Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barry's Hotel 2 stars

1 - 2 Great Denmark Street, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#125 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1370 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice, central, spacious hotel! Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no tea and coffee in the room! You have to go to reception which was about three flights of stairs. Also - low water pressure in the shower! O and breakfast was so-so... didn’t have it twice!

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. Room was better than expected! Nice bathroom and really central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Dissapointed with our brief stay in Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not clean. There was bloodied soiled panties just under the bed, in the room where my daughter was with her children, despite the room allegedly cleaned before we arrived.

    We enjoyed the location, despite the town being ultra busy due to a papal visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.3
    Not happy! Didn't get what I paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv.... Told management about TV not working. He came up to check and couldn't fix it. But yet said he'd send mechanic up to fix issue. Never saw mechanic nor manager again. No shower. No fridge. Wifi in and out. Limited parking. Shady surroundings. Etc etc etc

    Not much... Overpriced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and shower-room were very small. The street outside was noisy, playing loud music most nights. Expensive considering the quality of the room.

    Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good value. Short walk to O’Connell street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    The beds were good, the room was clean, the location is near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lift and the lamps in bedside tables didn't work

    The beds were good, the room was clean, the location is near the city centre. You could have free tea or coffee 24/7

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    3.3
    Very unwelcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff was extremely rude in my arrival. Was quoted 76 and charged 86. Had to walk 3 or flights of stairs to get to room. Head board fell off the wall ontop of me when I woke up and on inspection it was attached firmly to the wall it was just resting in a piece of wood. Bed sheets had stains on them building was extremely old and floors really squeaky.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Not up to standard for the amount paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very bad, the dark haired lady receptionist wasn’t very friendly and constantly having to wait for the door to be opened was annoying unlike in other hotels and I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody to stay at. The room was very small and the bathroom had a tiny shower. For the money paid for two nights it was very bad. Especially that no visitors were allowed into rooms even during the day time was a very bad policy to have which meant friends we came to see had to sit in the lobby.

    The bed was comfy I guess that was about it and one nice man at the reception that worked on Thursday evening

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    The location was really good and staff super friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as having iron and hair dryer but you had to go to reception for these . Couldn’t open the windows and no air con

    The location was really good and staff super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is quite narrow and the water is quite difficult to adjust, it becomes very hot and it's difficult to keep it only warm

    The staff is really nice and helpful big thanks to Siobhan ! The beds are really comfy and the room is very quiet. The room and bathroom were just refurbished and very clean. We did not have breakfast there but we enjoyed free coffee and tea in a nice lounge. We will certainly stay at this hotel when we come back to Dublin

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Room is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator which made it tough with our son but we managed

    Room is nice. Staff are lovely and so helpful in any way they can. Close to the main shopping areas and easy access

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    very nice staff, lovely breakfast, very friendly for my...
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice staff, lovely breakfast, very friendly for my teenager who loved the free coffee#(drank plenty!) and siting area. fantastic location, round the corner from temple street hospital. thank you to all who made us feel very welcome:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.0
    Comfortable, central location but not suitable for people with mobility problems
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed that there was no restaurant facilities in the evening. It only opened in the morning for breakfast! My parents are elderly and have mobility problems and therefore it was difficult going out to find a restaurant. There was no lift in the hotel which we did not know in advance. I have never stayed in a hotel with no lift. It needs to be clearly stated on the website

    Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast nice and efficient service. Hotel rates reasonable for the area. Central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Night in dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything that i didnt like. Only slight down side was there was alot of stairs as we were at the top of the hotel.

    It was very clean. The room was lovely. The bathroom had brand new fittings. The beds were clean and very comfortable. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the hotel was in an excellent location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel has good location - city center around the corner, bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was terrible smell of cigarettes in the room and smell of canalization in the bathroom. At night it was very noisy out on the street (we had to sleep with the window open).

    Hotel has good location - city center around the corner, bus to the airport is close to the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Totally enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a lovely stay at Barry's Hotel . Would have left me a kettle and tea in the room .

    Very comfortable room .Nice front desk staff very helpful.Breakfast was very nice.would stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    No lifts to floors, no real help given. A maze of rooms. Not suitable for elderly or physical issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no lift access was disappointing after having to haul 4 suitcases through the maze of a hotel it was. Offered help, however not very enthusiastic. Receptionist didnt even give us a chance to consider and greeted new guests straight away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    2.5
    There is nothing I liked about that hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet connection in the room. The room VERY dusty. The taps in the bathroom where lose. There was no kettle in the room. The barman try to sell my friend a pint of beer that was poured already. Overall I'm very unhappy with the whole hotel..

    There is nothing I liked about that hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff lovely but way over priced otherwise. Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic hotel, no add ons' for example no hair dryer, 2 medium towels and one small towel, shower space small, not another item in room. no lift and 2.5 stairs to climb and old wide stairs steps so one had to be really careful. Breakfast not included.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Mid price, decent, nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was way too hot! - I reported this to the desk staff. Otherwise good.

    Nice helpful desk staff,? Nice rooms, nice dining room,. Nice old building. Close to the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel if you aren't driving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Specifically selected parking when picking hotel, on arrival the parking was at a local car park with a 20% discount. However we left early and the car park had no-one on duty to apply the discount, cost nearly €30 for 1 night.

    Room was clean and roomy. Location was great for the centre of Dublin. Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Good clean hotel let down was the parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking wasn't on site but a good walk and cost €18 per 24 hours directions given to car park but got lost because the receptionist didn't ask what way my car was facing so ended up doing a tour of Dublin.

    Location was only about 15 min walk from Temple bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Had to park nearby but hotel had a deal with the car park, so it only cost 14euro for 24hrs which is very cheap for Dublin.

    Great location and great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable overall. Stayed one night attending concert
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. A lot of stairs to climb. Staff did offer to bring my bag up for me. Very limited bar facilities unlike when I stayed there some years ago

    Friendly staff. Good location convenient to city center bus and train stations etc comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.0
    Lovely place to stay if you are mobile
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and no air conditioning when weather was very hot.

    Location was good, room and beds were clean and fresh. Breakfast was good and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    3.3
    Very Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly it was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in based on the fact that it was not a clean hotel , very dusty and smelled like it wasn't cleaned in a long time. Hairs in the sink and in the shower and the window in the room was cracked and hadn't been cleaned in a long time. No a.c. in the room or even a fan as the room was so warm and opening the window didn't make any difference to the heat. Breakfast and location were the onky good things in the hotel. STAFF were VERY unfriendly and didn't care if we were there or not . Never had problems in a hotel ever before

    Only good thing was the location and the. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo s off hotel are not what it really looks like. The water just about running, couldn't off waited for a bath to have full up, as be waiting until the following night. TV was last out in 2004 , and had to go reception 2 ce to get it sorted out. No phone or kettle in room. No handles on wardrobe and when eventually did manage get doors open, the left door nearly fell off hinges. No way worth the price of hotel, more like a hostel, but not hostel price.

    Only the bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Front desk staff was helpful, especially the young man on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tight quarters. Bathroom door did not close all the way and the toilet roll holder was broken. Lighting not very good.

    Front desk staff was helpful, especially the young man on the night shift.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    great location (10 minutes walk to city center), helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite a difficult acces to rooms in upper floors

    great location (10 minutes walk to city center), helpful staff, tasty breakfest, general "old feeling" of the building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Recommend that this be offered as very basic accommodation as missing facilities usually provided .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dublin was experiencing very hot weather and there was no cooling system (eg pedestal fan) in the room. No tea or coffee making provided in room.

    Location was very central to the city, easy walking distance. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    The host at the desk was very friendly and helpful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but nice. The hotel itself needs quite a bit of work (eg. dripping ceiling in stairwell, spongy staircase from multiple layers of carpet).

    The host at the desk was very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for seeing downtown Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Very basic and slightly overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought breakfast was included but it wasn't! I didn't pay for it next morning I went elsewhere. Very basic hotel and over priced for what you get. No tea/coffee in room, no iron, hair dryer, toiletries ..... Fine but not what we expected! Staff not well informed, when I asked the best way to get to the RDS , he didn't know what the RDS was!

    Property is fairly close to city centre, bed was comfortable got a good nights sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice budget friendly stay, lovely staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions were poor and google maps took me down back streets. Need to tell you which Luas stop to get off at etc. The location is actually really easy and convienent when you have good directions

    Comfy bed. Free tea/coffee all day in the bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Tea / Coffee available 24 hours
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room basic and cramped. Room door poor standard. Fire safety to question, rooms in corners squashed together, if had to evacuate space limited. Poor layout as to location of rooms ie. Poor signage.

    Tea / Coffee available 24 hours

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for 1 night, had originally booked bed & breakfast but when I asked what time breakfast was I was told time & place in addition to being told it would cost more money. Cost couldn’t match anywhere close to expectations. Completely disappointed

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay. Hotel within walking distance of city centre. Adequate facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street. Coaches parking opposite with engines constantly on and refuse collection vehicles late at night. No coffee/tea facilities in room. This was provided, however, 24 hrs downstairs.

    Staff very friendly and helpful giving assistance where requested. Currently no lift in hotel. However the staff were more than willing to take luggage to/from room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    10 minutes before check out the staff was trying to get in...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minutes before check out the staff was trying to get in the room even it was locked. Until I finished to get dress to leave. It was a very uncomfortable situation. Bad experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    It was clean, ideally located, great staff and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really small and the bathroom was tiny, especially the shower. There were also so many stairs

    It was clean, ideally located, great staff and comfortable beds. Good breakfast would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Last minute booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift so if you have trouble with stairs find another place, the bathroom was tiny in the room but not sure about all the other rooms...

    The location was great, not right in the middle of the touristic temple bar area but only about a 10 minute walk away. There were many buses right around the corner and an air link bus to the airport less than 500m from the hotel. It’s a simple old hotel and you get what you pay for...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Glad for the experience, but likely wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift - our room was on the top floor! TV didn’t work. Not enough outlets. WiFi was terrible. Shower was weak.

    Location is great. Old, historic hotel. Lovely from the outside. Fun, original architecture, furniture, doors, banisters, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel and value for money in Dublin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-if would’ve been nice. Value for money absolutely not - I cancelled my other booking with Hilton Garden Inn Dublin to save €150..... well, for €770 for 4 days should’ve been for a 4* hotel at least. No coffee/tea facilities in the rooms - if you wanted, you had to go to reception and make it yourself and go back to your room and with no lifts, up and down to the 3rd floor for a cup of coffee was really not worth it. The rooms are about half the size of a queen room at the Hilton. The staff are as unfriendly as hell. Wednesday evening a guest asked for a pint of Guinness....as the receptionist tried to pour it, the barrel ran empty. Receptionist had to phone management and asked if he could hook up another barrel to which he was told no, as there was no spare. In Dublin, Guinness central, and there is no stock? Come on! And do not even let me start with the 19th century’s aroma permitting all over the hotel. The photographs displayed in the advertisement are the furthest from the truth and must be seriously photoshopped to make an impression. There is no restuarant, therefore if you want dinner, you will have to go to one of the many brasseries/restaurants in O’Connel street or surrounding areas.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.5
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was disappointed considering how expensive it was, I was expecting something nicer. The water pressure was terrible, minimal warm water for shower. I was shocked when I found out I had to pay for the breakfast ON TOP of the already ridiculous fees!! Also I didn't have fresh towels every day like hotels normally do. To be honest, I had stayed in a hostel (at 12 pound per night) the week before and that was nicer than this hotel (which was $1,099 pound for 5 nights). I wouldn't come back here.

    The bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Tea & coffee in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet had an exposed tack on a seam where I caught my bare foot. Shower fixtures were difficult to adjust water temperature. No elevator and the 2nd floor was two flights up from lobby.

    Tea & coffee in the lobby. Also, morning desk clerk allowing me to store my baggage after checkout, so that I could explore Dublin for an extra day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    2.5
    Extremely disappointing. Do not waste your money on this over priced, false advertising hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel robbed me of €259! I was denied a refund after being left in a 2x2 room with a broken tv, and falsely advertised the room! Absolutely ridiculous prices for a tiny out of date, smelly, dirty room with no bath or refreshments. The room was smaller than my council bedroom! Which in unexseptable! Picture this ( a room with a window and a bed) because that’s all we got for the price of €259 euros. False advertisement on the website and no regard for hustling money out of us. There was no tea and coffee, no safe ( which is ridiculous for a door with no lock), no hair dryer, nothing in the bathroom, no shampoo or conditioner, no shower cap, there was no latch on the door, (anybody can just walk in to your room) there’s no privacy in the room as the walls are so thin you can hear a pin drop in the next room! I could hear all sorts of sexual and confrontational happenings coming from other rooms. The bed was frail and squeaky (not what you want when your trying to have a romantic night with your husband) The tv didn’t work, a terrible effort was made to fix the problem! The shower door was broken and would not close, and the filth of the bathroom was vile. I was told my room would have a bath which was not true and I would not have payed for the room if it wasn’t for the false advertisement on the website! I am appalled by Barry’s hotel and the service for the price we payed. I was expecting a luxurious stay for €259 a night, but instead I received nothing but an uncomfortable and distasteful stay in a no star motel, which has no care for its patrients or guests. If I had the time or the patients I would bring this hotel to court for their robbing of our money and the false advertisement. I would not recommend anyone to ever stay in this hotel!

    I did not like one thing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Stayed for 3 nights and that time the staff were excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed for 3 nights and that time the staff were excellent and extremely helpful and friendly. On arrival found that the shower doors did not shut properly. Told staff at reception and the problem was resolved immediately. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    2.9
    Very bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was appalling! Was told if I don’t have an id i have no room. Wasn’t told where to go, or where the room was located. The toilet was dirty, no hot water at night then piping hot the next day! No toilet paper, extremely noisy street at the back. Small bed and very uncomfortable pillows. No phone to contact reception. When we checked out the receptionist was unprofessional & unhelpful. When we made our complaint and asked to speak to the manager we were told he’s not there. Gave our phone number and are still waiting for a call! Not worth €50 never mind the €200 paid! Won’t be back and will definitely not recommend it.

    Absolutely nothing. Had a very bad experience. Extremely disappointing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel looked very nice inside the lobby and in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleanliness wasn’t the best and the tv was tiny in comparison to the rest of the room

    The hotel looked very nice inside the lobby and in rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff very helpful but the general area goes from good to run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would stay again if we could guarantee the first-floor room as the hotel does not have a lift. 30 steps to the first floor, 60 to the second and more to the third

    Room good, double bed on the small side. Bathroom excellent but small basin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    It did what we needed when Aer Dingus left us stranded at midnight with no options.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Climbing two flights of stairs to reach the next floor up from the main.

    An emergency overnight booking. Met our requirements. Had all necessary resources. Authentic Ireland hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Short and Sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, easy to find, nice and clean room and bathroom. For the price, it was really good. Oh, and having GOOD coffee available at all times is a nice touch - far better than having a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    It was nice to have complimentary tea and coffee in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom stinked from what we believe was mold. The staff are not helpful or friendly at all, it seemed to us that they weren't interested in their guests. The breakfast selection was far below our expectations.

    It was nice to have complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A great place to stay overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was that the WiFi wasn’t really reaching our room, and in modern days that is kind of a necessity. But everything else was absolutely perfect!

    A great place to stay at, perfect location in town centre and very friendly staff. Very clean and tidy looking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    The beds were far too soft, it was as if I was sinking in it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were far too soft, it was as if I was sinking in it. There was also a bad odor for the entirety of our stay. The bathroom was a decent size, but there was very little water pressure in the shower making it difficult to get the shampo out of my hair. Overall, unimpressed with the room although the entrance gives off a nice tone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hello, well to be fair everything was nice but probably the only thing i did not like much was, you can hear what is happening in the other rooms if you are on bad luck and get a room very near to another one. It is nothing very audible, i am just being a bit picky not. Get this hotel regardless this, worth it.

    Everything was nice, the room is good enough your stay and best of all is in the center near spire. (10 Min walking)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor ancient TV, Light did not work in Bathroom, very dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    Poor ancient TV, Light did not work in Bathroom, very dark. No plug for bathroom sink. Asked for a double bed and got a double with a single bed, no room in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    Good location, average hotel, go with light luggage and don't expect much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have a lift. All floors are having too many stairs and staff will try to give you upper most floor because no one will go there. No room service, no phone in rooms. Even no one on your floor if you need anything. All prepayment is needed then only they will allow you to check in. Breakfast is also having very very limited items.

    Only the location is good.it is close to City center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Warm, cosy, safe and secure
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 3pm check in. A 1pm or 2pm would be better for people travelling by plane.

    The staff were very friendly. The location is ideal. It was for me a very pleasant experience.I felt I was within walking distance of all the tourist locations.Another bonus was I felt the place was safe and secure. Something I feel is very important.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    2.5
    WORST Experience Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room shower never worked cupboard came off the hinge nearli hit me in the leg safety bolt on door does not work dirty carpet broken window damp on the ceilings plaster falling off the wall no parking rubbish WiFi breakfast I would not even give to a dog no elevator rooms are a dump not even done up like something outta the 1940’s design noting like pictures on there main site as there photo shopped to make it look better a dump of a place would not recommend to anyone avoid if possible you had to pay extra for hairdryer

    I liked noting bout Barry’s hotel was like a hostel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all the pictures that actually made us book the hotel with were the pictures of the hotel rooms were complitly diferente of the actual room that was allocated to us , secondly The breakfast that we actually paid a quiet reasonable amount of money for was ridiculously small when it comes to variety of items and poorly setted up. In a concrete situation when the coffe (that is offered for free all day) was nothing but water, I made one of the members of staff know that that coffee was not drinkable and to what he answered to me that I “simply had to take it from another jug”

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location great value for money rooms clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food available during the day/night had to go across t he road to another hotel to get something to eat . Limited options in the bar .

    Excellent location great value for money rooms clean .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, decent bed, bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very knowledgeable or friendly. All but one of the people working the front desk were horrible with no knowledge of the night life or area. I asked them at around 9:30pm what was still open to get food and they said mcdonald’s. I ended up finding a good place on my own- NOT fast food. There was a big stain in the carpet as you walked into the room, the room was also very musty. There was a TV in the room, it was about 12” with a vcr built in... and it didn’t even work. Last you are not allowed to bring friends or anyone to your room unless they are staying there. My friend who was also out in Ireland stopped by to visit and they made him stay in the lobby. Eventually they let him pay 30 euros to go upstairs to hang out for a few hours.

    The first person working the front desk was great, the rest were horrible- The location was excellent and the building seemed nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff were incredibly helpful and honest about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little cold and the heat didn't seem to work in half of the radiators.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and honest about attractions worth seeing in our limited time frame.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent accommodation in the heart of Dublin. Friendly staff in historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room but available in reception.

    Excellent central location. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms.very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Older hotel so missing some nice to have ammenities but convenient location for getting around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a major disappointment. Fruit was not fresh (appeared to be canned). Food was not replenished and most items were gone when I came down at 9AM (even though staff came out and looked at buffet setup a couple times). Food should be there up until the breakfast time ends. A few items that would have been nice to have in the room: a clock in room, Kleenex and washcloths in the bathroom. Older hotel so not handicap accessible (no elevator; bathroom (shower) tiny.

    Hotel was close to O'Connell street and made it convenient to getting around. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, bar open 24/7, *mostly* friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few/no hair dryers. Leaking shower. No lift. Asked one receptionist for help printing something and he was quite rude. Goran was the best!

    Great location, bar open 24/7, *mostly* friendly staff. If you get the pleasure of checking in with Goran, get to know him! He's fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like a whole pile. Good wasn’t nice. No kettle or hairdryer in to. I booked on 3 adults and a child but my little boy was fasting for the night as he had surgery in temple street hospital the next morning and the staff that was on wasn’t happy as they usually charge for kids over 2. Think this is a bit much as really how much room and good would a child take. Wouldn’t visit again. Just wasn’t what I paid €100 for 1 night for. Yes cheap enough but I’ve paid less in a lot nicer hotels.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.0
    Stay away
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start! The room was small but okay for 1 night stay. Shower very poor water pressure you wouldn't be able to wash your hair. Not enough towels for 2 people. No tea making facilities in the room. ( there were tea making facilities in the dining area downstairs) this would be okay if you weren't at the top of hotel at the furthest point away. Check in was a disaster I had no photo Id with me plenty of cards but no picture id, bearing in mind I came from Kerry for a hospital appointment not America it was way over the top, but the gentleman serving us was not rude. We had no other dealings until morning time after a very restless night beds rock hard. Came down for breakfast the receptionist on duty was slightly irate that we had disturbed her to enquire about breakfast she called on another man who was standing at the front door of the hotel smoking with another male hotel worker (Very professional indeed) he handed us a menu for breakfast we ordered a fry and I can quite honestly say it was the worst layout for breakfast in all my years of travelling. We ordered cooked porridge I'm still waiting for it. The fry was okay. We had to ask for everything. Where is the tea? Where is the bread? Everything is self service which is okay if they told you were everything was. We left for an early morning hospital appointment and left our bags in the room. On return at 10am the same gentleman from earlier and the receptionist on duty were outside the main front door smoking. (I've nothing against anyone smoking) seriously though these people represent the HOTEL it's not professional. We walked up the stairs got our bags and ran. 1st stop was a little cafe down the road to get a proper breakfast to set us up for the trip back home. It's a disaster and I would not stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    The room was beautiful and the bed was really comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts. We had to carry our 6 huge bags upstairs with no help at all. If you need special assistance, I don't recommend this hotel. Also there's no place for coffee in the room, and with this price, breakfast could be included. Wi-Fi wasn't working.

    The room was beautiful and the bed was really comfortable. Everything waa clean and staff were really kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Uncomfortable i would have asked for my money back only i didnt want a argument
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window didnt open there was no stopper in the bath thats all we wanted after travelling a bath the toilet didnt flush so if we used the toilet we had to put up with the smell

    The room was ok it was clean the staff were lovely the ones that could understand me

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Brill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with double glazing as you could hear traffic but didnt mind cause we was sightseeing

    Great location !! Very clean and for an old building maintance was up to date and very stylish great location and very easy to find

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing only that the locks on the windows were broke and room got Cold during the night other agoo
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with fixing the locks on the windows iv stayed in room 22 and 23 and the locks both windows are broken. But all in all not bad will be back too stay again

    Was staying with Barry's Hotel as my daughter had appointments in temple St. What I liked the close proximity too temple St hospital. Friendly staff and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.6
    Would never stay again, very bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable, the room was very small, there was a draft coming from the window, you could hear everything from the street. The taps where loose. The breakfast was half cooked and made me feel sick so didn’t eat it. No ice at the bar. Shower very small. Couldn’t wait to get out of the hotel.

    The only thing we liked about the hotel was it was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    I wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some things in the bathroom were broken, the heat was unpredictable-the place is a bit run down and the price was much too high. No tea making facilities in the rooms-unheard of!

    The people who worked there were very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    3.3
    The electricity went off for two hours and the WiFi wouldn’t work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electricity did not work The WiFi didn’t work The carpet was horribly stained We were offered no discount or anything else for the electricity not working Definitely not worth €88!!

    The porridge was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, nice and friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room to the street, so it was quite noisy. I have a light sleep and always earplugs with me, so it was okay.

    The hotel is very good located. Close to some attractions and shopping streets, very safe area even in the late hours. We went everywere by foot. The room was not the newest, but the bathroom was renovated and the old furniture has its special charm. I had not booked breakfast in advance but we gave it a try and for 5EUR p.p. it was good so we took it all the other days, too. The staff was very friendly and helpful anytime. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    Nice position, but that's all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of stuff. When we arrived, there was a brown spot in the bathtub: like if there was brown water on it. The reception apologized once we told them that, but I still have to mention it. The room was pretty cold, and the heating system was not really responsive when we tried to raise the temperature (below 20 degrees in the room). A bit overpriced for what this hotel offers

    Nice position, and it is possible to take a fresh guinness at the bar downstairs and bring it upstairs to the room. The bed was large enough, and the bathroom was probably freshly renovated.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: