Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Dublin County hotel reviews
  4. Dublin hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Buswells Hotel

Reviews of Buswells Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

23-27 Molesworth Street, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#20 of 168 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 508 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2019

    7.9
    Good base for short break in Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a quiet room and got a noisy one near a busy street without double glazing. However changing to a really quiet room was not a problem so it would have been nice to get it in the first place.

    Friendly welcoming hotel well located.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2019

    7.9
    Location and staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot of noise from outside. Seagulls from 5am. Although the bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless, we did not get a good nights sleep.

    The room was very warm with no air con . This made sleeping difficult

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2019

    10
    Outstanding place, elegant hotel, very friendly staff, excellent service. Would definately recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, Location, Location ! Walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see in Dublin. Very nice selection of breakfast items. The bar area is very comfortable amd relaxing. bar staff service was excellent and Bogdan was extreamly knowledgabe on Irish Whiskeys

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2019

    9.6
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the hotel a little bit cold and the facilities in the room weren’t located logically.

    Staff was very kind. Room clean and tidy. I loved the shower in the bathroom. So spacious and new.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2019

    6.3
    Fine for last night in Dublin after our tour ended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Called downstairs and asked for a fan. It never came and they never called back. Our bathroom window looked directly on the street. Literally, people could watch you on the toilet.

    Great location and Paddy was a great bell hop.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2019

    10
    Very comfortable for a solo traveler. In the heart of things but away from the crowds and noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    jThey were short handed in the bar but the 1-2 young men working there did keep up with things.

    It was central to the shopping I wanted to do, meeting friends and cultural attractions. It was a business that was even more attractive than expected. Often a place doesn't live up to it's photographs but this one exceeded them.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2019

    8.8
    Location was perfect for shopping on Grafton St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No car park at the hotel. Car park next door worked out expensive for 2 nights.

    Location was perfect for shopping on Grafton St. Area was very nice. Food was lovely at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2019

    9.6
    Paddy and Clive went out of their way to make us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paddy and Clive went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. They were so helpful with our luggage and any questions we had about the area and offered great suggestions for places we should visit in Dublin.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2019

    9.2
    Great location but no a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we were there it was quite warm. They have a note on the bed saying that if you wanted a top sheet instead of the duvet they would send one up. For our second night we requested one and they immediately brought it up. The room was still quite warm. There was a fan but no air conditioning so the room was still quite warm, though we did not get up in the middle of the night to set up the fan.

    Location was fantastic. About a five minute walk to Grafton street and about 12 minute to Temple Bar area. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2019

    10
    Marvelous hotel located right by Trinity College.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were a bit dense

    Marvelous hotel located right by Trinity College. We loved everything about our stay. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was clean and cozy. Delicious breakfast and a nice bar to relax in at night.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful staff, great location, old-fashioned charm. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is not a cheap hotel, especially compared to many others in Dublin. But I think it was worth it!

    The old-fashioned feel of the place. The repeatedly demonstrated helpfulness and friendliness of staff. The perfect location for tourism.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    10
    Great space
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was happy

    So pretty. Was much better than I thought it would be for the money. Room small but elegant. The night time desk clerk was SO nice and SO helpful

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    9.2
    One night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy rooms!! 3 of us stayed and were awake from very early in the morning with the noise from upstairs and the hall, very disappointing and would put us off returning unfortunately

    Ideal location, spotlessly clean rooms and very helpful staff. Beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    8.8
    Excellent location, lovely staff and tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old rooms without air conditioning, but a fan is provided.

    Lovely staff, resolved all issues reported. Nice decor, bar and restaurant food delicious. Room comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    7.5
    The pictures are deceiving. Bed and rooms are not up to what one expects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was cheap. I could feel the springs on my back. I also had a lot of trouble with the old door lock. The windows were old and drafty, but they looked over at parliament,so I shouldn’t complain.

    Excellent location. Nice common rooms.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    7.9
    Nice size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If u oate over 6 feet tall the shower is a sick joke. U can't even stand upright in it. Have to bend your knees and neck the entire time cuz of a stupid overhead shower. Most uncomfortable shower I've ever had in my life lol. Also the floor was under construction during our stay.....made it real weird walking through workers with bags trying not to get your luggage covered in fresh paint on drop sheets. Not to mention the room was painted the day before we got in there so was very very strong with the smell of paint.

    Nice size rooms. Classy enviroment. Nice place overall

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    10
    Very nice room with extremely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water was very slow coming out of the faucet. When you turned it up it was splash everywhere.

    The staff are wonderful and the rooms were very nice. With a perfect location as well

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    7.9
    We’ll stay at Boswell’s again but consider upgrading to a better room next time. P
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was smaller than we had expected making it difficult to relax apart from on the bed. It was also single glazed and very chilly although an electric fan heater was provided.

    We had a comfortable room with clean linens and an efficient shower. The hotel is in a brilliant , central position and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    9.6
    Friendly staff, clean, quiet room and new bathroom. Overall very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't expect a gym and we were surprised to find one in the hotel. It's little, but enough the do some exercises to start the day. It's a great location in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    8.8
    Glad we chose the Buswell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too warm. Used the fan and opened the window, but still seemed warm.

    Location was nice ... close to St. Stephens Green. Close to bus routes. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    7.1
    Friendly staff and great location. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price. Patricks day explains this. Breakfast felt overpriced..thin sausages and a tea spoon of beans does not justify this price

    Great location. Very friendly and professional staff

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent service, friendly staff. Great central location. Definitely recommend Buswells.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower in our room was too hot, and could not be adjusted. We reported this however not much difference.

    The staff are excellent, very friendly helpful and efficient. Vicki at the front desk was great, all of them were. We had early starts for tours and the night clerk was really great, getting us coffee to get us going in the morning. All much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    8.8
    Clean, professional and very courteous staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a little old, and smelled a bit like a library. I didn't mind it, but my wife was not a fan. I don't think the hotel was dirty, but likely just old carpet.

    I LOVED the Staff! They were so helpful to find parking, answer local questions and even booked evening entertainment for our family. They really went out of their way to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    7.9
    Lovely staff and well appointed hotel but their descriptions are a bit exaggerated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was unimaginative and lack lustre i.e. limited choice on buffet; cooked breakfast quality varied every day. Food available in the bar was also overpriced and mediocre. Mattress was hard and uncomfortable. We had not been advised on booking that the hotel was undergoing renovation. Our daughter was allocated a well equipped room but did not appreciate being woken up at 06:45 am to the sound of sanding machines and banging. The reception staff were apologetic when this was raised with them, but no alternative room or good will gesture was offered. We appreciate that this work needs to be completed, but this should be made explicit by the hotel website prior to booking!

    Location was ideal for getting around Dublin and accessing airport. All hotel staff were friendly and polite. Accommodation was clean and well serviced.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    7.9
    Absolutely brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a single room on the first floor and was very noisy. There constantly seemed to be empty wine glasses and dirty dishes from room service outside my door that would take hours to clear away.

    Absolutely brilliant location. Bed was very comfortable. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single room was small and if you don't like traffic noise do not take a room to the front of the building

    The staff were exceptional, felt like every person staying was appreciated and made to feel part of a family

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    8.3
    The bed linens were lovely, some of the window opened so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the blinds was broken and couldn’t be opened. Staff in the bar were not consistently attentive. The promised newspaper arrived at my door on the first day but not for the next three days of our stay.

    The bed linens were lovely, some of the window opened so we could get fresh air.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    10
    Staff superfriendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hear a fair bit from other rooms but that is to be expected from an old building and the location. Did not disturb my sleep

    Staff superfriendly and helpful. Room comfortable and very good value for money paid. Very nice shower in en-suite. Good central location.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely staff. Perfect location right in the middle of Dublin walking distance to lots of the sights, shops and restaurants. Comfortable surroundings, felt right at home.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    7.5
    The location was very central, near art gallery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Please bem aware that the Room you choose might not macht with the photo on the site. I choose a triple room with two Windows and new furniture and decoration, and we had a Room with old furniture and a little Window.

    The location was very central, near art gallery. The loby is wonderful, has a romantic decoration, with a Nice fireplace. The bed was very comfortable. has tea and coffee facilities in bedroom. The breakfast Room was not so organized as ir could be.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Comfortable and Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good

    Comfortable, characterful, helpful staff. Very close to shops and restaurants - Marco White Pierre and Ivy and Kilkenny- stunning store with quality Irish made gifts..

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    8.3
    I usually love Buswells Hotel but on this occasion was disappointed
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a really poor nights sleep due to traffic noise. No earplugs provided. Also thermostat on shower not working and no holder for handheld shower

    Location. Comfortable bed. Excellent concierge really helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Beat the January Blue's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything, staff excellent. The lady that booked us in was very helpful and friendly and then Rory who was in the bar very well mannered guy and very good at his job.Bed's very comfortable, food excellent also

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    6.7
    Location is brilliant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was quite cold. The heating was turned off overnight. Even when the heating was on, it was quite cold. I did report it to reception in the morning and the receptionist said 'thanks for letting us know'.

    Location is brilliant. Old world charm to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    8.3
    The hotel is a typical “Irish small hotel ‘ - in fact is not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a typical “Irish small hotel ‘ - in fact is not small, but the atmosphere is cozy. The pub downstairs is very nice and has comfortable seating possibilities. The rooms are relatively large, the interior is not modern and may need renovation. But overall a nice hotel in a great location - opposite the Parliament, near to shops (Graffton Street)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    7.9
    Old hotel located quite center of Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevator was not working, and most of the equipment in the room was so old. Bathroom was very small.

    Old hotel located quite center of Dublin. Bar is very nice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Fabulous stay in a lovely atmospheric hotel right off Grafton street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere in the hotel in general. Really nicely decorated for Christmas time too and perfect location for Grafton street. The mattress and duvets were extremely comfortable!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.2
    Short Dublin Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, have stayed before and happy with everything.

    Friendly staff, comfortable, welcoming. Location was great, close to attractions but away from noise.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    9.6
    A Christmas treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Nutcracker wasn’t there! 😉

    The hotel has an excellent location with really friendly staff. The room had two windows on a corner site so good view. The beds are comfortable and for a short stay it was perfect. Good value at the heart of Dublin.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.8
    Most enjoyable and brilliant for location for shopping locally , despite the drawbacks)we really lov
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sandwiches were fresh but tasteless, no seasoning. Hot breakfast very good but waiter was unsmiling and making us feel rushed..,Alarm on street going off from 7-830 interrupting sleep... rooms too warm.

    Location and cleanliness were excellent. Very unrushed and relaxing. Staff were very accommodating

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    9.6
    Extremely helpful and welcoming staff - first rate client...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a tad small but they held everything - including an iron, a coffee maker and cozy duvet

    Extremely helpful and welcoming staff - first rate client service. Beautiful lobby area decorated for Christmas - perfect spot for a cup or coffee / bubbles. Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    6.3
    Good location but needs some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I acknowledge it is a city center hotel in an old building. However, the hotel suffers from poor ventilation and air quality. It could be cleaner (stained menus, grubby decoration (walls and light switches). The room can feel cramped with direct and up-close views of walls and air conditioners in many of the rooms at the back of the hotel.

    Friendly staff, great location, comfortable bed, welcoming lobby and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great historic hotel at a good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My single room was bit run down and in need of refurbishment, with tired furniture (e.g. a wardrobe without a door) and a very average bathroom.

    Wonderful traditional hotel, full of character and history, right opposite Leinster House, the seat of the Irish Parliament. Staff are very helpful. The bar/restaurant is lively and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.2
    VERY ENJOYABLE - PITY SO SHORT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HAVING TO LEAVE KEY AT DESK IF JUST GOING OUT FOR SHORT TIME

    COMFORTABLE HOMELY FEELING AND FRIENDLY STAFF ESPECIALLY IN BAR WHEN HAVING MEAL WITH FRIENDS

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    8.8
    Very spacious bedrooms comfortable bed lovely shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was staying with 2 other people.Only one person out of 3 had a cooked breakfast the other 2 just coffee but we were charged for 3 cooked breakfast. Did bring to receptionist attention but was informed that this was there way of charging. Felt this was a little unacceptable

    Very spacious bedrooms comfortable bed lovely shower

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend in a lovely Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Very comfortable room for three adults. The bath and shower were excellent with lots of hot water. The hotel was lovely and the staff very welcoming. We arrived very early with a view to leaving our luggage and exploring but the staff could obviously see that we were worn out from our journey and as a triple room was available they gave us the key there and then. Very much appreciated and we were able to rest and shower before exploring. Will definitely stay at Buswells next time we visit Dublin. Thank you for a great stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Prime location for Dublin attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice room but poor outlook (onto a wall, although a mural had been painted on it to improve things!).

    Pleasant traditional decor and helpful, attentive staff. Excellent location for many of Dublin's attractions (Trinity Colege, National Gallery, Grafton Street, etc).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Now my hotel of choice in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like, just temperature from the radiator in the bedroom could not be adjusted and so it was particularly hot given the radiator was located by the bed. However when I mentioned to reception it was rectified. Therefore the positive is that the customer service was excellent.

    Read Stacy, great location, excellent for shopping restaurants and walks. Going back again in December

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    A very comfortable Georgian Hotel....couldn't fault it
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Room & Beds Very Comfortable & Clean, Great Nights Sleep Very Welcoming Staff in all areas..Cleaning/Restaurant and Reception Ordered from Bar Menu, lovely Food/Wine and Breakfast was Delicious Had Irish Coffees by the Fireplace in Lobby...lovely setting with Christmas tree! Lovely feel to this Georgian Hotel...sadly a short one night stay but will return very soon, loved it!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, will be returning next year. Looking forward to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The continental was poor. That been said the full Irished cooked breakfast was Devine.

    The bedrooms we're well equipped. Bottled water, makings of tea and coffee, and biscuits.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Relaxing environment in the hub of trinity college and st. Stephens green.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was more than we expected at a very reasonable price. Nothing to improve on.

    Lovely atmosphere with very friendly staff. Excellent restaurant with excellent service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    Overall, happy. The manager’s helpfulness made it.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall, it was good, location excellent and staff helpful. There was a very grumpy/harassed Spanish looking Manuel-type in the bar who was ungracious and a bit rude the first day and looked stressed the next day (when the hotel was full of runners) too. The other thing was the pillows. They were incredibly hard and it was better to sleep without any at all than use them. My daughter had bad neck ache all the next day. We were offered new ones the second night, but they were polyester, not feather, which I really don’t like.

    The manager was absolutely brilliant. He let my son shower in a spare room, after he had run the Dublin marathon. Made a big difference as we were flying back to London/Nairobi that evening.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    location
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel exudes an old-fashioned atmosphere too much creeping and crawling corridors, a little bit annoying with suitcases

    location staff with breakfast was excellent and really service minded

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    We felt very welcome at Buswell's Hotel and would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Walls were a little thin but no problem with the amount of noise.

    This hotel has an old style comfort and charm, matched by the hospitality of the staff. It has a small, cozy feel in the heart of the city. The location is walking distance to most things you want to see- we loved the location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food wasn't great I had my breakfast in the Ivy which was wonderful and just two euros dearer than Buswells

    Atmosphere and comfort and location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel for a sensible price - busines or pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike! I read other's comments about windows being near walls outside but, I don't live in my hotel room and, if I really wanted a view, I'd ask for a room with one before I arrived. Yes, I had a wall - it was night, it was dark and I had my curtains shut... - so, no problem! lol

    Great hotel - I stayed for business, would stay here on holiday, too. Absolutely fabulous staff - all cheery and chatty, lovely older style decor, plush, fun and cosy. Room and bathroom were spotless - and I mean spotless!! Bed was very comfortable, duvet was perfect. Bathroom modern with shower and bath. Breakfast was HUGE - continental style buffet followed by full 'Irish' (almost couldn't eat it all!), gallons of coffee. Very close to St Stephen's Green - bus from airport drops you off 7 mins walk away. Luas (tram) is 3 mins away, town centre is 4 mins away. Good price for Dublin city centre. What's not to love? Would I stay again? Absolutely!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.5
    Super location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little tight, Aircon consisted of a fan and a small plug in heater. Disappointingly the restaurant was closed on the Sunday evening so we had to dine out.

    Super location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel , good value for money considering it’s location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’ve no complaints regarding this hotel .

    Excellent location, staff lovely . Room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Food in bar was really good . I’ll be back !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bigger room double glazed windows would have stopped draughts room sometimes cold

    Helpful staff Great bar comfortable bed close location to all amenities had a friendly feel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable Stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The reception could not have been more friendly. The room and bed and ensuite were just right. The breakfast was tasty and very adequate. The hotel location was very convenient to all locations I wished to visit, and very central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, elegant hotel right near Trinity College and St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful, elegant hotel right near Trinity College and St. Stephen's Green - perfect location. The rooms and public areas were very nice, and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room we were in was by the staircase and the soundproofing was not good. We woke up a few times as people came in and out of the corridor.

    Great location, close to everything but quieter then other hotels. Room and bed good. It was good value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.8
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in a room next to the lift.

    The best location! Loved the comfortable old world charm and the invitation to a complimentary tea on arrival. The staff were always attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    Location, comfort and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food wasn't bad but didnt it match up to the caliber of hotel and service. Much better food available close by.

    Location, comfort and style. Very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    loved it. close to everything. the most comfortable beds in all the land!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOVE Buswells Hotel! The room had ample space and was not cramped at all. Bathroom was nice as well. But the bed, oh my, LUXURIOUS! So comfortable. The down comforter was amazing. Also the staff at the hotel was great, extremely helpful and eager to please. Johnny who checked us in was great and insisted on carrying our bags up to our room - wouldn't take no for an answer. Also in a great location, very walkable. Couldn't recommend this place more. Would give it 6 stars if I could.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    9.6
    Cozy comfortable hotel in the heart of Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in an old fashioned, cozy style. The location is great and within 10 min. walking distance to the heart of Dublin with many restaurants, pubs nearby, but also shopping is just around the corner. The personnel was very friendly and we loved the breakfast as well. They don't have a car park but the Dawson Street Q-Park parking is just around the corner and the hotel will give you a voucher for the overnight-fee (17:00 - 09:00)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    We were given a room at the back of the hotel and even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room at the back of the hotel and even though it was very comfortable, it was very dark. Next time, I would request a room with more sunlight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    9.2
    Definitely would return to this hotel and I would tell family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in could be a bit earlier and check out a bit later.Also the hotel could do special deals or lower the price down for one night stay or could include breakfast in the deals.

    The overall - staff were friendly and helpful, could not do enough for us. The room was clean bed lovely and comfortable. Food was great. Would be back again. Close to all the amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    We arrived for a late check in 11:30pm to be greeted by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived for a late check in 11:30pm to be greeted by Johnni who is one of the nicest most efficient people I have ever encountered in the hospitality business. We were made feel so welcome and nothing was a problem. Buswells is a lovely warm friendly spotless hotel with great food and a gem called Johnni

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    The staff was really friendly and helpfull. Location was fantastic in the city center, nearby coffee shops, restaurants, Archeological Museum less than 1 minute walking. I would recommend to do a free tour in the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    2.9
    the room was dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was dirty. they had no late night veggie options. they messed up my booking. they couldn't extend my booking at night or tell me if there were rooms open. very disorganized and unprofessional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    The elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In #301 there was an erratic loud-ish continual annoying rumble which was on again, off again even in night hours. If I had been in my room for any period of time it would have been unpleasant. Staff was notified but no understanding of the cause.

    The elegance. The clear visual appeal of trying their best.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    9.0
    Stay for history!
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historic hotel, so that in itself is a reason to stay. On same corner as National Library, Irish Parliament, and short walk to Stephen's Green, Trinity U., etc. Bar where lots of politicians gather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.9
    Would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very noisy, asked for a different room and then got a very poor room with large fans outside...no sleep at all! Parking situation was not explained. Staff not engaging at the front desk.

    Proximity to Grafton street. very clean room, great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very warm and there was just a little window. I know that the hot temperature is usually not an issue in Ireland but you know...the global warming...

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: