Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castlecourt Hotel, Spa & Leisure 4 stars

Castlebar Street, Westport, Ireland

#5 of 10 hotels in Westport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1606 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok very dated hotel. The breakfast was cooked since early morning and just left there some of it was stone cold. The bed was very uncomfortable. The pool temperature was very low. All in all this property needs to be updated.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was not informed that work would be done during our stay. A lift nearer our room would have made a big difference as I have difficulty walking distances.

    Had a very pleasant stay. 3 nights. Plenty of parking and location was excellent. Only issue was lift access. Had a very long walk after getting off lift to get to room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that you could only use the spa facilities for an hour and it cost 15 euro . I had a treatment so use of the spa was included . Most hotels even if you aren’t having a treatment you can come and go to use the spa facilities as you wish so I found this a real let down as I wouldn’t have booked it if I had known . I didn’t like that the first night we stayed people were coming into the room doing work without us being notified of this when we were checking in .

    The breakfast was lovely and we had a lovely dinner , the room was nice and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of work going on but will obviously make it even better.

    Lovely hotel. I don't eat dairy and they had alternative butter and milk at breakfast. Good spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor WiFi signal in our bedroom. There was a gap of about one inch under the door which we had to block with a towel to prevent the hall light coming through and to reduce the sound of the people next door. When they entered or left their room our room door shook as if someone was trying to get in so we didn't sleep very well. Also we were surprised that there was no air conditioning in the room although we didn't check this when we made the booking

    Staff were very nice and the food in the restaurant and at breakfast were good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived back to the hotel at 12 went to the bar and had a few drinks great music was playing! We then went back to the hotel room, the hotel that night was very loud didn’t sleep great. We got woken up to young lads running up and down the corridor banging on doors. One lad got up and roared at him they were having words back and over...Next door were a group of girls, I think a hen party! While checking out the girl asked me how was my stay and I just said fabulous but last night we didn’t get much sleep, I honestly was only mentioning it to her and leaving it at that. But she was very rude unhelpful and basically could not give two donkeys about anything. I found her custom service was very bad and she really did make it a massive deal. I wasn’t looking for anything in return but the way she was going on you swear I was asking for a refund. Out of all of the staff in your hotel I wouldn’t be recommending her for front of house. Compared to the fabulous helpful girl u had at check in.

    The spa was fantastic and the staff were so friendly in there. When we arrived to the Castlecourt we were greeted by a fabulous girl and could not of been any more polite. Our room was lovely one double bed and 2 single. They were clean but we did notice a few spider webs around the corner of the room no big deal really. Location was very good! So close to town were we ate out for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely hot. The fan in the wardrobe helped very little and it was hard to sleep. We were on the third floor. If the weather is good ask for a room on the ground floor. Also the lift does not go to the third floor. You take it the second and then walk the length of a full corridor before you reach the left to the third floor. Not good for someone with mobility issues.

    The courtyard area was particularly lovely to sit out in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are brilliant, like the live music, outdoor café/restaurant excellent. Altogether one feels as though one is staying in a much more expensive hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed here for a treat for our anniversary and the hotel left us a card and a bottle of wine which we both thought was a lovely touch. The hotel is spotless and staff are all so friendly and courteous. we had a wonderful stay and would have no hesitations in highly recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the breakfast was below standard, so much so that I didn't bother with it on the second morning. A four star charging these rates should produce better. Otherwise hotel was nice and staff were friendly.

    Good Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was a disappointment for me overall. It was quite busy with tourist bus groups, weddings and hens. The room was stiflingly hot which made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. Breakfast was poor - no brown bread, standard selection of cereals and a small subpar Irish breakfast. While there is a lot of equipment in the gym, it's very cramped, not maintained and had no working water station. Even more disappointing was the fact that the hotel had a sunbed - extremely tacky in addition to being dangerous to the health of anyone that uses it. The stay was not cheap - you're really paying for the location. I would not return.

    The hotel is in a good location, within a few minutes walk of many shops and restaurants in Westport. The outdoor patio/ seating area is nice if the weather is good. There is free underground parking and free Wifi. The gym was well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work and there was no AC in our room, very hot and stuffy

    Bed was comfortable, food service was good, outdoor area was lovely in the sunshine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service generally a bit more impersonal than the usual gregarious Irish way, but still courteous and efficient!

    Upscale but still reasonable. Has all the facilities you might need, if you'd want to avail yourself. Beautiful art collection everywhere on the walls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room looking out on to a bolier with noise and smell...When I asked to be changed...they gave us a new room the followimg morn..Very pleased with new location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay extra for the spa facility. Children swimming lessons going on in the pool so wasn’t able to use it as planned, plus you have to pay for a swimming cap to be able to swim 😢

    Great location Beautiful surroundings & Entrance area Beds lovely & comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor menu in the bistro could only get French fries no proper chips a small point maybe but when your staying in a 4 star I expect more. No hand towels left on day 2 asked a member of house keeping 3 times before getting sorted also the room tea and coffee not replenished. Staff always gathered round talking at reception. Poor layout of hotel loads of corridors and 2 lifts to get up and down not suitable for children or disabled.

    Location of hotel within the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely fine.

    Bed very comfortable, good size room, Tea/coffee facilities, iron & ironingboard, hairdryer. All I. Room. Excellent locations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How about some training for the staff, on courtesy and friendliness. They are probably burnt out from the large tour groups. Hotel is worn out too.

    Both receptionist and restaurant wait staff not very friendly. Pool locker room is like a run down YMCA. Seems hotel is geared to tour buses and weddings. Lobby was packed and could barely get by. Large restaurant area like a cafeteria. Breakfast buffet lacking. Mostly breads and cereal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound proofing in the room was poor. The fittings in the bathroom were also a bit tired e.g. the door handle had a mind of its own and the shower leaked (seal in the glass partition seemed to be gone)

    Staff were all excellent. The food was consistently good and the pool was a great bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived i thought it was very dated. The reception area and corridors could do with a little updating.

    Beds were very comfy. . Staff were all lovely😊.very clean, nice aptmosphere... Great location!food and drink very reasonable prices!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Leisure center does not open until 9.00.am at weekends.Would prefer an earlier opening time.

    Wonderful Staff,very comfortable room great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab room and facilities at an amazing price. Staff were exceptional. I forgot my phone charger in the room and they couldn’t have helped me more to get it back to me if they tried! Top class!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no USB ports. There were lights burnt out in our rooms. Sign out front said food severed all day. It actually stopped at 730 on a Friday night. So we had no where to eat. The pool closed at 10. We had a drunk lad in only his underwear beating on our door in the middle of the night.

    Nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room, hotel itself was very nice, but they allowed us to store our bikes behind the reception, which was very nice of them. They also allowed us to leave our car in the parking area as we were cycling to Achill and back over two days , so that made our lives a lot easier. Absolutely great customer service, very happy with the hotel and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfy room perfect,spotless clean every day thanks to girls who clean room bar staff brill ,music each night,but would like potato wit food in bar if possible ,did hear other visitors say as well they not allowed chips,,all round we had a really lovely time in castle court stayed there a few times now nd will return,over

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact my debit card details were not accepted on arrival to secure stay and we had to pay full amount for room on arrival....when usually its on departure.

    food in was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpets and maintenance was being completed on my floor, therefore the noise and continual knocking on my door by maintenance men not realising i was in the room was very frustrating.

    Staff were very friendly and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is drab inside. The corridors to the rooms are depressing. The breakfast room / restaurant is so drab and dark that you would not want to spend any longer in there than you would absolutely have to. Breakfast is chaotic. The television in the room was very poor; the sound was terrible and the picture average. An effort has been made with the bedrooms but they are not up to a 4 star standard. When you see a single sheet turned sideways on a double bed you know that this is a hotel that is barely holding on to any kind of standards, and has no regard for its guests.

    The reception staff were good, the bar staff were barely average, the restaurant staff were good. It is hard to see that this is a 4 star hotel. It has the facilities but the place itself is depressing and old fashioned. It's like going back in time twenty five years.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Nights B&B + 1 Dinner (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything!!!!

    Food was top class. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Made us really welcome even though it was a really busy evening at reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room stank of stale cigarettes, the bedding had some staining, the bed was not comfortable unfortunately and breakfast was very disappointing.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. The bed was so comfortable. Coffee and tea complementary in room which is always great. Dark curtains. And quiet. Breakfast was lovely, and staffs fantastic. House keeping staff were extremely helpful. Great stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice if there was a daytime cafe with snacks rather than use the bar.

    Have stayed at the hotel several times and know what to expect. The rooms are warm and the beds comfortable. The staff are accommodating and friendly. The hotel is handy for town. The family particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and used it every morning of our stay. In the past the hotel has been really good to a family member who lived locally. The hotel is quiet at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad tv reception in some of the rooms and our was very warm even after we turned the heater off!

    Friendly staff. Good decor. Great food. Great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room services mangers what a cock up of a week from day one thank god i got out a live at the end

    not one thing out of date needs lots of work or knock it down death trap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up between booking.com and hotel over late checkout Email from booking.com stated 2/3 pm but hotel rang the room at 1.20 to say checkout was 1pm Girl who I rang the room wasn't very nice about it and neither were they at the desk on checkout Also 2 staff members upon arrival at the restaurant on saturday evening weren't very hospitable Left waiting for over 5 minutes with not 1 word spoken to us

    Lovely asmosphere in bar and most of staff were very very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view was poor from the window. There was a roof and exhaust pipes.

    Great place but needs some updating. Staff friendly and food was good in restaurant. We were dissatisfied with the room which had a bad smell. The staff was very accommodating to find us a new room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were extremely comfortable and the hotel was everything we expected and more! I would highly recommend booking into Spa Sula for a treatment as it made our trip!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got put in a small noisy room looking over air conditioning units. Having paid a premium rate for the room I was disappointed. Our double bed was like most hotels two singles pushed together which we didn't mind but one of the bed was broken making it impossible to sleep comfortably on. After I complained we were upgraded to a miles better room. But having paid a premium rate in the first place I was expecting more. It made the trip less enjoyable. Food and service in joes restaurant was terrible eat somewhere else.

    The breakfast was lovely you order all hot food and there's a buffet of cereal, Pastries and fruit. Pool facilities clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, great value for money for the Friday night of Easter Bank Holiday weekend

    Great value for money, bathroom a little dated however everything in working order 😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely, great location, bistro food was beautiful and friendly atmosphere in the bar. The spa was also lovely and would recommend it. Would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only quibble; in the bedroom(326) there is a sloping ceiling over the desk and I banged my head as it is plain white (the ceiling, not my head ) and merged into the wall behind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was tiny and with an extra charge for mushrooms and beans on the full irish. The staff were welcoming but in a corporate sort of matter of fact way, they were not relaxed or chatty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little but at breakfast would have liked choice of juice. Only orange available. Would have liked choice of cranberry/apple.

    Very well kept. Staff very nice. Have stayed here in the past. It is generally a very well run hotel. I like the antique type furniture. Gives a lovely ambience. I love that they cater for families. I will be back with mine as I have 3 kids and so hard to get a hotel to cater for 2 adults and 3 kids. Why I just don't know? I was in Castlecourt with my friend twin room but would have catered for 5. That's great. Full marks to The Castlecourt for this👍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy at night due to traffic noise especially if I kept the window open and a bit of noise transfer from people talking in the corridors due to poor sound-proofing around the room doors. There was a wedding party on one of my nights and people were to-ing and fro-ing up to 3:00am resulting in a poor nights sleep

    Very comfortable bed and room was spacious and well furnished. Room was warm and the wardrobe contained an electric heater in case you weren't warm enough which was a nice touch. Hotel in a very good location, close to town but easy to get in and out of by car nd easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not great but the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a little noisy in the night time but I think this is unavoidable with events taking place at the weekends.

    A very well presented room in a clean hotel with helpful staff. Enjoyed the use of the pool and sauna there. Right beside the centre of town with plenty of available free parking even on a busy weekend. Had dinner in the more relaxed option, I cannot remember the name but the food was all superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The screen in the shower leaked water onto the floor, but not a big problem to solve.

    Brilliant wonderful staff, easy check in, will certainly be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtains should not exist in a 4 star hotel. Bathroom lets the room down. Carpet in breakfast area needs a good hoover. Staff could be friendlier and chatty at breakfast. In general a little dated.

    The bed was very comfortable and huge. Free newspaper. Good location to town and train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were quite a lot of large groups staying. Seemed like stag and hen groups. There was a bit of late night noise from these.

    The room was a good size, really comfortable bed and a bargain for the deal I got.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room But error on line booking company I think average stay and would have been far better if the room was the same as offered and booked on line

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    car parking was tight. the grounds around the hotel was tight but it did not effect us.

    all the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. the hotel location was great for the town and surrounding areas. the breakfast menu had very good options.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great.

    It was great that the hotel was so close to the town. Food was great. The breakfast was great,there was a fantastic choice of cereal and hot food to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was just standard size..was disappointing..Used to king size..we were celebrating wedding anniversary had a bigger bed on our honeymoon 35 yrs ago...also poor standard pillows..the toilet holder in bathroom kept falling off..was just left up not for use..the room was a good size

    Staff very fried ly and helpful..food beautiful..lovely entertainment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major, except the rooms were very warm!! We had to open the window at night to get some air!! Overall the hotel is great and for February, when snow and frost was the forecast, we did very well!!

    The staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful whenever we spoke with them, from the moment we arrived at reception, ordering drinks in the bar, or food in the restaurant, meeting the ladies in the corridors preparing to clean rooms, and leaving the hotel on our last day. Every staff member we met was most professional, helpful and appeared to be happy in their roles. We really felt welcome, and it is a guarantee that we will return!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 Nights B&B + 1 Dinner (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark lighting for make up and shower temperature was very inconsistent. It would get extremely hot at times for maybe just 2 seconds but it was enough to burn.

    Everything apart from the shower and lighting. Still enjoyed the stay and the room and bathroom were nice and spacious. The receptionists were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Location perfect, close enough to walk to town but in a peaceful spot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was problematic when a wedding party and guests arrived, no space to park in underground carpark or around the hotel so had to park off the grounds of the hotel!

    Great atmosphere in the bar and great choice of food from bar and restaurant menu! Staff were really excellent too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked everything about the hotel except the view from the room but not bothered about that.The staff at recpetion and restuarent were really nice friendly and helpfull i would return to the hotel and hoIpe to get as good a deal as we got on this visit.Eleanor Ireland

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound insulation in the room was terrible. We could hear the conversation from the next room. We were also awakened every time the people next door went to the bathroom and when they got up early in the morning, even though we would have liked a little lie in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There as part of my honeynoon. Not one single congratulations or gesture to us as a newly married couple. In comparison to other hotels we stayed in as part of our mini moon.

    Good room, great comfortable 4 poster bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Nights B&B + 1 Dinner (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in, lady never once told me about breakfast leisure centre nothing just took money bit rude!

    Food in the bar and the merlot restaurant absolutely gorgeous,a waiter called Venis was amazing, although there was a man in a suit seemed to be the manager, he was very abrupt with some staff didn't like it at all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic when we arrived the front desk helped us change our family room to a bigger one as they thought the room we had wouldn't suit the four of us. Staff throughout the hotel very friendly and helpful hotel very family friendly which was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have been cleaner, but staff were stretched during stormy weather which resulted in more people staying within the hotel.

    Excellent Leisure Facilities, Staff courteous, Beds Comfy, Room Facilities Excellent, Check in/out experience Quick and Easy, Food very good. During a storm related Power Cut Staff went above and Beyond the call of duty, providing a limited menu at great value, a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i found the pool and changing room very cold i came home with flu but it was nice and clean and pool staff friendly

    yes all food was lovely and very fresh all staff so nice and helpful reception staff was super

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cant say i didnt like it , but it was a bit of a trek to get to the room having to take two lifts.

    Food was excellent and staff were very helpful and friendly. We were allocated a room away from wedding in case we were disturbed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely friendly. Live music in the bar both nights. Rooms were extremely clean, comfortable and warm. Location was perfect for centre of town. Lots to see and do in the area. There was an electricity outage at the time of our stay, The staff could not have been more helpful and accomadating. Complimentary soup and sandwiches were offered on behalf of the hotel for inconvenience caused.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Nights B&B + 1 Dinner (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fussy. Everything was to my expectations.

    Staff were very efficient. Food was lovely. Room was warm and was clean.perfect place to be for a good break.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was extremely run down and needs a complete makeover,the rooms were very shabby with paint peeling off the walls,barely working shower and no air con....not as it was shown in pics online.food in the restaurant was overpriced and actually tastless was very disappointed as I thought the entire stay was not good value for money.I dont normally review and im not usually a complainer but it really needed to be said!

    Facilities such as spa and nightclub were very good and location was perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was awful cold and the only source of heat was a plug in oil heater which offered very little heat overall.

    The room itself was lovely and the location was absolutely brilliant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was very slow, we arrived just before 3pm and were told our rooms weren't ready so we went to the plaza bar to await their call, which we didn't receive. I called them at 4.30 to be told the rooms were ready.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal at reception was nice but the meat i had was under cooked, ye should as how people would like there meat.

    A very cold bedroom with no hot water in the morning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 Nights B&B + 1 Dinner (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    The staff overall were excelent. In particular the serving staff in the restaurant, both for the breakfast and the evening dinner were extremely helpful and friendly, and discreet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival the lady that booked us in - seemed as if she would prefer to be anywhere except where she was//

    The whole hotel - comfort , staff, food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t worth getting, was disgusting, and the breakfast lady’s were so rude.

    The room was lovely and the staff in mays bistro was so good and beautiful food too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff,fabulous room.Very comfortable bed,Great breakfast.Loved the fact you heard no noise at night.Great prices in the bar.Very fast check in and outs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from generator in our room we did complain and was dealt with fairly.

    The rooms quite warm, no top sheet and duvets very heavy. Breakfast: menu quite good but some food were cooked early and then zapped in microwave. Presented very poorly on plate when served.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking available on the Friday night Limited breakfast options for race competitors on the Saturday morning despite inflated room prices because of race weekend Pastries not replenished on the Sunday morning - food not cleaned off floor

    Friendly & professional staff Good bar food Great location Free entry to nightclub

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: