Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Central Hotel 3 stars

1- 5 Exchequer Street, D2 Dublin, Ireland

#111 of 153 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2398 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cramped. Bed came up against the closet with barely a foot to get by. Also, they recommend to park in the car park but failed to tell us it didnt open until 7am. We were there at 6 to get our car for the airport. Had to call assistance and stress to make plane.

    Was in a great location. Could walk to most sights or bus. Ok for one night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again, the neighbourhood was great with lots of wonderful restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the keg storage room and centre court yard, two twin beds pushed together do not make a big bed.

    Super great location, like the smaller scale of the hotel and it’s charm. Booked because it seemed like the closest version of our favouret hotel in Paris by the Republic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    5.8
    Very central but not worth the experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything on arrival At my room lights did not work Television only one station the rest signal was weak, the telephone in room did not work Beautiful library bar but no where to sit to eAt. As too crowded , Too expensive for what u recieve

    It’s was I. A good location old worldly hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and central
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedside electrics (socket and lamp) were faulty. The lamp went out when plugging into or out of the nearby socket... Also, I discovered a clump of hair in the shower... I did not get the impression that the hotel wasn't clean though.

    Comfortable. Old style feel that I like and find - better than a lot of anonymous places. Clean (clump of hair in the shower notwithstanding). Useful shower instructions provided (all hotels should have this). Central location. Library bar is really decent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    First Time in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temp couldn't be adjusted, pillows were too flat, intermittent wifi connection at best and no air conditioner.

    Centrally located and friendly receptionists.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    Central location but shoddy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom was not good. There appeared to be mould on the ceiling. The wood on the base of the bath was coming out of its joints and warping. The handle in the bath was broken too. TV was very small in the room and did not work properly, continuously flickering on and off. The Double Bed was in fact 2 single beds pushed together and the Double duvet appeared to be two singles joined together with a zip. The room was not very soundproof, could hear the noise on the streets quite clearly.

    Central location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.4
    Good location...Not very clean or comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and price. The price of the room was too expensive for how clean and outdated it was. The cups in the room were filthy and the free complimentary water (glass bottle)smelled. The lighting was not sufficient and the shower mat was falling apart and looked moldy. The tv was super small and half the channels didn’t work.

    The location. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. It’s next to trinity college and temple bar. Jameson distillery and Guinness storehouse are in walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two different faucets to the washing basin, one for cold and one for hot water. Wou could not mix them to gave luke warm water.

    Excellent location. You can walk to all attractions and night life places. The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs some serious updates. Rooms were very clean. Which is great considering what they have to work with.

    Location. That it WAS a grand hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    The room was spacious and clean.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was tiny and could not be seen from the bed. The mattress was uncomfortable, well worn and the springs could be felt. The big light did not work in the bathroom so it was difficult to see when in the shower

    The room was spacious and clean. The pillows were really comfortable. Great shower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    3.3
    Ruined by fire alarm destroying our night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was ruined by the fire alarm going off at 1:30am. Next day we didn’t even get an apology when we asked what happened. The hotel staff told us that it happens regularly and that if we hear it again to wait a while before evacuation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Great central location to roam around Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was happy with the external noise as it was at a level that didn't disrupt our stay. However, could often hear people walking around the above floor at a noticeable sound level. This may be down to the age of the building but something to be aware of.

    Very nice hotel overall with helpful staff, responding quickly to any questions / requests (fixed our shower within 2 minutes of informing reception). Spent a lot of our time roaming around Dublin but the room was always nice to come back to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Quiet, relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included.

    The bar is reminiscent of a fancy sitting room, elegant furniture and very comfortable. The staff were friendly. The room was simple, clean, warm and comfortable. It's so near to all the shops, restaurants and nightlife but very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    3.8
    Too loud, too dusty and too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise levels were so loud at night I couldn't sleep either night. The room I was in was very dusty and the furniture was falling apart and the picture frames were flaking onto the bed.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    It is a very good location, accessible to everything and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little but I would say there is no fridge in the room to keep drinks cool but really that is all I could fault them on.

    It is a very good location, accessible to everything and some great bars/eateries right on the doorstep. We stayed midweek so there was no real issue with music/noise outside and we had a room facing the street. The bed was very comfortable and a large size, the rooms were much nicer than I expected and a great size. We got a double room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.0
    Poorly maintained and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very shabby. Carpets need cleaning and furniture needs to be reupholestered. Mattress and pillows were not comfortable. Shower has mold. Room price is much too high for the way this hotel is maintained.

    The location near Temple Bar is in the center of things and is crowded and noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    It served the purpose of a room for the night,before the trip back to London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money,no breakfast included.TV small and poor reception on some channels. Bed just ok...very noisy room,but was warned .Forgot my ear plugs,they are certainly needed. No toiletries either.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    It was in an excellent location, loved the library bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We feel that compared to our stay there 4 years ago , the overall appearance has gone down hill .. updates need to be made. It was very clean though ..

    It was in an excellent location, loved the library bar and breakfast was good .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    The most important thing aspect of a hotel is a good night's sleep. I did not get that.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite shabby, with worn carpet and sad curtains and hard, uncomfortable pillows. It has no ventilation except the windows and gets very hot with the windows closed. But the room looks out on a very busy, noisy street. It sounded like I had every American Trinity College study abroad student partying outside my window until the sun came up. The room should come with complimentary ear plugs. I hardly slept a wink and had to give a presentation the next day. If you choose this hotel, bring your own pillow and some ear plugs. I paid 160 euro for a hot, shabby, noisy room with hard pillows. It was quite disappointing.

    I love the location near my favourite restaurants. I like the pub in the hotel. That was a nice surprise. The employees were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Noisy, with a band playing downstairs and people on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy, with a band playing downstairs and people on the streets. The TV not working properly, which for the prices they charge should not be happening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Well located but limited and pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ancient windows did not keep out the noise from outside. Double glazing or secondary glazing would assist greatly. Room cramped for one person, so having two people would have been very inconvenient. Did not really offer value for money. Overpriced.

    Easy walk to centre of town. Many bars, restaurants and sights along the way. Check in quick and efficient, if a little impersonal. Pleasing old fashioned feel to common parts.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, spacious and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold room on arrival, had to ring reception twice to get a portable heater to the room. Some staff were unhelpful and rude.

    Good location, spacious and clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Too expensive experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities. Place is not well mainteined, feels very dark and dusty although it is clean. It is too expensive to what they are offering.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff were quite friendly and the hotel was very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was very noisy outside until 1-3 a.m. I had to sleep with the window open, because it was summer and it was fairly hot inside.

    The staff were quite friendly and the hotel was very well located, amenities-wise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level in our room from a bar/club behind until 4am made the room uninhabitable. Didn’t get any sleep. Night Porter couldn’t move us and Reception the next morning didn’t offer any concession. Would NOT stay there again.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Good central location, staff at reception helpful and looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are basic, Sanitary ware and shower are worn and old. Very over priced for standard of room, maybe that’s just Dublin.

    Good central location, staff at reception helpful and looked after baggage until check in was available and also after check out times. Adjoining Restaurant and bar was clean modern and had great food and staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on the street are noisy at night. No much lights in the room, pretty dark. Windows to be cleaned up No fresh air in the room, no ventilation.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    All in all good and would definitely recommend especially for a short stay :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from street and adjoining night club was quite loud.

    Ease of booking and friendly staff at reception on arrival. Good central location for all amenity's. Quick checkout process :). Bar looked very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    It was great for a fun weekend away with my daughters
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have had a little warning about the noise from the nightclub downstairs which made it hard to sleep , the noise was going well into the wee hours

    The beds were very comfy & the family room very spacious , all in all the hotel welcoming & perfectly located in the city ,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    There was a huge, I mean huge spider!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a huge, I mean huge spider! It was the size of a lemon. Also the television was small and the beds were old. Awesome location, though! And the staff was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed 2 nights. 1st night quiet 2nd night a little noisy but what can you expect when the hotel is in the middle of the buzz of Dublin. Wouldn't put me off stating again.

    Great location. Easily get around bus routes round the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is constructed in 1880s. So it is an old building. The rooms are not new. But it is worth to the price.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. You can reach where ever you want.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, big rooms, big bathroom & very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head needs replacing & bring ear plugs. Some nights the music from outside is loud.

    Great location, big rooms, big bathroom & very comfortable bed! Located near Temple Bar but not the heart.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Great position close to what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy at night. We prefer to sleep with a window open for fresh air and it was fine if we left the bathroom window open and closed the bedroom window.

    This was a last minute booking due to being delayed in Dublin. The location was excellent for our needs and great eating nearby. Close to Australian Embassy , Hop on Hop off bus and Airport bus. The hotel has some good atmosphere but we did not have time to try the bar or dining room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy at night, 1am till 3am downstairs in the street or bar.... not sure. There was also a dripping constant dripping noise from the toilet cistern. Minor peeves but the location made up for it.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. It was old but still it had clean bed linen, and hot showers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location. Quiet room . Got a good nites sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on reception when checking out Monday morning could be a bit more friendly. A smile wouldn’t go astray.

    Great location , quick check in . Receptionist very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    It was only for a night so it was bearable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't in the best of repair. The bedside lamp didn't work, and neither did the over mirror light. The tiles on the side of the bath were peeling off and seemed dirty. The kettle cord wasn't long enough and needed to be put on the floor to be plugged in. The room was too warm, even with the window open and when it was open, it was too noisy.

    The beds were not comfortable but the pillows were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location- but don't pay too much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standards of the public areas are not really matched by the bedrooms. These are a little worn out, dated and shabby. Tertiary glazing for noise insulation, and power points on either side of the bed are pretty basic requirements.

    Walking distance to everything, and the welcoming ambience of the foyer, old fashioned generous proportions of the staircase, high cielings etc, lend an air of grandeur.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room with sunken bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast- price too expensive for what was ordered and was told they didn’t have gluten free bread as the shops weren’t open

    Lovely room with sunken bath

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff but location can be noisy in lower floors at times (no double glazing).
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No double glazing. Can be quite noisy location. We had bad timing in that arrived late (1am) night of A level results and bars in adjacent road were so busy it was impossible to sleep until after 2am.

    Location was very convenient for Grafton Street and central Dublin. Staff were very accommodating. .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Good for staying a short time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night. No air conditioner so if you open the window you couldn’t sleep. The shower uncontrollable, water was too hot.

    Great location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    An amazing location with okay rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old and small, the carpet looks like it’s been there a century.

    It really is in a perfect location, right next to food, pubs, and grocery stores. The Library bar inspired de the hotel was pretty neat as well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    In general I was happy with room / hotel. Would stay here again.,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t have any conditioner. Restaurants around hotel were open till morning. Parties under my Window were so loud that I had to close windows. And it were a very warm days and nights

    Like the location of the hotel. Multiple restaurants, food stores, starting points of tours.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. Tried to find another room but the windows are old and didn’t block out noise. A little investment in sound proofing would make a difference as everything else was great

    Very good location. Rooms a good size. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, nice and easy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's on a busy street so, if you're a very light sleeper it might be an issue (think ear plugs are provided - I didn't need them). Other than that, no complaints.

    Clean, comfy bed, nice bathroom. Easy to find and not too expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Great position but a little too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old-fashioned and the room we stayed in was really noisy (the hotel is on a lively street) and during one night it was impossible to sleep...

    The position was incredibile, around the corner from pretty much everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location, needs some love - or drop the prices a lot.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy. We had a 'quiet' room, I dread to think what the noisy ones were like! Facilities were old and needing attention.

    Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Location is convenient and central.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 301 is 'odd'...bedroom at one end of a hallway, sitting room at the other, and a bathroom in between. Cold water tap only provided hot water, despite running it for a reasonable period of time to clear the pipes, however the next morning there was cold water. Atmosphere is a bit dark and quite dated.

    The front desk/reception is 24/7 which was an essential requirement on this trip. Upon check out, the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and attentive, they called for a taxi and then followed up (without being prompted) when the taxi had not arrived within a reasonable time frame.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    When we arrived we found the staff to be very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the heat in the room but there was nothing anyone could do about that.

    When we arrived we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful nothing was a bother to them at all. The library bar was quite relaxing and the breakfast was lovely. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was small and dark, but yet on a positive note was quiet.

    Location is fantastic, both from a shopping perspective and/or socializing in city Centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Its location, mainly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and the shower was unbearably hot and uncontrollable.

    Its location, mainly. The staff were super friendly. Also, our room was nice and quiet, considering the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Location is the only positive about this hotel, although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s old and tired. Needs new furniture and curtains and just about everything else. Breakfast menu was limited, although it was relatively cheap. The Central Hotel is extremely over priced and the rooms are far too small. With the window closed the room lacked airflow but with the window open the street noise was very loud and constant throughout the night. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless your plan is to party all night long in the bars and use the room for luggage storage, although there are probably much cheaper ways to do that.

    Location is the only positive about this hotel, although there are many other hotels around the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with any and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower facilities were substandard, very little water pressure and the temperature control was variable. WiFi reception on third floor was poor.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with any and all requests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Noisy at night, otherwise goid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy at night, till 3am. Loud music from nearby clubs,.no soundproofing, double glazing might help.

    Convenient, characterful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Location excellent but hotel comfort and facilities below par
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was west side and no aircon . Fans were poor quality and could not cool the room . Housekeeping was average and the water bottke so badly stained and can not understand how they can miss replacing it .

    The reception staff were very helpful to resolve the problems we brought up . Excellent location to get to all key sites and restaurants and shopping .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    Hair Dryer out of order, bathroom Floor had hair from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair Dryer out of order, bathroom Floor had hair from previous guest, shower was stuck on hot water and could not get it at a normal temperature, WiFi not working

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    Worn out hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small very noisy creaky can hear upstairs room very loud with creaky floors Hotel is very worn out. Out side noise very bad Very hot room.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly. The location of the hotel is great. However, the hotel should think about investing in sound proof windows, it was very loud at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Fell very short of our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room didn’t meet expectations. It smelt of sour milk/ vomit and there were splash marks on the base of the bed that looked very much like vomit that had dried in.

    the staff were friendly and the food was very good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.3
    Not pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is a bit out of date. Water pressure in the shower was horrible. Rooms were dark and dull. The most challenging was that we checked in around 11:30pm and when we arrived to our room the bars close by were all cranking loud music that actually vibrated our room at times. This was a Sunday evening. Don't know what the other days are like. The staff suggested because it had been so warm the bars had all their windows open which was unusual. We would not suggest this location for family stays.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    The library bar was really cool and had some of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The library bar was really cool and had some of the best whiskeys. Desserts were nice too! It’s right in the smack bang of Dublin, and everything is a walk away. Staff are nice and friendly and told us exactly where to go to get the airport transfer. Was a nice stay! Even if it was just one night. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    great plact to stay in Temple Bar area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no A/C so the 3rd floor was a little stuffy on hot days in a busy area so a lot of street noise at night squeaky floors overhead

    great location cool historic hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    MY MOTHER, DAUGHTER AND I HAD A WONDERFUL STAY - AND ARE GOING TO GO BACK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist when we booked in didn't give us correct directions for car parking and she could do with going on a customer relation course - the girl that was there when checking out was more friendly and efficient.

    Room was very comfortable - slept all night could not believe we were in center of Dublin City. Breakfast was wonderful - my mother who is 85 said she had the nicest porridge that she every tasted and my daughter and I had omelette which again was wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally thought it was overpriced and not very comfortable, the noise from the bars surrounding is overwhelming and impossible to get any sleep , bathrooms were old and not very clean.. luckily the hotel were kind enough to let us leave after one night with no sleep so we could go elsewhere , if you don’t mind noise then this will suit as the location is great

    The location was in the hub of activity, bars pubs and restaurants, friendly staff however the rooms are quite dated and stuffy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring your ear plugs! Very noisy with lots of pubs and night clubs partying till after 3 am. As long as you can handle the noise it’s all good.

    Lovely big room with king size bed. Nice breakfast, great location, close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    When hairdryer didn’t work they were up straight away with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tad noisy

    When hairdryer didn’t work they were up straight away with a replacement. Both Girls were excellent, knowledgeable on Dublin and how to get around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    I liked the hotel despite the problems with noise. But it was hard to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very hot in the room but they did provide a fan.

    The staff were great. Breakfast good. Location for me was excellent. The worst thing was the noise at night - my room looked out on a side alley and there was a club opposite with noise until 3am one night. It is a bit shabby but comfortable enough. Avoid those rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    Would not hurry back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Continental breakfast was very poor, no croissants, pastries were in a bag. Very limited choice. Coffee was tepid at breakfast. You could not get a cup of coffee in the bar in the evening no facilities, it would have been nice to have a decent cup of coffee or even Irish coffee at the end of the evening apart from an instant cup in your room with little milk!

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Very warm in room. No fridge to keep water cold.

    Lovely decor of hotel. Very friendly staff. Great full Irish breakfast. Nice clean room. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    I was specifically looking for a room near the Temple Bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television only offered about 5 channels. In addition, and I recognize this is picky, I like to cool off in the shower with colder water at the end of my shower. I took a shower before going out for the evening and found it very difficult to lower the temperature. In fact, it seemed I only had the choice between two temperatures: hot and very hot. I mentioned the issue to the front desk because I definitely wanted a colder shower before my transatlantic flight home in the morning (I didn't want to be sweating for 7 hours). An adjustment was made, but still not as cool as I would like. I had to rely on splashing myself with cold water from the sink to cool off.

    I was specifically looking for a room near the Temple Bar district so that I could explore the various bars before flying back to the US. This hotel did that. I know my way around Dublin and Temple Bar and was able to walk to where I wanted to be.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Beds are the comfortable but the rooms were great, location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi wasn't that good and for me - coming in to work wasn't strong enough so i went out for cafe's

    Beds are the comfortable but the rooms were great, location is perfect, quite hotel. was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Shabby, jaded, tiny rooms, but good central location, very overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very overpriced for the room I had. The room was tiny, very shabby and poor quality. I was surprised how poor it was, I treated myself to this thinking the Central would be a lovely luxury, based on the bar, but turned out the rooms are a very big disappointment.

    Good, central location, nice Library Bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is close to the downtown.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not equipped with air conditioner however it is advertised. The Staff says there has never been air conditioner in the rooms. It was miserable in 30 C in a small attic room. One of my searching options on booking.com is air conditioner.

    The hotel is close to the downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (207) was facing to the street, which gets super noisy until 3am, until they closing the bars around the aria. If you light sleeper then no point to spend you money whiteout getting normal sleep. Poor WiFi connection

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy place (city center) Older equipment Leaking shower Insufficient light in the room Dark carpet not easy to clean properly

    Affordable price Location in the city center Check out at 12:00

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: