Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Brogans Bar & Guesthouse 3 stars

High street, Trim, Ireland

#11 of 14 hotels in Trim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 320 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    3.3
    We had to wait in the reception area for 15 or 20 mins due...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait in the reception area for 15 or 20 mins due to lack of staff. 1 girl behind bar also covering reception. Another girl eventually showed up but it was obvious she wasnt familiar with reception duties. There was issues with finding our booking. Rooms basic and smelled old. Sky light on roof ment room was bright early. No one on front door when we came back late had to go round the back and found back gate open.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    The reception, waiting & bar staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few small issues with items not working in my room. I communicated this to the receptionist when paying my bill before leaving & thisagain was accepted in a totally professional manner. I ate in their gastro pub, O'Reilly's, next door. The food was great; my only criticism is that there was a lot of deep fried fish. Maybe some steamed fish dishes could be considered?

    The reception, waiting & bar staff were excellent. They manage to have an ideal combination of professionalism & friendliness. They really made me feel welcome. I had gone there to attend a Don Baker session & it didn't disappoint!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Fun place to stay in Trim
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the beds in Ireland are HARD. I like a little softer bed. Room was small, but manageable for two people. Parking was down the street, so had to drop off bags and then go park - still not bad.

    Proximity to the Trim Castle. Band that night was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mo the manageres couldn't do enough for us allowed us to gave an early check in and all the staff so friendly and helpful Breakfast was value for money and the place lovely and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Very near to everything, staff were lovely although there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small

    Very near to everything, staff were lovely although there was a mix up where we were told at check in that breakfast was included when it was not. The lovely waitress didn’t charge us as a result.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean, well maintained rooms & friendly staff, but be prepared for noise on the weekends/holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I want to advise potential travelers to read the fine print on the "Special Information" section. My fault for not noticing that they do point out that they have live music on the weekends and that there will be some noise. So not blaming the hotel, but it was an issue for us that it was extremely noisy. We were there on a Sunday, but it happened to be a bank holiday weekend, so the bar was open late. Even after it closed, there was still lots of noise on the street for some time after.

    Rooms were clean. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was tasty. Centrally located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.5
    Enjoyed our stay in Trim. Food in Brogans was excellant. The room was Tiny for 2 persons & pricey .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room for the price was a bit congested (small for 2 persons ) and the bathroom was very tiny . The cold Tap in the sink was loose and was like that for some time!

    Food , staff and entertainment was excellent. Very central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    It did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor, wallpaper hanging off the wall. Doors didn’t close & lock properly & the music you could hear in the rooms even though there was no one in the courtyard.

    Staff were very helpful & it was easy walk of the castle

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Very confortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad thing was shower. It wasnt hot water when i had my shower. That was the only issue. And i cant say about breakfast cause it wasnt incluid in the price. I thought it was expensive to not have breakfast include

    Loved the room and the bed was so big and confortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    A bit pricey for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could do with some air fresheners in the hall to the bedrooms. I understand it's an old building with carpet but it's got a very 'old man pub' smell to it.

    The woman at the reception was very nice and pleasant when I was checking out. Staff were helpful at breakfast and very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Dirty place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets bad smell . Cramped double room a shower that you would see at an outdoor swimming pool at 100 euro per night definitely never stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Hopping in Brogans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bit of a problem with the key card not working late at night. To be fair it was sorted out fairly quickly.

    Very busy bar in the evening with great live music. Bit of dancing if you fancy it. Guinness was very good. Room very clean. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the weather was unusually hot the rooms were unbearable and very noisey as the overlooked the courtyard - breakfast wasn't included which was a bit of a bummer

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to stay if you want to unplug
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi ranged from spotty to altogether missing. I couldn't log in even in the reception office. Worst of all, my phone kept trying to log on, so making noise and demanding attention, but it couldn't hold the signal long enough to finish the process. Finally, I just turned the Wifi off, so that I could sleep.

    The building and room were charming and "traditional". Very friendly staff, lovely pub (including outdoor seating) with live music. Terrific location for exploring the town and the local ruins on foot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room on the second floor OVER the outdoor beer garden. It happened to be one of the hottest nights in Ireland so far this Summer and there was no air-conditioning OR fans provided so we had to keep a window open. Ordinarily that would be fine but the noise from the people drinking below went on until about 2AM! It sounded like fights were breaking out as well. It was an unpleasant experience and the staff seems to take off for the night as there are no phones in the rooms in which to call the front desk.

    The price was good for a room in a suburb of Dublin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    The food was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small. The bathroom was a cupboard. The wash hand basin was sitting on your lap while using the loo.

    The food was fab. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Pick somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms face directly onto courtyard bar where amplified music played until I asked for it to be turned off around 1am. All the customers had gone but music blared on. Impossible to sleep with noise. We had an early flight from Dublin next morning. Expensive for small stuffy room. Evening meal was just OK. We were told breakfast was available from 7.30 but in the morning this had changed to 8am.

    Staff were helpful. Especially Evita.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    We stayed for one night for a wedding and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem was that we had no toilet seat in our room, couldn't fault anything else!

    We stayed for one night for a wedding and the location was great, right in the middle of the town. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and staff couldn't have been friendlier, and a cheap stay compared to our first night in Trim Castle! Great little spot especially when there's a large group - I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic night/weekend away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.2
    No place to stay if you want a quiet, restful night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud at night, with smokers from the bar directly below our window. Room was quite warm & stuffy, but we couldn't open the window due to the noise and smoke. I asked for a fan, but hotel staff didn't respond. Carpet was old & stained, window blinds very dusty.

    Good location, decent food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Was right in town as we expected so could walk the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small with no luggage rack but that was least of our concerns....th room (#5) and OVERLOOKED the waste dumpster and debris from the bar/restaurant!! We expected some carry over sound from music as we knew pub with music so expected that BUT did not expect the noise of tossing of the glass bottles& Kegs right outside our window. It did not go on late into the night but we had been traveling for a month and were early to bed due to our schedule. There was NO hot water from the tap in the airplane size sink but luckily was in the shower!

    Was right in town as we expected so could walk the area. Not much to do in this area but it worked for us as we were meeting friends for a visit and working our way to airport area for departure next day! Restaurant decent, food good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Loved it I thought it was going to be a very sleepy town but it was lovely and live and kicking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sky light window blind broken in our room , it was beautiful weather but made the room extra bright extra early not good for the lye in .

    Lovely beer garden outside , staff very helpful, nice clean rooms , extra blankets and pillows definitely would recommend and stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    The receptionist was lovely on arrival and showed us where...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was towards one member of staff in the restaurant bar area a blond young girl who was very curt. We arrived down for breakfast at 10.10 & were told “breakfast finished at 10” even tough at check in we were told 10.30, This girl reluctantly agreed to take our order but just said you can have a full Irish or a mini Irish, no menus were given to us nor were we told there was cereal and juice available at the bar. We had to call her back to ask for tea and toast and never got the toast. There was also confusion regarding the bill when paying separately for four breakfasts which could have been avoided had we been able to pay when checking out. We just felt that she let the place down as the rest of the staff were so lovely but her attitude was far from good.

    The receptionist was lovely on arrival and showed us where to park and brought us to our rooms. The food was fabulous in the restaurant bar area. The rooms were comfy and clean if a little too warm and we had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one at reception... Stood there for ages until I had to go and ask at the bar could I check in.... I asked was breakfast included and was told yes... We got up early for breakfast to be told it wasn't included that the bar man had told a few guest's the same... I asked how much extra breakfast was 18.95 euro each... RIP OFF.... We ate across the road in a cafe 2 full breakfasts with coffee 17.00 euro

    Location and room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    No double bed again even though we asked for one 2nd time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double bed also room 2 very noisy was like staying in someone's hall

    No double bed again even though we asked for one 2nd time staying there for ballon ride but staff very friendly and food delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    Sleepless in Trim
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room filled with furniture. Adjoining loud smokers' courtyard into which music was played - louder than in the bar- late into the night. Slamming courtyard doors and old, squeaky stairs and floor joists. Mould on shower caulking in bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A. All was perfect

    Trim is a beautiful town. Brogan's Bar is a very lovely hotel. The staff are absolutely delightful. No request was a problem. Everyone was so kind and friendly. A really happy atmosphere prevailed. Oh the chef should also be congratulated, the food was wonderful but too generous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Had a lovely stay enjoyed Don Bakers music and food was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book in to see a band e.g Rob Strong and he doesn't turn up..I felt the hotel could have made an announcement and told people he wasn't coming rather than leaving you waiting all night... not the hotels fault he didn't turn up but very disappointing

    Good to listen to music/bands and stay. Not having to get taxis home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Good except for above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of a glass of wine never paid such a high price in a small bar the chef seems very fond o grease breakfast okey eggs overdone as crasher no brown bread

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay for discovering Co. Meath and enjoy some drinks afterwards. ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are not enough free parking- places close by- we had to get up a bit early to get to the carpark before they charge for parking over the day.

    Nice place - it's situated directly in town with a good choose of pubs in walking distance and has a bar itself downstairs, what was great to us. But for all it's quiet for sleep anyway. We stayed there in March- must be very nice in the summer because there's a beergarden in the backyard, as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    The location of bar is great and the music on the Saturday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was disappointing the whole surround of the shower tray was brown, the water dial was reversed so had to put towards Blue to get HOT water, (took few minutes to work this out) the door to bathroom did not close, lock barrel appears to have been removed The sky light window did not have a blind on it so from sunrise the room is lit up ,difficult to sleep in bright room so not much chance of lie in. The variety on bar/restaurant menu (we were told it is the same menu for both) was not great for me as I do not eat calamari or bones i.e. chicken wings/ribs nor steak in the evening. Would be nice to see curry or stir-fry

    The location of bar is great and the music on the Saturday night we were there was fantastic great atmosphere . The staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Bed was comfy, staff very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear every car & person on the street, very noisy & breeze that came in from windows, reason being they were so old.

    Bed was comfy, staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    The welcome from Mo in reception was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great . Average.. coffee came after fry was nearly eaten!

    The welcome from Mo in reception was lovely.. such a lovely lady .. we'll definitely be back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Spur of the minute stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room 12 I think the toilet and shower room would benifit from the pedistal being removed from the wash hand basin. When you sit on the toilet you bang your knee. Just a small issue not a dealbreaker by any means.

    Great location. To have great food, drinks, friendliness and a rocking music venue under one trendy roof is a little gem of a find!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, great food, great service, area very handy -...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit too warm

    Friendly staff, great food, great service, area very handy - you can walk to the Main Street in Trim in a few minutes. Clean room, good size

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.5
    Disappointed. Noisy coming from smoking area... trying to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steak was very fatty Chips/ wedges wee burned Breakfast was very poor eggs were raw & I had to break the rangers with my fingers go eat them. I was down for breakfast 9 30 ish. That's meant to be ra s h e r s.

    Bed was nice & comy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    I have no hesitation recommending it to anyone as it never disappoints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are exceptionally helpful - friendly naturally. As a guest you can pick up that they all enjoy working in Brogans. Of course an extra bonus is the chief - You don't have to worry about the quality of service & food if you are inviting people to dinner. It is always excellent. Entertainment was must enjoyable relaxed and just right.

    Terrific value for money. Every member of staff was exceptionally friendly. Brogans bring Irish hospitality up another level. The relaxed nature of Brogans where nothing is any inconvenience makes you feel you are at home. What could be better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    the staff very friendly the room was clean food was excellent a most enjoyable stay thank u to all
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i was welcomed to brogans by the kind staff everything exceeded my expectations very well looked after i would highly recommend brogans as a place to stay the staff wouls remember me i was getting married the next day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    The staff and food was lovey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food staff and the rooms

    The staff and food was lovey.very friendly staff would definitely go back and have told people about our stay thanks ita larkin

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Short and sweet with top class food and a lovely bottle of wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small but again, we werent there to sit in the bedroom. Slight smell in the bathroom.

    We stayed in the hotel for the whole evening, drinks and dinner. Bar was cosy and we sat in a snug that was perfect for 4 people but with just the 2 of us it was romantic. The dinner we had in the bar was top class. Still thinking of that Goats Cheese, delicious. Staff were friendly and professional. The stay was perfect for one night away to a cosy Irish Pub/Inn. The room we had was small, but we werent there for the room.. the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    A good place to stay - quite noisy in a room facing the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facing the street was quite noisy even with windows closed (cars/pub guests). Somehow the mattress of the bed had a slope to the right so sometimes it felt like one could accidentally roll out of it during the night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location is great for going out in the evening. Lost of pubs in walking distance. Food in the attached pub and restaurant is really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms overlook an outdoor gathering area and entry to bar. Very noisy until closing time, but then it was very quiet. Kind of what you should expect from a bar and guesthouse!

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely staff at reception and in the breakfast area the next morning but needs some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are very small and dated. Our view was onto a roof that had a ladder and numerous cigarette butts outside our window

    on arrival all staff very friendly and halpful and close proximity to we're we needed to be

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Really enjoyed are stay, good location and very comfortable but most of all lovely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very tiny

    Lunch with friends was amazing. Lovely food beautifully presented. Great service and lovely friendly staff. Easy check in with the lovely Michelle. Great breakfast to order. Would definitely recommend Brogans if you are staying in Trim,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Value for money but don't expect a quiet night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was advertised as available but it was only street parking, shower had no shower gel inside. The mirror at the dressing table was too high so you couldn't see properly when doing hair and make up and the wardrobe was in a very awkward place. Most importantly, with music downstairs and people smoking on the street directly below us, we had a terrible night's sleep. The breakfast was one of the worst I have ever been offered unfortunately. Neither of us ate much except the toast.

    The room and premises was very clean. The bar areas are very impressive and while I didn't eat here, the food did look very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    I found Brogans excellent for value - friendliness. The food was on all occasions superb.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed in Brogans a number of times and found the accommodation comfortable - understanding the wear and tear on accommodation and the quick turn over of clients - I would suggest a 'monthly' check that all items in a room are functioning and perhaps a 'thorough' cleaning programme for each room. The standard was still very good

    The most unique feature of Brogans was without doubt the staff. Every member of staff were very friendly and very mannerly - There was a definite atmosphere that they all enjoyed their work and in working in Brogans - I have no hesitation in advising anyone visiting Trim to stay there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful and welcoming bit of Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was made aware that the music might be on late but I have no problem sleeping. It was not the music but the loud talk and after party laughter on the street until at least 1/2 Two in the morning that was a problem.

    Staff were beyond welcoming and made me feel at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely guesthouse in the perfect location. Fabulous restaurant and food menu. Would defo stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was a double room but the room and bed were a little on the small side. The long mirror wasn't cleaned nor the wardrobe. Very dusty.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Nice atmosphere. Bathroom was spotless. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Love this place, it has such a warm charm about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love this place, it has such a warm charm about it. We (4 of us)were in Ireland for a week and we all agreed that our dinner meal in their restaurant was the best, their breakfast was pretty good too. The staff from the manager Mo, to the chef Lee, to the waiter Dan and of course Devon were all very friendly and accommodating. There was also surprisingly good music on our Sunday night stay. Trim is a lovely little town with a great big castle, that is not to be missed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    I would stay again, just not on a Saturday or when I needed an early start the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com said there was a 24 hour front desk. There isn't, so we were late leabing for the airport because we couldn't check out as early as we hoped. The hotel website does give the hours, but I found that out while we waited for someone to show. Our room looked over a nice courtyard. Unfortunately, we were there on a Saturday night. The courtyard was also a bar and was quite loud. We were told breakfast starts at 7:30, but it is actually 8, so we missed that. The hot pot in the room was moldy, so we couldn't even make coffee before we headed for Dublin. The bathroom was clean, but is only about 2.5 feet deep. You have to do contortions to get by the sink to use the toilet.

    The lady who checked us in was great. The room was attractive, clean and comfortable. The location is right in town, so it was convenient for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    It was a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door was broken and the shower dial/knob was far too difficult to manoeuvre...took a lot of effort for a fully abled person. Food is a little pricey for what is served in terms of portion size. Plus I was overcharged by €3 by a waitress. It was 36.50 but was charged 39.50 to my card. Easy mistake but still preventable. She reimbursed me the €3 but I gave it to her anyway.

    Reasonably comfy beds Lighting was fine Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    hotel was adequate for one night, cleanliness was not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was appallingly bad quality and inedible - sausages appeared to have been recooked in a deep fryer, rashers and pudding dry and hard..... the toast and cereal were fine. Room was not very clean and terrible location and had no resemblance to what I saw online and envisaged it to be.

    the location and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Hotel placed in the very centre of very nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 1 Double & 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel placed in the very centre of very nice town. Nice clean room for 2+2 family. Good breakfast. Parking close to the hotel for 2 euro per 24 hours.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Great bar and accommodation with the added bonus of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at night is excellent. Breakfast wasn't quite up to that excellent standard.

    Great bar and accommodation with the added bonus of the legendary Don Baker playing at his open mike session on Wednesday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Ideal for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheaper beer? (Tongue in cheek.)

    There was nothing to dislike. The room was clean and tidy. It could get noisy on a Friday or Sat. night, but we were not there then. I particularly liked the idea of overlooking the beer garden. The main bar was excellent, olde world charm, and the music was fabulous. Loved it. means were a bit above the ordinary pub meals. Well done. A short walk to Trim castle, and the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Deborah and Shaun were brilliant bar staff😊 Also the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron did not work and there was no telephone on the room. Also it was very noisy.

    Deborah and Shaun were brilliant bar staff😊 Also the beautiful flowers surrounding the outside of the guest House. Gorgeous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Warm and comfortable with friendly staff but expensive and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy from the bar and music from the courtyard below (just beneath our window). We hadn't been warned about this but to be fair if we had been a young couple we might not have minded the music. After the music stopped noise from people talking The bathroom was very small and cramped, could have done with a smaller shower tray and wash basin. €100.00 for bed only was a little steep

    The room was clean, bed very comfortable. Plenty of towels. Tea and coffee facilities. Hairdryer, iron and ironing board provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    3.3
    It's really a bar not a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way way too loud. Band at bar til 2 am, drunk patrons outside the windows in the courtyard til 4:30 am. A good bar, a lousy place to sleep

    Note it's a bar and an inn... the bar comes first

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.6
    Don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the bed was lumpy, we arrived at 2:30pm due for a wedding at 3:00 and our room hadn't been cleaned yet. So we spent our time trying to get given another room and ended up being late for the wedding. The shower controls were in reverse so nearly got 3rd degree burns the next morning in the shower. The noise all throughout the night was ridiculous. No breakfast included. Yet was one of the most expensive places we've stayed in for a long time. Couldn't and wouldn't recommend this place to anybody. Stay in the Trim Castle Hotel instead.

    The receptionist was pretty nice I suppose... that's it really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    All right for a one- night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room 3 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food we had was rather insipid and the room was cramped. We though the price inflated because it exceeded some of the 3-star hotels we had used on our tour.

    The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    No follow up
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in late. Light not working in bathroom. Manager couldn't fix at night. Told me to say to reception in morning and they'd apply discount but reception didn't know about that and said they'd contact me after consulting manager. Still no contact 1 week later. Had to shower in dark, even in the morning, as no window in bathroom. Too expensive for that.

    Location, big comfortable room, good breakfast, nice bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Great craic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go!

    Great venue away from the absolute rip off Dublin prices. Proper Irish style pun/hotel. I loved it. Tip: book direct with the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location in a gorgeous town!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information in the room at all! (Eg checkout time, downstairs bar/dining open and close times, room facilities, parking tips, local map, nearby facilities etc etc etc). So we had to keep calling into reception - and it was not always manned...

    Fab location, friendly staff, great on-site facilities, very nicely decorated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    the bed was very comfortable, the staff were very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was extremely small and only blinds on the window which did not close properly and as there were not curtains to close you had to try to get changed in the extremely small bathroom. Noise levels very high. Photos on website misleading

    the bed was very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was good with VERY generous portions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Beds very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room 1 Double & 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed in room with 4 beds which was brilliant and plenty of space for 4 people only prob was the noise of people leaving the bar and bar across the road at about 3 in the morning , as we were at the front of the Guest House , that was the only prob i had

    Beds very comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site car park would have been good. Menu could have been better - didn't inspire us to eat there

    Great quirky bar & guest house - good breakfast - good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    The cosy bar and the fact that there are frequent music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cosy bar and the fact that there are frequent music evenings. Therefore, we plan to return for some of the music events. Trim is a lovely little town, full of history and extremely well-kept. Well worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant place and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a double room booked and got 2 single beds and mentioned it a few times to staff and was never resolved .we went away for a weekend break and ended up with 2 single beds which put a bit of a damper on it and was very peed off over it and especially when it wasnt fixed for us

    Brilliant place and very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    You should look elsewhere for a good nights rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms open into a beer garden. NOISE until 3am in morning. Smoking being done right iutside our windows and no a/c. So you have to leave windows open when its watm and the niise and smoke is bad. STAY ANYWHERE ELSE if you want a comfortable nights sleep. This is not a restful place. The worst on our 18 day trip ariund London and Ireland. Even the Hostels wee quieter

    Beautiful surroundings and castle walk in area. Inexpensive pub food down the street

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money and nice food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was next to useless and freezing cold. The nob was jammed and there was barely any flow from the shower head. We were in room number 2.

    Very nice food for dinner in the bar and good pints.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Leaves an awful lot to be rectified.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting locked out at 3.30am with no way to gain entry is infuriating. We had to wake another guest at 4am. The night porter disappeared and had the door bolted. An apology the next morning is really not enough. The price is way too high for a room over a pub. The smell of sewerage and stale food is not pleasant in the bar area.

    The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom had nice towels and a good size shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    the service was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to know that the room would look into the bar's courtyard.

    the service was lovely. The employees attentive and extra helpful. The rib eye steak was great. The sheets in the bed were like velvet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    It's more than a place to stay for a night or two, but to live there longer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi area doesn't cover rooms at the rear

    Sincere hospitality along with brilliant experience with personnel and kitchen! Much more pleasant than in 4* hotels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.8
    The location and the food in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The skylight in the room did not have a curtain and it was direcrly above our bed. A manager entered the room without knocking and woke us about an hour after we arrived.

    The location and the food in the bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasnt included

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely, food was excellent . Music was good lovely stay

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75