Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Buswells Hotel 3 stars

23-27 Molesworth Street, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#16 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 460 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    The staff was really friendly and helpfull. Location was fantastic in the city center, nearby coffee shops, restaurants, Archeological Museum less than 1 minute walking. I would recommend to do a free tour in the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.9
    the room was dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was dirty. they had no late night veggie options. they messed up my booking. they couldn't extend my booking at night or tell me if there were rooms open. very disorganized and unprofessional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    The elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In #301 there was an erratic loud-ish continual annoying rumble which was on again, off again even in night hours. If I had been in my room for any period of time it would have been unpleasant. Staff was notified but no understanding of the cause.

    The elegance. The clear visual appeal of trying their best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.0
    Stay for history!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historic hotel, so that in itself is a reason to stay. On same corner as National Library, Irish Parliament, and short walk to Stephen's Green, Trinity U., etc. Bar where lots of politicians gather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very noisy, asked for a different room and then got a very poor room with large fans outside...no sleep at all! Parking situation was not explained. Staff not engaging at the front desk.

    Proximity to Grafton street. very clean room, great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm and there was just a little window. I know that the hot temperature is usually not an issue in Ireland but you know...the global warming...

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.5
    Super Comfy and Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe two fans in the room to get air flow?

    Mark, Vicki, and Paddy were amazing! They made us feel like family....it is customer service like this that would make me come back to the hotel! Well done!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay. Perfect location and lovely clean rooms. Staff were all friendly and extra helpful with their recommendations! Couldn’t fault a thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was extremely comfortable and clean, and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden floors creaking wouldn’t let me sleep properly in the morning, but only between 7 am and 10 am

    The hotel was extremely comfortable and clean, and the staff were super friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall, we had a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Room No.100 which is overlooking a busy road with taxis and buses passing through. So it was a bit noisy during certain times of the night. The entrance to the bathroom could be hazardous (very high step) especially during the night if one needed to use the bathroom. The hotel doors could do with a bit of fresh paint and the dark carpeting in the room and around the corridors looks a bit dowdy.

    Room No. 100 is a good size room with comfortable bed. Beautiful period features all around the hotel, which are always very pleasing to us. An iron and board, tea/coffee making facilities are always welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A very good hotel on a smart street in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only weakness I could find was that the fbedroom was small and the bathroom we were given whilst spotless ,could do with being updared for this quality of hotel .

    Lovely reception , public rooms and quality of food . The staff are very efficient , warm and helpful . The hotel is in a fantastic position ckose to top museums , galleries and restaurants and easy walking distance to the centre .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location~we'd definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was hot with no ability to adjust the temperature. The light on the TV was so bright we had to hang a towel over it at night.

    The location was fantastic and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a cute little bar area for tea or drinks and snacks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    The welcoming staff is your number one asset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotter water in the shower and guidance in use of the shower controls would have helped, but didn't diminish our estimation.

    The welcoming staff is your number one asset. Location comes next. Maintaing Georgian elegance and charm make for great ambience .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 209 had a beautiful view but with the window open was v noisy with buses - it would have been good to have been forewarned of this The bar staff were exceptionally professional, friendly and patient and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stay in an elegant hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was that there seemed to be a heating or ventilation system outside my window and it was very noisy.

    Beautiful, elegant, comfortable hotel in historic building. Friendly staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    We always used to stay at Wynns, but now we have changes to Buswells from now on.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the 3rd floor (301) and it seemed that the fire escape was simply the main staircase. What if it were on fire?

    Friendliness of staff, especially Robert and the folks from Brazil.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    Old world hotel in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, noisey, no heating in ensuite bathroom, luke warm shower, terrible pillows, curt and unfriendly receptionist. Breakfast was not good.

    Old world hotel in great location. Would have a drink in the bar or lobby but would never stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Triple room was very large and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our last night they did not have double or triple room available. Twin was very small and on 1st floor. Other than having better pillows was very disappointing after 4 nights in excellent room. To boot it cost more because of St. Paddy’sDay! Will still recommend Buswell’s though.

    Triple room was very large and luxurious. Enjoyed the Walkers cookies each night. Staff very helpful. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did awake to construction happening in the room above ours at a very early time in the morning. The staff was very quick to remedy this though.

    The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect to explore Dublin by foot or public transportation. I’m so happy we stayed here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing & cosy. Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was only OK. Seemed a bit reheated rather than fresh. Maybe the storms were the reason for that.

    It is a beautiful old stlye friendly hotels. Love the fires !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice, quiet and comfortable old hotel with mod cons near Trinity College.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room was rather dim. No control for heat and it was a bit chilly. Apparently management knows about it because we found a small space heater in the closet. We would have appreciated a better selection of cable TV channels eg BBC and CNN.

    Nice old fashioned hotel. We had a huge room with very nice up to date bathroom. Room was really quiet-lovely! Shower was good with loads of pressure and hot water. Staff were really friendly and courteous. They were extremely accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Great for a short business trip with choice of single (cheaper) or double bed room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff are friendly and helpful, easy walking distance to attractions, shops, bars & restaurants. Easy roadside parking for pick-up & drop-off; overnight parking facility nearby if you drive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot open windows and air con not the best . Pillows to high needs to be a flatter option -

    Staff excellent and check in and check out time very gratefully flexible !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very little to be honest food could with a little lifr

    the safety the watere in the rooms and the generosity of everything i was in dublin for a medical appointment and i really appreciated getting into the room early i just had bar food when i came back and it was fine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful, elegant hotel with wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved it all.

    We found Buswells Hotel to be outstanding in every way. I have stayed at many European hotels, and this felt more like a 4 star hotel than a 3 star. The reception rooms are elegant and well-lit, with beautiful upholstery and drapes. I enjoyed hot chocolate by the fire on a chilly winter night. Our room (double and twin bed) was spacious enough for us 3 adults. Every staff member was welcoming and genuinely interested in our wellbeing. We chose to have a small cafe breakfast elsewhere, but loved our evening meal in the restaurant. Excellent location in the heart of Georgian Dublin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent, check in staff, excellent, Luiz was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An unseen incline in the floor from bedroom to bathroom, pillows (both) were too high, both were same size !!Food menu needs updating. Directly outside the bedroom window there was an aircon fan & wall , maybe an adjoining roof ?? That was the view !! However I would try another room in the future

    Location was excellent, check in staff, excellent, Luiz was his name ! Good size room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Centrally located old style hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was so-so and there was a lot of street noise.

    Very central, old fashioned (single bed, door key left at reception, front doors locked at night) but mod cons (shower room, flat screen TV, WiFi)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    The room was very cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cramped. The bed, pillows, duvet and curtains appeared to be quite new. However the carpet was there for a long time and was manky. The bathroom was a disaster. Tiny. The bath and shower plumbing was complicated and I burnt my foot because I didn’t realise that the temperature of the water for the bath was controlled from the shower dial!!! No sign up to say this. The blind in the bathroom was completely mouldy which is not a healthy thing in a bedroom especially if you have respiratory problems which I have. The towels were good and appeared new. I can’t understand why the bathroom couldn’t have been updated also. This is a very busy hotel and it would pay them to carry out necessary repairs. The hallway was old as was the carpet and the wallpaper was peeling. It was very dark with lots of steps, so made it difficult as we had to carry our suitcase. The food in the bar was mediocre. The only reason I would stay again was the location which is brilliant and within walking distance of Grafton street and also numerous restaurants. The ambience and old world charm and authenticity of the hotel was fabulous. It really stayed true to the age of the hotel. The staff were excellent in the bar. Overall in need of necessary repairs to bathrooms. Minimum new carpet or wooden flooring in the bedrooms. Minimum new roller blind in bathroom needs replacing immediately. Hallways in need of decoration and lighting immediately.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Gem in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing find! The hotel felt homely yet luxurious with a comfortable lounge/bar and cosy bedrooms. It's a quiet hotel in a fantastic location, close to Trinity, Grafton Street and excellent bars/restaurants. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend Buswells Hotel and I hope to visit again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.0
    I would definitely stay in this hotel again so central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well our room was a little dark ....colour scheme was a little off plus, lighting was cold bulbs need to be warm light not cool. But it had a great view. I had problems regulating the taps in the bath/shower, but water was lovely & hot.

    The atmosphere is really old worldly & has charm. The decor in the reception area was lovely & many of the original features like stucco work have been preserved and highlighted . The staff were all helpful & polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no teaspoon on the tea/coffee tray in the bedroom and there was only one biscuit. Very minor thing, maybe the accomodation staff forgot to replenish the tray. €135 for Overnight stay only without any breakfast is a bit high.

    The Hotel was clean and safe, it was suitable for a woman staying on her own.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Home from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style hotel, with nice lobby area, bar, and open fire. Warm, welcoming, really helpful staff. Nice atmosphere. Would stay again. Felt like a home from home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.8
    It could have been better - rooms need a makeover to make it worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unlucky, got allocated Buswell's worst room possible. We had a room on the 1st floor, right at the back of the hotel, room 125 next to a noisy street. The room had a looming stench of cigarettes, the shower and sink tap mixer were both playing up so we either got scorching hot water or very cold water and our room never got turned down possibly because it was so far back in the hotel that even the cleaning staff forgot about it. The hotel staff were friendly, we had raised some issues earlier like the turn down being missed so the staff brought up clean towels for us that night. When we checked out the front desk gave us a 20% discount on the room rate for our troubles however for what we paid, we were not satisfied. Could have gotten something better elsewhere for the same price. We would have asked for our room to be changed but I believe we had taken the last available room.

    The hotel itself is very well located, walking distance to everything with public transport and the hop on hop off bus near by. Possibly one of the oldest hotels in Dublin. The lounging area, dining room and foyer is simply beautiful. The staff all were very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricier than I would have liked.

    The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have the tea and shortbread in the room. Room was spacious enough for my husband, daughter and I. Shower was very nice. Bathroom roomy. Helpful staff when I wanted some leftovers refrigerated and then warmed up the next morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Central, comfy, homely , friendly and obliging....thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the fact there was no view of note as we were at back of city centre hotel and had roof tops . Didn't bother us on this occasion as we were in the city for appointments, a dinner and shopping and the room itself was very spacious and pleasing.

    The room was newly refurbished, tastefully! Bed was extremely comfy! Room and corridor were quiet. Staff at breakfast were really friendly and welcoming and showed great personality. Looking forward to visiting again and would happily recommend to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Historical Gem in Dublin with comfortable beds and wonderful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The handrails in the bath/shower are awkwardly placed in relation to the shower stream. However, not a big deal to us since we know it's an historic hotel with modern safety mandates.

    Historical hotel, beautiful setting, and central location - easy to walk to many sites. Beds are very comfortable. The breakfast was average...but the dining room setting is lovely. Also love the lounge/bar area. Hotel personnel is exceptional - they all made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to criticise. Very slightly in disrepair but very clean and at the price it is an awesome hotel.

    Location excellent. Staff great. Lovely old world quality atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Staff were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Energy saving bulbs in the side table lamps were very cold in color, took away from the coziness of the room #126) Nowadays these types of bulbs have much warmer light.

    Staff were wonderful!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and enjoyable. Central for the galleries.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived a bit early we were told that the room was not ready but we went out for a few hours and all was well when we returned. The duvet was very hot but a sheet was provided.

    The breakfast had lots of choice, the cooked breakfast was not too large, lovely tea and also newspapers to read. Staff were very attentive. My partner had a cold on the last day and the restaurant manager went into the kitchen and made him a hot drink with fresh lemon, honey and cloves to take up to our room. Above and beyond.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Short stay but very pleased with hotel, friendly staff and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only drawback was parking was difficult due to construction work in the area, had to park in Grafton Street area, about 10 minutes walk.

    Hotel is very good and has an excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect final experience for our Irish adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What can I say? This is not a bargain hotel. However, it’s so lovely, it’s worth the splurge.

    This was my third visit, and the lovely staff remembered me!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.5
    Very enjoyable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All Dublin hotels are overpriced compared to most cities.

    An interesting,comfortable hotel of character a refreshing change from the many nondescript alternatives in the city. The location is ideal, and the staff are friendly and helpful - my favourite hotel in Dublin so far.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable safe place in cent re of townwith lovely courteous reception staff and manager . fo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all lovely

    The staff were superb . There was a mix up with my booking . Two rooms had been booked on line and the manager and receptionist were courteous and helpful . They sorted out the mix up without charge anc even upgraded me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Old fashioned central Dublin comfort & welcome - recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The location is perfect both for work & shopping. The hotel is old fashioned grandeur & really comfortable with a nice international clientele coming & going.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice building, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Why have locks on the doors to the rooms that an arthritic person cannot operate? And why not provide a light blanket as well as the duvet, which is quite heavy.

    Nice building, nice staff. I liked the fact that many nationalities are employed there. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    i will definitely choose buswells for my next dublin stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!!

    the staff in the bar, particularly an English young man, superbly professional and had an excellent manner, i cant remember his name. comfortable bed, spotless bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The BH sent us to venues with “live music” that didn’t have live music. We requested a cab to get to the airport that would accept credit cards as we were low on Euros. The cab did not accept cards and the driver said he was never asked if he did.

    Beautiful lobby, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    For one night it was the perfect place. We wouldn't be able to afford more nights there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for our budget.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. We could easily walk to shops and pubs. We were tired at dinner time and didn't have to leave the hotel to get a delicious dinner, a reasonable cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Look forward to returning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average - not alot of choice on the menu. Could do with refining this and putting in a little more focus to making this a breakfast to remember. otherwise everything was fab.

    Comfy beds, so clean, great pillows, lovely ambience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    VERY enjoyable but stay not long enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and although very comfortable there was a high step into the ensuite and I'm currently on crutches, so had to be extremely careful. Cost me a fortune in parking, over €38.00 for the day/night even though I have a Disabled parking permit. One last thing which I was disappointed with was the fact that I was awoken early in the a.m. by men erecting scaffolding right outside my bedroom window, banging and hammering and dragging scaffolding.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed extremely comfortable. Was a bit late down for breakfast, entirely my own fault, but staff still looked after us and had a great feed, plenty of variety and all very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    Not acceptable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dreadful. I know I booked a single room but this was seriously a joke. It was like a child's bed. They shouldn't be allowed to hire this out. I paid £110 excl breakfast and I literally could not move. It was terribly noisy too.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    Miserable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived very late after my daughters wedding. We requested a late check out. We were woken up in the very early morning by very loud drilling that was coming from the building next to our room. We also had to suffer the noise of workmen walking passed our windows. We were not informed of this going on and would certainly not stayed in this hotel if we knew. I had terrible trouble with the manager who replied there is nothing we can do. They could have informed us and we would have cancelled. Eventually after much ado they agree to take a small discount off our bill. I would definitely not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect way to discover Dublin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had some noise of drilling in the morning for a couple of days. Thankfully in the last day it was alright, after we called to complaint at reception. You need to sleep and rest after all the pub crawling in the city! :)

    Place was in perfect location for a weekend in Dublin, and the hotel was comfy and lovely. We had not breakfast at the hotel since there were so many coffee shops in the city that we wanted to visit. For the first time in Dublin, this hotel could not get any better!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    I've stayed in Buswell's a few times, and it's a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed in Buswell's a few times, and it's a great location near the center of Dublin. Highly recommended for value-oriented travelers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay breakfast not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor not worth it at all Ireland is renowned for its breakfast but not in this hotel. Traditional black and white pudding no bigger than a 1 euro coin. We only had it once and found a local pub which was better value for the rest of our stay .

    Good location. Staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Might have been a little better if it wasn't so
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was hot in Dublin for the few days we stayed there and there is no air conditioning in the hotel and the window would only open about 3 inches. The room was extremely hot with no air flow. The fan didn't help much. The bathrooms were extremely small. I felt like I was in a air plane toilet. It was even too hot to have a d

    The location was good. The breakfast was also good. The staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location but some rude staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff was curt. The other woman with the short hair at the front desk was kind of rude also. She was nicer the day Rick Steves was there.

    Some of the staff was rude. Mary at the front desk was the rudest of all. Paddy was super nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice and old-school.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N.A.

    The location and the feel of the hotel -it's old school. Don't come here if you want modern. We loved the change. We didn't have the kids this time so the fact that there are lots of steps/stairs didn't bother us at all. Comfortable beds with goose down duvets and pillows (FYI for asthmatics). Small but adequate bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole experience was great. The staff was helpful to the point of drawing us maps to show us how to get around the city. The room was comfy and a good size. We also enjoyed the restaurant/bar/lounge area. It was so relaxing to just sit in a comfortable chair and have someone ask us what you wanted as we read the newspaper or our book. The gentleman in charge of breakfast seemed to love his job and it showed as he talked to people dining each morning. That's what I call service. :) I would totally recommend this hotel for it's location, facility and staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Dublin is pricey but this place was just brilliant for what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dublin is pricey but this place was just brilliant for what we paid. Location is perfect, so close to Grafton st, stephen's green, trinity. Quite too, such a beautiful little street. I lived in Dublin for 5 years, this is the best location for a central hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, between Trinity College and St Stephen's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel feels slightly tired - not in a bad state by any means, but it could do with a refresh and some fresh paint etc. The view from our room was a bit disappointing, as it faced a wall in an alley and an emergency exit staircase, which also meant to room was a little dark.

    Great location, between Trinity College and St Stephen's Green, making it central to everything, with some lovely restaurants and coffee shops nearby. The hotel is a beautiful old building, which has retained some of its period charms. It is not a luxurious, but it was very clean and was more than adequate for what we wanted - somewhere decent and central to stay whilst on a city break. Certainly a step up from your average budget chain hotel, but for a similar price. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and the room was a good size.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing home from home feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault this hotel at all

    Staff very friendly and welcoming - will go out of their way to help you. Good food in bar restaurant. Location couldn't have been better. We would definitely recommend Buswells for your stay in Dublin.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely old building well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first person we encountered on check in was abrupt. I thought I had made a mistake booking this hotel. First impressions are so important. Front desk staff overall could do with a shakeup, perhaps a few younger staff might help.

    Staff in hotel breakfast room were outstanding. Lead by Robert they were very attentive and happy. They even remembered how you liked your coffee from the day before. When we commented that he was very happy, Robert replied "There are two ways of doing things, I prefer the happy way". Wonderful breakfast in a busy hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Upscale place for an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As two rather young and easy going people we felt a bit out of place here. Most of the other guests were a bit older and looked posher. Additionally, we were not sure how to understand the slightly distant attitude of the reception staff towards us... were we just not used to these mondane spheres anymore after having stayed in B&B's with a more personal and often warm contact to the hosts? But nobody from the staff treated us incorrectly at any time. They were all helpful and mad our stay a very good one. Thank you very much.

    This is a good hotel in an old well renovated building. The sublime atmosphere in the entry hall gives you an impression of an upscale place. As we were told by the taxi driver, there are often politicians staying in this hotel because the gouvernment buildings are very close to it. Also very close is the Grafton Street and Trinity College area with nice pubs and shops. You will also reach the Temple Bar district in a 10- minutes footwalk. Our room was very clean and nice and we were welcomed there by two chocolate easter bunnies on the bed (easter weekend) which we appreciated as a nice and special attention of the hotel management. We would also like to mention the quite spacious and modern bathroom with a good shower. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Very well situated and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was a little disappointing. The beef and guinness pie was more like quite a thin stew with a very insubstantial puff pastry topping. Other dishes might have been better but I was not there long enough to try them.

    The excellent service from the very attentive staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Overall a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken and very difficult to use, there was construction on the road that was noisy all night and made it difficult to get around. The restaurant was really expensive with only mediocre food.

    The beds and linen were excellent and the room was very clean and comfortable. The concierge was very helpful. The location was further away from the city centre than the advertising claimed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was incredible. Also, Paddy helping us out the way he did was above and beyond our expectations! What an amazing experience!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist (Mary), friendly not her middle name !!!!!. Would not put me off booking again.

    A beautiful place to stay. Fabulous location. Food Great. Excellent Staff, mostly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.6
    We arrived so early in the morning and went to drop off our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived so early in the morning and went to drop off our bags, and instead of saying, 'Ok, see you at 2' (it was still so dark and pretty cold), we were invited to/it was suggested that we sit by a fire in the lobby and help ourselves to coffee, read the paper and relax. It was such a welcoming way to start our trip to Ireland and Dublin. I will eternally be grateful to the concierge who was so generous and kind to us. Also, the fires and sitting areas in the lobby are gorgeous. That early morning is one of my favorite memories of Ireland, the welcoming spirit, the coffee and the setting, and beginning my week of Irish newspaper reading.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Charm and location cannot be beaten, take it from me I'm local.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Look, this is an old Georgian house so it is not going to have spa-like bathrooms etc., the bathrooms are fine, but nothing special, the ventilation in them could be better and so on. But overall, rooms are clean and comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities are always a nice touch. Staff lovely. There was a very strong smell of fish probably coming from the bar and restaurant area. I love fish so did not bother me, but it might give a slightly seedy atmosphere.

    Incredibly charming hotel in a supreme location in my hometown of Dublin. Better location not to be found. The aircoach from the airport stops literally in front of it. Get off at the Kildare Street stop and is is in front of you. Staff were lovely, there is a buzzing bar where you can also have very nice food, and the prices for the food are quite good. There are always a lot of locals in the bar area, from business people and politicians having a drink or a bite, to older ladies and gentlemen having teas and coffees which they possibly used to do with their own parents - it's that kind of hotel. Something about it reminds me of the description of Bertram's Hotel in the Agatha Christie book (without the crime of course....) When I am home in Dublin, it is one of my "secret" places, I pop in for a pot of tea or coffee, relax by the fire, read the provided newspapers etc., without that feeling of being rushed like in a conventional cafe. Love this place. Fantastic hotel, fantastic location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, cosy hotel in fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing in bedroom was poor. Could hear cistern filling up every time room next door pulled flush. Would not stop us from staying here again though.

    The bed was very comfortable and big. The breakfast had good choice, cooked breakfast was served to order, plenty to choose from the continental selection. Good service, friendly staff. Cosy hotel with fires in reception and bar. Good bar meals.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Great stay at a wonderful hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    prices in Dublin for hotel rooms, but this is a problem which does not exclusively apply to Buswells ! Buswells is at least worth the money :)

    Dino ! He was one of the guys working in the lobby. It was a pleasure to meet him and to talk to him. He was overwhelmingly helpful and nice! Thanks again for this great stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    A great hotel. Would definitely choose to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was dark with a view of a wall and heating pipes (Room 111), but as we were out all day it didn't matter. The advantage was that the room was quiet with no traffic noise

    Central location was ideal. Hotel was comfortable and staff were very friendly and efficient. Great breakfast. Bar food was excellent. Room was comfortable with a big bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely historic building 4* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door locks

    Lovely hotel but no air con so can't stay on my return visit in summer . Also keys for bedroom were nightmare had to go down to get someone to open door for me . If you were elderly you probable couldn't work them sore on hands .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Charming, Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming and a great location. Easy walking distance to main attractions without all the noisy of staying on main strip. The room was small but nicely laid out and had all you needed. Friendly staff. And, super easy to get to from airport, bus stop across the street.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: