Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge 4 stars

Merrion Road, D4 Dublin, Ireland

#90 of 150 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4486 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.5
    enjoyable,would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra charge for parking always annoys me. Wine was charged at €17 for two glasses of red despite being €7.50 on menu.(tempranillo) service was very good though and both staff who served us very friendly and attentive. Had asked for tower room when booking but must not have been available, happy memories!!

    Bed comfy, staff friendly and helpful,good service

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Too short to really score
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - far too expensive at 13€- rashers terrible, sausages like leather and no fried eggs on view - may have been available to order but no info forthcoming. Tea and croissants ok

    The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar food was not as advertised. They had a 'restricted' menu which had very little on it and what we had was of a poor quality and took a long time to arrive.

    Reception staff were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    3.8
    Way too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "Superior Room" was merely a chamber. The bathroom wasn't clean, hair everywhere, even after complaint only superficially cleaned. The room was very loud, because it was directly above the hotel's bus stop. The water in the shower wasn't hot, maybe warm at best. The showerhead was firm and there was no real water pressure. The sink didn't drain properly, either. Parking is charged with 12€ for guests. The personnel, while mostly friendly, was really slow and it didn't seem organized at all. Even after complaining no courtesy by the management. 200€ + breakfast + parking is way too expensive for what you get. No recommendation at all.

    We met John Rhys-Davies, who is not only a great actor but also a really nice and friendly person.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.6
    Unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unhappy with the front desk- they control the room temp. The maid service turns it off.. every day 2-3 times you must call and ask for the ac on.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Long weekend Trip to Dublin, Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of amenities in the hotel like swimming pool. Hotel restaurant wasnt great. Tried calling reception from room to book a taxi and no one picked up for good 5min.

    Location of the hotel was good. Close to a Dart station and bus stations. The exterior look of the building was amazing, like a castle. bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    My friends all complimented me on my choice of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good, beautiful, renovated historic building, and staff went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed. In the evening we tried a restaurant nearby which was amazing and then we walked through a pretty park before turning in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Busy bar area with a lot going on, but yet still so homely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy bar area with a lot going on, but yet still so homely, fabulous comfy seating with ambient decor, lovely staff, especially Murtagh behind the bar, no request was too much and always a pleasant smile..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    3.8
    Was okay for one night - personally wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally didn't like the set up and found it was very basic. Reception didn't seem to be helpful or informative. Didn't bother to tell us that extra towels were in the drawer nor advise us of the Wifi password. Silly things but had to phone down and was put on hold of for a long time. The rooms were okay but very dormitory like. We paid similar amounts at hotels and bed and breakfasts in Dublin and around Ireland and got much better value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    On a whole very highly recommended for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff at the counter could know a bit more about bus lines, how to get where in town (we only asked about very common places...). That's surely not for all of them, but some give you wrong connections and times.... although they are friendly and try to be useful.

    The hotel is very well and nicely equipped, in an elegant, not too modern style. The bed is very comfortable. The best of all is the breakfast which met all my wishes, really great! As the bus stops in front of the door, it's also a very convenient location to stay, without the noise of the center.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    5 star staff and food are 5 stars but the old rooms need to be repaired or priced lower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is in need of some minor maintenance and guests can be a bit rowdy at night...

    The staff is really nice and helpful and the restaurant/bar are awesome (but expect a price to match the quality)!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Very nice stay. Very pleased with quality of room, food and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sad that the sausages have got smaller (in size) and there is now only one variety of sausage for breakfast. (There used to be pork and beef sausages.) Also ''Frosties'' have been removed from the breakfast Menu in favour of so-called ''healthier choices''. Statistically, there is no evidence that people eating plain Corn Flakes or Bran or Oatmeal live any longer than us eating Frosties (!) The breakfast fruit salad choice was excellent - including the choiuce of plain and blackcurrent/blackberry yogurt. I missed the excellent bread you could cut yourself as part of the breakfast menu when the hotel was ''Bewleys''. Room was excellent, housekeeping excellent and staff very nice. There is an issue of smokers from the bar constantly opening the door of the Grandstand - and letting the arctic wind into the restaurant because they need to have the door remaining open to get back in (!) (Perhaps someone could think of a solution acceptable to smokers and those freezing in the restaurant whilst the door is constantly opening and closing - and opening and closing - and opening and closing and..................... (you get the message!)

    Unfortunately I eat an old-fashioned ''politically incorrect'' breakfast: rashers, black + white pudding sausages etc. I never eat croissants for breakfast. Sad that the sausages have got smaller (in size) and there is now only one variety of sausage for breakfast. (There used to be pork and beef sausages.) Also ''Frosties'' have been removed from the breakfast Menu in favour of so-called ''healthier choices''. Statistically, there is no evidence that people eating plain Corn Flakes or Bran or Oatmeal live any longer than us eating Frosties (!) The breakfast fruit salad choice was excellent - including the choiuce of plain and blackcurrent/blackberry yogurt. I missed the excellent bread you could cut yourself as part of the breakfast menu when the hotel was ''Bewleys''. Room was excellent, housekeeping excellent and staff very nice. There is an issue of smokers from the bar constantly opening the door of the Grandstand - and letting the arctic wind into the restaurant because they need to have the door remaining open to get back in (!) (Perhaps someone could think of a solution acceptable to smokers and those freezing in the restaurant whilst the door is constantly opening and closing - and opening and closing - and opening and closing and..................... (you get the message!) Many thanks. Patrick

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    nice hotel, though I found the rooms a little cold and no way to change temp
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was cold and had not way to heat the room up despite there being a radiator with a thermostat, I turned it to max and radiator didn't turn on

    nice beds clean room, though a little bit traditional in decor

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing und frustrating
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was generally disappointing. For the price we paid our room was cold, and not very comfortable. There was also a stale smell in the room and the heating wasn’t working at all. The decor was also very dated

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    A little disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recently upgraded room on level 6 was too small to have Kingsize bed. General lack of space for luggage. Housekeeping was not terrific. Had trouble with key card access that may have been our fault (putting card near mobile phone) but not highlighted by staff as possible issue until third and last day. Buffet breakfast was perhaps better than average but not outstanding.

    The location was good. Updated areas were ‘smarter’, as one would expect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Other than point raised which was a housekeeping oversight all was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found faeces on one of the seats in the room. Reported it and action taken immediately to rectify and seat changed and was to be reported to housekeeping manager.

    Very pleased with the bar and restaurant updated since our last visit and the food excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    2.5
    I booked this and ended up not staying as we stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this and ended up not staying as we stayed in balksbridge hotel instead I was charged for the 2 hotels and got no money back even tho I got onto your website and hotel j w/o never use of reccomend booking.com again or this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Very good! Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, lovely new refurbished bar and restaurant area. Great location with bus and trains nearby to get into town, or is approx 35 minute walk if you fancy in a nice day it is a pleasant walk. As we were there for my boyfriends birthday we were given an upgrade for our room which was a lovely gesture. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and restful
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff were not prepared / experienced ? in making our cocktails - which meant a long delay - Dealt with and has been passed on to the Manager.

    Central location - Busy Hotel with staff on shifts - All the staff I spoke with were helpful and professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    Menu in the room was out of date - operator had to read a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in the room was out of date - operator had to read a menu out. Rate for 2nd night was wrong and took 10 minutes to rectify at check out. Order for room service was delivered wrong on both nights. Staff were friendly about everything

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Was just average not worth money we paid
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot for breakfast last Friday morning and the food wasn’t kept being replenishedso wasn’t very nice having the last of it, plus the bar didn’t know when was closing and residents being turned away for a drink at midnight then bar reopening then closing again!

    The beds were extremely comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel. Service poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bar very poor. Waiting 15 minutes for bar food menu. Food very slow in coming out. Then had to ask for cutlery or accompaniments to food. Staff seemed inexperienced. Happened on two nights

    Rooms and decor very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    The bed was super comfortable and the location was great -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super comfortable and the location was great - within walking distance of several restaurants. Also only a few blocks from a DART station, with a short ride into Dublin

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    We stayed for 1 night and wished we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 1 night and wished we could have stayed longer. Its a beautiful hotel, the rooms were lovely, bed really comfortable & the facilities very good. The staff were extremely friendly, my parents even got upgraded as we were celebrating here for the first part of their 50th Wedding anniversary celebration. This definitely made them feel extra special. We would really like to say a big thank you for that. We had an evening meal at the hotel restaurant & the food was so delicious. There was an excellent choice for breakfast also with very attentive staff on hand & excellent coffee!! We had a very enjoyable stay & will definitely book this hotel again ☺

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.2
    Not empressive
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two book the hotel for two people it means Two Towel for the for each, a lil common sense for preparing the room for your guest. Another one We called to order food for room delivery its tooks ages to answer the call, called the reception why no one answering so she will do something about it, now Its already close of restaurant before the get back to me and to tell me its already closed. And offered me pizza for dinner, which im looking forward to get any choices in the menu, im very disappointed 😔 im so hungry from my course and i dont want to go out to get a food because i know what time is the closing of the food delivery in the hotel. Very lazy staff to answer the phone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    Will not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows hard and extremely uncomfortable - two nights of very poor sleep. Tap in bathroom sink not connected to sink! Too many hidden and expensive extras: parking and breakfasts. One night at £100 changed to two nights at £350, so anything but reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Not happy
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could get barely any channels on the TVs, not even BBC or ITV or Sky news. Was stuck wth an all Irish channel and an Irish news channel. Most of the channels said "no Signal". When I complained the receptionist she said it might be due to the storm but nevertheless they would send a man to look at it. When i returned to my room that evening it was just the same. It was not fixed for the rest of my stay. I would not stay there again.

    Bed comfortable. Room very clean. Staff very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Well appointed hotel in Ballbridge but service standard was below what I'd expect from a 4* property
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was average. When I asked a waitress at the buffet if it was possible to get more bacon as the dish was empty, I was told that the chef looks after that ! No bacon reappeared in the 15 minutes I waited. Staff could learn to anticipate what Guests require and an odd smile would not go astray.

    Public areas of the hotel have had a recent refurbishment and are well presented. Rooms lack character and are in need of an overhaul. Lunch options are limited. Coffee and cakes are available but difficult to get a sandwich mid afternoon I found.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    If we were returning to Dublin we would definitely consider returning to the Clayton.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real complaints.

    The bedroom was comfortable and the bed especially so. No air-conditioning so opening the window is fine but heavy traffic noise at night. We did not eat in the hotel but we did find the staff very helpful. Great bus routes right outside and the secure underground parking was excellant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our room but found some of the restaurant staff unfriendly and abrupt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant for lunch for a group of six was very poor. We waited half an hour to be seated in the bar and then sat for another 20 minutes before anyone came. The server was very abrupt and not friendly or apologetic for the long delays. I should mention that the main area for dining was empty. We enjoyed the front desk staff who were very helpful and friendly but the main greeter at the restaurant for breakfast was not on the same page as those at the front desk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Easy check-in & check out, the bar and restaurant were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked about getting a cab and were told that it was too busy a time of day and to simply go to the street to flag one down. We had to walk a long way before we found one.

    Easy check-in & check out, the bar and restaurant were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice location in Ballsbridge, lovely and once used to the buses fairly easy to get to City Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been hotter. Had a bit of trouble with the wi-fi connection .

    Very comfortable bed and pillows. Great view from our top flòor room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Spacious, pleasant, good bar and restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the hotel means it attracts large groups which can be noisy. My bathroom had a rather bad smell and there is very little ventilation.

    Spacious, pleasant, good bar and restaurant. Very good price compared with other Dublin hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Quiet and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complementary toothbrush and toothpaste would be good as i forgot mine

    Had the best sleep in a long timei did not want to get out of bed for breakfast but glad i did good food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Very nice old hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a bit thin- could hear neighbors and people walking i. Hallway early in the morning . No gym or pool Breakfast ok need more vegetarian options Same as restaurant - only vegetarian option was soup or pasta.

    Very nice old hotel . Élégant. Nice dining area and gardens . Beds comfortable - duvets very fluffy. Coffee and tea in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Good Stay Overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more towels in the bathroom - only one large one and one small one in a triple room! Also on check-out, there was only one person on reception which meant the queue to check out took quite a bit of time - it would be good to have more people on reception at busy times. Overall though, my stay was good - these things were minor!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.0
    very dated, tiny shower, 1 towel provided for a two person stay and no soap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    hello, our room was a queen room booked for two people but yet the hotel only provided one towel. the cleaner knocked on our door at 11 am to clean the room when check out was 12 pm, waking us up. Also, the shower was sooo tiny. I am very small and a size 8 and I could barely move in the shower. My husband is a slim guy and he said it wa sthe worst shower he ever had and he could barely move to shower fully. The bathroom has no soap provided so I had to use the shower gel, which meant then we had very little for our shower. The lobby looks like its modern but the rooms are so dated, dated hallways, carpet, bed linen and tiny shower. I would not recommend staying here.

    we checked in late after an event and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Wasn’t great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    24 hour room service 1st night ran out of pizza Next 24 hour wasn’t available I injured myself and a staff member knocked on our door with a drill. Front desk manager was nice and tried to fix it on check out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasnt sure what to expect in terms of location, as everything in Dublin city was ridiculously priced. I have stayed with Clayton group previously in the UK, and thought this should be fine. On arriving the beautiful building, we were greeted by extremely friendly staff, our room was upgraded and we all had a little laugh and a joke. The bedrooms were just perfect, beds really comfy and super fluffy pillows. Clean and just how i like a hotel. There is a train station 5 minutes away (walking), trains are really regular and it's an easy commute. The journey is really short 5-10 minutes depending on your end stop. I took a sneak peak into the banqueting quite, it's high ceilings and chandeliers are just gorgeous, a perfect setting for an event. Overall, a great say, would definitley recommend it and hope to see you again real soon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Mixed Impressions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not having a small refrigerator in the room. The dinners offered in the restaurant are simply awful, with fanciful descriptions, minimal quantities at ridiculous prices for what is served.

    The grounds are well maintained and spacious. . The building is attractive with an 'old world' exterior. ' The breakfasts are excellent and very good value for money. Well worth including in the booking. The reception staff are efficient, responding immediately to requests, but could appear more warm and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    As above , this is the most expensive place we stayed on all our travels aroung the UK and the only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasnt serviced although the sign to service my room was out from 8am, we got back at 5pm and room still wasnt serviced. We advised staff when we checked out and all they said was sorry about that. For what we paid to stay 2 nights I would have expected better service. The reception staff did ask if we wanted to see a superviser, but we were off to catch a plane so didnt have time to wait.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not be fooled by the gorgeous exterior pictures of this place! This beautiful old building has been completely gutted, at the expense of all charm. The staff was slow, ill-informed, and unhelpful. One night we were woken at 1:30 AM to some poor bloke trying to get into our room; he had been given the wrong room number. We had already had a hard time getting to sleep because of some (unexplained) very loud banging noises. The hotel does not follow their own “green” towel policy, so when we got home after a long day, we had to call for them to send up a second bath towel (we waited 45 minutes). The breakfast buffet - while plentiful - left much to be desired. They did eventually compensate us with a small discount, but not nearly enough to feel like they understood how poor was their service. A real disappointment.

    There is a local bus stop right outside. Very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    The good and the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were still in England and knew we wouldn't be able to make it the first two nights but due to how the cancellation button seems to be difficult to get to on the second night we ended up paying the FULL 3 night price for just one night. That's probably a booking site issue though, not the hotel. It would also have been nice to know the elevator from the parking garage was out before we had to carry our luggage up a couple of small flights. We tried to pack light but it still was a little irritating.

    Nice staff, comfortable and clean rooms/bathrooms. Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    The only place to stay in Ballsbridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I always think the breakfast is a bit pricey here so I tend to just go out each morning. Not a big or serious complaint as I'm sure it's lovely, but I'm just not a big breakfast person and I don't like adding breakfast when I book a place because I don't want it every morning.

    I always stay here when I visit Dublin because there is no reason to leave a good thing when it's this good. It's a great hotel with a lovely bar/restaurant. The grounds are lovely as well, and it's just a nice place to come back to in the evening to relax after a day out sightseeing. There are some lovely pubs just down past the RDS towards the city centre (about 100 meters) as well as a nice restaurant, Rolly's, if you're not looking to stray too far at night. The room and bed was great, and very comfortable. Since I was here last a few years ago, they did a great remodel on the bar/restaurant area and it looks impressive and much less dark now.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    worth staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows not properly arranged from house keeping. shower room design should avoid water spilling to other part of the floor.

    bed is comfortable. atmosphere of the building is classic from outside, modern from inside. daily parking facility for hotel guests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    Do Not Upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the opportunity to upgrade room to superior. Dont!!! Its a dated badly kept room that has not been upgraded. Carpet was coming up at doorjam, there was no tea in the room, it didnt feel clean. Overall disappointing for upgraded costs.

    Average

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift not working from garage so had to carry bags up stairs through 5 sets of doors, painful. Not enough staff to handle the breakfast Que.

    Large room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Overnight stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very happy with everything.

    Hotel is in a great location and easy to drive to. Very close to St Vincents Hospital which was great for my stay. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Hotel was spotless. Food was fantastic and very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Reception staff were very professional and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful smell in the room from the drains in the bathroom, so bad it woke us at 7am. The grout on the window in the bathroom was disgusting, black and dirty. Room was also freezing on arrival and heater did not work. Accommodation staff knocked on our door twice at 8.30 ignoring the do not disturb sign. Not really good enough in my opinion. All other staff we dealt with lovely. Would not stay here again.

    Reception staff were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, rooms a bit dated, beautiful from outside. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit dated, but the shower was great and the facilities very clean and comfortable. There wasn't very much that I didn't like!

    Great location, very impressive to look at when arriving, particularly at night time. Food at the bar was delicious. Staff very friendly and a great location. Great sized T.V. in the room, excellent shower. Bar lovely to sit at also for a quick bite and drink!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    Our room was outdated and uncomfortable, noisy surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was outdated and uncomfortable, noisy surroundings. Breakfast was ok, plenty of selection but the hot food was cold. There’s better hotels around this area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Unfortunately I left am item of clothing Lovely ivory...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I left am item of clothing Lovely ivory jumpsuit behind .Bought it especially for my night out. When rang hotel no-one could find it .Was very disappoint with response. Left it hanging on bathroom door .Whoever entered the room after we checked out would have found it.Disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    The Hotel is pretty well located, 8 minutes from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was not for free, 12 euros per day, and we had some problems with the payment at our checkout.

    The Hotel is pretty well located, 8 minutes from the city center. The breakfast, although not included, is quite outstanding. The staff was pretty helpful and friendly and we were assigned a room with two beds although I had asked only for a double.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    The bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived into our room there was still small about of rubbish from guests beforehand . Paying a lot for one night expected More for cleanliness . Felt a bit robbed of money . We ordered chips downstairs at the bar and waited 20 minutes before we went up and asked again . When they did arrive they weren’t exactly warm

    The bed was very comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again, would recommend for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room is two double beds and no option of a double and two singles. Beds a little uncomfortable but fine for a short stay. No air conditioning.

    Room was clean, breakfast selection was excellent, hotel well situated for exploring Dublin

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    good place to see Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar food was okay, i had fish and chips , satisfying , hubby had a burger. He stated he has eaten better tasting burgers We stayed two nights but did not have a renewal of shampoo or shower goods on second day. We asked (left a note for the maid) for more tea bags and milk as we drink alot of tea however this was not given - where have the buscuits gone ??. Room would have benefited from a small fridge Parking underground - tight entrance and exit!

    Comfortable Bed Change of towels clean room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Was very annoyed when charged €12 overnight parking.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very annoyed when charged €12 overnight parking. Price was misleading as parking was not included. Could have stayed in 5 star Radission hotel Stillorgan with free parking for less than cost of Clayton ballsbridge. Will not return because of this.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.0
    Building and grounds were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room smelled of cigarettes; second room was extremely dusty, especially around the radiator screens and the duvet comforters; the beds were very hard and uncomfortable; mattress protector did not fit the beds and there was no top sheet on either bed.

    Building and grounds were nice. Restaurant had reasonable food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel, Friendly Staff, Super Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived earlier thank check in, the hotel staff offered to take our bags and bring to our room when it was available. This was a nice touch. The hotel was extremely clean and the location was suberb for the event we were attending in Herbert Park. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful building, but not so quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather loud. Both nights of our stay were interrupted by a lot of activity going on in one of their adjacent buildings. As there is no A/C, keeping the window ajar offered the only relief for a warm room. Unfortunately, this wasn’t possible, as that only made it louder, and the full lights on shon brightly into our room.

    It has a beautiful, traditional exterior, that is complimented by a comfortable furnishings. The hotel staff were gracious, and able to accommodate an early checkin.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    We enjoyed this hotel enough to return to it on our return to Dublin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We noticed that Irish pillows are very hard.

    The greeting was very warm. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was easy to access by public transportation. The area was walkable and featured a number of good restaurants. It was in the city but not noisy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, could only open the window maybe 4 inches. Had to pay for parking, no leisure facilities, lifts were broken and no offer to carry your luggage up the stairs. Service was very slow in the bar.

    Location and clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    Not up to usual standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The lifts from the car park weren’t working. 2. We stayed 2 nights on the second day having been gone all day returned at 5 pm to find our room hadn’t been cleaned. They sent someone up when we rang reception & she did a cursory clean. 3. Breakfast on Sunday was so disorganised we ended up setting our own table.

    It’s a great location and it has parking. We booked a deluxe twin room but we got an executive room which was great. The reception staff were very good. They do an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant & bar very understaffed resulting in very slow service. Food excellent, bar staff need more training - e.g. they couldn’t make an Irish coffee !

    Well furnished, clean & friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    We liked the hotel, better than expected, must have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked the hotel, better than expected, must have been renovated not long ago, at least the bathrooms are pretty new. Only bit of trouble was the loud music noise from a weeding happening in the hotel lasting until a bit more than midnight. I would recommend anyway, also good location close to the DART Sandymount.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Food sat night tasteless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food sat night tasteless. Breakfast was cold. There was a light bulb flickering in the room which meant we couldn’t use main lights. Batteries in Telly remote were dead.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for early check in,was told to book a room for night before.Lift from garage not working,resident bar closed early,no coffee in room,also no shower curtain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's where I laid my head the night limerick bridged a 45 year gap to bring Liam McCarty back to the banks of the Shannon. A day I will never forget

    The area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    First time I stayed in a hotel that we were told no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time I stayed in a hotel that we were told no residents bar at 12 o clock and the next thing the Hoover was produced given one drink tv turned off u believable on the night of an all ireland final won’t get caught next year

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay for us seasoned visitors and our friends, who were in Irelabd for their first visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are so comfy, the staff very eager to assist, and the hotel is very well situated. Altogether a rewarding experience for our 3 nights! Food was good and plentiful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    Ok but could be better. Grand looking entrance is kind of misleading as rest of property is average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in experience, unprofessional. Wrong room, wrong amount of nights initially. Card stopped working late on day 2. Payment terms extremely unclear

    Big comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.2
    I liked the overall look of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait more then an hour to get food for the two nights when it wasn't that busy the sheets kept coming of the bed and my son would find he'd been sleeping on mattress the next day the cleaner didn't do a good job of cleaning

    I liked the overall look of the building

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Fancy hotel, outside of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as close to the city as I had thought by reading reviews. 20 mins by taxi to get to the downtown city area.

    I enjoyed that you could walk up the street to the pubs and it wasn’t in a touristy area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay for car parking when it says in the website you have parking ! It should be more clear about saying that the hotel parking isn’t free !

    Hotel is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.5
    Not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went in the morning to have breakfast and... Surprise: the plates were dirty. Thought it was only one plate so I put it on a side but it was all of them. Front side (of the plates) with dry food remains and greasy, with marks; back side of them even worse. Told a guy that was working there about it and also to the restaurant's supervisor (Patrick) and he offered me something to drink in the bar but as I told him I'm driving so I don't drink, he asked if I want to talk to the general manager. I said yes, but the manager never came to talk. I also left a note for the manager to mail me, at the reception to Rodica (the female receptionist): still no answer! On the website and here on booking, shows bathtubs but the rooms are equipped with showers only (on the website says only about baths, not showers), so again disappointing. Had to wait over 10 mins to get the bill printed because the man had no idea how to do it. When I left, the only thing they were doing was saying goodbye and nothing else. So I asked for a bill and the man looked at me like I requested something I shouldn't have. What kind of a 4 star hotel are you? Your customer service is horrible and looks like all you care is to get people's money and nothing else. It's a disgrace!

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: