Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bridge House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa 4 stars

Bridge Street, Tullamore, Ireland

#9 of 12 hotels in Tullamore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 667 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Paul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property needs a make over, carpets in places threadbare, the whole place looked tired and needed to be cared for. Also a silly point but no porridge at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Wedding Reception
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was here for a wedding. The staff were extremely helpful in so many ways throughout out the whole reception. Always very obliged to help. Very friendly, and co-operative. Staff also did a great job with decorating for the wedding party. Very atmospheric. Food was superb also which ranged from starter main course and dessert. Absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Lovely night in Bridge House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The staff were lovely. The ambience in the foyer is so restful and lovely place to relax and watch the world go by. The hydro therapy pool was amazing. The food was fabulous and very good value. We had a wonderful time and will definitely go back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is more like a 5 star hotel rather than 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Perfectly situated in the heart of the town.

    The hotel is more like a 5 star hotel rather than 4.the staff are courteous and efficient. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean and with good facilities. Breakfast was great. Ten out of ten. George Kenny

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    Free cocktail voucher on arrival, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unacceptable noise levels until 4 am from room next door who were clearly intoxicated. Window in room was broken and wouldn’t open, hallway smelt musty, room was dusty. The hotel is not kept very well for a four star hotel, a little bit of maintenance like fresh paint would go a long way. Disappointing experience

    Free cocktail voucher on arrival, good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    2.9
    a real deception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very old hotel, old furniture, the lobby chairs are so dirty that you mess up your clothes. The bathroom in the room is with broken sink, non-polished and oxidized stainless steel faucets. I made the mistake of getting downstairs from the second floor (so without using the elevator) so on those stairs I found dirty carpet and moldy smell I have never seen. I think that for many years these owners have earned a profit and take them home without investing anything in the cleaning and replacement of ultra-old furniture. The price was 200 euro per night a real deception. Spa is a bad joke. The sauna does not work because it's in major repairs. swimming pool and fitness room used by Tullamore members outside the hotel. Anyway, it's unattractive. They cheated you with good-looking pictures.

    I did not like anything in this hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Rooms are massive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough car park spaces for a such beautful hotel .

    Rooms are massive. Lovely itatiluan restaurant up stairs . Cimens and dunnes stores near the hotel. Hotel central in the town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff were friendly
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a major refurb, not sure how can say 4 star luxury! The spa is pretty grim changing rooms are falling apart and pool needs major work. The bedrooms need updating our shower/bath the bottom was missing chunks of enamel the old fashioned hairdryer has turned that grim shade of yellow. Was a make up stain on one of the towels before even used it so I know wasn’t mine (I put that down and used another one) the whole place just needs updating

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything in the hotel was excellent.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch in the Bar . It was cold possibly because it was 1700 hrs. But still don't expect that service ..

    Everything in the hotel was excellent. Restaurant. Bedroom and lobby couldn't fault anything..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Suited our needs. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television service was spotty at best. Could not locate suitable channels, those that worked only did so intermittently.

    Room clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Great central location with fab facilities and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa

    Breakfast was great, staff all fab apart from spa staff, I'd give Spa a miss when we visit again. Was debs on night we stayed so very busy, hard to get to bar, we had to walk out on road and around the corner in the rain. Room next to us very noisy but I'm an insomniac so found them entertaining. Staff weren't bothered by it when leaving as i didn't really complain told them we were all young once & laughed. Would 100% return to hotel but not to spa

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, facilities, food and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have made our stay any better. That's why we keep returning!

    Friendly staff, always willing to help. Comfy extra large bed. Delicious food. Love the outdoor hot tub!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do feel the hotel could do the room up more maybe new carpert.The carpert had alot of stains on it.

    Having the balcony was so nice.Was a large balcony could sit out on.Really lovely to have.Breakfast was nice.All staff we friendly and helpful.The room was spacious too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    It was very busy at the bar and thought the staff could off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very busy at the bar and thought the staff could off been more welcoming. The restaurant were we went for our breakfast was lovely an staff were great there was a young guy with brown hair that showed us to our seat and was very welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    I loved how clean the hotel was and how nice the staff were...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could of been better not that comfortable very hard

    I loved how clean the hotel was and how nice the staff were would definitely recommend. it's very easy to get to places

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    The food , staff and hydro pool were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym facilities very run down, the changing facilities were very poor, very old. Really needs updating, as the hydro pool was lovely.

    The bar food and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing really enjoyable relaxing weekend only downfall was the lack of aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the bed to be very hard and the rooms were very warm requested a fan an there was no fans available but our window barely opened for even air to come in

    Very friendaly staff could not do enough for everyone and also leisure facilities the gym an pool are amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend to everyone to stay. Perfect mix between B&B comfort and larger hotel amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit odd but fine. We couldn’t pull up and offload our bags due to an upcoming wedding. But everything worked out and parking was complementary.

    Perfect location. Wonderful staff. Terrific experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    A mid week treat
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complete experience was perfect, from the moment I arrived I was greeted by friendly and helpful Staff. The hotel was beautifully designed and the rooms comfortable and clean. The shower was powerful and the beds Devine. I visited the leisure centre, pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. Which were nice but a little TLC is needed to update them. Non the less we really enjoyed it. We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent and two delicious cocktails in the bar before having an early night due to a very early start the following morning. Breakfast was delicious with a fabulous selection of fresh food and cooked items. I will definitely be back and happily recommend this hotel to anyone needing a central hotel for work or hospital

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Good but not quite 4star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool excellent lovely gyro outdoor pool and jacuzzi but let down with filthy grubby tiles full of tile grout. Ladies lockers inadequate no locks very smelly needs a revamp

    Pleasant staff but had to chase waitress to serve us in the bar left waiting 30 min for dinner , lovely food, lovely breakfast, pool very good room clean and tidy. Good location although loud traffic from 7 am.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    This was more of a grand building than I expected. The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no aircon in the rooms (an older building, I guess) and it didn't help that it was 30 degrees outside. Fortunately reception loaned me a fan but I had to have it switched on all night, placed as close to the bed as it would reach.

    The coffee served at breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    No air con anywhere in hotel in 30 plus degrees heat made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con anywhere in hotel in 30 plus degrees heat made for a very uncomfortable stay .The continental breakfast was uncovered and flies where landing on the food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were friendly at reception and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was two weddings and a debs night when we were there and completely took over the hotel on our first night. They were very loud and wondering all over the corridors in a drunken state.

    Staff were friendly at reception and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Staff were (as ever, it seems) pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOT AIR CONDITIONED during Ireland’s mini heat wave. I had to lug suitcases up front stairs & only then was told there’s a hard-to-find lift.

    Staff were (as ever, it seems) pleasant and helpful. Good gym (but not open till 7 am).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Nice food. Nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking. Ask reception about parking as we got clamped as we thought the one outside it was ok to park,

    Heated pool was nice if a bit old. We were lucky our room was very modern they are not all as good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested twin room with two beds pushed together which was unusual? Very difficult to open and close window in the room. Noise from building works very early in the morning. Lock on room door didn't work

    Staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our overnight stop would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was spacious. Fabulous atmosphere in the hotel with live entertainment etc. Bar good good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast excellent both mornings and room refreshed on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent both mornings and room refreshed on request! Room was perfect and spa treatment was excellent. Music in the bar was very good and a great atmosphere. We will be surely going back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the sausages were too spicy for breakfast and coffee was a bit strong. The walks are hollow and you could hear the people next door too door so I didn't sleep till after 1am

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely clean room bed very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bar staff .we were in the bar on Tuesday the 11th talking to a young couple who were very nice .I went to the bar to get a drink and the young man went straight after me .I got my drink and he was refused which we couldn't understand until he said he was a traveller and he's wife wasn't. He left it go and we finished up our drinks when a Chinese couple came into the bar not staying in the hotel I might add and were served 2pints.then to top it all 4 other none Irish came in and were also served.by this time we approached the bar again and asked for cpl more drinks and were being served until the person who refused the young man the first time came flying out from the back and swore at the barman asking him what was he doing serving us..now I don't know much about the traveling community but I do know that man sat quietly next to us for a few hours drinking he's drink paying the same money for he's drink and minding he's own business.he was quite prepared to go to he's room and not cause any trouble until I stepped in and demanded we be served. With the amount of nationalitys that were in the bar on Tuesday night not residents and were served after the bar closed you would think that this barperson would have had the decency to not single out one person. Chris

    Lovely clean room bed very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Good midlands hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think I’d stay there unless I was attending a specific event, as I like a hotel within its own grounds. I was there as s wedding guest.

    We attended a wedding there. No faults with hotel and certainly all stops were pulled out for the wedding couple.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall good hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is looking a little tired and I'm need of a refurb.

    Grand hotel in a great location. Staff were great, bed was comfortable, breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The whole experience was outstanding from the decor to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, need an area outside the main entrance for dropping off and picking up.

    The whole experience was outstanding from the decor to the friendliness of the staff. Also the location to town was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels in Ireland that we have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything !

    We had a brilliant few days in this hotel. Five star.Would recommend anyone who wanted to stay some where on route from Dublin to Galway or Westport to stay at this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The changing area needs updating. Very cramped space. Reception was downstairs from the pool so not very convient if you had a question Hairdryer was out in the public area and not private.

    The swimming pool was excellent. The Hydro pool and steam room were also very good. The changing area needs updating. Very cramped space. Reception was downstairs from the pool so not very convient if you had a question

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Nice hotel and room, good breakfast, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private parking is a short walk away around a corner and across a road.

    Right in the centre of Tullamore, includes leisure centre (but we didn’t use facilities), nice room, good breakfast. Late checkout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing wkend from start to finish
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had our wedding here on the 18/05/2018 the day was amazing the staff at the hotel couldn’t do enough for us ,the atmosphere was so relaxed,room was so comfy,food was gorgeous,this hotel exceeded our expectations can’t wait to go bk ❤️❤️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for my brothers wedding and was really impressed by the rooms, the staff and the facilities. An excellent stay but just a shame we didn't get to stay for longer, maybe next time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in the centre of town.The staff are all friendly and very helpful.They have music every night in their bar.The breakfast was good plenty of options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Hotel. Only recommendation is to get some nice speakers in the main reception area. Sound quality from the piano was awful. Also lcd info signs in the lobby are very tacky in my opinion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Had an absolute ball, really great stay, nightlife was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very old fashioned. No plugs beside the beds for phones, it's very dated, the furniture needs attention, worn looking in parts and just old.

    The Italian restaurant is absolutely fabulous, the food was amazing. Our waitress Jane was just so lovely, knew everything about the menu and made fantastic recommendations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Italian restaurant was just ok it could be a bit more exclusive and the menu a bit more Italian. Eg olives, Parmesan cheese served at the table not just put on top of the dish from the kitchen. Expensive for a very average meal. Maybe it was some of the clientele you had but breakfast was a bit of a bun fight with large families where they would come down at different times and just sit wherever they wanted without observing the seating arrangements you have in place ie waiting to be seated.

    The bed was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a very pleasent stay in a very lovely vintage hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just have a few minor annoyances. Although the Hotel is fronted onto a Shopping Centre car park (paid), the Hotel car park (free) is outside of this, down a side street, which makes it confusing to know where to park. I booked an evening meal at reception on checking in and it was not on the list when we got to the Restaurant 2 hours later. I ordered wine with my meal that didn't arrive - I had to ask for it. (It was deducted later from the bill) I ordered coffee at the end of my meal that didn't arrive -I had to ask for it. The coffee came without milk - I had to ask for it. Information on what to do in the town or where we might visit was not in the information stand at the Reception, which mainly dealt with what to see when visiting Ireland. Google had better options, like the canal walk we did. The room was too hot and even turning off the radiator and opening a window, I could not control the heat. This was only a very minor thing but it did disturb my sleep.

    I like the location of the hotel in the centre of the town and the fact that we could step out of the hotel and walk along the banks of the canal within a few minutes was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful relaxing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the experience as a whole, loved the pool and jaccuzzi we had a lovely relaxing time and even got to go into the wedding fair, so now we are considering getting married at the bridge house hotel 😁

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    The food in the Italian restaurant was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very warm even though we turned off the radiator and the window didn’t open properly.

    The food in the Italian restaurant was delicious. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    The swimmingpool and the rich breakfast were highlights at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a big celebration taking place in the hotel`s ballroom and our room was right above it. Therefore, it was really loud until early in the morning.

    The swimmingpool and the rich breakfast were highlights at our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very warm and sash window would not stay open.music was overly loud in the bar so we left early

    Staff were v friendly and helpful.location good and foyer was a lovely place to relax.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    sad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not clean old room nothing like the rooms on booking.com

    the room was old and not as clean as should be the carpet in hall had stains and bleach marks food very poor . a lot of noise outside on street at 3am a disappointment all round

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being put in your seat for breakfast crammed into corners for no reason. Staff to bring tea and coffee didn't. Cleaning down tables with spray within 2ft of where you are eating. Even if not crammed not ok.

    Comfortable love it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    It was a one night stay and it was overall a comforable one, though slightly expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small for three people, this meant the heat inside meant sleeping was difficult. The room is also a bit dated. The pool too could do with an upgrading.

    Its location, the foyer and the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    Won’t be in a hurry to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been going to the hotel for years but everything has gone downhill window was broken in my room the carpets around the hotel real old and shabby the food is not great in the restaurant I had better in supermacs the next day the hotel really needs to be revamped. I couldn’t believe I was in the bridge house they have let their standards go

    Staff are friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rang hotel directly to enquire as to availability, receptionist was very harried on phone and was quite abrupt. Told me rooms available and gave price, then tried to end conversation so I had to interrupt to ask could I book a room. She asked me to hold, after a good 5 minutes on hold I rang off and booked online. On arrival, we found that the toilet when refilling made loud gurgling noises,so reported this to reception. Were advised they'd try to fix it but all rooms were full so couldn't move us. When we returned to hotel that night, toilet had not been fixed. Extractor fan in bathroom didn't work, so heat and steam in bathroom next morning after two showers was unbelievable. Rail for shower curtain had rust spots on it, our "double" bed was two singles shoved together with big ridge down the centre. At breakfast we were shown to table, waved in direction of buffet without any order for tea or coffee being taken. Eventually managed to get the attention of a waiter who brought us coffee. Breakfast was alright but not very impressive for a 4 star hotel. Apart from croissants there were no pastries on offer. The carpet in the hallway at the entrance to the bedroom door opposite ours had had something spilt on it, which looked like it had eaten into the carpet and part of the door surround. Some of the bulbs in the lights in the breakfast area were gone and had not been replaced, and light shades were askew. All in all, other than the lobby and bar area, the hotel looks a bit down at heel. I had never stayed here before and was quite disappointed. Apart from the waiter who brought us coffee at breakfast, the staff were generally uninterested.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    Great time but hotel needs a revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold and no access to turning on the heat very old pool very out dated vhanging rooms were horrible bed very uncomfortable and old springs hurt my back

    Great atmosphere great food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Very present stay food good service slow on restaurant but they were very busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night rate for BB very expensive €159 only we were meeting family from around the country I would have tried another hotel

    Breakfast very good lots of choice and bedroom great lovely big bed and bathrooms clean and perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Atmosphere welcoming .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere welcoming .All staff members excellent and very helpful .Dank smell in bar area coming from filthy carpet ..which needs to be pulled up pronto /around smoking area ..the only criticism I have ..Thank you for everything ..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Bed really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given a broken glass cut my lip and got an got an infection. Obviously an accident such a shame that happened everything else was fabulous.

    Bed really comfy. Breakfast in bed really good option

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed, will consider other options in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few things here unfortunately: 1.) The breakfast (which is usually table service and of a high standard), was a self service buffet which is not what I expected given that I had paid about 145 euro for the night. The food was only average. 2.) In the bathroom, the shower head was visibly grimy, please see the photos attached. 3.) In the bedroom, the window cil was also visibly grimy, this time with what looked to me like patches of damp, please see the photos attached. The above are not in line with the price paid, and certainly not good enough for a four star hotel.

    As usual the staff were very professional and courteous during check in, this was nice to see even though hotel was very busy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    Location, facilities, breakfast, staff all were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the bridge house before everything was perfect. This time we had a few faults with our room; we booked a double room where it was only two single beds put together then one of those beds the mattress was broken. We inform the front desk and had very lack of communication until we went up again.we got a new room, still two single beds put together but fair.

    Location, facilities, breakfast, staff all were good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Great dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some non residents were causing lots of problems not minding their children who were dismantling the christmas tree. Staff were too afraid of parents to stop them.

    Central location. And very very helpfull staff, could have used more in reception though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    2.9
    Very Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was tiny, off the beaten track, and full. Room and decor was dated and grubby, especially the ensuite with stained tiles and loose faucets that were end of life tired and old. Constant noise from a main vertical stack / communal fan in the bathroom that couldn't be switched off and lots of music noise from downstairs well into the early hours, particularly with an external smoking area to the disco / function room two floors below our bedroom window. It was probably fine back in 1970 when Tom Selleck was the bees knees, or if you were unconsciously drunk following a wedding and gone the very next morning, but I certainly wouldn't be enamoured with the prospect of staying here again.

    Central location, and Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.0
    Nice hotel, central and convenient for my needs More attention to detail needed by reservation team
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On one morning the cooked breakfast was available for self-service. On another morning, it was not and I had to order which left me rushed as it took longer. When I checked in, I found only one night had been reserved for me, though I was able to show the email which confirmed I had booked for 3. If the hotel was heavily booked this would have caused a problem. On my booking reservation I was billed for €317 but when I received the invoice I was charged €396.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Hope to return soon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit tricky but hey it's free

    Following a small issue with a cold room the staff were very kind to give me an amazing upgrade. The gym/spa facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.4
    Good location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned rooms, strong smell of bleach in the bathroom coming from thr swimming pool Terrible noise coming from swimming pool Can’t open window in the room.

    Good location, friendly staff Nice looking lobby and restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.0
    very pleasant stay, for a wedding, the food was absolutely excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quite uncomfortable, loose headboard, decor in room and bathroom a bit dated.

    Nice room,very clean, very pleasant staff, great location in the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.8
    THE SPA
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I BOOKED THE 3 DAY SPECIAL OFFER FOR 297 EURO. ON ARRIVAL I ENQUIRED INTO UP GRADING INTO ROOM 401.I WAS ASKED FOR AN EXTRA 90 EURO. THINKING THIS WAS IN TOTAL I WAS INFORMED IT WAS PER NIGHT. THEN I WAS ASKED A TOTAL OF 867 EURO FOR MY STAY. I STILL DONT KNOW HOW THEY CAME UP WITH THIS FIGURE.THE ONLY THING WE GOT EXTRA IN THIS ROOM WAS A BOTTLE OF WATER. WE ARE COMING HERE SINCE 2013. NOT NICE

    THE SPA

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cant fault this hotel, it was a perfect stay.

    I thought the little jam jars on the breakfast buffet are a very clever idea, unique and portion controlled very well. The staff are well presented in appearance and manners. They were so helpful and polite to us from the moment we walked in the doors to the moment we checked out. I'd like to thank the chefs for doing an amazing job in the wedding of Alison and niall tobin on the 27th October, you did yourselves very proud with the food presented to us. Best part was the hydro pool outside, loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm, staff provided a fan which helped a little. Car park barriers wouldn't work when entering and exiting the car park in lashings of rain which was quite annoying. Had to ring front desk to get barrier raised.

    Friendly staff. Quick check in. Clean and tidy room. We attended a wedding and the food was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was one of the worst I've ever slept in (actually got almost no sleep as a result). I travel around the world constantly, so I've had to sleep in a lot of beds. This one was awful. The front desk woman was cold and very rushed, not friendly nor helpful. She was far more interested in talking on her cell phone with her friend, than answering a single question from me about a local attraction.

    Breakfast was good. Shower was good, with excellent water pressure. Everything else was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    It is a great hotel staff very friendly has everything in it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing we didn't like

    It is a great hotel staff very friendly has everything in it the bedrooms were lovely I'll definitely be staying with your again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location, but in need of updates and free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking(toll of 5 Euro!!!) Room small and outdated, very stuffy and no temperature control. No adjacent parking for unloading of bags, requires walking on street for over 200 yards

    Appearance and dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    Good staff, good meal, needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was very dated, the carpets in the corridors and stairs needed replacing. The bathroom fittings were very old too and a tad grubby. the bedroom window would not stay open, so I had to stick something under it to keep it open.

    Quiet room as requested. Had meal in hotel in Italian restaurant, very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    nice but expected more for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need upgrade. Carpet frayed and worn. Dust on bedside lockers. Glass behind bar was not clean. Fridges in bar need cleaned. Good hotel but needs an upgrade

    Food was lovely. Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Had a nice time away,hotel very central, staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom needs updated , carpets worn looking, room quite cold.Television channels limited.

    Location of hotel was great, Beautiful front foyer, great restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    It was ok dont think id book again the room was just a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked grubby an the bathroom the same the beds were uncomfortable my side had a big dip in it my back was in bits all night couldn't move into the middle of the bed cause it was raised the room was tiny for what we were charged we actually checked out just after ten

    The staff were fantastic , serving if dinner was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyec our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area needed some maintenance and would not use the Jacuzzi looked quite dirty. Steam room not working. Please any chance of Smirnoff in the bar instead of Absolute or both.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Comfortable room. And goid foid

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: