Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Decoy Country Cottages 4 stars

Decoy House, Garlow Cross, Navan, Ireland

#4 of 13 hotels in Navan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 34 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone reception in the houses ... but there is Wi-Fi which is a plus.

    Welcome pack of bread, butter, eggs and milk was a lovely touch. Also books, DVDs and games all available if we so wanted. Big kitchen with plenty of space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    We have a most enjoyable five day break in the lovely Irish countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The whole experience was excellent. There was a lovely huge bed. The cottage was situated in a complex of similar cottages and it was in a very good position within 15 minutes of where we were visiting (Tattersalls 3 day horse Event).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous houses, facilities and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House was so comfortable and clean. Loved staying here and will definitely be back to stay again. Stayed there while I was attending a wedding and the location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Loved the overall feel of the cottages. Nice quiet retreat, a home away from home. A high level of cleanliness and good quality finishes. Lovely little extra with welcome basket and warm welcome from host, cats and a dog.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    The house was beautiful, nicely decorated with more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone coverage on any network, but good wifi available in the house.

    The house was beautiful, nicely decorated with more than enough room for our group of 6 adults. The staff were very helpful both prior to our arrival & once we were there. My husband even left a pair of shoes there which they posted back to us the next day. Fantastic place & would recommend it highly to anyone staying in the area in future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    The property was so well equipped and the owner could not do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was fantastic

    The property was so well equipped and the owner could not do enough to cater for the small children. Best self catering accommodation ever!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    A great weekend in a great place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom House (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cottages are decorated to a very high spec. The beds were very comfy. Kitchen was very well stocked. We had a delicious home cooked meal Beef stew and Chicken /brocolli bake with veg potatoes and garlic bread waiting for us on arrival. The marmalade that came with the welcome pack was the best ever.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing holiday in a fantastic location for exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely difficult to think of a negative but....nope....still can't find one!

    Safe, secure play area for children. The Den communal playroom/lounge is fantastic and well equipped for kids of all ages plus adults. No cars in courtyard makes for lovely, quiet environment. Extremely comfortable beds. Very spacious accommodation, a true home from home feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    One of the best holidays we have had , which can be hard with 3 autistic kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about the place from the wee park at the back to the fact they had a den for them wet days that had everything for kids to play plus my kids loved the chickens even got to go look for eggs one day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful, tasteful, property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all perfect nothing to dislike at all

    Perfection in every way from exceptional accommodation, friendly welcome, exquisite rooms and THE best massage in the spa - absolutely highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    We loved our stay here at Decoy Cottages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small issue with the owners dog that was barking just as my 16 month old was going to sleep. Issued was resolved and baby went to sleep :)

    We loved our stay here at Decoy Cottages. Family of 3 adults and 2 small children. Everything was thought of...Cot, highchair, stair gate, plastic cutlery, bowls etc. We arrived and got a beautiful gift basket with local produce, bread, eggs, chocolate, jam etc and a warm welcome from the owner. Fab location for us as we went to the Guns N Roses concert in Slane. Also only 15 mins drive to Tayto Park. Nice safe and secure area. Houses are in a courtyard. There was indoor and outdoor play areas for the children. Wooden toys, toy kitchen, pool table, books, in the Den. Organic toiletries for use were lovely. Beds super comfy. Just a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, quiet and child safe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As pre-warned the phone and tv channels are relatively limited but there's plenty of on site entertainment.

    Very family friendly and staff didn't fuss over us but were reassuringly present if needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    An Irish getaway with maximum comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paula is a great host. The children were made welcome and could play freely and able to use the 'Den' and outside facilities (goals, trampoline, hoops, park area). The children were also able to collect the eggs from the Hen coop by the end of the week and were 'thrilled'. Easy distance to Dublin and lots of surrounding areas of interest (we all enjoyed Trim castle). Overall, a brilliant holiday destination, for the kids and the parents!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Top Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything

    Well equipped clean and warm like home from home. Beautiful setting, private. Convenient for us as we had a family wedding @ Ballymagarvey village,and we could stay at "Decoy Cottages" as a family. We will be back and will be recommending it to family & friends.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    A beautiful, peaceful country oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom House (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We traveled from NY to attend a family celebration in Navan. We loved the old Irish charm and modern amenities - perfect for families. The Cottages were fabulous - a country peaceful setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    recommended family stay,very clean ,and staff very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very clean,staff very friendly ,and great family holiday,central to tayto park ,Dublin and Navan

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend break handy to tatyo park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great country setting friendly staff welcome basket lovely touch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Clean & comfortable, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Clean & comfortable, good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Best accommodation in Navan Thank you to Georgina a beautiful host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    It was a good pleasant place to be at a reasonable price. We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was clean and comfortable with everything you might want in terms of supplies, and the location was very good for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful, large well equipped cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom House (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative about this place!

    Beautiful, large well equipped cottage

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    a place already recommended to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some fittings loose

    Food on arrival children's amenities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Everything was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Simply the best ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't stay long enough.

    Couldn't fault anything every well equipped Very comfortable absolutely beautiful would highly recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.6
    Well looked after during the stay, a great location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Well looked after during the stay, a great location and would highly recommend. We had the 4 bedroom cottage with 2 shared bathrooms. Definitely looking to stop again when in Ireland. Even better as our eldest son also got married.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    10
    Very welcoming.
    • Group

    Very welcoming..... Welcome basket upon arrival, friendly dog and wee cat who wonder around and became part of the group as we let her in in the mornings. Fantastic facilities and well worth it!

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    10
    There wasn't much to not like about Decoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There wasn't much to not like about Decoy. Location, staff, and the finer details of how they took care of us even before our arrival. We were a group of three families with 6 kids and we couldn't have asked for more. The rural setting was beautiful and serene (with nice touches like a play area for the kids to unwind after site seeing) while keeping us within proximity to everything we want to see and do. We'll definitely use Decoy for future visits and highly recommend to all others!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous stay. Family loved it. Calm and peaceful despite 2 hen parties. Bit hard to find although I was given good directions. I could not access them late at night.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Always weary of first time residence, but my goodness what a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi a bit slow.....maybe this was a good thing

    Always weary of first time residence, but my goodness what a pleasant surprise. Three generations catered for and all very impressed. Thanks Paula and staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    -Near to Navan , Dublin and other cities of ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -the bad quality for the Wi-Fi

    -Near to Navan , Dublin and other cities of ireland -Near to tourist place -Best comfort -the personnel is so kind -Great moment

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    A pay phone was installed to counteract the mobile reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of mobile reception and the wifi was poor.

    A pay phone was installed to counteract the mobile reception problem. Children's playroom and playground

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    The space was large and well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The floors were really dirty. Our feet were black after walking on them for a short period of time. We decided to only wear shoes in the house. Otherwise, the unit was clean. It is also located in the middle of nowhere!! We couldn't even find a place to eat the first night we got there.

    The space was large and well situated. They have a separate game/lounge area for the children and an outdoor play yard.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    Property is well organised and it made our stay easy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If I was being really picky I would say there should be a bed in each room and not a sofa bed In one, although it was still comfortable and I slept very well. Shows that I'd have to work hard to criticise this place!?

    Property is well organised and it made our stay easy and very comfortable. Lovely friendly and helpful team here and the welcome pack was a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location, with great service and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For exploring the local opportunities access to Internet could definitely being improved. For all excellent service network coverage and Internet coverage was poor but didn't disqualify the fun we had

    Excellent location, with great service and very friendly hostess. Unique opportunity to get to know the lovely county Meath and its ancient locations

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    8.5
    The welcome basket was very much appreciated very nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was great to have free but because of the buildings structure & location it was intermittent. There should be blinds/sheers on the side lights at the front door as no privacy when waking between the kitchen & livingroon

    The welcome basket was very much appreciated very nice touch. We were visiting family in the area for Xmas so the location was perfect for us. We felt really at home at decoy, very comfortable & realizing week at decoy. Maggie & sean (canada)

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    This is the most amazing and relaxing accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had to leave...

    This is the most amazing and relaxing accommodation we've found while touring throughout Ireland. Three bedrooms, three bathrooms and a WC. A pleasure to stay and play in this brilliant self contained accommodation which delighted us by holding nothing back with there facilities and personal inclusions. We arrived a little later than expected and our host was fabulous even to the point of having a wonderful open fire ready for us to enjoy. This place is truely a must for families who enjoy a few of life's creature comforts. Even the resident cat was a delight to meet!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    10
    It was a lovely house my kids loved it and so did I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a lovely house my kids loved it and so did I can't wait to book again☺

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    The cottage had everything needed for a comfy stay - a home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cottage had everything needed for a comfy stay - a home from home.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    10
    Everything except poor wifi and mobile reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor wifi and mobile reception

    Everything except poor wifi and mobile reception

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi and mobile service was not very good

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable, spacious accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, spacious accomodation. Beautiful Irish countryside.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Size of apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi poor Expensive

    Size of apartment Washer and dryer Nice welcome bread eggs and chocokate

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    Great hidden location central to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hidden location central to the area. Loved the kids play area - don't miss the tree house .

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    No signal for phones in the house of wifi signal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No signal for phones in the house of wifi signal.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Loved it kids had a great time would stay again very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved it kids had a great time would stay again very nice

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    everything - there really is nothing not to like, would...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    everything - there really is nothing not to like, would definitely recommend

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    It's was clean and very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't say anything bad

    It's was clean and very cosy. We stayed for a wedding there.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    9.5
    The welcoming basket was a lovely touch and really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The welcoming basket was a lovely touch and really everything was just first class.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: