Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Ireland hotel reviews
  3. Dublin County hotel reviews
  4. Dublin hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviews of Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Merrion Road, D4 Dublin, Ireland

#90 of 153 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4712 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel stay for Christmas shopping trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, will absolutely stay here again

    I had booked two rooms for 4 adults, my 12 year old daughter was a last minute addition. When we went to check in we were warmly greeted by Caoimhe, I explained about my daughter.. Nothing was a problem, she was very helpful and professional which was very much appreciated. Later we ate in the bar. Our party consisted of 3older ladies,(80s)myself and my daughter. One of the older ladies picked off the children's menu as she isn't a great eater. Carolina was wonderful and didnt cause a fuss..We had a beautiful chicken and prawn noodle dish, pizza, burgers and a kids sausage n chips.. All were very tasty and well presented and nicely priced.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.2
    The bed was very comfy, all the facilities and accessories...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is dated and not in keeping with the modern upgrade of the rest of the hotel but i presume this is in the overall plan to renovate the hotel fully eventually. Need usb port in rooms nowadays also.

    The bed was very comfy, all the facilities and accessories provided good standard no complaints

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is nice with a hip bar and a great breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The doors slam very hard and it’s easy to hear when a neighbour comes back to their room. Also, it was difficult to find filtered/bottled water in the hotel.

    The hotel is nice with a hip bar and a great breakfast buffet. It’s clean and has a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    8.8
    Located near DART.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar service was very slow. Always missing ingredients for cocktails and closed early for a hotel.

    Located near DART. Easy to get to city centre. Quiet, comfortable clean rooms. Large choice of room types.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    6.3
    Very comfy bed, nice shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t get the heating to work properly and cleaner was very very lazy, each day not doing both coffee cups and glasses also very tight with the milk Most days the packets of biscuits were all broken

    Very comfy bed, nice shower

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.8
    Parking good rate for overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No herbal tea or chocolate option. Room in top floor hall area cold. Bathroom had low shelf not suitable to bending No body lotion this time. Slower water slow to clear whilst showering. Staff a bit aloof...(as if they were important not the customer)

    Parking good rate for overnight. Room comfortable Breakfast good value

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud due to Christmas parties and also quite a bit further out than I thought so spent a lot on transport into the city

    Beautiful inside. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.8
    Not what I was expecting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very cold. Upon check in the receptionist said he was going to give us a room with 2 double beds instead of a double and a single. The upgrade was in the basement looking out the window at the drain pipes. Too tired to request a move. Also the cost of the carpark. Paid 12 Euro for overnight and 9.20 on the day of arrival so very expensive

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    Had to pay for parking at hotel even though we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to pay for parking at hotel even though we were residents of hotel for two night. Cost us 12€ per night. This was an additional charge on top of room rate. Pillows were extremely hard to sleep on in room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.1
    The public areas of the hotel were really nice and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little old fashioned but to be fair were very clean and comfortable for the amount of time you spend in a hotel room. Breakfast was a little frantic and the staff seem under pressure but there is a good choice of food

    The public areas of the hotel were really nice and modern. Great location, walking distance to town but also have the choice of public transport right on the door step

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking charges €12! Didn’t realize this was extra until after I had booked. The bar area seating looked nice but was uncomfortable, also it was all very open with no privacy

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    5.0
    Room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was awful, computers were down, staff were Curt. Delayed by at least 30mins When we eventually got booked in I phone reception for a taxi as they had said to do. Four times I tried with no answer. Went down and no taxis avaliable and no apologies. Staff in bar were friendly but very disorganized we waited ages for our food then got one meal and had to wait at least 5-6mins for the second meal. Noise during night from music so hard to sleep

    Room was very clean. Breakfast was lovely and staff were great at breakfast service. Check out was easy and much nicer staff on reception

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.2
    A GREAT OPTION AND BEAUTIFUL HOTEL.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one sad thing is that the staff are all very unhappy. It was mentioned to me a number of times. My waiter told me not to add a tip to my meal and drinks, in their FABULOUS bar and Restaurant, because he said he didn't much if any of it. I took that to mean that he was unhappy and took what he said with a grain of salt....until two more employees said that they were planning to leave because the management treated them like garbage and that they were losing self-respect by working there. Management should definitely look into why all their staff are unhappy because I don't want to feel like the people who work for the hotel are mistreated.

    This hotel blew my expectations away. The Photos on Booking.com don't do it justice....I was expecting a dowdy business hotel that I got because it was cheap. I was blown away by the quality of the hotel, the new renovations, the rooms, everything.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel for all with excellent transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to consider waiting times re service in food/ drink areas.

    We were visiting RDS for the Gifted design event and the hotel was ideally situated within few minutes walk. Easy transfer to & from airport using the relevant Aircoach (no.703 every half hour at time of our stay) which drops off & picks up just in front of hotel. 4 min walk to Dart Station which gave easy & quick access to centre of Dublin. Hotel was very welcoming, quite (we had a family room) and had excellent comfortable bar/lounges. Staff were friendly yet still very efficient and the reception area was well manned. Really enjoyed our stay and made our visit to Dublin easy & relaxing even though we shopped til we dropped.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.3
    Attractive building and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would prefer firmer pillows.

    Attractive building and easy to find. Reception staff were professional, friendly and efficient. Hotel beds were comfortable and rooms clean. Very pleasant stay and would select this hotel again. Was allowed to leave my car in the car park after check out to allow us to shop in the city. Wonderful touch.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    5.4
    Handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn’t get parked despite the fact we were guest checking in to stay. Staff not helpful Manager extremely rude Long queues to check in Room very small

    Handy location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Yes, superb breakfast, excellent selection of diary and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yes, superb breakfast, excellent selection of diary and first class full Irish. Quiet room, nice staff, good festive decorations, excellent bed and sufficient toiletries, the instructions on use of shower mechanism an excellent idea and should be standard in all hotels! newspaper, great location for visit to RDS "Gifted" Fair. I have stayed (formerly Bewleys) many times in the past and attended the Travel Dept Garden Holidays launch.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    6.7
    Good day enjoy it but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid €232 in total and breakfast not included. I found that a bit much and I think that's the general view point on all Dublin hotels. Too expensive not worth it. You paid the same for hotel europe in killarney but that's worth the money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant base for weekend in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit too far out of city centre but we availed of taxis and bus

    Helpfulness of staff, especially Imelda and Mary Rose at reception. Spacious interior and quiet ambiance

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying for parking at a hotel car park is very annoying 😡 outside of hotel is lovely as is the areas they have done up. Rooms are out dated and in need of modernisation.

    Location is excellent. We ate in the restaurant and food was food there

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.2
    Wonder 1st anniversary had by the Gallen's in the Clayton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I haven't anything to say as everything was delightful, no complaints at all, 100% would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Dublin it was so easy to find as well.

    the hotel room was better than our honeymoon suite!!! we went to a concert for our first wedding anniversary and was delighted with the location the venue and the staff, everything was delightful, no complaints at all, 100% would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Dublin it was so easy to find as well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    5.4
    Stay across the road at the other hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor customer service. No quality control. Forget to makeup room. Room service food very late and very cold. Window broken so very loud wind noise. Management had no interest in providing me with an apology. I emailed a formal complaint they didn't even respond to that.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.1
    Location was good.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not overly friendly. Extra charges to park car. Cost rather high. Shower curtain very outdated.

    Location was good. Room comfortable. Good supply of toiletries body lotion etc.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.3
    stayed many times before and will continue to do so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really to dislike - been many times before - beds comfortable - decoration a bit drab in rooms but love the hotel and will be back.

    Have stayed here on and off for many years - love the building exterior and the large area outside the bar where there is plenty room to sit and have a pint/coffee. Staff were helpful - in getting a taxi on a wet night. Front of house areas newly refurbished. Staff helpful at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.1
    Ideal for what i needed - unfortunate about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    i ordered food and drink in the bar area. got my drink but unfortunately had to wait 40 minutes before I had to find my waitress and tell her to cancel the food order - we had no time left to eat as we were attending a concert - meant that we had to go out without a meal :( The waitress was very apologetic about this and I felt it wasnt her fault - a mix up in the kitchen, i'd say

    The closeness of the hotel to a lot of venues was great and I found the staff I dealt with were wonderful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant were advertising €28 for a 2 course Meal so we booked but all had changed they had a pre Christmas menus when we sat down we complained so we got it for the original price so we were happy but if you didn’t complain you would be paying much more

    Lovely rooms

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    4.6
    Good location, clean rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to ask to get moved at 1am coz of a party in the function room. Our room was located right above it and there isn’t any sort of sound proofing... you could hear the words to songs not just banging.

    Good location, clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.5
    Great Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some building / painting work still going on No water in rooms - usually applicable in 4 star hotel TV channels not accessible

    Breakfast Bar area Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.5
    Relaxed, comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly helpful staff provided a quick check in. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Later at the bar the staff went out of their way to make dirty martinis for us. The setting and grounds are beautiful. Had a quick and easy checkout. Will be back!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.3
    Good location. Refurb ongoing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a room on the lower floor, called floor 1 but really basement level. No daylight got into the room. Felt like being underground. The corridor and areas leading to our room were unfinished, walls had writing on them with instructions for what was to be done. It was not pleasant walking to our room. The room itself was fine but felt unfinished...the refurb is ongoing but I think they should have at least finished it a bit more before using that floor.

    The location is good. The renovation of the communal areas, bar restaurant etc is nice enough.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful building and surroundings, front desk helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mini bar was empty. The window was slightly open (works with a key) so room was never completely quiet. Minor flaw, slept extremely well thanks to high quality bed, pillows and duvet :)

    Beautiful building and surroundings, front desk helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable and cleaned to perfection, I ended up cancelling my dinner plans and ordered room service instead.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.2
    I will certainly include this as a preferred hotels I use in Dublin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some construction going on but that will finish and is only a temporary inconvenience. Wifi was free but I resorted to using my phone as a hotspot since applications were struggling with the hotel connection.

    Interesting brick building from the 19th century. For me this was a great location since its about 30 minutes walk from the centre or to UCD. The value is very good for this kind of distance and if you enjoy walking in Dublin its well located. Good number of place to eat within walking distance or a short taxi ride. The hotel has significantly more parking than many and is fairly easy to get to approaching from the south side of Dublin.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    . There was some renovations on going.... but really this wasn't an inconvenience, some of the decor in the bedrooms is dated

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly. Location is great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Perfect bar the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a full Irish breakfast and 90% was stone cold

    Everything bar the breakfast we liked the way the staff made sure we were comfortable in the room because my fiancés wheelchair couldn't fit in the first room so they tried another one she still couldn't fit so they tried a third room which was a family room and it was perfect she had a lot of room to move her wheelchair and even in the bathroom will definitely stay here again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel good room but breakfast service and bar service could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in horrendous said they did not have one of our bookings Which they did find after some time but damage already done. Breakfast chaotic . Coffee took ages no one looking had to pysically get some one to take order. No explanation of service when seated . Buffet food not overly hot. Choice of food I. E pastries juices etc good. Sausages were deep fried so not very nice and scrambled eggs seemed synthetic. Such a shame. In the evening went down for a cocktail menus on the table when ordering told do not do them on match night and a wedding was on. Unbelievable as bar was not busy.felt they just did not want to do them. So went to another hotel bar that was packed and drank many cocktails.

    Hotel was nice and in a nice area a little out of town but if you get dropped just before baggot stree grafton street is easily in walking distance. Bus stop right outside for airport and town

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.6
    Good quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scrambled egg was available in the buffet but no fried egg, which I prefer...just a very small issue.

    Good hotel. Efficient check in and check out. Parking was available and reasonable at Euro 12 per day. Good buffet for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, great ambiance at reasonable cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The chips were cold !

    I loved the hotel. Lovely Irish staff behind reception and the bar which makes such a difference in Dublin City. This hotel far surpassed the so called flag ship hotel in O Connel Street we stayed in the previous weekend and it was half the cost. The location was better for the Aviva stadium and the hole ambiance much better ***** HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds, room nice size, great variety for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you wanted something late to eat at night not the best procedure if you wanted to eat in the dining room Think this could be improved

    Comfy beds, room nice size, great variety for breakfast Couldn’t find a fault

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hash browns for breakfast :-(

    Beds very comfy! location excellent for rugby, RDS or Aviva, coffee at the Grandstand Bar was worth the drive to Dublin for!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    4.6
    Shockingly terrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor service both nights at the restaurant. We had to constantly ask for our orders and on the second night we weren't acknowledged. We had to get our own menus and were ignored when calling staff over. My room had ripped bedding which was inside out, my tea hadn't been replaced from the previous occupant and my towel had a blood stain which clearly wouldn't wash out. When I reported this via Twitter, I was ignored.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.7
    The building is very impressive to look at, it is well laid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed to be given a disabled room, bathroom floor was very wet after showering,unable to use bathroom after unless boots where worn, also nowhere in bathroom to set toiletries or cosmetics, the adapted toilet seat for disabled use was very off putting, and it would have been nice to have had a soak in a bath after a energetic day out shopping, the food in the grandstand bar was limited choice, very basic and greatly overpriced, this ontop of children running along the corridor knocking doors to 11.20pm defenitely spoilt what was otherwise a great weekend in Dublin.

    The building is very impressive to look at, it is well laid out inside, it is in a good location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.7
    Great location to get the dart into Dublin, or a walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were quite unhelpful a few times but the reception staff were very nice. Beds were very hard.

    Great location to get the dart into Dublin, or a walk to the Aviva.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.7
    Mediocre
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been more informative. No information on breakfast, check out times or where restaurant was.

    While I made the mistake of thinking I had booked for two nights the reception was very helpful and understanding. It was my mistake, but she was patient and kind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    On the whole very good. Good access to car park and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much furniture in a smallish room. a table 2 easy chairs and a workstation chair. The result being there was little room to move about on that side of the bed. Also, no space to put luggage down on the floor. No need for an extra 3 chairs.

    bed very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Will 100% be staying again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, very very happy

    Loved every part of it, staff were so friendly and relaxed which I enjoyed, sometimes people are too formal! Clayton brought a nice balanced of professional but also a nice relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing, expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer service was dreadful, everything was done in a hurry not at all welcoming or warm. When asked to be taken off breakfast as we had planned to leave early we were told we couldn't be refunded the cost of breakfast bluntly. The room was not what we had requested extremely small and not as described when the booking was made, terrible value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately it felt like all the staff were new to the job and struggled at times to understand English. They were helpful but struggling.

    Very comfortable room, surroundings and bar. Secure parking. Good food.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.6
    Convenient to the Aviva but otherwise only just about satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff while professional, they were not friendly. Car park is the tightest I've ever driven. Car park fee.

    Location is near the Aviva. Parking is available.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    3.8
    Nothing really it was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I went into the room 510 it was FREEZING LIKE ICE. The cover for the radiator was broken . The bathroom was freezing . No radiator or heat in the there . I turned in the heat for the radiator four hours later it started to heat barely. The room was adjacent to another with a connecting door . I slept with the single duvet from the spare bed and the double duvet and and an extra blanket to keep me warm 😩😩😩😩😩

    Nothing really it was ok

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.9
    Reception staff were courteous and professional, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast awful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast hot food was a little sad - the scrambled eggs were congealed and the sausages look deep fried. No server came to our table to offer tea and coffee - we had to ask someone. She responded with a monosyllablic grunt, vanished into the prep. area and arrived back with a pot of tea and one of coffee without having asked what we would like, and her manner was distinctly perfunctory.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money, very clean, great location, nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No power outlets beside the beds; would prefer a shower door to a shower curtain.

    Good value for money, very clean, great location, nice and generous tea/coffee facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    Overall very pleased with room comfort and professional service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower control lever in the bathroom seemed to have only one possible position for a decent shower - anything a little Clockwise or Anti-Clockwise produced extremes of heat or cold. No possibility to fine-tune the temperature.

    I enjoyed a comfortable stay in the Clayton Hotel highlighted by a prolonged sleep of 10 hours. The location was perfect for my needs, since I was attending an event in a hotel across the road. The early evening in Dublin on Friday was notable for a deluge of rain and traffic problems but the Clayton Hotel was an oasis of calm. Fine professional service from all concerned.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    Nice comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff, very helpful. Gave us early check in at no extra cost. Very convenient for Aviva, RDS etc. Bus passes outside the door for city centre. Great buffet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lifts very slow. Also on each occasion it took at least 5 attempts to get room key to work.enjoya

    Location was great. Breakfast was good but felt it should have provided more egg choices e.g. fried or omelettes. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.8
    Not what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not great. The ironing board fell off the wall when I arrived. The towels while clean were off white in colour. On one of the nights it was very noisy. It was next to impossible to get a taxi from reception. If I had been aware of this I would have made other arrangements but this caused me a lot of stress. I attended a function on one of the evenings in the restaurant and the food was excellent.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    4.2
    Substandard of a hotel of this price and star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not cleaned on 2nd day. Staff surly and unfriendly. No way of controlling the temperture in the room (it was cold) Charged for breakfast (which is not normal in Ireland or UK) - EUR13 for a slice of toast & cup of tea ?

    Good location Well appointed rooms - comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Amazing building in a great location especially as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing building in a great location especially as we were in Dublin for the Ireland vs All Blacks game. The staff were great and even gave us a free upgrade which was very much appreciated!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean although bathroom a little worn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not ready when we arrived at 3.45pm and we were told that we would have to wait 30 minutes to and hour for the room. In the end we had to wait 30 minutes but this is not acceptable regardless of how busy a hotel is. First receptionist we spoke to on check in was not helpful in the slightest- even tried to make out we had booked two rooms when our booking confirmation clearly stated one room. Then tried to pretend he was doing us a favour cancelling the second room we hadn’t booked. This is extremely sharp practice. The heating was extremely high such that the rooms we stifling. Other guests commented on this also

    Room was clean although bathroom a little worn

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Food was very good and room was very comfortable and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff not very helpful in the restaurant and the breakfast room. Trying to get staff's attention is almost impossible to get service sometimes.

    Food was very good and room was very comfortable and warm. Bathroom was spotless and hotel in a great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    The location is excellent and the staff is wonderful. The accommodations are unique and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel ran out of stamps which was a minor inconvenience

    My sister hurt her leg and since the tub was high she could not use it. Upon request we were immediately moved to a handicap accessible room. This enhanced our stay greatly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I had a little city break, and it was just a tad too far from the city centre about 40 minutes walk, but it's a really minor thing.

    Lovely hotel; couldn't complain about anything; clean, really helpful staff with good facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.5
    Comparatively good price in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door lock broken. Needed night manager to let us in. He did apologize.

    Bed was comfortable. At check in was asked about my floor preference and gave me room with a view when I asked for it.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.9
    Stayed 3 nights, stay here at least 4 times a year for a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I choose this hotel for its location and coming for years and I'm sorry but I don't like your new dining room chairs. The arm rests are so low, they can't be used as arm rests. If using the car park, be very careful, the entrance turning is practically 90 degrees and very tight. I'm using it for years with no problem but this time I have scratched my back door trying to go around corner.

    Stayed 3 nights, stay here at least 4 times a year for a couple of days. Dinner is tasty but a simple sandwich on evening menu would be great! Breakfast on final morning was very frustrating to say the least. Travelling alone, was shown a table, left my newspaper down on table and went to buffet breakfast, came back with water and fruit, newspaper gone!. Got up and got another newspaper, sat down, asked for tea and fried egg for breakfast. Got up to get cooked breakfast, came back, side plate for toast gone, got up again to retrieve side plate, sat down, water and mug gone from table. Asked for mug! Waited and waited! Reluctant to get up again in case anything else disappeared from table. After 5-7 minutes, got up again and went to front desk, asked for mug and my ordered fried eggs, told staff member that every time I got up, something disappeared from table. She laughed, I was not impressed and told her that I didn't find it funny, I had a full business day in front of me and this crap was delaying me. Sat down, mug came, a couple of minutes later, fried eggs came, so hard and cold, must have been waiting a long time to be collected. Food was fine but I was annoyed!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.2
    I liked the location and the breakfast was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked the location and the breakfast was superb. The evening meal was particularly well presented with amazing flavours and textures. The menu has some real sophistication and exposes a talented chef.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    Bed was comfy and the location is brilliant for any events...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are nice but a little bit dated in comparison to the reception and restaurant area

    Bed was comfy and the location is brilliant for any events in the RDS or Aviva Stadium.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Veeery good - super recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a bit smaller than expected but very clean and modern design.

    Roberto and Gabriel extremely professional and welcoming at reception. Clean room and got a free update.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    Birthday Night Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficulty parking Early closure of residents bar Finding previous guests dirty underwear in our room

    Location. Rooms have been renovated since i last stayed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Patricia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cyayton hotel, Ballsbridge: I loved this hotel. Room was spacious and very clean. Staff very friendly. Great location. It is definitely 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing, with such potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room was very disappointing, apparently we were upgraded to a kingsize room, hard to believe there would be a a room smaller than the one we were in, 33 euros for breakfast in room and asked to pay on delivery, not very happy, wouldn't stay there again. Check in took forever, receptionist on another call while checking us in.

    Bed very comfortable, room temperature good, great to be able to open a window.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Would probably stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The underground carpark is very poor, and was full by 3:30pm. We were then told to park on the street, we were lucky to get a space. Also did not like house keeping knocking on our door at 11:30, to 'check the rooms'. Bar staff were very slow to serve drinks.

    The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    Room & hotel setting is very nice, staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we arrived at 3pm we could not get a room as none were available which was very dissapointing as we were attanding a function and needed to freshen up even though check in is advertised from 2pm. Later that night when we returned to the hotel our luggage was still stored at reception and not even brought to our room. We also looked for room service but were told it wasn't available.

    Room & hotel setting is very nice, staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Nice atmosphere, great location, great parking,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot at night, variety in pillows would be great, personally it was too high and hard for me.

    easy check in, rooms very quiet, nice coffee/snack bar downstairs, easy and good value overnight parking, easy access to town with DART and buses outside,

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    4.2
    Car park was over full had to go down and move car an hour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park was over full had to go down and move car an hour after our arrival. We could hear every word spoken next door wall very thin.. Breakfast we were down at 10am breakfast was served until 11am that morning ..We were put out in a room on our own nobody came near us with tea or coffee we had to go looking for waitress . poor selection of food on offer and what we did get was cold .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lifts are quite slow

    Location was excellent, right next to a dart station for easy access the the city. Room was very clean and staff were super friendly and so accomodating. We arrived 4 hours early, we were checked in and our room was even upgraded upon arrival.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Nice Hotel, Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that we had to pay €12 to park on the hotel grounds.

    Location is good if attending the Aviva Stadium. Bar food was excellent! We had a quick check in so no hanging around. Room was pretty big and shower was lovely. Over all a lovely hotel. Will consider staying here again when next attending the Aviva Stadium.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: