Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charleville Park Hotel & Leisure Club 4 stars

Limerick Rd, Charleville, Co. Cork, Charleville, Ireland

#3 of 3 hotels in Charleville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was very busy when we visited it.

    Receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable. The bar food was lovely and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's only a very small thing, but given how good the hotel is the one issue we had stood out - the cutlery! In the restaurant and bar the cutlery looked old and mismatched. I can't imagine it would cost much to replace it all with new even inexpensive cutlery but it would be worth as the food was excellent!

    Great value for money...considering the excellent pool and gym facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Wedding at Charleville Park Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The Hotel was nice and airy and very well laid out, single room had twin beds and was nice and comfortable and clean, Breakfast was very nice - attended a wedding there and food was gorgeous, staff were excellent. Had lunch in dining room one day and it was very nice. A nice stay and would certainly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff made feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mattress/pillow protector and large stain on duvet .

    Friendly helpful staff made feel welcome. Music in bar at night great atmosphere . Very quiet peaceful sleep

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar staff staff could have been a little more friendly and definitely they all need to be more efficient the service was not good

    attended a wedding i have to say the food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed night away and would definitely return lovely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a room with a view and was disappointed didn’t get that.

    Enjoyed bar food, friendly staff, proximity to town . Very good sleep very little noise

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed, nice shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room service and it wasn't great. Chicken wings were awful. I have eaten here before and know the food is good but just not this time.

    Comfy bed, nice shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    The bed were lovely and comfortable also staff were nice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of a room for a night is ridiculous you would get a hotel for 3 nights for the price nothing special to be charging that price

    The bed were lovely and comfortable also staff were nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Property was clean and staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold at night and heating not available to be turned on a heater was provided but not suitable for a two year old in the room! , carpets ripped near twin beds and no lighting on one side of room, only one tv worked and chair ripped,

    Property was clean and staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    The location and the room was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely, but the breakfast had very poor quality, food wasn’t fresh, plates and glasses were dirty.

    The location and the room was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place, great location, fabulous facilities and wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room was extreme, particularly on arrival, windows could only slightly open so it proved to be very humid when trying to sleep. Granted it was a very warm day and the room was on the top floor. This was greatly improved by the thoughtfulness of the staff who supplied us with 2 fans.

    Extremely comfortable, great facilities especially the gym and pool, incredibly helpful and courteous staff. Roadworks at time of visit so the locale wasn’t as beautiful as it would normally be.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel the staff went above and beyond to be helpful, very clean place and reasonably pric
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was a little to hard for me but after saying that not everything in life is perfect and I did sleep.

    Beautiful clean hotel, really friendly helpful staff. Plenty of options for breakfast. The lift broke down the night stayed there and I'm glad it did otherwise I'd have missed the amazing staircase. Will stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    👎
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that I was giving a room on the 3rd floor I had a 2 year old child with me , the lift was broken for the weekend . Didn't like that I had to eat of dirty plates for breakfast saying that I didn't eat my breakfast at all. Staff didn't have a clue what they were doing! Too young to be dealing with people . Wouldn't recommend at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, good location. Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms extremely hot. Fan provided but still room way too hot. Windows don't open far. Room nice. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was disappointing. I decided to have a continental breakfast. Found selection poor. Would have liked to see a nicer selection of breads and scones. Waiting staff were great. I will stay again but maybe not in the height of summer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    So very pleasant, relaxing - food and service really good.. would come back to stay a little longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing - the breakfast was also very tasty - and thank god: real scrambled eggs....

    I fell asleep straight away which is unlike me... usually it takes me a while to drop off.. The lovely girl working in the area I had coffee in - near the courtyard where you can sit outside was so pleasant when I explained we had just landed at the hotel from Dublin and couldn't be more helpful to me - who was trying to get the lay of the facilities..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.5
    The bed was two single beds pushed together and you could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two single beds pushed together and you could feel the bed sliding apart, the food wasn’t great for the price and they didn’t provide us with towels every day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay . I would stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise from the road could be heard from 5.30am I will request a room at the rear again. breakfast wasnt excellent it wasnt piping hot. Choice could be improved for bread .

    location. leisure facilities. staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    It was very pleasant. Staff amazing. A1
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food at aporox 11 hadnt great choice..sandwiches only. Not even toasted available. Breakfast was only average.

    Bed was super comfy..and facilities very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Great apart from breakfast experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above.

    Our second time to stay here, delighted with everything apart from the breakfast, which was a little tired looking. A lot of young staff working at breakfast time who really needed proper supervising.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay IF you eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was NOT GOOD. The breakfast in particular was appalling. We were told not sit at nice tables by the windows as those were 'for dinner' (this was at 9am in the morning). We sat at tables awkwardly arranged in a central space. Dishes were covered with bits of dried in food, after a bad dishwasher cycle. Food selection was poor, coffee terrible, porridge runny. There were no teaspoons on any of the cups. The menu was very limited - no pancakes for example, the usual kind of things a four star hotel might be expected to serve, at 12.50 per person. Bar food the previous evening was also uninspiring, edible but just about.

    The Hotel was lovely and the room was great. The leisure club was clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a mini fridge for my sons medication. They said it would be in the room it wasn't and i asked the same receptionist twice for one. Still never got it. Also requested late check out but no one in the hotel got back to me saying it was ok or not. Breakfast bad selection. Over priced.

    Pool. Spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Hotel was impressive , staff even more so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wait time for bar food was excessive at 35 mins. However what we got was lovely. There were a few other complaints about wait time while we were waiting

    Staff were so friendly partuculary on reception very welcoming and obliging

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Short walk to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding party were very noisy and could be heard from the room at all hours and smoke alarm rang in the early AM - possibly the wedding party mucking about as it was a false alarm.

    Short walk to the town. Very clean and staff were very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel let down by the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was not very good, especially for the price. Steak was overdone and vegetables did not arrive to the table. They had explained the kitchen was busy and we were ok to wait for the food but I did not expect the standard to be low. Breakfast greasy and place was untidy

    Lovely room with extra pillows as requested Hotel room was clean, warm and inviting

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Location was great, lovely power shower and nice bright...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms had been recently painted and the smell of the fumes was over powering in the bedroom. I think staff should have mentioned this to us when we checked in. Other than that hotel is lovely.

    Location was great, lovely power shower and nice bright bedrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent leisure, lovely staff, but they could clean rooms better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not polished cutlery in the restaurant; poorly washed buffet plates; dust and dirty walls in the room;

    The pool is excellent; very strong Wi-fi comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Standard Hotel Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived in to the room, there were toiletries left in the shower from the previous guest (although the bathroom did look like it had been cleaned). The shower doors didn't work properly and allowed water to leak all over the bathroom floor.

    This is a nice standard hotel. The room was clean and a decent size. Staff were very pleasant. The bar area is lovely. The food in the bar was excellent. There is a nice leisure centre at the back of the hotel, which has a well equipped gym and a really good pool. Breakfast was good - standard selection of cereals and a hot buffet. Quality of the breakfast food was good (apart from the orange juice which was cheap concentrate). I would stay here again if I was in the area but probably would not go out of my way to return to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the kids loved the hot chocolate it was a lovely bonus in the room swimming pool was lovely to had a great time will definitely be returning we have our conventions every year here so we will stay every year now

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Friendly, comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful from arrival to checkout. The room was very comfortable and the food, excellent aswell as being very generous portion sizes. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not comfortable and no water fountain poolside at the steam room/sauna which is very annoying as you’re supposed to drink lots if you’re in these 😡

    The pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine was really awful. I never saw so much free wine left on the tables at a wedding. Everyone was saying it. The wine in the bar was as bad.

    The room was really comfy. Great shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    It was a beautiful hotel some staff were brilliant we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the Saturday afternoon the shower water was cold but Sunday morning it was fine, the Sunday in Ed’s bar and restaurant was hugely understaffed and waited up to 40 minutes for a toasted sandwich that ended up being wrong after saying it twice to the man behind the bar so returned it and got my money back

    It was a beautiful hotel some staff were brilliant we had a party and they were very helpful the girls in the osprey room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, excellent rooms but sort out the WiFi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor broadband, I was travelling for work and was almost unusable. Unfortunate as the hotels location would get a lot of people travelling.

    Plenty of parking, friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the meal was v good but although my steak was cooked to my order-medium rare-it was rather cold which was disappointing.

    Really friendly staff . Comfortable spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    3.8
    Very dissapointing, wont be staying here again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty cups in my room on arrival, Dinner was dry and bland, Breakfast was a plate of grease with burnt offereings, breakfast had clearly been standing for quite some time in a heated oven before I got it, had to get breakfast elsewhere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall good stay , practical for family , enjoyed the leisure facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was by smokers rooms ,made me uncomfortable as had a 4 mth old baby with us .

    Lovely staff, relaxed atmosphere . Had lovely meal in the bar after arrival .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Happy Aussies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and myself travelled from Australia to visit someone who lives in Charleville. We had stayed at the hotel about 7 or 8 years ago, and we had no hesitation in booking the hotel again. The hotel has great meals in the restaurant and bar areas. The staff are exceptional and very friendly, and go out of their way to make sure everything is ok. I hadn't booked afternoon tea (which is a requirement), and the staff still made it happen. There were 6 of us for afternoon tea, and it was magnificent. Thank you. It made our stay super special.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Found all staff more than friendly & went out of their way to accommodate our every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have a toddler who needs milk in morning & at night going to bed . I think the fAmily rooms should have a small fridge to meet needs of babies & toddlers 👍👍

    The staff were so friendly & chatty . Made time to chat to the children too . Family room was a great size & very comfortable . Plenty of DVDs to borrow downstairs not to mention kids clubs & movie nights to keep the kids entertained giving parents some quiet time ! Amazing 👏👏

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Could have got a cheaper deal to include breakfast if booked with hotel directly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive - cost didn't cover breakfast. Would have been cheaper to book directly with hotel - despite having genius points on booking.com

    Nice rooms, lovely wedding reception area. Good service by staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    3.5
    Wont be returning anytime soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a concert there was no hot water availible we also had food in the bar which was not of a good standard our server held the forks by the wrong side and when most of the food was returned we were not asked if everything was ok i felt management was poor as the problem seemed to be out of their hands.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Certainly not good enough to warrant it's four star rating....needs a bit of a shake up !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on our first day was terrible, cold and just horrible....not good enough considering breakfast is an extra cost per person per night. Bar staff not very knowledgeable and very inattentive. Toiletries not replaced for second night.

    Location was good and the girls on reception were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    A modern hotel for a comfortable night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    It was a large, comfortable room. It had all the modern facilities you would want. Food at the bar was good and well-priced. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Overall we enjoyed our stay and were pleased with most aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist seemed unsure of herself, had to ring leisure centre to find out opening/closing times. Wifi didn't work at all. Bath stopper was disconnected from the chain so letting the water out of the bath was difficult.

    Loved the facilities provided by the leisure centre. The bed was very comfortable. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Other than having to pay for breakfast and the incident with my family's breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly my room cost me 109euro not including breakfast but my sister booked after me and had breakfast included ,also very disappointing my sister in law got a really long hair cooked inside her fried egg having traveled all the way for my cousins 60th birthday which was in the hotel that kind of spoilt things for me

    The staff were lovely especially at the reception area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Had a great stay overall food and staff were excellent. Rooms need improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms weren't of a great standard. Rips in the carpet, no lock on window. Dirty marks on wall. The chair looked very old and was ripped on the top. Holes in the wall of the bathroom where the radiators had been moved but quite a few could have been a lot better not the standard of a 4 star hotel.

    The staff very friendly. The food was gorgeous. The waiters very friendly and food doesn't take long at all. The decor of the lobby and bar was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dissapointing. Little choice for cooked options. Pretty greasy breakfast.

    Great location for mountain biking in ballyhoura Good facilities Friendly staff Very clean room Staff recommended a great place for dinner 20mins from hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    100% Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very modern looking, the rooms decor was lovely. Bathroom was very clean and the bath was just incredible so relaxing. Staff at reception were friendly and very helpful. Will be back !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Staff were friendly and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and nice! Location was good! Room was fabulous with an incredible bed! Meal was poor in restaurant within the hotel, but the breakfast made up for it! Very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Disappointing stay in Charleville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot No aircon Had to keep window open Very noisy Poor sleep Food : Chowder: Appalling .. microwaved salmon chunks in a dish+3 prawns and a sauceboat containing a sauce was poured over it. Sauce ok but fish awful. New take on Chowder. Main course: Mine was a Hamburger Burnt, overcooked,and dried out deep fried onions. Cheese totally dried out Chips were cold and awfull My wife had the Sticky Bones option. Wings accompanied the Pork ribs. All were over cooked and she was unable to eat them.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice spot with Friendly staff and nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food can be a bit hit and Miss I've had worse but the evening meal dishes lack a bit of flair. The Surf and Turf, a Chicken Curry and a Seafood pasta dish come to mind.

    Nice spacious rooms, great work space for business travellers and the wifi is good and stable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    From the moment i arrived i was made to feel welcome and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the seafood chowder, prefer it cooked all together not disassembled.

    From the moment i arrived i was made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. the steak in the evening was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Recommended. Well positioned location, pleasant staff and easy place to stay in Charleville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like. If I were to be super-picky, I suppose because of the Finbar Furey concert at night, by the time we got back from our travels around the region on the day, the front car park was completely full, meaning we had to park around the back. No big deal, but it may have been nice for patrons who were using the accommodation to have allocated 'at the front' parking for easier access. This is a really minor detail though and it's only because I suppose I should write about something remotely negative! So there you go.

    We booked in here purely as Irish musician and legend Finbar Furey was playing, so we combined the tickets to his show with accommodation whilst on our holiday tour of Ireland. So from that point of view the location was perfect for us! The check in/check out process was smooth and staff were cheerful and helpful. The fact that there is a pool and fitness centre appealed to us, however unfortunately due to time constraints were not able to avail ourselves of this. Maybe another time. Breakfast was fine and overall this is a "not-outstanding", but definitely not unpleasant place to stay whilst in the area. Certainly a recommended centre to stay. It is a larger, corporatised venue, and so loses some of the charm and personality that you get in smaller places. I suspect it is a fantastic wedding and functions venue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    went for a wedding
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    window in our room did not open because handle was broke off, to make it worse it was a very very hot day, so room was very stuffy and no air.

    grand big , clean rooms, nice hotel. breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Despite the fans and the queue jumpers we had a great night in a fabulous hotel.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like was view from our room which was flat kind of roof with fans in it. Fans were a bit noisy at night time too. Were there for concert. Would suggest roping off queue area as people came from door inside hotel at abt qtr to eight and went into queue just behind us ahead of people that were there since 7.15. Don't like queue jumpers!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Overall liked everything about this hotel. Décor was lovely, staff friendly and informative. Food great. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    first class
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    loved our stay at the hotel,it was our first visit but we will be back for sure. the staff were amazing,rooms spotless and spacious. food was great and a brilliant leisure centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    The hotel and its facilities were great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel and its facilities were great. I was there for a two day meeting and the meeting facilities and the lunch provided was fabulous. I was put in a family room on my own and had wonderful space all to myself including a bath and a shower which was fabulous!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    5.4
    Overall - disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room could have been better - the first room we were put into, had a very unpleasant smell about it (could have been a smoker in it previously), the second room was ok, but the architrave around the door was actually dirty, looked like work had been done on some aspect of the door, there were black fingerprints and dust around the frame. The room was a family room with two beds, the first thing that caught the eye when entering the room was a massive label exposed on one bed-base, which should have been turned facing the wall, not the room. Grubby-looking cushions on the bed also. You could here the noises of drains from other rooms, eg when people used showers, basins and the water going down the drains. The wind howling through the corridors was loud also. The breakfast was very poor. buffet-style, when you opened up the containers that the cooked food was in, it all looked very unappetising, fatty, the bacon was really fat with a smattering of bacon attached, eggs, watery and pale. No muesli, I was told that they don't do muesli, a waitress came and filled up the orange juice dispenser while I was helping myself to juice (could not wait until I was finished) with packet juice. Coffee was served at the table with no thought to the fact that we didn't have cups on the table. I asked for cups and was told to "take them from another table"! I asked for poached eggs, which arrived after some length of time, I had to leave them, they looked raw, with a piece of very tired looking 'garnish' on top. We paid over €100 euro for B&B, €50/60 would have been about right for the quality of everything. For the prices they charge, the quality of the cooking and food should have been much better. It's a hotel with a lot of potential under the right management. You get the impression that no-one working there has had any sort of training for the job that they do (apart from reception).

    Spacious room & good shower.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Birthday visit
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a large crack in the bathroom sink, large stain on the carpet and window was hard to open and had loose handles.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, good choice of food and drink,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.1
    Good to stay while short business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality food without big choice in the card. Small rooms without clear structure. You have desk and table but no chairs.

    Perfect location, great gym and swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    Lovely facilities
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast could of been better. Food was overcooked and dry.

    Leisure facilities were fantastic.very modern hotel and reception staff were friendly and helpful.Restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.5
    Comfy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room understaffed. Choice limited. Food not available. Tables not cleared. Waited ages to order pot of tea. Luke warm when it arrived. Shame it was disappointing as the rest of the stay was so enjoyable.

    Room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.5
    Grand stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast seemed to be all over the place. No glasses for orange juice, had to wait and then handed a hot glass from the dishwasher for cold juice..!!! Waited also for tea & coffee, about 20 mins before we got it. Quality of the breakfast sausage was shocking bad, really need to looking into it. Never tasted anything like it before, horrible....

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Happy Wedding Guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff friendly and very helpful. Food both in the bar and at the wedding was delicious. Including the baked ham we had at the late night snack. Venue beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.2
    Will stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is strange with the seating, didn't feel easy or comfortable. May I suggest raising the height of the counter and seat small stools instead so if customers want to sit they can

    Food was excellent Plenty of parking Ideal for working between cork and limerick Shower was extra powerful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    6.3
    Good if you get a refurbished riom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is being refurbished. Public areas was nice. First room was rundown and didn't appear clean. Manager moved us to newly refurbished suite. Clean and airy, but final detailing needed to be done.

    Staff friendliness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.1
    Very nice hotel
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that the window didn't fully close and you could hear the wind and traffic outside.

    I liked the very spacious room and the lovely shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.3
    Not bed but not for 4* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not cleaned properly. Big stains on carpet and chairs. Rooms not sound proof.All night could hear snore in next door room.

    Nice staff. Breakfast not bed. Nice complex.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel, very helpful reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we found the breakfast was very greasy which was a little disappointing

    The room was very comfortable and we decided to stay a second night. We found the location suited our needs for the weekend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Enjoyed the stay at Charleville
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing. Would have like a bit more cereal options eg, muesli and there were no baked beans with the fry up

    Rooms and Swimming pool facilities were good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    5.4
    Expensive for what you got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Staff friendly but lacked training especially in the restaurant. Breakfast was not great- terrible coffee, selection average. Soundproofing in rooms poor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Our stay
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding reception in hotel Friday night and there were people outside smoking and generally making a lot of noise until 3am under our window! Paid for a superior room, but couldn't really spot any difference! Only 2 tea bags provided for the tea making facilities!

    Very clean. Comfortable bed. Housekeeping was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff excellent, from Reservation to Bar Staff.
    • Group
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms quite warm.

    Staff excellent, from Reservation to Bar Staff. Food lovely, breakfast service very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Would not stay there again ..because of noise and poor food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was of poor standard ....bar food was very over priced for what you get

    Staff where very helpful at reception. .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Everything else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight confusion initially over the name. I booked the Deerpark hotel but new name is Park hotel!

    Everything else

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: