Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castletroy Park Hotel 4 stars

Plassey Road, Limerick, Ireland

#5 of 33 hotels in Limerick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 746 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel parking on site rooms attractive design
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service in the restaurant.. no communication between staff so ended up getting part of our meal and waiting for other parts... Service took far too long at both Dinner and Breakfast

    Great room good location good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Staff for breakfast excellent znd little dark haired girl...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had one pint of my drink and rhey couldnt give me tbe same drink again

    Staff for breakfast excellent znd little dark haired girl was very prompt to offer me the option of getting me lovly warm.porrige served in style

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.6
    It was my 20th wedding anniversary and it ruined it for us really
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sevice while waiting for menu and a long wait for our food and .y starter came at the end of my meal I sent it back came too late also called a drink and again waiting bout 15mins to receive it .then breakfast again sevice and tryin to catch waitress eye to say we were ready to order they have one speed slow and slower

    Foyer and grounds were beautiful bar area also beautifully decorated as was the breakfast room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Good Room poor service
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor. The hot food was not stocked well at 9am and was not refilled. I had to request eggs three times. I normally do not complain and allow reasonable time to be served but this was quite poor.

    The room was nice and in general the hotel was well kept.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Very close to the university for our visit and accessible to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the bar was a bit slow. Bill at checkout was incorrect.

    Very close to the university for our visit and accessible to the town. Room was spacious and clean, staff friendly and food very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey 3 nights b and b for family of 6 €1030...last year we got flights from knock to lanzarote for 1 wk for 5 people for 1500 bed and breakfast in beautiful aparthotel..ireland remains overpriced+++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    We will be returning to Limerick but i wouldn't stay with Castletroy park hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were being seated at a small table for breakfast which just about would fit 4 a at a stretch but definitely not 5 until we asked to be changed. We were changed but reluctantly. The pool , which my children normally love and was the main reason we booked this hotel was over chlorinated and the water was yellow in colour which did not appeal to my children and to me was not a good sign of the water. The parking was to the back of the hotel which was a bit of a distance from main entrance. Staff were very slow serving at the bar and we had to wait a long time to get service. Music in the bar was very loud.

    We got an omelette for breakfast which we said was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Worth to pay a bot extra to stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious for a family room. It was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was also very delicious and there were many options to choose from

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    There was a closed parkink, the room was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room that had a door to it's next room and we heard the people there as if they were along with us. Luckely, the reception mooved us immidiatly to a closed room. We also, did'nt like the food at the hotel's bar.

    There was a closed parkink, the room was nice and clean. The staff was taking care of our request

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Wedding band ruined an otherwise nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding band was extremely loud and could be heard in our room on the first floor. Also we were a family of 4 and when we went to have a shower there were only two bath towels and one little shower gel. . At 259 euro room only rate this was very irritating.

    Staff in the bar were very accommodating on a very busy evening. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Not the best four star experience for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like the place lacked management direction

    Good breakfast although waited long time for toast and tea then had to ask twice whilst staff just sorted cutlery drawers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed, expensive and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to be up early on the sunday morning and the noise from the bar untill 12.30 kept us all awake. It was extremely loud and we felt as if we were directly above it. not suitable with young children.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Large comfortable facilities in an easy access location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steam room was out of order, and jacuzzi wasn't the cleanest (prob due to large amount of use on that day).

    Hotel was mostly full for our night there, but barely heard a thing in the hallways or from outside. Quality black out blinds as well made for a great night sleep. Fridge in the room, complimentary water, and very cheap and easy to get in and out of town. Short walk to a town bus, or 10EUR cab ride to the far side of town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Castleroy August 18
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sausages at breakfast were deep fried and the toast wasn't toasted properly more like bread not toast.

    Rooms immaculate. Bar and other staff very helpful and always smiling. Lots of hot water in bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very happy with our stay. Just sorry we didn’t get to stay and extra night or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is very family friendly and toddler friendly. They have a toddler menu which was fantastic. Our room was very spacious and clean. Perfect for having a one year old move around in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Beds were comfy, staff were extremely obliging, newly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness of crockery at breakfast buffet. Entrance to front of hotel was disappointing... Faced a shopping complex.

    Beds were comfy, staff were extremely obliging, newly renovated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in rooms, hallway and lobby. When windows in rooms were open it was very noisy. It sounded like fans or something like that.

    Rooms were very comfortable. Reception staff were so friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Window wouldn't open
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room wouldn't open. It has been previously broke and a a few was put into place to prevent it from opening. Unbelievable heat in the room all day/night. Possibly worst night sleep I've had in years. Room number was 207.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Location, range and quality of food, knowledgeable and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Location, range and quality of food, knowledgeable and helpful staff, spacious and comfortable rooms, a stunningly beautiful garden with places to sit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    We booked in March 2018 because there were lots of cousins...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked in March 2018 because there were lots of cousins coming from U S A. 7 of us came from different parts of the UK to spend a night with them. We were charged far more than the internet was saying €119. When we asked for the lower rate we were told that the March price was all that would be accepted plus €12 each for breakfast, and for the record some hundreds of euros for dinner and drinks. Considering all the people related to us that stayed in you hotel last Monday we would have thought we would get the Internet price. I would appreciate a reply Theresa Neary

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, great staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar staff extremely kind. I gave the wrong room number when ordering room service, and the girl at the bar was so helpful and kind when I went looking for it. It was a busy night, but staff were very, very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel ticked every box ..staff were top class from reception, restaurant and housekeeping a 100% .Location,decor, food and standard of hygiene were all excellent . Best hotel I have stayed in for a long time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find the pool. Have to walk through the gym to get to it?

    V good breakfast, comfy bed, nice powerful shower, clean, friendly staff, lovely patisserie and bar food. Would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Very expensiive stay here, little or no sleep on the Saturday night due to noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from other residents, repeated knocking on door from 4am, and a row on an adjoining room. I had two children with me, one who was competing in a Community Games match at 9am in the morning. The reason we stayed in your howl was because of its convenience to the University of Limerick for the All Ireland Community Games. I was very disappointed as had complained about the noise but nothing was done. Also the delux room did not meet my expectations, a single be and a very small 5ft bed to accommodate two people, I asked for a roll up bed, as we couldn’t sleep, the Porter said that would be no problem, but when I asked at reception. I was informed no! Very disappointed as our stay was very expensive for what was offered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely busy, with weddings, communions etc - we had hoped to watch match in bar but tables were reserved so we had to watch it in the bedroom. Pool is shallow and narrow, - such a pity when rest of hotel is such a high standard

    Staff were lovely and helpful. Plush hotel, decor very nice, good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Found this hotel to be very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was average, and found the bar to be very small, only place i could sit and have a conversation with my sister whom I came down to visit, was outside or in reception !!

    Found this hotel to be very comfortable. We arrived a day there was a wedding on and also a few communions. I felt at some stages that because we weren't part of these party's we were pushed aside and in some ways felt less important. very pleased with the bar food supervisor , tended to our needs and he went out of his way to help us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Staff were brilliant with my daughter and when we arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were brilliant with my daughter and when we arrived home to discover her beloved teddy had been left behind they arranged to get it sent to us.. one happy little girl and parents

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the bar a little disjointed at times. Some drinks arrived when others didn't. Staff were very friendly and looked after us very well

    The staff were very friendly and giving with their time.Room lovely and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.2
    Restless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the fire alarm went off at 6.30AM -a false alarm -we would have appreciated it if a member of staff had informed us what was happening especially when it went off again within an hour - as it was being fixed-definitely NOT a restful night which was the purpose of our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Would like to stay here again.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was 3 of us in the room but only towels etc for 2 people. Complimentary water for 2 also. Tea cups for 2 people. Little bottles of toiletries not enough for 3. No cold water in wash basin.

    Lovely breakfast. Staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't recommend it. Maybe for families. The fire alarm going off in the morning was horrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm going off at 6.30 in the morning for a full half an hour and again at 9.30. Poor breakfast with very slow service. Basically the hotel had a cluttered feel to it. Not enough room for the amount of guests.

    The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    We would definitely stay here again. We had a lovely stay thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic! Great food and reasonably priced. The gym was great as well. It was very handy to have a supermarket across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Inside the décor was beautiful and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cramped for 2 double beds. Also the outside looked a little tired looking.

    Inside the décor was beautiful and the breakfast was excellent. Kids enjoyed the pool but they said the deep end was a little shallow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable. Staff very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault was that on arrival the temperature in the room was far too warm. However after adjusting the temperature this was resolved.

    Fab hotel. Lovely staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    nice bedroom.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed at 9 pm. Instead , We had dinner in the bar, which was excellent, however when we ordered dessert , we were told the kitchen was closed. seems very unusual for a 4 star hotel and we were guests staying there. disappointing.

    The bedroom was nice and decor was nice. Everything perfect with bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    It's ok, no feeling of luxury. Would be fine if was cheaper. Wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unappealing car park, some industrial looking concreted area. If you arrive from the car park, you enter hotel through a strange side door. Evening meal at the restaurant was ok, lots of boiled vegetables. But with a very unpleasant purple light! You can't see what you're eating and it looks sinister. Dated bathroom, screw covers missing on the mirror, dirt shows on painted door. Very noisy aircon. Sounded like it was taking off during the night. Dated changing rooms and showers at the pool. Peeling and water damaged ceiling over the pool.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, good size and warm swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Good Hotel but not cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted breakfast by 7.30 but it wasn’t ready In fairness staff were helpful and did not charge for it Also addressed a problem in bathroom immediately

    Excellent staff, children’s food very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was ok but very expensive for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid €340 for one night for a suite. (Wasn’t a suite in my opinion) The room was ice cold when we arrived. There wasn’t even a biscuit with the tea facility, lamp didn’t work, the pillows where terrible and we couldn’t even hear the television over the music that went on until 2am

    Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    Reception staff were lovely, as were the Staff in the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception door at the back was locked when we were coming in arrived from the carpark , it was cold and I had to bang on the door about 10 times before a staff member opened the door. At breakfast my son got Nutella with his pancakes but when he put a spoonful in his mouth he chocked and pulled out a piece of foil from it. We had the eggs Benedict and the eggs were hard and cold so I ended up paying for a breakfast I never ate.

    Reception staff were lovely, as were the Staff in the bar and restaurant for dinner. The leisure club staff were lovely and the facilities are great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy weekend at the hotel due to rowing and swimming events being held at University of Limerick complex across the road. Bar and restaurant very understaffed resulting in long wait for food and drink

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room- Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were given a noisy room by the lifts - even though we asked for a quiet room. the room was a disabled room and not comfortable for us - no bath - small room

    staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Reception staff were personable and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived in the Dark and had walked up from a secondary carpark to the UL side of the Hotel. The signage was not great when entering the Hotel carpark from the main road and could be improved upon as I seemed to enter the hotel from the back. Albeit this route was had adequate lighting however the reception signage could on the walk could have been better.

    Reception staff were personable and professional. Room was very clean and presented well. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Clean comfortable hotel rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't informed that our booking for afternoon tea wouldn't be in the garden room due to a wedding. We understand the reservation but would have liked notice. We were placed in a corner of the bar instead which was not the same experience. One of the waitresses in the bar was also quite unfriendly and looked put out whenever we asked for something.

    Receptions staff were very friendly and allowed us a late checkout until 1.30. The spa staff were lovely. The host in the bar both days, two different men were so friendly and inviting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took a holding fee on the room when I arrived which takes 4-5 days to be returned on the card. They then take a charge on departing for the full charge. So in effect you pay twice for the room while you wait for it to be returned. This is very annoying

    Breakfast and food very good service very pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    We had a very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked family room for four and there were tea-naking facilities, but there were only two cups * saucers in the room

    The beds were very comfortable. Staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again but will go down for breakfast next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service breakfast. Arrived half hour after requested time slot, cold, orders mixed up and no butter/jam. Croissants looked particularly awful, rest of food was OK but didn't finish because cold, and couldn't eat the dry toast (no point ringing to request butter because tea and coffee were cold anyway). They agreed to waive room service charge of 7.50. Problem seemed to be that our order hadn't been collected - they rang at 10.30am from downstairs saying they had just received it - we had left it out 10 mins before their cut-off of 3am so maybe they need to set an earlier cut-off.

    Staff good, friendly. Bed comfortable, everything very clean. Room very cold when we arrived but warmed up quickly. Very good night's sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant staff, please let kids into pool earlier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool doesn't open to kids till 10am. We were up early for a swim before breakfast but had to have breakfast and wait to go for swim. Kids and wife asleep I went for a pint. Beer was grand but bar Just OK.

    The staff in the hotel were all brilliant. We had lunch on arrival food was excellent and service friendly and efficient. We arrived early as we had an appointment in the afternoon and Reception staff and housekeeping were so helpful getting rooms ready.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    On the whole its a lovely hotel & would loved to have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was rock hard. We mentioned this and it seems like they changed it or turned it around. It was a little better the next night but definitely not 4 star comfort!! There was no bread choice for anyone intolerant to wheat at breakfast. I usually go for continental or vegetarian option but continental consisted of dried up cheeses & ham. If you wanted eggs & smoked salmon you had to pay extra!!

    The atmosphere; the staff; the bar food; the cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Sean in restaurant was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had booked a family room but didn't get it so we had very little space in the room as they had to put in an extra bed.

    Sean in restaurant was superb

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall a good stay. Would reccomend this hotel to friends.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room- Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar Staff not as attentive as they might have been. One barman kept ignoring me as he walked past stacking clean glasses. not serving customers, no need for the glasses!

    Clean and bright. Comfortable beds. Buffet and choices from menu at breakfast which was a good touch and unusual. Bar food menu seemed to be the same food as was being served in the dining room. Sea Bass was excellent and steak sandwich was literally a steak in ciabatta bread. Good atmosphere in the bar which isn't always the case with hotel bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Good location, lovely food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in room was awful. We complained twice. Mentioned it on checking out as well, it was noted but nothing other than a 'sorry about that' was offered. This was our 3rd stay and we have spent well over £1000 in this hotel over last few years, this stay wasn't as good as previous

    Xmas decorations, comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel wouldn’t return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not attentive in restaurant, had to ask three times for our drinks as waitress kept forgetting (restaurant was not even busy) when they did eventually come the waitress smashed them over in front of us. Found staff a bit rude they all stood over in the corner talking and did not check on us at all to see if we were ok or needed anything. For the money we spent on our meal it was a bit shocking how unprofessional and inattentive staff were. Reception staff also not helpful at all. It’s such a shame as the hotel itself was fabulous.

    Hotel and rooms were stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Lovely stay in Limerick, great location overall VFM
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunchtime food menu😐 we ate at the hotel only once out of our 3 day stay. €8.95 for 2 goujons and a handful of chips for our hungry 2, 4 and 7 yr olds. Extortionate kiddy food rates. Needless to say we didn't spend the extra €4.95 on jelly and ice-cream!

    The property was in an excellent location, v close to city centre and retail parks and the lovely UK campus across the road. The leisure facilities in the hotel were lovely and the room v comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Luxury is in abundance in this very affordable hotel..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    CANNOT FAULT this hotel in any way.. it was spotlessly clean, very spacious room with two armchairs,a coffee table and desk with chair. large wardrobe with full length mirrored doors... Fabulous......

    Very comfortable, clean and fabulous decor.. Luxurious hotel at a very reasonable price.. lots of free parking. Lovely affordable bar food menu and a nice little coffee shop area where you can get excellent coffee and something sweet to nibble on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Sad my daughter birthday party was ment to be fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room broke in to

    The hotel it self look lovely in side it was the same ! But sad to say we had a bad experience happened to our room was broke in to so it was a very sad ending to a great weekend glad to say no one was hurt but at the same time we could not get much rest after that no we had the Garda called the came but noting the could do . The weekend was my daughter birthday .but we found there were lots of people just walking in and out no socurity any were so please make sure your room door is ok be safe .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    Lovely staff but ridiculously expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was ridiculously expensive. The facilities were good but not luxurious. We were a group of roughly 30 so you'd think we should have got some kind of group rating but none was offered.

    The facilities were good and the staff were very courteous. Breakfast was good and we stayed on for a chat. Piano music and singer did not allow for ease of chat among a group of 4. Too noisy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is in a very busy area, but once inside the city life was replaced with an oasis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy location with other amenities so parking was difficult.

    Staff were very accommodating. Nice atmosphere to hotel. Food was of a very good standard and short waiting time from placing order. Superb self serve breakfast! Bar staff very attentive!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Comfy, quiet stay on the outskirts of limerick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like limerick itself, couldn't find a nice place to eat on a Sunday evening. Along the river was nice for watching the world go by but the town itself was a bit rough in places.

    Fab buffet breakfast, nicely laid out. Staff very friendly. A little out of town but easy enough to get into with regular buses or €10 for a taxi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel, facilities excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    chef needs to learn what medium / rare means !!!!! no way in room of drying wet swimming and gym clothes

    Great hotel, facilities excellent. good food in restaurant. staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Was excellent in all senses for what we needed, and came at a considerably good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room for 4 was a bit small and is crowded. Would have liked some more depth, seeing it was a double twin room . But otherwise it was always clean and well kept.

    The ambience, the space, and the general total comfort of the hotel. Staff at front desk and in restaurant and bar were awesome. The welcoming feel of the foyer was amazing. Pool is also of a very decent size. For what we needed location was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    When we went down for breakfast there was no eggs I had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we went down for breakfast there was no eggs I had to ask twice but when they were ready 13 minutes later I was finished eating and didn’t want any ,there was only one waitress that was friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Castletroy Park hotel is a great location to stay when visiting Limerick city for business or pleasu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints other than wifi seems to struggle a bit but this would not deter me going back as we were repeat customers.

    We did not eat at the hotel but the bar service was very good. Check in was very relaxed and the staff made us very welcome indeed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money. Preferred for people with a car, as it's quite far from the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hairdryer was located on the side of the working table, close to the window and very far from the bathroom, which wasn't logical in my opinion. It took me a while to find it.

    The Hotel was very nice and the staff helpful and friendly. They had a good range of food at the breakfast and ordering food to the room works till 9:45 pm which is a great option when you arrive late.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar did not have snacks etc available, you have to go in search of a vending machine. The bar staff were also inexperienced and would have benefited from a more experienced colleague working along side them

    The room was excellent with a good size bathroom, team making, TV etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice rooms & wonderful concierge
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in procedure was very poor, with one of our rooms not ready until 5.30pm. Not good enough for 4 star hotel. Reception staff weren't very friendly. Our key cards disabled also on returning late at night. Our triple room had only towels for 2 people but there were 3 of us sharing. They should employ more housekeeping staff for busy days.

    Great concierge, could praise him enough. Kevin I think his name was. So charming and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Lady at reception was a great help finding us a Tyre centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at reception was a great help finding us a Tyre centre closeby and even got us directions and phoned the centre to find out where/when we could get sorted as we got a puncture on the way to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, but huge room for improvement on quite a few staff members!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely dark during day, and very bright from corridor lighting during night! Also, found the bed to be a bit lumpy! Apart from one excellent attendant on our first night, I found the bar/restaurant staff to be rather slow and idle, preferring to stand chatting rather than look after their customers. We sat for drinks, and waited 20 mins for the table to be cleared after previous clients - I had to request this! In the mean time a waiter poured a full drink over French visitors at the adjacent table. When the man returned having had to change all his clothes(!!), he was asked whether he wanted a pint or a half pint to replace his spilt drink - whatever happened to use of one's initiative??? I think I actually commented on the poor standard of wait staff on my last review! My daughter had had an exam and was physically and mentally exhausted, so the final straw was when housekeeping almost broke the door down at 9.45am. I had left the room, but they continued knocking, waking her and forcing her out of bed to answer the call. So much for noon check-out! I mentioned this as I paid my account, and was advised that the hotel manager would contact me. That was a week ago, and I'm still waiting. I have always stayed in Castletroy Park, but would seriously have to reconsider for my next 2 visits next January and April!!!!

    Location is excellent for UL. Room was clean and tidy. Most of the staff were efficient and helpful. Convenient parking. Did not visit leisure centre on this occasion, but in the past have found it to be of excellent standard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit pricy. Didn't want full breakfast only had tea toast croissants and a bowl of cereal.

    Comfy clean rooms. Decor fab staff fab.dinner fab.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    The staff are great, very friendly and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facelift is only hiding the age of the building and it seems superficial, The Outside requires a serious tidy-up and the Leisure centre is very dated and in need of a substantial refresh. Harsh lighting in the public areas saps the enjoyment of the lobby and bar.

    The staff are great, very friendly and professional. Breakfast is good, Beds are comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    I expected a little better for hotel of this calibre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall decor around reception and bar areas need to be brightened up a bit. Grey and blue of bedroom was not comforting.

    Enjoyed the pool and gym, and breakfasts

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced. When booking we asked for addirional bed and when we arrived we have been told it is impossibile. Gym opens at 8:30. This is very late.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    It's a big spacious hotel, located among hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a big spacious hotel, located among hills. Amazing views all around, but nowhere to go on foot, but it is not a problem if you come by car. Good restaurant, open till 9pm. Beautiful interiors, friendly helpful staff. Clean room, comfortably furnished. Everything was ok. Good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms Clean, lovely staff and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is great for exploring the area and for getting into town. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends. perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.8
    Has the potential to be a lovely hotel if they sort their staff out and allocate rooms correctly
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was booked for 3 adults one single bed and 1 very small 4ft bed. I would have expected a standard double for 2 adults sharing. When I contacted reception they were more then unhelpful. There was one large bath towel in a room for 3 so again I had to contact reception to get extra towels for the other guests. Bathroom was tired it did not reflect the modernness of the bedroom.

    Room was modern food in bar was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Had relaxing and enjoyable stay.Will definitely return, and will recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes

    Bed was good, maybe mattress could've been little softer. Staff was great, plus helpful & friendly. Rooms neat and clean. Nice and peaceful, especially at night. I enjoyed the gym, pool and jacuzzi. Location great. Limerick city lovely place.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: