Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4 stars

Ard Drummond Rd/ off Ramelton/Milford RD R245, Letterkenny, Ireland

#5 of 18 hotels in Letterkenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful evening dinner, excellent value meal with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms although very comfortable could do with some reconditioning, just all looks a little tired, downstairs is beautiful and grounds lovely. There was a strawberry festival on when we arrived which meant all the staff were very busy, felt that they were a bit worn out later in day. Breakfast was a little disappointing, lacked the flair that the dinner had.

    Wonderful evening dinner, excellent value meal with good service and very well presented.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfect peaceful and satisfying stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing I didn’t like. The house, the setting and furnishings were just class

    Very spacious room and very clean. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to anyone. Exceptional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Hotel staff where lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff where lovely. Very helpful when arranging a taxi for a night out on donegal rally weekend . Breakfast was perfect. Have stayed in this hotel before an will again. Highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Six days with 8 family members to never forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect setting with beautiful lounges for long relaxed conversations, the on-suite bedrooms furnished from bygone era, always fresh and clean. The most IMPORTANT the owners and staff - you will go a long way to find such a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it so much restaurant beautiful best food ever and service out of this world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the place was lovely the bad reviews are ppl who don't understand a old countryhouse hotel

    Restaurant was fabulous, order food first then you go in restaurant when it's prepared. Lovely large bedroom overlooking the gardens so peaceful, family lovely to talk to especially the daughter so friendly would return coffee in one of the rest rooms just cosy would be nice in winter too with fires lit xx

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful retreat in the gorgeous Irish countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more fruit / veggie options for breakfast. Would have liked seeing the historical outbuildings behind the hotel

    Homemade soup for our late arrival

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely charming !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking for a last minute booking in/near Letterkenny and couldn't believe the deal I got for 2 nights at this absolute gem ! Loving history as I do, to stay in such a beautiful and historic country house hotel was magical. Staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. My room was enormous, extremely clean and comfortable. Had access to numerous sitting rooms, all beautifully decorated with lots of comfy seating, real fires and tea and coffee served whenever you want. Delicious brekkie every morning in gorgeous dining room. Even in the wet weather, the grounds are lovely for a bit of a walk. A little bit out from Letterkenny, but no problem if you have a car, and great to be able to avoid the traffic that you can get in Letterkenny. Absolutely charming and highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    A fabulous hotel, very quiet and no children. Great hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No plug sockets near the bed nor handy for the mirror [for using the hair dryer].

    The friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The quality of the venue. Comfort and warmth. Real fires. Excellent restaurant. Good parking. Quietness. Homely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    The.most relaxing stay anywhere. Like home....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything spot on.....

    You would know it was family run they go the extra mile. Mrs sweeney and daughters so freindly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere...so relaxing with.the hearth fires. Love the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful decor, spacious rooms, amazing food (we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decor, spacious rooms, amazing food (we had breakfast and dinner), lovely attentive staff. There are only 14 rooms so there aren’t many guests. They even let us borrow a flask and mugs for our day trip :) very relaxing, had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Perfect for a relaxing weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were brilliant. They really went out of their way to make you feel at home. I also loved the peaceful drawing rooms - it was lovely to sit by the fire and read a book.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing weekend break with superb food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms could do with an update, although I suppose it's all part of the period charm. There were no issues with the bathrooms at all, it just sometimes took a while for the water to heat up, etc.

    The restaurant absolutely exceeded our expectations. We ended up eating at the hotel every single night because the food was so good. Our room was lovely, with a very comfortable and spacious bed. The atmosphere was very relaxing, and staff was exceptionally friendly. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful house enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of some TCL with regard interior decoration. Food was good however rushed serving it, dissappionted in breakfast it was cold

    Beautiful grounds very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    It was just relaxing & comfortable. hospitality was amazing.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More backroom music could be played .

    We had dinner on arrival, it was just amazing., fabulous meal, we relaxed in the drawing room for the rest of eve, and enjoyed listening to the lovely music of the female who played the keyboard. Mrs Sweeney was a pleasure to have met, and also her daughter Caroline, who waited on us evening and at breakfast, looking forward to going back. M M.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful house, fantastic food, beds so comfy.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is that I would have liked a walk/run following my long journey but due to the area and darkness etc this was not possible.

    The food for both dinner and breakfast was amazing. I have not had a dinner as tasty in some time. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxed peaceful welcoming old family atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful relaxed peaceful welcoming old family atmosphere. Family and staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and to make our stay comfortable and very enjoyable. Lovely atmosphere in restaurant and high quality food and presentation. Very obviously a labour of love which shows in everything and in the very fabric of the building. Beautiful. Deserves great appreciation. And I never write reviews!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    A breath of fresh air, absolutely lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like stepping back in time. Such a beautiful place to stay, staff were fantastic, breakfast was delicious and going close to Christmas -the decorations were amazing! I only wish I had more than one night's stay to enjoy it more!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous in every way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked bath but shower was fine.

    Ambience fantastic. Very friendly staff. Warm atmosphere. Food out of this world. Relaxation and recouperstion personified. Well done all there. Would love to return soon!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    FROM THE MINUTE WE ARRIVED WE FELT LIKE WE WERE THE ONLY ONES THERE AS ANYTHING WE WANTED WAS PROVID
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CAN'T COMPLAIN AS WE WERE VERY WELL LOOKED AFTER AND WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN.

    BREAKFAST COOKED TO ORDER, COOKED EXACTLY AS WE ORDERED- DELICIOUS. BROWN BREAD THE BEST I'VE EVER HAD, REALLY REALLY BEAUTIFUL. STAFF SO WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE. WE DON'T DRINK COFFEE BUT THE TEA WAS VERY GOOD. BEAUTIFUL SITTING ROOMS WITH OPEN FIRES. VERY RELAXING AND PEACEFUL.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Elegant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A full fry option at breakfast would've bee good.

    The hotel and estate were very elegant and well maintained. The staff and general service were excellent also. Definitely recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely establishment brilliant staff and fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a criticism I’m just not used to sprung mattresses so this was uncomfortable for me.

    The staff here are so lovely and can not do enough for you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful country house, beautiful 4 poster bed, very relaxing surroundings by lovely fires, food was out of this world, would definately recommend this place. Staff were brilliant very attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    A great place for the weary traveler or a quiet sojourn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    A grand old country home set in a wonderful location, with staff who could not have been more pleasant or helpful. With its old-world charm; excellent food; a small, well appointed bar; and tea brought to you in one of the comfortable drawing rooms - excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    We all really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A card in room on how to turn on the shower would be helpful! But it may be just that we are not very good at figuring it out!

    lovely staff, helpful management, beautiful public rooms with lofty ceilings and elegant decor. Cosy open fires. Tea and coffee always available and served with a smile. VEry good cuisine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Overall we were very satisfied with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure TV was working! We did try to no avail. Wifi was difficult to get in the bedroom, but fine downstairs.

    Very comfortable large bedroom with good outlook over the front lawn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    This country house was a real gem of a find. We plan to return as soon as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave!

    The bedroom was excellent and the breakfasts very good. We had dinner on both nights and they were truly great - possibly the best meals we have ever had. The staff and the owners were all very friendly and caring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    It was a lovely hotel but it was a 30th wedding anniversary & we felt disappointed in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room. Room decor was disappointing - a bit jaded. TV had very limited channels & positioned awkwardly so it was impossible to view in bed. Only one chair to sit on if u wanted to view TV. Room was near to delivery entrance at rear of property - a lot of vehicle noise, loud discussions & what sounded like a washing machine droning. Do not park under trees in the car park as our car was covered in bird poo & had to go to a car wash on the 1st morning.

    Staff were attentive, friendly & very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Place with big and clean rooms and great dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to say here

    The hotel was really lovely. The rooms were big and clean, and the surroundings of the hotel are beautiful. We had dinner in the restaurant which was delicious. Would stay here again anytime. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    A small quiet and elegant paradise in the middle of nowhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    W did not see room for improvements.

    magnificent scenery and garden, very very attentive staff, always at your disposal. The over 300 years old house is in perfect shape, dry and clean with no signs of humidity, probably because it is kept warm and well heated all year round.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not on the water. There is no view. Room smelled slightly moldy. Bed mattress was old.

    Very well-kept old manor house. The owner lady was very kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely house in tranquil setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything except the TV in room is quite small

    Lovely staff. Loved the reception rooms & the outside enclosed veranda. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Charming and truly welcoming country side hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could do with a bit of renovation but everything worked well. Be aware that you need a car to get (and leave) Castle Grove.

    We loved everything at Castle Grove Country House. It is a charming place for people who appreciate hide-aways, off-road jewels, historic flavour and personal service - and who want to slow down. The room was decorated in antique manor house style, the beds wonderful. We strongly recommend a dinner at the in-house restaurant - an exquisite event.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Touring Donegal - This is the no 1 place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer

    We received a very warm welcome from the owner and his wife. Everything was excellent. Staff were very friendly and professional, polite and helpful. The breakfast was delicious so were the evening meals. We will definitely return for another stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel to spend 30th anniversary in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all.

    I loved the four poster bed and the old style furniture and decor. Loved the comfortable lounges and the friendly staff. Absolutely loved the meal in the restaurant - amazing, lovely fresh veg from the garden which we walked around next morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    What a great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The complete "package", i.e. house, surroundings, staff and food was excellent. Irene Sweeney and her staff are perfect hosts. You feel like being in another stage of time as soon as you enter the house!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Ideal romantic retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault it.

    Ideal location for a romantic weekend away. Very scenic. In the countryside which suited us, but not everyone, however staff were only to willing to arrange taxis if needed to go into town for the evening. Food was excellent and staff all very friendly and helpful. The peace and tranquility.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Country splendour
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a mat in the shower. It was very slippy, but I forgot to mention it to the staff.

    A wonderful country house set in gorgeous grounds , the drive up to the house is lovely surrounded by trees and nature. This is like stepping back in time to a wonderful era where comfort and luxury is combined within a family setting. The lady of the house comes around at dinner to see if everything is good, we talked to her the next day while admiring family photographs all on display on a beautiful dresser. The generations of this family still running their beautiful home while inviting visitors to stay. I felt this is a very special place, yes maybe the furniture is not modern but the charm is the old fashion beds which reminded me of my youth with feather pillows and duvets, I have never slept so well. The staff are obviously there a long time and very attentive and especially the lady on reception had a lovely welcome for us. The young man who worked in the bar and served dinner had a great approach to guests for such a young man, I found out that he is in fact a grandson of the family, good to see the future is secure for the business. I will be back,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Very lovely, traditional if slightly fading Irish country house hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a facelift in places - especially bathroom (though functional and clean). Just a bit tired round the edges, though the potential to improve is there. Would have to plan carefully to achieve facelift (purely internal) without detracting from fundamental style of trad great Irish House. Music in background at dinner a bit naff (and unnecessary).

    Staff v friendly. Evening meal outstanding. Grounds, setting lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Parking secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough outside seating. Strange layout of bedroom - tv beside bed unable to view in comfort. Furniture - wobbly table and frayed carpet. Chairs far too low for table. Shower door and controls very hard to operate. (Reported to staff)

    Parking secure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value for money , lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities within the room . I awaken early and like a cuppa a s a p

    The history of the hotel and the owner very friendly and interesting lady

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    We loved the country house, it was beautiful and so relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We can't really complain about anything. The Wi-Fi connection wasn't that good but sometimes it nice to forget about the mobile/laptop and just relax.

    We loved the country house, it was beautiful and so relaxing. The meals were delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful setting beside Lough Swilly gives a great sense of peace and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea/coffee-making facility in bedroom would have been good; though we appreciated the complimentary coffee/tea in the lounge.

    Very attentive staff. Everything clean, and lovely bed and room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Very comfortable , large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable , large room. Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. I needed gluten free food and I was given a good choice of menus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Just Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike fabulous place

    great views, really chilled time just so relaxing. Staff and owner made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Totally relaxing country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't change anything.

    An extremely relaxed and comfortable hotel with lovely, friendly staff situated off the beaten track in a beautiful location. Good breakfast choice but the many cosy lounges and sitting rooms with period furniture and fittings were the best feature.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    relaxing stay in olde worlde ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More channels on tv.

    The feeling of timeless elegance in an olde worldly property.Staff were excellent, service very timely. Comfortable bedroom, good breakfast, lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    within minutes we knew we would be returning to this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We honestly can't find fault with any aspect of our stay

    The family and staff were very friendly but also attentive The house was elegant with a relaxed vibe. I felt they were interested in how we personally were doing above us being guests.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Will be back here before long and are recommending to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ensuite could be improved a bit. In particular, the grouting of the floor tiles needed redoing. Bonus good point here often lacking in modern hotels was the masses of shelf surface to accommodate cosmetics,shaving gear etc.

    Lovely public rooms,excellent service. Run by charming family with attentive staff. And the meals were superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    A hidden gem on our own door step!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hidden gem on our own door step! From the moment we arrived to the morning we checked out the staff made us feel like 'family' so warm and welcoming with a personal touch. The hotel was full of charm and character and the food was amazing. Definitely a place we will head back too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Step into a different world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like it all. It is a lovely venue and the quietness is a bonus.

    The food was excellent. Our only complaint was that the shower in 'Yeat's wasn't working.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Will gladly return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker in the room but we were served by the staff whenever tea and refreshments were required.

    Very comfortable, peaceful and relaxing. Very pleasant staff and all focuses on service to the guests. Beautifull food at dinner. No delay in service and food served very warn.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable and relaxing and quite memorable location the photos were taken relatively near by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant think of anything.

    This is a well run friendly family hotel The food is of very high standard Tea and home made biscuits available anytime. Near to excellent coastal walks and Glenveigh Castle and extensive grounds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Very relaxing in a familiar environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi was very intermittent.

    The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. The room was well equipped and very comfortable, exactly what we were looking for.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    This is a "must experience" overnight or preferably longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Possibly a new mattress on the bed, not to detract from the decor by replacing with a modern style mattress.

    Everything! This hotel is well located and as you drive down the driveway towards the house you do actually feel your shoulders dropping to a more relaxed position. From entering the front door you are transported to a more relaxed atmosphere. Cordially met at reception and escorted to your room. Sitting in, one of the three drawing rooms to choose from the menu in front of an open log fire in very comfortable seating allows you to appreciate the ambiance of the decor and your surroundings, whilst sipping a tonic water. Nothing is hurried and nothing is a bother. The head waiter gives you personal attention throughout the dining experience, advising on food choices, to escorting you to your table, seating you at a white linen table-clothed table appropriately set with silverware and fresh flower table arrangement. The food was excellent, very well cooked and presented. Retiring again to one of the drawing rooms to enjoy a relaxing coffee, again in front of an open log fire before retiring to your bedroom for the evening. If only all hotels could achieve what is practiced here, life on the road would be a dream! You are made to feel important at the Castle Grove Country House Hotel, which far exceeds the term accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Best short break so far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Welcoming family atmosphere. Excellent appointment of property with beautiful grounds. Dining superb and owners made us feel at home; looking forward to return visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent staff friendly and very courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff friendly and very courteous. A beautiful house furnished with elegant furniture and large wonderful chandeliers . I would highly recommend to stay there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Top Irish hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ready for an update.

    Large bedrooms with comfy bed. The various drawing rooms were spacious with lovely period furniture. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    We Stayed Four Nights. Could Have Stayed Longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Servicing of rooms could have been more consistent - water, shower gel etc not always provided.

    The atmosphere of the hotel - history; family, but still professional. Convenient location and excellent breakfasts and dinners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    A welcoming place with welcoming people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Variation in vegetable selection at dinner.

    Very warm and friendly hosts and staff,excellent service,pleasant house and surroundings,good food.A relaxing spot

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Castle Grove Country House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. We found the guest house to be exactly the sort of thing we were looking for

    A lovely comfortable homely atmosphere. Very polite and attentive staff. We were made to feel most welcome. It is off the beaten track, in lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely stay in a hotel which is full of charm and character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very attentive and we loved having a cup of tea in the drawing room! The dinner and breakfast were lovely. The whole place as an air of tranquillity about it! Very quirky hotel which we used as a stop over while we toured Donegal! Many thanks for your hospitality!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Quiet and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, spacious & comfortable bedroom. Really quiet area. Staff couldn't have done enough for us, really helpful & very friendly. Food at dinner & breakfast was delicious. Look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Charming Country House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding customer service, and a warm welcome from owners and staff. The food was excellent and the bed very comfortable. Looking forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and lovely surroundings and room lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered tea and coffee was cold when arrived. No hairdryer in room. Some plugs not working in room

    Very friendly staff and lovely surroundings and room lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea facility in the room would have been nice although you could order it from reception. Breakfast was lovely but a buffet first course would have been more efficient as there was quite a wait to be served.

    Beautiful property and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.3
    Lovely country house with gracious drawing rooms and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little dated.

    Lovely country house with gracious drawing rooms and lovely dining room. Excellent dinner and breakfast made to order. Tea and coffee complementary and available any time in one of the lovely drawing rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Peace & Tranquility at its very best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,it’s a Rambling Old Country House with charm

    Best Restaurant in Donegal by a golden mile

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very homely old country manor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very homely old country manor. Smell of woodsmoke. So peaceful and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, relaxing, rejuvenating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent food, relaxed environment. Mary the owner is very kind, friendly and sociable person.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful peaceful setting, quiet, relaxing. Lovely room with every comfort. Would gladly return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Setting, location, surroundings, very friendly hosts and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly. Excellent food. Coffee tea and biscuits very pleasant. Peace and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    There was a very relaxed vibe loved it there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very relaxed vibe loved it there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    the lady in charge was very charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    because of the shape of the house a lift is not feasable.

    breakfast and evening meal were excellent. loved the old style furniture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Friendly and attentive service in a house with history. Great stopover during a Donegal coast drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous and comfy atmosphere of a country house. A place to linger.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castle Grove Country House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: