Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate 5 stars

Castle Leslie Estate, Glaslough, Glaslough, Ireland

#1 of 1 hotels in Glaslough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were more than happy with our experience and could not fault our stay.

    We had been on a motoring holiday around Ireland when we arrived at Castle Leslie. We had stayed at other excellent places but Leslie was the best. The beauty of the estate, the quality and size of the bedrooms and the friendliness of the staff were all superb. We will certainly return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poorly signposted from local town - Monaghan

    Wonderful staff - nothing was too much trouble. The property itself and the grounds are stunning . Very comfortable rooms - fabulous antique furniture coupled with all mod cons. Roll top bath and separate shower to cater for all options. Restaurant food was traditional with a twist.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING

    All the staff were so courteous and friendly. It was lovely to have a conducted tour of The Castle and to learn the history of the family. NOTHING

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Castle was fabulous! We stayed in the lodge part our room was excellent, big bath. A short walk to the Castle for a drink at the bar and look around the beautiful castle. We did the 5 course dinner and it was fantastic, high recommend it and then breakfast was equally as good. OVER ALL 10/10.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub could do with a freshen up

    Breakfast was great and staff were pleasant. Creme eggs left with the turn down service was a nice touch at Easter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More products in the bathroom would have been great

    I love this hotel! Castle Leslie doesn’t feel like a hotel in a castle, it just feel like a castle with all the benefits of a modern hotel. The staff are amazing and always keen to help. If you like your creature comforts then stay at the lodge for a more modern touch but the castle is an amazing experience if you really want the authentic touch!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we are frequent visitors to Castle Leslie but we were disappointed with the quality of food at the bar,this has not put us off coming back although I think if on another visit the standard is still the same we would rethink before booking again

    the relaxing atmosphere staff are so friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    This is my fourth time at Castle Leslie and it never fails to disappoint. From the welcoming staff, amazing food, comfortable rooms and amazing scenery, such a lovely way to unwind from the busy work city life one has....I just love, LOVE it here. Will no doubt return soon :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything really was great.

    I went for the horse riding and wasnt disappointed. The stables are right at the back door and are well cared for. The equine staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and clearly took akit if pride in their work. The hotel staff were great too. The food was perfect and I really can't think of a complaint.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was over priced for the quality and it was very quiet with no atmosphere. Breakfast was not as good as we were expecting.

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the Lodge in Castle Leslie the night before a wedding and then moved to the castle for the second night. The bed was extremely comfy, the rooms were fabulous overlooking the stables and all the staff were very accommodating. Someone moved our luggage to the castle for us we didn't have to take it down to reception for this to happen. This was really helpful and saved us time on the day of the wedding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out could have been later. Would be good to be able to check in at the castle and bags to be taken down to the lodge. Was at a wedding so had to lug the bags back to the lodge during the reception

    Lovely big bed, bathroom very luxurious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in Conor's bar was poor and over priced. Had to send a meal back unfortunately.

    A beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Snaffles restaurant is expensive but food was exceptional. Castle and surrounding area is breath taking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining experience in Snaffles was absolutely beautiful especially for my wife,a vegetarian who usually feels like a second thought in restaurants. Flavours bursting on your tongue- gorgeous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom kept getting steamed up. It would be lovely if they had a pool for those not interested in the horses.

    The food was lovely and the staff were very good and taking time to talk to you. The room was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. For me it was perfect!!

    The experience of staying at Castle Leslie was simply fabulous. We went here to celebrate 25 years of marriage. It was easy, relaxing, hassle free, in beautiful luxurious surroundings. The food was lovely, breakfast was delicious. I cannot fault anything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Castle Leslie was incredible. The grounds were absolutely stunning, and our room in the lodge was beautiful! We went horseback riding while we were there and it was wonderful. The staff there are amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in colors during the day could have been better. Some staff not too friendly bringing coffee . However some were very helpful and brought me a vegetarian menu. Would have liked to have coffee in the castle... In a tea room setting maybe. Not impress with the note to ring bell if wanted service.

    Bed was so snuggly! Bath was great. Lovely looking over the stables.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very good but not exceptional. Restaurant is relatively expensive which is fine if everything is as it should be. Food is beautifully presented but Unfortunately a few "reheating short cuts" let it down with both a main course and breakfast. I've often got into the car to drive over 100 miles to a great restaurant but I would not recommend a 100 mile drive to this one! Castle Leslie is a wonderful experience but when visiting, your money might be better spent on food served in its very pleasant bar!

    Very nice setting, gorgeous buildings, beautiful bedroom and excellent service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is my third time back at Castle Leslie in 7 months for riding break. I think that says it all! Just a brilliant place to relax and nothing is too much trouble for the staff who always do everything with a smile. I just cannot fault it. Lovely facilities, gorgeous, well schooled horses and amazing grounds - I love it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given the price we paid our expectations were high. This was our second visit as we love the place. The staff lack warmth. Service in Conors Bar was without a smile from behind the bar, Floor staff gained points. Service at breakfast was exceptionally poor. Shower luke warm morning of check out was fine the night before............

    Loved the comfort of the Lodge, the surroundings and the tranquility......beautiful place. The history of the place is palpable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a meal in the bar, which was good, but I did feel that the Seafood Platter could have been a little better. But we still enjoyed the experience!

    The bed was very comfy, breakfast to our room was excellent. Service from staff very good! Really enjoyed our morning walk around the castle - it was beautiful. Will definitely return - it was a real treat!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar is a little uninviting. Too bright and little atmosphere.

    Excellent spa, really enjoyed the hot tub. The dinner was absolutely amazing, one of the best I have ever had. The breakfast was very good. Service at all times was fantastic. The setting is stunning, there are some lovely walking routes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frozen chips.....tbc

    Stayed once before & wanted to visit again. Food was ok, I am convinced I had frozen chips!!! However staff member assured me that they had been fresh. I know fresh & frozen fries, I tasted frozen & my partner tasted frozen. Expensive fish & chips at nearly €20, would not recommend. Sirry

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff uniforms need to be updated, while maintaining the tradition of the beautiful tartan.

    The care and attention we received on arrival was superb. Our adjoining rooms, Top Gear and Barrister were perfect. The beds were super comfy and the roll top bath was gorgeous. Dinner was of a very high standard and the waitresses, in particular Ellen, were friendly and welcoming as well as being very professional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think this hotel is over priced for what you get. A choice of either 1 or 2 course at snaffles €65 per person for set menu is ridiculous especially as no wine is included.

    Good sized bed with comfortable pillows & room was lovely decorated

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very plush lodgings, especially after a week of B&Bs. Very reasonably priced for such a high quality property. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. They even have Wellington Boots to loan if you want them.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful facilities, exceptionally well presented in a perfect setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,,loved it

    The relaxed friendly environment, positive and easy going.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service exceptional, gluten free menu superb and best breakfast ever. Highly recommend a visit here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The ambience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window did not open

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful surroundings, cosy bedroom and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea a little cold...perhaps a tea cozy? Difficult to plug in kettle in room as flex very short ..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bathroom is poor.

    Setting and the building were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    theres nothing i can fault

    everything i want to go back :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices

    Service and friendliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was disappointed our room was not in the Castle and had no view

    Breakfast in the Castle was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, from 5 in the morning. And denied by the staff!

    Staff is nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very relaxing break all the compliments to Karl he was very nice we will be back

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were very stuffy and not very friendly

    The food was fabulous

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay too short!

    Character of the hotel and village. Staff wonderfull.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all

    This is a beautiful hotel if you would like an equestrian break, great location fantastic horses and lovely staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is fantastic! And nothing is too much trouble for the staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location beautiful food Very relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view the lovely bathroom the food were all great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian food options poor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfortable we wish we could have stayed in it all day

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the Restaurants Carpaccio was horrible the elements did not work and was sent back,

    selection and quality of breakfast food was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was too small

    The food was excellent The staff were very helpful and polite

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor would not be my taste.

    Food was great. Loved getting my breakfast served to the table.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were disappointing, Wi-Fi signal was very poor and activities were very expensive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home!!

    Super staff,efficient, kind. Knew the area well. Regular towel changes and good cleanness.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in bar okay not particularly tasty.

    Bed was really comfy and bedroom area quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was brilliant however the temperature was like an oven. Having windows three sides of the room on a warm summers day meant it was quite stuffy. Unfortunately there was no air-con so had to request for the heating to be turned off to cool down the room. Also the room came with a bottle of warm water due to the room temperature / no fridge to cool it down.

    the style and comfort of the room was great.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old and not well maintained. Smelled of manure in the room and hallway. Could hear neighboring room. Humid room, had to leave window open all night. Paid for breakfast but not able to get any after 10:30.

    Could have been better if we weeny forced to stay in the stables at castle prices.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We purposely booked this place due to its range of activities available on site however due to events the whole weekend the castle was off bounds and also we couldn't go fishing on the lake over the 3 days. This is a major problem a lot of guests seem to experience and isn't clearly explained. The hotel itself has no atmosphere no music nothing. The waiting times to be served by waiters and waitresses in Connors bar was so slow and no enthusiasm from any members of the team bar one in Raffles Restaurant who happily helped us choosing gin cocktails. We were almost left with no food on our last night as in the welcome brochure it says room service stops at 930pm however when we called they said it stopped at 9pm. As there is nowhere else around we couldn't even be given a late table in raffles yet when we passed there was many unused tables. We ended up with sandwiches and the chef sent us complementary ribs to apologise. The horse riding was our only highlight but again we were a little disappointed as when we booked a private hack we weren't taken faster than a walk the whole way round. This wasn't explained and again you think from the hotel facility description you will be riding through the lake.... But in fact you go nowhere near it. The walls are paper thin, the beds are so uncomfortable including he pillows. The room was very dated and musty. Highly disappointed and unfortunately we wouldn't be back.

    The riding school was our only highlight

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything in this beautiful place is Amazing. The room was spacious, the beds were so beautiful, and the staff was so friendly. The grounds are exquisite. To top it off was the AMAZING resturant, I cannot tell you what a delight it was to dine here, the 6 course dinner was absolutely incredible and the breakfast was just as good. The waiters were very keen and proud to talk us through the menu and happy to assist us in any way.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Walking trails need to be better marked as we ended up on some muddy trails and weren't sure where we were.

    We enjoyed the character of the estate and the walking trails. The food at dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is not all that plentiful or for that matter not up to the standard we have experienced elsewhere in Ireland. Dinner in the resturant is over priced.

    Comfortable bed, otherwise fairly average.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No negatives on this visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our short visit.

    Full of charm and character. Beautiful grounds with a very interesting history. The food is absolutely delicious, the presentation a work of art. The staff are friendly and we received a warm welcome. Definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is way overrated. The beds are uncomfortable etc. Our room was no better than a one star flop house. The elevator only takes you to the dining room. Watch out, you have to climb the remainder of the way on steps. No elec outlets in the bathroom

    The gardens are nice and that is where they put their budget emphasis.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The first thin I noticed when I walked into the bedroom was a mark on the white duvet cover. For an upmarket hotel I would not have expected anything but dazzeling white. I didn't complain as it was not dirt but still it was a little less than I expected, A swimming pool would be a great addition as the weather was miserable during my stay,

    The food was excellent and bar and restaurant staff very helpful. Great that they have no problem with doggie guests and accommodation is available if you bring them along, though I didn't bring my pets it's great to know that I have the option .

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.The walks around the estate were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location food staff...Beautiful Bedroom with Comfy Bed... Scrumptious eve meal & bfast...we loved it all. Thanku. Karen& Raymond

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No real fires in Conor's Bar

    Fine dining in The Lodge; excellent cuisine at very reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Comfort of the beds and warmth of the room. Great food. Friendly staff. Lovely decor.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front staff were just 'ok'

    Dinner great and nice selection of wines. Lovely peaceful escape

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough wardrobe soace.

    Good attitude from staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The perfect Christmas treat! A glass of wine in front of a roaring fire in the sumptuous surroundings of the castle - perfect!

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little space for clothes

    Staff and cuisine

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the Victorian spa

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All of the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you.the grounds were well maintained. Rooms are bright and airy with great views.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    Love this place.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Lodge at Castle Leslie Estate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: