Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Breaffy Woods Hotel 3 stars

Claremorris Road, Castlebar, Ireland

#11 of 16 hotels in Castlebar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing girl's spa break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very few shampoos/conditioners/body wash. Service in the Healy Mac restaurant was very slow but food was good.

    Large room and close to castlebar town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Mr shane dempsey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have none loved my stay

    The room was perfect for 5 the pool was great the food was 5star also the woods and football pitches was perfect for all of us to enjoy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very very warm made trying to sleep difficult Bar on the second floor very strange idea with toilets on the ground floor. No patio area outside to sit down and have a drink in the evening

    Beds very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    A family friendly hotel - definitely worth staying at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out the next morning was a little slow. There was only one person running the front desk. Several of us had to stand in line waiting for a few other families got their room situation fixed. It would have been nice to have another staff person help her.

    We enjoyed our staff. We loved that it was a very kid/family friendly Hotel. We would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    3.3
    Very Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to an issue with the water system , a tractor was needed to empty some tanks at the back of the hotel every morning . However on the Easter weekend this tractor performed this task at 6:30 in the morning , and woke us all , the vents on the window are broken so might not as well have a window to keep out noise. Complained to reception and to be fair they were very nice. Next next morning tractor arrived 7:00 (Easter Sunday) Easter Monday 7 again . I do believe the reception staff were very helpful and tried their best , but do not think any manager cared and at no point tried to contact us . On leaving I asked for the manager , was told he was busy , and would call me . To date no call from the manager . Obviously got the money so why bother .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    First holiday with a baby. PERFECT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not that I didn’t like it but it is a few minutes drive outside Castlebar not directly in the town so probably not suitable if you’ve no car! That’s my only complaint!

    Was our first family trip as a trio with an 8 month old baby! My god I’ve never visited a more baby/child friendly hotel! Kids and babies everywhere! If your a family like us that enjoys a little drink in the bar in the evening with some entertainment for the kids this is your spot! All the mammys & daddy’s relaxing while kids play together! Beautiful location & grounds and huge room! Food in restaurant is amazing too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Pretty good, a few additions would have made it great and had me promoting the hotel among friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the restaurant(woods) was extremely disappointing the first night. Burger came with a few chips, very poorly presented and tasteless and cold before completing.my wife's meal was equally poor. No fridge in room although we pre-booked with an infant child - fridge would keep milk fresh.

    Kids entertainment was an unexpected bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Kids had a ball, meaning we had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choice was very limited. Same menu all weekend. Coffee was very poor quality.

    Kids club was great. Pool was good size. Rooms were spacious and loads of outdoor activities available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    The staff were excellent & the hotel was beautiful, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent & the hotel was beautiful, very clean & the bar had a great atmosphere. would 100% recommend to anyone visiting Castlebar to stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    The staff where the most friendly I have come across.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave.

    The staff where the most friendly I have come across. The laid back nature of the hotel and our experience added to the quality of the stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Good but have to leave one hotel to go to another hotel to get breakfast or tea or coffee very very
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    We had to walk across to the hotel to get breakfast raining had to drive across to the hotel with family cause no food served in winter there very poor and not even a tea or coffee to be had poor for the money won't happen again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very dated could do with a revamp. As its a bit pricey for one night Residents bar closed too early last time i stayed it was opened late

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A darts competition was taking place during our stay and a lot of drunk people in the hotel reception and bar upon our arrival and during our return to the hotel that night. No facilities in hotel to sit and relax during our stay, except our room. WiFi was also not available in our room. Key cards were also deactivated very early on day of departure. Had to walk to reception to reactivate them. Several rooms had this issue.

    Friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say.

    The room was huge with comfy beds. The front desk and bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool and leisure facilities were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    Girl on reception on check in extremely friendly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Returned to property at 21.30 to be told only available food were pizza s in the bar Restaurant closed and no room service available

    Girl on reception on check in extremely friendly & helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Truly a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breaffy House Resort is a genuinely fantastic place to stay. Great facilities & even greater staff. You will always find a welcome smile & great facilities. This was our 4th visit & we are never disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.0
    Stay elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was freezing cold. The hotel was huge with no atmosphere. The door to our room shook every time the outer corridor door opened also there didn't appear to be any soundproofing which meant we slept badly. The food in bar was poor quality.

    Nothing special stands out. The bed was comfortable but small double.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    I would stay here again but not at the price I paid and I would check out other hotels first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a long walk to reception....through dark, cold and dreary corridors...our room while comfy had some kind of water heater Ibn it which constantly purred...also the light in the bathroom kept flickering.

    The double room that I had booked was quite spacious...very warm and cosy....had two extra single beds in it and overall was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    there was mold in the carpet in the hallway and it smelt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was mold in the carpet in the hallway and it smelt really bad. When we went to leisure center we were told to sign the book but we would need to wait until people left before we could go in. We looked through the spy glass on the outside of our bedroom door and had a full view of our room from outside the door. We had to stuff the spyglass with tissue before changing for bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    We will most certainly be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything from check in to check out was fantastic. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Our room was lovely. Facilities are excellent!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Loved it there ,comfy stay ideal for families ,close to castle bar for some shopping ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Playgrounds could do with a little updating was very muddy with the bark underneath as a safety measure ...

    kids loved the fairy garden and the green space could play football ect ect play ground .. Breakfast was lovely ...rooms comfy ...staff friendly ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    Noisy, unclean bedrooms with a extremely cold swimming pool. Really needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, with two young children, I was allocated a room with a tray of beer and glasses directly outside the bedroom door. Likewise the room smelt awful with mix of alcohol and cigarettes. I tried to phone reception but the phone was broken. We all walked back to reception and I pleaded to stay in the house hotel, offering to pay extra. To no avail. Instead we were put on the third floor alongside the lift. The ding dong of the lift went on all night. The noise was unbearable with young dancers unsupervised on the corridors until 1am. I got up on a few occasions to ask them to move from the corridor. The swimming pool was absolutely freezing, the steam room appears to held together with Polly filler, furthermore it has an opening at the end of the glass door to leave all the steam out!!!. Built in 2003 it is desperately in need of renovation. I would not recommend staying in the hotel. If you have a choice stay in the house.

    The food in the bar of Breafy House Hotel was fabulous. My children loved the Korma. Staff were also very child friendly in the bar/restaurant. The also enjoyed the grazy golf and play area outside the house hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Good family location with plenty to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mid term means the hotel was very busy. Lots of families so the pool was busy, breakfast restaurant was busy. Corridors were busy. Big dance competition on site had lots of groups staying. These kids/teens seemed to be unsupervised a lot of the time and were in and out of rooms, doors banging and congregating outside rooms. This was not a fault of the hotels. Was difficult for them to manage.

    A good destination for families. Plenty to do on site. 2 playgrounds, crazy golf, a football pitch, Astro turf, walk in woods and fairy garden. There was a kids club and evening entertainment but we didn't avail of these. Good breakfast with plenty of variety. Pool was great. Castlebar very close and a good option for meals out and for a day out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    I don't think I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pipes rattled when the shower was in use, we were in a room with a disabled bathroom which was unexpected. It was like a disabled area in a shopping centre. I have no problem with this apart from the fact that the sink was tiny, no toilet roll holder, noisy and a horrible smell. I complained and was told that the hotel was booked out and would be moved the following day if a room became available. Still waiting! Breakfast finished at 1030 and at 1010 there was no scrambled egg and would be no more cooked and I had to exchange items for 'less burned' items.

    The location was great, a country side resort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two different hotels together, one really nice, the other just average. Nice one had everything but the other one had only expensive breakfast, no restaurant or bar open.

    Area of hotel, park around the hotel grounds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    hope to come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was only very average, have stayed in a lot of hotels but this was poor. Other than the breakfast it was a lovely hotel, would stay here again but would go in to Castlebar town for breakfast rather than pay 30 euro in hotel for it, not worth it.

    Beautiful location, very reasonable in price, staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall enjoyed the stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant open, bar had private function,walking back and forth to house Hotel in rain with child as result and early night as packed due to wedding. phone not working in room. No bath in room.

    Staff excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Next time we will book the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable The fact there was no room service for breakfast and no bar or restaurant in the woods hotel . Seasonal which we only found out on arrival. We didn't mind walking to the house for breakfast, the only down fall was the bad weather. Breakfast and mains where super

    The staff at reception where very helpful and manorly especially the ladie who checked us in. The grounds are wonderful between the house and the woods hotel. Breakfast and dinner where fab at the house

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Ideal location and great for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't that comfortable and very squeaky with any little turn, which wasn't ideal with a young baby asleep in travel cot next to it.

    We were travelling with a young baby and the large room (1006) had kitchen facilities which made sterilizing bottles and storing baby food very easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    Cheap and not so cheerful 😤
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was in a separate hotel. Had to walk to this on a wet & windy night. The also was the case for the swimming area, not part of hotel. Had to walk, afterwards children had wet hair after the pool and had to walk back to our hotel in the rain & wind. This would not be a hotel for older people & less people mobile. Noisy at night time with children running up and down hallway shouting and playing games after 11pm. Very hard to put out children to sleep with outside noise of others being unsupervised.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    A hotel with no bar or food is not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and bar were closed in the hotel and you had to walk to the nearby hotel to access these facilities. NO room service even though there was a room service menu - had to walk to the other hotel for food. This was not known in advance and was very poor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.8
    Very Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we called down for room service they told us that we could pick it up at the bar ourselves. They also wouldn't allow us to pick from the menu that was in our room and said we could only choose pizza and /or chips

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.0
    The location was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered room services with our kids in the evening. After an hour and half we still had not received our food. I phoned to ask where it was only to be told that the hotel didn't do room services and my husband would have to walk to the other hotel to collect the food.

    The location was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    If I was going back again I'd stay in breaffy hse preferred bar and grounds at that side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was for disabled persons but maybe cause I asked for ground floor, our room was just above where bins are kept and it was noisy early in morning with them been shifted about as room was so warm had to keep windows open a bit so heard all noise

    The food was good, friendly staff very clean, lovely grounds at breaffy house plenty parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Overpriced but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid €149 for the room and it wasn't worth it. The room was nice but basic. Also there was a patio door that didn't lock correctly. We rang reception and asked if someone could come to look at it. We waited 15 minutes and no one arrived. We had to just leave it as we were attending a wedding there and they were about to serve the meal.

    The grounds of the hotel were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smokers standing just outside entrance to hotel so you have to walk through cloud of smoke to get in and out of hotel

    Friendly staff spacious hotel nice grounds. Lovely playgrounds and fairy garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service at Healy Macs. Smoking area at front entrance to Hotel. No record of my booking at Reception despite confirming by phone prior to arrival.

    Family rooms were good size. Property well maintained. Leisure centre staff friendly. Wrestling Night for families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Everything was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much I didn't like but the heat in the bedrooms at night time was far too warm. We had the windows open from we arrived until we left 2 days later!

    Everything was fantastic.. so child friendly great entertainment for children, and the staff were very helpful! Very clean room with comfy beds. Great trip!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    we really enjoyed it and hope to come back again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we liked the freshly made pancakes and the entertainment in the bar in the evening . It was a location for visiting other places . there were lots of activities for children and the swimming pool was good .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    We will be returning same time next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was very basic and not a lot of choice

    This hotel is a must for families with young children, the kids activities were the best I have ever experienced. I stayed at the Woods, I suppose you would stay at the main hotel if you did not have kids. The staff are amazing, really going above and beyond they are very experienced. Our 4 year old granddaughter said it was better than Disney (it actually was not) she enjoyed herself so much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Literally the perfect place for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is expensive and not particularly nice (food poisoning x 2).

    It's like hotel where kids bring their grown ups. Everything centred around keeping the kids happy with extensive activities arranged throughout the day. Evening entertainment in the bar was hugely popular with our kids. Pool is very clean although only a very small 'shallow' end for the smaller kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.4
    Ok, will not be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had no idea who we were when we arrived. Then put us in a room above the smoking area with a newborn baby. We asked to move and we're put in a part of the hotel that seemed closed. Fire doors missing panels of glass, staff lovelyamd very helpful but clearly undervalued/lacking support. The swimming pool is a five min walk from the hotel itself which is a pain with small kids. This is basically a worse hotel than the posh one up the road and clearly doesn't receive as good a budget or much love. We paid less elsewhere on our travels, not value for money.

    Fairy garden a lovely touch in the grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the bar in the Breaffy Woods. Would be nice to have a wee bar/ snug away from kids entertainment. This entertainment was geared at very young kids. My kids aged 12 and 10 didn't want to go.

    Food and atmosphere in the Breaffy House Hotel was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    The kids club was brilliant & the whole place was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids club was brilliant & the whole place was so child orintated. There was free juice all weekend for kids & on arrival at bedroom there was a fruit shoot each & an activity book😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Great family hotel with loads to keep kids entertained. Just don't eat here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dirty. The food is the worst hotel food I've ever had it was horrific inedible disgusting.

    The kids entertainment is second to none it really is a family orientated hotel the swimming pool is fab

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    love it will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything one little thing would be bottled water in room as we had small children and a laundry bag which is odd not to have in a room but everything else is first class

    Great for a family break good food ,great staff,great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    2.9
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff in particular the man that checked us in on arrival was so poor and not one bit welcoming. I had requested a fridge for my baby's milk but was told there was none for me - that they were already let out to other families and I would have to book v early in order to meet those requests. I said is two months ago not enough and apparently not. It was his manner was just so rude. Will never stay there again because of this. I also requested interconnecting rooms but was told at the desk this also can't be met cos there's over 400 staying tonight. Again, why could they not have simply phoned or emailed me in advance. It was as if he was looking at this for the first time. Rooms weren't clean enough to my liking and there was a constant buzzing noise all through the night which I figure was coming from a panel (locked press ) in the room. Vending machines were empty and cigarette Machine was also empty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    VERY GOOD ENJOYABLE AND RELAXING
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE STAFF WERE SO FRIENDLY AND INVITING EVERYWHERE IN BREAFY WOODS. THE SWIMMING POOL IS BRILLIANT AND CATERS FOR ALL AGES AND ABILITIES. FAMILY ROOM WAS ADEQUATE FOR THE FOUR OF US DIDNT HAVE A MEAL THERE BUT BREAKFAST WAS GREAT

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Tip top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff excellent entertainment for children and adults ,,, great location to all mayos sights ,,, and the grounds of resort have beautiful walks ,,, the spa and pool are great also A1

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.8
    Great for kids:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went wit our 2 small children & they give us a room with no bath and then we asked to be moved and the room we were moved to the bathroom smelt strongly of urine:( wasn't happy with our room at all

    Great for kids:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    The food was brutal bad my wife got pasta an it was a plate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was brutal bad my wife got pasta an it was a plate of cold pasta with some tomatoe Sauce put on top and a bit of cheese threw on it. Not a good menu at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Lovely family friendly hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another toaster and pancake maker would be useful during busy times, there were long queues for both in morning especially pancake maker.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definetely be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the facilities, entertainment and the staff were aĺl amazing. I will be going back next year. But for longer. This place is just everything you need for a family holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic family stay in breaffy woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in our room was shocking! No air-con. The window only opened a tiny crack. I managed to get the last fan in reception or we wouldn't have survived. The shower head is attached too high on the wall and just a shower curtain which isn't great for kids. The floor was saturated with water. Very dangerous. Might I suggest a second pancake machine?-we queued for 25mins both mornings for a pancake!

    The hotel is very very family oriented which was great for my 3 kids 12,10,3. The kids club looked great but mine are not into kids clubs but the other kids seemed to really enjoy it. Breakfast was busy but plentiful, the pancake machine was a real hit with the kids. Our room was spotless. Extremely clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Grounds are pretty and well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor smelt bad. Noisy in the mornings. No room service for breakfast.

    Grounds are pretty and well kept. Great for young families. Food was good. Great facilities and acivities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was very family orientated and friendly, service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the bar was only alright, it was grand but could be a lot better. Also the rooms badly need air conditioning, way too warm even with a window open.

    The hotel was very family orientated and friendly, service was good and facilities were clean, nice leisure centre also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Location beside Breaffy House Hotel where we were attending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in delayed until 4pm (website stated check in from 3pm) as room was not ready when we arrived at 3.40pm Room was very hot and the only window was a ground floor sliding door (we couldn't leave it open for security reasons)

    Location beside Breaffy House Hotel where we were attending a wedding Nice grounds and walks available

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breaffy Woods hotel was more family orientated (kids entertainment in the bar in the evening), but you could go over to Breaffy House hotel. Would have been good to know prior to booking.

    The rooms were nice and it was lovely to have a pool and spa so close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant on site facilities for kids, nice pool, astro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was very poor, disappointing. Only thing that let hotel down.

    Brilliant on site facilities for kids, nice pool, astro pitch and playgrounds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    well worth a visit we defititely will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Staff were lovely. Very spacious room. There was lots to do on the grounds for kids if the weather wasnt great didnt have to go far. swimming crazy golf fairy trail playground outdoor soccer pitch. Very entertaining kids shows in the evenings with face painting and balloon making available also. Not far from castlebar or westport. Really have thought of everything. Lovely indoor play place funster nearby kids loved it staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.8
    Room was sub standard, grubby,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised the standard of room meet 4* standard-very poor Disappointed with food and response to our concern when queried

    Room was sub standard, grubby,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for families with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a bit expensive every day. Not enough waiting staff in the bar in the evening to deal with the amount of orders. Not their fault. The girls were great & worked well under the pressure.

    This hotel is perfect for families with small children. The children are made feel so welcome and the entertainment is geared towards them. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Children friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one person on reception desk at book in time and the que was way too long. But she handled it in a professional and calm manner.

    Friendly staff Food was amazing Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice family location with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lay out of the bar is very poor disco for children but nearly half the bar has no view of the dance floor and therefore no view of your children. Also a lot of families choose to have bar food. The bar was completely unprepared with a wait of over 35 minutes for our food the first night. Menu very boring and food poorly presented 1/2 pounder and chips looked like it came from the chipper and was just thrown on the plate don't often get to eat out with small children was hoping for more. More could be made of the outside facilities fairy garden could be spread through the wooded area make maps and make an adventure of finding them. Also some marked walks nice to get out during the day with kids without having to travel and to be safe from traffic!

    Staff very friendly and considerate were more than helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    it was so child friendly it was a dream for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the evening menu was very limited

    it was so child friendly it was a dream for us. night entertainment for kids was superb and the pizza deal til midnight was a great idea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    One or two nights is enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't up to much. The staff at the bar and the restaurant didn't try very hard to accommodate our coeliac child. Her options were very limited.

    The staff at reception were remarkable. They went above and beyond to provide information for us. And we're fantastic with our children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Fun for all the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rip in carpet in our bedroom.(3014) Was a bit of a hazzard for our youngest son he tripped twice. Luckly he did not get hurt.

    Great fun for the children. Fairy village was excellent. Kids entertainment in bar was brilliant.food in bar was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Food perfect lovely breakfast well served and pancakes big hit with the boys very tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean very good with family friendly staff great with kids. Pool was fun would of liked to have something for kids in it but OK The boys love the water spray??

    We were made very welcome at front deck and glad to help you out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    great for the kids, but a horrible smell in our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a horrible musty smell which was particularly bad in the corner by my bed. It really detracted from our stay

    Very family friendly, the pool was great and it was good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locked out of room 3 times, staff on friday phoned me 4 times asking for additional 70euro that had already been paid.....she said her manager wanted her to ring me again. Extended our stay by one night as the kids loved the hotel only to get called the next day by reception to ask why we were still in the hotel.spent over 1k sterling to be chased for 70 euro

    Location. Pool and spa staff were great. Really nice. 2 receptionists were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Family friendly and tasty food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting far too long for meal when it gets busy. They don't seem to have your details through check in as I had to tell them the amount of payment and that breakfast was included

    Plenty to eat in the restaurant for breakfast, free children's activities on site, playground,swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Family friendly - but at a cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kids club have face painting and nail painting which you have to pay €2 for each. We weren't told this when they informed us of the kids club. also, there is a toy and sweet stale set up outside of the bar for the duration of the kids club. I don't think it's a good idea as the kids just want to spend their time out there looking for sweets!

    The kids club was very good, as it was in the bar of the hotel so the parents could stay with the kids and enjoy food/drink. There is a brilliant little fairy village in the grounds of the hotel for the kids, and they can leave a little letter for the fairies in the fairy post box.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Amazing from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing my boys loved the pool and the entertainment at night!

    Amazing place gorgeous all round from the play parks to the Fairy Village!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Good hitel for kids disappointed with food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate one evening in the bar & there was garlic all over my burger which I didn't ask for nor was it on the menu to be on the burger very disappointed & when I asked a staff member was our main course going to be much longer as we waited 35 minutes the girl forgot to check & forgot about our main course disappointed with this.

    Great hotel for children with captain jacks show playgrounds swimming pool all was great .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is missing in not just this hotel but a lot of family rooms throughout the country, a simple step stool in the bathroom to help toddlers reach the Hugh sinks to brush their teeth or wash their hands.

    Excellent family orientated hotel, great entertainment for kids morning & evening & loads to fill the afternoon with from fairy village to 3G pitch to the pool!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: