Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avondale Guesthouse 1 stars

41 Lower Gardiner Street, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#84 of 93 B&Bs and Inns in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1086 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    5.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    2.9
    It was worst experience had with booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property should not be on anyone’s site You had to pay on arrival, otherwise you wouldn’t stay No tea or coffee making facilities and no glasses either in room The rooms had sinks and showers. The showers had mould present, my sons was so bad they were unable to use it There was mould on net curtains Toilets were up 2 flights of stairs, didn’t feel safe to use during night 4floors in property but no lift, need to be fit and well or could be an issue The only people to visit this establishment is the environmental agency

    The breakfast was okay, choice of cereals restricted

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely basic: one bed, one single wardrobe without a door There was no tea or coffee facilities. The toilet stank all the time, the sink was cracked and the shower leaked. The window didn't close properly so felt a draught all the time. Had to pay as soon as we walked in the door without having seen the room, and 103€ a night was far too much even for Dublin.

    The waiting staff, and breakfast were good and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Otherwise I enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night staff was not helping at all. I asked for a way of getting a taxi since it was my first time in Ireland but he was rude. It was like i was disturbing him.

    Breakfast was delicious and the staff serving breakfast were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    expensive, bad hotel but nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the only good things here are location, breakfast and ok staff. very expensive because of the papal visit. tv did not work. no clean sheets 6 days. Not much cleaning in the room at all. very noise, my neighbors not very respectful. Tv did not work, they promised to fix it but did not. toilets in the hall, cabin for shower in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Never again. Which is a pity because the staff were so friendly and the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was poor because of damp. The room was cold but we were supplied a heater. It was difficult for our clothes to dry out after the rain because it was too cold in out room so our clothes felt yuck the next day. We were putting on damp jerseys. The bed was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. The TV didn't work. There was no wardrobe or shelving so we lived out of a suitcase for a week (with a young child). There wasn't even a chair. No light above the mirror (which was in a dark corner). Cracks in the walls. Bugs in the room (insects). Mold in the shower. Single glazing windows so the room was cold. Mold on the windows. Loose tiles in the toilet. Only 3 coat hangers. One of those was broken. In general, the place needs a massive makeover. The hallway smells of damp.

    The location was good and the breakfast staff were friendly. The Irish breakfast was nice but there wasn't a healthy option like fruit. Just corn flakes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.8
    Location very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy narrow room, towels stained, walls so thin you could hear loud snoring from neighboring room (as though it was in the room) kept us awake, sink in near toilet cracked- place should be shut down and refurbished

    Location very central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    The employees were all genuinely nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs. Stayed 2 nights and left with a ton of bites. The building is like an old tenement, patched up and really rough in places. Can't fault the people working there, who were all very nice.

    The employees were all genuinely nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.0
    Stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's a very run down guesthouse.in a bad need of a makeover.the wood on skirting boards is all rotten and cracked the ceilings are cracked and filthy as is the walls.the carpet looks like it hadn't been changed for a 100 years.the floor squeaks when you walk on it.the bed squeaks too.the t.v.in the room didn't work.no tea or coffee facilities in room.no bedside lockers.the window handles were broke.there is a disused toilet outside the room I opened the door and it smelled like death.my girlfriend noticed there was bloodstains on the bed linen next mornin.would not recommend this place to anybody.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    No complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would say it was past it's best but still great value for money

    Location was fantastic. Staff great and breakfast great. Don't be put off by negative comments about the area. This is bang in the city centre so you get a varied mix of people in the area. You will see some drunks etc but it is the same in any city centre. Mostly it is busy with tourists. Also it is so close to the centre we could see the spire from our window. Very handy for bus and train stations. €25 euro for a taxi to the airport - didn't book just turned up at the rank at the bus station at 5am which is a 5 minute walk (€20 normally but we were Sunday morning)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have a 4 month old baby and we were given a room on the top floor so needing to go up 3 flights of stairs ask to be moved but they were full but the staff member told us we would be moved the 2nd night. This didnt happen and another staff member was very rude when we asked about it. Only toilets were on first floor so had to come down 2 flights of stairs just to use toilet. The place was very run down and way too expensive for what it was.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.8
    Would not return, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is filthy, no kettle, awful mattress, ran water in sink smell from shower vile like sewerage, couldn't use shower, stairs full of hidden holes under threadbare carpet. Do not book here!!! Couldn't use shower

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    Good location, but lacks standards
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot understand how they can run as a Guesthouse, with such poor levels of cleanliness; the carpets are torn, worn and very dirty, no table or locker to put anything on; no lamp; no headboard in 109. The standards are very low, The receptionist was more interested in getting back to his film or whatever he was watching on the computer than dealing with his customers.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door wouldn't close properly. Shower was very dark inside after you closed the door needs a light. The room needs more than one plug!

    Beds were comfy and clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot, there was no fan had to keep open widows for fresh air. It was really noisy! Could not sleep at all! I asked the receiption for hot water at about 11pm for my child milk. He said there is no hot water! Then I told him get some water from the kitchen and he said kitchen is closed! After requesting lots he just gave me some hot water!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff and location were great, yes the property was...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and location were great, yes the property was basic, but it was all you need for a city break. I mean, how much time do you spend in the room anyway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent 10min walk into Temple Bar area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nasty smell coming from shower area which we asked to be looked at but didn’t change - could do with redecorate make over but overall clean.

    Location was excellent 10min walk into Temple Bar area and main town 15min walk to Croke Park - airport bus link right outside, breakfast also very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    2.9
    We would like to see this place shut down and go out of business
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very ignorant not nice at all, the rooms very small very dirty not suitable for children, worse place we have stayed, would not recommend this to anybody

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    2.9
    I would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was not good

    Not very nice very old dirty and dated stains on beds very loud traffic on main road breakfast not nice all food tasted like rubber glad I was only there for 1 night only had to leave room and go downstairs 1 floor to use the toilets in my nightwear

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    Never again u asked for a refund for tonite but it was up to booking they said
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way to small Nd warm the noise was unbearable then we couldn’t close the windows cause it was to small there was bugs/lice on the mattress multiple Urine stains on mattress the shower smelled of urine I was in room 117

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    A shower, sink, and TV was located in the room.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of traffic and outside pedestrian noise. Window was broken, did not fully close.

    A shower, sink, and TV was located in the room. Morning breakfast was good and hot. Close to city center of O'Connell Street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice staff couldn't get tv working that was fixed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a modernisation very dated but clean bedding and bathrooms clean no complaints just needs luck if paint

    Nice staff couldn't get tv working that was fixed straight away dodgy plug was fixed it was close to amenities all in all bot a bad place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location, lovely staff. But wudnt recommend this guest house to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small, very very basic, carpet was thread bare, well paper hanging off the walls, sink had a crack in and was hanging of the wall. And a terrible smell of cooking.

    Staff lovely. Location great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is shabby and needs a paint job and new rugs, though the building is kept very clean. What bothered me most was the lack of towel rack or sink shelf in the bathroom, and the fact that the lock on my bedroom door was quite flimsy. There are some easy things they could do to make the place that much more comfortable.

    The location was great. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The cooked breakfast was delicious. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Poor -wouldn’t recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, hairs and stains on ‘clean’ bedsheets, no veggie alternatives at breakfast, paper thin walls, no basics provided in room ie two small glasses, room water tasted mouldy

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.3
    AVOID AVONDALE GUESTHOUSE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emailed the "Guesthouse" and asked if I could check out between 1-2PM as I knew it'd be about 4AM by the time I'd arrive back to the hostel as I would be out late. Received a confirmation email saying they would let me check out anytime between 1-2PM instead of the usual 11AM. On my last morning there, while I was asleep in bed a woman entered my room and woke me to tell me to leave, I told her I had until 1PM to check out so she left. After this the male who ran the front desk comes knocking on the door asking me to leave also. Staying everyone has to be out at 11. I put my clothes on, went out to the front desk and showed the man the email clearly stating I could check out at 1-2PM as he blankly looked at me and with broke English just kept repeating the words "11 is checkout" while I was packing my things the lights in my room began to flash on and off and power to the room switched too. As I exited the building disgraced with the staff in the Guesthouse I could see the same man who ran the front desk messing with the fuse box in the hallway equally as baffled as he was by the idea of checking out anytime other than 11. No communication between clueless staff it would seem. Also, there was a sopping wet roll of toilet paper above my wardrobe for some reason and the doorbell to the front door is so ridiculously loud it kept me awake most of the first night I stayed there. The place is a shambles.

    Literally nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was handy to a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet in room no facilities for tea coffee tv that didn’t work properly a lot of noise from neighboring appartments to much light in room from glass pannel above door

    Location was handy to a lot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room didn't have a full bathroom. Just a shower and a sink so if that would bother you maybe look some more. For my buddy and I, it was not a problem. The shared bathrooms were very clean and each water closet had a private space with a lockable door. Wasn't an issue at all. Just a little inconvenient if you woke up in the middle of the night.

    The staff was helpful and friendly. Even let us store our bags before the official check in time and after we checked out for a few hours! The rooms are small and a little tight (fairly typical though) but worked great for what we needed. Full English breakfast each morning gave a great start to exploring Dublin and Ireland each day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    Expensive, uncomfortable and unsatisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of this room (twin), I found the beds to be uncomfortable, the tv didn’t work, there were no drink making facilities, there were suspicious marks on the radiator, our room wasn’t ready when we were told it would be. The guest house is incredibly rundown.

    The only good points were the WiFi and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Basic, central accommodation with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a pretty busy area and the noise from passing the traffic could be heard all night. Also not ideal if you have a pushchair as several steps to get up to enter the property.

    Accommodation is basic, needs updating but comfortable and clean. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    The building is in a bit of disrepair and the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is in a bit of disrepair and the central location didn't make up for the awkward room layout. The shower was not private and the shared bathrooms were only on one floor, which happened to be two floors below my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Good holiday, disappointing hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or even a cup for water in room to have a drink. Shower was terrible. Our room was directly opposite 24hr reception so very noisy . Very noisy next to the road. Won’t be booking again

    Great location for town centre. Friendly staff, room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff was great, friendly, kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room quite small for a double room, very tiny bathroom (I'm 184 cm tall and i could not fit inside seated) with just the wc, opposite to it the shower also very small and has been made inside the room, but fortunately was closed. Breakfast was included but no self service so i couldn't choose what I wanted ( continental breakfast and cereals that's all) and just coffee milk and one fruit juice to choose for drinking. Price is not worth the whole situation, for me a little bit too high.

    The staff was great, friendly, kind and helpful. Reception 24h. Room very clean. Great central position near public trasports.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Not worth for the price u pay.. not comfortable..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last minute booking.. (other hotels most booked) got one of the smallest rooms for €85 with shower inside. Off heating after 1am. Arrived 2am 1st day entire room was cold. Asked to on heating but said others may complain too warm.Next day person gave me a portable heater..Bed ok. Breakfast avarage.

    Place nearer to many attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Location was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet on the 2nd floor while room is on the 4th floor and the WiFi did not work in Room 130. I had to ask everyday to get hand towels. They only provided 1 bath towel each day.

    Location was decent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Delicious irish breakfast and scrambled eggs on request :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is in need of rehabilitation. Noisy on the basis of thin windows.

    Delicious irish breakfast and scrambled eggs on request :-) Best city location, near pubs and pedestrian zone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Very central, excellent location, lots to see and do within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was old, definite wear on the windows and walls. Room tended to be a little warm, had to leave the window open which let in the street noise. Extremely low water pressure in the shower. Had a local water heater installed on the shower wall that everything ran through.

    Very central, excellent location, lots to see and do within easy walking distance. Right down the street from the Spire and GPO. Shared bathrooms were clean. What you lose in creature comforts you make up in location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    With a better room might consider staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 107 which was nearreception and extremely noisy. I didn't sleep much 😕 the room was also too hot and we couldnt open the Windows as that made the room even noisier

    We thought the facilities were ok as it was a reasonable price for dublin and included breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    2.9
    the women that served breakfast were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was atrocious, it felt like any step may put you through the floor, the and the wifi almost never worked.

    the women that served breakfast were very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Room was small, but reasonably acceptable for short stay. I will not return however.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shower and bathroom were dirty, the window would not stay open to allow ventilation, so I propped it open with a roll of tissue. Operation of shower confusing. No soap or extra floor towel available. Felt unsanitary. The room did not provide any more than one bath towel. When I arrived, looking out into the courtyard, there was trash everywhere. Thank you for cleaning it up. TV stopped working in the evening. The stairs were so narrow, it was difficult to use. Strenuous! Although I had three days, housekeeping only came on the third day, I checked out the next morning.

    The breakfast was excellent, staff gracious, bed comfortable, I felt secure, room was quiet. The gentleman during the day, as manager, was very personable and kind. The best thing about the hotel! A real asset!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Quite cheap for the location, good breakfast, nice staff, not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shared toilets often lacked toilet paper. One of our windows could not close properly as it was broken. The shower was leaking. I was thankful there were clean bedsheets on the bed cause underneath them the beds weren't very clean. The closet did not really have door. The lock at the door was in a really bad condition (it really did not lock), I suppose if you pushed a bit harder you could just open the door.

    Great location. The beds vere comfortable. We did not expect towels, because the booking did not say they will be provided, but they were. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help. They gave our son hot chocolate for breakfast. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    2.5
    Avoid at all cost an absolute dump as you can see form the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid at all cost an absolute dump as you can see form the pictures below not fit for my dog let alone my disabled mother who this was booked for a discussing place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.2
    Although you expect to get what you pay for, cleanliness should always be a given. Here. it isn't!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If it wasn't for the fact that the bed linen was immaculately clean (obviously laundered by a professional company), I wouldn't have entertained the idea of staying here, even though I was arriving in Dublin at 1.30am. The accommodation itself is not at all clean.

    The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.2
    A choice i regret...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i am not a negative person and i booked this as a surprise for my partner and was so upset for the reason listed below: I do not recommend this place for anybody. i didn't expect this. Me and my partner had read some mixed reviews as you'll see and decided to chance it. Big MISTAKE. The staff lacked friendliness and didn't make you feel welcome ( i dont know whether this was due to their lack of english) and let you get on it on your own. They put us in the downstairs kitchen for half an hour until they could enter the room as the door had broken. This was a bad first impression. They moved us to an upstairs room which upon entrance the room was clearly in need of a clean and re-decorating. It was old and lacked effort. - The Hotel (or whatever we should call it) put the radiators on in the room well over the recommended health and safety temperature for a room. Me and my partner were boiling day and all night with struggling to sleep. - The Smell in the whole room and hotel was bad. it was old and smelt rotten at times. we kept getting the same smell linger which didn't make us feel comfortable. - At night, the neighbors and other people weren't quiet and would bang and make loud noises which felt close to our door which made you feel unsafe and scared at times. - The windows did not shut properly in our room which meant we kept them slightly open ( due to the heat as well) the traffic and noise coming from outside was SO BAD. i couldn't even describe it. it was like being out on the actual street at times. for example, over 6 police cars and ambulances passed and woke us up on different occasions. - Throughout the day police would come into the hotel and need to speak to the staff. This was not a comfortable situation to see as it only makes you worry about what has happened and makes you question further the safety of this place.

    - Literally, the only thing i could possibly say the breakfast which was a MINI version of the Irish breakfast. - The location was FANTASTIC as it was in the center for everything including all tourist attractions, however, if i had known what i had booked myself into, i would of chosen to walk rather than book here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Do Dublin with Avondale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is clean and maintained but it smells. You need to turn on the exhaust fan continuously to get rid of the smell. No toiletries provided.

    Budget Saver for couples in a double bedroom with private bathroom. Near Proximity and sits in the heart of the city. Staffs are great and very accommodating and smiles to everyone. Lady in the reception is very lovely and hospitable to approach with. Secure and safe since front door is always locked and accessible only from the reception desk. Generous with bath towels 😀 and they keep giving fresh ones everyday within your stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i had to walk 60 stairs carry my case with bad knee, no kettle, down 2 flights steps to toliet. room small for 2 people ,asked for hot water not understanding me got mug warm water. lock on door broke not get into room . breakfast cooked hours ago.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    The room was really tiny with a very small shower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really tiny with a very small shower and without a toilet. According to the online description of the hostel we expected a room with a bathroom, not only a shower without toilet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.0
    Great location but too noisy. For the cost of the property, it could also use a freshening up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was located on the ground floor - very near the reception, front door and main staircase. It was always loud. The doors and walls aren't sound insulated very well and you can hear conversations and loud steps all the time. There aren't any signs around reception that ask guests to mind their voices or steps when entering and leaving the property so you'll hear so much racket throughout the day and night. The receptionist at times would also have arguments on the phone and would speak super loudly. It's very disruptive. Neighbouring rooms would always slam their doors - there's just no direction to other guests to be mindful of their actions in the property. The shared toilets were generally clean but were not insulated and very cold during the winter. The toilet paper was sometimes damp and that is not very good. The curtain was dusty and did not look like it had been cleaned in a very long time. There was an old smell to the room and was not fresh.

    The location of this property is excellent. Walking distance to the main avenues that have loads of buses and restaurants. The property is on the route of one of the airport buses so going to and from the airport is very easy. Breakfast was generous and the staff in the breakfast area are very friendly. Property provided a lot of takeaway crackers, biscuits and cheese to snack on later in your day. The shower was utilitarian and sparse but it did its job. Glad to have a sink my room. Heating was quite powerful - which is fine in the winter but I think would be a problem in the summer - not sure how temperature is managed or regulated. Bed sheets looked clean overall but the carpet and curtains could use a refresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.8
    find some where better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was awful omg!!!!! the breakfast no options only eggs what if you don't eat pork ??I've stayed in better hostel's

    Nothing not worth the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    3.3
    Staffs are good.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating when we arrived at room132,Checked in at around 18:30,patiently waited to heat the room but remained cold,so rang reception, the staff said will be on at 8pm but still no heat , rang again at 9pm then the staff came ,fixed it,eventually we got the heating Have to waitThe room is dim,no exhaust fan in the toilet,was disconnected,heater was full of dust ,no kettle nor any glass to use for brushing teeth. My bank account was deducted another 0.02 for what reason? aside from amount paid .

    Staffs are good. .Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.8
    Very poor property......but a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is very dated, so many issues to mention! Had a hole in the bathroom floor, exposed electrical socket, lock wasn't attached to the door and didn't sleep well due to the poor double glazing. Stay well away!!

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    The only good things you can say about this property was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a private room with an ensuite, the room was at the top of a rickety old unsafe looking staircase, the bathroom was so tiny there wasn’t enough room for more than one person, and it reaked of dampness and mold. When we first tried turning the shower on a tiny bit of water dribbled out with was followed by a whole lot green algae. Would not stay here again.

    The only good things you can say about this property was the great location. And the cooked breakfast wasn’t bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.3
    Never, ever go here. A warm and safe hostel would be a far nicer experience in Dublin and cost less
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shocking shocking shocking. Worn down hovel would best describe it. Rude front of house staff on check in. Bedroom on 4th floor only to find that the window couldn't close (it was snowing) and that the heating turned off before bed. Lay shivering on a cheap mattress under a thin duvet in full clothes all night. Nasty shock to find no toilet in room. Only two cubicles for whole hotel located three floors below. Felt very uncomfortable having to go down that far on my own at night. Checked out after one night and booked into a real hotel.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    3.8
    Cheap but I don´t recommend it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Found a little spider on my bed. The bathroom is, literally, all over the place: enclosed, on one of the corners is the WC, in another corner: the shower, the sink: somewhere else... The little room where the WC is doesn´t have a heater so it´s cold, and the cold can enter to the room from below the doors, since it is not properly isolated. Decorative pillows and curtains smell bad. Male staff at reception had grumpy faces, and one made an inappropiate comentary.

    Nice IRISH breakfast: eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, toast, butter, coffee, juice, cereal... all very good. Girls at the dining room really helpfull and nice. Excellent location near city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for such a basic room. Cramped. Wallpapers coming off walls. Paint needed redoing. No lighting above mirror which was in a dark alcove. No hairdryer. No kettle. I have stayed at better hostels which were cheaper.

    It was clean. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.6
    Central location but in a very run down and smelly property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The overall condition of the property and rooms, very run down and smelly, it appeared that the property and rooms had not been decorated within the last 30 years.

    The staff very friendly and helpfully, the location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Its ideal for location but the place needs a major overhaul.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left a note at booking time that I needed a just a bowl of cereal early morning or night before around 0330 but the guy at reception claimed this was never communicated to Avondale. Got some cereal afterwards from the night porter but there was no hot water available and no kettle in the rooms. Also Room was very small and pokey.

    Location was good as I was getting a bus out to the airport at 0400 next morning from City Centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    Noisy, not much sleep, glad to checkout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room. Electrics bit doubtful, smoke detector was blocked up with toilet tissue, bogies smudged on the walls and doors

    Good central location, breakfast staff, food and dining room were excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed my stay and would book with you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outward appearance was rather 'offputting' and there were drafts-due to the age of the building.Booking on line proved more expensive than it said it would,but was pretty good value I suppose.

    The room was clean and warm-very important as the weather was bitter.I was concerned about noise as I was next to the reception,but I did enjoy a peaceful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    3.3
    Overpriced dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptionally rude, there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, despite being promoted at booking, the room was cold, the bathroom literally was freezing, and the shower was tiny and dark. When we asked the staff for some extra pillows we were in no uncertain terms told to go eff ourselves as they wouldn't provide them

    The only likeable point was the cheerful waitress at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is dirty rooms are not as advertised it had the smoke alarm in the room disconnected mould in the bathroom and no volume on the tv.

    The place is dirty rooms are not as advertised it had the smoke alarm in the room disconnected mould in the bathroom and no volume on the tv.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complete absence of attention to making the place appealing. Just plain poor. Second night stayed elsewhere in a smart two bed appt for same price!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    The lady’s for the breakfast were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible, very loud, small room everything was small. The room was very hot, we couldn’t regular the heating.

    The lady’s for the breakfast were very nice. The distance to the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast time is short and late.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast time is short and late. It's only available from 8am to 10am, so if you have to go early to some place, it must have breakfast in other place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    For the money, it was decent. We would be fine staying here again. But hang some shelves!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The biggest disadvantage was the lack of things like shelves, bedside tables, and coathooks. There was a wardrobe in our room, but it consisted of only a clothes rack and a single large shelf at the top. We ended up having to store a lot of things on the floor of the wardrobe. Space was limited in the room, but coathooks and wall shelves take up next to no space, and we would have been much better served by a chest of drawers than a wardrobe. Also, there was a chair by the bed that was absolutely pointless. A nightstand with drawers would have been much better. My mother's room, however--a double room like ours--didn't even have a wardrobe! She had absolutely nothing for storage! If you're cool literally living out of your suitcase, this is ok, but a family with children needs something to unpack into! Also, my mother's room was often freezing cold. I think they turned the radiators off whenever they felt they could get away with it. The beds were uncomfortable--the mattress on our double bed was wider than the frame, so it kept sliding around and sagged in the middle.

    Location was perfect, rooms were adequately comfortable, good full Irish breakfast cooked to order in a real kitchen, with other options like cereal, fruit cocktail, and biscuits. The kitchen staff were friendly and accomodating to reasonable requests, like scrambled eggs rather than sunny side up. Selection of teabags, as well good strong breakfast tea and coffee. The front desk staff were helpful, both in person and over email. We felt secure and reasonably comfortable. It was perfectly adequate for those who plan to do little more than sleep and breakfast in their accomodation. It was quiet enough at night, even on a Friday on Gardiner Street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Ok but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room setup was a bit odd, a bed with a sink and a shower but the toilets we're downstairs. The heating on our room barely worked. The bed springs were very prominent.

    The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Good place for a budget trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small which was not really comfortable. Also the bathroom was outdated, small and need a renovation.

    The location was perfect. Also the price/quality was ok. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was simple but ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Apart dealing with the person that checked me in and out, I would given you an 8/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As mentioned above it was all in order but, the male receptionist that checked me in, made me fell so unwelcome, beyond cold and mediocre - he treated me with so much indifference, I have never been treated with so little respect! Honestly, if I had money to through away - I would have NOT checked-in! He was the person that checked me out too, and treated me the same way as treated when he checked in. Thumbs down, down to him!

    It is centrally located - Bars, Restaurants, Museums, Points of Interest, near to Connolly Train Station... Very handy! Although the room was small, it was clean and comfortable enough. Breakfast room was a bit dark but, clean and the breakfast itself was good and varied, the staff at the restaurant was VERY friendly and professional - Thumbs up for them!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    fair price / quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor windows, and as it is on a frequently used street, it was very noisy. The heater was (always?) turned on, the room was very hot, and no way to turn down the heater.

    fair price / quality. The breakfast was good and even as they do not offer free parking, you have a discount ticket on a large parking at less than 10 min by foot (we paid 17,5 instead of 50 euros for 36hours). Even if this is shared bathroom, each room have its own bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Good base for travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water wasnt hot and could hear next door tenants. Thin walls no ironing board.

    Ideal location. Just over the road from bus stop to airport. Central to shopping area. Staff helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Good location, nice Irish breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too old. There were anoying noises in my room from 7am, probably from the pipes. Tiny room, the bed barely fit in and the TV sound was not working. You could heard people from the next room having sex.

    Good location, nice Irish breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    3.8
    If you want a pleasant stay in Dublin, look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've never stayed in a worse place than this. I am disappointed that booking.com is linked with this slum landlord. Just a handful of the negatives: - Old building - Dusty rooms with layers of dust in the closet that indicate no cleaning in weeks - Bolted together old bed - Paint coming off walls and ceiling - Mold on bathroom ceiling - Heating was broken so ice cold room - Lots of street noise - Button to flush toilet was missing, you had to put your finger in a dirty hole to reach the flushing mechanism - Small tv with noisy signal that kept jumping between greys and color - Only breakfast option is Irish with products as cheap as possible Considering what I paid for my stay here, it should have been way better. It could have been better if the owner invested just the slightest amount of his profits to properly maintain this place.

    The only positive that can be said about this place is that the location is not bad. Also the personnel does is not too bad, given what they have to make due with.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    Candy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle to make tea.no bed side lamp so had to use light from phone to see where I was going.half bottles of opened shampoo in shower.breakfast l.expected a full irish.got something in between.you could say half irish breakfast.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.9
    It's terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the worst hotel I've ever lived in Europe. The crew is not very kind. No curtain in the room on the ground floor. So no privacy in taking shower. Very noisy when the guests next door are talking. The blanket is dirty and seems they never washed it. A little stinking. This is the worst thing I can imagine. I have to sleep with all my clothes on for over three nights. It's better to bring a sleeping bag of my own. This hotel should not appear in Europe.

    The location is ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.3
    Was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place stink. Really bad smell everywhere, in the room or at the corridor. When they start the breakfast the smell come to the room like someone is cooking inside the room. The shower in the room was blocked. And had to have a very quick shower. Otherwise it was like a swimming pool.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Location is great - next to all city centre sights and at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a bit more clean in the room

    Location is great - next to all city centre sights and at the same time to buses to airport/ bus station, paddywaggon tours starting point and free walking tours on the northern side.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: