Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ballyseede Castle 4 stars

Ballyseede, Tralee, Ireland

#3 of 13 hotels in Tralee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 615 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    5*without a doubt
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here at a wedding , the rooms were spacious and very comfortable .the decor throughout the hotel is fabulous. The breakfast was great and a great variety. The staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for you. I would definitely recommend a stay there.😁

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous soecual occassion Country House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect venue for a special occassion stay. Lovely grounds, beautifull guest and lounge rooms. Friendly staff and a warm welcome from the resident dogs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, wonderful accommodations and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Castle Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't say I didn't "like" something, but if I had any thing remotely negative, it was that we didn't know we needed reservations for the dining room until we arrived. They also had a private event going on, so that left only the other dining bar and room service. The bar area was full, so made due with room service.

    Joe waiting on my husband and I for breakfast and gave wonderful recommendations of where to visit and see. He was spot on! We went all around Ireland, but we all agreed we should have made the Castle our stay for our entire 9 day trip and just driven to the different locations. Would have been well worth the driving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Fairytale stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This castle is exquisite, nothing is done halfway here. You get what you pay for. The room we had was a suite in the new addition, but attention to period details is spot on. The restaurant was delicious for dinner and the breakfast had a large variety to choose from. If you want pampered, stay here!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Amazing place!! We loved the dogs, especially Einstein!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our server Joe was amazing!! He was funny, insightful and make sure we had every need met! He helped us get our laundry done on super short notice. He was exceptional!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, friendly staff, needs a bit better maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the prices paid and for advertising the "luxury" of a castle, I expected a little better upkeep of the room itself. The bathtub had some cracked tiles, there were holes all over the walls where it is clear things were previously nailed/screwed to the wall and have since been removed, but the holes were not patched and repainted.

    The castle is beautiful and Einstein, Mr. Higgins and Miss Molly (the three dogs that live on the property) are lovely! The grounds of the property were peaceful. It has a nice little bar area to have a nightcap and the staff was pleasant. Overall, we had a lovely stay. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Good novelty accomodation, but the Lodge doesn't provide a 'castle' experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is lovely. We stayed in the Lodge as there were no rooms in the house due to a wedding. Nice to see Molly and Harlin(?) running around. The breakfast was average compared to other places we stayed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    A little disappointing for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty on arrival with hair on bathroom floor and toenail clippings on bedroom carpet. Floor was vacuumed over when we pointed this out, but the place still didn’t feel really clean and fresh like others we have stayed in. We had booked an ‘upgraded’ room, this didn’t seem out of the ordinary at all. Breakfast nice but they had run out of fruit by the time we got there (9.15). I had to return my fish to the kitchen as it was totally dry and hard and had obviously been ‘sitting’ on a warmer for hours!

    Surroundings were lovely. Very pretty gardens. Lounge areas welcoming and well maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Huge room, extremely clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Castle Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were nice expect the old man who was serving at the breakfast room !! Bad attitude and not attentive - breakfast buffet was very limited and after asking 3 times they brought some bread ( they checked with the kitchen if they have it first !!)

    Huge room, extremely clean Location Nice staff at check in and bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic authentic castle stay experience at a low budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The experience overall was amazing! I did not expect to find a castle stay in my budget and after a lot of searches, I found this one! The hotel was amazing, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the interiors are fantastic, the room was really authentically made like a castle room, the wall paintings, the curtains and every little detail was focussed on, making it feel like a real castle. The tea room is absolutely adorable and it is open all day (and night). There's also a bar on site which is open until late. The breakfast room, as well as the food, was superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    We loved our visit at Ballyseede Castle -- very memorable! Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything!

    This castle far exceeded our expectations. The pictures do not do it justice. We checked into a brand new suite. It was our favorite booking! Family friendly. The grounds are picture perfect. Wished we could have stay longer. HIGHLY recommend! Staff was amazing! The castle dogs add to the ambiance. Breakfast was spectacular!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Haunted Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more attention could have been paid to the garden patio. Empty glassware laying about.

    I booked a room here because I wanted to stay in a haunted castle, but between the hot shower with amazing pressure, the unbelievably comfortable bed with soft linens and the two gin & tonics in the cozy bar, I, myself, was ‘dead to the world’!!! The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful. The food was stellar. Be sure to play fetch with Einstein the dog...it’s very impressive. What a gem!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Our stay was well beyond our expectations!!!!
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at Balleyseed to attend a wedding. It’s was a magical experience. Everything was presented at a high standard. The experience in staying in a real Irish castle was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    pleasant, accommodating, charming,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised at some of the artificial greenery, but it looked good from a distance and as a backpdrop for pictures.

    Castle dogs added character--2 large placid wolfhounds Mr. Higgins and Miss Molly, a crazy rock toting Einstein and shy little Bubbles. Food was delicious--for supper they had the best vegetarian menu we came across during our two weeks in Ireland (may need to ask for it). Stella, who came across with dry witty humor, was very accommodating to our late arriving companions. Joe, another server we might at breakfast was very helpful in providing information about the castle and the area. We would recommend asking about walking in the Ballyseede woods with the old ruins, sculptured benches and fabulously gnarly trees.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fairy Tale Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous accommodations. Delightful staff. Feel like living in a fairy tale. We were in first floor rooms & they had recently been redone - stunning ! Dinner & breakfast at the castle was a highlight .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in person and breakfast staff were not friendly.

    My wife and I stayed in the Lodge. The bedroom, side room, and bathroom were huge. I enjoyed a hot, relaxing, bath in the large bathtub located in the bedroom. The bartender was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    It was our most favorite stay of our entire 10 day trip around Ireland and scotland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Castle Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything about our stay and the hotel absolutely exceeded our expectations! The hotel, property, and room was breathtaking! The staff was so friendly and accommodating, and everything was very clean and well kept. A lovely and delicious breakfast was also included, and afterwards a sweet staff member named Esther asked how everything was and where we were headed next. We told her and she gave us some recommendations on places to stop along the way. Then she told us to “follow her” and she took us on a quick little tour of the other side of the castle where they were later holding a wedding. We got to take some photos with the sword they use to cut wedding cakes! It was such a sweet and awesome surprise. We will definitely be back some day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Magnificent Deluxe Castle Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One of the best places we have every stayed. The grounds were beautiful. The room was huge with a four poster bed and a gorgeous view of the gardens. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all !!!!

    Fantastic romantic castle stay in new room with wonderful meal and relaxing gardens to walk in staff were wonderful many thanks for a memorable stay ... a must stay !!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    This is a most wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room

    This is a most wonderful Experience ... staff are just wonderfully helpful... facilities , ambience and gourmet dinner is awesome... just a mini Fridge in room Would make it perfecto!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Charming Old World Castle with first class hotel rooms and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower Controls need adjustment to properly control temperature

    We stayed one night at this Charming Old world castle hotel in a beautiful King Room at the new Presidents wing addition of the castle. Room was spacious with comfortable Queen bed, Desk and sitting area. While the Castle is old world, rooms are very modern with large marble bathroom overlooking the garden. Hotel amenities include a restaurant, bistro and Pub. Breakfast was plentiful, delicious with great menu selection. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our breakfast waiter Joe was extremely helpful in giving us directions and guidance to Blarney Castle and Durty Nellies. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful Castle Stay at a Reasonable Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Castle Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about Ballyseede!!

    Beautiful,spacious room. Friendly,helpful staff. Beautiful castle!! Breakfast was great!! Loved everything about it!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Would recommend it wholeheartedly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! This was a night so worth what it cost us - everything was outstanding culminating in breakfast and the extra touch of the photos with the sword :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Good accommodation in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lower ground rooms have only a very small window and the rooms tend to become stuffy. The mattress in our room was worn-out and not very comfortable.

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    A Real Castle Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor above our room was squeaky, and had a lot of traffic early in the morning. Our room door didn't seal out hallway light or noise very well.

    Beautiful facility and grounds. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that even though we booked a room in the lodge, they put us in a room in the Castle. Nice bar and sitting rooms to relax in. We only wish it was warmer outside to sit out and enjoy the grounds with a cocktail. The host dogs were really cool!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 8:30 pm there is no longer food available . When traveling all day a late night snack is always appreciated .

    Wonderful stay Such friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff, excellent value for money. we will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room in the lodge was small and had no bath, but we really could not find fault, we had stayed in a five star the night before, so we were a little spoiled coming through the door, but overall your hotel is excellent value for money and with a gem like Joe, how could we complain.

    The castle was beautiful, we stayed in the lodge, our room was small and had no bath, but it was clean and the staff especially Joe on breakfast duty, he was a pleasure, and very attentive, loved the doggies and the bar man was also very professional and fun. over all we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely incredible!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets could have been just a bit more comfy.

    Everything about this castle is nothing short of amazing. The story behind it, the animals, the staff, rooms, decor, gardens, food were all out of a fairytale. Tim the bartender was very accomodating even though I came in late. Esther really went above & beyond to make sure we had a 5star experience. We couldn't have asked for better!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Castle was hosting a wedding so we were put in the lodge in a handicapped room. 5 of us stuffed into 1 room. Not what I paid for or thought we were getting.

    Beautiful area. Castle dogs were adorable. Breakfast was good but additional cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Fulfill your dream of a castle stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There simply was not anything I would change. Every moment of our stay excedded expectations!

    It brought fantasy to full life! I have dreamed of staying in a historic castle for years, Ballyseede fufilled my vision and exceeded. This was not our first castle stay but it truly is the one I will tell our friends about and recommend to anyone who wants to bring their dream to reality. The staff went out of their way to both make us feel welcomed and pampered. We boarded our dog while on holiday and being able to interact with Mr Higgins and the rest of the resident dogs made the stay even more enjoyable as we were missing our four legged companion alot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff
    • Group
    • The Lodge Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee needs to be improved!!

    Beautiful Hotel, spotlessly clean in good location. The staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful, couldn't praise them enough. The room was spacious, very clean, and had everything required for our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Live like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire staff is great! Relaxing stay in a countryside castle but too far away from attractions. Einstein, the dog, is a great friend our girls can’t wait to get back and see. Mr Higgins and Molly were awesome too! Great family spot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    Everything! The Castle was the most amazing place I have ever stayed.. The staff were brilliant especially Tim and Esther!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Best spot to relax and disconnect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and relaxing spot, highly recommend it if you want to deconnect from routine. Had our wedding anniversary and we were very happy with the service. Superior room in the lodge looks great, staff is good. The only minus is the wifi and not a 4g connection spot. But hey... bring some books!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    The castle is beautiful, the staff are very helpful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I'd been able to see the famed wolfhounds!

    The castle is beautiful, the staff are very helpful, the lounge was a wonderful place to have tea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    beautiful old castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was a bit musty door outside room to exterior was open throughout day/evening (potential safety/security issue)

    beautiful old castle thoughtfully appointed large rooms comfortable beds courteous staff parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Great stay. We would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we spent more time here.

    Good halfway point from Dingle to Galway. Gorgeous grounds. Check in was quick and easy. Einstein was the best canine pub companion! The Irish Wolfhounds mr Higgins and miss Molly were outstanding. Huge stately room. Felt like royalty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Great Irish experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fair. Music piped into common spaces didn’t match castle feel (60s music)

    Beautiful common spaces, had real feel of a castle. Room was spacious and elegant. Loved the wolfhounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful settings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No leisure facilities ie pool. We were in the lodge beds very uncomfortable.

    Beautiful settings. Food gorgeous, staff so helpful and pleasant couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Perfect place to get engaged! ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a dream spot!! Everything was beautiful, well kept & exceptional! My girlfriend proposed to me at night in front of the lit up castle after a perfect meal ❤️

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Our stay at Ballyseedy Castle was so enjoyable and the staff were exceptional.Food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really don't have anything negative to say....from the minute we arrived we felt very much at home and relaxed.....loved all the china cups!!!

    We had dinner in the dining room and it was a memorable experience......the food was gorgeous,ambience fabulous and the staff were amazing...so friendly and efficent.The bar was lovely and cosy with Einstein (the lovely dog) to keep us company and amused.Will certainly return and have no hesitation in recommending it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    It’s a castle so that alone was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too squishy for my likes but I slept well none the less. The WiFi was was awful but it kept us off our phones so that was actually not too bad. You don’t stay in a castle to stare at your phone, right? 😊

    It’s a castle so that alone was awesome. Add in the excellent staff, delicious breakfast, friendly pub with great food and the castle dogs and it was definitely a highlight of our trip. They even left us welcome goodies in our room❤️. Amazing experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Unfriendly staff and disappointing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was controlled by the hotel and we were freezing - we rang up 4 times and asked for it to be turned on but it never happened. The breakfast was dry and bland and the staff were terribly unfriendly - no one was smiling and the staff didn’t interact at all. It was extremely disappointing

    THe grounds of the hotel and the dogs were adorable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay. Loved the two Irish wolfhounds who greeted us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious, the bed super comfy and bed linen lovely. Well appointed room, everything you could need. Bathroom also spacious and well thought out. Dinner was very good. Breakfast was ok. Would have liked more fresh fruit and natural yoghurt available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    When I booked this, I was under the impression we would be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked this, I was under the impression we would be staying in the castle, based on the photos that were shown in the listing. When I arrived I was told we were staying in the lodge. I thought this was part of the castle. It was not. It was a short drive away from the castle and all the amenities in a very small building. This was definitely not a castle. Our room was on the first floor. It was a handicapped room. I never requested a handicap room. When I checked out I told the clerk this is not what I expected to have and not what I paid for. She said that the listing said lodge, but I wouldn’t know it was not in the castle if I had never been there. I felt the listing was misleading. If they are going to put you in the lodge they should show a photograph of it. Additionally they should ask if you want to stay in the handicap room. I would not have paid the money I did if I had known this. This was supposed to be our 2 night luxury stay in a castle, it was not even close to a luxury stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful fairytale castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't use the bar after dinner as there was a private function on there and the other bar really lacked intimacy and atmosphere so we just went to bed after dinner. A big disappointment as we had been looking forward to having a cocktail there

    Everything..it's an amazing property, very beautiful and romantic..especially the four poster bed!! Particularly loved meeting all the canine inhabitants also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    Won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got no sleep. We stayed in room Paddy Hillary which has the squeekiest ceiling and above us staff walked all night long.While I was paying I mentioned this to lady at reception and the response I got was “you can put your card in the machine” indicating the visa machine. Appalling!

    Liked the food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. I booked for my husband's birthday, mentioned it in passing on check in and when dessert came out after dinner they had written "Happy Birthday"on his plate. Really nice touch. The staff were really friendly, the food was divine. The Castle is stunning. I'm already looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.2
    Stayed for a wedding, good food, disappointing service, lovely house.
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family photos which were openly displayed were a little off putting, it felt like you were intruding in their family home. How the most disappointing aspect was that the staff were not very friendly and I would go as far as to say a number of them were very unaccommodating and rude.

    The food was very good, bedroom was quite big and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    enjoyed stay pity about the voucher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had manor house gift voucher .booked hotel myself didn't read small print. Hotel refused to accept voucher. Had to pay big bill which hadn't budgeted for. Staff member dealing with us didn't see anything wrong with this.staff excellent

    Sitting rooms v relaxing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    It was such a treat. We just loved everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very satisfied with everything

    Staff were very friendly and homely. Dinner was excellent with various choices of each of the courses. . Bar staff very funny He gave us the history of the Castle. Suite we stayed in was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    STAY HERE!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Triffle for desert. Seems silly to write this but had to put something in this space and that was as bad as it got.

    What DIDN'T we like, NOTHING. Would have been great anyway but with the amazing xmas decorations up it was even better. We stayed in the big bedrooms on the top floor of main castle. I left a coat in the room and they happily rushed it to the post office to get it to our last hotel so I had it before leaving Ireland. Excellent customer service!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    perfect place to stay
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great place to stay, very cozy and relaxed, we liked the bar food and breakfast the location is stunning, the rooms are spacious great christmas decoration

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    The best ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing a wonderful place.

    OMG loved every minute. Stella, Paul, Gerard the plumber & Brodie the retired next door neighbour. What a great place take the time to visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    This has been the best Castle I have stayed in by far,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wish there were trails, be really nice if there was a trail to the Ballyseedy woods!

    This has been the best Castle I have stayed in by far, beautiful, comfy, modern,old, classy, historical, fun! The Campbell room view was breathtaking!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    the staff at this hotel are the best ever, I took my elderly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff at this hotel are the best ever, I took my elderly mother and aunt, one is 84 the other is 76, the staff could not do enough to make sure there stay was memorable so thank you at was a great Irish welcome, Both my mother and aunt said they felt like Royalty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.6
    Nice surroundings let down by the terrible staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start. Firstly, from the first to the last person I dealt with, hands down, the rudest staff I have ever met. Downright ignorant at times. I was there for a wedding and we had to fight with the staff several times to stop them clearing plates while people were still eating off them. Literally dropping plates of food onto the tables. Coming around after the meal and pulling the table cloths off the tables while there were drinks (tea, coffee, beer, wine) on them and not warning anyone, just standing there with sour faces until the drinks were lifted, all the while tugging and pulling at the cloths. Not to mention the facility itself. God help the folks who have future functions there. Most of the chairs were ready to fall apart. Lastly the rooms, while quaint and historic, could do with the bare minimum of modernisation. No plugs near the beds. Only plugs available were at floor level so when making a coffee you literally have to put everything onto the floor, farcical in this day.

    It's a castle, what more is there to say.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    A really great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have appreciate the availability of coffee and tea in the sitting room in the mornings.

    A really great experience. The castle is almost too beautiful to describe. Fantastic atmosphere. Lovely food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    A great experience to sleep/ eat in a castle with a few optimizing points
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were located in a seperate building the lodge which was not clear to see in the room description ad there were a few mosqitos in our room. We arrived quite late amd the staff only came after 10- 15 minutes maybe. Some of zhe other quest looked down on us, persukely because we were just normal students which is not the accomondations fault but still felt uncomfortable.

    It was a castle which was a great experience and the breakfast was amazing as well. The size of the room was awesome and the beds were incredible comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Welcoming from the start to the finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished there were more grounds available to explore.

    Welcoming from the start to the finish. Staff were very friendly. Stayed there on Halloween eve and night. Tim took us on a small castle tour and shared some “spooky” history of the Castle. Place felt homey so everyone including other guests were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Ballyseede Castle is a lovely place from which to explore Tralee and the Dingle peninsular
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small thing the curtains were noisy/screechy to draw on metal pole. Larger gripe, the coffee was not good. Cafetieres would make all the difference.

    Staff lovely, castle beautiful and although we stayed in the lodge which was newly refurbished and the walk up the drive to the castle was welcome and we could use the elegant lounges with serve yourself tea and coffee anytime. Food v. good, breakfasts generous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing and would loved to have stayed longer. Looking forward to returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Beautiful place to stay. Staff so friendly and welcoming and couldn’t do enough to help us. Bedroom was gorgeous, warm and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Sublime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The lovely location, the grandeur, all the staff being so so friendly and welcoming. I felt like a princess for one day. The castle itself was breathing history.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great castle hotel with staff that treats you like royalty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing...everything was perfect.

    Exceptional property with very comfortable rooms. Staff went out of their way to assist. Outstanding pub with great food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were given one castle room and two rooms in the addition basement with no view, a stopped up sink a smaller room small bath with only a shower. Not what we expected at all. Especially knowing how nice the castle rooms were. We paid the same price price for all three rooms. We were very disappointed.

    I originally booked two rooms in the castle section a third room in the addition. The castle room was wonderful, beautiful view very romantic. Large well appointed room lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't care for was having a dog at my feet when eating. I love animals but gross when you are eating.

    It was beautifully decorated and the staff was very kind and helpfull.The breakfast was amazing!! It had beautiful grounds and wonderful atmosphere. I would highly recommend this castle hotel!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Such a special place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have to admit that the WiFi was very poor. Our room was in the basement and we couldn't stay connected to the WiFi.

    Such a special place to stay. It is ran by the owners and they pay attention to every detail. Our room was very nice and had a very large bathroom. We had dinner in the bar and the food was delicious. Breakfast was included with our room. There was a great variety of items and it was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Food is excellent
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ask for room in Castle, avoid the basement rooms where possible! breakfast stops at 10am which is madness! Especially after a wedding!

    Food is excellent Staff are very nice Rooms are generous in size Lots of interest in the drawing rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    You must stay here at least once while you are agile.
    • Group
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift.(well it is an old castle) No ramp to front door? any disabled access?? Hauled up my suitcase to and fro myself. Steps up to my tiny bathroom could be dangerous at night and awkward for less mobile. Chef presented parmesan cheese on food as vegetarian on menu and strictly speaking it is not. When I spoke to staff they said there was a separate vegetarian menu. I did not see it. It would have been interesting if the provenance of the paintings in the hotel was displayed underneath. The history of the castle was very superficial ,rudimentary and cited repetitively on various brochures. I wanted to know much more. Maybe in due course a local historian can write a booklet.

    I slept in an extremely comfortable four poster bed! Food at dinner was outstanding. Staff were very friendly. Antique furniture and paintings. The dogs and ponies Chess set set up to use.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Warm, friendly staff and beautiful castle hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful full Irish breakfast served each morning in the castle. We stayed in the lodge and our room (Ahern room) was huge and beautifully decorated. A nice walk in shower and separate claw foot tub in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    A nice stay in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very basic, and they charge extra for everything

    We had a nice stay at Ballyseede Castle. The room was large and comfortable. We ate dinner at the Bar, which was more than enough for us (no need to eat the full dinner menu in the restaurant). The breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Everything was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Lodge Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not enjoy our handicapped room in the Lodge on the property, since rooms in the castle were unavailable, but all in all, it was fantastic.

    Everything was amazing....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We felt like Royalty at The Ballyseede Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's not much to not like. Everything was wonderful and all expectations were met.

    In two words: The staff! Every single person we encountered at the Ballyseede Castle went out of their way to make sure we were having or needs met. Always smiling, always friendly. From Ashton at reception to Tim, our barman, and Rachell our server, They made our short stay very enjoyable. In Addition, Dinner at the O'Connell Restaurant should not be missed! Wonderful food, expertly prepared. After dinner, we enjoyed a nightcap at Pappy's Bar, and then retired to one of the most comfortable and beautifully appointed rooms we had during our three weeks of travel. And I'd be remiss if I didn't mention to say hello to Einstein, Bubbles, Mr. Higgins, and Molly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful grounds, setting, and guest room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit farther outside of town than we would have liked.

    Beautiful grounds, setting, and guest room. The staff were helpful. The complimentary tea and biscuits were lovely. The onsite breakfast and dinner were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Exceeded all our expectations in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire experience exceeded our expectations! The place is beautiful, the ambiance indescribable, food excellent, bar well stocked and staff were awesome! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: