Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Redcastle Hotel 4 stars

Redcastle, Moville, Ireland

#9 of 13 hotels in Moville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1052 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Ok just
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I feel needs updating for the amount of money it cost. I ask for a sea view and we were looking out on to fans which must of been over the kitchen. The room above u could hear every movement they made 🙄

    The food and the staff were amazing 🤩

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Wee Piece of Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information in the room about Hotel Facilities and prices. No brochures no operating hours.

    Bottled water all time, coffee and tea. Dinning space very well organized and tables being quickly cleaned and setup back for next customers. Staff are very helpful and kind. View to the lake is simply from another world

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    A Very Relaxing Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in our room was a rather tired and dull but the room was comfortable and clean and other things more than made up for it.

    Comfortable room. Buffet breakfast nicely presented offering a broad choice from Continental to Irish cooked breakfast. Quality, ingredients freshly prepared. Evening meal was exceptional. The restaurant is deserving of its good reputation. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The location offers easy access to the beauty of Donegal’s north Atlantic coast. Plenty of places to explore, coffee shops, walks and some of the loveliest villages and beaches you will find anywhere. Also within easy reach of the historic city of Londonderry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Redcastle Hotel Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There's a night club near the hotel and the noise from the club woke me up one Friday night. The club only seems to be open during the weekend, so if you have a room facing the night club you may need to keep your window shut.

    Lovely position and very comfortable. The restaurant overlooks Lough Foyle so it's great looking over the lough while having breakfast. Note the hotel is popular as a wedding venue so it can get busy at weekends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Good facilities but just an ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy guests in corridors, band playing in bar until midnight, breakfast was disappointing

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, clean room and spacious double bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.5
    E njoyable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brochure stated slippers and bath robe available in rooms. These are convenient when going to the pool but were not available to us.

    The view is extra special and we were blessed with good weather. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    The location of the property was in a fantastic spot and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had paid for a double room and they had pushed two single beds together to make a double bed! Only complaint I can have about the property as the staff where very friendly and the bar and restaurant was lovely.

    The location of the property was in a fantastic spot and the scenery was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Delightul, relaxing overnight stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lady in the pool remarked to my partner that we were not wearing hats- which we forgot to bring & we wernt asked & passed no comment when going into pool. Same lady told my partner that she wasn't swimming in the pool if we were not wearing hats- my partner went & got some but this lady (committee member too, seemingly) left after going into steam room. I feel this was a slight error on our part & perhaps guy who gave us towels but not the scene lady member made!

    Food was excellent. We had High Tea which was fabulous & Aine brilliant hostess. Restaurant evening meal was excellent & breakfast very good indeed. The room had a nice sea view. Found all staff friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room and great breakfast. Nice pool, and lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little. Breakfast a little chaotic at peak time, and ditto reception at check in.

    Very well appointed rooms. Beds comfy, and room not overly hot. Great pool, and lovely restaurant with sea view. Staff very helpful. Good check out time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    We were given a room which had a view of the roof of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room which had a view of the roof of the hotel with the air conditions flues on show. View was awful and we were clearly pushed into the worst room. It was dark, toiletries were awful and shower head filthy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    I found it ver expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are very noisy and you can even hear the people walking on the rooms on top of you we were there for a wedding and the food was not very good for a 5 star hotel I can't believe there was no fridge in the room

    The location is amazing. the view into the see unbelievable the staff was very friendly and the place very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    breakfast was first class,good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be a good idea to have more information on surrounding areas,names of local villages and what is happening in them.

    breakfast was first class,good value. Restaurant and bar very expensive but food was delicous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    lovely place but the service in the bar and cold pool let it down......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the leisure pool was cold and a lot of its facilties did not work in the pool. poor choice of food on the bar menu and very slow service for food and drinks in the bar....

    nice property. great views around and ideal location to where i was

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing break really enjoyable 3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault I had with the hotel was that the floors were very noisy the boards were creeking all over the place even in the lobby and restaurant stairs and bedroom which I found strange for a hotel that isn’t old

    The stay was superb food was first class really liked the bar menu Really enjoyed the pool And our room was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.5
    While we enjoyed our short stay I would definitely avoid July and August.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were given was on the ground floor which seemed to be allocated to families. Our room appeared to be a family room (shared door) and sadly next door a baby cried a lot of the time. Walls are so thin it might as well have been in with us. Furniture is dated and tired.

    Breakfast excellent. A lovely choice of everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets near reception were little smelly. Reception area should have some nice fragrance as it gives you the first impression of the ambience of hotel while you check in.

    I went to stay for 2 nights on 11 th august to celebrate my son’s birthday.Staff at reception were co-operative. Forgot the name of staff who met us at corridor while we were heading to lift area. He expressed his kind willingness to carry our luaggage upto the room and was of a great help. We booked a twin room and were delightfully surprised to see that our room indeed was a family room with plenty of spaces. Thanks to the staff who kept the fact in mind that we had 2 kids with us and thus gave us a family room in same price. Bed was extra comfy and it was orthopaedic so extra comfort for my back pain.Room was very spacious. Kids kept running around as if in home.Fabulous breakfast. The view from breakfast area of the lough foyle was super. Pool area was very exciting for kids. My elder son didnt want to come out of pool, he liked it so much. Sauna was very warm and jacuzzi had plenty of space to accomodate even 20 people at a time. My wife enjoyed the serene atmosphere of spa. We were so busy with all these that we couldnt get time to attend kids craft club and kids movie time organised by hotel on sunday evening. My 5 year old son enjoyed the golf ground and a nice gentleman in the ground offered him his club to hit the ball in hole.It was an exciting moment for my little golfer. Overall ecxellent and would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Great views and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bar was very slow on the Sunday, bar staff where busy between the carvery and bar. The bedroom was very stuffy and warm although the beds where comfortable.

    Great views and great food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Great views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken in the early morning by a sound that was unidentifiable....it gradually got louder and louder until I realised it was definitely the sound of a washing machine. It wasn’t just the sound either...it actually made the bed vibrate (not kidding). Don’t stay in room 700! Or possibly even the one directly below it....whichever number that is!

    The view from the edge restaurant is amazing but unfortunately there were never any window tables available for us. I would advise requesting a window seat when booking for your dinner reservation!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location and hotel, very child friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was freezing. Notice up to say it was colder than normal. I asked when this would be fixed but spa receptionist didn't know. We had our 1 year old with us so onlt stayed a shirt time in pool. I phoned down to reception on 2nd day to check if the water temp was fixed and was told yes yet when we got down to the pool notice still up and temperature still below what it should be. Disappointing as the pool was an essential facility for our stay but we didn't get full benefit of it due to it being too cold to spend a decent amount of time in with a child.

    Lovely location and hotel, very child friendly staff. Room was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff were very nice and views were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities were poor, pook was cold and sauna and steam room were broke. Our main issue was the fact that we paid extra for seaview room but the room was over the function room and directly outside the smoking area so it was very loud and noisy both nights

    Staff were very nice and views were lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    The views were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At about 7am the noise from under our room was that loud and vibrated that much i thought the radiator was going to fall off the wall and it shook the bed that much it was impossible to get a comfortable sleep . i can only guess we were above the laundry room but i wouldnt stay again if the room was anywhere near that part of the hotel.

    The views were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    expected more for the money. esp it was for mummys 60th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel isn't value for your money. loud music from the nightclub across the way couldnt get much sleep. a car was spinning and making noise for few hours in the middle of the night. there was no light in the middle of the room.only lamps.

    the view out the window eating breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi never worked except in the lobby and even then was sketchy. Tried to charge me for dinner which I never had and Breakfast was way over priced for the quality and the staff in the restaurant definitely don't seem to like working there and Kevin the function manager at the wedding was very cold and didn't even try to smile at anyone. Would not stay again even though I have family nearby

    The views are great and the rooms are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Would have been enjoyable if I had got the room I booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a twin room on booking.com and called reception night before arrival to pay for the package including breakfast. Confirmed we were getting a twin room, on arrival reception were not aware of payment and we had a double room , did not enjoy having to share a bed

    I liked the setting of the hotel and grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was attending a family wedding, absolutly beautiful from start to finish. The staff couldnt have done enough, we had been there from 12.30pm with check in from 3pm, we were able to use one of many spa rooms to get ready which also had a shower and didnt have to worry about our bags as they were brought up to our rooms. Rooms are very big, only problem was the wifi didnt reach our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant donegal beautiful surprised the area was so quiet for the time of year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel lovely setting could do with a face lift inside carpets and a little paint

    The room was very comfortable views amazing and the grounds were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non existent Wif in room !! Even though I was told it was re-booted. Didn't happen. No mini bar in room. Nice to have a fridge with kids staying in room for drinks/snacks etc. Room was nice but could do with new carpet.. looked dirty. Wasn't hoovered during our stay. Kids play on floor a lot. I'd asked for sea view room... none available. We where in family area apparently.. even though it's directly above the outside seated area from the bar. Very noisy till midnight.

    Beautiful hotel & grounds. Room was spacious , good size bathroom. Food everywhere in hotel was first class. Friendly approachable staff. Good swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Engagement celebration stay! We stayed last month and we absolutely loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite warm... although the weather was unnaturally warm as it was the 30th June 2018!

    Beautiful views and fantastic staff!! We spent the night here after getting engaged and we will forever remember the Redcastle Hotel for being extremely welcoming!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Food was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was 3 spiders in the room. The carpet was badly worn. The noise from a wedding was unbelievably loud our room was above the venue. We had very little sleep a relaxing break turned into a disappointing one. Will not be back

    Food was lovely. Staff was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Relaxing stay, enjoyed all the facilities but it was expensive for what it was really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy! We did request a move away from the nightclub and the staff upgraded us to a suite which was lovely of them, however for the price of these rooms and in comparison to some other 5star hotels in the country i think Redcastle could reevaluate! Most staff were very friendly but maybe not enough available to provide a good level of service in the restaurant which is disappointing considering the over pricing of the food!

    The bed was very comfy. Food was good quality and the view from the restaurant was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are particular about noise you might want to ask if they are hosting an event during your stay. The wifi signal was weak to non existent in the room, adequate in common areas.

    Property is beautiful, room adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    A sleepless night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a nite club adjacent to the hotel. I slept in a room on the nite club side of the hotel and was kept awake until 4am with incredibly loud dance music. Never again.

    Nice, spacious rooms and great views from the dining room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Booked a sea view room and got upgraded to the huge room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of gluten free options at breakfast. It took 30 mins for GF toast to be served, despite requesting it on 3 separate occasions.

    Booked a sea view room and got upgraded to the huge room with sea views on two sides and a terrace overlooking the beach. Stunning room and location and a great way to relax. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay apart from the bar food and you have to try the Boathouse next door. fab!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ordered olives and feta cheese, very poor, had to then order breads and oils, oils didn't come. Then a stone baked pizza off the bar menu. Tasted more like stone than baked, topping poor and unappetising. Also no outdoor seating suitable for the lovely weather we were having.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Bed was perfect as I need a firm mattress.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The portions at the wedding meal were too large, and the evening sandwiches were only so so

    Bed was perfect as I need a firm mattress. I slept really well. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    wouldnt stay there again, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a balcony, didnt get one, the sea view was a small window on the side no airconditioning, and the window only opened up a little way. Afternoon tea was 48 euros for 2 people complete rip off

    The food was ok. breakfast was painfully busy and not organised

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at hotel at 3 as we thought this would be ample time for room to be ready. Was told on arrival that room wasn’t ready and to come back in half an hour. Asked what we could do. Reception said to go and get a drink at the bar. Went back at 3:30 to be told room still wasn’t ready. Wife had to ask if we could use swimming pool rather then keep drinking at bar. They said ok. Had to remove swimming costumes at reception and leave bag there. Came back at 4:30 and room was finally ready. Went to room and key cards weren’t activated. So another trip to reception. There was also a wedding on at hotel and was very noisy but knew this was out of hotels hands. Had a lovely meal at the boat house restaurant but this has nothing to do with hotel. Paid £190 for a sea view room which was overlooking the sea but also the smoking hut and bar below which was where the wedding guests where. For this sort of money we where expecting a bit of wow factor but hotel is just average compared to galgorm or Farnham estate. Decor is outdated. Spa facilities are also outdated the sauna and steam room are a joke. Didn’t get any sleep that night as there where people singing and shouting below window. Wife rang reception at 2am to complain about this. Talked to duty manager after stay to say that the stay was rubbish to say the least to be told we can have a free upgrade of room next time we visit. Which is a laugh as I will be going nowhere near the place again. Stay away. It would be ok for a b&b and paying about £60 a night. For the price. Go to Farnham estate or the galgorm. Far better

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    The stay was good which was helped a great deal by the fantastic weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside relaxation space. Small concrete area with two concrete tables is not sufficient for the size of the hotel. A more varied menu in the restaurant and the bar would be an asset.

    The friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    What can I say about this amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What can I say about this amazing hotel. I only stayed there for a brief few days for my sisters wedding and I recommend everyone I know to stay there and I will be back. Excellent service and staff were so welcoming and friendly. Amazing views and food. Would give 100 stars if possible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Elegant, comfortable and enjoyable. I would come back again definitely.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were pristine and rather spacious. The breakfast selection was good. There was a welcoming atmosphere around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location, staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small this time around we were in room 426 & the floors must be very worn as we could hear every footstep from the room above which meant a quite unpleasant rest 😐

    Lovely location, staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location to start Wild Atlantic Way
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find big plates in breakfast area. To get from reception to rooms quite tricky with doors to open and stairs to take, which was uncomfortable with suitcases.

    The location is so easy to find, hotel is near the sea, stunning views while having breakfast. Breakfast was nice, a lot of variety to chose from, and helpful staff with anything you need. Room was clean, big, comfortable, beds and pillows comfortable. Bathroom clean, soaps, shampoos, shower gel provided. Wifi good speed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Croissants were not fresh for breakfast and the viewing window could do with being washed from the outside to enhance the beautiful view that is seen from the restaurant. These are two minor footnotes in an otherwise fantastic stay

    Breakfast/dinner both served in an excellent location with stunning views over looking the water. Generally, food was delicious throughout especially for dinner and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old outdated inside across the board in general, food was poor, this hotel is relying on its location on the waters edge and being on the wild Atlantic way for the 4 star rating .. it’s not a 4 star by any means. As a hotel to sleep in it’s fine but that’s about it.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Best place for relaxation even getting married there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. View location outstanding. Stayed twice in one week was that beautiful. Looking forward to it again. Room 701 is spectacular view. Great value for money even food I great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing, friendly and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great time, staff really friendly and food fantastic. Spa experience was relaxing and pool was good. Great views across the lock. All in all a relaxing stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for double bed it was 2 single beds pushed together (not happy) and the internet signal is rubbish

    It was during the week so wasnt many people about

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved the room on the waterfront, listening to the waves in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the restaurant very expensive for the location. The Steam room wasn't working and Sauna wasn't very hot but it was early in the morning.

    Loved the room on the waterfront, listening to the waves in the morning and using the leisure facilities before breakfast. Unreal location in a beautiful part of the country.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Wedding stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs down to the wedding reception are in need of recarpeting.

    Parts of the hotel have been redecorated since my last stay in 2016 and other than needing a few minor updates it is a fab hotel.The wedding meal was exceptional. My partner and I both really enjoyed the food. I love the views and the grounds of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Spectacular views, spacious room, toiletries were beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked and head was dirty. Service was slow with concierge, bar staff and breakfast staff, although alp were wonderfully polite. Had to promt staff for service after waiting for too long. Walls were thin between rooms, could here bathroom fans and conversations.

    Spectacular views, spacious room, toiletries were beautiful and smelt delicious! Pool and spa are great and check in/out was easy. Late checkout is wonderful at 12 noon which allows you time to relax and enjoy the spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Foyer and main areas of the hotel were lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed to be updated - the tiles on the bathroom floor weren’t grouted and moved when you stood on them. Also the carpet has sections cut away and just replaced with another piece leaving a messy appearance. The room in my opinion did not meet a 4* standard.

    Foyer and main areas of the hotel were lovely and spectacular views from the function room, upper bar and breakfast area. The bed was verry comfortable and the room had a lovely sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    I was attending a friend’s wedding reception and the service was second to none, just fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all very pleasant and enjoyable

    Pleasant and courteous staff, couldn’t be more helpful. Room spacious and comfortable with a fabulous view of the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    overall the stay was good, enjoyed the steam room and sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed needed a new matress, quite cool in the room as the heating was set for summer, it might be better to set the heat according to the weather forcast. The bathroom needs an update, toilet flush needs repaired.

    It was great to have local friendly staff, the food was also great. The location was lovely as was the sea view from our room and also the view from the restaurant just wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our short stay in comfortable surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A more explanatory menu for the bar food It was not easy to determine what some of the dishes contained. Restaurant food appeared pricey.

    The staff were good ,food tasty and bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    View was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dated and unfinished - for example, hole in wall filled but not painted over. Shower was low standard and no bathrobes In the room Hdmi port I’m back of tv didn’t work

    View was great Bed was comfortable Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing hope to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My car was damaged in disabled car park in front of hotel.staff notified photos taken.that was the only negative.hope somethings will be done about it

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The Redcastle was great as usual and to be allocated a suit was the icing on the cake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More plain choices on the bar menus would have been ideal. There were only two choices I would have ate,the steak and the burger which I had it was enormous. A smiller burger would have reduced the price.I think reception should let people know the consequences of trying to smoke in the hotel sets the fire alarm off in the hotel as it did when we were there. People think they have to bang the doors to close them,5 times to close a door was ridiculous and noisy,absolutely no reason.

    Great choice for breakfast and the fruit salad was delicious.Being able to enjoy breakfast and looking over the Foyle was so relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, really comfortable, friendly staff. Would come back.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main meal was okay but didn’t love the chicken on my main.

    The views are amazing! So close to the sea, the views from the rooms and the dining area were stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    So disappointing not worth the money we paid and dont stay in room 105
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the bar and function room was amazing but the food was awful and lampshades broke in room. Bed old and very un comfortable needs changing bedside lockers need cleaning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Family Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the bar and the music was very loud, we had our 3 year old daughter with us and found it very hard to get her to sleep. I just thought it was a bit inconsiderate to put a family with a young child above the bar on a Saturday night.

    We booked this hotel for my partners birthday. Our daughter had never stayed in a hotel before so this was a new experience for her. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who checked us in. Our room had a sea view which we were delighted about and the room itself was lovely. The grounds are stunning. I would definitely return to the Redcastle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    however lovely place.. will be back again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    was not fussed on the menu in the restaurant. we are very plain eaters and found it hard to decide on something to eat. ended up having the bar food. however staff were willing to accommodate for us.

    we enjoyed the spa treatment.. the girls that worked there.. absolutely lovely girls.. especially Kerri.. made our stay lovely and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm. Lighter bed sheets would have been good. Had to open the window which meant the sea noise kept me awake

    Staff friendly, hotel clean, bar atmosphere good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel with amazing staff couldn’t ask for better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell of cigarette smoke lingering in the the bathroom however staff were very apologetic about this and very accommodating on finding a different room for us.

    King size bed was amazing! So comfortable! The staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly! Food was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Did enjoy just a few down sides
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like that after paying €170 for one night. We did not receive bath robes in the room and had to request. Also booked for a sea front view. The window was not a great view definitely think at this price should have got the best sea view and been provided with everything.

    Like the pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't very comfortable was a bit hard, the steam room and sauna weren't really working steam room didn't have much steam and the sauna just wasn't hot at all. Pool was good but was disappointed there was no hot jacuzzi. There was jacuzzis along with the pool so they where pool temp and not hot and relaxin and some parts of the pool with buttons for things weren't working. Also didn't have a great experience at the bar, guy serving wasn't very pleasant and didn't even say thank you. Was very slow and had to look up a book to see what was in cocktails. There was no mint to make a mojito so my partner picked another cocktail with gin in it and they had run out of gin and had to go get more stock so I already had my drink and my partner had to wait 15-20 mins to get his cocktail when I had almost finished mine.

    Good value hotel. Nice views and nice food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    upgraded to a suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reservation fee deducted form credit card after the stay despite settlingthe accountin full by debit card. refunded promptly when complained by e mail

    upgraded to a suite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Had a lovely stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given was very small and only had a small window was not worth the rate they were looking but tv wasnt working due to some kind of reception matters but were moved to a beautiful room with plenty of windows and a balcony and was well worth the rate

    The food was fantastic and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    It was okay
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear loud music playing from a night club right next to my room with teenagers screaming and banging, did not have a good nights sleep and heard loud music coming from one of the hotel rooms when I was trying to skeep

    I liked the food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very nice the food was excellent and i would go back but not to the same room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very disappointing to have a room that was right over the hotels laundry room, the noise was very loud and it shook if i was there more than one night i would have asked to have been moved.

    I thought the hotel was nice the view was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay, with breathtaking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities, staff and food were all excellent. There were lots of little areas where you could relax & chill out. There was also a very relaxed atmosphere within the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff make the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changing rooms in the swimming pool are a little compact.

    The staff are the friendliest hotel staff I have ever met. From reception to the maintenance man. Everyone was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Just ok,probably look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud noise at night time on corridor. Kids club parents have to pay. Breakfast is terrible buffet food tasteless and over priced ++++ Loud noise on corridor at 1am kids banging on our door..Poor service in bar Easter Saturday. Hotel lacks atmosphere..

    Good Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Really enjoyed the stay overall as at a family wedding but rooms not overly nice for price.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just thought for the price of the room that it was expensive. There was nothing that stood out for the room for me and for the price thought there should have been.

    The function room for wedding was very nice looking out at the sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Very noisy, heard everything from the room above such as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, heard everything from the room above such as people walking across the room (floor boards very squeaky) heating was on all night due to this had to open the window & could not sleep for people shouting etc music from the night club

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room vibrated every now and then. Guessing there was a jacuzzi bath below us. Annoying.

    Relaxing in the lounge. Windows and positioning of lounge made it feel you were on the water.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: