Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Dargan Hotel 4 stars

Ballygawley, Sligo, Ireland

#9 of 11 hotels in Sligo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 398 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can't think of any complaints

    Clean spacious rooms. Very peaceful though plenty of people were around during our stay. Beautiful scenery, lovely breakfast overlooking the golf pitch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be picky the Base of the bed was worn and threats hanging out it was visible so that's how I noticed it. There was also dead flys across from lift on the carpet that hadn't been hoovered the two days we where there and was very noticeable.the cocktail menu was missing a lot of ingredients so left with little choice Other than that everything else was good and couldn't fault the hotel or staff.

    We stayed for 2 nights and had a good time. Liked the location of hotel and staff where helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in their 'apartments'. A bit run down. No elevator. Had to carry luggage to top floor. Poor Wi-Fi connection. One channel on TV. No silverware in kitchen suite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a chewed lump of gum in the bottom of my glass after I had finished my drink. It was the most disgusting thing. I still feel sick when I think about it!! 🤢

    Lovely location. Had a relaxing time in the spa. Dinner was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cornflakes never tasted worse, apart from that the breakfast first class

    Very comfortable room, food nice ate in the bar, nice location overlooking the golf course.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could be improved slightly is the sound proofing between rooms and hall but other than that just fabulous!

    A fabulous hotel in a beautiful country setting. Colette at reception is just fabulous we were made so welcome. There is a playground on site for children which is rare. And the grounds make a pleasant walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old TV with very poor reception. Heavy self closing interion doors which wouldn't stay open.

    Right on the golf course, massive room, comfortable bed, big refrigerator, good breakfast and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very clean and comfortable, very spacious bedrooms with plug sockets everywhere, a bonus for the female traveller, great breakfast with very helpful staff, delicious food in the bar - great value for money I would very much recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom were filthy I had 2 clean it myself be 4 I got in to the shower. And still the dirt was coming of the shower door wen the water hit it .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel itself felt run down and forgotten about which is a shame as it really could be spectacular.

    The staff were all amazing. Grounds and golf course are beautiful and views are fantastic. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    Very friendly and helpful staff. fantastic big clean comfortable rooms. Great food. Breakfast is busy on hard pressed staff at 10am. Very helpful and accomodating staff. Family member had a guide dog and they were very helpful to her.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food both the toasted sambo for late lunch ad the dinner in the bar could have been much better. the dinner menu isnt great compaired to other places ive stayed in. i had to ask both before dinner and 1sst thing in the morning for heat in my room!!

    the best bed i have ever slept in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It mentions on site you can hike however we found it hard to go for a walk on the grounds to see the castle ruins as signs shows golfers only. It was a groundsman who advised on the walk and to ignore the signs. Should be better sign posted for walk especially as they emphasize on the castle and it's ruins. You have to look outside the grounds for lovely views as the whole grounds is a golf course, very disappointing. If u're a golfer or golfers widow (spa day for her while he's on the course) you'll love it. We ended up going into Sligo town for something to do on our second day.

    Staff, food and room was great. View was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable beds --spacious rooms --issue with heat on first night in our room ---resolved immediately by a very helpful staff member . Freshly cooked breakfast a very welcome change from buffets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I always book accommodation with bath and this apartment is advertised as having a bathroom, with a bath icon in the advertising but it does not have a bath, a big let down and misleading information, it has a shower room and toilet. My partner (celebrating his birthday) was looking forward to a relaxing day to watch the big match that happened to be on this weekend but alas the TV was a massive letdown, postage stamp size in a very large room and the picture quality brutal and some channels had picture and no sound! The heating boiler in the kitchen/living room area is quite noisy when cutting in and out. The apartment block is over three floors (we were on first floor) but there is no lift, not a issue for us but should be made clear on website for customers booking with mobility issues. I gave feedback regarding above issues to hotel before I left but did not get any reply. Would return to hotel but not to apartments.

    The location of the property was lovely, very scenic area and enjoyed nice walks all around the estate and local area. The breakfast great, porridge, best ever and bar food was also excellent and staff were very friendly. The accommodation was very clean, spacious but entrance area to apartment could be improved, a bit grubby in places. Visited the spa for treatments and it was excellent, relaxing and professional, having said that I think the relaxation area would be more relaxing if it were not so bright.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and clean. We had drinks in the bar at night and the lady who was working there was very nice and friendly. Unfortunately I can’t remember her name but she was a pleasure to chat to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Huge one bed apartment. Floor to ceiling views, spectacular. Food, drink, service and atmosphere in bar excellent. Perfect for northern section of wild Atlantic way into Donegal. Staff very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold interior in bedrooms and the heating did not work correctly, temperature was either too hot or too cold

    It’s a functional hotel. Fine for a sales rep. The bar area is like a canteen. The staff are lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in an apartment with friends. The views were amazing! Breakfast was lovely and the staff were more than helpful. Perfect location for a wedding in Markree castle nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it for anything. Had loads of room in the apartment.

    It was nice and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and had lovely scenic views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smell of smoke of waiter distusing serving food. no towels in spa,not shown around spa just pointed to door no water to drink in spa floor very wet in hydro area spa hydro not suitable for disabilites water jug in restraunt dirty on lid

    location is beautyfull

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful, comfortable stay . the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return and enjoy the hotel and have a spa experience. We definately will return

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment not ready on arrival. No heat on when we got it and floor was sticky. Changed apartment. Much better. Outdoor area around apartments dirty.

    Great breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was two single mattresses covered with mattress cover and sheets. Not what you expect from a 4 star hotel. Quite uncomfortable with ridge in the middle of the bed. Food was good we ate in the bar but it lacks atmosphere very basic furniture and décor.

    Nice bedroom and bathroom relaxing area where the piano and fire is lovely for a drink and chat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold at night but nothing that would put me of going back

    Relaxing surroundings, amazing food, lovely open fire to relax with a glass of wine. Staff were amazing & attentive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing....

    Apparment was massive...living room and dining area and have been enough 4 da nite...bathroom an bedroom were large as well..continental breakfast what quite good as well.....😀

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very poor with a very limited continental selection. For example, there was only orange juice, no apple/cranberry which tend to be standard for a 4* property. The room decor was dated with an extremely small television and not even BBC channels. Reception did not have any additionally amenities such as a toothbrush (even for a fee) The bartender in the evening could not make cocktails, apparently 'the cocktail girl had left' The hydro pool looked dirty and there was an awful lot of limescale build up around the controls The Steam room was smelly

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments had no cooking facilities, very strange. We had brought out food to make as a group of friends but no oven or microwave. I would have presumed that was a given in an apartment?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property has no gym or swimming pool. The decor was a little bit worn out looking. The hotel is very isolated far too quiet for teenage children. The breakfast was inedible. The WiFi didn't work.

    The bar was O.K. The rooms were warm. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food was not great breakfast looked and tasted like it was previously cooked and re heated .Bar food ok but food in restaurant not great.Should be better as this hotel is not cheap to stay in.

    staff very friendly and hotel lovely nice big bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room, it was two single beds pushed together, next time when i book ill ask for a double bed.

    Would definitely sray here again. Very friendly, very clean, dinner and breakfast was unreal best place we have stayed in so far.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not book apartment again i found it very run down nd so small and cold no television in room i would definitely book the hotel again but not the apartment.

    Staff were very helpful nd nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More efficiently when it came to including bills for food and drink, was being overcharged for these when paying bill on check out

    The friendless of the staff and big open fire

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleased with everything

    The ceiling to floor windows in living area.Fabulous spacious apartment, cosy bed and beautiful breakfast. Top notch!!Super friendly staff x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a hard thing to please everyone but my bed was a king size one and a little too soft for me. My pillows were hard but I got soft ones as soon as I asked

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very warm and old worlde which was nice. I loved the Victorian bath and style of the Manor House. My only complaint would be they should build a cover walkway from Manor House to the Hotel as we got wet going for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Weather

    My stay was excellent, in a clean, very private and relaxing setting. The staff were all friendly and showed nothing but welcome from our arrival. A really quiet, relaxing and very enjoyable stay thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was cold, and the finishes are all very cheap. Bed wasn't comfortable and pillows were poor. We had been expecting a more luxurious stay. Dinner was only ok and breakfast was terrible.

    Staff are very friendly and the setting is pretty. Hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small maintenance issues.

    Lighting- lots of fairy lights and candles are so appropriate for a winter break. Beautiful setting, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful property! Most comfortable beds of our whole European trip! Dinner was excellent at the restaurant. (Recommend the burger) Staff was extremely wonderful!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, shower was bad there was no pressure and the shower head was full of lime scale and rotting looking and water leaked out from bottom of shower glass because there was no seal and our clothes got soaked. We asked for a double, which we got 2 singles pushed together and a sheet over them, which I fell threw the middle.

    Grounds, spa, golf course, staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets very dirty in corridors. Makes for a very bad impression. In general, the cleanliness of the room was poor and didn’t reflect what we should have got with the price we paid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an apartment in what turned out to be a separate building This was in very poor condition the shower was very dirty the tile grout was black with mould paint around the outside was flaking off where it looked like it had been leaking Carpets in the bedroom had a lot of stains on when I complained I was given the key to another apartment to see if that was any better, it wasn’t! Also outside the room bags of rubbish were left there & some old stuff no longer in use mirrors etc were left on the landing along with old stained duvets thrown under the stairs

    The staff were nice, the main hotel public areas were very nice & it’s a lovely location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There housekeeper used the vacuum early in the morning while we are still asleep and where other noise coming from outside

    Space, cleanliness and the view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice friendly staff, a good quiet location with lovely views over the golf course, lovely comfy king size bed, very clean room, good buffet breakfast and good bar food available during the day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just found front door hard to lock. But again reception staff very helpful with guidance to operate it.

    The staff made us feel welcome from check in-check out. We had a apartment, very spacious + well equipped. Parking was basically at door.The scenery from golf course beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was to hard

    Lovely surroundings. Very clean with lots of room. great food and choice bar staff where really friendly .Linda was so friendly and made you fell very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in apartment 304 furniture in living room a bit dated . Did not have a shower as the plug hole was filthy. Was very dissappointed that the bed did not have a matress proctector.

    Breakfast was lovely and staff very attentive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower as small and tv was in the shared lounge also small.

    Lovely breakfast choices and good bar food. The room had 2bedrooms and a lounge. Great for couples traveling together.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was not up to standard you would expect connected to a 4 star hotel. Defintely in need of some refurbishment and a good airing. We booked 2 nights but only stayed one. The hotel itself and restaurant are lovely as are the staff.

    The hotel itself was great and the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    arrived at 20.35 informed restaurant closes at 20.30, when my husband inquired staff were unhelpful and disinterested, very disappointing for a so called 4* hotel that they couldnt even offer a sandwich or a plate of chips. the bathroom was very disappointing too, no bath despite implying when booking that all rooms had a bath the room was designed for persons with disability. that night the radiator became so hot we had to call reception at 0200 to complain about the heat, told it would be turned off at reception but not sure when it eventually cooled down, we had to pen the windows wide to cool the room down at reception when i inquired about spa told next day all booked up, needless to say after a mediocre breakfast with poor service we left.

    the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signs on the walkway around the hotel that say golfers only beyond this point - seemed a bit unnecessary. Could give more info about the spa. TV was poor.

    Nice surrounding area and staff, could do with more for the non golfer. WiFi was really good given the location in Ireland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although spacious there was hair in the bed, a previous occupants sock on the floor, and the furniture tired and worn. The floor above us creaked horrendously every time the people moved and we could hear their conversation. Sadly they need the hotel doctor.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets in apartments looked like they hadn't been vacuumed - or vacuum cleaner is full Bathroom was quite dirty - lots of dirty lime scale (brown) both inside and outside of the shower - I was able to scrape some of this off easily with my finger nail so a little Cillit Bang would go down well. Light bulbs were out in the bathroom which made it look even more dismal and manky.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very unprofessional and had no manners. She was having a conversation with a member of staff and kept shouting at her.. The bar staff were very lazy and the bar was dirty ie every second table was filthy. At the time there were approx 4 people in the bar...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bags of laundry in the hall which were there overnight. The halls had scuff marks on the walls. We stayed in the apartments but there were poorly kitted out for a self catering style accommodation. We didn't have any cutlery expect for two teaspoons. We ate in the restaurant on the evening of our stay and for breakfast. The food was edible but given this was a 4 star restaurant I had high expectations and they were just not met. I didn't mention my disappointment during our stay and I do regret this but unfortunately I won't be returning or recommending Castle Dargan to others.

    The views were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, hallways and delph in the restaurant Were dirty. The food was also poor! basically it was frozen veg and chips and a chewy fatty steak! The nutella is also not nutella but a melted down cheap dark choclate!

    The receptionist was very nice and the beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dirty! the bathroom as well as all the surfaces (table, windowsill, ..). there is no minibar (why?). The breakfast was ok in variety, but I found a piece of cord in my mushrooms! All in all not very tasty, but enough not to leave hungry. We tried the spa (sauna) once. Yuk! I have never ever seen a "Spa" so dirty! In the ladies locker-room were 80% of the lockers broken and could not be locked, some even had no doors at all. The floor in the Spa was covered with dirt, there was even moss growing in the floor in the area close to the windows! All in all very ill-kempt. A pity, because we were really looking forward to our stay.

    The room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heavy springs on doors within apartment meant doors bang shut rather than close gently. Apartment a bit worn, could do with a re-furbishment

    Quiet surroundings

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of a musty smell when entering our apartment. In the morning, we found two issues - no hot water, had to shave and shower in lukewarm water. Also discovered that the drain in the shower was not working properly. Despite a quick shower because of the cool water, by the time I finished I was stood in 2 inches of water. My wife showered after me, and said that she didn't even get lukewarm water - it was completely cold. When we came to check out, I told the young woman on the front desk about the issues as I said that they needed to fix before they put someone else in the room. I was disappointed in the lack of reaction. No real apology, didn't make any notes, and I got the sense that this was not 'news'. So on that basis, I would NOT recommend this hotel.

    Staff in the bar in the evening were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put into the gateway house at the end of a long driveway/road, a driving distance away from the hotel, felt isolated,unable to use hotel facilities on night of stay, road too dark to walk up to hotel with two children

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not get a hot shower as we were unable to find how to heat the water and why the water was not already heated on arrival? I did find out how to get hot water from the kitchen sink taps but not the shower unfortunately. A hot shower could be taken in the morning time fortunately. Another problem was that we could not lock our door. We also realised that the key was not needed to enter the room which was a bit of a downside for obvious reasons. Also a handle for one of the windows, in the bathroom I think, was broken.

    On arrival we were expecting the usual apartment style of most hotels, two beds, a TV, and a bathroom, but the facilities were very good and our room was also very good. We got a spacious kitchen two sofas, separate bathroom and separate spacious bedroom. It exceeded our expectations indeed. Definitely be back again. excellent views and scenery and although we got a last minute bargain, we felt as if the room and stay was worth the regular price. Fresh breakfast instead of a buffet was also a plus in our minds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast prepared early left under heat light then served cold. Fire alarms going off during middle of night then staff blaming steam from the spa When the blame was party clients opening fire escape doors to have a smoke

    Bed comfortably

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was two beds attached together so there was a separation down the middle. The shower leaked onto the floor and the toilet has been placed too close to the wall

    The food in the restaurant was amazing and very reasonable in price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud housekeeping staff during the day.

    frendly and profesional reception staff.Good food...excellent service. Great location,far from main road and traffic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't in Sligo but we had a car so wasn't a problem.

    We booked a massive one bedroom apartment for half price as it was last minute (on the day!). It had a huge lounge with wall length windows, kitchen, modern bathroom and separate bedroom with a view onto the the walled gardens. Amazing value for money. Good wifi which worked better on laptop than phone. The hotel is immaculate and located on a beautiful golf course. The included breakfast was generous with a hot Irish breakfast and vast buffet and the staff were lovely and chatty. Me and my boyfriend had a little go in the driving range which was fun.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didnt enjoy.

    The spa was great and the '73 midleton is well worth a try, its a really beautiful whisky. The food and staff was also wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfast selection and quality of food TV in the room not working properly expensive room for basic facility

    comfortable bed nice bar buffet meal options

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - 2 Nights B&B + 1 Dinner
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big issues with booking! Our accommodation was an apartment!! Very very disappointed!! Nowhere did it say on our booking/confirmation that it was an apartment!! Ruined the weekend!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Have stayed here several times and it never disappoints.Lovely location, very conducive to comfort and relaxation.Our room was quiet and peaceful. The beds were so comfy, we slept late next morning.Breakfast was good with a very good array of foodstuffs to choose from. Service in diningroom was a credit to the staff. Look forward to my next stay at Castle Dargan.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this in hotel was so lovely. I had an apartment in the courtyard and I would highly recommend this option to families or groups. It was large and very spacious. Amazing views and so warm and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out apartment wasn't as nice as our apartment on previous visits. One of the large sitting room windows was missing a curtain which impacted our privacy. The blind in the kitchen was also missing and the blind in the bathroom was very temperamental and at one stage it wouldn't go up for us to shower. None of the same nice toiletries from last time from the handmade soap company. The spa also didn't have the same nice refreshments available in the thermal area that were avaialble on our last visit. No teas, waters or fruit. Still really enjoyed it overall but felt a few things have gone down hill, it's the little extras that count and these maintenance issues should be addressed.

    Beautiful grounds and setting, great breakfast. Food in a la carte restaurant and bar restaurant both great, to a high standard. Friendly staff. Great spa package offer including delicious lunch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've had better breakfasts in much lesser rated hotels. The bread for making the toast was no ways fresh. It was fine for toast but it was pretty hard going into the toasting machine...

    We stayed mid week so it was quiet and there was no queue.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. 2 single mattresses pushed together to make one double bed, but they kept separating.

    Great location, beautiful hotel and friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor especially as it was expensive. The room by the bar wasn't so nice, there wasn't really anywhere nice to sit downstairs as a wedding was going on the first night and a function the second night. They changed rooms when we complained about the extreme noise of the wedding and the guests in the corridor of the bedrooms the first night. I still would expect more from a hotel like this.

    The befroom. The actual building. The grounds. The location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    had booked an appartment but got double room instead.Was dissappointed. Great offers for spa treatments but impossible to get an appointment.

    comfortable room. Excellent breakfast,

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: