Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Club House Hotel Kilkenny 2 stars

Patrick Street, Kilkenny, Ireland

#40 of 51 hotels in Kilkenny

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1045 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    It was memorable and i will return in the coming months.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It had everything I expected so no criticisms

    Perfect location. Friendly and very helpful staff both in the dining room and restaurant/breakfast room. I would highly recommend it. I left my jacket behind me and rang the next day and located it. Returned to me safely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, great staff, great location in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice hotel with a great location on one of the main roads in the downtown area – only a couple blocks walk to Kilkenney castle. The staff are extremely helpful and they have a very nice breakfast. The free parking is a nice added benefit – it’s at the back of the hotel, so off the roads and offering some security.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very welcoming especially Dave the barman,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for two nights , the amout of stairs would be a big disadvantage to the less abled and also the shower was not great...trickle of water.

    The staff were very welcoming especially Dave the barman, very pleased gentleman. The location was perfect , the character of hotel was lovely old style. Our room was very nice and a good size, bed was very comfortable. Overall we really enjoyed our stay apart from the treck up and down the stairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Old, but adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels were frayed, but were exchanged after we requested less ratty ones.

    Hotel has parking! It is in the middle of town, so we walked everywhere. Golf course is a 10 min drive from the centre of town. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is old and has not been renovated, our room and bathroom were clean and offered everything we needed. We stayed two nights and felt comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Room was spotless, basic essentials available, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel with long walk ways before I arrive to my room

    Room was spotless, basic essentials available, comfortable bed, hotel is very close to everything in Kilkenny town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower wasent working, there were a maintanance men who came after 15 min and fix it 80% alot of stairs and halls...the room was really far from the entrance

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    I loved the place the whole old fashion look was amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s not a thing I didn’t like

    I loved the place the whole old fashion look was amazing, the bedroom was lovely bed was comfortable, the staff were helpful, the food was tasty, not a bad thing to say about the place and would recommend it to anyone 😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    A very old hotel, with great potential, in urgent need of TLC throughout.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an awful smell of mould in the bed room, which was very strong in the bathroom. I had to leave both windows open day and night. I told staff who said they 'would look into it'. The online reviews show that this is on ongoing problem. Breakfast was basic-no chance to have a real coffee. Great if you like the full Irish though.

    clean sheets and room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect palce to get the full Kilkenny experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a bit small and could have been firmer, but that is my preference. Be aware no elevators it really is authentic !

    Great location near the Castle and Medieval Mile area. Super historic building full of charm and the staff were very friendly. I was surprised at the excellent fresh cooked to order breakfast served in an elegant dining room all included!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the room was clean it appeared very grubby due to wear and tear. The hall and stairs were dangerous as there missing spindles and the carpet was slippy and heavily stained I understand this was a 2 star but i paid €165 for one night stay without breakfast included, I would expected a better standard or cheaper price

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    old hotel but fantastic staff and food great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived wed 22.08.2018 early evening the girl on reception was so friendly and welcoming. We travel a lot and I have to say that this was the warmest welcome we ever had out of all the countries we have visited and all the hotels we have stayed in. The same girl was so helpful, friendly so engaging with us while we were staying at the hotel.All staff very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff , decent breakfast , clean .Outdated facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Shower was hopeless.Hotel has not seen a new carpet or paint for a long time

    The staff were very good an dthe location and parking excellent ( which can be a challenge in Kilkenny)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Value for money, extremely comfortable and superb location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot fault this hotel; some people might find the stairs difficult but they didn't bother me! It exceeded my expectations and I had a wonderful stay!

    I absolutely loved my room. It was bright and happy and the bathroom was wonderfully spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable! The location of this hotel is excellent and there is parking onsite. Staff superb also and great breakfast! Its a great base to explore Kilkenny from!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very cheerful and friendly, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very tired and urgently need an update. The breakfast was cheap, greasy and unpleasant.

    Staff were very cheerful and friendly, central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Only thing I wasn't impressed with was the sausages they were g
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sausages with breakfast tasted gone off.they were rock solid.heated in a microwave I would say.poor selection of cereal n no fruit also. Not a cheap place to stay so was expecting better.

    Beds were comfy.place was clean n staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Not happy left an new shirt in my room when I checked out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not happy left an new shirt in my room when I checked out got home and phoned the hotel to tell them I left it there and wud send someone in to collect it and they can't find it will not be going back and will not recommend it to any of my friends

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Old hotel but good locatiion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female hotel receptionists could be a bit more pleasant,the premises could do with an upgrade paint etc.

    The location of the hotel plus it was very quiet at night.Breakfast was very nice, there was a good choice and was served prompted. The man we met in reception was very helpful with locations and sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    It's an old hotel so quite dated and some of the decor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old hotel so quite dated and some of the decor was a bit tired but friendly staff and lovely breakfast. Very good location for the castle and bars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Good position but the rest was not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too soft and mine was bent in the center so i could only sleep face up. Room was on the street and people passing under our room were noisy until 5 am, interrupting our sleep multiple times and there was no air conditioning so we couldn't keep the window shut

    Position was central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    We were happy with the accommodation for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap for the sink was in a very inconvenient place in the bathroom.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Basic accommodation suitable for a one night stay. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Expensive, bad room but staff were very nice. Breakfast should have been offered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was tiny; the smallest room I have ever stayed in and therefore somewhat claustrophobic. Was told that there are also great big old rooms so maybe I just pulled a short straw. Very expensive at $90 for a night and no breakfast included... Ouch! Was going to stay a second night but the price and the room size put me off so I checked out...

    The hotel dates back to 1797 so there is a rustic quality to the place. The bedrooms meander around the upper floors and I found it fun in some ways to break with expectations and have a different experience. Had a drink at the bar one night and found the staff to be very friendly in every way. Reception staff were very professional also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable and pleasant stay in a delightfully creaky and charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry, nothing to gripe about - no noisy guests or anything (which is not exactly the hotel's fault if it does happen). I could grumble that somewhere this old and creaky ought to have its own resident ghost, but I appreciate that might not appeal to guests of a sensitive nature!

    My third visit this time my room was on the wonderfully creaky, wood-panelled part of the hotel. Charming, old style and utterly agreeable, this hotel is in a great location for the heart of Kilkenny town, and it quite honestly never fails to please! Now, if they had a small suite I could occupy indefinitely . . . . .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    E.joyab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be updated.

    Food was excellent. Staff were amazing. Great overall. Bedroom was clean although the bathroom could do with some updating. Overall very pleasant stay. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    Charged €180 for below average facilities and service. Not worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in staff were too busy chatting among themselves and discussing who had the day off to greet us. Room was difficult to locate, staff didn’t give any directions, halls were smelled mouldy and floor boards squeaky. Bathroom was tiny, door didn’t work, sink next to the bed, and toilet paper dispenser similar to public bathrooms - one ply at a time. Toilet seat scratched and missing chunks. Chair in room was stained and threads coming apart. Some bulbs not working. No shampoo in the shower either. Supplied only one basic towel per guest. Mattress was rock hard and very uncomfortable. Breakfast was below average and didn’t contain what was advertised. The “bakery basket” was just some rubbery slice pan toasted. Coffee was poor and staff couldn’t turn on coffee machine when asked for anything other than filter coffee. Staff were unfamiliar with local area. Way over priced

    Location was very central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    A perfect stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning personnel need to be a little bit more thourough on the everyday cleaning.

    Personnel very helpful and professional. Perfect quality in the food and presentation. The director and owner is fantastic and know how to make you feel at home. A top service hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    No frills, older hotel but was clean and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old hotel that could use a little updating but it was charming in its own way. Getting to the parking lot behind the hotel was a bit of a challenge but we did it and there were no additional charges compared to some other places we've stayed during our adventure.

    Convenient location, within walking distance to everything. It is old and "tired" but it is clean. No frills or extras. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Great holiday but not sure we would visit a third time as there are now better hotels in Kilkenny
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Now looking a bit down-at heel, but made up for by the friendly chaos of a town-centre bar/hotel in an Irish country town.

    This hotel has a great location and a real farmers' club feel. This was our second visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely nights stay, very old school, vintage building with lots of character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking directions could be more visible as you have to drive around to the back of the street to access. That's all!

    The bed was lovely and comfortable. The hotel is extremely vintage but it adds lots of character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Very standard room in an older hotel but it was adaquite for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the pocket door for the bathroom and it didn't slide all the way open without a lot of effort. Plus only one plug for the whole room was tough.

    Very standard room in an older hotel but it was adaquite for the price point. The staff was very nice!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was just perfect ( for the price), like Baby Bear’s porridge, chair and bed ( cf ‘ Goldilocks and the Three Bears ‘).

    The hotel has an old world feel as it is an old hotel. Staff were friendly, facilities basic but of very good quality ( e.g good bed linen), rooms sufficiently spacious, bathroom small but clean , a very amenable barman in the early hours of last Wednesday morning. An excellent city centre location and very good value for money. Probably best suited to able bodied adults ( there are stairs) and families with older children

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    For a family of four, good location, good breakfast may not appeal to those who want a newer hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weak Wifi connection, and the long hallways may not suit those with mobility issues.Good

    It is an old hotel, and enjoyed walking through the twist and turns of the long narrow hallway. Breakfast was fine, parking was a plus. It is a bit musty and dated, but that is part of the allure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of hotel is confusing. No lifts and lot of stairs. At one point went up the wrong stairs and found an unused, damp area full of broken furniture. Dangerous and not cordoned off. I was heavily pregnant during our stay and found it tiring even finding the room. Breakfast low quality. Rooms very warm with no air con.

    Staff were lovely. Bar area lovely. When i asked for a fan the receptionist could not be more helpful. Location is fantastic, close to everything. Hotel is a good base for anyone looking to explore the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful musty smell in hotel corridors. Badly needs refurbishment as was very dated and carpets were not nice. Lots of twists and turns and steps to get to the room which would be too much for older people. Corridors were dark and dreary looking also.

    Location was brilliant and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Grand great location place is a bit of a dump tho
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night porter was a nasty piece of work

    Place is run down and a bit pricey for what you get and the night porter was a complete a**hole good location tho

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location very close to bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit dated but my room was very clean and comfortable.

    Great location very close to bars and restaurants. Breakfast very nice too. I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    This hotel had an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel had an excellent location. It was basic but the rooms were clean and adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel could do with a face lift.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed in. Some sort of red stain on the shower curtain. Stains on chairs. Nightmare. Can only imagine they book out because of the location. Will not be back, would not recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Positively the best vintage experience and professional service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like most hotels there is a fair amount of noise with people having conversations in the corridors, but that is just the inconsiderate nature of people and not the fault of the hotel, as such.

    Not only is this hotel walking distance from most of the historical gems and pubs, but its decor and atmosphere is wonderful. This is not the hotel for cosmopolitan types, but for those who love antique atmosphere, friendly staff and professionalism, this is the hotel to stay at! I will definitely be back soon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Satisfying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel including its private parking facility was a cheerful convenient and comfortable place to stay and my son and I will be very pleased one day to have rooms again there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice. Great location with the added bonus of on site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked a bit tired. Needed a lick of paint in places and the carpet leading to the rooms was old.

    Very clean. Room size adequate. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom window was dirty. Didn't impact on our stay in anyway but would be nice additional detail if windows were clean. Also partner made request for instant coffee made with milk instead of water which staff couldn't handle, but he happily survived with tea!

    The bedroom was functional and comfortable. We liked the old style of the hotel and the original features, which gave it a unique character. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    It's a place to lay your head
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Hotel is well located and fine if your on a stag or a short stop over but if your looking for any luxury if your want to have a romantic weekend, this is not the place for you. Shower was horible, the floor boards creaked and the room was very outdated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    The location was great, staff were extremely helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was extremely dated, which was very disappointing considering the cost.

    The location was great, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Good breakfast included in stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall worth a visit and is very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damaged window in bathroom - not able to open. Tiny TV.

    Location excellent near pubs, cafes and the High Street. Excellent breakfast served by friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Truly awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. In 2018, everything about it was below par and totally unacceptable. We paid a huge price (over €150) and it was just too low standard for a hotel. Really really unacceptable

    It was in city centre so convenient, but I wouldn’t stay again. I would rather find somewhere else well located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very close to city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs.

    Very close to city center! Looks like it was recently painted and new carpet. Shane in the restaurant connected was terrific! We had rooms with two beds but the price was perfect! Everyone was so pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    I enjoyed it very much and would go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing could have been better

    Nice comfortable room and bed. Very clean place. Lovely all day breakfast. Friendly staff. Good parking facilities. Excellent location in city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    The worst stay in hotel ever in Ireland . Rip off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It says it’s hotel , but it’s a B & B at best ! It’s a very old hotel , in need of repair. Tiles in ensuite has been replaced with similar looking tiles but not the same. Everything looked dirty because it looks so old from entrance to restaurant to rooms etc. But worsed part was the beds , the flat sheet didn’t fit the double bed. And mattress was flat , after probable years of wear & tear, so uncomfortable . About 4 o’clock in morning my back began to get very sore, so I got up to a yoga pose to help. About 6am I was taking paracetamol for my back pain and a hot bath , the edges of bath where covered with black mold and dirt, so I couldn’t relax in bath or room. We just wanted to get out as quickly as possible after we spent crazy money €200 for one night for small family room, 2 adults & a 12 year old teen.I would not recommend this accommodation .All 3 of us had no sleep, so it was a big waste of money , terrible weekend away.

    Nothing apart from staff on reception just ....very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was unlucky that there was a lot of noise about 2am from the corridor and from the men going into the room opposite mine and speaking loudly and banging the door.

    Receptionist Geraldine kept me on the phone & talked me through the route to the hotel. due to a finger injury I needed help with my bag-a man met me in the car park & carried my bag to my room and on check out the receptionist herself carried it down from my bedroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great central location in walking distance to all the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rad in my bathroom didn't work and wasn't repaired through my stay. Made for chilly mornings in the shower.

    Excellent location. I parked the car and didn't move it until I left. The sites of Kilkenny are easily walkable from the hotel. The room was on the back and very quiet. The staff were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great. There is a parking, that is very important to notice. The building is really amazing. It's old, with a lot of corridors, I really loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location in the centre of town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location in the centre of town . It is only a short walk to everything . The parking behind the hotel was a real bonus. Breakfast was great. Our room was small but comfortable and the building has great character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    There is a fabulous old world charm about this hotel that I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a fabulous old world charm about this hotel that I really hope they never lose! I stayed for 4 nights , and loved every bit of it. I had a lovely spacious room [10], a relaxed breakfast served in a cosy ornate room, by delightful staff......Downstairs is a bar where I enjoyed a superb dinner. Located right at the centre of things in Killkenny, you,re within walking distance of everything. For great music and craic, you have to try the Field Bar just down the street from the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t great. Hotel was a bit run down. Stayed on a busy weekend so prices were heavily inflated and didn’t reflect the standard. Would be ok if paying regular prices.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Historic hotel in a historic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a maze. Had a lot of luggage and no elevator to get around. Took a few goes to remember where our room was.

    Cool rustIC location in the heart of Kilkenny. Loved the cool old building. Close to everything. The history of the location was pretty interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, hotel a bit old and in need of a bit of tlc,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with some tlc, bathroom was like something from the 1950’s

    Great location, hotel a bit old and in need of a bit of tlc, staff were helpful, great location and good value for money, overall good experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location. Dated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The room was incredibly dated. The sink was in the room s d rge bathroom had a sliding door with no lock that didnt shut completely. There was a musty smell when you entered the room even though the bed linen was immaculately clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Avoid the Frustration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Know where the car park is before you go. The directions they give you upon check in are ridiculously not accurate and you will find yourself driving in circle while your frustration builds. Key to door didn't work and had to go back to reception. Room and bathroom are very shabby. Breakfast resulted in no one waiting on me after sitting for ten minutes once seated. I gave up and left. The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. Other than that, dont be frustrated and book elsewhere. Oh and those with mobility issues should stay far away, all stairs and lots of uneven floors which could trip up those with not very good balance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    OK for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peeling wallpaper, stained furniture, tiny TV, stained carpets and generally rundown and very much in need of refurbishment and maintenance

    It's a budget hotel for those who are very budget minded and don't expect too much. At 60 Euro a night for a single room it was reasonable value. The private parking is a major bonus. The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything to see along the Medieval Mile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    Served purpose, would not go there for a romantic break away. It definately was not worth the money.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Club House is a well placed hotel, it is very dated,the rooms would need to be modernised, furniture is marked, stained and grubby, room was clean. I felt for a old building it could have been better decorated. The Breakfast was perfect, plenty of everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    It had everything needed for a nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t a bath in my room, but that’s nobody’s fault it was just the pick of the draw... one thing it is not very disable friendly as no lift that I was aware of. May cause some difficulty for someone less mobile.

    It had everything needed for a nights stay. Staff I was very impressed with staff very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location at Victorian era hotel that needs updates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking behind the hotel and around the block (sort of) was a real challenge to locate despite provided map. The hotel is old and showing its age. Bed was not comfortable and room was in need of updates.

    The location in the middle of town was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    The room was very big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior (especially in the bathroom) was not the newest, but on the other hand we wanted to explore Killarney and not our hotel room, so this was no problem.

    The room was very big and clean. The staff was very nice and friendly. We arrived around noon while check-in time was not until 3pm. . The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the city!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't easy to keep water from going all over the floor whilst having a shower.

    The bed was really comfortable and it was nice that somebody came to take our breakfast order rather than the usual buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent stay will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little attention but not too much as would not like it to lose its character.

    The hotel was full of character the staff were extremely helpful and friendly,and the location was perfect would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Cosy old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift.

    The old world atmosphere. The hotel is in a perfect location and offers very good accommodation. The receptionist Liz was so helpful and looked after us very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff are fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated. There is nothing luxurious about the room at all. The television only had the basic Irish stations. There’s a lot of stairs so it wouldn’t be suitable for anyone with mobility issues.

    The staff went above and beyond. They were extremely helpful and so friendly. They really made my trip very enjoyable. The food in the restaurant was really good and very reasonably priced. My bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. There was very little noise from the hotel so I got a lovely uninterrupted sleep,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location but the hotel badly needs a face-lift.It has some lovely original features and could be a lovely hotel if some mobey was spent on it. The room was clean. The shower was a trickle!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    On arrival we got a lovely welcome from fiona she was so nice and a great sense of humour, room was clean and warm a little small bathroom was clean breakfast very good location very close to everything will visit Again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, good value for little money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice hotel, centrally located, friendly staff, spacious parking, excellent breakfast. Also a nice pub/restaurant enclosed. Absolutely good value for little money! There was nothing to complain about, I'd stay there again, anytime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Lots of parking in the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t seem to work - however - the bath did. Staff was okay - not great. The WiFi was basically unusable. The room felt outdated for the price. It was a very good location. Only 2 minutes from the Kerry Castle. Worked fine as a one night overnight.

    Lots of parking in the back. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We got a friendly Irish welcome, enjoyed our stay and intend to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife had sirloin steak on one evening. Although she asked for it to be rare, it was medium at best and very dry. In fairness, we were given a free drink to compensate.

    Room was very private and insulated from other noise. All staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower flow was quite weak. Hotel in general is quite outdated/vintage and could do with a refresh. Long walk to find the room.

    Friendly staff, good location with free parking. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Exploring Kilkenny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel sells itself as vintage. It’s old and drab looking. The hotel doesn’t look much like the photos, which was disappointing. It’s dark and in desperate need of renovation. But it was cheap. So it is what it is..

    Good location to explore the wonderful city of Kilkenny

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    The location of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely old fashioned, the pictures online were a bit deceiving as they didn’t really look like them. The breakfast wasn’t great and found a mushroom in my fruit salad. Was okay to put your head down but the price of it was a bit much for the quality of the hotel. The staff were lovely

    The location of the property

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: