Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clayton Hotel Galway 4 stars

Old Monivea Road, Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland

#20 of 42 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2842 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Can't say enough good things
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hardly anything I can think of that I didnt like. The hotel was a few miles away from the center of town but my kids and I were comfortable taking the city bus which was inexpensive.

    Everything! The staff were very friendly. There was a "kids club" after 6 PM that provided babysitting until 9. The pool was lovely, the restaurant and bar were excellent and reasonably priced. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, and we were able to check in two hours early (we asked in advance). The staff at this hotel went above and beyond to make sure our experience was top notch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall we had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the bar personality very poor.

    The beds are to die for great sleep.Very quiet for such a busy location.Staff at breakfast very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Good stay at the Clayton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough bar or waiting staff Long wait for table to be cleared after dinner Noisey road beside the hotel

    Very nice clean rooms Air Con in rooms Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent family friendly facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super family friendly facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights with a toddler and a 5 years old and we couldn't have had a more pleasant experience. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Definitely not a 4 star hotel! Maybe the extra star was added as a joke?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival there was crazy noise at the reception as they were having a wedding in the lobby. Then on the way to our rooms the hotel smelled of old furnitures and damp and then as you might expect the rooms decorations were from 1980s. Bathtub was super small like it was made for hobbits. The location if the hotel is like the worse. Its at a 35 min drive through traffic to the cool city center. Want to use the pool? Forget it, it closes at 8pm lol, so no after dinner swim.

    Comfortable bed. It was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Poor service & a very dirty swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on Sunday for a 2 night stay. We availed of the leisure centre on arrival. The pool was dirty it hadn’t been cleaned in a number of days at it was very cloudy I could not see the bottom of the pool. The steam room was also out of order. We came back two days later the pool was cleaned it had obviously been back washed, but the steam room was still out of order. Later that evening we decided to eat in the hotel bar. It wasn’t a friendly welcoming environment the staff almost didn’t want to see us. We sat ourselves down and waiting a few minutes for menus very poor service. I was told they didn’t have what I wanted to order as it was busy, I then choose a beef burger which I was informed 5 minutes they also didn’t have after my order being taking. I settled for the chicken burger but I was not satisfied with the lack of knowledge and interest of the waiter. We were offered two free drinks we had two full minerals and I did not see the need on accepting something I wouldn’t finish. The staff looked disjointed and scattered I also noticed other issues on surrounding tables. We didn’t use the hotels food. facilities after this poor first time expression.

    Very friendly arrival to main reception nice and helpful staff she was very informative. First visit to the leisure centre was also very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay at the Clayton
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone elses dirty plates from room service left overnight on the hall outside our room.

    Bar food excellent. Bar staff excellent. Morning breakfast was great. Swimming pool .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault this hotel on much at all. The only small suggestion for improvement is for the basement parking area. Needs a bit of a clean up. Random objects laying around and doesn’t give the best first impression on arrival to the hotel.

    The staff, food and room were all top class. We stayed in one of the executive suites which were beautifully designed and decorated. All staff we came across were friendly and went out of their way to help you! Fantastic service!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is not ideal for young kids as there is kids section.

    Nice modern hotel. Great breakfast. Did not eat in restaurant but the bar food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Superb Galway Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our family room was very spacious and modern. The room was split between the beds and an area to relax and watch tv, but you could rotate the tv/mirror in the dividing wall to watch tv in bed or at the seating area. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very pleasant. Whilst the hotel is not central it is easy enough to drive to the city centre or get a taxi (20 mins journey and taxis cost around €15).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Rooms were well designed, staff were friendly and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered room service on first night of stay and presentation of food could have been alot better. Chicken wings that were ordered as starters were cold and food seemed like it was just thrown in microwave. Apart from that all other aspects of stay were very good

    Rooms were well designed, staff were friendly and it was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Summy in Galway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, on bus route to city centre. Good parking, we wanted to park up as Galway parking is so expensive. Good AC during a heatwave. Attractive rooms with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    A pleasure from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wouldn't say we didn't like anything to be honest, but would recommend maybe changing to Jacuzzi baths in the Suites as it would have really set off the bathroom even more. And a pet hate of mine (Sausages) could have been better but still not bad :)

    Best hotel we have stayed in - in Ireland and believe me there has been loads! Everything was flawless from start to finish, we booked at a good price and upon stating we had stayed with them before were upgraded from a standard double room to a Executive Suite which was out of this world! Breakfast was great and the location suited us down to the ground. On checking out we met two marvelous members of staff who chatted with us and looked up future dates for staying again for the Galway races. - Simply could not recommend this hotel enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the stay was an unforgettable experience. Just the bed was a tad bit uncomfortable, but that's just my opinion. Other than that the staff were excellent, the hotel was excellent. Everything was more than spot on.

    The property is unbelievably clean. The staff were incredible, food was exquisite. The gym was very well maintained. Prices were reasonably low.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Lovely room - spacious, very bright and clean with really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely room - spacious, very bright and clean with really comfortable bed. Tea/Coffey in room. No noise from passing traffic at back of hotel. Air conditioning in room. Very good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Room big, reception staff very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms after first night as room was overlooking a busy dual carriage way and we were travelling with a child -far too noisy. Staff very nice about it though and we got moved straight away

    Room big, reception staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Nothing bad to say.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the hotel.

    The facilities were Great. We had a huge room, which was great with a two year old(plenty of room to run around). Food was lovely we had an evening meal in the bar. Location was Great, we were able to get a bus into the city. Great trip to great city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    We were not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ‘ok’ definitely not worth the money we booked a suite and it ‘nice’. The air conditioning stopped working it was impossible to sleep with the heat in the room. The barman gave my partner the wrong wine on two occasions. We ordered room service for the breakfast as a treat it was ‘Stone cold’!! When we went to Check out and informed the lady on reception of our ‘bad’ experience she didn’t appear bothered. She refunded the money for the breakfast and said that the air conditioning had crashed in the hotel (should we not have been informed of this when it happened) It was a complete waste of €214....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Overall we had a lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service for bar food could have been better. The bar was quiet when we were there but still had to wait for waitresses to come to our table, and eventually we had to call them over.

    Friendliness of staff and our room was located in a lovely quiet area , so no noise

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Super cosy, clean and an overall enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were extremely comfy and rooms were extremely clean. Rooms come with a TV and a safe and the bathroom was super clean. Cleaning staff come in every day and replace your towels, soaps, shower gel, and shampoo as well as make/change your bedding. Staff was super friendly and the 24-hour reception is super helpful too. Swimming pool, sauna, and gym facilities are kept super clean and are amazing to use in the morning to start your day off right! Highly recommend Clayton Hotel and will definitely be using them again when I return to Galway!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room that was huge! It was clean and bright and perfect for us. The breakfast was a great value. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is very clean and the air conditioning was helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV had a very poor selection for a four star hotel. There were no movies available with about 6 standard channels. The balcony seemed nice at first but there are no barriers between each room and we are almost convinced someone attempted to open our door during the night. The location is poor. We spent a lot on taxis over a 2 day period. Okay hotel but not 4 stars.

    The hotel is very clean and the air conditioning was helpful in the heat however, it made very loud noises throughout the night. The staff in the cafe were kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Hit and miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower blowing hot and cold Very old television which cable kept popping out Curtains dont close fully.. light shining in. I had to mess with the kettle lead to get it working

    Location is great Food is very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool so small we could use it as we weren't informed of class times therefore the pool was full.. Lady on desk (at pool) told us we had to pay to use the pool although we were paying residence and was very rude about it! Reception were very helpful and sorted this out for us! Only a small inconvenience because the rest of the hotel/our stay was amazing!

    Staff were exceptional, couldn't do more for us!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Beds were comfy and rooms were spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunatley the weekend we chose to stay there were unwanted gets booked into the hotel. They upset our first night and the next morning of our stay. Breakfast was cold as the burners didnt seem to work properly. Its a pity as it was a family holiday with 22 of us and i have stayed here before with no issues at all.. We did speak to managenment and they were very accomdating to us which was great . I would still go back.

    Beds were comfy and rooms were spacious. Location was great with bus stop right across the road into the town!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    No Faults
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best Hotel I've stayed in here in Ireland. We had one of the executive suites during our stay, with massive tv, huge bathroom with comfortable bath plus walk in shower. Everyone from reception staff to bar staff to accommodation staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I ate in the hotel most days. The food was of very good standard and reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend the Buttermilk Chicken Burger. We will definitely be back again in the future and would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a great visit to Galway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    On the outskirts of town it was very spacious and felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    On the outskirts of town it was very spacious and felt modern. The pool facilities were good there was a steam room and sauna. Breakfast was fantastic. Secure parking in the basement was helpful for motorbikes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and we'll rin
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service poor at bar

    Breakfast was cold on Saturday morning but was fully rectified on Sunday morning. Problem with burners. Credit given on bill after complaining. Attend here regularly. Normally all excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    I would stay at the clayton again i enjoyed my stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing for me was the distance away from the city centre. But a taxi was cheap to get there and back.

    I stayed at the clayton hotel this pass weekend and its was a lovly hotel very clean and da staff were very polite.the breakfast was good had a good selection of items.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located close to the busy road & very noisy, so we requested a room change which was granted.

    Very friendly receptionist's & bar staff. Beds were so comfortable & our new room was much quite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    enjoyed de stay but a few changes needed
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast area ciuld be brughtned up and displayed better

    hotel is lovely and in a good location about 10 stops from eyre square staff are very friendly beds comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Just because break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a bit small felt like it was just a last minute taught squeezed in plus Bar man chasing us out of bar calming we didn’t pay for our food in front of everyone embarrassing thankfully lounge girl was on it and put him straight paid in full with good tip and he just turned and walked not even a sorry

    The hotel was amazing inside and out great location spotless most of staff were extremely helpful and friendly cleaning lady especially room was like we just arrived again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall very enjoyable, staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am from a rural area so the sound of cars and traffic in the morning was very loud and found it hard to sleep. Our room was facing out onto the main road. Missed a jacuzzi in the leisure centre

    Breakfast was amazing! The room was very clean and modern! The bar was cosy and facilities immaculate!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely fabulous place rooms spacious and very modern will definitely return again. Staff were extremely friendly and couldn’t do enough for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel in a wonderful locatition
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable polite and professional staff . Megan on reception lovely person and very helpful. The hotel has set an excellence standard I have no hesitation in recommending it no hesitation or reservation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    We got a free upgrade to an executive suite and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a free upgrade to an executive suite and the bed was so comfy! Fabulous lively hotel. Really good bar food and live music. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The bedroom was amazing and the beds are so comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was amazing and the beds are so comfy. Lovely sized bathroom. There was music in the bar but the bedrooms were peaceful and quiet. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was amazing. We got upgraded to the presidential suite on arrival with no extra charge. Totally unexpected! It made out stay that bit more special! The bed and pillows were like clouds. The bathroom facilities were amazing and there was enough towels to do us a week! The staff were so friendly and accommodating!! The breakfast was fab with an amazing choice! It was brilliant all round really!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is good but we only eat a snack in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a quiet room but did not get one . Room 314 is very hard to sleep in for 2 nights with the traffic all night speeding at the back of the hotel. We stayed a few times before and it wasnt bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was awful in the bar, we both had to return our wraps as there were cold. Got a different wrap, it was not great but at least it was hot. We were awoken twice in the morning by house keeping staff before 10am and after 10am. I began to think that check out must have been 10am so we got up and went to reception to check out until the receptionist informed us it was 12pm check out. Definetly not worth 149€ for one nite excluding breakfast.

    The rooms are big and clean. A nice looking hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Happy out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Jacuzzi in the swimming facilities

    The staff were lovely the room was fabulous the bar was very welcoming and the live music was a great attraction

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Room Fine, eat somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had dinner in the Bar downstairs. The food the Pizza inedible. I complained to the waitress who in turn told the chef who apparently got angry. I told the manager who was very good and told me not to pay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The staff make it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern and despite a wedding in the building we couldn't here anything. Staff are helpful and friendly. Bar food is great and breakfast buffet was delicious. Our go to hotel when staying in Galway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    great location, excellent staff, would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did think the bar/ dinning area is a bit poky and people are all on top of each other a bit,

    i thought the staff were excellent, the young student who checked me in who studied in Sligo was fantastic, you are lucky to have her, the bar staff were also very good, my checkout in the morning was also efficient and pleasant, in and out with no fuss

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing. Low standards and poorly trained staff apart from Reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Staff in dining room looked dirty. Stained unironed trousers. Does no-one check them? Shabby chairs and dirty floors in dining room. No yogurt available for fruit salad on one day. Carpet fraying at a join. Just shoddy.

    The bed. Air conditioning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    The room was up in an attic space so no head room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was up in an attic space so no head room. Bed was jammed into wall at one side with only one locker at the other side. Bathroom wasn’t great either as th shower base was leaking and there was a big step into it so no luxury I’m afraid in the room, definitely not 4 star rating ☹️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    I love the room and the view and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is a bit small and there was a class the day we went swimming so there was not enough space to swim around.

    I love the room and the view and the staff were accommodating too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely go back again enjoyed the hotel, the city and the people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couple of minor works needed on room. Probably not spotted by chambermaid but needed attention.

    Good varied breakfast at reasonable cost, clean room, good location as not in central Galway City, overall a very good experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great for us visiting family in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets in the bar area need some locks

    The bed was really comfy and the bathroom was gorgeous, lovely big room with a large window. Staff are very nice and were very attentive ☺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    good quality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    doubly charged i paid through paypal and then charged again at reception monies are returned but its messy shouldnt have charged my guest

    good quality

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay, good facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast not great. Busy road nearby rooms. Swimming cap mandatory for using the swimming pool.

    Large rooms and comfy beds. Far from Galway city centre but busstop opposite hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very accommodating accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As my my husband and I were travelling for pleasure, the location of the hotel in the middle of a trading estate wasn’t very appealing. However, once inside, the hotel was very pleasant and the best in the area to suit my needs. Most hotels have a shower over bath and I cannot use them.

    Very friendly helpful staff. As a disabled traveller, I appreciated their efforts to ensure the accommodation met my needs. The food in the restaurants was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just to room didnt have enough milk or sugar and a.c. wasn't that strong but that doesn't need to be in ireland

    everything, the executive suite is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    did not clean the room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    did not clean the room... dustbin covers not put a day.. Papers not cleared from floors. forgot to keep shower cap, the electric kettle was not heating properly... other than that hotel ambience and bed are good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    The beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start. The bedding had stains. Everything was kind of cruddy and in a poor state of repair. Chipped furniture and doors, screws missing on the bathroom mirror, the toilet was loose and one of the electric outlets covers was hanging off the wall. In a room for up to four people they had two towel hooks and considering the hotel knew we will have three people staying in the room, they set up the bare minimum of towels and soap for 2. We did find more towels in a closet, it just did not make us feel welcome. The big glass door facing the highway didn’t close all the way (room 273) resulting in a cold, drafty and loud night. One of the lights didn’t work. There are hardly any outlets. Just a couple next to the desk and not near a night stand not one for a blow dryer in the bathroom. Seeing the lack of cleanliness around the property I was glad we did not book the breakfast option. I wouldn’t want to eat anything there. I can’t proof there would have been any issues, just my personal opinion. The staff was polite, but not too concerned about making us feel welcome. Overall I will not stay in this hotel again and I will not recommend it to anybody else.

    The beds were comfortable. Just not as clean as they should have been.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Veg I ordered with my dinner were stone cold and very dry.

    The Beds were sooo comfy and the bathrooms were very nicely decorated. Room was wonderful over all. Dinner was average but breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - grounds appear unfinished a bit like a building site, eyesore!

    Breakfast was delicious - sausages were amazing! Staff super friendly, this makes all the difference IMO

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    robbery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that i had to pay €270 because of ed sheehan being on and on a normal weekend its €90 hotels shouldnt be able to put prices over gigs play especially €180 and didnt evening get a breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.0
    Relaxed and well chilled out, ready to get back to everyday lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one little hiccup, the water wasn't very warm for showering in the morning.

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. Facilities and staff were first class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, our room was pristine and very spacious for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, our room was pristine and very spacious for a standard room. Staff are so pleasant and helpful. We will definitely be making another trip here! 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Kids loved the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm went off at 5:45am. I understand this happens. I was the one who had to ring reception to find out what caused it, he didnt seem it was i big deal, just mentioned something about the chef! Got no apology for the disturbance when checking out.

    Kids loved the pool. lovely hotel and handy when not wanting to go into the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    I had requested to see if there was any upgrades or extras available and didn’t even get a response
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced, breakfast not included when we paid almost €300 for room only. The tap in the bathroom sink squirted water and you got drenched every time you turned it on and the air conditioner in the room was noisy and kept us awake.

    There was a very friendly girl working in the bar who gave us good advice on bus routes into Galway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay at the Clayton. If was a little far out but we would definately stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast layout could have been better. It would have been nice to have bottled water left in room.

    Rooms lovely, clean and airy. Staff were very friendly. Parking facilities good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Room was perfect for a relaxing weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar needs a little updating. Staff were wonderful

    Room was perfect for a relaxing weekend away. Location is just a few minutes outside the city center. Not within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A Peaceful night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The above

    A very poor ‘Caesar’s Salad’ which we both had. No bacon or croutons. It consisted of strips of chicken, some squares of sliced ham and leaves. The only disappointment though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast order form was not left on the door the second night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful The bathroom and roomwas much nicer than the Liffey Valley Clayton It was actually a far superior Clayton than Liffey Valley, I was pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    I was pleased with the staff and their efforts and their is a culture of helping guests.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the pillows were uncomfortable. Why was the phone placed in the bathroom? The sauna was not working. I would think that the hotel should treat this as urgent and get it fixed straight away. The receptionist in the gym should also inform guests that it is not working and when it will be fixed. In other words the hotel would not have accepted that "the coffee machine was out of order"!!! I did not have children with me but I thought the pool was decidedly not child friendly. There was no shallow pool for them. Todlers do not need much space but they must be kept safe. This was a dangerous pool for small children in my opinion as they could have been searching for a children's pool. I appreciate that space may have been a constraint but I think a small area could still be easily screened off for todlers. On your survey I think the short sentence does not really work!!

    The staff were very helpful and professional. I became unwell and they allowed me to check in early without any fuss or drama. Staff in the cafeteria did not have fresh cream but went and got some without any fuss. At check out staff at reception were again friendly, professional and genuinely pleasant and friendly. For breakfast there was a fabulous muffin, maybe lemon based that I would like a few more of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Having stayed at the Clayton Airport Hotel on a number of occasions there was little or no compariso
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel too far from city centre. Leisure centre, jacuzzi not working, sauna not working. Menu not suitable for Coeliac. Most items contained wheat which is detramental to a coeliac. Only two items suitable 1. fish which does not agree with me and curry likewise. I did get chicken breast which was good but potatoes flavourless, appeared to be reheated. Vegetables soggy.

    Staff friendly, room spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Wont be returning or suggesting as a venue for large gaterings of people.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.Receptionist very poor, no customer care or communication skills!!2. Breakfast and lunch a disaster!! Staff unable to cope, not enough staff, no customer care or communication skills. They were bad mannered and 1 man seemed to be in a mood and working in protest !!Numerous tables needed to be cleaned and nobody to do I!!! There was a queue waiting for tables and the 2 apparent managers did not even acknowledge them.!!3. At lunch, more or less the same. People at tables got meals served at all different times, vegetables were brought out first and cold when main meal arrived!! Staff still grumpy with no communication skills!!4. CAN I SUGGEST THAT MANAGEMENT LOOK AFTER AND INVEST IN THEIR STAFF, ADDRESS THEIR POOR PERFORMANCE,TRAIN THEM IN CUSTOMER CARE , COMMUNICATION SKILLS AND WAITING TABLES AND TRAIN THEIR MANAGERS PROPERLY, LOOK SMART , BE SMART , LEAD AND MANAGE.

    *Accommodation and location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel room spacious and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast selection Breakfast Table was dirty One of tea cups given was dirty Breakfast staff were not attentive at all

    Hotel room spacious and clean Reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, would stay again but could make improvements to meet the 4* standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff seemed disinterested during breakfast so the service let the place down a little bit. The bar food could be a higher standard for a 4* hotel.

    The breakfast is tasty and the rooms are lovely. Very spacious and comfortable. The bus stop outside the hotel is very handy for travelling quickly into the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From reception to bar to restaurant was excellent. Staff have to be commended. Would gladly stay here again and again and again. Definitely a returning costumer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    My mum was in the Galway Clinic hospital and I stayed in...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mum was in the Galway Clinic hospital and I stayed in hotel to be near her. Didn’t experience any of the neighboring restaurants etc The Clayton met all my needs for the night and was happy with everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Quiet and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurant were useless. We couldn't get service unless we called them. Man that greets at breakfast is miserable too! Reception staff are Lovely!

    Quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is well run and staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was unsuitable for my purposes. I was attending the University and found taxi journeys there and back very long as traffic is very very busy and peak times. It was too far to walk

    Hotel is well run and staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms large and comforable

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: