Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Burren Breeze Accommodation

The Wood Cross, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

#7 of 18 hotels in Lisdoonvarna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Fanatic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was what I expected and was wonderful.

    The owners were incredible! They were extremely friendly, super kind, and very helpful! I would recommend this place to anyone because of them alone! I will definitely come and stay again if I have the opportunity to do so!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    close 2 town easy parking. most helpfully very friendly girl looked after the rooml
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just could not fault a thing

    We were welcomed into a lovely house everything we needed was there even a big bowl of fruit n room .the taxied was outside the door if we needed it 2 go 2 town n collect if we so wished

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    The property was quite close to town and the owner was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was quite close to town and the owner was very friendly and spent time explaining what one can do around the area. Very knowledgable of the area. The bed had heated blankets with dual control. Water bottles, banana and apples as well as tea making facility available. Definitely recommended. I will in future book it for more days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. This was a lovely place. There were thoughtful touches everywhere. Very comfortable. Near Doolin. The hosts are incredibly hospitable and provide you with nice comforts. Tea, breakfast biscuits, fruit, bottled water, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Owner very friendly and helpful, left a map in our room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking it said we would pay owner direct on arrival but money was taken straight away. Luckily it was on my credit card and there were enough funds at this time.

    Owner very friendly and helpful, left a map in our room with nearby spots of interest. Room lovely and comfy. Kettle filled each day and bottles of water left for us. Only a few min drive into lisdoonvarna. We would def stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Can't be faulted
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    Spotlessly clean. Really comfortable bed and sheets. Who needs full breakfast when fruit provided as well as tea/coffee. I stayed 3 nights and it was excellent value. Will definitely be back. Thanks so much Ann & Dennis.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Nice B&B in beautiful countryside near Cliffs of Moher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent B&B breakfast in a beautiful area near the Cliffs of Moher. Very friendly owner who gave us extensive recommendations regarding hikes, sightseeing, local cuisine. The room was provided with fruits, biscuits. A fridge with free water was on hand. Beautiful view and great surrounding countryside.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The owner was lovely and added some awesome personal touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was lovely and added some awesome personal touches. Every day our kettle was filled with water and there was food waiting for us. The location was close to the cliffs of Moher and within walking distance of cute little towns. We would definitely recommend Burren Breeze!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Perfect, couldn't ask for better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    The hosts Des and Ann were lovely, so friendly and accommodating, it wasn't a problem that we arrived early and there was water in the fridge put in every day we were there in the heat. Des went out of his way to buy a fan for the room to cool us down in the evening, so thoughtful, we couldn't have asked for better. Wonderful people and experience. we will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable accommodation in a beautiful part of Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the room was perfect and the lady who took us in was the kindest person ever. The surrounding area of the hotel is gorgeous and although we only spent there one night we loved it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and nice accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is reachable by car, but if you travel by bus it's not the best reachable accommodation.

    The room was big with a nice clean bathroom. The host left us biscuits and fruit, there was a possibility to make tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing that needs changing, it was better than I expected, friendly and helpful patrons, and good quality lodgings ...what else do you need.

    The property is ideally situated, parking on site. The owners were so friendly, the room was spotless, beds were comfy.. biscuits, fruit and water were in the room. I would highly recommend it and I will stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect room to discover the Burren!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was really nice and the host really kind, even if the breakfast was not included everyday we found fruits and biscuits, a boiler with the and coffee in the room! It is perfectly located, 2 min by car from Linsdoonvarna, 5 km far from Doolin and 10 km far from Cliffs of Moher. I aslo reccomand to do the Burren tour on the Wild Atlantic Way. Really great value!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic and could hear the road a little. Can't walk back from town at night because there are no walking paths.

    Lovely friendly staff. Good clean room. Good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Interior is a bit outdated, but clean

    Good price Nice places for dinner at walking distance Good location to explore the Burren and the Clifs of Moher

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Great shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Brilliant bnb.

    Great shower! Great TV. Comfy bed (electric blanket too) tea/coffee in room. Host even left fruit and biscuits in room! No breakfast but didn't bother us at all! Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking . Com have over charged us. I think the agreed price was 39 euro and our credit card payment was in euro (we are using a loaded for travel MasterCard in euro) Have you charged our NZ card which you are not supposed to retain. You have added on a bit plus a cryptic % and got to about 43 euro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner has been very kind in providing me a map with exhaustive information of what to visit in the County. My room was large and comfortable. The place is about 1 km away from Lisdoonvarna and just 7 km away from the Cliffs of Moher walking trail of Doolin.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    The accommodation was comfortable, warm and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like a fresh coffee in the morning. This was not available

    The accommodation was comfortable, warm and the staff were very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    The owners were very kind and so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners were very kind and so friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    very kind people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1-2 km to the village

    very kind people. excellent relation price/comfort, etc free parking good location to visit he Burren

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    The property was as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Yes the croissants were extra flaky.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for this price, very friendly and informative Owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    +very friendly and informative owner and receptionist + good comfort in room + better than pics + even some snacks were offered + vercy clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    A nice room, had a great sleep, facilities very good ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything about this property , the host was extremely helpful and the area was suitable to our needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean. Comfortable beds!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money and very friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money and very friendly owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Versand helpful and friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Versand helpful and friendly owners. Quiet and relaxing. Just a few minutes out of Lisdoonvarna. Pubs, Restaurants and Supermarkets nearby!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    It suited our needs perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed wider!!

    It suited our needs perfectly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults..first class example.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely welcome and kindness shown to us

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    very nice place good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The welcome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location was perfect for our trip. Short distance from Lisdoonvarna

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Nice place for visiting burren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit old fashioned

    Nice location and room, spaces and anything was good, great price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Very warm welcome great parking very comfortable even left fruit and biscuits would highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    every thing about it,it was brilliant Place to stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    every thing about it,it was brilliant Place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Very nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice tenant. Comfy bedroom with personnal bathroom. Even though there's no breakfast, there is fruits and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Fair price for the accommodation
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fair price for the accommodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Best b&b
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfy and private absolutely beautiful room with all the facilities you need

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Lisdoovarna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides it being outdated as far as decor, the bathroom facilities were a bit sketchy

    The staff were very nice and accommodating! We loved ireland

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.5
    Easier to find than some other quiet retreats.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Easier to find than some other quiet retreats. No breakfast but the provision of some fruit and beverage-making facilities was enough for my scant requirements.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    10
    Great location to visit many different places near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location to visit many different places near the Cliffs of Moher (by car). Nice room, and although we were there early in the season (restauraunt wasn't open end of april), we were provided with food and coffee for breakfasts. Staff were very nice.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    The proprieters were so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The proprieters were so helpful and friendly. They gave us great advice on where to have a delicious dinner with traditional Irish music provided by University students.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    The host was incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They're starting to slowly shut down the accommodation side of things, so visit whilst you can!!

    The host was incredible. He was a taxi driver as well so took us on a tour of the local area with lots of history. He researched the weather for our tours. Very accommodating. Huge respect and would love to visit again. Very nice place and incredible value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    Very nice staff, informed us about everything in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation is bit outside the village of Lisvarnadoon, car needed.

    Very nice staff, informed us about everything in the surroundings. Bath and quietness, easy by car. Lisvarnadoon is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    It was exceptionally good value and, although no breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was exceptionally good value and, although no breakfast was offered, the refreshments supplied in the rooms were most generous: tea, coffee, fresh fruit, biscuits, etc – a more than adequate breakfast for a small appetite. Thank you Ann for offering fresh milk too for my tea. A huge bonus for me was the electric blanket in the bed – was never offered that in a hotel / B&B before. Niki Phillips.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Personal introduction of the owner at arrival and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the booking conditions - were not very clear and didnt correspond to the usual booking.com conditions, what gives us some planning troubles.

    Personal introduction of the owner at arrival and introduction in the region with map etc. Wonderfull bathroom. Good bed. Super localisation for all Burren-Aktivities - just in the middle of it!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    The wonderful friendly host and hostess!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Absolutely nothing...everything was perfect!

    The wonderful friendly host and hostess! The super-cleanliness! The attention to detail! The little extras (box of breakfast goodies, coffee and tea and lovely toiletries.) The peacefulness!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    What an interesting place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi - weak signal and difficult to access. But who cares. Maybe a few days free of the internet is a good thing!! You can get signal though if you find the right spot in the establishment.

    What an interesting place to visit. So much to see and do! Dine in fine style at several restaurants in Lisdoonvarna and you can afford it because |Burren Breeze rates are so low.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    We did not have breakfast, but some fruit and cookies were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not have breakfast, but some fruit and cookies were left for us in our room everyday of our stay. Our room was large and comfortable. This was a good location from which to visit the Burren and Cliffs of Moher. The host gave us good tips on many sights for us to see in the area.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.7
    Location, beds, people seemed friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No breakfast option.We thought a B and B meant bed and breakfast unless otherwise stated. Reviews we had read did not match our experience. Rooms are dated.

    Location, beds, people seemed friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    Denis & Ann were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Denis & Ann were very friendly. We had a big room, clean and warm with a good shower. My husband enjoyed his 'full Irish' breakfast while I opted for the lighter option of fruit, cereal, yoghurt and lovey soda bread! Location was excellent for exploring The Burren. Denis gave us lots of information and a map. Short drive into town where there's several options for pubs and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    very friendly and warm stuff, room was clean nice, great for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    was allright overall

    very friendly and warm stuff, room was clean nice, great for the price

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Very nice, helpful owners.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was ok.

    Very nice, helpful owners.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    very convenient and very easy to find , very welcomeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    would like road view pg next time

    very convenient and very easy to find , very welcomeing

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only one thing no bath mat for batroom and no bin in bedroom

    perfect location

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room felt a bit cluttered. Decor felt a little tired. need car to get around.

    Very friendly hosts.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.6
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location. Helpful host. Long bath tub.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Amazing hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hosts. Very nice house, very accessible and easy to find. Thank you would defenatly recommend to any one passing this way x

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    6.7
    Good value for money, staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value for money, staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Very clean and comfortable room.
    • Solo traveller

    Very clean and comfortable room. Great location, excellent value for money. Thoughtful touches making a truly pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    Rooms were large, and Lisdoonvarna is a great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No access to fridge.

    Rooms were large, and Lisdoonvarna is a great spot.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    The location was perfect for getting to the burren and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was perfect for getting to the burren and the cliffs by car. The hosts gave us good tips on the cliff-side walk.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Really nice staff and excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nice staff and excellent price

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    10
    Friendly welcome and comprehensive briefing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome and comprehensive briefing

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    The owner's we're very friendly, helpful &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner's we're very friendly, helpful & accommodating. The B&B was spotless & very nice.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.6
    Best accomodation during 7 days, which I spent in Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best accomodation during 7 days, which I spent in Ireland. Cheap and great, thanks.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    The room was really lovely with all the amenities that were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was really lovely with all the amenities that were needed. We also got a lovely welcome from the owner of the b&b. Great price too!

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: