Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castlemartyr Resort Hotel 5 stars

Main Street, Castlemartyr, Ireland

#1 of 1 hotels in Castlemartyr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is classed as 5 star when compared to Fairmount and other 5 star hotels it really is only 4 stars. It really mained around golf.Can not use spa facilities with out appointment this not case other 5 star hotels using espa brand. The fridge was empty and not stocked very unusual for 5 star hotels.

    Quite ,peaceful, lovely location ,comfortable bed ,lovely shower ,nice mood lighting in the bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at Castlemartyr after our Wedding. When they heard it was our mini moon they upgraded us! The room was in the old part of the hotel and had a big 4 poster bed. It was fab. We got spa treatments and one of the best massages I have had. We had lunch twice & dinner in the hotel - food & staff both 5 star! The pool was nice temperature too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was exceptionally good but It was a pity that the rabbit was sold out at dinner time quite early! Also, it is recommendable to book spa treatments really early in advance because they are usually fully booked if you try to book something when you arrive. However, we were offered a slot on the waiting list and eventually got a spa treatment anyway.

    Absolutely luxurious! Wonderful mixture between old and modern architecture (old mansion extended). We enjoyed the spacious room and especially the huge bathroom with three windows! The food for breakfast and dinner was delicious. Staff was very friendly - you can even have a daily newspaper delivered right to your door complimentarily. Housekeeping is extraordinary (beds are prepared for you each night, you can borrow umbrellas,...). I had a shoulder and neck massage at the Spa which was super relaxing. Another highlight are the surroundings of the resort: it sits within a golf course but also has nice walking trails and even an old tower/ruins to visit. Very quiet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last part of the drive from Cahir to Castlemartyr...should not have followed Google Maps...stay on the M8 to nearly Cork and then the N25 back east towards Middleton and then on to the resort.

    It was wonderful....the service is fantastic. The venue and surrounding grounds are beautiful. The room was large and very very nice. We were in room 17 with a courtyard and wonderful beds. The Italian Restaurant was excellent , and Lucia took very good care of us. I should tell others it was a disappointment, so that it remains a closely guarded secret, but that would not be fair....you must try this wonderful resort, and it was available for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ridiculous the length from reception to the bedrooms met some senior people taking a break half way I would not recommend it to anyone who is not good at walking I know my father in law would not be able for it

    Most of the place was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall we were disappointed with the standards from our first stay in the hotel two years ago especially because it’s such a beautiful location with so much potential. A few things that need to be improved: The golf course was in very poor condition, the bar food is only served until 6.30pm which was really inconvenient. The Italian restaurant, while it has very good customer service, the food itself wasn’t delicious or would encourage you to dine there for a second time. Also the spa treatments were vastly overpriced for what you received. The toiletries are below standard and you didn’t provide enough towels in the bathroom. You should have a bath towel, hand towel and one for your hair! Pretty standard in most hotels. In contrast, Adare Manor is 5 star and acts like it in every way (reserve judgement on the food) but they tick every other box and know how to pamper their guests. I hope you take this feedback on board for future guests as we would like to see your hotel thrive.

    I liked the breakfast and the room decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really enjoyed the facilities including the pool but would have preferred a later opening time particularly as the evenings are long

    The garden room was beautifully appointed and properly sound-proofed so no disturbances

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hooney mooners told the reception they told me we didn’t book breakfast with our booking I said o right I was not 💯 when checking out then when my husband was paying we were charged even doe when never got up as we were told not included

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of dining options. When we checked in there was no availability in any of the restaurants for dinner. We were advised we could eat in the bar up to 7.30pm or have room service. If the hotel is that busy they should alert people on booking that dining reservations need to be made in advance. Breakfast (room service) was a disaster. Food poisoning experienced by one guest who had the full Irish, other guest had an omelette which was fine. Food which was ordered was not received or incorrect orders received. Very poor from a “five star” especially at the price charged for breakfast.

    Comfortable room and large bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay wasn't long enough.

    A most gorgeous facility, clean and comfortable...our bathrooms were to die for. Horses in the front yard, a golf course, beautiful gardens and patio...the historic castle on the grounds was a bonus...grounds were very well kept and stunning. Nice restaurant and staff...the bar room was just awesome with a fireplace and gorgeous architecture. We loved every minute here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allot of new staff who had to be reminded/chased for service during all meals and even trying to get a drink at the bar. Not demanding but when you have had your breakfast and then toast and tea arrives is just one example, or ordering a cheese board and waiting 10 min for crackers as they forgot them. Not what you expect at these prices.

    Setting and facilities are great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been better signage within the hotel to help guests find their way around.

    The beds were big and very comfy; decor was elegant; room was spacious,light and airy; food was plentiful,varied and delicious; Staff were attentive and friendly. Very happy that there was a fridge in the room for guests to use and amused that there was a phone in the loo! I especially loved the paintings, art and sculptures displayed throughout the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The estate, hotel and staff are absolutely beautiful and we once again had a fantastic stay. As a constructive criticism only - If there is one thing to think about is the pool/jacuzzi area. The jacuzzi is tiny and looks like an after thought and just isn’t what you’d expect at Castlemartyr.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horse and carriage tour with with Roy was a highlight. The rooms were magnificent. The beds were extra comfortable. Don’t lie down unless you want to go to sleep! The breakfast room and food was an indulgence. The chocolate croissants were the best I’ve ever had and I wish I could just get some more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the Full Irish Breakfast. There was a wedding on when we were there and the staff looked after us really well... No noise from the wedding crowd late at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well paying 50 Euro for a small dog who made no mess no noise a bit much that was the only downer thing ye need to review your dog policy love the hotel.

    Food in the Italian restaurant staff were lovely room was lovely Browns were to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 5 star hotel as advertised rooms / pool dated walking from my room in dressing gown newly married couple have to use same corridor to get to there reception. Staff at reception reception not good enough for a so called 5 star.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luckily we were early for breakfast but when we came out, there were lots of people waiting to go in.....

    Franchini's Italian Restaurant gorgeous and reasonably priced. Staff very friendly. Grounds for walks etc beautiful... rooms very spacious, ... would def go back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a really nice hotel, don't get me wrong. We had a junior suite as it was on offer. The suite was clean but it needed refurbishing. The walls in the living rooms had a lot of black marks, there was torn wallpaper by the door, the carpet in the hall up to the room had loose threads. Someone had taken the batteries out of the remote along with the back cover- this clearly hadn't been checked. The main restaurant is understaffed for breakfast and dinner, the staff were excellent but it was obvious they were run off their feet. It's marketed as a five star resort but not sure this is accurate.

    Comfortable beds, nice location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food want up to standard. Continental breakfast was good but the cooked part was just ok. We are in the Italian one night and I could make far nicer at home myself..

    The room was massive and so comfortable, the hotel is beautiful! Especially the view from the leisure centre!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this resort is amazing. Especially the staff and the sense of luxury. The rooms were fantastic!!! Total luxury. Only let down was the pool area. I thought it would have more of a luxury feel and more features that you would expect from a 5 star. It was nice, but I have seen much better. Hope they update it in the future and i will defo be back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a huge wine stain in the bedroom next to the bed. I know this is extremely hard to clean but not something you would expect when staying/paying in a 5 star.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seem quite disorganised on check-in and check-out which made them appear slightly unhelpful.

    Awesome rooms, huge with separate bathroom and dressing room facilities. Gorgeous surroundings. We were only passing through and both wished we could have stayed longer to take full advantage of the things on offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow what a fabulous place. Beautiful setting, pure luxury , gorgeous food and the best staff I have witnessed in any hotel I have visited. The staff were professional, friendly, welcoming and all had smiles on their faces. They were genuinely interested in making sure the guests were comfortable . Lucia in Francinis restaurant is an exceptional hostess , we felt like we were guests in her own home, she was so proud of the job she was doing and where she was doing it. I would highly recommend a stay here and if you really want to spoil yourself book a suite you wont't regret it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The porter who took our bags to the room was a bit too 'smart' and not very professional. thought the bar food,while lovely was quite expensive.

    Food was lovely, bed was very comfortable, majority of the staff were very friendly and heplful. loved the decor in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we ate in the Italian restaurant, the food was not good. I had asked before we dined if they catered to coeliacs. they said they did. I ordered a gluten free Pizza and what came out didn't resemble a Pizza it was more like a cake with a very fine layer of tomato sauce and cheese. I couldn't eat it. Very disappointing.

    the bedroom was beautiful and the pillows were so comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I could have any dislike (which is a struggle!) I would have liked some more products such as shower gels in the room as there was only one small one between 2 people which wasn't really enough

    The staff were incredible so friendly and helpful in every way. The room was massive, very cosy and comfortable. Pool, spa and facilities all excellent. Dying to stay another night!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little details like a torn throw on the bed a musky smell in the foyer of our suite and the food was very over priced . The door to our room had sent marks from the room service trolleys . It's the little details that made us feel as if our experience wasn't 5 star

    The old school feel of the property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They really let themselves down with the food served. We had room service when we arrived and I had ordered a croque monsiour but got a very dry toasted sandwich. The breakfasts were also not up to standard for the price we paid for our weekend. We had a lovely meal in the Bell Tower restaurant but other than that the food was very disappointing.

    Very very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are beautiful, comfy big bed... surroundings beautiful, was here for a wedding and the Christmas trees were spectacular... beautiful location for a winter wedding

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was really bad. I requested chocolates and prosecco to be left in the room upon arrival but did not happen, I rang the front desk to ask about this and they said oh yeah we said we would see what we could do, and then backtracked and apologised saying sorry

    The bedroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a disaster, not really good enough for 5 star hotel. On two separate occasions staff entered our room without being invited. Again, not good enough in a travelodge let alone a 5 star resort. Pool was a little cold on Sunday morning.

    Very comfortable room. Friendly staff overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and management walking into room unannounced to fix air conditioning which remained broken for most the night on one of the coldest nights. Totally invasion of privacy. Complained at reception nothing said or acted upon. Felt very uncomfortable in hotel hence to say.

    Hotel grounds and bedroom decor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the Bell Tower for both dinner and breakfast was very disappointing. Waited over 30 minutes for breakfast and our table of 9 received their breakfast at all different times with some finished before others even arrived.

    Lovely room with really comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the Bell Tower for dinner and breakfast was really poor. The keypad in the room didn't work, a man came to fix it but it broke again so we couldn't open/close the curtains, turn on or off lights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft but that my preference

    The staff were very helpful always smiling and very nice. They were excellent at they,er jobs in the restaurant the bar ect have to recommend the staff . The hotel has everything and is everything it should be for a 5 star hotel but what makes a hotel great is the people .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks amazing with interesting decor. The grounds are beautiful. The bed was so comfortable, staff were amazing. Breakfast was so fresh and tasty with endless supply of coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The Italian restaurant. Mediocre food for the price paid. 2. Finding someone’s evening meal cost added to our bill. It was rectified, eventually.

    Very spacious room. Very comfortable bed. Quiet. Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on avenue caused traffic jams- had to reverse whenever we met an on coming car.

    beautiful hotel. very helpful and friendly staff. The extra touches made it a 5 star break. Will return again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So when we arrived to check in we were not informed that we should book the restaurant for that evening (maybe we should have known to do this) so unfortunately when we went to go for dinner the 2 restaurants that we wanted to eat in were fully booked, we ended up eating in the golf clubhouse, the meal was nice but not what we wanted.

    The hotel and resort is absolutely beautiful, the room was fab, the beds were so comfortable!!! The bathroom was so lovely, the bath is massive, the shower is also great. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We attended a family wedding and it was done so lovely, I got my hair and make up done in the spa and I was very happy with both, although I thought the make up was a bit pricey!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing.

    From start to finish the whole time spent here was just fantastic. The staff were all brilliant. So welcoming, so efficient. We did a spa package which was fantastic and great value for money. We ate in the Bell Tower, which was pricey but well worth it. Food was delicious and service was out of this world. We stayed in a Junior suite which was gorgeous. The bed was large and very comfortable. I really cannot commend the staff enough. I have stayed in hotels all over the world, from 2* to 5* and I could easily say that they were probably the best I have ever experienced. Will definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise levels in the morning Kids running rampant unsupervised during mid term break.

    Hotel Grounds Leisure Center Staff Attentiveness & service Beds Room size Food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a smell of damp, so I asked for new one. It was changed to very noisy one just next to a wedding venue. The breakfast was ok, but the staff was so slow that it was cold by the time we got it. Same for the dinner in the Bell tower restaurant, which is the same place where the breakfast was. There were things in the bathroom that didn't work and come up is due to overlook by the staff. The carpet had few old stains....

    There were so many things I didn't like....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were fine but not exceptional. We were in furthest room away from main house section so it was quite a walk back to the room. (Something to keep in mind if anyone is elderly, it was a good 5 min walk.) Bar food stops at 6.30pm. Everything in room is controlled by touch pad, e.g. lights / curtains etc. Which would be fine ( quite exciting ) if it worked well, it didn't and just became frustrating.

    Beds were huge and very comfortable. Rooms were large. Shower very nice. Grounds are beautiful. Pets welcome and pet rooms are very well located in hotel, close to main house section with private little garden area. Didn't stay in them but they looked lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room not ready when we arrived. Not been advised of this. Having to get changed down at the spa facilities on wet floors, no where to hang my outfit for the wedding the was on the premises. Was not impressed at all, actually quite upset

    Breakfast very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Stateroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our curtains didn't work and we had to pause our getaway while a maintenance worker fixed the problem

    The service was amazing, really felt like royalty!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff were almost stone-faced. Not friendly. Pool and Jacuzzi could be updated. Not what I was expecting from this type of hotel.

    The woman at Franchini's restaurant was warm, kind, and very helpful. She was genuine and conversational and "pure Cork". Try the tiger prawn dish also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor breakfast. 30 minute wait and very poor quality. Put a major negative on a good break away.

    The hotel surroundings were beautiful. A very nice spot to relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Your car parking is worse than 3rd world. It is all over the place. A larger car park adjacent to the hotel is what I expected but failed to find.

    Bedroom was spacious and comfortable. The bed was extra comfortable. I was at the Kelly wedding and noticed during the meal that:- 1. Glassware on table was dirty. 2. Cutlery was not properly washed. Had dirt stains. 3. Staff training would not go astray. The staff did their best but lacked experience when serving the table.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything I suppose the distance from reception to elevator is very long would make a difference if more central

    Very peaceful and tranquil all staff so courteous and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic jam in Castlemartyr. It takes 15 minutes to get through the intersection to the hotel. Parking is free but you'll be very lucky if you get close to the hotel. Likely a 200 meter walk from the parking lot to the check in desk. And another 100 meter walk to your room.

    Castlemartyr is in a quiet location that requires you to have a car to get there (unless you are on a tour). Make sure you are a capable driver because the roads getting there are no joke, especially if you're not used to right hand side drive. This might seem like something not to like but I did very much and it made the quietness of the town even more special. And since you'll have a car it's a quick trip to Midleton and a half a day trip to Blarney Castle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service response from staff was mixed depending on who you spoke to during stay .Distance to room was very far from reception

    Large comfortably room and early check in provided .Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some lovely pieces of art throughout the hotel but unfortunately no labels describing the work or identifying the artist, a pity. The electronic room controls can be a bit hard to figure out, for example I did not notice that the "Do not disturb" had been activated when we left the room so the staff did not change the towels or make up the be. Only a minor quibble!

    Sense of being welcome and valued by every member of the staff that we met. Despite its star rating the resort has a very comfortable and homely feeling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to give me the special plug for electricity but they apologized

    Restaurant with nice tables and nice view Very large rooms beautiful bathroom I specially appreciate the old fashioned typical bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could hear dogs barking in some of the rooms, it made me wonder if dogs had been housed in my room.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Castlemartyr. We particularly enjoyed strolling through the grounds and castle ruins.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs allowed in the bar after dinner. I know it's a pet friendly hotel but not fair to other hotel residents. There were 2 dogs in the bar at one stage. Music through the TV didn't work probably need an upgrade.

    Absolutely fab bedroom.as usual. Dinner and breakfast were amazing. Adult only times in the pool great idea.Staff were excellent as always.Delighted to see improvements each year.The visit to Cobh and Spike Island nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bins on estate for disposing of dog waste. We had a dog with us.

    Lovely bathroom Comfortable bed Small private garden at back Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    facility was beautiful. the ruins next to the hotel were interesting - I would have liked more information about them. the morning buffet was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General wear and tear needs to be addressed.

    Fabulous grounds, and lovely art and decor throughout the hotel. Very comfortable beds, and really good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as a child friendly hotel but was very much so not child friendly or welcoming! Our child was not welcome in any restaurant facilities in the property after 6pm which resulted in Us having to leave the property to have a meal! Pool times restricted when attending also, we were refused entry with our 1 year old an hour before the allowed time! Breakfast facilities very bad and extremely expensive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and value were amazing, and the staff was wonderful. We wish that we could have stayed there longer (and we almost changed our plans so that we could). The grounds are lovely as well! We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In some ways, this hotel was five or even six stars. In other ways, it was one star. I blame poor management. It seems like no one who works there really cares about it any more -- and it is management's job to make them care. Our front desk reception was fine. Beyond that, not so much. For example, in our guest room, the handle was broken off of the bathroom toilet door, the trash can lid was broken, and the hair dryer didn't work. There was trash on the floor in the hallway when we arrived, and a nail polish stain was on the carpet that hadn't cleaned (at least I am assuming and hoping that it was nail polish and not something else). The "small" things are just evidence that no one seems to care anymore. It made me wonder how clean everything really is there. Service at the beautiful outdoor area overlooking the golf course was a joke. The hotel has hired some young American college kids to serve -- BIG mistake (I'm American, so I can say this). They cared more about chatting it up with other guests (which is why I know they were young American college kids attending a small Jesuit school there) than either taking our order or removing our dirty plates. I asked for more water repeatedly, and after sitting there for over an hour and a half with an empty water and wine glass, I finally caught someone's attention. And, I can't even bring myself to relive the experience in the Italian restaurant. It was truly horrible. On the flip side, my husband played golf there and loved the course. Unfortunately, this is a fabulous resort, that under the right management, could easily be five stars. In my opinion, who ever owns this fabulous, spectacular place needs to fire all the management and start training the staff.

    The resort itself is gorgeous. Too bad that the staff is not taking good care of it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. There is free valet parking and the MD parked our car! The food is delicious and the hotel and grounds are stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What I didn't like.... the time goes so fast when you are at such a great place!!!

    Breakfast was wonderful with a beautiful view. The rooms are great but the best thing is the front desk greeted us with a 5 star smile. The Knights Bar food was just wonderful, again with a beautiful view. Thank you Roy and Kay for such a great staff!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought for a 5 star that the cleanliness of our room was a real let down. I had booked the hotel for a special occasion and no extra lengths were made for our arrival, in comparison other 5star hotels I have previously stayed at, i.e. Chocolates in room.

    The decor of the building and the bedroom was beautiful. Breakfast was quick and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it so much we extended our stay! The room was amazing and the bed was huge and really comfy. The marble bathroom was beautiful and very luxurious and I loved the big, overhead rain shower. The staff were lovely and all in all, we had a fantastic stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had had minor issues with broken fridge and coffee machine, but once it was mentioned to the staff they arranged replacement within a couple of hours while we were out on the grounds. Be warned that the rooms can be located quite far from the main hotel building and that could trouble people who have walking / mobility issues. Just ask for nearby room.

    The secluded five star period hotel was a peaceful getaway with an excellent golf course, leisure pool and accomodation it was perfect for our wedding aniversary break. It was 2hr15mins door to door from Dublin so the drive there was not too long to exhaust you. The hotel lived up to the five star with the client(us humble workers on a weekend away!) getting the full experience with polite staff and professional service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more accommodating. They messed up one of our room bookings and it wasn't rectified in the way we expected. For the price we would have expected more from the staff.

    Great rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were taken to an overflow room for breakfast the buffet wasn't presented well. Breakfast was very poor ordered eggs benedict eggs came out hard very disappointing and did not look appetising, our toast didn't arrive until we were nearly finished our breakfast for a five star hotel I would expect a lot more.

    Room was amazing all you need in your room with private courtyard very comfortable and loads of space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More available slots eg afternoon tea booked out, spa treatments booked out due to the number staying. We hadn't thought about pre-booking.

    The quality of everything in the room was outstanding -heated bathroom room, bedding etc

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilites weren't 5 star, pool area is not that luxurious. Service was average. Not up to standard of other 5 star hotels in Ireland.

    Fine dining restaurant was very tasty. Rooms were spacious but dated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don t know

    The bed was definitely comfy the staff in the nightbridge bar really looked after us, so nice!and the bar was so cosy to sit and talk and the sandwiches were tops!! Delicious!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not told when we booked in that the bell tower restaurant was closed for refurb and that only Frangipini would be open so when we went to eat we could not eat until 9pm as the restaurant was full and we did not have a reservation (we had also earlier tried to have lunch in the knights bar but was told they did not have a chef in that day so all this was a bit disappointing Also was very disappointed to see one of the hotels horses being led by the driver of a white van with the drivers door open and the driver holding the horse with a rope while the horse was having to run along side the moving van was not a good advertisement for the hotel

    The team at the hotel are all fantastic and a credit to the hotel - the food was out of this world !!!!! amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No facilities for dinner / lunch within the hotel during our stay. Had not been informed that the bell tower restaurant was closed for renovations and could not get booking for francinis on the 2nd night of our stay.

    Bedrooms very nice. Comfortable & clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made wait an hour after our check in time because the room was not ready...we also tried to book a table and we were told there was no room...poor service and everything was so over priced..too many children jumping into the pool and screaming!..hotel was nice itself but just poor service..wasnt happy

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: