Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club 3 stars

Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland

#10 of 13 hotels in Drogheda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 774 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Public areas first rate, restaurant food excellent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was overheated but staff did listen and apologised. Insisted on a refund of part of stay.

    Public areas first rate, restaurant food excellent and reasonably priced. Staff fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Best hotel we havestayed in for a while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had bought gym kit! And swimwear. No other quibbles

    Setting, ambience, room size, bed comfortable, restaurant excellent, breakfast full spread. Ate in restaurant, food superb, price reasonable, portions generous. Superb pool and fantastic gym facilities.!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long lane when we walked home that night! It wasnt lit up so was black dark

    We had a family room and it was the biggest room I have ever stayed in! It had 3 big double beds and a seating area with 2 separate bathrooms, it was huge! We could walk into town, it was a bit of a treck but pleasant walk. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but grand

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    The Staff got 10/10
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs updating It is having a refurbishment at the moment Should tell you this when your booking It’s rough around the edges !

    The Staff got 10/10 Service in the restaurant was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in restaurant could have been more varied. Too many spicey courses. Would have been good if the bar had served a more varied and basic menu

    Comfortable. Clean. Staff lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay at a very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer

    Our room was 110, from the corridor to the whole bedroom presentation was 10 out of 10. I love the revamp look. We dined and had breakfast and our service and the quality of our meals was 5☆. I will so be recommending the Boyn Valley hotel to family and friends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable experience which we could recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area otherwise a very nice and good hotel.

    Staff were very good and friendly. The facilities overall are good and improving each time we go back. That bar area needs improvement.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excellent customer service in all areas of the hotel from the reception team on arrival, the bar staff, housekeeping team and the friendly check out service.

    The great service which has been lacking in lots of other Irish hotels I have stayed in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Ideal for a break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment which may bother some folk but it didnt impact on our stay.

    Lovely grounds. Friendly staff and the food was reasonably priced

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel with nice garden area to sit out & enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel and look forward to returning. Room was clean comfortable bed and breakfast was tasty..we liked the location as its away from town centre but still easy to access the lovely sights of Drogheda.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Drogheda retreat
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel cruel saying it, but breakfast was a bit chaotic. Lovely people though. Also we kept hearing a door slam late at night...intermittently.

    The gardens were lovely. Room and bathroom spacious and comfortable. Property could use some investment but very nice to visit. Food very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    ideal hotel as a base to explore the boyne valley as it is so near all the historic sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not fault a thing about our stay there as we had a great break away.

    Staff were so nice, chatty and welcoming, the hotels biggest asset. Dinner was delicious, top class, I had two divine sauces with my fish. Even though we were eating late, the staff took their time to talk to us and were so friendly and relaxed, we felt right at home. Lovely dining room. Bedroom dated but ours was in the old part that is being renovated. Nice lawn with seats n tables to sit out and enjoy a drink or chill in the evening. Leisure centre has nice pool and steam room and jacuzzi which I used. We will be returning again to this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fair to middling, could have been more choice on menu

    Bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable, staff were very friendly the food was good but menu could be extended a little bit more. I enjoyed my stay as did the rest of my family

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Bedrooms newly refurbished with disabled access bathrooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor toasting machine in breakfast room.

    Bedrooms newly refurbished with disabled access bathrooms, Served breakfast was nicely presented and generous. Setting of hotel down a tree lined avenue with extensive gardens is restful, a good place to unwind. Receptionist Damien is polite and most helpful. Location to Drogheda is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff hard-working,pleasant,and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems to be under unobtrusive renovations and will benefit from wall hangings and more occasional furniture in the public areas. This is just my personal preference and didn't detract from a very pleasurable weekend.

    Staff hard-working,pleasant,and attentive. Room very comfortable,quiet and warm. Location easily found, close to town in quiet area,short drive to tourist spots. Breakfast freshly cooked, dinner excellent. Lovely grounds to walk through.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable the breakfast was lovely fabulous pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable but scruffy has not been painted in a while,had food in the restaurant I had fish an chip's the fish could have sat in your hand so small an frozen chips disappointing to say the least.

    Bed was comfortable the breakfast was lovely fabulous pool area an friendly staff ,an beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    We had a late 'Value of the day' booking, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a late 'Value of the day' booking, which obviously meant the oldest rooms in the country club. Some love & attention needed here. So having 'special deals' don't mean getting value accommodation. The front part of the hotel looked inviting & modern, but after a walk down the very back of the hotel was a very different story.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.3
    Staff member on checkout very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff member on check in not so much. Room smelled damp and was very tired, when I said to reception was told would need to pay €10 for new room in new wing. Disappointing tbh.

    Staff member on checkout very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee @ breakfast wasn't very hot & by the time breakfast come it was cold.

    I had tea the following morning @ breakfast & it was perfect. Lovely hotel in good location. Nice pub restaurant on way into Drogheda about 10 mins walk from hotel if you fancied a change of scene. Not so far to train station & great for trip to Dublin. Gym & swimming pool on site. Very enjoyable quiet stay..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.2
    horri
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alas the beauty of the outside of the hotel was good, the hotel rooms were terrible! The rooms are tatty, out dated, the carpets worn and ill fitting, the bed was like sleeping on the floor - in fact the floor would have been better! The numbers on the doors had been blu-tacked over an old number... The food was very expensive and not very good at all! When I checked out I wasn't asked if I had a good stay, just a comment I will email you your invoice. HIGHLY disappointed!

    The location and surroundings were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Great staff comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff are exceptional. They made fuss of my daughter for her birthday and nothing is a trouble for them. Rooms are spacious & bathroom large too. Very comfortable. The grounds are lovely too. Swimming pool a great addition.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable on the whole. Lots to do and see in the locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Signs of renovations which did not lessen the enjoyment. Big container truck in view outside our window. Also French bus left early in morning. Driver had to have radio switched up to a high volume

    Great spacious beds and bathrooms. Breakfast excellent. Terrific location, lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t know the tennis court and swimming pool shut at 7. We arrived at 6. The lockers in the swimming pool were broken and dirty

    Excellent friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.0
    Enjoyable but slightly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The strange layout of the hotel, off hand staff at reception, the serious limitation of foods in the Continental breakfast and the ongoing renovations.

    the bed, the bedroom and the bathroom. The surrounding gardens. the full Irish breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    If we had had a front room it would have been perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few company vans parked outside our window which spoilt the view and they left early so woke us up.

    Great hotel with excellent surroundings and very friendly staff. Tasty food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Large beautiful grounds, welcoming excellent staff, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a way out of the city centre but they wouldn't have such lovely grounds if they were closer

    Large beautiful grounds, welcoming excellent staff, great facilities available, great value for money as we got a last minute deal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    We had to change rooms as the sink was broken and then my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms as the sink was broken and then my reservation for dinner was not there and we were given another couples table and felt uncomfortable about the way that the situation was handled. Big wait time between courses for dinner too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable and good location hotel staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been a little more modern but was clean and tidy.

    The staff were friendly and very welcoming. The room was comfy and the breakfast and evening meals were great. Will definitely be going back. Really had a great weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel has beautiful gardens, a great restaurant with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has beautiful gardens, a great restaurant with terrace and a well equipped gym with pool. The rooms are beautifully renovated and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    It was my daughters birthday when we arrived for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my daughters birthday when we arrived for our stay. They made such a fuss over her and there was a beautiful card and dessert left in our room. It was a lovely gesture and very appreciated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel for an overnight stay or maybe a little longer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed overnight with a group of friends travelling through Ireland on our motorbikes. Really friendly welcome, decent food in the bar and our rooms were clean and tidy with all the expected facilities. Nice location amongst its own grounds and gardens. Our ferry departure was changed, meaning we had to leave before breakfast, however, the receptionist arranged some cereal, tea and coffee to be available before we left. Would return and recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A delightfully Irish country club experience. Off the beaten path but easily accessible with car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it all. They might consider putting some tables and chairs on the lawn for guest outdoor enjoyment.

    This hotel is a dream. Rooms/bath recently remodeled. Beautiful. 5 Star room and bath with divine tub. The hotel exudes charm and grace and is very well looked after. Stayed here twice I like it so much. We had rental car so it was a great option for easy Dublin airport access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Nicest place we stayed in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with everything. Comfortable, well laid out bedroom, very spacious modern bath, nice dining room with pretty good, reasonably priced food, good breakfast, excellent staff, nice grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value near Dublin airport
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under renovation which is probably why the price was low. We stayed in an renovated wing which was OK.

    Beautiful, quiet setting well off the road on a long driveway. The staff arranged sandwiches even though the kitchen was closed. The included breakfast was as good as any restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded exceptions ... the grounds, the staff, the room, and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we departed at 6:00am, we did not get to do the included breakfast. Some sort of "early bird" take-out breakfast would have been much appreciated.

    Rooms, staff and grounds were wonderful. Easy access to Dublin airport for our next-day flight. Wish we would have realized earlier how the Battle of the Boyne area has been upgraded since we first visited it many years ago. We also had a nice dinner in the restaurant, as well as a nightcap in the adjoining bar. Good stuff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean, lovely & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is I only had one small towel in the room on arrival. Everything else great.

    Clean, lovely & helpful staff. Comfortable beds, good food. Allowed me to check in early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place with great friendly staff. Would stay there again if visiting Ireland but for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we were unable to stay longer.

    Even though breakfast isn’t usually served until 8.00 at the weekend it was provided for us at 7.00 as we had to leave for the airport. Dinner was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful in the dining room and at reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, amenities, food couldn't have been better. We didn't leave hotel ground's. Even though having researched area there is plenty to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice enough stay. Health club needs work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was 2 singles put together badly. A big lump in the join. No currency exchange facility. Staff on reception were more than helpful helping us find some though. Many thanks.

    The breakfast and staff are lovely. Quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Overall very good, Room very comfortable great bed.All the staff very friendly and help full. Bit of work going on in the leisure centre changing rooms not a problem. Gardens and surrounding area very well kept. Were there to visit New grange and found it very convenient, girl at reception gave us very detailed directions. Would recommend highly and would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay for visiting the local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was lovely, it was spacious, with a huge and comfortable bed and had a good ensuite. It was very quiet. We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal with good service. Breakfast was good as well. We would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room keys wouldnt work after we had checked in so we had to go to reception to fix them.

    The staff were very friendly and happy. The location was good, breakfast was okay, the actual hotel was very clean and some beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffe at breakfast was cold waitress and rest of food excellent so did not bother saying anything told, at reception, night bar stayed open as long as we like (we arrived after midnight from an unexpected funeral) had one refreshing drink and before we were finished the bar lady said goodnight and disappeared. There2 to 3 others not a major problem just conflicting info

    room swimming pool bar breakfast 95% excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    All staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    All staff were very friendly and helpful My room was spotless,with a quiet environment.The view from my room and the grounds were so peaceful I had such a good sleep-important as I had an exam the next day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my wedding their 23 years ago and it brought back so many great memories. The staff were so lovely and friendly and the new rooms are beautiful. I loved the textures and just had the loveliest times and the best sleep i have had in so so long.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of outside seating. Grounds are beautiful and I would have lije to sit outside more to enjoy them!!

    Everything!! Staff, food and drink all wonderful. Great customer service!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in quiet and comfortable surroundings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor and furniture a little dated, tired looking. Heating not working in my room but staff swiftly brought a radiator. Pool facilities also in need of an upgrade/refresh.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious evening meal and tasty breakfast.Very quiet and peaceful setting, aided a great night's sleep, bed comfortable too. Use of pool facilities a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Guinness.

    The bed was fine, although when I went to get a shower the mechanical device was broken, really old bathroom equipment. The breakfast was tasteless, scrambled eggs made with water not milk, cheap sausages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely rooms - roll out the renovation to the older parts for perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little shabby in communal/older areas of the building. The bar was a bit tired but nice staff and friendly service.

    Lovely room. Fantastic ensuite. Other communal areas in need of refurb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    I already sent a email to you the room I was give the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old rooms need to be brought up to standard and update website it's very misleading there may be 12 acres of grounds but not gardens as this was one of the reasons I booked this hotel we were looking forward to nice long walks in gardens but not so

    I already sent a email to you the room I was give the first night of my stay was not a room I would be happy or proud to put any guest of mine if it was in my house. A lot of things wrong with room my husband even noticed them and he usually wouldn't comment on room they did give me a better room the 2 night also it said on website there was 12 acres of gardens this was one of the reasons I booked there was no 12 acres there might have been at one time only houses built around hotel you would walk garden in less then 5 minutes we were looking forward to walking around 12 acres very disappointed. I always book breaks with booking.com ye were also more expensive then hotel website. The staff at hotel very nice and helpfull Lauren at desk who sorted out another room I would not stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Rooms were very well decorated and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing electrical worked in the room the next morning as the card reader wasn't accepting the card. Had to get the maid to use her card and open the door on return from breakfast. Bar area needs modernization.

    Rooms were very well decorated and modern. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    would have loved to stay an extra night!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a lovely new room with queen size bed, very comfy. Lovely bathroom. All the staff in the Hotel were very pleasant and helpful from the bar staff breakfast room staff and reception staff. Would definitely recommend and return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Easter treat break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Judy a few little pointers that could be looked. .A hook in bathroom could be put on. We had an issue with shower but it was checked straight away. But it reoccured again next day. Just check the showers more often

    The rooms were so spacious . Breakfast selection great.. We had dinner on two evenings and it was superb..Could not fault it there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice, relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked old fashioned and basic. The lighting could have been brighter. There was a slight unpleasant odour coming from the bathroom.

    The breakfast was lovely. The staff during check-in and check out was lovely. Pleasant and made me feel welcomed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    A well needed rest where there was peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    The staff are lovely nothing is too much trouble, when we were given our room whoever was in there before us had been smoking the staff moved us immediately and were really sorry for any inconvenience, (this was not the hotels fault it was down to an ignorant guest) Bed really comfortable and food very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, new rooms are nice apart from TV location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The refurbished rooms are nice, but all have their TV’s on the wall over the bathroom door, making them unconformable to watch. The rooms are not that big, so you either have to lay on your back on the bed to watch it, or crick you neck to watch in the chair. I ended up moving into one of the older rooms so I could enjoy a bit of TV. Not what you need when you are a business traveller. Sort this out before you end up doing all the other rooms. If all rooms are completed like this, I will not be staying again sorry.

    Great hotel, new rooms are nice apart from TV location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room allotted smelled of smoke, Reception very understanding Nd changed room immediately.

    It was an overnight stay. Hotel has and continues to be updated. Location was excellent for our purpose, check in very friendly Receptionist, Laura. Room very modern, clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff, rooms and food. Pool a little dated in the changing areas etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and corridors have obviously all been refurbished and were fabulous but the bar and restaurant areas are very old and dated, need refurbished too! I',m sure this is in the plan!

    The staff were excellent, we were travelling with our 9 year old boy with special needs and they could nt have been more helpful, friendly and professional, especially Jade the receptionist and all the bar, restaurant staff! Food was beautiful in the Terrace Bistro also!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    A tolerable hotel with good potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and worn out looking (tatters curtains, stained arm chair, etc) The bed was extremely uncomfortable. A refresh is needed to make it better.

    The food was good, and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable, we were made feel so welcome by all we met there. Well done!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not fault it in any way.

    The hotel was excellent all round - beautiful location, fabulous room, really friendly & helpful staff, exceptional breakfast and extremely good value for money. We would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    A short but pleasant stay that met with all our requirements. We would certainly stay here again.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the bathroom was extremely hot. A warning sign should be in place. Especially as it is always a mystery how to work the shower and /or bath. Likewise the towel rail, which was also very hot when touched.

    The breakfast was lovely. A great variety of foods were on offer. Loved the kippers especially. The room very comfortable and spacious. Bed extremely comfy. Lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    everyone was great the rooms are lovely really comfy bed big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much

    everyone was great the rooms are lovely really comfy bed big flat screen tv bathroom is great too ,the staff all very courteous and efficient,nice grounds diidnt use leisure centre food was fab all I all a great hotel..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    Food very good breakfast poor greasy and sausages half cooked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar very quite no athmospere at all also no bottles of bud which is all my partner drinks

    Food very good breakfast poor greasy and sausages half cooked

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Lovely newly refurbished bedroon but liked the original...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly refurbished corridors appeared very dark and drawn in. Couldn't fault anything else.

    Lovely newly refurbished bedroon but liked the original breakout spaces Staff made our stay very pleasant. Pool facilities were terrific and lots to visit in surrounding area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steam room in the leisure centre was out of order, but other than that the facilities were great.

    The bedroom and en-suite were bigger than expected and had been recently renovated to a high standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Nice to stay in a good hotel set in a large 'garden' only a very short drive into the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sink had a leek but this was soon fixed. The staff at breakfast were great and everything was to a good standard except that the kippers were not fresh - probably taken from deep freeze - and very chewy! No 'sock drawers' - good space in the wardrobe but where do we put the undies and socks?

    Modern, clean facilities. Very welcoming and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    the food was very good with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    the food was very good with great service. the breakfast was fresh made and very filling. The only down side was the weather which meant we couldn't go for a walk in the grounds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful family reunion weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely decorated hotel with a mixture of old and modern. They are in the middle of refurbishing the whole building. The bedrooms were in the modern extension and were spacious, tastefully decorated and the bed was huge and comfortable. The hotel has a swimming pool and sauna and jacuzzi which were in a separate building. These were adequate. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. The bar area was good with a choice of food and drinks (we only had a drink here). All staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't take our car so we had to book taxis into Drogheda and Bettystown but this wasn't too expensive (8€ - 12€).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    It was a nice break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A s it was New Years Eve I think the hotel could have made a bigger effort to crate a party mood. One singer who finished at 00.15, no party paraphanalia not a oppoer not a glass of prosecco.

    Food was excellant and the staff werre very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Great base to explore the historical Boyne Valley area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As noted in a number of places, the Hotel is currently being refurbished. In places it is clear that it needs this but it will be a highly attractive location when refurbishment is completed.

    Good location, great staff and hospitality. Nothing was a problem and bar/restaurant staff were highly professional and engaging. Exactly what I was looking for in a weekend break to the Boyne Valley.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    An ok place with attentive staff but falling down on some important areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit lukewarm - beans and mushrooms inedible for this reason - served on a cool plate. No one asked if I was happy with everything after breakfast or when I was leaving.

    Bar food was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and will be better after the renovations are complete
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation works were ongoing with the bedrooms getting a revamp. Mine was a bit tired.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Good selection of beers and the bar food was very good. Beautiful grounds but too wet to walk while I was there

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.0
    The old part of the hotel and it's rooms look like something from "The Shinning"
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the old part of the hotel. Very dated and worn out looking furniture. Smell of smoke in the room. Two uneven sized single beds pushed together to make a double.

    Breakfast, Location and staff were all excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Front of house staff lovely, room spotless clean but hotel in general extremely dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in one of the old rooms which along with majority of the hotel badly needs to be renovated & updated, very worn in a lot of places. Was ok for 1 night stay but wouldn’t have liked to be staying any longer. Was fairly noisy, walls must be paper thin as could lot of noise from the rooms next door, don’t think it was worth the money

    Staff v friendly & breakfast very good. Although very dated the room was spotless clean & bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little further from the town than we would have liked, but still a lovely stay

    Very clean, lovely, big bedrooms. The staff couldn’t do enough and the breakfast was delicious! Couldn’t have asked for more

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: