Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Central Hotel Donegal 3 stars

The Diamond, Donegal, Ireland

#5 of 6 hotels in Donegal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i arrived i was quoted 41 euro more than booking .com quoted. As I had email with correct price it was sorted on departure with a not too happy receptionist😐

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building , very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We parked just near the pier and received a discounted card from hotel. Dinner in the restaurant was nice but had to wait for awhile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on 1st floor. Had an elevator up to that floor, but then had to go up three steps and down 13 steps and a ramp in order to get to the room. Very difficult when you are traveling with multiple suitcases/bags.Bathroom was very small. Staff the day we arrived were not very helpful. Parking was down the street from the hotel. We were supposed to stay 2 night, but only stayed one.

    The view from the room was great and the location was convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower to much pressure could not slow down, and when you run the bath it was like bits of dirt came through the tap, view from the window a patched up roof and gutters full of moss and weeds, missed breakfast because finish at ten o'clock was never told about when booked in most hotels its eleven or later

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t know how to hard boil an egg what I got served was semi cooked. We ate in the pub restaurant the first night, you got what you payed for, no one came near us to ask if everything was alright.

    We we’re very pleased with our allocated room, quite big and comfortable , our room was facing the back of the hotel so we had a really great view of the water the whole place was very well decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom needs upgrading. No room safe. Noise from adjoining rooms.

    Great location in the centre of Donegal town. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was somewhat dated/tired looking and did not reflex cost of the room for 1 night. over priced if I compare with other hotels we’ve stayed in of similar rating.

    Location great & surround bars with live music worth a visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dated an stuffy. The oil burner or fan was on all night we couldn't sleep with the noise as we had to leave window open as it was so stuffy. We had been to a wedding. Breakfast was finished at ten we came down about five minutes before ten nothing left for breakfast. No apologies. . reception staff apologize for for noise but no offer of refund or cheaper price of room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The car park was very close but it was a public car park and it we needed to get tickets from reception daily.

    Location in the town could not have been better! It was really good value for money particularly as it has a nice leisure centre including pool, sauna etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot tap wasn't working and there was a loud fan noise outside the room window, at the back of the hotel, from about 6.30am!

    Staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it was a bit expensive for 1 night stay. €120 and no breakfast included.

    Staff very pleasant and professional. Especially the night porter and receptionist.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the mornings. No coffee or tea facilities in the rooms. The rooms where adverage. The cleanliness of the hotel was satisfactory.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could'nt find any fault with hotel or staff we do our own thing so a perfect base to explore Donegal. Friendly people and as I say a great point for exploring! We make our fun by being together in a new County to see xx

    Breakfast is standard hotel fare, for us it was fuel for the day! We wanted to make the most of our time. No queue for breakfast as we travelled off peak but I could see how busy it could get in high season, buffet breakfast with regular top ups...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was a lovely bar to relax in with bar food, yet if you wanted bar food they moved you away to another room down the back of the Hotel.

    View from our room, an Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hope water on the last day of visit. When we mentioned this at reception it was met with a oh yes, they’re working at it. Manager (I think) didn’t seem aware of this problem & kinda laughed it off. No offer of any kind of refund.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested room with a bath,didn't get one,receptionist said she'd try n get us another room,she hadn't the courtesy to call us and say she could or couldnt.rooms really need modernising,really dated.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been bigger and smoking area was closed the night we arrived. Other than that amazing location and only a stone throw away from tones of shops, pubs and cafes. Would recommend to anyone

    Get location and lovely staff. Parking was excellect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was awful. We sent back food as it was cold and not fresh. Poor quality spoilt our evening.

    Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and freshly cooked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the hotel for the reason,there were no windows in the breakfast room, the room we stayed in had two windows ,looking on to another building,we had far to far to walk along corridors with our luggage to get the lift,also no windows in corridor,and I didn,t see any ramps for weelchairs, users, lots off stairs, my list goes on

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff during breakfast could have been a little friendlier and more efficient.

    The size of the room was great. We paid a little extra for a river view and it was well worth it. The breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't ready to occupy on arrival at 16:10 even though we booked several months before . Excuse was they had a late check out. On departure were not even acknowledged or asked how our stay was by reception.

    Very nice comfortable room with a great view of Donegal bay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound protection. I took sleeping pills and year plug. No view from window, only I can see wall and duct. Traveler should avoid this hotel. It's wasting money.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first morning the service at breakfast was a bit haphazard. Although the issues appeared to have been dealt with on the second morning.

    Our room was big, clean and comfortable but the icing on the cake was the fantastic view of the harbour and bay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was chaotic as there were at least 2 coach parties in, but I still got a feed that lasted all day!

    Leisure centre was a boon after being on the bike and campsites. Staff were friendly and approachable. Room was pleasantly grand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit dated ... carpets were not the cleanest. No pressure In hot water tap and it was only luke warm could not have a bath as water was cold.

    Close to all the pubs. Staff very friendly in bar and reception. Breakfast was really nice and staff very nice. Very welcoming and great service. A little overpriced but would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly .Hotel very old fashioned would badly do with a total makeover. Beds so so uncomfortable. Bathroom dark and old fashioned. Dining area for breakfast poor. Breakfast not very appetising full irish very greasy

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the B&B prices a bit high but it was the bank holiday weekend and hotel was almost full.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good and served quickly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't want to be petty but the mattress wasn't what you expect in a hotel mattress,bit thin and lumpy.

    Good carvery ,brilliant breakfast oh yes Guinness too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that the breakfast times could be extended s little bit most people would really appreciate a good lie in surely breakfast time could be extended to 11 o'clock

    Beds were very comfy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is extremely run down. No blinds on window, no iron in room, tap was broke, decoration was very dated, furniture has seen far better days(ripped chairs in dining room!), tiny tv, no way to order breakfast to room, shower was old, looked dirty and didn't work properly.

    Staff, location and breakfast only.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had requested a room with a view but were accommodated with what must be the worst room in the hotel. The room looked into an inner courtyard where there was an ugly sewer pipe running across in front of our window over black bags. This wasn't a temporary construction site but more a permanent solution. Access to the room was bizarre - up a stairs, down a stairs, around a corner....

    Swimming pool despite looking tired was surprisingly good. Location excellent on the diamond

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think check in time should be a bit earlier as 4pm is a bit late.

    Its a great place to stay,central to other pubs and restaurants... staff are lovely. I would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of dampness in the stair well, also the bathroom in room 168 has mould on the tiles, ceiling, generally the room could do with a dredging up, the window cill outside has flaked paint and mould around the window opening, and a massive yellow stain on the duvet that can be seen through the white duvet cover

    Central location, good to use as a base for travelling around

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it at all

    Lovely hotel very welcoming staff so friendly nothing was left out & everything was amazing for our short break definitely be back to stay great location. Excellent breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to leave the hotel at night and put into the hotel next door. But the first room from the Abbey that was offered was terrible as .the room smelt very badly it was situated beside two large noisy ventilators . the carpet was dirty the shower area was dirty. I went directly to reception and asked for a clean room with heating and proper shower facilities . water was just warm enough to shower with . then I was offered another room so much better cleaner shower was cleaner although the shower power was a hit and miss affair and it was quiet . If it had'nt been for the food at both hotels I would have had to go a lot further I was very disappointed with both of the hotels.I have been coming there many years to visit my brother . I was just expecting my 4 days to be relaxed . but the first two days ...no !!!!

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very clean but the rooms would need a little updating as do the bathrooms.The other areas of the hotel are excellent they seem to have been refurbished they are nice and bright and modern.

    Staff are very friendly and the food is excellent would definitely stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location. Friendly staff, from reception, to bar and waiting staff. They couldn't do enough to make your stay welcoming. Nice room with stunning views of the Bay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a nuisance, but given the very central position of the hotel it probably could not be improved.

    Lovely friendly staff and a welcoming homely environment

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the front desk checkin the experience was excellent. We were informed that large military groups were camping out overnight in the public parking lot and would be parading the next day in town. We were advised we could park behind the police station. After seeing all the signs all over town about towing plus fines for illegal parking we were a little jittery. As we started to unload our luggage the lady from the hotel along with a young man appeared. She advised that special parking permits were just delivered and proceed to secure it inside the car. They helped us with our luggage and smooth transition into our room. Room was lovely with a view of the bay.*note picture* Housekeeping staff was helpful and immediate double checked the room to make sure it was up to their expectations. The management was always buzzing around overseeing and working the bar and restaurant. Then there they were again the next morning in the breakfast room. Excellent service, friendly staff definitely will stay there again next year. The town is adorable with all shops centering around the town circle. Many great pubs with superb food and informative bar servers.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small which is understandable but would need somewhere to set toiletries/make-up..

    Staff all friendly. Bed really comfortable and room felt clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    paid for a superior room, bathroom was not clean, the breakfast was very basic and not hot, ate out 2nd and 3rd days for breakfast

    the view from our room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff's attitude was dispicable we were quoted a price and paid more..... my friend had stuff stolen from her room and the staff blamed us her friends, then said she may have over looked them, breakfast cild and disgusting took over an hour to arrive at room which we were then billed service charge which we weren't told, never stay again

    The location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of bathrooms lots of visible black mould. Priority given to coach parties, individuals were fed and watered in rooms that had no external windows, lighting was very poor. Coach parties had their meals in the 'grand room" which was lovely with great views out over the bay!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disapointed in our room. Hotel is very outdated and the photos on website make the hotel out to be much nicer. Poor staffing there were not enough staff on especially in the bar. Would not stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was chilly at best. My in person request for early check in was very promptly and flatly denied. Clearly there was no check to see if the room had been cleaned. When I returned two hours after check in began, there was not so much as an acknowledgement of my prior arrival by the same person. Not good customer service, not welcoming behaviour.

    The property is well located.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and bedroom were not clean and in shocking condition for the price! The hair dryer was a fire hazard and had melted and started smoking. Not impressed.

    The bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it was over priced for us at £135 for the night. We had been chatting to other families who got the same deal for £90 or £100. I put a note on my booking to have a 2 o'clock check out and I also rang the hotel to make sure a 2 o'clock check out was on their system and the receptionist that I spoke to on telephone told me it would not be a problem. When we arrived at hotel the receptionist on duty didn't know anything about the 2 o'clock check out and said it was nothing to do with booking.com and was up to hotel what time we booked out, after a discussion with her she eventually gave in to let us stay onto 2pm.

    The hotel is located very central in the middle of Donegal town. The late check out at 2pm is very good especially when you have 2 kids with you. The leisure centre in the hotel is excellent and very clean. The sunday carvery was lovely in a beautiful restaurant in the Central Hotel, Donegal town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *breakfast (tiny sausages, asked for black pudding got only a half tiny slice), the worse poached egg ever had. *view for my room at the back of the white wall and some pipes (not worth €160 per night) *when checked in women at the reception was very ignorant - however rest of the stuff was very friendly and nice. *way overpriced Prosecco at the bar *over all not worth €160 a night for third of the price I could stay in much nicer B&B

    nice location, clean rooms, upper deack

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a room to the front of hotel as our room looked onto a wall

    Location is fantastic , breakfast served in lovely setting with excellent food , lovely staff and very clean bedrooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some upgrading but that didn't take from our stay. We choose the hotel for the leisure centre, location and price.

    Breakfast was really good, lots of variety of foods. Leisure centre has jacuzzi, pool and steam room which were clean and bright. Hotel is very central and reasonable priced. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking down the street but you can pull up at the hotel to unload bags.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was disappointing.very cramped and no view. Decor was stuck in the 80's.Teracotta !

    The breakfast and restraunt was good. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On checking out I was being charged an extra 50euro for the room. When I questioned this I was asked to provide proof which I did,i never got an apology from receptionist just asked for pin for bank card...soured the taste of a nice weekend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt like sewers also hallway to swimming pool smelt the same therefore we didnt use the facilities. Hallways werent even hovered....overall stay wasnt great.

    Bed was comfy, and nice shops

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms outdated. Nineties decor. food service very poor. waited an hour on meal. not great when eventually arrived.

    Bar upper deck very nice. Barman very helpful and friendly. good atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower flow was a dribble and the light in the bathroom flickered for whole stay. Breakfast very poor, cheap eggs with shell in.

    The view from the bedroom was on to the water - really nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arriving back after a few hours on the town I was told there was no residents bar and that we could not even get a drink to bring up to the room with us. Working as a night porter myself, i found this very strange and unaccommodating.

    Nice hotel overall, day staff was lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for disbled is poor - space should be available closer to hotel - space is available for staff but not for disabled clients - which I find inusual

    All was very nice Spa area good size but no sauna

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free car parking was not available at the time we were there due to the festival but other than that everything was grand.

    View from our room was looking out onto donegal pier absolutely beautiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly couldn't fault our stay

    Clean comfortable rooms Excellent breakfast served hot and nothing was a problem to the staff Duty manageress was excellent very efficient and friendly taking time to chat to the children Will definitely return

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish staff could stop asking customers about menu before sitting around the table. It is a buffet breakfast I think it would be nice and more professional if customers could be given a chance to choose what they want for breakfast when they are ready. I watched some elderly people before they had a glass of juice they were asked about full breakfast. Ourselves before we finish cereals the hot breakfast was on the way which made me to lose appetite. By the time I got to start with breakfast every thing was nearly cold. Serving hot tea and coffee immediately was not right because people like a hot cup especially in the morning with the meal not after.

    Customer service was excellent, staff were so helpful and I was overwhelmed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seemed a little chaotic with staff being unsure of what they were doing. We had no issues but did observe other having problems.

    The room and bathroom were both lovely and clean. Everything we needed was on hand. The breakfast was very tasty and of an excellent standard.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, basic and awkward to find; we were on the 3rd and the smell of chlorine from the leisure centre was overwhelming. The staff were unhelpful- we asked reception for a bottle of champagne for the room as we were celebrating our recent wedding; we were told to go to the bar. The barman took a long time to find the wine list and when he eventually did, the bottles we asked for were not in stock! We went back to our room empty handed and quite disappointed as the staff made no effort to assist us further. House cleaning were knocking on our door from 10am the next morning and despite telling them twice we did not require room service, they knocked again! All around, a very unwelcoming hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meal was fantastic but I prefer a quieter environment to eat.

    A comfy bed, plenty of hot water and good food. I don't ask for much else. All this was provided by the Central Hotel along with really polite and obliging staff who did go the extra mile.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 344 was large, airy and clean. However, it was tired and dated and definitely in need of refurbishment including the mattress which wasn't memory foam. There was no view from the window as it looked straight into a wall. I would have requested a room change if I'd have been staying more than one night. We have stayed in the hotel before but had a much nicer room.

    Perfect location for a visit to Donegal Town. The reception staff were pleasant and polite. Breakfast was very enjoyable and tasty. There was a leisure centre in the hotel which we didn't use it on this occasion.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queue for breakfast

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Central hotel. We had a really warm welcome from Christian on reception and he was very helpful providing is with information we needed to know .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security issue with keys key from a different room and floor was able to access our room No guest info pack in room Decor very tired and dated Would not stay again

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom location could have been better but for a one night stay it was more than adequate.

    Staff were courteous and efficient. Location is excellent. Swimming pool a great and unexpected bonus. Great value for money overall. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Realise the reason why under 16's cannot go into the pool after 7pm but arrived first night and my 14 year old daughter was desperate to get into the Pool but unfortuantely as we had just arrived before 7pm she did nto manage in. Questionnaire : not an answer for....... Mother-in-law, daughter-in-law and grandaughter. Possibly a blank box to put in who is staying

    Had a great time, all staff were very attentive

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not supportive of person with disability. Poor mattresses. Rooms with dim lighting could not read at night. Furniture is mismatched.....not in pleasing way

    Best thing is restaurant with good food and service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is like a tardis so you can end up walking a long way to your room or to the leisure centre. Ask for a room near the lift if mobility is an issue. Due to very central location, parking by the hotel is quite tricky although there is a car park down the road.

    Hotel is in a great location to see the city. Children really enjoyed the swimming pool. Breakfast served in a large function room with good views of the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overpriced in stay we had been told on booking.com £392 depending on exchange rate but when I came home there was £419.96 taken from my account totally unfair as we also booked a room with a river view which we never got !!!! receptionist was made aware of this on arrival to our room we were told we would be upgraded this never happened!!!

    breakfast and the dinner excellent, dinning/breakfast rooms very clean.lovely and central for a overnight stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Food or vomit not sure which smeared on window. Mould on bathroom ceiling. Hotel smelt stale and damp. Bed was a small uncomfortable double. I was charged double what my cousins were charged so paid 200 euros for a single night which was the same as I paid in the beautiful 5* Lough eske. Never ever again. Literally the worst hotel I've stayed in and that includes hostels in south east Asia. The toilets in odonnels across the road smelt fresher than that entire hotel and definitely fresher than our room.

    It's in centre of town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need updating. Ensuite small. No complimentary biscuits with tea making facilities in room. Expensive. Not good value for money.

    Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stains and holes in towels, dead flies along window sill in bedroom. Rooms were not as pictured on the website - much more dated, and non existent furniture. Breakfast was ok but no where near up to scratch for the price paid.

    The location is very good and there is free on-site parking. The view from the room is nice as well if overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nite porter not very helpful .no resident bar.as maybe we wasn't not bk in time

    Excellent service.food staff very helpful and exceptional manner Nite porter not so helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Central Hotel Donegal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: