Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Athlone Springs Hotel 4 stars

Monksland, Athlone, Ireland

#21 of 24 hotels in Athlone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1104 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit inconvenient where the treatment rooms had no bathroom facilities .. Staff very nice but didn’t get full hour treatment but the massage was excellent .😃

    The cedar bar a lovely atmosphere , staff very pleasant and helpful ..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.9
    I found Staff exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I have said it was staff that made it possible

    As a wheelchair users only for staff and how much they went above and beyond the call of duty it would not have been possible for me to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    A truly 5 star hotel hidden beneath a 4 star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    I read quite a few reviews before making this booking. Some were not 100% positive. I don't understand this. While we are all different, all have our own subjective opinions it still doesn't explain the higher scores of other hotels in Athlone. I have stayed in probably hundreds of hotels all over the world, all over USA, SE Asia, Australia and Europe. Many have been extended stays as I have often had to stay for weeks because I am attending expos and conferences. Many of these have been 4 and 5 star. (I worked in the computer games industry for over 20 years) The Athlone Springs is up there in my top 10 hotels. It is everything you would want from a hotel. It was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and big, facilities first class. Big flatscreen TV with Netflix, YouTube and cable. The WiFi was excellent, all the details were given at reception. It has a first class restaurant with much use made of local produce. The choice was large while not being too big as so many hotels/restaurants tend to do. The staff were friendly and more importantly knew their jobs. I was given help without even asking. With easy access from the motorway and a ton of parking, the hotel is great. It's a pity Ireland is not run like this hotel lol. I cannot think of anything that could be done better. I guess some of the reviews I read are not greatly travelled. Many 4 and 5 star hotels I have stayed in would be lucky to get a 2 or 3 star from me. Overall if you are looking for a good hotel, where you can relax and really enjoy your stay, the Athlone Springs would be my first choice of hotels in the Midlands. Well done all who work there, keep it up! Shaun Wallace Suffolk UK

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    Caution
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos to follow. Beds very uncomfortable, TERRIBLE with badley stained mattresses. Sinks not draining, due to clogs. Toilet mechanisms hanging off the wall. Shower curtain rod very rusty. Shower head broken and water went everywhere even outside the shower. Our room was over the gym entrance so banging doors and noises from the gyn entrance very annoying. Hotel looked like it was top class at one point, but needs a LOT of maintenance. Bar floor was badly worn laminate. Good luck to the new owner addressing the numerous problems.

    Staff, very nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    5.8
    Staff were very nice and apologetic in the morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone walked into my room while I was sleeping, shower curtain was hanging off the wall. Mould on tiles. Staff very nice, but the hotel was little run down, at least the side of the hotel I stayed in

    Staff were very nice and apologetic in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.0
    Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom ceiling showing signs of mould and needs to be repainted. Shower tray needs to be upgraded. Water pouring out into floor. Issue there to be resolved.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are large. Beds were good size and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    Had a lovely stay, staff lovely, room very comfy food lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only issue the patio door was very dirty and there was a lot of cigarette butts thrown outside patio door 😀 lighting a little dark in bedroom when getting ready to go out!!!

    Had a lovely stay, staff lovely, room very comfy food lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous! Looking forward to the next.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the pool.😄

    It was a Birthday present for my daughters and friend. They had a fabulous time and enjoyed Spa treatment. Will definitely go again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    3.3
    Room too hot I was offered a fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot I was offered a fan. Rooms very poor decor wise. Dust on shelves. So called flat screen TV was virtually useless old with damaged screen and very small. Drains in leisure Centre steam room stank.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seating / lounge area is not very big so chilling after breakfast is not too comfortable if you need to check out of room by 12

    Everything. The staff were fantastic, I have stayed here few times because of family room and staff always great, very friendly & very helpful. Breakfast and bar food really good.. family room is away from main staircase/lift in very quiet corner of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar stopped serving food at 8.45pm despite all information saying 9pm. The girl at reception couldnt give us any information on where we could have got dinner in Athlone town centre. There was loads of hair all over the showers in the pool.

    Breakfast was nice, breakfast staff were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar serves food until 9pm which is great but nowhere for other guests to sit and have quiet drink. No couches in area outside bar just to sit relax. We had to stay in room on Saturday night as bar and all seating taken up with people eating. Need somewhere comfortable for other guests to sit and relax

    Clean comfortable room. Slept well. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a function on with a lot of rowdy and loud kids making a mess around the reception area, but the hotel can't be held responsible for that.

    Excellent staff and facilities. We were well taken care of.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above. And rip off taxi into town

    Room overlooked the back yard. Jacuzzi would need deep cleaning. Handle on sauna needed fixing. Floor in bar aswel as the tables needed updated. Staff would require more training.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    We have been touring Ireland and this was one of our cheaper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been touring Ireland and this was one of our cheaper hotels but it was one of the best we had stayed in. So it just shows you price doesn't always matter! We had a warm welcome and comfy beds and a Lovely dinner. We also had a few drinks at the Bar and we're very well attended too. :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice swimming pool and leisure center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the change in the road network around Athlone I had to get the motorway to get across the Shannon river to the Hotel.

    Nice swimming pool and leisure center Nice quiet location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Ossie
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On outskirts of town in an industrial estate. Quite a long walk to bedroom along corridor. Bedroom too warm.

    Staff very friendly. Food excellent. Room was great - large with very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel itself was lovely & staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window didn't open probably in one of the rooms; curtain was also ripped & there was only 1 cup in the room for tea when obviously 2 people staying in the room

    Hotel itself was lovely & staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Good Food, Helpful Staff and Spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault anything in this hotel, just wish the pool would have opened until 10pm. I was also looking forward to a nice massage, but the spa doesn't open on Mondays. Would also have liked a separate shower in the room other than one above the bath, or just a shower, I am in a wheelchair and couldn't get a shower.

    Check-in was a breeze, dinner & breakfast were tasty. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Kids loved the pool which was nice and clean. We had an extra bed in our room and it was still spacious, with a small balcony. Beds were comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time was far too early at 10am as check in is not until 5pm!! Shower is like a drip. Floors were uneven with screws coming up out of the ground

    Location is amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    I was sorry i went
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning in the room. Got no sleep at all as the room was so warm, The window only opened a few inches.The food was shocking. Waited what seemed like forever for it to arrive an then we had to send it back it was freezing cold and i mean like it came out of the fridge. Very dissapointing.

    The swimming pool was lovely .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    It's nice hotel, room was spacious and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not old but it's in need of reorganisation and a refurb in spots with some general repairs needed, it has been sold recently so will prob get what it needs in near future, bar needs full upgrade and food needs improvements

    It's nice hotel, room was spacious and staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay at Athlone Springs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was at 4pm. I thought this was very late .

    The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff and the food were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    nice quiet place overall, friendly staff, food great.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the split mattress which was insufficiently covered, if these type of beds are going to used then a sufficient mattress topper shouldn't be that expensive to use in comparison to the overall cost,

    the quietness of the room even though there was children on the same floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice Stop on the way to Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, during our stay the lift was not in service so, we had to carry our bags up two flights. Otherwise it was a good stay.

    The room was large and clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a soaking tub and shower. The staff was courteous and the breakfast was lovely with lots of choices. Sinead was so sweet and helpful. Lots of parking. We were not able to visit Athlone- we were staying as a stopping point on the way to Dublin from Galway-but was a good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely spacious room, nice atmosphere, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Bar staff very slow to clean off tables & serve people, had to approach bar for main course, again for dessert & following evening had to ask staff to clean table?

    Lovely spacious room, nice atmosphere, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    The pool was lovely my son really enjoyed it and the carvery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good apart from a spring popping through the bed that kept me awake most of the night and I am heavely pregnant so it was very uncomfortable

    The pool was lovely my son really enjoyed it and the carvery food was delicious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Nice breakaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was full of water on floors no steam room and rusty areas no bags in changing rooms not great for 4 star!

    One staff at reception was lovely and helpful when my husband went down as I was feeling unwell room clean big bathroom and great shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Good, quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Otherwise very good, but would have liked the option of three separate beds in a triple room.

    Good, quiet location. Bar food was good. Staff was nice to get an extra duvet, when requested. Excellent selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing for price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift in reception not working Location, soulless, room had huge windows over looking commercial premises, woken at 6.30 by noise although it became less noticeable and housing estate. Sort of area you find Travelodge! Communal changing room at pool, overrun with children of all ages on first afternoon, better next morning. No bottles of water in room which at £100 a night, without breakfast, I would have expected, one tissue in box! Small tv for sixe of room and unusual in modern hotel. Waited 45mins for food but order had been lost, another wait then but they were apologetic and did not charge for drinks.

    Brilliant shower Pool Large comfy room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    It was a lovely stay in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift wasn’t working .... she said it hadn’t been working all day we were on the second floor .... my partner has reduced mobility so wasn’t ideal but the reception staff told us the lift was working in the spa/leisure facilities... I didn’t expect the lift not to be working for 2 days no sign of anyone trying to fix it ....

    It was lovely only stayed one night but the staff from reception to restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    Long wait for service at the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait for service at the bar. Dirty tables / floors. Generally bad service. Bar guys were waking off leaving customers waiting for 10/15 mins. No one was rude or unfriendly just seemed to be short staff or lack of direction for the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took 25 minutes for our drink to arrive in the bar, a pint of beer and a glass of wine. I do understand there was an issue with staffing this particular night, but the bar staff seemed to have been moved to the main restaurant. On check in we were given keys to a room that was already occupied, issue was sorted quickly after this though. Value for money, €254 for 2 nights could have included a breakfast at that price in my opinion. Don't get me wrong, I will come back again, this is me nitpicking.

    Decor, atmosphere, staff. Staff were credit to the hotel. Great recommendations about food, gin... Location is excellent. Bathroom was lovely, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    It's a nice hotel overall with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower flooded when turned to full pressure. Beds were really hard and there was absolutely no air in the room. There was a plug in fan in the room but it made no difference. The windows can only be opened ajar too. Really need air conditioning. Wifi wouldn't connect to either phones. Also for a hotel of it's size, I was really surprised at how small the bar was. I think it should be extended into the restaurant, as that's quite big.

    Staff really nice and room spotless. Food lovely. Breakfast generous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Very child friendly any requests I had they fulfilled re my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is small with limited seating at peak times 7pm onwards especially for parties of 3 or more, very warm no air conditioning in the wee snug area of the bar. Slow service on the Thurs night but was a bit better in the Friday night! Lift out of order on sat morning, bit of a pain as we had to pull all bags down through the hotels conference rooms

    Very child friendly any requests I had they fulfilled re my 18 month old for milk or breakie etc, good size kids pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Quality and no issues with rooms or service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good and al the family were happy with the standard and services provided

    The hotel is a couple of miles from Athlone but the facilities in the hotel were excellent. Our family used the gym and leisure centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    If I were to book again I would ask specifically 're location of room and air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was far too warm in the room as the only air con was a fan. We were in room 203 which I realised was just above the kitchen I think. Therefore perhaps the intense heat may have been because just outside our window were the huge extractor fans. Also woken very early in the morning by deliveries perhaps. We didn't sleep well due to heat and noise. It was far cooler outside than in our room.

    Service was extremely good. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.0
    It's a nice venue, but a shame we had a lackluster experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature in the room was very hot, even though it was cool outside. Window only opens a few inches, and so the room would not cool down, and so was a very uncomfortable sleep. Also the wifi was very poor to non existent. We called the front desk, and they said they would send someone around to check, but we never saw anyone, nor did the situation change. We had 2 different computers, and so know it was the signal, not the computer. It would only stay connected for 1 to 3 minutes, then disconnect for the same amount of time, repeating the process the entire time we were there.

    Overall, a clean, and inviting atmosphere, and they let us check in a bit early. All the staff were very pleasant. Restaurant was nice and food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Whilst I fully enjoyed my time,I feel the over due investment is badly needed..some staff refresher
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar the restaraunt needs updating and the rooms.found some staff stand off and don't know their menu

    I liked it was away from the town but within easy access.The gym the pool the leisure staff were brilliant. The hotel will benifit from its new owner and his investent. .hopefully it will tighten up on staff knowledge of food and the food quality. 9 from every 10 staff were great..needs updating and some train in certain area's then it will be brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    All staff were extremely polite and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room meant the room was very hot at night in the present hot weather and the window would only open slightly though the hotel had provided a fan in the room.

    All staff were extremely polite and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    We had air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a big lump in it! Some of the plugs were not working other things too but too much of a list...for the price we paid it was not worth it

    We had air con..our friend that stayed in other rooms didnt and staff told them none of the hotel had air con but we did

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    an enjoyable family friendly hotel for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little unfair, but room a little small for 3. I have had worse tho, issue with hotels built around the boom. No air con in room a big issue! But reception said same for all rooms. Finally, TV didnt work properly, issue when u have kids

    The swimming pool was nice, changing had family room which is good with small ones. Breakfast was ok, but choices limited. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, just pity other guests don't have consideration for others staying in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was a Saturday night and the music was very loud keeping us awake until 1.30 then to be disturbed again by another guest wandering the corridors naked banging on a door at 2.15 for almost an hour and no reply ringing to reception to complain. We ended up calling the hotel from the mobile and got an answer and I assume the other guest was let into their room.

    The room was nice the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    No comfort so a disappointing stay for Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Con and a clean room and food serviced a bit later than 9 pm

    There was no air con in room and our Bathroom was dirty when we arrived so had to change rooms, very disappointed for a 4 Star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with painting and maintenance in the bedroom. Needs some tlc in the bedroom.. Handle in the bathroom door stuck on with silicone and came off.. Flushing mechanism on toilet came away from the wall.. TV too small..

    Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.. Bar and restaurant food was excellent.. Cleanliness very high... Leisure and pool facilities very well maintained

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    overrated, expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had no bath tub just one of those shower rooms. 2 single beds in the room even though I had booked a double bed. way too expensive for the quality.

    beds were comfy. staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff were lovely, very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con made our stay very uncomfortable, window barley opened and we had one desk fan, this was not adequate and I was glad we were only staying one night

    Staff were lovely, very pleasant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay as we wanted a quiet weekend. Staff were helpful and pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is very quiet around the hotel as it is away from Athlone.

    This is a nice enough hotel, fine if you are passing through or looking for a quiet weekend, It is a short distance outside Athlone. We took a taxi into Athlone had dinner and popped into some of the nice pubs for a drink. Bar at the hotel was very quiet while we were there. We had no problem getting a taxi which was not expensive. Breakfast was very nice with an adequate selection, we ordered omelettes from the kitchen, which were very nice. There are some shops, take away next door which was handy for late night nibbles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.3
    My friends and I won't be returning we went to relax not to sweat in a room and feel physically ill
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con, practically no window, it only opened 5cm.. staff told us we could have a fan.. Then we couldn't.. Then we could.. Then we couldn't..in 28° weather... awful.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    Beds comfortable and bar staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C very uncomfortable in the room. No curtain on one of the bedroom windows.Sink in bathroom blocked. Shower was tepid and would not let you adjust the temperature hot or cold.

    Beds comfortable and bar staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Had a lovely overnight stay in Athlone Springs would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent staff,very friendly and anything asked was dealt with straight away, could not fault this hotel for value for money , lovely food served by happy efficient staff , would stay here again ,thanks to all for making our overnight so enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was excellent, beautiful room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm even with fan on, shower was blocked up and flooded the bathroom after 5/10 mins, service in restaurant was poor, staff standing around or walking past us when we were clearly finished our course but we had 1 male waiter who was the only person who seemed to attend our table who was very polite

    Breakfast was excellent, beautiful room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    The night porter Gareth was fantastic he couldn't do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The night porter Gareth was fantastic he couldn't do enough for us when we arrived late at night with too small babies.. Staff all so friendly nothing is a problem. Nice pool too .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff were lovely, very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheer curtains were really dirty. When the sun shines in it shows the dirt clearly. It's a pity as the rest of the room was immaculate.

    Staff were lovely, very friendly. The room was nice and cool when i arrived especially as the weather outside was so hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cedar bar staff were very slow and very inattentive empty plates left on table while they took our desert order and only after I asked . The room was very dirty around the edge of the bed and the windows

    The pool was lovely and the afternoon tea was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in breakfast area were pleasant but took no initative to offer tea/ ask if you needed anything. Also TV in bedroom was tiny and difficult to watch

    Bed very comfortable, clean and modern. Friendly reception staff. Food was good standand

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.8
    It isn't worth it :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing about the hotel. I paid 268€ for 2 nights and inside is old, pieces of furniture are partially broken/extremely used. Plus has been marked in the category as Spa Hotel which is not true, they have next door a leisure center that cannot be classified as a SPA. That is a center for the community living nearby. Due to so it was not relaxing at all, the staff is not that nice I have to say, quite annoyed way of talking with customers. It is connected through the hotel but they do not give you any bathrobe even if you did make reservation with the 'SPA'. I booked a massage which of course was nice but was not enough, for sure not worth it 70€ for 40ish minutes!! The leisure center told me they had space at 10am and than I actually waited 20 minutes. Clearly the girl who massaged me couldn't wait to finish and rushed out after the very first part of the treatment. While paying I told here about the time and she became rude. I am always polite and there was no point for me to have an argument, I went there just to relax and to get a proper massage which I did not get it. The all leisure center is old, full of rust and black spots here and there in the Jacuzzi, in the shower and everywhere else.

    The hotel staff is amazing, very helpful and extremely kind. They helped me during all my stay with a big warm smile on their faces at any time. Same story for the bar staff very professional! Unfortunately the hotel is not as good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the Springs, from check in to check out. Loads of parking, great leisure facilities, food was lovely, room was great, all in all a great place to stay. The staff were so friendly and personal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Suited our price range
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our rooms was right over the Airconditioning fans and as it was very warm we had to keep the windows open therefore the noise was annoying. Also we heard every person passing our door as the doors weren’t sound proof.

    Price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely clean and friendly hotel with plenty of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs some repairs, in the room sink was cracked, all sockets not working. Swimming pool had quite a few broken tiles with alot of sitting water on changing room floor.

    Room was a good size. Comfortable bed. Great choice of food at breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Lovely place but staff rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Friday evening the TV would not work in my friends room we phoned reception and the guy came up.He was quite rude and told us that we must have used the kettle. We hadn't, as we hadnt been in the room until this time he went into the fuse box and turned the switch on. He was rude. On Saturday and Sunday morning when we went down for breakfast we were advised that breakfast wasn't included. I had the email from booking.com to confirm we had. This was acknowledged by the manager however it was made out to be that we hadn't paid this was then repeated on the Sunday. Why wasn't this resolved on the Saturday. We were totally embarrassed by the staff. On the Saturday morning the water was not warm we had to use the showers in the leisure facilities. This was throughout the whole facility it was very inconvenient as we had a child with aspergers syndrome with us and he has routine issues. We choose this hotel specifically for his needs as he prefers his own space. We could have stayed in a b&b closer to the place we where going however we choose the facilities at this hotel due to what we felt was a good place. No discount was offered for any inconvenience during our stay.

    The leisure facilities Breakfast was good in particular the wheaten bread

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    The staff and the hotel location.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location only thing good about this hotel. Where to start - broken bed, broken handle, no hot water- no communication to guests apart from when guests rang to enquire, told we could use showers in gym- when arrived at gym nobody there to great or advise. Definitely not value for money and when booking we went on the hotels rating, if this is the standards of which rating is assessed against then it casts doubt in whole rating procedure. Hard to justify the £ spent for service received, very very disappointed and as said casts doubt over ratings.

    The staff and the hotel location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Room was lovely & comfortable, nice bar with good live...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the leisure centre could have been a bit cleaner. Also at breakfast some of the staff were slow to clean up tables and not very attentive although others were lovely

    Room was lovely & comfortable, nice bar with good live music. The lady at reception was so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Didn't think the hotel warranted a four star, 3 star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't think the hotel warranted a four star, 3 star would be more appropriate. Bedrooms needed painting and curtains in bedroom and dining room were torn, other than that everything was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    A nice time. Overall not bad but could do with being updated in places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. Our room was unbearably hot. Tiny TV in the room. Uncomfortable bed.

    The pool and jacuzzi were very nice. Our room had the wrong beds but it was changed promptly once we informed reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, nice rooms with a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper air conditioning, small fan but in the heat we stayed in it was extremely stuffy and warm and we couldn’t do much to change that.

    Very friendly staff, nice rooms with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff are friendly and helpful and the food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly and helpful and the food was great. loved the swimming and relaxing in the jacuzzi and sauna. Breakfast served until 10:30 which the teenagers really appreciated 🙂

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    A girls night out
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one socket working in our room. Changing room in swimming pool no antislip mats. Pool is bit worn. Not a big problem that we parked in supermarket car park but could do with a signpost for hotel parking..

    Food at breakfast and bar food was lovely. All Staff were excellent- friendly & helpful, very welcoming. Rooms were a great size, loved the adjoining rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    We would stay again for the lovely welcome and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some areas of decor need a little sprucing up. Bed decor was plain and basic, although clean and comfortable.

    Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Very helpful. Swimming pool lovely and warm. Useful shops next to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    One - Night stopover en route Dublin - Clifden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel served its purpose - a stop-over between Dublin and Clifden. No cause to make any complaint.

    Check -in was very efficient. Handily placed for local shops. It was a one-night stop-over on an East-West trip to Connemara.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Did not provide the quality expected of a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and low quality. Hot food seemed like it was there a long time and not fresh. Window in room did not close. Some plug sockets did not work in the room. There was loose tiles in the bathroom.

    Bed was comfortable and the shower was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    The pool and the food in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in room needed painting the tv serious updating smallest tv ever.very old fashioned. And the breakfast guy had to come 3 times to the room where they kept forgetting parts of the breakfast order

    The pool and the food in the bar.and the reception girls and guy who served us in the bar was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.3
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was run down and room was filthy with curtains hanging off rail. The bath room was mouldy in the shower. The mattress has never been changed in 20 years. This hotel is not a four star more like a hostel.

    Nothing it was a disgrace !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned, there was food under the bed from prior guests. Bowls at the breakfast buffet were not clean. Children’s pool was cold despite being advised by reception it was 30C

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn't rush back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in dire need of refurbishment. Afternoon tea was expensive for what we got. Breakfast staff very unhelpful and unfriendly. Spa experience was lovely but overcharged and waiting a half hour or more. No tea/coffee offered. Little disappointing for €160!

    Booked in for a girlie night away with my Mam, sister and daughter. Check in staff were lovely as were waiters abd bar staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: