Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel 3 stars

Merrion Square, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#72 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1119 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could do with a mini bar/fridge.

    Warm and friendly welcome.Staff were extremely helpful. Upon discovering it was my dads 60th birthday a lovely selection of cakes was brought to our room. Great location for St Stephens Green and the aviva stadium. Rooms were clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    It was too far out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That for the price no breakfast.and the attitude of the girl on reception when I asked for a taxi when we were checking out. Our money was under scrutiny in the bar but it was checked on the bank and was perfect.The noise of the seagull s all night

    Rooms were clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The location to the rest of the city is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tired and in need of an upgrade. The room are very hot in summer and if you open the windows the street noise is quite loud.

    The location to the rest of the city is fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    would stay again if price is right :)
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we came back to hotel about 10.30 pm on Saturday evening and bar was already closed.... well, we had our night cap at pub cross a street, but .... oh, and shower - it was or cold or boiling hot, no chance to make it between :(

    check-in and out with very lovely staff member, can't remember her name, but she was from Poland, i think :) and location- so perfectly close to city center :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    we had a wonderful stay which was helped by the friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little dated and somewhat pricey

    The staff were very accommodating and friendly . The location was great - walking distance to many of the sites . There were many good restaurants nearby and it was easy to reach the airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good value for Dublin hotel prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great location within walking distance of Trinity College, Museums, Dublin Castle, and Temple Bar district. Friendly and professional staff. Very good breakfast. Room was small, but clean and quiet with in room safe and coffee station, and good wi fi reception in room. Fulfilled our expectations and would stay there again for a short stay in Dublin. Airport bus shuttle stopped across the street from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Old hotel centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was too soft. Hot and cold water in the bathroom sinks was difficult to adjust. Although our room was ready, we had to pay additional 25 euros for 2 hours earlier check in.

    Staff was responsive on our requests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location to see Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I guess all hotels in Dublin proper are a little pricey.....but I had hoped to spend a little less.

    Location was perfect for us....I wanted to be close to the archeological museum and Trinity. Still saw everything else (Temple Bar area, Grafton Street, St. Patrick's) on foot also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing and over priced
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired and very dated hotel. Needs a total overhaul especially for the price. Restaurant poor choice of food and breakfast was the same as well. Just caters for the American tourist in what the hotel offers.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    We had a very nice stay in Dublin at the O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel and would return there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been a mirror near the hair dryer.

    The room was a bit small, but it was very clean and comfortable. The beds were good. The shower was good. We appreciated being able to open the windows for fresh air. And the room was quiet. The location was very near the bus lines - less than a block away. There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel with an entrance from inside the hotel which is convenient if it is raining. The dining room inside the hotel, where a very nice Irish breakfast was served, was a beautiful room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    The front office staff - Natasha- was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a walk in shower but was given an over bath shower that my husband couldn’t manage

    The front office staff - Natasha- was amazing! Best customer service ever

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Phenomenal location, rooms/service could use some work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our king size bed was clearly two twins put together with gap in the middle - not comfortable. Staff are overworked - too many calls etc. to attend to people at the desk wanting to check in which when your car is outside on a busy Dublin street is a little unfortunate. Price is good for Dublin but a little steep for a cramped, old seeming room with poor airconditioning. The location is the redeeming feature though so might still be worth it!

    Location is phenomenal - walking distance to most of Dublin city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    High class
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, no water on the hospitality tray.

    The cleanliness of the room was a high standard and it was really quiet, even though it was right on the road

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff makes up for facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very ordinary, needs refresh in main areas ,eg carpets. Small room by Irish standards. VERY noisy staff handling of any service using dishware. Earshattering.

    Location, Irish pub, one woman play, desk staff exceptional, especially manager. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and loved the staff very helpful. Just a very lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything that would make it better. Very pleased with everything.

    The first night we stayed everything was very good. Temperature was good. Beds comfy. We then came back a week later and stayed 1 more night. Beds were still comfy rooms were good size however the 2nd night room the window was broken and could not be opened so was a little stuffy, but we did have an air conditioner so we just put it on low and was very comfortable. We would reccommend this hotel. Location was perfect. Staff was excellent. Very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location but hotel needs some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More up to date facilities and more Irish staff.

    The shower only worked on very cold or very hot. The shower curtain fell down when we were out to dinner! However, the location was excellent and some staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced and in need of refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds are poor Rooms are tired and need refurbishment Heating system is an antique Staff attitude poor Very expensive for what it is

    New gym is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Would happily stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cool.

    Great location, within walking distance of the National Gallery and Grafton Street plus opposite the Air link Express coach stops. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Alright given the circumstance..overall not a 4 star experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the 4 star sister hotel opposite, the lobby, bar and breakfast area have been renovated and look great. I am sure some rooms as well. BUT, the room I got was not. Fair enough if it was an "overflow room" for this occasion. At the same time, even though it was big and clean, it was really old and I would just give it a "modern 3-star" rating. bathroom really awkward, no space to put your stuff under mirror. All clean but signs of time in limescale and greyness on tiles. ironing board had ripped fabric and melted material on. During breakfast, no proactive greeting or offering of coffee.

    Very friendly staff. The above hotel was booked out and luckily had a sister hotel which was 4star opposite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The breakfast was Very very good. The staff very friendly. One day we went on a road trip and depart before breakfast time and they prepare to us a little breakfast to eat. The location was amazing. Easy to go everywhere from there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Good location needs updating not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little or no hot water, shabby room. Windows were old not at all sound proof , generally room needed a good clean and paint. Not value for money

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of renovation and the staff training. They were not always able to answer the simplest questions (like the opening hours of the hotel's gym). On Monday when apparently the permanent or at least more experienced staff was present things went more smoothly.

    Breakfast very good, location not perfect but good, about 800 m from William Street. The hotel allows you to order in food (using Deliveroo, for example), which was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt that the rooms and the pubic rooms were looking very tired. The hairdryer in the room had such a short lead that I couldn't see the mirror a the same time as drying my hair. The heated towel rail didn't work. My friends room hadn't been made up when we were sent up and so his room had to be changed. And when we extended for an extra night we got charged a higher rate.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Practical, clean and in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and felt a bit claustrophobic.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and the hotel was in an excellent location. We had a really enjoyable stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location in the city centre but away from disturbance. Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was perhaps a little tired,curtain coming loose and shower hard to adjust but very clean and generally comfortable. Didn't seem to be any warm plates for breakfast.

    The location is excellent and the staff were very pleasant and efficient. Public rooms appear to have been renovated in a traditional style recently. Despite facing a busy street we were not disturbed by traffic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.6
    Avoid this place to save yourself from lots of frustration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff: from friendly incompetent to unacceptable Check in by car: first told to be able to unload in front of hotel - only later to be told by same person that parking fines will be my problem. Payment: Credit card rejected. Struggle to get payment receipt from staff, after having paid upfront in cash(!) Parking: incorrect info provided on parking garage facilities 200m away. No indication of ‘Parking’ location outside of the garage. Filthy, dingy inside, as well around the outside area. No receipt for payment. Entry into the room: dangerous, as door of room safe is wedged open by the broken sliding closet door welcoming guests. Door is at eye level for taller people. It will not budge slamming against it with your head or ramming the sharp door corner into your eye. Noise: loud from the outside heating duct, noisy radiator all nite (room 220). Room 324 was b etter. Breakfast was acceptable Whole place in need of renovation (screws sticking out, splintered entrance door (room 324), worn out mattresses.

    Location Large TV (for people who have a need for it)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a common hotel issue... The apartment doors self-slam, so that woke us up every few minutes as people left and returned to their rooms throughout the early morning until we gave up trying to sleep.

    Very comfortable bed. Spacious room. Heavy curtains. Nice clean chic bathroom. Massive tv screen. Helpful pleasant front desk staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    I would stay here again and recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have been a bit softer. They asked for my credit card to deduct money that would be reimbursed should I have expenses. I said no. The restaurant / bar attached to the hotel had stuffed animals dotted about.

    The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location was very convenient and there were 2 very good pubs serving food with 100m of the hotel (ginger man and Kennedy’s). The airport buses and tour buses stopped right outside the hotel. There was lots of tea/coffee and a kettle in the room. And lots of good tv channels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Lacking modern amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old fashioned and felt more like it catered to business men rather than vacationers. Even the outlet in the bathroom had a sign to be used only for men’s shaver’s. Our room was on a top floor so slanted ceilings made it less roomy. We did ask for a higher floor originally though. The view was of the sky and building tops. Couldn’t see the street at all. The hot water only lasted for about 5 minutes too, literally. Showers had to be VERY fast. The property left some things lacking. Probably wouldn’t stay there again as a traveler.

    The location was great! Walking distance to everything from history, to nightlife, to scenery (including the ocean) if you don’t mind walking a couple miles. Staff was friendly too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Cosy, old-fashioned and excellently located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't dislike anything except the Dublin celeb gossip magazine in the room. However, I have two suggestions: A folder with some hotel info might have been nice – services available, meal times, bar opening hours, etc. This info may have been available on the hotel's TV channel but I like these things in print. Secondly, a little fridge in the room would have been lovely.

    Very nice, old-style hotel in an excellent, central location. Attractive double room on 5th floor so I could look down at the facade of the Davenport Hotel – a very beautiful building. Room/bathroom had lots of dark wood making them feel cosy. Bed was very comfortable. Very big TV on wall facing the bed – unusual to find a TV so well-positioned and so large – most enjoyable viewing experience with a good range of channels too. WiFi worked well. Room was very quiet. Window could be opened to let in fresh air. Good powerful shower although the hot water seemed a little erratic. Based on my limited interaction with them, the staff were polite and friendly. I didn't have breakfast or any other meals/drinks there so cannot comment in this regard. Overall a very nice couple of nights and I would be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    A come back stay😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything😃

    Great location. Quite but only a short walk before you were in the midst of the busy Dublin life. Though no Irish staff, all lovely staff....willing to help and give advice.... I'd stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient and the...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar food was excellent but I would have liked normal Irish food.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient and the location is excellent. Parking is very reasonably priced for the area too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weakest point of the room was the lighting, which was simply terrible, including the bathroom. The view wasn't great as well, but we weren't really looking to have an astonishing view. The lack of certain comforts like a hair drier can also be pointed out.

    In a great location (takes about 10/15 min to get to the city centre walking), the hotel is well presented and the staff is very helpful. Cleanliness is definitely a plus too, in the room and common spaces as well. This is an old building but well preserved.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    The room I was given was a disappointment and needed redecorating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tired. Curtains not hanging properly. Shower controls hanging off. Bin was broken.

    Location is great. Very effective heating from radiators.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny gripe that the shower knib was broken in our room so it was difficult to get the water temp right

    Location is amazing for visiting the city. Beautiful old world charm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay at Oscar Wilde's neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lamps were not working during our stay. I would have give it a 10 if it does 😊

    Very close to popular tourist site. Very accessible as bus fr the airport stops really close to the hotel. Accokodating staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Very pleased with my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed the comfort of the bed. The television was excellent in terms of quality. The view from the hotel room was also excellent. I had very good night sleep on the top floor. I requested quiet room on the top floor in my additional notes section and surprisingly, they fulfilled my request. I stress surprisingly because this was the first occasion where the hotel granted my request.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was marginal, but no different from similar hotels. It was what I expected.

    Nice hotel in a very convenient location. Good breakfast for fair price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Great time loved dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff was terrible only came 1 of 4 days. Charged us $25 to check in early and the rooms a.c. was very poor. Also not very big or many outlets. NO FRIDGE OR MICROWAVE

    Great location went during st patricks day. Also Ben the bartender at Oscars was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value. Great location within easy walk to Aviva Stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wardrobe door difficult to open. The flex from the hairdryer too short to easily reach the mirror. My wife noticed an unpleasant odour in the bathroom.

    Room at the back with no view, which didn't matter to us. It was nice and quiet. Breakfasts were great. Real orange juice! Good hot buffet, delicious pastries and soda bread. Location perfect. 15 minute walk to Aviva Stadium.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean room.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit too firm. Bathroom fan stays on continuously and the room was a bit small so even with bathroom door closed I could still hear it. In a double room it would have been nice to have 2 chairs

    Nice clean room. Breakfast was good and staff were very pleasant. Very good location for where we needed to go.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location hotel with no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t great, no residents bar...

    The location of this hotel is very good, just 5 minutes from St Stephens Green. Very nice breakfast & Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    Location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff a little unfriendly. I mentioned that there was a problem with the shower and that I had burned my toe - member of staff showed no interest. Room a little cold.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely short break in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower wasnt brilliant- seemed to either be scolding hot or freezing!

    Lovely Hotel- fab location nice quiet area and just a short walk to restaurants/bars and temple bar area. Comfy beds!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.0
    Excellent location, good hotel but not exceptional. Try the Ginger man pub for food or beer/wine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thre breakfast was ok but only ok, standard fare at a standard quality. No iron in the room. You have a one page disclaimer to read before you get your room key and have to sign this. Why they need so many words to say if you injure yourself in the gym (which I didn't use) and if you have something stolen from your room it is tough luck, I don't know. No other hotel I know operates such lond wordy disclaimers. Room a bit chilly.

    The location of the hotel is excellent and like the Ginger man pub around the corner with good value food and a nice pint in good atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better selection of breads at breakfast, warm plates for hot food items

    Great location for shops and train/luas etc. Very good comfortable bed and large screenTV. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Ok for a couple of nights if you get a good deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Normally the hotel is overpriced (like most of Dublin hotels) so considering that the rooms are not great it is not worth staying in unless you really get a good offer!

    Hotel is old fashioned and rather tired looking but the location is the best in town. We got a good deal so that made it worth while. Breakfast is of a reasonable standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    A great location for exploring Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it is a good place to stay.

    The location is excellent and close to the main Dublin attractions and shopping area. very easy to find. It is quiet and the hotel has great staff - front desk very helpful and obliging. Oscars the restaurant is well priced and is comfortable place for a drink or a meal. Breakfast very good value as well. The hotel has an easy feel and we have stayed there a number of times and will do so again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    A quality hotel which is remarkably affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an odd buzzing noise coming from the vents, I had to use earplugs to help sleep.

    Checkin and Checkout were incredibly smooth, the staff all knew their jobs and I was never left waiting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Short and sweet, would recommend for getaway break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small if you were staying longer than a night. Breakfast wasn't great, the hot food wasn't topped up and the milk was nearly at room temperature for cereal.

    Bed was so comfy and large. TV was massive and the room was so clean, neat and tidy. Staff was lovely, got a greeting from every member of staff we passed. Receptionist was so kind and helpful upon arrival despite 10 things happening around him.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    The location, the friendliness of the staff and the cosiness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast looked a bit tired. The cold meats and cheese were dried around the edges. The scrambled eggs also looked dried,would loved to have seen some baked beans included.

    The location, the friendliness of the staff and the cosiness of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Great location for a trip to Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great service, the heating in our room was loud,mentioned this to the desk and it was immediately checked out and we were moved to another room. No fuss and very easy. Staff always keen to serve, printed up directions to car hire place, then double checked these for us. A great hotel for service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    The only downside was the fact that the room was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the fact that the room was not sound-proofed from the traffic noise which persisted all night long in some form due to the central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.3
    Bed was comfy if it wasnt for the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room118 think we were at a vent or heating system We didnt sleep because of the noise and left the hotel early to go home and sleep 🙈

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Good but avoid the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, lukewarm, white pudding not cooked, tin mushrooms, only scramble eggs on offer. Probably better and cheaper to eat outside the hotel.

    Clean and central

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    The negative reviews are poop
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be more plug sockets for devices

    Staff are great, room was very clean. Bathroom a little dated but great products provided. Stayed in room 102. Faced street and view of park noisy with window open but fine when closed. Reception staff all very friendly and approachable. Ate in Oscars on the Saturday night. Food was great and reasonably priced. Staff again great. Lacked atmosphere but has only reopened and that will come with time. Overall the negative reviews are unfounded in my eyes. For the price it was super. Receptionist informed me that that a refurb is underway, if it is to the standard of the Alex I the mont Clare could be the jewel in the Crown for the davenport group.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, comfy, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water temperature in the shower difficult to regulate

    Receptionist very helpful in giving directions in the locality and also the next day when I discovered I had left an essential item behind when we checked out - phoned me back very quickly in response to email and helped arrange pick up of the item

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location, won’t rock your world but does what it says on the tin for the price point
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room was particularly dirty, so we couldn’t really see outside at all. Perhaps more frequent window cleaning is required! However room and bathroom were very clean.

    Fantastic location. Airlink bus from airport drops you opposite the door and it’s less than 10 mins on foot to town. Perfect base for a short weekend trip - walked everywhere (Dublin Castle, Whisky Museum etc). Breakfast is a good spread and on till 11am which is excellent for non-morning people. Staff are generally helpful and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Centrally located hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in Oscars Kitchen poor, with limited choice of vegetarian options. Avoid. Decor throughout dated.

    Excellent location. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    A decent stay in Dublin Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - We had to wait a long time for a room key; this involved a member of staff running over the road to the other O'Callaghan (sister) hotel - Decor was a bit tired and dated - Shower did not possess enough power to wash one's hair properly

    - Very comfortable bed - Big TV with variety of channels - We paid for breakfast twice; this was a buffet with cooked and continental options and was very nice - Friendly staff, always on-hand to help

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only OK. Sausages were very pale looking. Fruit salad wasn't great. There was some sort of humming noise all night like a water pump or heating system.

    Lovely big bed and big tv Central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly, helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could do with bit renovation. Cause most things in room was old they look dirty even if they clean. Specially bath....

    Very friendly, helpful staff! Nice big Tv in room was nice surprise when turns out its have youTube in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was great!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast had a terrible attitude. I asked at reception if I could bring my breakfast upstairs and she said it wouldn’t be a problem so I payed 27euro for myself and my partner and went in to get breakfast. The tall girl In the breakfast restaurant on the 30/1/18 was so rude she put me off my whole stay together. She told me I couldn’t bring my breakfast upstairs, maybe the staff could have been on the same page with the ‘breakfast policy’. Such a shame that one person can change your outlook on a good hotel. I travel and stay in Dublin all the time and have have work colleagues that do the same, I definitely will not be suggesting this hotel.

    The hotel was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My hearing aid disappeared, thrown out by cleaning staff. I had placed it on dressing table, sandwiched between flat tissues. Exonerating the staff, the hotel inferred it was my fault. Apparently I seem to have the disgusting habit of leaving soiled and scrunched-up tissues lying about. Needless to say, Ican't really leave it there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    Worth it if you don't need somewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire building looked worn down. Lots of nicks and scratches on everything which made the place seem older. You could tell it has not been renovated in a long time. The Wi-Fi was not very powerful but it did work.

    Great central location that had some old school charm. The front office was very nice and the breakfast buffet was good. TV worked. Very easy to get to and from the Airport. Bathroom had a telephone in it for whatever reason.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Prime location, comfortable rooms and reasonable prices.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location; breakfast offered a large selection of tasty food. The room was large enough, and offered a decent bathroom with a bathtub, not just a shower. There is a pleasant bistro-type pub-restaurant (Oscars), and the staff are very helpful and cooperative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barman on 9th Jan. Leaving hotel in 2 weeks and just told me how unhappy he was. I didnt want to hear this.

    Receptionist great. Breakfast fine. Heating good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location and clean but let down by our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - There was a constant noise coming from the water tank or boiler from above our room (Room 116). We found it hard to sleep with the noise. - The room had a view of a back alley. - Our WiFi login stopped working after one night.

    - Great location next to the National Gallery. - Clean and tidy. - Nice staff. - Good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    The hotel looked nice and historic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy from the street due to old windows.

    The hotel looked nice and historic. Everything was comfortable. Breakfast too. It is really good location. Price/quality/location for us was the best option.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn't stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very small and bed placed under sloping roof so in and out of bed at 45degree angle or you smashed your head on the roof. No guest information in room. Restaurant under refurbishment so no food or drinks available outside of breakfast. Nowhere to sit other than in bedroom. Restaurant Manager needs lessons in customer service - I hadn't prepaid for breakfast butdecided to have breakfast in the breakfast area and charge to my room. She made me feel very uncomfortable and watched me like a hawk; how much food I took; whether I took any out of the restaurant - she even had the audacity to ask another member of staff to watch me whilst she attended to another issue.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant staff would not return due to lack of facilities which were not consid eyed in the pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar therefore no where to relax within hotel.no effort by staff to provide tea coffee or a drink in lobby or dining area. No plan when Oscars will re open

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware!!!!!! the parking situation is not as advertised. The 15 Euro parking charge is between 15.00 hours and 12.30 the next day. We arrived in the car park at 12.45 and left at 12 the next day thinking the rate was for a 24 hour stay as it was the last 3 times we stayed in the hotel but were charged 21 Euro. This is not acceptable as we were not advise by staff on any parking changes. There were also other customers in the lobby with the same parking problem issues as us. Very disappointed Callaghan customers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location King size bed Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad noise Like a pump going all night Had to move rooms at 1am due to noise to other end of corridor Staff in morning knew nothing about this from handover hence someone tried to come in There was no apology or explanation given.

    Good location King size bed Clean A little dated but kind of ok in a retro way.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    3.8
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of it

    The hotel was very poor I booked 2 rooms my wardrobe did not open the lamps did not work the room was in need of a make over the bath was all discoloured towels very scratchy my daughters room was not much better you could not even get a drink in the bar because it was under refurbishment they should let people know if they are having work done because it's not fully functional we were told to go over the road if we needed a drink not exceptable the breakfast was also a disappointment I expected more for my 210.00 per room per night I would never go back shame on monte clare I was actually going to ask for part of my money back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location and good food
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpark needs to be improved in terms of location and size.

    Breakfast was good and very well stocked. Staff were lovely. Received a quiet room as requested. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: