Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cappabhaile House 3 stars

Burren, Ballyvaughan, Ireland

#4 of 16 hotels in Ballyvaughan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Lovely people and location. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for Alliwee Caves and Burren. Brown bread to die for and a huge breakfast. Proprietor is a goldmine of local information, and couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, spotlessly clean, friendly and fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Breakfast menu variety - so many choices including a big plate of freshly cut fruit : melon water melon kiwi banana strawberry blueberries and more !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was very helpful with information about good areas to photograph in the burren and has a lovely photo collection of the area. Breakfast was very good and accommodations were comfortable. Beautiful view of the burren from the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    My happy place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negitive thing is... I ate too much at breakfast lol..... it was very generous and plenty of choice.

    Very quiet & tranquil. Staff were very helpfull and friendly. Would happily go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful stay and can’t wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved Conor- the innkeeper. So knowledgeable and helpful. The place itself was beautifully furnished and the rooms were large with a wonderful view. The setting was so nice, highly recommend!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay in The Burren!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Conner was an excellent host! He shared a well worn book about The Burren that helped us understand what makes that area special. He recommended the nearby sheep demo which we thoroughly enjoyed, and let me visit his cattle. His wife was very sweet also! We also had a large bath tub, which we haven't found in any of our other lodging in Ireland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    As nice as a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The owners are so helpful and have a lot of literature to read about the area. Our room was the family size. Very large and comfortable. China in the rooms for tea and coffee. They have done a great job making it cozy and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We had an excellent stay at this lovely B&B which has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an excellent stay at this lovely B&B which has many of the qualities of a hotel, but all the warmth and friendliness of a B&B. Breakfast was superb and talking to our lovely host was one of the highlights of our entire stay in Ireland. He was incredibly passionate about Irish history and his knowledge of its geography and archaeology was formidable. Most of all he transmitted his enthusiasm to us and guided us towards some fantastic but little known places for us to visit. The room was large, elegant and comfortable, and we were provided with toys for our small daughter, and some great Irish history books to read for us adults. The Burren is a fascinating and mysterious place to visit. All in all, our stay was lovely, fun and very enjoyable visit for each one of us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    My room was large, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was large, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great, with many options to choose from. But best of all were the super friendly and helpful owners!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall, one of the nicest places we stayed in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV reception wasn't great and water pressure in the shower could have been better although the water was plenty warm. These were just minor points that didn't really bother us that much but does keep us from giving it a perfect 10.

    Large breakfast - didn't need lunch those days! Spacious, comfortable, well heated room with great view of the beautiful county-side. Room was bright and nicely decorated. Owners were very friendly and offered lots of good info on the local area. Good WiFi service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Best B&B on our trip to Ireland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say !

    Connor and his wife were amazing hosts ! They were great tour guides for our day and night. Breakfast was delicious! Room was large,beautiful, quiet and clean !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    This was the best B & B we stayed in in Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative at all

    This was the best B & B we stayed in in Ireland. The room was huge and beautifully furnished with a fabulous bed. The whole building is spacious with beautiful common areas. Breakfast was spectacular. The hosts were just so friendly and full of local information and advice. Even though it is just out of town it is in walking distance to great pubs & restaurants. Fantastic stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Would love to come stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to Ballyvaughan but not within walking distance. We had a car so no big issues.

    The hosts were so knowledgeable and gave us great advice on where to eat, culture and heritage. Our room was so nice and quite large...very comfortable with great rural veiws from the windows. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Such loving hospitality shown by everyone. I felt like part of family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little warm to our liking but Connor went out of his way to get the room perfect for us.

    Room had a beautiful view and bed was very comfortable Connor and Margaret were outstanding hosts. Connor and his brother even entertained us one evening with Irish music. Connor played accordion and Carol played banjo. A real bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Cute little B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was great!

    We booked last minute and we were greeted by very friendly staff. The room was huge and full of character. The facilities and bathroom were very clean. The bed was very comfy! The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had! I had the fruit salad which was absolutely fantastic! We were also given little Easter eggs as it was Easter Sunday! Very friendly and hopeful hosts! I definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was our favorite b&b on our trip. Exceptional in every way - staff, facilities, and comfort. I loved the decor in our spacious room. Connor was friendly and gave us excellent advice about where to go. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful location and beautiful atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entire accommodation was so clean and homely, all staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. The best was the breakfast, the menu offers really everything anyone could dream off, and it was really delicious (especially the omelette to perfection!), great coffee and tea. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, looking for a beautiful location in the Burren, run by a wonderful and friendly family business, who really know how to spoil their customers and make them feel at home!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Great space and wonderful large rooms !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always enjoy being served breakfast, huge portions all served with a smile. The property was appropriately decorated for the current season of Halloween

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    A great location to all major attractions and close to Gallway & Shannon Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television in room needs to be updated to a flat screen.

    Location was excellent. It was so quiet with lovely country views and a short car ride to the village and ocean and highways. Our hosts were excellent and meant for the B&B business with a wide range of knowledge to enhance our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Stylish, clean and extremely helpful staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is brilliant, they are knowledgeable about the area, provided us with more then necessary info about the sites arround, laidy in the kitchen took care of us during the breakfast with a particular attention, gent from reception run evening session, played music, sang songs and shared stories about the history...amazing. Rooms are spacious, clean and stylish...highly recomended:-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful Area/ Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very dated and I think shower curtains are very unhygienic to use in hotels/B&B's unless washed between visitors (this one had not been) The reception area/dining room is quite bizarre and is not depicted in any photos - we felt it didn't match the classy decor of our room, which is a pity and missed opportunity.

    The location is lovely: close to Ballyvaughn, next door to farms. Due to this, our room looked out onto a lovely view of a field with cows and mountains and it was very quiet. Our room was huge (although we specifically chose and paid for a king size spacious room so this may be why) Comfortable beds and beautiful furniture in the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    rural location but not far from village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    signange. It was difficult to find - we went past it at first and had to double back to find it.

    rural location but not far from village. VERY quiet. Cows almost outside your windows. Some people might like that but we did.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    The room was very spacious and comfortable the bed was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious and comfortable the bed was a dream, and had a little couch and table and chairs in room. very comfortable. Breakfast was one of our very best we had. Make sure to get the Porridge it was the best we had!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Great rooms, great breakfast, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great rooms, great breakfast, great staff. Connor, the owner, was an excellent source of info for the area and happy to help with plans for the days. Excellent 2 day stay to start our large family vacation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Very friendly and helpful staff! Terrific rooms - very clean and lots of space. Very well priced and good location for accessing historical sites in the area. Breakfast was awesome, they definitely won't let you leave hungry!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Spacious, warm, friendly with a fine breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only problem was that it wasn't a safe walk to go to town as there were no paths and it's a long kilometer. If you intend to go in for a drink, either get a taxi or have a designated driver to get back. I lost the coin toss so guess who was designated driver!

    The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was huge and bright. Beautiful views front and rear. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Best B&B of our journey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we could stay longer

    We liked everything- the lobby area, with the nice sofas, the playroom for the kids, with the pool table and many many toys and DVDs. We loved the room. which was very big and pretty. Loved the breakfast- oh my god, the best breakfast we had in our two weeks in Ireland, by far. Conor was super helpful, directing us to the best places of the Burren area, and the best restaurants. This should not be a 3-star B&B, it should get at least 4!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Great base for The Burren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As mentioned, a shower curtain would be better than a partial glass screen.

    My husband and I stayed here for three nights. Our room was at the back, so we had nice views of fields and hills. The room was clean and extraordinarily large, with two comfortable chairs near the window. The bathroom was also quite large, and there was even a tub. A shower curtain would have been helpful since we normally take showers, and the small glass screen did not seal well. Breakfasts were good, and there were some options. The manager has a lot of local information and is eager to share it. He also made good suggestions for restaurants. We ate at the Wildflower Restaurant in the Wild Atlantic Lodge and Monks, both of which are in Ballyvaughan. We also ate at Linnane's Lobster Bar in New Quay. All had good food but can be busy, so arrive early or make reservations. This was a great base for exploring The Burren, which is a wild and rocky area in County Clare.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Most relaxing stay in beautiful north Clare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a little awkward for those of us with hip problems. Would like safety handle on wall or preferably walk in shower.

    Fabulous breakfast, huge comfortable room, wonderful hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Would love to have stayed longer than two nights. Excellent B&B accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative, for what it's worth, is that the location, though beautiful, is 1 Km outside of Ballyvaughn. It is easily walkable but, the road can be a little unsafe for pedestrians, especially after dark. This means that to access the many restaurants and bars in Ballyvaughn, you would have to drive in or, arrange a taxi. Otherwise, faultless!!

    Everything about this b&b was first-class. Charming countryside location, spacious comfortable rooms, extremely helpful host. Huge choice for breakfast, generous portions and top quality food. Location is convenient for touring the Burren and the associated section of the "Wild Atlantic Way". I would highly recommend this lovely hotel to all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful 2-nights stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much.. All was great. Would definitely recommend if youre headed towards the cliffs.

    Comfortable and clean room. Excellent breakfast and wonderful, informative owners!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A great place to step out and to see all of the Barren.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much, if anything. Cappabhaile House is spacious, well designed and appointed. The breakfasts are delicious, and plentiful. The beds comfortable. Perhaps the more-than-ample parking at the front could be improved a bit, but that's not a big issue.

    A spacious room with a comfy bed and a big bathroom; well located as a jumping off point for the Cliffs of Moher, Corcomroe Abbey, Galway and other sights on the west coast of Ireland. Our host were marvellous with delicious breakfasts and very useful suggestions for sites to see in the Ballyvaughan area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Extra large accomodation with very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extra helpful and friendly. And, the breakfast was the best one on our entire trip! We enjoyed our meal at Monk's restaurant located across from the Bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Great little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The staff is awesome, same as the whole accommodation, location, views, and the breakfast, wow so lovely! Wifi super easy and working without any problems, I was traveling with my parents, they were delighted. Absolutely recommendable!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Large room nicely furnished and the owners were pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from anything to be considered well located. OK for general access to the Burren area but largely car dependent

    Large room nicely furnished and the owners were pleasant and extremely helpful with maps and books for the Burren area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    A Fine Place from which to Explore the Burren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our host was an absolute font of information and recommendations as to what to see and do in the Burren. His directions, sharing of maps and books was just what we needed to get around and see some of backroads wonder of this area. A guidebook wouldn't have done as good a job. His recommendations about the Cliffs of Mohr (make sure you go to Hags Head) were spot on. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was delicious- ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small thing: the hinges on the windows need tightening up so that windows can be left partly open!

    Staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was delicious- 'exactly' as pictured on the website! We will come back again when in the area and hope to stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Super cozy B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cute cozy B&B. You should definitely ask Conor for advice in the region. His tips were very helpful in avoiding touristy places. Thanks again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Beauty in Ballyvaughn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    The location to Ballyvaughn town , the Aillwee Caves and the Burren was ideal being a bit out of town on the main road. Our room was perfect, the size for three adults, the beds were very comfortable and the large bathroom. My family was welcomed by Conor who recommended a restaurant and arranged for our laundry to be done in several hours by a local launderer. This is really like a very small hotel vs. a bed and breakfast. There was a billard room and a very large sitting room separating the formal dining area with a cool fireplace. For breakfast, we had choices and all were excellent with some of us choosing the traditional Irish fare. The family discussed how they wished we could have stayed for a few days. We had dinner at one of the local Italian restaurants, did some touristy shopping , and were guided to a few historical sites by Mr. Conor. The view of the Burren from the front of the hotel is also nice. All good here!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    A very good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was very old and needs replacing!

    Spacious bedroom and very spacious bathroom. Everything we needed was provided, even a teapot to make our own tea in the bedroom! Also, quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Excellent spot to tour the Burren!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Triple Room (Double Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All was super and I'm a fussy American.

    The owners are very, very nice and welcoming. Loved that they were so accommodating bc we arrived later bc of a long drive. Gave us some really honest opinions suggestions about things to see or skip bc we've been to Ireland many many times. All was great! They are very hard working locals. The breakfast was the BEST we had in 2 weeks time!!! Great family hotel for our 13 yr old son.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    You won't regret picking this lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report.

    Our room was super clean and very spacious. The bed was so comfortable we slept 10 hours like a rock. This property was a tremendous value

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent accom in a beautiful quiet town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As well as being very welcoming, the hosts were both extremely knowledgeable about the history and geography of their town, The Burren and wider afield. Their genuine interest in their guests and their travels made conversation very easy and pleasant. Lovely room. Super breakfast. Very attractive exterior and interior with tasteful and elegant yet homely furnishings. Great feel from the moment you walk in. This property was a real find.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    stay here. you will rest well and be happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    owner sold my girlfriend a 3 euro (seen in shops) sheela nagigh poster for 8 euros. will chalk it up to an honest mistake by him. nice enough guy. this place is amazing and is a class act.

    everything. place is gorgeous, historic, amazing. lovely stay in the burren.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Serene place for holidaying - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love the vintage style layout. The activity room had a billiard and many other games and movies etc. Thank you Margaret and Conor for your hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful house for a stay in the Burren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    House is much bigger than it looks! The room was absolutely huge compared to everywhere else we had stayed. It was very beautifully appointed and we felt like we were staying as guests of some noble from back in the day. All the furniture and decor matched. We got in late but Conor stayed up for us, made us welcome, and immediately brewed some tea. We also had to have an early breakfast and he and Margaret accommodated us. He also gave us some brilliant advice on what to see and do around the area--we only had a day but his tips were fantastic. In all this was great value and I wish we'd had the chance to stay longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Warm welcome and lots of useful local knowledge including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our phones wouldn't charge in the room for some reason even the sockets and chargers were working.

    Warm welcome and lots of useful local knowledge including books and maps. Breakfast was amazing! Room and common areas were spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful, spacious B&B on the outskirts of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best bed we slept in during our entire trip! Plus a full tub, and a wonderful homemade breakfast. Those creature comforts were rounded out by the care and interest displayed by Conor and his wife. They could not have been lovelier in terms of recommendations. We hope to return and spend a longer time enjoying the Burren.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Peaceful stay on the Burren way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is beautiful- and decorated with photographs of the area. Hosts were welcoming and gave great advice about different sights and activities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Perfect example of what a B&B should be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the perfect example of a B&B! Staff friendly and helpful offering books and info on The Burren. Rooms spacious and comfy. Movies and a pool table for something to do. Breakfast was AMAZING!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B with beautiful views and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was beautifully presented and the owners were very friendly and full of local suggestions. The views of the Burren are stunning from this home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Stay in Ballyvaughan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived by car so distance to the village was not an issue. However, if on foot, it is a fair distance to walk.

    Friendly and helpful hosts, lovely to talk to. Spacious and clean bedroom and bathroom. View to the fields at the back. Tasty breakfast and coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Great base for north Clare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was really that good.

    Room was perfect for 2 adults and two children (11 and 14) and was great value for money. Breakfast was the best we had in Ireland, both in terms of quantity and taste. Fantastic location for exploring the Burren. Other attarctions (Galway, Cliffs of Moher, Kilfenora are all a pleasant drive away. Ballyvaughn was small but had a couple of very good restaurants (not touristy, no buses, good food) and was an easy/safe walk from the BnB. Hosts were extremely knowledgeable and provided great tips as to local music sessions, how/when best to explore certain popular sites, etc.. They even put on a music session in the sitting room on a Monday evening since we were interested and there weren't any local sessions that night (Conor called around to see and then invited a couple of musicians to come over and play!). I can find no fault with this BnB and would gladly stay there again when we are next in the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    The friendly family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't a problem once we asked for them to be turned off but there were a lot of those plug in air fresheners and they aggravate the breathing issues for two of the party. But as I said once we pointed that out they were plugged out. The house was spotless so I think it's just a personal preference of the owner rather than masking unpleasant smells.

    The friendly family. As one member of our party loves trad music but was unable to stay up late to attend most sessions the family waited until all the other guests had left and put on a little show for Helen. It was just magic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable stay with fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We really enjoyed our stay at this pretty B&B. Our room was large, comfy and had a great view of the Burren hills. We enjoyed the tea and coffee each morning that was provided in our room. The owners were extremely friendly and so helpful in offering tips of the area. The breakfast was delicious! Definitely would stay here again if we are fortunate enough to visit Ireland again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great

    The proprietors were delightful. Our room was large and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We had two double beds and sitting area and still room for our bags!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    A place to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome room in an incredible house with a very kind and lovely staff. My omelette with mushrooms, so tasty! With tomatoes and cheesee, it was excellent, a breakfast to remember. One of the best places where I have been lately.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The font of the letters above the front door. Sorry, it's the only kind of downside I suppose

    The rooms were spacious, clean and nice and the owners/staff were incredibly friendly and helpful! Gave me some hope for mankind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Keep this one on your list of places to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never watched the TV but it wouldn't come on anyway.

    We arrived a little late and tired for the Irish music in the lobby by the host and his friends, but it sounded good from our brief listen. The breakfast was delicious. And we loved waking up to cows mooing in the adjacent field.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was splendid!

    Beautifully decorated spacious room and bathroom. Very helpful and hospitable hosts. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful quiet location for exploring the Burren.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain! You have to shower in a bathtub with a shower curtain. It is not very hygenic and not comfortabel either.

    The room was beautiful with a very nice view! Breakfast was perfect. Especially the fruit plate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Enjoyed every minute of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The friendly staff who gave us so much information of events in Ballyvaughan as well places to eat ,drink and be entertained. We had a very interesting evening of Irish music thanks to them, following an excellent meal in a local restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Had an amazing plate of fruit and cheese for breakfast. All the breakfasts looked great. The owner was very knowledgeable and advised us on walks and places to visit , most helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.8
    A great starting point for sightseeing and hiking in the Burren and Cliffs of Moher
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are a bit outdated, in style with the rooms :-) Maybe showers and basins could be improved

    Connor was the kindest and most reliable owner. He gave us all sorts of useful suggestions, both for sightseeing/hiking and eating out. We cannot thank him enough. The bedrooms were huge and furnished with antiques. Breakfast was so rich and tasty we could skip lunch and go directly to dinner. The pool table in the living room was very useful, having teenage kids.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent service, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely having the communal seating area and the games room so kids could play while adults caught up!! Also some great advice on places to eat and where best to see the cliffs from!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Cappabhaile House, home away from home in the Burren.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hosts Coner and Margaret are wonderful people and made us feel at home and were extremely helpful. They gave us great suggestions on places to visit. One was directions to a lesser known viewing spot for the Cliffs of Moher, it was gorgeous got great pictures. The room was very large, clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of a Burren hillside and castle in the distance. Really enjoyed the tea & coffee place setting in the room each night. Big selection of breakfast choices, all were excellent. Staff was outstanding and very accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay Ballyvaughan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Twin Room (Double Bed and Twin Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike .thoroughly enjoyed..

    Spaciousness of the room and decor staff friendly and helpful tea and coffee facility in room gave great tips on touring and great location for touring,good eating places locally. Highly recommend this property.many thanks. H n F

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Great Countryside Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location in countryside was exactly what we wanted. Owner's suggestions of places to visit and restaurants was excellent. Room was very large and well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place for a true family outing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Super-Sized Family Room (King-Size Bed and 2 Twin Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room tea and coffee arrangement should be improved. No enough milk and tea bags provided, I later borrowed from the main kitchen.

    excellent cleanliness, good breakfast, high speed broadband.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    The family who owns the hotel were spectacularly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family who owns the hotel were spectacularly accommodating. They went out of their way to ensure we were able to get around this remote part of Ireland.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Relaxed friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Lovely decor and breakfast was fantastic. Location gorgeous and local pub very welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Second time at Cappabhaile - even better than the first - a gem just outside Ballyvaughan
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TVs could be upgraded

    Fantastic quiet location, great owners and the best breakfast imaginable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great place, great room, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, great room, great breakfast! A gem to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    good location, very good breakfast, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    old furniture, old and small TV, poor water stream in the bathroom

    good location, very good breakfast, very nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place and lovely owners who are really keen that you enjoy your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super-Sized Room (King-Size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely comfortable room with wonderful bed and fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: