Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dergvale Hotel 2 stars

4, Gardiner Place, D1 Dublin, Ireland

#69 of 136 hotels in Dublin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1123 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A great accessible central hotel with comfortable rooms and very kind and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower handle, it still worked but fell off whenever you turned the heat dial, not a major concern

    Very tidy and well decorated room with a comfortable bed, perfect choice for a short stay in Dublin

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff was great and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin.

    Staff was great. Super friendly and packed us to go bags for breakfast when we were leaving before breakfast was being served. Also my wife has a gluten allergy so they made sure to have gluten free bread for her. The hotel is only a couple block from Connell St.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a quick visit to Dublin on my way home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tinier than I expected. Twin bed pretty much filled up the space. But with my own bathroom, it was comfortable enough.

    Great location a few blocks from the bus stop for the airport bus. Easy to walk all over Dublin. Breakfast was tasty and fruit was always available. 24 hour front desk = main reason I chose this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Not a quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room no 5 up a flight of stairs was a very small corridor like room with no table surface, a hard single bed with the hand basin sited outside ensuite. There was no hot water jug or fridge, and a lack of toiletries. There is an old carpet on the floor which adds to the shabbiness. The noisy neighbours soon became apparent through the paper thin walls and creaky floors. It felt like a prison cell as it faced into a dark well space between the adjoining property. I like a buffet style breakfast which allows one to pick and choose food combinations. At this hotel breakfast is served in a very regimented way with a limited set menu based around fried, scrambled or cold english breakfast style. There was a lack of cereal options or fruit options.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. I had made a point of requesting a quiet room with tea making facilities. This was not provided but a staff member made me a pot of tea one evening when I returned weary after a full day out sight seeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (One Double and One Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only dislike I had was at breakfast the bacon was not cooked enough for my likiing and it was cold apart from that all was fine.

    Very central on bus route was attending concert at R D S bus stop was only two minutes walk from hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Friendly and warm staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was off and on, but just needed to reboot the router.

    Friendly and warm staff! Fantastic location with breakfast and espresso shop across the street- thank god! Helpful in using public transit, new currency, food allergies and extra towels! We are not the easiest guests, so thank you Nancy and staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay A +++
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (One Double and One Single Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly people, the bedroom and bathroom were very clean, excellent breakfast, great location. My sincere thanks to Nancy and all her family who made us feel home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Kind innkeepers in an ideal location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The innkeepers are lovely people, and took very good care of me. My first night I was in a room on the fourth floor, and when they saw I was struggling without a lift, they kindly moved me to a lower floor the next day. The hotel's location is brilliant for getting around the entire city, too, while being out of the direct tourist path. Every convenience is nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. View onto fire escape. Appearance of hotel from outside very unappealing and outdated.

    Very friendly staff. All very helpful. Good service. Central location. Breakfast made to order and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    Appauling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is beyond a disgrace ! 170 euro for a crammed room on the top floor with zero assistance with carrying bags , to make matters even worse no phone in room to contact reception , I rang from reception from my own phone following arriving in rooms to request an ironing board and iron, the lady requested me to come down for it or “ meet her half way “ , I went down alll the way yet again . I am extremely experienced in the food safety industry and very worrying that food safe cleaning products was down not been used when I looked into restaurant downstairs . A bucket thrown at the bottom of the stairs on route down with cleaning agents and clothes in it . Just to add this isn’t notna central location and was at least a 20 minutes walk from the centre . I never ever will be going anywhere near this dump ever again never , I regrettably gave 170 euro and I might as well have slept on the street ! Morning time a rumbling noise started from 9 am not to sure what it was hurbhonestly a disgrace and I am surprised booking.com would promote such a run down shack !!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were very clean and tidy and the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (One Double and One Single Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are absolutely paper thin - no sound proofing whatsoever, so not much sleep was had. The beds were comfortable enough (small), but they could really have done with a valance - they looked tatty. No kettle in the room - no tea or coffee facilities.

    The rooms were very clean and tidy and the location was convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, clean but really too small for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small I was alone and cannot turn in my room Too expensive for the size of the room Cannot move in the shower Very, very small

    Location was really good Best place to visit the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    A blessing in disguise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10-15 minutes to the heart of the city where you can find good shopping, dinning options & tourist attractions. I arrived very early and the friendly owners complied by granting me an early check in. I had to to wait 3 hours for the room and they didn't want me sitting in the lobby which was perfect because it gave me an opportunity to get acclimated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Charming place! A great "family guest house"
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming place! A great "family guest house" it feels that you're with kind people. Sometimes it's nice to get out of the big networks and run a little more the smaller family businesses in Dublin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    it was fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an incredibly small room and even tinier bathroom. I am relatively small, but I doubt that my husband, for example, would have been able to shower without hurting himself. Also the water in the sink, where you are supposed to brush your teeth and wash your face, was like in a public toilet, or even less : you need to push the button with one hand and wash the other. I understand that water needs to be saved, but this was a bit over the top :) Ear plugs are also essential. The quiet depends entirely on how behaved will be your neighbors.

    I liked the location, it was clean and cheap. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Fab stay in Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is situated on a busy road which is noisy especially if the windows are open and you are in a room at the front.

    The staff were superb and the room was spotless and very comfy. Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Just 10 minutes walk to the centre of Dublin. The breakfast was optional but very tasty and excellent value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    a bit too expensive for what it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was noisy, as it is a really old building and you can hear people just walking upstairs. Decoration needs some attention and, even though Dublin is not a cheap city, I found it a bit expensive

    Bed was comfortable and place was clean and not bad location from city centre, even though the north area is not the most interesting one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was top floor and there was no elevator... You could hear sounds from the hydraulic system of the hotel even during nightime...

    Very clean, great location, kind staff...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Recommended for a one night stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist (older lady)was rude when a member of our was party leaving the hotel, was rude for most of our stay, she was only nice when the manager came in and when there was other guests in the breakfast bar the next morning, the breakfast wasn't nice, eggs were watery, toast was warm bread, rashers way too salty, only enjoyable thing was the tea. No kettle or anything to make tea with, only one plug socket in the room and no soap or any toiletries in the bathroom, the WiFi didn't work.

    The night portsman was lovely, the young girl working in the breakfast bar was really really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    a good one night stop over with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much sound proofing at room to room level, and as i had paid for a double room i was not allowed to have my friend come up to my room for a meal so we had to eat in the lobby, where the reception was...

    Very friendly staff, bed was comfy, location very good near Croke park and the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room. Having said that you could order tea/coffee from reception (free of charge).

    The hotel conveniently located and the room was spotless. Absolutely perfect for our stay and we will definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Lovely classic hotel setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely classic hotel setting. Easy walking distance from bus, to restaurants. Helpful young woman carried both our bags up 2 flights of stairs. Hostess made phone call for us to car hire.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Although a great hotel with super staff, the lack of lift and tea facilities, prob wont book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately not being able to have a late hot drink or an early morning hot drink in the room was missed. Please get tea making facilities in the room, it's only a kettle etc. walking up and down 4 floors just a bit much for someone that had suffered a heart attack.

    Wonderful staff. Understanding of person with Autism and getting in special breakfast,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    The bed was really comfortable and staff were great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs were quite steep on the top floor,

    The bed was really comfortable and staff were great,breakfast was great too..the only issue was we were on the top floor where the corridors ate very narrow and stairs very steep.. The room was quite small and cramped but it was just me and my daughter so I didn't mind too much,they gave us a free breakfast so that more than made up for it..staff were all lovely,overall I would stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls very thin. It's an old building so it has to be accepted.

    Very friendly owners. The housekeeping was very good. It was a very quiet room except one night when neighbours were watching a football game. Cooked breakfast is a plus. Location is fine but ended walking quite a bit as some central areas are reachable by foot but still maybe 15-30 minutes away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    the hotel reminded me a bit of a blackpool hotel but obviusly worth alot more money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    missed an early morning cuppa to wake me up as there were no faclities to make tea and the room needed an extra power point to charge phone

    room was quite nice and looked like it had just been done up and the bathroom was nice as well and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Its near the center, so easy to arrive to best Dublin places
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast after 8:00. Business people like me can't wait, so, i left hotel not able to have my breakfast, that, in other hotels start at 6:00 or 7:00

    Its near the center, so easy to arrive to best Dublin places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    Room was clean and bright and airy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (One Double and One Single Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle tea or coffee in the room, and way further out of town than expected, I personally thought it was a little pricey for what it was.

    Room was clean and bright and airy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location for the purpose of my visit.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tap was a pain. Room was a little to hot.

    Location to Temple Street Children's hospital. This was my reason for being in Dublin. The lady working there was very nice and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    I only needed this as an overnight stay as had an exam the next day. It was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very narrow, so would only recommend if you'd be using it for somewhere to sleep rather than relax.

    Lovely staff, good location for city centre, rooms clean, quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    A welcoming and pleasant hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the décor will need attention soon.

    This family run hotel is a gem. The quaintness is delightful and personal touches add charm. The single room I stayed in was comfortable and quiet. En-suite facilities were good, including an oversink light that worked well and a good shower that provided hot water instantly. Breakfast was an added bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was really lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was that none of the power outlets in my room worked.

    Breakfast was really lovely! Room was nice and clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    The beds were very comfy, clean room every day, good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was next to the boiler, which i understand when taking a shower would be noisy but we could hear everyone on the same floor showering, which another guest had a shower at 5-6am waking us up made the relaxing holiday a bit difficult. Building is fairly old so walls are really thin, you can hear a lot of activity around. Breakfast was very standard, could have done with a cooked vegetarian option, other than eggs on toast.

    The beds were very comfy, clean room every day, good value for money, located just a short walk from the city center, good internet connection on the top floor and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It si unconvenient to use sink with two separate taps for hot and for cold water where you have to keep water runing with one hand while using other to wash your face (with hot or cold water, nothing in between), but it looks that is quite traditional in UK and Irland. Yes you can hear other guests doors or similar noices as was writen in other reviews but I did not find it to be important problem as there are not many rooms conected and people come to sleep in hotel and not party so night was quiet. Also as others have writen there is no possibllity to regulate room temperature so it was little bit hot in the room, but better hot than cold :-). So all together only small non important things to complain if you are looking for good price owernight in the city centre. Possibility to prepare tee in the room would be nice.

    Just as expected reading other reviews. Great position for public transportation and walking to the city centre, but in quiet street. Outdated but with renowated bathroom so everithing is keept very clean that I find most important if you come only to sleep in your room and spend your time in the city. Bed was just fine for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    My stay was incredibly comfortable and enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing!

    The beds were so comfy!! And the shower was so good, good pressure! I enjoyed the breakfast every morning and the staff were so kind and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Very affordable, good location, really friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a big deal, but you have to buzz in every time you go through the front door into the lobby.

    Very affordable, good location, really friendly and accommodating staff. For the price it was great. There are probably better places but then again, they cost more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Best place to stay! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    you need better key system :-)

    Really nice owners I think. I always would recommend staying there! Nice Dublin-Style :) Really secure, because 24/7 desk service and locked front door, which will be opened by desk staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very clean and comfortable. Lovely little hotel and would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was lovely and staff were very nice. Good location - 15 minute walk down to temple bar area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    We had an enjoyable stay and would use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have appreciated tea and coffee facilities in the room, however we were provided with complimentary tea and coffee on request. Although the bed was comfortable the pillows were hard.

    The hotel was welcoming, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable and the staff were helpful. The staff at breakfast were efficient, the room was bright and the tables were neatly laid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Had a comfortable stay at the hotel with welcoming and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really missed a kettle and tea and coffee making in the room . And the built in hairdryer didn’t work.

    The bathroom was lovely and a powerful shower despite being on the 5th floor and the bed was comfy with a quiet , top floor room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    It was for a night hence I stayed or else I wouldn’t have stayed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photograph shown in the website was completely different from what I got ... it was crammed room , having no space to move ... very disappointed ...

    Staff was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very few things. Stain on the chair - quite visible - maybe it could be fixed. Very thin walls - we could very clearly hear people walking past our door on the hallway. We were relatively close to the reception and we could also hear the door bell. But these were very tiny inconveniences.

    This is a very special hotel I might say. I think it is managed personally by the owners, and this gives it a special touch. The room was small, but you could easily see that they had expecially picked some tiny details to make the room beautiful, and they succeeded in doing this. Small efforts, but big results. The staff was very nice and friendly, and we had a very good stay there. Hot water running perfectly, breakfast quite good (it is not a buffet, but you have several options to choose from, most including eggs, but also cereal and such). The location is very good. It is located in one of the old Georgian neighborhoods. O'Connell street is very close and it only takes around 15 minutes to walk to Temple Bar. 16/41 bus stops to and from airport quite close (3-5 minutes walking).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable, nice distance to everything
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in the room would be great

    Nice bathroom, good distance, nice stuff, got the room earlier than 2pm, single rooms available, no street noise, great shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    very clean and comfortable (I had a single room with private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sink with separated hot and cold water (but I know it's common in UK and Ireland)

    very clean and comfortable (I had a single room with private bathroom), good breakfast, reception desk open 24/7, very helpful with a taxi booking for I had an early return flight

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    brilliant little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was great!

    the room was very warm, and the beds were super comfortable. the room and the bathroom were extremly clean too. the staff were helpful and welcoming and we had great time over there. Also the breakfast was very tasty and fulfilling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    The Dergvale hotel has a quaint charm of Agatha...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water during the day and scrambled eggs made of egg powder. Could do better, especially that the fried eggs were delicious.

    The Dergvale hotel has a quaint charm of Agatha Christie's novel. Long climb to the 4th floor - wouldn't like to do it with a suitcase - was rewarded with a nice view from our loft twin room. There was no hot water during the day which seemed a bit odd. No problems in the evening and in the mornings though. Cooked breakfast was a bonus with gluten free bread available too. In general, I would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Staff was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t work, going to top floor by stairs, front door locked, room floor making noices, so many additional charges notifications displayed in the room. No central heating or temperature control.

    Staff was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My single room was on the small side but was comfortable. My one major problem was that the shower was very hot and I couldn't get the water to a comfortable temperature.

    Dergvale might not be right in the centre of Dublin but it is within easy walking distance of all the shops. The hosts were absolutely wonderful as was the cooked breakfast that comes to you within minutes of ordering it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provide drinking water, not bottled water that needs to be purchased.

    Booked months in advance of the Killers concert (we are huge fans) Hotel was comfortable and clean adding to the amazing trip we made to Dublin. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were brilliant, very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast gives a great start of the day and the late check out just gives enough time to relax before you explore the city. Our room was spotless ,warm enough and the shower.... we loved the hot water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    We would choose this hotel for our next staying in Dublin again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (One Double and One Single Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was the same every morning (eggs, bacon and sausage).

    The hotel is not far from the city centre, we could walk everywhere. The staff is really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heating could not be controlled - it was too hot, and with road construction noise all through the night we had no choice but to keep the windows open. No facilities to print a boarding pass.

    Helpful staff. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    lovely
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no private parking, you can leave your car on the street if you are lucky you can find a free space but you have to get up at 7 am and pay.

    Irish breakfast good, service nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for a short journey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not very sound-proof...

    extremely friendly staff! 24/24 accessible thanks to night guard. Basic comfort but very clean and room is serviced every day. Situated in the centre on 1' walk from O'Connell Street , though very calm. Breakfast included. Once again, basic but good and freshly made by the staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    - Nice Hotel in Dublin downtown
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Nothing considering the price paid

    - Room clean and tidy as well the bathroom - Professional Staff, very polite and helpful during morning and evening time. They are able to offer you that type of "warm" hospitality perhaps more difficult to find in some of the bigger corporate Hotels nearby. - Location (city centre) and connections to the airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Great for travelling Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (One Double and One Single Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room isn’t great although we didn’t spend much time there Also a couple of noisy neighbours

    The room was very comfy and had all our requirements

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Everything was very neat and clean, and the room was well...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very weak and slow, and my phone coverage disappeared on entering the room.

    Everything was very neat and clean, and the room was well sized with a great shower facility.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Unbeatable price for a clean cute hotel in Dublin's city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    doorlocks old fashioned, but rest was top.

    This little Hotel was worth booking. Super friendly staff, very clean and cute rooms, location close to the centre, 200m from James Joyce centre house. good breakfast, and parkhouse 10mins by foot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    lovely few days have been spent in a nice hotel in the centre of Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the building is old and the walls are thin it is a bit noisier than I expected. Didn't cause any harm or headache though

    The hotel is in walking distance from Dublin centre. I liked the atmosphere of the hotel. The stuff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Perfect, genuinely welcoming hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Genuinely friendly and met every query with a smile and made my stay very pleasant indeed. Will certainly look at the Dergvale next time I have to stay n Dublin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value - perfect place for me to crash while solo traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The included breakfast was really nice. Sit down with service. Easy walkable location to OConnell St, Trinity College, and Temple Bar area. Charming hotel with very helpful and accommodating staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Mixed feelings but good price and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine but the dining room was horrible , needs an upgrade to say the least and the single table was in the middle of the room , right at the front ,felt very conspicuous. Staff were efficient but unfriendly

    Lovely cosy comfortable little room . Old fashioned, different from the usual bog - standard hotel room & spotless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall beautiful hotel and room very mod aswell but Parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall beautiful hotel and room very mod aswell but Parking could be improved as we had to pump the parking meter outside door to keep our parking place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice if there had been a kettle, tea, coffee for use in the room.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had to leave early on the last day and were offered without prompting a packed breakfast to take with us. It was excellent. We were also moved to a room on the first floor from the third floor, as my wife found the climb difficult. The daily breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    It was pleasant. After a few hours I felt at home. Soon again in Dublin.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Launch should be sanitized from old smoking smell. Pity, a lift is missing. The price seems to be too high for a two stars hotel as we are used on the Continent. However it seems to be in line with the average price in Dublin, which are extremely and unjustifiable high !!!

    Location: Good: Downtown 20 minutes walking: Airport 20-40 minutes depending on traffic; Taxi 25 Euros from/to; Ask the staff and a taxi will be waiting for you. Staff: Excellent, friendly and fully helpful !!! Do you have a need? Just ask them. Structure: Fully and well renewed. Such renewal would be sufficient as it is but some further small improvements would be recommended. Breakfast: don't expect the usual buffet. There is room enough at any time and somebody who will take note of your wishes. There is a four choices menu and quality and quantity are enough to support you till lunch or even dinner. If you are a normal person, just try.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, excellent location, professional staff. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old hotel. Beautifully decorated and maintained to a very high standard. Breakfast was included but would be served after our early morning departure so the hotel prepared sandwiches, pastries and fresh fruit for us to take away. The desk clerk also brought us a tray of coffee and tea to drink in our room while we got ready in the morning. The property was clean and the staff were helpful. Very close and convenient to the Dublin Airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    A very pleasant warm welcome and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very pleasant warm welcome and very helpful staff. Very clean and tidy room with only a 5 minute walk to O'Connell street and 15 minute stroll to temple bar. Plenty of options for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money when staying so close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been a little bigger.

    Breakfast was served very nicely. No problem to get extra coffee or toast. The staff was very, very friendly indeed. Room was superclean, which we appreciate very much. Nice showerfacility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Conveniently located, comfortable budget hotel - very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Single room very small, but affordable!

    I stayed in a tiny single room (10 sq m) with a single bed. Though compact, the room had what a needed - a bed & bathroom! Comfortable bed & quiet, clean room. Less than 20 min walk to Temple Bar, and only 8 min to Gresham Hotel, where my tours started from, so very convenient. Cooked breakfast was welcome, though the bacon & eggs seemed unnecessarily greasy. The staff were polite and helpful - they stored my luggage and gave me breakfast package to take with me, as my tours started early (7am) and their breakfast started late (8am). WiFi was like the tide - signal strength came & went, but I would stay here again for the location and price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    A limited comfort at a hard price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is tiny and really badly soundproofed, you know exactly what your neighbours do. The corridor floor cracks when people walk in front of your room The price is incredibly high compared to the level of comfort

    The staff was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    I'd happily stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The soundproofing between rooms is pretty poor, and every word can be heard. Fortunately I had nice quet neighbours who weren't rolling home drunk in the early hours! The window can only be opened a couple of centimetres, which means the room gets pretty hot in summer.

    Very friendly staff. Spotlessly clean. Handy for O'Connell Street. The breakfast is substantial and the bread is wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Why pay more, lovely Hotel where you want it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking; but understandable in a big City. There is Paid for Parking just around the corner though. No Tea/Coffee facility in room. That would have been nice...

    Warm welcome, Spotlessly clean, Comfortable Bed, Quiet, 5 min Stroll to O'Connoll Street - for shopping, eating, entertainment. Just the right position if you want a quiet room at night but want to be close to 'The Hub' of things. Although not out too late at night there are Staff on Reception 24 hours. Only stayed 1 night but plan to book again when visiting Dublin.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an excellent hotel well located for a visit to Dublin. Staff helpful and friendly and room was clean and well presented and excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Clean room in the center of Dublin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked way ahead of time if we would be able to check in early, as our flight arrived early in the morning. I never heard back and when we got there at 7:00 am, the proprietor said we should have booked a room for the previous night. As a result, we sat in the lobby for 4 hours. It was fine, but that was a tough way to start our trip - we spent the rest of the day sleeping.

    The room was very clean. The hotel is located very near the center of the city on the north side of the river and everything was walkable. The breakfast choices were good and well prepared.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Budget B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of €100 per night per person is far too high and the breakfast was a little disappointing, certainly not a full Irish breakfast as advertised on their website, the eggs were precook and just like bullets.😕

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly , especially Olga 😀 The location is great for both Croke park and Dublin City centre. We visited Dublin to see Coldplay which was amazing!! Although there are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms you can order at reception and have these served complimentary. This family run hotel, if a little dated is extremely clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: