Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Currarevagh House 4 stars

Oughterard, Oughterard, Ireland

#2 of 14 hotels in Oughterard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 53 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    10

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Maybe the hot water was a little too hot.

    First came in 1967. Been many times over the years and it always remains a favorite. From Grandfather, to Son & Wife to Grandson and his Wife, all treat you as family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    If it was closer, I would go back anytime to enjoy the peace and tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of any significance. We were totally satisfied

    This is one of those rather unique gems that one finds from time to time.The property is beautifully located on Lough Corib with spectacular views. The management and staff went out of their way to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    This is a slice of heaven in the West of Ireland. Restful and soul-filling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Literally nothing could have been better.

    This is an amazing, gracious place. We were treated like family by Henry and his friendly staff, and the property and surrounding lakeside grounds are simply stunning. The optional dinners are not to be missed. Lucy is a world class chef, and makes great use of the wonderful local and seasonal ingredients available. Our room was sublime, huge, well appointed, and with spectacular views from the giantic windows. The setting is intimate, and we enjoyed the lost art of conversation with several of our fellow guests, who were fascinating people. We changed our itinerary so we could stay another day and night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    History.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    History. Charm. Character. Excellent (think creative, gourmet) meals both breakfast and dinner. Afternoon tea a nice touch. Hosts (Henry and June) are delightful, helpful and engaging. Owners and staff friendly and helpful. Truly a charming place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location for exploring Galway, Connemara. Wonderful food and old fashioned service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every comfort catered for in a house from a bygone age. So relaxing, the perfect chill out. Felt like we were guests of the family, who have owned this house since the 1840s. Dont go for 2017 bathroom facilities, but the house had a charm and warmth we loved.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    A Beautiful and Serene Stay at Currarevagh House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.Com did not supply addresses for any of our accommodations. This made for some extremely stressful moments, at the end of the day. Also, "Cash Only" information was NOT provided for our stay in Kenmare.

    The setting of our stay was like being in a magical forest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    A home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and kind. The food was excellent. There was a welcoming atmosphere which gave the place a warm friendly quality which was more akin to staying with friends than a commercial arrangement.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    This property exemplifies everything that we love about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only spending one night :| We will be back!

    This property exemplifies everything that we love about Ireland: its warm and welcoming people, its creative cuisine, and breathtaking scenery. Henry is a fantastic host and makes you feel right at home from the moment you arrive. The entire property is both a time capsule and a wonderful, self-contained hideaway. We especially enjoyed walking around the property, weaving through the forested trails and along the lake shore, lead by their wonderful dog, whom always made sure we weren't lagging too far behind. Dinner was spectacular, a delightful combination of local fare with a delicate presentation. We spent the rest of the evening conversing by the fireplace over tea and whiskey, surrounded by books and artifacts of times past.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    It's a beautiful house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the dining room was a little dissapointing. It would have been nicer if lights had been dimmed and with candles on the tables.

    It's a beautiful house. Really enjoyed it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Old fashioned Country House charm with outstanding food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening meals and breakfasts were excellent in terms of presentation and taste The decoration is very much that of a old country house and may not suit every-one. We felt the location, food and level of service far outweighed any negative points

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous location, wonderful surroundings, welcoming hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is just beautiful, as are the grounds surrounding it. The room was very comfortable. Dinner was fabulous, and breakfast was scrumptious. Our hostess was very welcoming and switched with ease from English to French to converse with guests. Her son, our host, was also delightful, and fluent in English and French. A pleasure to stay here and we hope to get back again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    A place of serenity, beauty and hospitality, par excellence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish someone had been with me to share a very special, unforgettable experience.

    Going back to another time. Elegant and informal. The most beautiful setting,'outstanding hospitality, gourmet dinner. Only superlatives!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Highly recommended Manor House stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Everything else was fantastic.

    Welcoming hosts, relaxed atmosphere & tranquil location of this historic house made for a peaceful & unique stay. The food was superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Tranquil setting and excellent meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Henry, whose family has owned Currarevagh for generations, is a welcoming host and brilliant chef. His breakfasts and dinners were some of the most delicious of our trip. Lough Corrib is lovely; we enjoyed fishing and excursions to Cong Abbey and Aughnanure Castle (the latter is not to be missed).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    Delicious food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi only worked in common areas but, hey, it's good to take a break from the web ;)

    Delicious food. Beautiful location with lake access and boat rental. Staff were very friendly and clearly invested in and loved the house.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    The perfect country escape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all, so there is nothing to say here.

    This was a superb country house. It felt as though we were staying with the family in a very relaxed setting. It was as though we had stepped back in time to a peaceful and gentle era. The meals were marvellous and they went to great lengths to prepare vegan food of very high quality for one of our party.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    A Scenic setting with a quiet comfortable ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a wonderful hotel. Small and intimate on beautiful gardens on the shores of Lough Corrib. Friendly welcome, delicious dinner and excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Unique break from rat-race..makes even Oughterard itself seem hectic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely food , but some might like a choice other than fish ( yes, I know..fishing hotel!)

    general ambience, hospitable. personal welcome Delighted to find Irish pottery place-settings +Irish toiletries in bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Henry and June were wonderful hosts! And the meals and afternoon teas could not be improved upon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was lovely. The house was very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    A very friendly and comfortable country house. Great afternoon tea with homemade cakes 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather wasn’t good. But the wonderful position made up for it.

    Lovely setting with good food and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Warmth of the host, history, open fires, decor, character,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was excellent.

    Warmth of the host, history, open fires, decor, character, Victorian wall paper, breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, house, room & excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful location, house, room & excellent food. Family extremely welcoming. Absolutely love the place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Don't miss the row boat trip on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't miss the row boat trip on the lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful time at Currarevagh House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful time at Currarevagh House. The location was beautiful, food delicious, atmosphere comfortable and staff welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    i loved everything.

    very welcoming staff, great atmosphere, confortable, good food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spectacular location. V comfortable house, family run. Proprietors and staff equally hospitable and helpful. Excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    The hospitality, breakfast and dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hospitality, breakfast and dinner!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    A wonderfully situated house with a relaxed family feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The family were very warm and I loved the house which had a lovely cosy family feel to it. Excellent food!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    The grounds were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds were beautiful. I really enjoyed a hike through the woods around the lake in the afternoon. Dinner and breakfast were both outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.6
    Classic location with some of the best food in Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Super King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to update the bedrooms

    Food was fantastic and incredible service. I've never been to a top class restaurant where they also give you seconds!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    The atmosphere of Currerevagh is unique, immediately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere of Currerevagh is unique, immediately welcoming and relaxing. The situation of the house on the shore of Lough Corrib is spectacular and there are many varied walks on the doorstep. Henry and his mother are two of the most charming people you could ever meet and Lucy's cooking is wonderful- an unexpected treat was tea in front of the fire - total bliss.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    Henry the owner was very warm, welcoming & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because it is a small property they only offered a set menu for dinner. A la carte was not an option so we did not dine at the there.

    Henry the owner was very warm, welcoming & helpful. The setting is beautiful right on the lakeshore

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    I cannot rate Currarevagh House highly enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I cannot rate Currarevagh House highly enough.The experience was one of being a personal guest with all the attentiveness that a caring host would supply. All food was excellent, rooms spacious and comfortable, location peaceful and stunningly beautiful with easy access to the lake. Afternoon tea so welcome on a wet day. In fact on a wet day you can spend happy hours enjoying the pleasures of the house.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    The house and surrounding property are enchanting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house and surrounding property are enchanting. Plenty of day trips and activities to do, but also a great place to relax and read a book by the fire pretending it is 100 years ago... only now with wifi. Don't miss the dining experience.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    This is a unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is a unique experience. Full of real characters, old world service, majestic views, divine food, great treats, intrigue, warmth, comfy old chairs, fires, breakfast served up with the family silver and more. We stayed for 2 nights and wanted to stay for longer. it was sad to say goodbye. There is so much to look forward to each day. You are made to feel special and part of the family while given the privacy and space you need. Has to be one of my top places I have stayed at - and I have been to many many places. The enormous tiger skin on the wall that greets you along with the family lolliping labrador lets you know you are in for a big surprise. For me one was catching a 4.7lb wild trout in the local lake - having never held a fishing rod before in my life. Anything can happen and that is what is remembered about a wonderful holiday.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    I doubt if there is another country house in Ireland quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I doubt if there is another country house in Ireland quite like Currarevagh. Henry and his family provide a wonderful hospitality in an old world style.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful location and definitely bring a camera for walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful location and definitely bring a camera for walking the grounds Delicious food

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful old country house, friendly & welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful old country house, friendly & welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. The owners and staff were delightful, the food and rooms excellent and the fishing superb.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything! Peace, tranquility, local walks, lake views, the first class food and the hosts hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Great family hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great family hospitality. Perfect if you want "to get away from it all".

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: