Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Caiseal Mara Hotel

Foyle Street, Moville, Ireland

#11 of 13 hotels in Moville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Hospitality plus cleanliness were outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like and would return and recommend it to our friends.

    This family run business was very helpful and welcoming. They helped us plan our day and suggested restaurants. They even packed up some food for us to take with us when we left. They were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice friendly accommodation by the River Foyle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the one night I forgot to let the shower run for 4 minutes ...

    The beds were comfortable and the room large; down side and its only if you make it so - is the hot water in the shower needs about 4 minutes before you strip down and plunge in. Just organize your stuff with the water running :) Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Best spot in Moville as far as I know - and right in the center of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Will never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners interaction with guests non existent. Abandoned the breakfast room once breakfast served. Dreadful breakfast ! One poached egg black and the other undercooked ! Not one enquiry as to whether we were okay or needed anything.

    Nothing to recommend about this place except location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Loved Staying her and will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Booked the hotel in Moville for the first time (we've been to Moville many times but never stayed in hotel), was really impressed, nice comfortable well furnished room and excellent b reakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    I would highly recommend the Caiseal Mara Hotel to everyone! You will truly receive a warm welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed at the Caiseal Mara Hotel for four nights in August 2017. The Hotel is a family concern and Valerie and family could not have made may stay any more welcoming. The room was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean and the breakfast delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for Valerie and all family members, and they were keen to ensure my stay at the Hotel was of a high standard. I will definitely return to the Caiseal Mara Hotel and would recommend this hotel to everyone. You will truly receive a warm welcome! Laura, Bangor, Northern Ireland

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    We would stay here again....comfortable quiet family run hotel in convenient location..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is on street outside but there was no problem getting parked.

    Very convienent location Comfortable bedrooms. Good breakfast...staff friendly & polite..family run hotel...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing, accomodating and great spot for nature loving people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit too expensive for the room. Was very basic and the bed was broken in 2 places. Drank all tea first day on arrival, was no top up in the room next day.

    the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was plentiful. The Atlantic ocean just few minutes away and the beautiful walk path along the shore is magnificent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    Lovely staff but hotel need a lot of work to reflect the prices they are charging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in room was broken, room very small, beside lamp broken, no soap/shower gel left in dispenser in shower, poor water pressure in the shower

    Staff were very helpful & friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    A clean and friendly family-run hotel in Moville
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the decor was a little overpowering but this waned into insignificance because the staff were so engaging and helpful.

    Valerie was particularly welcoming and pleasant. The traditional breakfast was generous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Hospitality at it's best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The staff at this hotel were amazing on my visit. I arrived as a soggy cyclists late at night and the staff bent over backwards to help me out. Hospitality at it's finest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet in the hotel is patchy at best

    The owners of the hotel are fantastic and remarkably friendly and loquacious. The hotel is within the town centre. While there is no specific parking, there wasn't an issue with parking available around the location. Breakfasts are good, only available however at around 09:00 - 10:00 which is pushing it if you have work. Arrived late (21:00) to the hotel, but all food stops at 20:00 and at 21:00 in other restaurants around, so be warned if arriving late (There is a chippy nearby which is quite good if you are stuck). Room was comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Hotel that goes that extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, friendly staff & central location. Only stayed overnight as we were attending wedding. Breakfast was lovely but most amazing gesture was we couldn't get taxi to wed find venue to collect our car so owner drove us & our luggage, refusing any form of payment. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Superb Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing.

    I have never met such a friendly and helpful owner - absolutely out of this world superb lady! Could not do enough. Hotel brilliant and breakfast fantastic. Bed so comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.9
    Great family run hotel friendly staff and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only served between 9 and 10 and restaurant didn't open until 6pm so chippy it was. No parking

    Great family run hotel friendly staff and very helpful. very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    5.8
    Overpriced - needs spruced up!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not the most comfortable. Bathrooms shabby with no shower cubicle only a shower curtain. There were cigarette burns on soap dish and toilet roll holder despite this being a non smoking room. Flooring was very worn and stains on carpet in bedroom. Throughout hotel lighting was very poor. Think some lights were broken? Or perhaps not switched on. The bar area itself is v impersonal eith no atmosphere or comfort. Hotel was overpriced for the standard of room and public areas

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast limited buffet choice but cooked breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bar customers were loud and rude to staff with strong language. Customers arriving in the bar only stayed a few minutes but moved elsewhere. Room was noisey with singing until 03.30hrs making sleep impossible.

    Breakfast limited buffet choice but cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Highly Recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A handrail on the stairs would be good to help people not so fit to get up and down.

    Lovely decor and furniture. Very plush. The staff went that extra mile to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location close to beautiful sea views and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location close to beautiful sea views and the hospitality of the staff was above and beyond

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Just what I needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Expensive for what it was but clean friendly and great breakfast
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive fir what it was. Tired and dated but clean.

    Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Staff and owners were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath...

    Staff and owners were fantastic. A warm friendly atmosphere. A real home from home..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Suitable location for a trip around the Inishown peninsula
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, substantial bedroom with a comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely stay here again the staff went out of their way to look after you well done.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A comfortable and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been any better.

    The hotel was very comfortable. The food was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.4
    It's was a nice place but far to expensive 300 euro for 2 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold and the shower is very poor the bed was so uncomfortable also the breakfast was so poor

    Staff are very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    A lot of stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of other people.

    A lot of stairs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Owners and staff were amazing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Porridge was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Friendly , good value and great location for all the sea front walking one could want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was allocated room 100 which was the same room that I used on a previous visit way back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    People were lovely just need to sort a few things here and there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bed even when you just sat down on it. Sausages at breakfast were awful we never tasted any like those ever before.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    Nothing was to much for them very friendly&helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was to much for them very friendly&helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful, good breakfast , comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful, good breakfast , comfy room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    totally relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The attention the staff have for you from the time we arrived nothing was any trouble great advice on were to visit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    liked everything had lovely relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    My wife and I had a brilliant stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I had a brilliant stay here. Staff were lovely and very helpful. I will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Food wasnt very good, breakfast was burned on 2 mornings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food wasnt very good, breakfast was burned on 2 mornings

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    4.6
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast was very poor We were charged £110 for the stay honestly it wasn't worth £60

    Room was ok

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36