open, decor a little dated.

    taxi was no length to the marqee, off license was literally next door, cork city centre was only a stones throw away, the staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Location great . Hotel was a bad joke

    The room was a hot box with a tiny window not even suitable for a small toilet. The price was extremely overpriced for the standard of accommodation. Too some this place up. FAULTY TOWERS

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    Very expensive for an out dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its more like a b&b and having same key for every room is concerning.also for such an old hotel not renovated the price point wasnt fair

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Enjoyed Cork but hotel very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very poor. Bed was awful

    Room is substandard, small and noisy. Badly needs up grading but will struggle to meet new regulations. Wouldnt recommend this to anyone with a disability as it has very poor room. Poor value for the money we paid even for a Weekend. Would recommend a good B And B instead.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Fabulous location, friendly staff. If your looking just for somewhere to sleep it’s perfevt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park! Fits 7 cars squashed in!!!! We wer told pre arrival they had a car park for guest. Luckily we arrived early and got a very tight space! Other than that there was no parking left! Hotel rooms very very basic.

    Excellent location. Lots of great bars and restaurants nearby. Brilliant location !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Basic hotel with central location , no frills here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is tiny though and we had to park on the road and get pay parking. Staff were good but were unsure of basic facts with regards parking etc. Rooms are very basic with no toiletries provided, only tea/coffee ... Pillows were quite hard but mattress was good. Triple room was a decent size , on the cosy side. Bathroom was old fashioned and again very basic. Shower curtain and mats needed replacing as they were stained. Very little storage in rooms either, only one wardrobe. No lift in hotel , which was ok for us but will not suit everyone because we did have 3 flights of stairs to climb. Location was noisy until about 2am but we expected this as we stayed on a Friday night.

    Hotel has a good central location which was in easy distance to the quay and a good few cafés etc.. It was handy that you could buy water/snacks at the reception booth. Carpet in room was clean and soft. Television had a good range of channels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Done the job it needed. Place to sleep after a concert before I left the next morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room probably too small. Bathroom door kept banging off a table which couldn’t have been moved

    Very cosy hotel. Small rooms but comfortable place to put my head down.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told there would be a carpark, but when I arrived the car park was tiny and full. We had to put car in parking lot down the road which cost us 25euro!

    location. décor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The property was neat and the bedroom was standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure was very low also the parking space were too small I have to park my car on the road and my windscreen we broken before the Following day

    The property was neat and the bedroom was standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    3.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad smell from the pipes was so strong that had to leave all windows open all night. Rooms too small. The pictures on TripAdvisor are old and deceitful.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location, clean rooms. Good low budget hotel, if it weren’t for the high room rate!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking available on arrival. Breakfast was not included, the room rate was high so I would have expected it to be B&B

    great location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff where great very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed with my son and we had separate beds of course. When staying it was nearly 30 degrees. The window opened but no cool air came in. On the top floor and heat rises so was extremely stifling and uncomfortable due to no air conditioning. One pillow with a faux material that made you stick to it. Top peice of bedding had stains on it. The shower had the pressure of being spat on. No lift and being on top floor in that heat was a work out in itself and I'm a royal marine!!!. Check in time was 3 which is a little late and the bar that you can sit in to kill time is 1 expensive and 2 like a cafe from the 90's. Hotel needs heavily updated.

    Staff where great very helpful. Location was also brilliant you can go to sleep listening to Irish music from the pubs across the way.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived for breakfast we had to go and look for a waitress but when she arrived after about five minutes she was friendly and helpful.

    The staff were welcoming and friendly and my room was clean, simple and very comfortable with tv, tea/coffee making and internet included. Breakfast was good and ample. I'd definitely recommend it to a friend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing. Expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not very good. It sloped about 120 mm from one side to the other and the bed was on blocks to level it up. It was rather small and the bathroom was not good - also with a slope. Shower was poor. Window opening gave little ventilation.

    The location of the hotel was good and parking was available to the rear (if you arrived early enough!) Bathroom lighting was good for shaving!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Pubs across the road fab - Cork very lively and interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area , decor very old fashioned

    Very basic room , small and in need of updating. Staff nice and friendly , drinks in the bar expensive and taste old and musty. Walking distance to the centre but a regeneration area that looks scary at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Ashley Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy and cramped, room size not suitable for double and single bed in room, shower was a joke with a hose off the tap, no pressure, flowing hot and cold.

    Staff were nice and pleasant and that is about all I can say, I won't be returning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.8
    Absolutely nothing like the pictures on the website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Parking, or at least first come first served with only 6 spaces... cost me €18 to use the local multi-storey on top of the €115 room cost... damp smell in the room, room was dishevelled wallpaper coming off, carpet worn bathroom was old & not the cleanest toilet didn’t even have a lid, shower was crap. The whole floor in the room dipped to the left.. The bedroom had a small double bed that you could barely walk round. Never ever would I stay here again.. €115 for the night with no breakfast is extortion. Singly the worst hotel I’ve stayed in.

    The only good thing was where it’s located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. The hotel rooms are basic decor wise but spotless clean and comfortable. City center is literally a 5 min walk to the center. The beds are really comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    Go for other hotels in the area as they offer better value for money, very dated, room very damp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first room was a cupboard, we asked to get moved. The next room was no better and the smell of damp was very unpleasant. S

    only the location, there are better hotels in the are with better facilities for a similar price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    faulty towers but in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast looked terrible we didn't even eat. ,reception staff very rude the next day. trying to kick us out . it's like something out of faulty towers that place.

    the terraced smoking area at the back. and the pub across the road. location v good but not worth the 120 euro we were charged.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    excellent visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms were very clean but out dated,modernisation would'nt go a miss,milk was'nt supplied after 1st day,our friends room was not up to standard for its price per night in our opinion,knowhere really to hang clothes.

    perfect location for the city and its entertainment,staff were very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Once (three nights) was plenty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double and Single Bedded Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brkfst kinda chintzy, and not included in room cost. Overall facility was unusually dismal compared to all other lodgings in Ireland over six trips. Not trying very hard.

    Location. Only the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    Couldn't wait to get out of there.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors in my room were dirty. The room looked onto a dirty cluttered flat roof. The arrangements for getting into the place were byzantine. I didn't chance breakfast, They have a cheek to be charging the prices they do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room to be a bit bigger, its ok for one night or two but theres not much room to move around. Had to pay E10 for late check out, some hotels don't charge for this.

    Great location, very small room but we only stayed one night so it was perfect. clean room, friendly staff. would defn stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and good located in town!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rather small two Bedroom Nr 21 and the Noise from outside, with the Noise of a Generator or something else from seven to two o'clock in the Night....not possible to sleep! Nr 19, we had after was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely and great location for good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very clean and staff are very friendly, rooms are small and basic but clean, have booked to stay again for a future date, they offer to take your luggage on check out if you want to go around the city for a while, they have a small car park but we got a space, they take your key each time you go out so you don't have to mind it, they also have items for sale being reception which is handy if you have forgotten to pack something like toothpaste etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location easy walking distance to shops, cafes bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise noticeable at peak hour not a bother during the night.

    Great location easy walking distance to shops, cafes bars and bus/train station. Reception staff and manager very helpful. Room/hotel freshly painted. Bathroom a good size tho no toiletries. Opposite Sin e pub reknown for its nightly Irish music. Enjoyed our stay. Good basic hotel at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Basic Accommodation Great location Friendly Staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is quite old fashioned and bathroom facilities are dated but it isn't really a complaint it had all the essentials

    Great location, lovely friendly staff. Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Within walking distance, pleasant and helpful staff, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a maze to get to room, bathtub missing a plug, loud knocking from repairs going on downstairs.

    Within walking distance, pleasant and helpful staff, and beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    stay in cork
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom could have been a little nicer

    the lady that ran it was amazing. helpful and would brighten your day. always had a smile and a kind word.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay second stay here and will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not be better

    The bed was very comfortable the room was very clean and the service and shower was also very good and the staff was very helpful overall all that was needed for a great stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Fab location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is quite dated, the bathrooms really need updating.

    The location was great! Opposite the best pub in Cork - Sin e. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Always someone at hand to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    We went to cork to visit my son who is working down there, I will be verycareful booking next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked Nothing about our stay, and that is me being totally honest. There was a smell as we entered the lobby, the bar and bedroom. The bed was so uncomfortable. We then discovered they had a single base divan holding a double bed mattress, ever time I sat on the edge of the bed I was falling off. TV didn't work properly, called reception, girl came up and said it was a bad connection, paid 230 euros for a BED for 2 nights, a total waste of money. Room 12, check it out, it was the worst place I have every stayed in. When we left, and that was long before 12.00 I might add, they didn't even ask did we have a nice stay, needless to say I am not surprised, I'm sure and certain, I am not the only one who was disappointed. We didn't have breakfast as we thought it would be much better to go outside and have it. The whole place could do with a real make over, it is so dated in every way, shape and form.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    2.5
    Kip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a kip of a hotel and never staying there again!! Night porter should go for customer service classes.... locking the door at night wouldn’t open it and I had t start shut for him to open it it’s a kip of a hotel

    Nothing it’s a kip

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double and Single Bedded Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the decor the staff were rude cleaniness was terrible very poor all round, very surprised booking.com has it listed as an option

    Room was awful decor awful toilet n general feel trrrible altogether a horrible experience one which I will never repeat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Central location, friendly helpful staff, clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could do with a visit from Francis Brennan ie a bigtime makeover. It was like stepping back to the 70s and I dont mean retro fashion. Its a long time since I saw a yale lock on a hotel bedroom. Room was extremely basic- but it sufficed for overnighting

    Central location, friendly helpful staff, clean. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    The property was in the perfect location in the city and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no curtains in our room and there was a strange banging noise coming from the bathroom/pipes which started at 6am.

    The property was in the perfect location in the city and just a 10 minute walk from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed. The hotel is old and dated. Staff not friendly, rooms old and small. No disability access, car parking limited to 6 cars max. Had to find on street parking. I will never recommend this hotel and safe to say I will never return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid €250 for two adults and a child in a room the size of my own bathroom....three single beds cramped into a tiny room. It was a disgrace and the only reason i stayed once i saw the room was because it was the night of the Ed Sheeran concert and i knew i had no choice! Extortionate inflated price for a tiny room. Never again would i stay there!!!!!!

    The reception staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.5
    Much too expensive had to pay for breakfast on top of room cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it's a fire hazard & wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Scary did not see any fire exit plan. Car park very poor standard & small

    Yes food good bed good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stain on bed cover. Next door guests were very noisy. TV had 3 channels - crazy in today's world.

    Room too small and very noisy and dire value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.0
    Only thing good about this hotel is the location, the staff are friendly also
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was very outdated, bed was squeaky, curtains weren’t hanging properly. There was also a slope in the room. The floor was very uneven and quite dangerous for elderly people. Some of the tiles in the bathroom were uneven also. We also had to leave the key to the room at reception each time we left the building.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.2
    The location was good and staff were polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is really old fashioned and oddly matched. The room was not comfortable. The bathroom was huge but for no reason- waste of space. The shower was poor. There were no toiletries supplied.

    The location was good and staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit on the small side so didn't see the need for so much furniture

    Staff was so friendly.location was just brilliant. ..overall very happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    i liked nothing about this so called three star hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smell of must off the carpet in the lobby and stairs was very unpleasant on arrival,we stayed in room two which had a slope on the floor and you could feel some of the floorboards through the filthy stained carpet,

    i liked nothing about this so called three star hotel,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    If I could have gone some where else I would have but I arrived at 11pm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They state that there is paring availble, but in reality there is not. The docor is old fashioned and dated. The rooms are very small

    The location is central to the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.4
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location but very small Not happy with bedroom & no wardrobe only just hanging Had nightmare before Is small that we stay there for the night No room to walk round & not sleep well Uncomfortable I recommend will never go back there again Food wasnt great Waste of money

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Location and the 1970's !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restuarent doorway which bleeps everytime someone enters / leaves including staff - 1970's decor - wheres francis brennan when u need him ?

    Location and it was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.8
    Would never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - decor tacky, covers just draped over unmade beds, shower barely usable and showerhead kept falling on you, parking area ridiculously small and poorly laid out - scrapes must be frequent, Nazi- like signage everywhere with instructions on what not to do and 50 euro charge if you did it! Way overpriced for what you get.

    They moved us to a different room when asked because we could not sleep in the first one - street light right outside made the room like daylight at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.2
    Staff was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos shown are nothing like the room we were given. Carpet in room desperately needs to be replaced. Online it says they have parking and that is one of the reasons we chose this hotel (also the room photos) but there are only 4 or 5 tiny spots down an alley behind the hotel and we were not able to park there so had to pay for overnight parking.

    Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice and straightforward. The bathroom was strange but otherwise the room was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flush didn't work and the shower pressure was very weak. There was also a bunch of security which made the ambiance a little strange.

    The room and bathroom was very big, and it was a pretty good location, near everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    The room was nice and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it was nice otherwise, was disappointed that I wasn't allowed bring anyone else to my room without them being checked in. So guests or visitors were basically a no no which is normally not an issue with most hotels.

    The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Good in terms of location as it was fairly close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was great

    Room was bigger than expected. Hotel was a bit dated but quirky. The room was comfortable with a large bathroom. It was quiet. Breakfast was great. Nice bar, luggage storage and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Well located to wander round Cork.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was glad we only stayed one night, it's a very old building: no elevator, one outlet per room, no ventilation in the rooms or bathrooms, and everything in the room was just dingy and old. Also the room keys are actual keys attached to really bulky keychains, which I really did not enjoy carrying around with me all day.

    Friendly staff and good location as it's right across from Sin E Pub and also close to the river.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful and very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outstanding difficulties/problems.

    Premises are particularly quiet but excellent music venues literally across the street. Late night arrangements and room-key strategy conducive to everyone's satisfaction.no

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.4
    Avoid room 21 if you want to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in room 21 and there was a noise all night coming from an electrical machine or something like that and my friend and I couldn't sleep. I, literally, was awake for about 3 hours in the middle of the night because of the sound of it. It was kind of a buzzing sound that lasted for 10 seconds every 30 seconds, ALL NIGHT. I told a girl in reception the next morning on my check-out and she didn't care much. She said 'yes, yes, a noise from someone in another room' without even looking at me in the eye. I tried to explain but she didn't seem interested so I decided to send them an email on 21st February. I'm still waiting for a reply. They don't seem to care.

    Room and bathroom were very clean. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Hotel close to to city but uncomfortable due to coldness of room and cold water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature was poor for February the radiator for the bedroom was in the bathroom so unneeded to leave the bathroom open all the time to be warm and sink water was cold in the morning for shaving.

    The hotel is close to city centre and the staff are nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location but was disappointed with the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell from the bathroom on arrival. Didn’t like the room layout, step in the middle of the room, small window up high on the wall. Parking very limited and spaces very tight.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    The location was perfect right in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small not like in the pictures. You could hear the people that were staying above, beside, and below. The hotel seems a bit run down but was only staying for one night so not too bad. Car park was a joke! We arrived and were told it was full (with about 12 cars) and that we had to park on the street where we looked for parking for about 30 mins.

    The location was perfect right in the centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the center of Cork city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 11 the hotel is closed and as the staff keeps your key you have to knock on the door and wait until someone opens the main gate to you. Not the most convenient.

    Great location and spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for 2 people to stay but the doorman refused to let the other person come in with me even though i attempted to show the confirmation email stating 2 guests. Not a happy experience as I was even asked if I was going to leave aswel. Bad experience and would not like to stay again because of that issue

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Car park was the worst I’ve ever seen, it’s like claim city ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was the worst I’ve ever seen, it’s like claim city , atrocious ! Beds were very small - queen size not double, also had to drag suitcases up 3 floors as no lift - definitely not recommended for older folk .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    The location is just the best - just off St Patrick's...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They had literally left 4 tea bags and some milk. When I asked for some more (I never intended them to give me a whole packet!) the staff at reception were quite reluctant to provide me with some more. In the end they gave me 2 more and some more milk, but they didn't look very pleased!

    The location is just the best - just off St Patrick's bridge and 10 mins walking from the train station. The staff in the monrning were really kind - I had booked a taxi back to station and they called the taxi company again to make sure they were coming. Realy friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great price, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice but the shower was appaling it had a dribble of water from it. I would recommend a few bottles of water in the room and additional tea/milk. Parking spaces were tight but I was lucky to get one so that was good.

    The room rate is excellent. The directions are good on google maps. Late check out is always a bonus. Overall it is a super central location, cuts out the cost of taxis etc. It is in a very well lit up area and it is a busy area, not isolated. I would stay again. Thanks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    4.2
    Very poor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction ongoing and horrible smell of pain throughout the hotel. Construction work commenced at about 9am on Saturday morning. Drilling into walls into the hotel - noise was unbearable. Room was cold, radiator not on - bathroom freezing and only a bath available which took a while for the water to heat up.

    Leaving

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    Vicinity was all I liked
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small. Very poor bar service claims to have nightporter bar but ran out of bottles after one round of Budweiser.

    Vicinity was all I liked

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Clean, friendly, central but don't expect the Ritz!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in urgent need of an update. Our room was small, bare (no pictures); fluorescent lighting!. A bathroom with no heating (in November!). To boil the kettle it had to go on the floor. It's surprising to see so little of what you might expect in a basic hotel - lamps, good amount of electrical points. If you can manage your expectations, staying here won't ruin your stay in Cork but I have to say we were disappointed with how basic it was.

    Location was excellent. Staff were lovely - could not have been nicer. Room was clean. And all three of those points mattered to us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Basic hotel with pleasant staff, but questionable cleanliness in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understand that the hotel is on the older side so I wasn't surprised by the small bedroom and odd interior decorating. What did bother me though, was the cleanliness in the room, specifically the abundance of hairs on the bed, pillows, towels and in the bathtub. (I don't have dark hair, these were 100% present before I arrived).

    The staff were pleasant to deal with, no complaints there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, I can't wait to get back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One peticular staff member was very rude and had a real atttatude problem ..never the less we took it in our stride and tried not letting it disrupt our stay

    The hotel is situated in the perfect spot , Everywhere we wanted to go only took us minutes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Room was nice and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower is a bid small and hard to get the hot water going.

    Room was nice and confortable. Breakfast is good and the place is right in front of the amazing pub Sin É...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Good location, needs to be updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and hotel is very outdated. The rooms are locked with a key that you have to leave into reception when you leave so we didn't feel we could leave anything of any value while we were out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.6
    Staff could have been wayy more mannerly and the hotel needs an overall modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two members of staff were lovely! but one member of staff shocked me with his manner. When I went to come back in after my night out, (after ringing the bell for him to let me in) he just barked "What?". Shocked, I replied saying "I was told I needed to ring the bell to be let back in?" He again said "what?... right" and just opened the door and that was it. I felt like I had been banging on someone's apartment door with the way he spoke. Very surprising seeing as the other members of staff I dealt with were so lovely. Also because the hotel is quite old, the taps for the bath were connected to the shower hose. I normally have no problem figuring out the workings of a shower. However, I felt there should have been a sign to explain how to work it because I tried using the shower (spent 30 mins!!) but it was so rusted and old it wouldn't even turn for me to regulate it or turn it on. Which meant I could only have a bath. If it was the case where only the bath could be used, that should have been stated.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: