Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cliff House Hotel 5 stars

Middle Road, Ardmore, Ireland

#2 of 4 hotels in Ardmore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 540 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food from the bar restaurant doesn't seem to come from the "same chef".

    I liked everything: from the person parking our car, the welcoming at the reception, the very comfortable rooms with great bathrooms, the food at the restaurant, the friendliness of the staff. Highly recommend eating at the house restaurant. Loved the swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big negative - Although all the staff were extremely nice, we felt we were waiting for waiters to come to serve us and see if we needed drinks etc.

    We were on our mini-moon and they upgraded us! It was fab being treated to luxury from valet parking to prosecco! The views are outstanding. we were so lucky with the weather and enjoyed the outdoor tub!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Senior staff in the breakfast room seemed to have the woes of the world on them - cheer up and smile! Service in bar for food was slow and not very responsive.

    Great location, fabulous views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was terrible. Waiting an hour and fifteen minutes for dinner on Saturday night ( we only wanted mains)- when we asked the waiter why it was taking so long he mentioned something about the order of the tables which didn’t make sense as people that arrived after us seemed to get served before us. They had clearly forgotten about us since it still took another 20 mins for our food to arrive after we complained. Waited over 30 mins for a bowl of soup on Sunday afternoon- we eventually canceled it. It hardly takes 30 minutes to ladle out a couple of bowls of soup from the pot in the kitchen. Also when we ordered drinks we would get one drink first then five minutes later the other drink would follow. The waiting staff don’t seem to be assigned to particular sections so we would get about three different members of staff asking us what we wanted but none of them actually getting it. Also the staff don’t seem to write the orders down so perhaps orders are getting forgotten about.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arriving we got lunch in the bar. We got menus as we sat down but it took 45mins to take or order. We asked the staff could we order but they kept saying we will send someone down. So if there was more staff on the floor to take orders this would resolve the issue. Other then that everything was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not available for a third night 😀

    There was such a relaxed atmosphere yet the attention to detail was outstanding...the view from our terrace suite could have been somewhere in Italy without the crowds....the tasting menu at House restaurant was a real treat....check in and check out was such a pleasure...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm and friendly staff, excellent room and facilities and beautiful view from room looking out onto the bay. Food was exceptionally good and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff Veranda Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel but the area was covered in mist for the whole of our stay while only 10 minutes drive away there was clear sunny skies

    Breakfast was fantastic and very relaxing. Really great massage in a beautiful treatment room & the fresh fruit and teas in the relaxation room after was a lovely touch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’d booked a spa treatment for my wife on the first night, which was confirmed but wasn’t available. Never found out why. Food in the main restaurant was extraordinary but the meal was ruined by a dreadful bottle of wine, which was undrinkable. Deascribed in heavily accented English by the sommelier, who said it was “unfiltered” I asked if that meant it would need decanted, which he did but it still came out cloudy and acidic. Clearly I should have rejected it and we didn’t finish it and got a different bottle. Awkward when you’re entertaining friends. We got charged for both bottles anyway. I wouldn’t recommend this restaurant unless you’re experienced in Michelin starred restaurants. I’d say stick with the bar, it’s excellent.

    It’s in a beautiful location and intriguingly carved into the Cliff giving spectacular views from all rooms. Excellent bar staff and food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The weather!!!

    Breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Room was very comfortable and clean with balcony overlooking the sea. This is the 4th time we visit this hotel and we will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning location, beautiful scenery and views from every part of the hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly and service was impeccable. Spa treatments were so relaxing. Couldn’t recommend this more, especially for a celebration.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the breakfast could've been a bit more flavoursome.

    The food was gorgeous. The staff were friendly. It was the first night of our honeymoon and they made a bit of a fuss of us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at table .dropped veg and knocked candle not cleaned up ,also served wring side and across us Did apologise for spill and pleasant.

    Home cooked breakfast. In bedroom all fresh and tasty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you are in your eighties it is unwise to indulge too much in Michelin Chef food!!! It was tooooo good!

    Staff were at all times friendly and anxious to ensure that the guests were happy with their stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding area was not as nice as I expected. The temperature of the rooms was very difficult to control and were overall very hot. The hallways were extremely warm and the restaurant was unbearably hot. The restaurant/bar menu was very limited and I chose 2 starters rather than a starter and a main course because of lack of choice. The vegetarian choices were very poor also. Overall it was not a luxurious experience as I was expecting and very poor value for money. I would not be recommending it to friends and family.

    The views were stunning. The staff were very attentive and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the restaurant and the 4 course menu took us 3 hours to dine. If they could lessen the wait times between courses slightly that would be better in our opinion.

    We had gotten engaged the day before our arrival and the hotel so kindly upgraded our room. They added in numerous little touches during our stay which made it particularly memorable for us and a wonderful way to mark the occasion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More wellies for all guests as you can’t do the beautiful Cliff walk without them

    The Michelin starred restaurant was incredible, and the scones and bread were amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional, non-intrusive service made for a very relaxed stay. Sea view from our room was spectacular. Dinner was amazing, as was breakfast. Cliff walk beside the hotel is a must. I can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was amazing, I would recommend the waffles - yum! We used the spa facilities; including the outdoor bath which we had in the rain such a good experience. We ate in the House Restaurant on one of the evenings and just WOW! Cannot wait to go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in the shower was blocked which caused a flood in the bathroom and water seeped out under the carpet into the room. We had to move rooms. At breakfast I was given fruit in a broken plastic bowl and when I picked up the little jar of jam it was covered in sticky jam. The staff were very nice. Very young staff which I think may have been training and need to know how to present your plate to the table and not frighten you from behind and land the plate before you. While the above feedback sounds as if we didn’t enjoy our stay, we did enjoy it but felt I had to tell how I felt and also to help you to improve your service even more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The property exceeded both mine and my partner’s expectations from start to finish. The staff at reception, in the spa and the bar were equally pleasant and attentive and made our stay a pleasure.The outdoor baths were as enjoyable an experience as we had hoped and emphasised the breathtaking setting of the property. Myself and my partner are getting married in another Cliff property (The Cliff at Lyons) in September 2018 and so I had hoped the experience in Ardmore would be a positive one, but it was more than we could have hoped!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the room, views, restaurant and bar! I enjoyed the cliff walk and thought the Hunter boots were a nice touch. Breakfast was the best I’ve ever had in a hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Cant wait to come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the restaurant was abit slow but georgous

    The breakfast was lovely the pool area was beautiful and so relaxing and the room was outstanding very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed with lack of gluten free food despite advance information. Lovely selection of scones, croissants, and pastry for my husband for breakfast but only gluten free toast for myself, not what I expected from 5 star hotel.

    Swimming pool excellent, lovely towels and bathroom really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior a little tired and old. After approx 10 yrs (think it opened in 2017), they could do with a facelift.

    The friendliness & immediate ability to help and make me feel comfortable. Professional and good sense of humour meanwhile. The Taster Menu sublime in flavour and work. Less so seafood chowder & toastie in bar/restaurant. Just basic in appearance but good enough flavour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel changed the date of my stay 48 hours before arrival which was nice of them to accommodate. In addition to this, on arrival got an upgrade to a beautiful suite which we did not expect. Really nice stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 5 star hotel I felt there were a few basics missing,No cups in room, no teasmade but you had to ask for kettle, 1st night starter sent back as it was cold, last night they forgot the bread so had to ask- small things but so annoying

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the relaxation room was a bit small and felt the massage could have been a bit better.

    Food was excellent and staff were so attentive. Room was lovely and clean. Loved the breakfast layout.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is beautiful. The view from the hotel was just amazing. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The spa facilities are good. Overall a great break away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ate in the bar and although the food was lovely, it may have been slightly over priced.

    Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, fabulous views from all areas of the hotel. The breakfast was excellent. Staff gave us hunter wellies so we could do the cliff walk which was excellent. Outdoor Jacuzzi was wow as was the bath and bathroom in the room. Hotel has a lovely relaxing atmosphere and I would definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my stay was only for 2 nights 😢😢

    Absolutely loved the hotel, the views were outstanding and the staff and services were second to none!! Was mad very welcome from the moment of arrival until we checked out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner - Food was very poor for dinner. I ordered steak well done which came out half raw. I sent it back and it came out well done but it was very fatty. The sides were lacking and for the price it was very disappointing.

    Breakfast was fantastic, Spa facilities were fab, the nespesso machine in the room I loved. Bath in the room was great. Staff were FANTASTIC - a really really warm welcome and a lovely gesture of card and cake to my boyfriend who had his birthday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything

    Celebrated my dear husband's 40th birthday and we felt cared and pampered from the minute we arrived. Amazing facilities for us and our son. Superb all the way. Definitely coming back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything about this beautiful hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the spa AMAZING, our room was beautiful and the dinner was fabulous! Perfect in every possible way!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing, if there was anything not good the staff was eager to make it right .

    Bed ,scenery,room service ,staff all were excellent. A very restfull time and the staff made it happen.thank you.excellent variety of Irish whiskey.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, pillows uncomfortable although this wasn’t an issue during our other 2 visits. Room needs a bit of TLC. No bread offered at restaurant, had to ask for steak knives, had to ask for water to be replenished. Hot stone massage didn’t use hot stones throughout?? Small things but not what you would expect at such a renowned hotel and this is our third visit with big let downs on previous stays but the hotel handled it very professionally.

    Location, tranquil ambiance. Staff especially at reception and the valet guys. Food and breakfast in particular very good. Can spend a few hours at breakfast eating, reading the papers and enjoying the view.Complimentary prosecco snipes and crisps and chocolate nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner wasn't exceptional but breakfast was! Too confusing trying to get to our room .up and down in the lifts ! Pink curtains in our room tooooo much ! Tone it down a bit . Room very comfortable tho and bed / bathroom amazing.

    Staff were lovely .very helpful and friendly. hotel location and views were great and super to have wellys for our walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfy, treats in our room were a nice touch. The staff are the best by far I have seen in any the hotels we have stayed in. Their are so mannerly,helpful and professional it's a credit to them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disabled shower had no shelf to put soap, shampoo on. A disabled person may not be able to stoop down to pick these up from the floor.

    The food was lovely. The service extra good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not very comfortable. We paid for a suite and I was expecting big comfy bed as a part of that but mattress was too firm for me personally. Room was very stuffy unless door was open, when door was open with sea breeze it was perfect. I felt the suite was definitely over priced. I would definitely stay at the hotel again but would just go for a standard room.

    Breakfast was a real treat, waffles, pastries, fruit... views from all parts of the hotel were amazing and staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel springs in bed Toilet was malfunctioning with flush Hair was in bath

    Staff were excellent Facilities brilliant Breakfast being served was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't find out until late in the day that the hotel facilities could be used after checking out. That would have been helpful to find out earlier.

    The location was spectacular, even on a cold January Friday. The staff were friendly and attentive throughout our stay. The food was to die for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only point for improvement would be the bar. Possibly could have a better atmosphere if there was a bigger section for having a drink before/after dinner away from anyone who is choosing to eat in the bar.

    Staff were fantastic. Overall excellent stay will definitly be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bar menu never changed, so after three days you have tried everything

    would without hesitation recommend staying here. from the minute we arrived until the minute we left this was a brilliant break.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault our stay in any way.

    It is worth staying here for the view alone. The staff here are extremely helpful and friendly and are a credit to the hotel. From evening dinner in the bar, the relaxing spa facilities, the beautiful spacious rooms, the tasty breakfast (with a view) are all top class. And yes, we hope to return!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and views from the room were stunning. Staff were very friendly and facilities were excellent. 5 star treatment for entire stay beginning to end.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly. The room was perfect with a beautiful view. It was everything we would want in a hotel. Have recently stayed in other 5 star hotels and Cliff House was definitely the best.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What we really enjoyed about this 5 star hotel was that you definitely felt you were actually in a 5 star hotel!. All the staff were particularly welcoming, friendly & pleasant and also quite down to earth.. Food & drinks were excellent and of particular note was the seemless serving of a beautiful breakfast over the stunning views of the south-east coast. The hotel also possesses an exquisite design with detail and views at your every turn within the building itself. If your looking for true 5 star then look no further!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely tired and in need of a refurb. Bar staff were friendly but very slow.

    Food was amazing, staff extremely friendly and walks and scenery were fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was fantastic. The view from the room was stunning. The spa was fabulous. And the food was excellent. My only complaint is that our stay was too short! Looking forward to our next trip to the Cliff House already....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love having a constante view to the sea! The cliff walk was amazing and hotel offer wellies if you dont have! Food is amazing! We went Sun to Tues so only alternative was the bar Rest but so so good it worth it !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A welcome tray of tea/coffee scones in the the room on arrival. The so called snack bag (not used!) was disappointing to the style and level of the place.

    Overall attention to detail. Staff courteous and skilled.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay not long enough!!

    Beautiful hotel, stunning scenery and just faultless to be honest. Staff were the nicest I’ve ever met in any hotel. Cannot what to return!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location. Great choice of restaurant on site. The staff was extremely attentive and very friendly. Service was outstanding. Loved our room with a balcony and a view of the bay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a more casual, not so quiet place to eat in the property. Even the bar was a bit stuffy and formal. Only thing I didn’t like was that we were only there for one night and didn’t get to enjoy all of the facilities.

    Gorgeous hotel and location, desk staff was incredible. Bellman (Patch?) was great too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff who were natural in their manner and did not have affected airs and graces. Excellent pool, steam room, sauna and outdoor tub/jaccuzzi. Balcony was sheltered and there was a great sea-view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is too high for B&B only and there are better hotels for less in Ireland, some just down the road towards Cork. No nearby restaurants, so little choice but to eat at the hotel, which is not cheap. Gym is tiny

    Breakfast very good, staff friendliness, nice pool area and rooms very good and comfortable. Great views of Ardmore bay from rooms and restaurant/bar. Nice library upstairs with lots of books for kids. Food very good, although pricey. Nice walks and beach nearby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been better if the restaurant was open as I think that is one of the prinicpal reasons that people go to The Cliff House.

    This hotel is lovely - we have stayed here before and had come back because of the first class restaurant. It was therefore disappointing to learn that the restaurant was closed on the nights that we stayed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not dislikes but suggestions for adding a cherry on top of already excellent accommodation, more shelving near the sink in the bathroom and privacy screens between the balconies on either side to avoid the uncomfortable eye contact! At least with a screen you may be aware they are there but don't have to engage with them. I could see the people next door from the bed. And maybe a pancake/French toast option for breakfast.

    The minute I arrived I felt welcomed and pampered. The staff were excellent, very friendly and attentive without being overly fussy. Room was a delight, beautiful decor and amazing view over the sea. Food was excellent, both in the bar and the Michelin starred House restaurant. Excellent breakfast, served at your table, no jostling at the buffet table. Served until 11am so very conducive to a relaxing stay. All in all we felt very refreshed and we rolled out of the place after our stay, resolving to start a diet! Plenty to see and do in the area including a pool, with hot tub overlooking the bay, treatments in the spa and a stunning 4km cliff walk, perfect to work off the abundance of food. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This trip was booked on behalf of my parents as a 50th wedding anniversary gift, the hotel went above and beyond with their well wishes for them providing them complimentary chocolates and a hand written card from all staff members for their anniversary , this was a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar meal was lovely however the staff checking to see if you required anything was hit and miss for some people. Also had to wait 25mins for a booked table.

    Very nice breakfast and surroundings. Nice spa

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff Veranda Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.... visit was perfection as were the staff.. ..

    My partners birthday.. presented with card signed by staff. A wonderful touch.. could not fault premises or staff. Unique mix of professionalism and friendliness. A must visit for anyone

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    only the bed frames H&S matter. The bed frames are dark brown, hard and low, the lighting in that area is non existent, the mattresses and bed linen are high and white ( and extremely comfortable) , but not as wide as the bed frames??. On at least five occasions my husband or I hit our feet or legs on the bed frames while walking around the room, before we got used to the idea of being mindful of this issue. Injuries were not incurred thankfully but they could have been

    as a luxury venue it was all of that, we had a great experience, as did our friends who came with us to share the experience. The view from the rooms was magnificent and calming, even on the drizzly day we arrived it was an awesome experience of nature. Lovely local walk and info from the staff. Our evening meal in the bar was 100% as was the attention of all of the staff. The Italian sommelier was particularly helpful and engaging. I'd go there again without a doubt if I could afford it. I had the back,shoulder,neck massage and it was fab. the leisure facilities are not huge but sooo up there with detachment and relaxation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very pricey hotel and given the high cost I was surprised the furnishings were tired. Shower missing tiles, mould evident, chipped bedside lockers and marked armchairs. It wasn't to a degree that would cause a problem in a general hotel but I expected more.

    The view is spectacular

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletres poor quality. No body lotion. No tea making facilities in the room. Swimming pool basic but nice enough. Staff excellent/ breakfast fabulous. Dinner very tasty. Think facilities could be mych improved esp as it is a 5 star hotel. Deffo would return

    location food staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cliff House is in a magnificent setting, the staff are completely charming and facilities second to none. The tasting menu in the main restaurant was superb. We had two days of complete luxury and cannot recommend highly enough. But best of all.........that sea view from every window.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with my main course at dinner. I ordered the bass as it is one of my favourite fish but it was a real let down.

    Everything was superb. The location is fantastic and the views are spectacular. The hot tub was a real bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just stayed one night having received a gift voucher from our family as it was always on 'our to do list'. We, as a family had a really dreadful 2016 and looked forward sooooo much to this overnight stay but unfortunately it did fall short of our high expectations. We ate in the bar (as the restaurant was closed in any case) but both my husband and myself found the bar food very very expensive indeed and the menu very limited. We also found the wine and beer very very expensive i.e. a glass of wine €10.00 which to me was absolutely ridiculous and my husband's pint was €5.70 which he also found to be really expensive. While we would really love to go back, we just could not justify the cost of the bar food (with it's very limited menu) and the price of a glass of wine and a pint of beer. A pity!!!!

    The Staff were amazing being so helpful and could not do enough for us. Our room was great with a fantastic view from our balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness facilities very limited. I thought, as it is quite expensive that there could have been a few extras-wine on arrival, chololates in the room maybe.

    Food was excellent, fresh, local produce. Spa , pool fantastic. staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Terrace Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoying green little on in the bedroom that was very bright in the middle of the night when trying to sleep

    Ultimate luxury the staff were outstanding and nothing was too much for them they went the extra mile and were so nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The whole experience was fantastic Location, Staff, the hotel itself we had a fantastic time nothing was too much trouble for the staff and so friendly we will be back Big thank you to the staff of the Cliff house Hotel it was special

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment we arrived at the Cliff House Hotel, we were welcomed and felt completely relaxed. The staff are fantastic and felt that if we needed anything it would not be any trouble. The service and attention to detail was faultless. The Cliff House Hotel in Ardmore is the perfect escape, so peaceful, with excellent facilities. We had dinner in the Bar Restaurant which was fantastic. The room had the most amazing Sea View with a balcony. There was so much beautiful food and selection at Breakfast - I didn't eat for the rest of the day !! Breakfast is served until 11.00 am which added to the relaxed morning. We can't wait to go back !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar restaurant was disappointing as we were left waiting for long periods without service. While the food was good, it was not excellent and we expected more having stayed in the sister property on multiple occasions.

    Spa treatments and staff were fantastic as were the reception staff and valet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa unfortunatly was not to my liking, we had a child in the jacuzzi with us, and when we went to the pool the same child was bombing in the water so we just left, did report it to staff on duty, also nowhere to relax as such around the pool or chill out, this is one thing that lets down this hotel.

    Lovely hotel, and a beautiful room, what a view. We enjoyed a meal in the bar on Sunday night as the restaurant was not open?. Breakfast was the highlight just lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything this beautiful hotel had to offer. The breathtaking views, super friendly and helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Beautiful location. I cant wait to return.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: