Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shearwater Hotel 4 stars

Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland

#2 of 2 hotels in Ballinasloe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was v hot and air conditioning made no difference. To be fair we did not report it until we checked out.

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable beds, clean, free WiFi, central location, plenty of room in foyer/lounge for meeting friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • 1 Double & 1 Single Bed - Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one person in the bar/restaurant area could have been a bit more engaging and helpful

    Clean and comfortable, not 5 star but does not pretend to be. Very good value for money, all were friendly and helpful. Everything was above expectations for the money paid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are uncomfortably hot. Air conditioning proved totally ineffective and we had two oppressive and restless nights. The restaurant for breakfast had dirty floors on both mornings - with shoes quite sticky on the flooring just in front of the buffet breakfast. Chefs didn’t keep an eye on the buffet and so on both mornings items had run out and there was a lengthy wait for replacements by which time the rest of the chosen breakfast had cooled. This hotel has been sliding in standards over the last few years and I doubt I shall be returning.

    Good location - staff are pleasant enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, excluding Lorraine. Room FILTHY!!! Limited towels. Iron burned our clothes. The trash under the Murphy bed would shock you — disgusting to say the least. I’ve never been somewhere where there were less friendly staff. The gentleman walking the lobby, I’m guessing he was manager- had suit on, was pleasant. There was one girl in dining room for breakfast that was nice as well-long hair in pony tail with glasses. Gym staff rude!!

    Lorraine was the only memorable point of our stay at the Shearwater — or as you say—holiday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room could do with some cleaning, especially around and through breakfasts time. The toilets could also do with more attention to detail.

    Location is excellent, staff very friendly and service very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 1 Double & 1 Single Bed - Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge of €7.50 per tray for room service, very expensive I thought.

    The staff were excellent, the beds were so comfortable, the hotel was very clean with a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we have used this hotel many times before we were conscious that it is starting to look a bit battered and tired in the bedrooms.

    Prices was reasonable for a 5 star hotel, service and food good and I had no trouble getting little extras on request. Food was available through out the day which suited us as we arrived late afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only dislike in the family suite was the doors to each section automatically closed vs. being open with an option to close. We used chairs to hold them open, etc.

    Everything. Location, staff, food, rooms...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and the pillows were rock hard. It was impossible to get a good nights sleep. Overall the hotel rooms need to be modernised.

    The staff at the hotel are incredibly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in bedroom... Cable to kettle a potential hazard...had to plug it into the back of a cupboard and then trap the cable in closed door..

    Best mattress I have ever slept on...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid €139 just for the bed no breakfast I think at that price breakfast should have been included I was traveling with my husband and elderly parents to b honest I won’t pay that money again for one night with no breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While getting a meal in the bar it took over 30 mins to get our order taken and at that we had to ask for someone to take our order twice beforehand . This was the only downside to our visit

    Bar staff were amazing and very friendly , Rooms clean and very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong smell of drains in the bathroom.service poor at breakfast.used crockery not cleared promptly.buffet items not immediately replaced.

    Room was comfortable.lively bar area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no problem with the property.

    It was ok.late late service left a lot in Question. Had to wait for a long time to get in to my room,my card to get into my room did not work ?.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom (no 208) above function room and music/ dancing noise till nearly 3am, then people took the party to the bedroom corridors and were making a terrible noise, talking loudly laughing and arguing till after 6am - did not get any sleep at all. Buffet breakfast was adequate but service poor, tables not cleared promptly and hardly any staff on duty to provide more tea or coffee.

    Good location in Ballinasloe near Marina & Harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were Friendly and helpful and gave us a nice table in corner of bar for our evening meal food also good and all round ambience very agreeable,,,,,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t check that breakfast wasn’t included therefore was a bit disappointed that twasnt included in price-found out on arrival.also would have liked water in the room,glasses provided in bathroom but as I don’t drink tap water I would have liked a bottle or two to have been provided.

    The bed was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the size of the bedroom.

    The staff were very helpful, the room was very spacious and bathroom was lovely with plenty of towels. There was a very good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fantastic stay last Sunday. ..the staff were so helpful & friendly. The entertainment was outstanding. Food was excellent. I could not find any fault in this hotel & is so reasonably priced. Will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating didn't seem to be working and a lovely lady from housekeeping came up and checked it out and had brought a heater with her to keep us going until the heating started up. Lovely friendly lady. Lovely atmosphere and very relaxed hotel. Staff are lovely and have great entertainment every Sunday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was like a sauna, couldn't cool the room at all. And wifi was extremely poor. And didn't get any bath towels only hand towels.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two small things that could be improved . 1) the inside of the bathroom door was very jaded looking and 2) the stairwell could do with a bit of a clean.

    Room was comfortable and clean. Good selection of choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were kids running and screaming up and down the corridor outside my room for over an hour - I called reception 3 times but nothing happened. I felt that the staff could have done much more to stop this disturbance

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink in our bathroom had large crack - which didn’t look too nice. Please replace or fix it.

    Lovely hotel, staff very friendly, beds very comfy. Really enjoyed our stay at the Shearwater & enjoyed looking around the town of Ballinasloe. Locals very friendly. Will be back soon. 👍🤣

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 1 Double & 1 Single Bed - Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it hard to get served in the bar/ restaurant. It took half an hour before we could place our order. Once we had ordered the food did come quickly however.

    Lovely room, comfortable beds with good facilities .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator in room next to bed was really noisy. The lighting in room was not good. We ordered breakfast in room but it arrived cold. On the plus side were very apologetic when told and did not charge.

    Lovely hotel the pool was so warm and clean.nice large bar and music on both nights. The staff were friendly and very helpful lovely spa but was fully booked. Next time I will prebuck the spa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get the shower to work for warm water. The kids pool was quite cold. The restaurants food albeit beautiful was far too tiny. Rooms need a little updating. Fire alarm going off at 12:50am.

    Very comfy Bed. Great breakfast. Lovely resturant for Sunday carvery. Lovely and warm pool. Lovely reception team always so helpful. Rooms were always warm. I reccomend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent food,service, comfort, very helpful staff,entertainment, and just great place to stay with a great atmosphere, can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet and tv access still use a very old technology. There was no fridge in the room and when when requested one I was told they were out of stock. Poor fresh fruit selection at breakfast.

    Check-in and check-out very fast and efficient. Great gym and swimming pool. Staff very kind. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor signage to car park - the Bistro was overcrowded and had no room forcing one into fairly dull carvery style food, which was expensive for blandness.

    The food was Ok & the rooms clean & comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this occasion, there was a big name band playing on the night we stayed. After travelling over 4 hours to get to the hotel, we couldn't find parking at all anywhere near the hotel, disabled parking was taken by cars who were not entitled to park there :( My advice would be to arrive early, IF a big band night is planned during your stay.

    Lovely, modern hotel. Large and comfortable rooms. Really clean throughout the hotel. Reception staff were very quick & efficient. Very close to the hospital for anyone with an early morning appointment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone out of order in room ,

    Wonderful front of house staff always welcoming warm reception no matter what our query was . Full marks to the housekeeping staff , so polite ,and so anxious to assist what ever . Bar and waitingstaff tried so hard to keep up the standards ,I could see they were extremely busy and understand ,they tried so hard ,well done

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All a bit disorganised in every area. If the upkeep of this hotel is allowed to keep sliding downwards, it will be a 2 star "function room" very soon

    Some staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A night porter/staff member coloured guy no manners didn't say hello was just so rude to be honest.

    The rooms were really lovely and beds were so comfy. Young guy not long there was really nice to us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was cold. Our room did not have any heat, a plug in small heater was brought up to the room which was insufficient! There were no extra blankets or pillows in the room wardrobe which is common enough in most hotels. The staff in the restaurant and bar were unfriendly, very unhelpful and unenthusiastic.

    The food was excellent. The car parking facility is excellent. The hotel is very spacious. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stain on the carpet in room 142. Toilet had not being cleaned. long hairs and dust on the floor. several cob-webs on the ceiling in the bedroom which shows a lack of detail when cleaning.

    very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen leaked while taking shower resulting in big flood on floor, which I had to dry with towel to prevent slipping on same. There was a crack right around the wash hand basin which at first glance looked like a rib of hair stuck to the whb.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the water in the bathroom. It did not get hot enough.The fire alarm going off at 6 am on a Sunday morning wasn't great either. Everything else first class.

    The room was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off at 6 in morning several times but other than that it was a nice hotel. There was also a loud fan in the room that interrupted sleep.

    The rooms are comfortable and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the showers is only ever warm and not hot. Had food in the bar and had to cancel our desserts because we were waiting so long for them. Waiters kept going to wrong tables with food and drinks. Seems to no organisation of tables and pot luck if they arrive with the right food. 2 different dishes arrived to our table before we got what we ordered. Other than that it's a nice hotel with nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed for a balcony room and didn't get one when I said it to the staff I was told I should have wrote it in the comments, yet I was charged for it when booking. Other than that the hotel is beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bacon out at Breakfast. Had to ask. Also no fried eggs. Empty containers. In my opinion this should have been watched etc. Otherwise OK.

    Location. Comfortable room. Good staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both before and after the spa treatments we lounged in the relaxation room. This room was clean and comfortable but did not have any glasses available for water. There were very limited herbal teas available (just tea bags and hot water flask) and no fruit. While I did not expect any of this it is listed as 'key feature' under the spa section of the hotel website and has become somewhat of the norm in most spas that I visit.

    We had dinner in the bar one evening and it was delicious. Our waiter was polite and friendly and the bar staff were also friendly and chatty. The bar itself is confortable. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant but we did have carvery lunch there one afternoon which was tasty with a good variety of options and helpful service. We also had room service dinner one evening and this was delivered promptly and was hot and delicious. We had spa treatments and I'd recommend the hot lava back massage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in our room did not work, the hotels solution was to provide us with a small plug in heater which did little to improve the room temperature as my wife had to put on a jumper to sleep in to keep warm. The temperature of the shower was unadjustable at and best was tepid !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very poor, all tinned fruit, staff were clearly under pressure and too many tables with dirty dishes and dirty dishes left beside breakfast area, not very appetising.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I signed a form that related to someone else with same name. No extra bed clothes were available. The management of the three tv screens in the main bar could be improved.

    Quietness,Space in room,access to floors bars dining area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay.

    Nice reception..bar and food were really nice. Had a fabulous ceasar salad. Room was spacious and clean but had a slightly stale smell of smoke (was very mild) bed was comfy and we also used pool which was clean and water wasn't too cold.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom (116) could do with sealant being replaced

    Bar refurbished since last stay so nicer and more comfortable than before. Staff helpful and friendly Very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner wasn’t as nice this time rang the reception the first night and no answer and rang the hotel number no answer very bad response

    Rooms where nice and the bathroom was lovely staff where very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable mattress in room. Not enough vegetarian choice for dinner.

    Great location for a relaxing break. Excellent leisure facilities. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Exceptional staff and customer service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast could of been better never NY fried eggs and kids wanted pancakes overall waS lovely my partner loved the soda bread wNtef to know what brand it was

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took 40 mins to check in as the hotel could not find our reservation. When we eventually got to our room, there was no toilet paper provided. The breakfast service was very slow and I had to ask multiple times over the course of breakfast for a pot of coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was delicious and reasonably priced as were drinks, breakfast was included and was delicious! Staff were also super friendly from check in to bar staff, restaurant staff, cleaners etc

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all was great

    lovely staff,very comfortable room .spotlessly clean ,lovely pool and spa ,the breakfast was perfect ,lovely porridge and a great fry ,followed by danish pastries ,and plenty of coffee ,was delighted with everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only ok ! Very slow about getting our tea (not enough staff on) when we got the tea it tasted of coffee... It seemed to be a coffee pot they used which wasnt cleaned properly. Apart from this we had a pleasent stay

    Great value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whiĺe i like the hotel i think it could be better kept and cleaner with a bit more polish and class for 4 star status.

    Lobby is very spacious and bar area very attractive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband's room key opened the wrong room door and it also opened our room door immediately after he tealused he was in the wrong room. This happened during the day and it could have had drastic consequences.

    Excellent food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bedroom could be better. There was a large wedding on and was woken up at one stage by noise on corridor.

    Comfortable stay. Staff efficient and very friendly. Good variety for Breakfast with gluten free options. Would return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't look very nice from the outside. There is a lot of unused space to the front which is off putting. The Car park is a disaster. Not enough spaces plus dark, cold and wet.

    We liked the foyer and the Bar. The bedroom was Ok but narrow between the bathroom and the wardrobe. The Bedroom was clean and warm with a thermostat that actually worked. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Double & 1 Single Bed - Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the evening carvery meal wasent great for the money charged,had soup and sandwiches instead.however i arrived a little late.

    entertainment provided by mike denver and stuart moyles was excellent .breakfast also very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to see shower sponges in the room, and disposable bags for used laundry.

    I was at a wedding, and the meal was excellent. Nicest meal I ever had out, and a lot of people agreed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit on the cold side but it wouldn’t stop me from coming again as the hotel was excellent and lovely and clean

    Hotel was lovely and rooms were very clean and nicely laid out plenty hot water which is great great food also was late when we got there still got a great meal happy out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mike denver was playing there that night but me and my partner where told we couldn't see him play as we where not club members even doe there was a sign saying club members and guests only. As we where guests we should be able to see him play.and the room was cold.i would not stay there again.

    Room and bed where fine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was wonderfully welcoming as i was a lone traveller the staff made an effort with me to ensure i had a great stay. I will be staying here again and will be sure to recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest we found the bathroom a little worse for wear. However, the staff were wonderful. My wife was ill and we were allowed check out much later than we were supposed to without any extra charge. The Desk Staff were very understanding and even offered us Tea.

    Our room was spacious and we were given an upgrade when we asked for it, The heating was very easy to control. Most of our business took place outside of the Hotel so we did not have an opportunity to experience the Bar or Restaurant on this visit. The lobby was comfortable and cheery. Easy to get WIFI. Parking was amazingly close and convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like it. The facilities are great. Lovely location. Staff at its best. The restaurant staff have good attention to details and are proffecional and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm being set off at 4.15am this morning. Couldn’t not sleep after that. On checking out we were told that it was not the staff of the hotel but by a quest staying their.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to talk about. NAMAesque hotel but I could be wrong. Lobby and restaurant-bar chilly and was fairly quiet. Typically Celtic Tiger sterile surroundings and decor.

    Price and location. Asked to switch rooms as lot of noise from next door. This was kindly facilitated by nite porter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a typical, large town centre hotel. It is starting to look tired and in need of an update. The reception staff were informative and the bedroom was ok for a nights stay. The bar area is open plan which made it feel cold - staff in the bar were friendly and the food tasty. There was a large selection for breakfast, but the cooked section looked unappealing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The choice was excellent, and the croissants were just like French ones! Fabulous range of cereals, fruits and drinks including a delicious water with cucumber & mint!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained carpets , lampshades and furnishings in bedroom , worn wood on desks from wear and tear, needs to be upgraded. The thermostat (air con &heating system) was disabled in November . The only heat was from a storage heater which was disabled in the morning (7 am). I had to search to find the plug and plug it into the wall behind the bedside locker. Lots of sockets in the wall did not fit the appliances in the room (round pin sockets) so not enough sockets for lamps , hairdryer , kettle. The kettle station did not have a socket adjacent so had to be moved Mini fridge removed No safe Hair in bath and in bed after cleaning Dangerous ironing board, the attachment for the iron is broken and some metal sticks out, I cut my arm when closing the ironing board

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was barley lukewarm - asked three times for it to be fixed and reception staff were very nice about it, but no one appeared to fix it over 2 day stay. Leisure centre disappointing - like a public pool and changing rooms a bit grotty - steam room out of order.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 1 Double & 1 Single Bed - Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we had was that we were at the noisy side of the hotel. I had 2 young children with me. They did try 2 move us but there was no rooms available on quiet side. The room was very very hot. There was no air conditioner and you couldn't turn heat down or off. And nowhere to dry swim wear after swimming pool.

    We loved the hotel and staff we great. Great place 2 relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not particularly clean. Baseboards in the roomw filthy, fingerprints on doors and glass. Fingerprints on the bedroom cupboards, etc. Room was right above the bar& dining room - struggled to go to sleep to the sound of chairs dragging on floors and music; was woken by the sound of dragging chairs. Breakfast room full of families with screaming kids running around. Um, they told us that was coffee, but I'm still not convinced. Ordinary quality food. Skip the breakfast! There's an excellent bakery where you can get a decent sit-down coffee in the town, about 200m away. The lamp in the room did not work and they were unable to fix it although they made two visits to the room after we raised the problem Swimming pool full of kids.

    The staff were friendly and cheerful and eager to help. Change of bedsheets and towels were on carts rather than on the floor like many hotels when they are making up the rooms. Excellent quality matresses. some home made preserves at breakfast. Beautiful local lithographs on bedroom walls.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The choice of food on the bar menu could be expanded a little more and parts of a staircase in glass outside the front of the building could do with a facelift so shabby compared to the rest of the hotel.

    It was very central and everything was within walking distance. Breakfast was 100% and you could have as much or as little as you like as it was self-service. The menu and food in the bar was disappointing, poor choice and not great taste in food. Parking is great with plenty of underground space and lifts available.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: