Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Macdonald Kinsale Hotel, Spa & Lodges 4 stars

Rathmore Road, Kinsale, Ireland

#4 of 7 hotels in Kinsale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1444 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.8
    Unit spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't access room which we had booked in 2017 until. 6:45pm. Door in unit hanging by one hinge, soap stuffed down plug hole and water unable to drain properly. Reported state of door, three days later no-one came to fix.. Had to jam a towel against door to keep it closed. Partly used toiletries set up in bathroom for us to use from previous guest. Carpet old and fraying in doorways, and not cleaned properly. Curtains half falling off Windows, unit lacking in maintenance and in need of upgrade given the money charged. Resort generally looking like maintenance is an issue.

    Unit spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    WE WERE TOURING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WE WERE TOURING. STAYED TWO NIGHTS AS PLANNED. IT WAS EXACTLY AS EXPECTED FOR INTERNATIONAL HOTEL. IT WOULD BE UNKIND TO SAY CORPORATE. VERY COMFORTABLE LARGE ROOM WITH LOVELY VIEW. GOOD VALUE, ESPECIALLY SHOULD THE GUEST BE ABLE TO USE ALL THE SPA AND WALKING AREAS WE WERE FORTUNATE WITH WEATHER, NICE TO SIT ON BALCONY FOR BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous location, fabulous suite, excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning could do with being upgraded if we continue to have more hot summers.

    The hotel is a fabulous location with views of the bay. We were lucky to be upgraded to a suite, which was beautiful and spacious, our only gripe was that the air conditioning couldn't cope with the heatwave and due to the full glass wall we had to keep the curtains closed to try and reduce the heat. We had our dinner on the the restaurant balcony and enjoyed the fresh air and wonderful views, and the food was excellent. There was a wedding reception during our stay and I can imagine that the bridal photos would be amazing due to the grounds and views providing an excellent backdrop. We enjoyed a walk down the the shore in the evening which was lovely. We will definitely return to Kinsale and the MacDonald Spa hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location but nothing spectacular in terms of accomodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought there would be more going on in the main hotel.

    This place was a in a beautiful spot and the drive in is pretty. We stayed in the townhouse which is well set up for families or groups. However, there was limited activity in the main hotel and didn't seem staffed all that well. Mostly shut down by early evening. I just didn't think the price was worth it unless you had a group of 6 adults or 2 families sharing a unit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful views but menu and wines would need changing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu choices were limited. The wine menu was way over priced, so was the food for what you got and the location was just a little too far out from kinsale with no offer of a shuttle bus and limited amount of taxis

    There's beautiful views from the balcony and rooms. The rooms were big and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    View was stunning, especially at sunrise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested flat sheet when booking, didn't get (far too hot for duvet).When are you going to add balconies?!!!

    View was stunning, especially at sunrise. Staff, especially at breakfast really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The location is breathtaking, if you have a car it’s only a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges three-bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lodges do not seem to be a stable build.

    The location is breathtaking, if you have a car it’s only a 10 minute journey to the city center. There is a relaxed atmosphere and there is a pool and spa. The staff were very helpful. The food was lovely and also child friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t recommend, overpriced and staff weren’t very helpful. Not the luxurious stay I hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t very pleasant or helpful. For the price I paid I expected more it was very much overpriced.

    The views available from the hotel were gorgeous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few more meals on the menu. After my stay I pretty much went through everything on the menu. But this is only a small grip, as the standard of food I had was excellent.

    The food in an evening was great, small amount of choice but all food i tried was cooked to an excellent standard. The location was beautiful. The staff went out of there way to make me feel helpful. I would stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    The location - walk down to beach is very nice and view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture needs updating- seating in restaurant very shabby looking. Grounds need more care - A lot of weeds in pathways, etc even around the lovely waterfall at the front of the hotel.

    The location - walk down to beach is very nice and view from back of hotel is super

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous view from the deck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location and view are incredible. Hotel lobby is wonderful and rooms are very nice. However, apart from that it looks like everything else doesn't get any attention. From cleaning (view deck) to painting (exterior woodwork) and creating a cosy atmosphere (bar and breakfast room). That's a shame, because a place like this should be in top condition, getting excellent grading.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl on check in wasnt over welcoming....no net curtain in our room as on ground floor all other ground floor ones had...

    Loved the pool and air conditioning in rooms and public areas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed, comfortable, modern hotel with a competitive offer for the 1 night stay we had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short drive from the town. Could have been a hotel in any city/country

    Good sized room, ground floor with great view of inlet. Relaxed atmosphere with good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottles of water in the room on arrival could have been replaced. No toilet brush in bathroom

    Good breakfast selection. Leisure center staff extra helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel-perfect short break
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The exterior of Hotel requires some attention

    The view from room were fabulous, the interior of the Hotel was immaculate , staff very helpful. Leisure facilities one of the best.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a family with three children. Booking.com had ya in a house, it was too big for what we needed. A double room would have been perfect, or a double with a roll away cot.

    Excellent experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Very plesant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views and gardens were great. room and bed very comfortable. Nice and quiet at night made for a great nights sleep. Very good breakfast. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, beautiful area. So accommodating. Beautiful scenery and lots to do in the hotel and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, beautiful area. So accommodating. Beautiful scenery and lots to do in the hotel and the area. Highly recommend. Absolutely stunning hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Don’t stay on a Saturday night ... too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding venue with music to 2am. Would not turn it down and kept us awake. Required a lot of complaining to get recompense. No respect for guests as I assume weddings are a big income for this hotel.

    Large comfortable hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    The view outstanding from deck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking details state garden or waterfall view. The reality was we had a room looking at the car park which had an artificial waterfall in it. The room had only one set of curtains....blackout, so one either had to be in the dark or be constantly on view to all in the car park and arrival area.....windows were not tinted so fully on view. Dinner only available in bar on night we visited....no atmosphere.

    The view outstanding from deck. The fitness facilities .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Glad I didn't pay full rate, breakfast for two at €30.. stayed in a BnB in Dingle the follo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    This hotel isn't bad, but its not very good either. Great views etc, but the whole place needs some love. It looks like a departures lounge in a European airport. Zero personality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    The spa was fab and Suzanne was very professional and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, it was too far out for me although I enjoyed the walk in.

    The spa was fab and Suzanne was very professional and kind. The bedroom was lovely and comfy overlooking the bay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lodges three-bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    The hotel is an excellent modern facility in stunning grounds with an amazing view over a beautiful inlet. The lodge we stayed in was really well equipped and comfortable and only a short walk from the hotel. The facilities at the hotel were very good with an excellent bar and restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff. A great weekend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful room with very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night A little bit isolated from Kinsale (10min drive away) so you need to eat at the hotel

    Beautiful room with very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    We stayed in the lodges, very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel at 4pm but couldn't check in until 6, bit disappointing especially when we were travelling with a toddler. Staff didn't seem too bothered that we couldn't check in either,

    We stayed in the lodges, very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location on the bay with amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived and we had to wait 45mn in the lobby.

    Great location on the bay with amazing view. Rooms are spacious and well furnished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely fab location, staff v friendly, no problem with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it expensive when breakfast not included in the price. Also not enough toiletries for 2 people.

    Absolutely fab location, staff v friendly, no problem with changing our room on arrival, hotel spotlessly clean & we wanted to bring home the bed, it was so comfortable!! We have stayed before & already looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend to any of my family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the front of the hotel with car park in plain sight. To get any privacy heavy curtins had to be closed on very hot days. Maybe light mesh curtins for day time?

    Loved the location and the grounds are lovely. Also loved the waterfall and bridge in fron of hotlel. Beautiful walk to the small beach All Staff were excellent and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    nice location with good views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking staff on breakfast shift to sort tables. 4pm check in is quite late. Can't use the pool without swim cap or pay 3 euro for one.

    nice location with good views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was big and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom shower was broken as well as the door arm. The hotel is a bit far from everything.

    The room was big and modern. The surroundings are really nice. Kinsale is not far with a car. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely lodges, nice pool. Quite far from Kinsale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is too far to walk for Kinsale and parking in the town can get busy. As long as you are aware of this there are no other issues with the place.

    Very nice lodges with plenty of space. Could probably take 6 people. Nice pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food; only had the breakfast because we had dinner in Kinsale but that was a let down - bog-standard, serve-yourself breakfast which was limited in choice, dried out bacon, shrivelled egg and generally unhealthy. Small complaint though for a wonderful place - and of course, nobody made me eat it.

    Beautiful location with impeccable pool and fitness facilities. An island of tranquility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Bathroom was spacious and the grounds were stunning—includes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t very welcoming. We arrived at 4pm for check in and the room wasn’t quite ready—front desk staff seemed irritated that we arrived at the advertised check in time. There was a heat wave while we were in Kinsale and the hotel had cooling in the room. After letting it run for 3 hours it was still blowing out warm air. Checked with the staff. One came to the room and said that the cooling systems don’t work like they do in America and to open a window. Pool facilities are not welcoming to children; bring swim cap if you intend to use the pool. We stayed for two nights. They deactivated our keys after the first night. Breakfast in the Rockpool restaurant was not very good—runny scrambled eggs, miserable looking staff.

    Bathroom was spacious and the grounds were stunning—includes a balcony view and walking paths on the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful views and away from any busy towns/city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing too major but we didnt have any WiFi when we first arrived and was told someone would be on their way. They never came and we ended up having to fix it ourselves. We also asked for glasses to be brought to our room and they also never came!

    Beautiful views! Away from the main town so great if you’re booking to get away from the hustle and bustle. Would need a car to get into town but it’s so worth it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations. Would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big deal but The initial greeting could have been better - on arrival the 2 staff on reception were dealing with a client who had reported a problem, neither acknowledged me or said “we’ll be with you in a moment”. Wait wasn’t too long but still quite long and could have been dealt with better. And thereafter, welcome / help from reception could have been a little warmer. One person was helpful and friendly re restaurant reservations and asked how it went the following morning. The 2 others on reception weren’t great and certainly atypical of the usual Irish, friendly and welcoming manners!

    Great value for money. Beautiful position. Very lush, exotic grounds - amazing trees and foliage. Felt like driving into a botanical gardens. Hotel itself much nicer than I expected. Photos on website made it look a little bit like an inexpensive, business and corporate venue, not partyicularly stylish or special. Very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Room nice, stunning views, bed comfortable, bathroom good. Had a lovely run in the grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Come thierb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had 5 communion parties and a wedding going on at the same time. Restaurant opened an hour late and Sunday we had to eat in the bar as it didn’t open. I felt the events took Precedent over hotel guest.

    Though way out of town the location is beautiful. We took cab into town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is amazing great scenery and location is only a few minutes away from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is certain food that is a let down(chicken satay and chicken wings was like they were boiled disgusting)the service is extremely slow for a main course and a desert(the desert was floped over it was that warm) 1 hour and 50 mins also asked for a drink 20 minutes waiting

    The views are out of this world

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    The views were lovely and the staff were super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some lovely aspects to this hotel, the rooms were great, the food was ok and the view if you were on the right side was beautiful. However, I could not get over the policy for the pool. It is a pool in a private hotel, and is full of children having swimming lessons! This was a rather unexpected shock but for the hotel to also say you had to wear a swimming cap to be able to go in the pool amazed me! If this facility is going to be used as a public facility where the hotel guests are second rate then it needs to be clearly stated as such when booking.

    The views were lovely and the staff were super helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed in so many ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I said it all

    Very disappointed in so many ways. Condition of our rooms. Curtains hanging half Staff not extremely helpful Grounds were beautiful. Great place to hike. Pool was nice. Rooms were over priced for what you got

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in beautiful setting but just a bit outside of town - bar lacks character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is a bit small & more like a restaurant type in style. Lacks a bit of character it needs to entice you to stay rather than head into town which is a few miles out! Also We were unfortunate to be staying when a group were celebrating a confirmation- they took over the whole bar to the extent we had to leave! It was a very large group & the Children were all over the hotel running around -extremely boisterous! Not the fault of your hotel I’m sure but not pleasant for guests - we weren’t alone on our feelings about this!

    Beautiful setting Michelle on reception was very friendly & pleasant to deal with

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    The room was large;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The set up for relaxing indoors on rainy days is poor. The lounge area near bar on the mezzanine has only two rather used and not so clean sofas. The nice area for lounging was near the reception but had no bar service.

    The room was large; bed and pillows very comfortable; shower excellent. Breakfast was very good. The surroundings outdoors is lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service at breakfast.. Ran out of food as people were eating it. I initially told us our breakfast wasn't included untill I showed them otherwise.

    Good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view was lovely, though rooms facing the road would benefit from a net curtain of some sort. In order to allow natural light filter into room it felt that we were very exposed. I thought a hotel if this eating would have a room safe.

    Pastry limited. Egg supply limited. Only one member of staff with the breakfast Co-ordinator. Would be better if breakfast co-ordinator as showing people to seats could have taken order for tea or coffee then guests help themselves. We had to ask for tea / coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    We had our guests stay at the hotel for our wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had our guests stay at the hotel for our wedding. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, Charlotte was always contactable. The spa was brilliant. Our therapist Karen really made our little spa morning the day before the wedding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heating wasn’t working properly the first night so we were given a plug-in heater for the next night. There were people smoking in the room beside us. The smell came through the adjoining door in our room. We had to move rooms in the middle of the night. Unfortunately we missed out on a good nights sleep and it affected the overall experience of our stay.

    The Staff were friendly and the Spa treatments were really nice. There was a kids room just off the dining area that was handy for our son.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel is fantastic .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our visit was too short

    The Hotel is fantastic . Beds so comfy .best sleep in ages. Lovely spacious room. No problem to keep our sons dinner in fridge. Will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing is quality of the food at the restaurant which is not equivalent to the rate.

    Location is great if you have a car and the car park is sufficient and not distant. The staff is lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is very bright and the view is amazing from the large windows. The garden is beautiful, there is a path that brings you to the lake. The leisure center is clean, well laid out. There is a big pool and jacuzzi, well equipped exercise rooms and several treatment rooms offering from massage to nails. We highly recommend this hotel and residences.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Attentive restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time staying in the hotel- drove 4 hours to stay in the hotel for friends birthday. Requested room with lake view month in advance to be told non available at check in. I would have appreciated communication from the hotel especially that this was the main reason I chose the hotel over others. Very disappointed. Poor customer service.

    Attentive restaurant staff. Great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed for such a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We dined in the restaurant which was mainly set up for large coach groups 3 long tables seating approx 20 on each table.If you arrived when these groups were in the service suffered. We found these groups were offered a set menu which was not available to us. The food quality was average and lacked flavour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is lovey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had dinner in the bar as the restaurant was closed again, We both ordered the fish and chips as it said on the menu "hand cut Chips" but they were frozen chips and the fish was very greasy almost swimming in butter

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, beautiful location. Staff were so friendly.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have very little to no signal on my phone in hotel which is not the hotels fault but the free wifi was fantastic as it meant I was still able to check in on my small kids while still enjoying our night away.

    Love the location of the hotel and the view is just gorgeous!The staff are so friendly. We were here for a wedding and the meal was lovely. This was not our 1st time staying here & it won't be our last stay either.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The location, on the slope right by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, on the slope right by the sea The rooms, spacious and luxurious, with big beds and amazing bathroom The facilities, especially the swimming pool and gym The breakfast, tasty and with a lot of choice The service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived tired after long journey to have to fight through a wedding crowd at reception, there seemed to be speeches on the central staircase. This resulted in a stressful check in experience. We then went to our room only to find other people in it. Went back to reception and after a lot of hassle received a room that wasn't occupied. Both our keys to the room failed 3 times resulting in more trips to reception. During another night again there was an event where speeches were taking place from the stairs restricting access to reception, as a disabled person fighting through crowds to get to reception is stressful and dangerous. Also the lift broke during our stay. There was no apology or advisement of an alternative lift which resulted in me having to try and get down stairs on crutches which is dangerous for me. It is clear from my stay that there is poor staff communication and poor management. This hotel is like faulty towers. I would not stay here again if you paid me too.

    The location in Kinsale is nice but requires taxi to centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    My son ordered fruit and wine to be left in our room for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son ordered fruit and wine to be left in our room for a surprise they forgot the fruit. I ordered steak just could not eat it at all. Notices a few things looking tired like carpet on stairs thread bear old looking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    It was nice but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired in areas, poor attention to detail, checking out. Room wasn’t ready until 4pm. They offered to keep our luggage safe for us... which turned out to just be in a pile with everyone else’s next to reception, not an actual luggage room. Pool area looking tired and in need of some TLC. You can’t go in the pool unless you wear a swimming hat - you have to buy these. Spa was nice enough. Food at the hotel is really nice. Room was missing some tedious but important things such as a hairdryer, a light above the mirror or a make up mirror, bath robes, coffee wasn’t nice at all, no complimentary biscuits, no fridge, no room service, no night service... no service! But the room was very clean. The biggest downside to this hotel, which we wasn’t made away of, was that both nights that we were there they had weddings on. Our room was on the ground floor immediately next to reception and overlooked the balcony where all the smokers are. I’ve actually come away from what was meant to be a very relaxing and peaceful weekend away needing a relaxing and peaceful weekend away! The wedding party went on until gone 2am and spilled out onto the balcony and I feel like a zombie who hasn’t slept for 2 days. I did imagine that on check out they’d ask how our stay was and they didn’t. So for the money, which was €305 for 2 nights (plus we added x2 25 minute massages for €118 making the actual total €420), I really didn’t feel this hotel can justify that price tag. It really wasn’t as amazing as I thought it was going to be. I’d comment on the massage but I was rather bruised by it for 2 days after but my friend, who had the same treatment, really enjoyed hers. I felt the Elemis spa area was ok, a relaxation room that essentially had some garden furniture with blankets, but a really nice coffee machine and complimentary fruit. The relaxing music that was playing was let down by the crackling in the speaker system. It was all just average.

    Most of the staff, the location, the breakfast, the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    The beds are really comfortable and the pool is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ordered room service as a treat - DON'T it was cold and only half the itms ordered were delivered and when I rang reception to inform them the line rang out.

    The beds are really comfortable and the pool is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money.room was lovely. Breakfast was one of the nicest breakfast I’ve had. They use clonakilty sausages and pudding and they are amazing! Really great value for money and located only a short drive from Kinsale with lovely views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Shabby chic taken to the extreme.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in particular were very shabby. As the attached photos reflect, both armchairs in the room were heavily worn and soiled. The walls were covered in scuffs and marks, as were the table/TV stand. These wiped off, and reflect a general level of lack of attention to detail by both maintenance and housekeeping. We also needed to give the room a dusting upon arrival as it was so dusty. It was evident that only a rudimentary clean had been given. The shower door had thick grime clearly visible in the hinges. As we were only staying one night and wouldn't be spending much time in the room, we deduced from the receptionist disinterest upon check in that there would be little point raising the lack of cleanliness with the staff. I hate to think what standard the cheaper room would have been.

    We had previously stayed here a number of times when the hotel was part of the Carlton chain, and thoroughly enjoyed our stays. Little has changed with the change of ownership however, and in the past 8years that we've been here. We asked for an upgrade on arrival and received one - but the receptionist was friendly to the minimal acceptable standard, granted the hotel was clearly busy with midterm but this is no excuse for the demeanor of the staff to slip. Not withstanding the outstanding issues, the hotel is in a beautiful location - yet is riding on this and letting other standards slip. A real shame.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    A nice hotel which could be really great with a few tweaks. Would stay again.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was average and could do with a greater variety and a lot better organisation. The hotel was definitely understaffed for the Easter bank holiday weekend. Service staff, while friendly, do need some extra training. Plus a couple of odd things - e.g. no facilities book in the room, the info on the TV wasn't sufficient. The service staff in the restaurant didn't know if they had a wine menu or not?

    We stayed in a Spacious Executive Double Room with a view in a busy hotel. The restaurant food was really nice, cooked and presented to a high enough standard. Every staff member we met was friendly. Gym and swimming pool facilities were also really good. Bottom line: would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a nights stay but not for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food/service. We got a steak for €30 and it was tiny. The breakfast was all over the place. Waited to be seated and was just told to go in and sit down whereever. Had to go find a waitress to get some tea. No menu for extras like Porridge etc. Ive stayed in a good few 4 and 5 star hotels and the restaurant staff here are all over the place. Definitely wouldn't recommend eating here.

    The bedroom was perfect, clean, perfect view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    SuperB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant stay that exceeded our expectations, Spa was used and I would highly recommend. Within walking distance to the main town. Breakfast included and our room was perfect, Nice comfy beds. Hope to return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    It was a peaceful break away in a quiet room with stunning views. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast coffee was unsatisfactory, conference coffee like taste, weak and not particularly enjoyable.

    The location and views were stunning. My room was peaceful and fresh and I felt comforted in the quietness of my space. I loved the feel of the lobby in particular yet felt it did not lend itself to use as a quiet reading space. I also thoroughly enjoyed the spa and pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm at time. Don't like air con. Problem with family in connecting room next to us. Bar poor. Staff did not know what they doing. Breakfast fair. Cooked brekkie not worth extra cost.

    Room view fab. Bed really comfy. Pool great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful enjoyable stay, and hope to return in the future !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall I felt the food could improve, particularly the evening bar food. The Coffee and tea at breakfast time were extremely weak. A small improvement would leave this Hotel a perfect 10 !!

    The room was comfortable and clean, with an extra large bed. The WiFi was good and facilities excellent..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful setting. Friendily staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit far out from kinsale. The setting was beautifyl though. Bread left out for breakfast to toast was green mould. Disappointed with that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    The lodges were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were delayed checking in, we had a wedding to go to and a young baby with us but got upgraded to a 3 bed lodge which worked great for us

    The lodges were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    This hotel is a little off the track and took sometime...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    This hotel is a little off the track and took sometime finding, but was definitely worth while. Situated just outside the beautiful town of Kinsale and set in stunning grounds. Excellent wedding venue due to the views. Unfortunately didn't have time to use all the facilities and would love to have stayed longer. Breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.0
    Short stay ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    6 dead flys on window sill. Couldn't use pool or gym due to it being sublet for lessons.. Getting dated . Some staff seemed jaded. Got stuck in elevator.

    Scenery

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location, spacious hotel and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were at the hotel during Storm Emma so our stay had to be extended. The staff were excellent - so friendly and helpful. There was a real team spirit amongst the staff and this created a really welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful location and stunning views. It was our second visit and we will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel bar is quite soul-less so we went to town to have a drink.

    Very nice hotel, great value for money for the mid-week break. it was very quiet and the view from the lobby was beautiful. You can sit outside and have a drink or some food. It is about 8 min drive from Kinsale but we didn't mind the driving. Kinsale has nice restaurants, it is pricey in general but the food i had was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, very relaxing, high quality and extremely good views, I really enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna was unfortunately out of order at the time of my visit.

    Very high quality, I would definitely call again. Fantastic views. Cork is a great place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lodges two-bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the lodges had an oven.

    We had a lovely one night stay in the lodges.just one thing,the wooden floor was extremely slippy my one year ended up in the flat of his back and we had to stay upstairs with him I was a bit nervous because I found it slippy myself too. The lodge was spotlessly clean. We would stay again the pool was lovely, staff Friendly. It's our second time. And will look forward to staying again in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice but given the option would not stay during the cold weather again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink counter was water stained. With the pool the chlorine level was to high and brought me and my partner out in a rash. The breakfast looked like it had been there for hours and didn't look fresh.

    The bedroom and view was lovely. Most of the staff where friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Room was nice, staff were lovely, great views, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Milk supplied to the room was gone off and even the replacement mlik was 50/50. Walls of the room were stained at the top but overall very nice.

    Room was nice, staff were lovely, great views, breakfast was great well worth it, need to get taxi into Kinsale but only e12 so not too bad!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    My favorite hotel in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to get to many new card keys because they would stop working.

    Beautiful spa without the snobby atmosphere. They open the pool for their local children's swim lessons so it didn't have the exclusive I'm richer than everyone else vibe about it. The location and facility are beyond gorgeous.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: